Skip to main content

Full text of "Commemorative biographical record of prominent and representative men of Indianapolis and vicinity, containing biographical sketches of business and professional men and of many of the early settled families"

See other formats




1 1 !!■. 


GO ^^ 




'^CNEAL-cay CO 


I" ALLEN COU"y,rji'|l|'£,r.'S|?|H'j||| 

3 1833 00825 3459 


Biograpbical IRecorb 

n>romtnent a n^ IRepregentattve fiDen 

ITn^ianayolie anb IDicinit^ 


Biograpbtcal Shetcbes of ^Business anD ipvofessional /Ken 
an5 of /IDang of tbe Earlv? Settlet) Jfamilies 


J. H. BEERS & CO. 






ji^^l N presenting the Commemorative Biographical Record of Indianapolis 
ra H and Mcinity to its patrons, the publishers wish to make grateful ac- 
Sal knowledgment of the encouragement and support their enterprise has 
^^0 received, and the willing assistance rendered in enabling them to 
T surmount the many unforeseen obstacles to be met with in the produc- 
tion of a work of this character. In nearly every instance the material com- 
posing the sketches was gathered from those immediately interested, and then 
submitted in typewritten form for correction and revision. Many of the biog- 
raphies contain items of history which would probably be preserved in no 
other way, and the volume, which is one of generous amplitude, is placed in 
the hands of the public with the belief that it will be found a valuable addition 
to the library, as well as an invaluable contribution to the historical literature 
of the State of Indiana. 




Adair, John 798 

Adair, Mrs. Lydia A 798 

Albertson, Emery u8l 

Albertson Family i i8r 

Aldag. August 436 

Aldag, Charles 440 

Aldag, Mrs. Wilhelmina .... 441 

Aldred Family 304 

Aldred, Marion 305 

Aldrich, Reuben S 1 141 

Alexander Family 453 

Alfont, Reuben M 1 129 

Allison Family 826 

Allison, Luther C 826 

Anderson, Alexander H 383 

Anderson Family 383 

Anderton, Francis W 925 

Apple Families 932, 940 

Apple, Rev. John W 940 

Apple, Valentine 932 

Apple, William M 641 

Arms, Christopher T 212 

Arms Family 212 

Armstead, James C 991 

Armstrong, Charles R., M. D. 752 

Armstrong, Edwin J 153 

Armstrong Family 752 

Armstrong, John 152 

Askren, Benjamin F 151 

Askren, Mrs. Martha J 151 

Aten, Abram D 660 

Atkins, Elias C 32 

Atkins, Mrs. Sarah F 34 

Avery, John L 251 

Avery, Dr. John P 252 

Axline Family 702 

Axline, John A., M. D 702 

Babb, David B 315 

Bachman, F. M 231 

Bacon, Hiram 108 

Bacon, John L 988 

Bacon, Robert D 512 

Bagot, Charles K 169 

Bagot, Thomas 169 

Bailey. John M 974 

Bain. John E 823 

Baird Familv 92 

Baird, Dr. John V 92 

Baker, Charles H 643 

Baldwin, James W 962 

Baldwin, Silas 54 

Ball, Claude C S22 

Ball Families 114.1097 

Ball, Lucius L.. M. D 11^ 

Ball. Robert M 1097 


Barlow, Mrs. Hannah 789 

Barlow, John 788 

Barnard, Frederick 1131 

Barnard, Sylvanus 1131 

Barnes, George H 604 

Barnes, Stephen D 1023 

Barnhill Families 209,520 

Barnhill, Elder John C 208 

Barnhill, John F., M. D 520 

Barth, Rev. Sebastian C 173 

Bartholomew Family 38 

Bartholomew. Judge Pliny W 38 

Bartmess, Jacob W 830 

Beals Family 1094 

Beals, Thomas E 1094 

Beck, James M 681 

Bedel Family 867 

Bedel, Luther 867 

Bell, Josiah 989 

Benbow, Lieut. Cyrus W. . . . 838 

Benefiel. Isham 721 

Bennett. Henry W 1184 

Bernd, Daniel 7 

Bernd, Peter 45 

Billingsley, James H 1219 

Billingsley, Hon. John J. W. . 476 

Bishop, Hon. James M 422 

Bishop. William H 975 

Black Family 374 

Black, George H 374 

Blair, William A 801 

Blake, James 1231 

Blythe Familv 493 

Blvthe, William M 493 

Boetckcr, Rev. William J. H.. 906 

Bonge, Albert 1126 

Booher. Benjamin 323 

Booher, Benjamin C 324 

Boone Family 193 

Boone, James A 193 

Booth, Aaron D., M. D 883 

Born. John 652 

Bowden Family 744 

Bowden, Raleigh 744 

Boylen, Thomas Sio 

Bovnton. Charles S., M. D. .. 214 

Bragg, William L 841 

Branson, William H 663 

Breneman, Mrs. Eliza 1114 

Breneman, Isaac 1114 

Brewer, Samuel E 781 

Brewer, Rev. Urban C 948 

Brigham, Edwin B., ^L D...1018 

Brinker, August 1 177 

Brooks, Mrs. .-Amanda ^L...ro46 
Brooks, Samuel M 104^ 


Brouse, David W 533 

Browder. Wilbur F 43 

Brown, Alfred 665 

Brown, Andrew no6 

Brown, Austin H 1224 

Brown, C. S., M. D 1038 

Brown, Judge Daniel L 52 

Brown, Demarchus C 455 

Brown Families .... 102, 166, 665 
Brown, Francis W., Ph. D... 102 

Brown, Ignatius 120 

Brown, James F 655 

Brown, Joseph F 166 

Brown, Lyndsay M 121 

Brown, Robert A 229 

Brown, Samuel 973 

Brown, Dr. Samuel W 147 

Brown, William J 1223 

Browning, Miss Eliza G 996 

Bruce, George Q 557 

Brumming, Dr. Charles E.... 513 

Brunnemer. George L 785 

Bryan, Elmer B 824 

Buchanan, Charles J 1215 

Buchanan Family I2H 

Buchanan, John 1215 

Buchanan, Joseph W 1214 

Bugby, Parker E 1165 

Burkhardt, Leonard 1046 

Busby Families 262, 696 

Busby, Samuel E 696 

Busby, Silas 262 

Busby, Thomas M 725 

Bush, Benjamin F 950 

Bushong, Benjamin F 568 

Bushong Family 593 

Bushong, Rev. John -\ 593 

Butler Family 94 

Butler, Reuben J 523 

Butler. Sobiski 999 

Butler, Tobias D 677 

Byers., George 1237 

Byers, George W 971 

Byers, Dr. Robert S 1074 

Campbell, Alexander S 496 

Campbell, Charles H 1037 

Campbell, George W 1076 

Canter, Rev. Henrv C 562 

Carlisle, Frank E.' 1185 

Carpenter. George .A. 319 

Carson, William M 11.^2 

Carter Family 707 

Case, Jacob Y 942 

Cason Family 244 

Cason, John 243 



Cavlor, William A i loi 

Cecil. Dr. A. A 934 

Cecil, George M 373 

Cecil, John H 651 

Chambers, Alexander 218 

Chamber?, Otto T 1228 

Chambers, Smiley N 216 

Chambers, William A 855 

Chandler, Robert A 112 

Chiles, Marcellus 390 

Chill, Thomas M 432 

Chipman, Hon. Marcellus A. 109 

Christian, John E 600 

Clark, Albert W 37^ 

Clark Family 977 

Clark, F. M 977 

Clark, Henry 775 

Clawson. Milton L 506 

Claypool Family 46 

Claypool, Jefferson H 46 

Clifford, Emory W 9SS 

Clifford Family 728 

Clifford, William W 728 

Cloak. Albert 560 

Ooak Family 560 

Coble Family 273 

Coble, George A., M. D 273 

Coburn, Henry 42, 103 

Coburn, Henry P 40 

Coburn. Gen. John 88 

Coburn, Gen. John, Memorial 1243 

Coe, Dr. Isaac 186 

Collins, John W 922 

Compton. Joshua A., M. D. . . 320 

Compton, Mrs. Mary J 322 

Conrad, Henry H 712 

Cook, Benjamin F 172 

Cook, Benjamin H., M. D... 280 
Cook Families .... 278, 293, 845 

Cook, George J., M. D 53 

Cook, John W., M. D 293 

Cook, Wilhelm 563 

Coots, Charles E 69 

Cornet. Louis P 431 

Cottingham Families 2S2, 648 

Cottingham, Judge Joshua T. 284 

Cottingham, Oliyer H Sgo 

Cottingham, William H 283 

Cotton, Fassett A 445 

Cottrell, John H 341 

Cowgill, Newton W 701 

Cox Family 95 

Cox, Nathaniel M 849 

Craft, Mrs. Mary 176 

Craft. Smith 176 

Cragun Family 492 

Cragun. Strange N 491 

Craig Family 258 

Craig, Rey. John S 258 

Craig, William H 258 

Creamer, John W 1108 

Crecraf t. Albert N 1054 

Creighton, Hugh J 337 

Crist Family 718 

Crist, Leander M 718 

Cruse, Henry 600 

Culley, Dayid V 56 

Cunningham, Clinton S 463 


Cunningham Family 463 

Cunningham, Norman T.... 821 

Dale Family 453 

Dammeyer, Mrs. Christina.. 566 

Darling, John R 285 

Darnall Family 503 

Darnall, William 503 

Darrow. James 928 

Dashiell, Masten 882 

Davidson, Henry S. 1120 

Davis, Addison C 307 

Davis. Albert C 309 

Davis Families 306, 449 

Davis, James H 310 

Davis, Dr. J. W 1242 

Davis, Theodore P 449 

Davis, Volney 307 

Dawson, Charles 203 

Day, Michael 382 

Deer, Alfred S 846 

DeFord, Perry M 180 

Delinger, William H 274 

Demaree Family 1021 

Demaree, W. VV 1021 

De Turk Family 425 

Deupree Family 415 

Deupree, Judge William E... 415 

Dickover, Benjamin 268 

Dickson Family 158 

Dickson, Myron 158 

Dietz. Christian 743 

Dietz, John 375 

Dilley, Capt. William A 859 

Ditmars, Cornelius L 969 

Ditmars Family 456 

Ditmars, R. V 456 

Dixon, Archie A 1242 

Doerr, J. Henry 618 

Donnan. Miss Laura 480 

Donnan, David 480 

Dorman, W. A., M. D 1234 

Dorrell, William 777 

Dorste, Robert 704 

Dougherty, Hugh 408 

Dove, Dr. S. C 277 

Downs, William E looi 

Drulev, Dr. O. E 842 

Duckworth. Rey. Isaac 858 

Duckworth, James M., Sr 798 

Duckworth, John F 1015 

Duff, William G 1024 

Dungan, George E 1050 

Dunham, George S44 

Dunham, Mrs. Virginia J.... 845 
Dunham, Rev. Warren B....1227 

Dunkin Family 269 

Dunkin. Michael 271 

Dunkin, William 270 

Dunn. William E 371 

Durbin Family 1 143 

Durbin, Capt. Henry C 814 

Durbin, Gov. Winfield T....1143 

Eaglcsfield, Thomas 794,967 

Earp, Samuel E., M. S., M. D 36 

Eaton, Marion 208 

Ebaugh, Joseph R 660 


Ebner Family 5 

Ebner, John 5 

Eckert, William 686 

Edenharter, George F., M. D. 48 

Eickhoff, Henry C 700 

Eldridge. William 855 

Elliott, George B 972 

Elliott, Miller 213 

Ellis, Alfred 175 

Ellis, Jacob P 912 

El Warner, William 983 

Emrich, Jacob A 192 

English Family 8 

English. J. K 195 

English, Capt. William E.... 296 

English, Hon. William H.... 8 

Erdelmeyer, Col. Frank 257 

Essington, James G 288 

Ettinger, Gustave 540 

Evans Family 884 

Fairbanks, Charles W 1187 

Fall, John N 579 

Fancher, J. W., M. D 889 

Featherstoii, John W 891 

Ferguson, Lafayette 857 

Fesler, John A 765 

Petty, A. H 616 

Fickinger, William J 1234 

Fifer, Christopher S 851 

Finney. George E I20r 

Fisher Families 704, 1029 

Fisher, John 768 

Fisher, Dr. John M 1029 

Fisk, Aniericus 548 

Fisk Family 548 

Fitch, J. Monroe 1105 

Fletcher, .Allen M 103 

Fletcher, Calvin 123 r 

Fletcher, Mrs. Mary E 103 

Forney, Adam 311 

Forsyth, William 429 

Forsythe, John E 913 

Fortune, William 84 

Foster, Ellis W 333 

Foster Family x^3 

Foster, Gen. Robert S 401 

Foster, Capt. Wallace 62 

Fo.x. ."Mbert 720 

Francis Family 344 

Francis, J. Richard 344 

Frank, G. H 611 

Franklin, Benjamin 888 

Freeman, Dayid H 517 

Freeman Family 517 

Freeman, Prof. William H.. 226 

Friesner. Samuel 1 172 

Fryberger, John 226 

Furniss, Sumner .A.. M. D... 809 

Gaines Family 726 

Gardner Family 633 

Gardner, Wendel 537 

Gascho, Daniel 828 

Gascho Family 828 

Gascho, Henry 828 

Gayman, Samuel 294 

Geckler, John F 215 


Gentry Family ■ • • 305 

Gentry, J. H looi 

George Family 12S 

George, Samuel M 674 

Gibson, John W 386 

Gifford Family 861 

Gifford, Hon. George H 861 

Gilbert, JMrs. Martha 1159 

Gilbert, Nathan 1159 

Gilbreath Family 630 

Gilbreath, J. F 576 

Gilbreath, John S 630 

Gill, Andrew J 284 

Gilmore Family "86 

Gilniore, John 786 

Ginder, George 819 

Gladden, John W 572 

Glassburn. David 667 

Glazier, John T 691 

Glossbrenner, William J 558 

Goe, H. N 643 

Goodman, Isaac 816 

Gordon Family 350 

Gordon, John N 350 

Gordon, Orville C 350 

Goss Family 850 

Goss, Joseph L 850 

Goth, George 542 

Gonl, John W 740 

Graham Family 926 

Graham, Dr. William B 926 

Gravis, Charles M., U. D. . . . 871 

Gray, David H 369 

Gray Family 454 

Gray, James 286 

Green. Alexander G 532 

Green, William F., M. D....1020 

Greer, James E 178 

Greer, Joseph 1 133 

Gregg Family 191 

Gregory, Mrs. Amanda 1170 

Gregory, John N Ii6g 

Greiner, Louis A., V. S 591 

Gresh, Henry C 956 

Gresh, Levi 1 102 

Griggs, Judge Algernon S.. .. 138 

Groff, John H., M. D 1 109 

Gross, David S 703 

Grubbs. Judge George W.... 995 
Guy, Ananias 1035 

Haggard, Dr. Ernest M 9S6 

Haggard Family 9S6 

Haines, Rev. Matthias L., D. D 35 

Hall, John A 914 

Hall, Richard 1 1 12 

Hall, William W 595 

Hammans, Michael 424 

Hammon, Dr. Ephraim W. . 598 

Hanch, Mrs. Emma W 794 

Hardin, .Addison 990 

Hardin, Charles V 1040 

Hardin, John 980 

Hare, Clinton L 427 

Harnish. Orlando A 840 

Harrell, Madison H., M. D. . 911 

Harrington. Thomas J 1234 

Harris Family 772 


Harris, H. D 1218 

Harris. Milton L 772 

Harris, Reason T 935 

Harrison Family 150 

Harrison, W^illiam R 148 

Hartman, William C 737 

Hasty, George. ^L D 23 

Haugh, Franklin 876 

Havens. David F 1235 

Hawk Family 671 

Hawkins, Jesse F 590 

Hawkins, Gen. John P 417 

Haworth Families 275, 715 

Haworth, Joel E 715 

Haworth, Dr. Mahlon C 275 

Hayes, Joseph H 602 

Haynes, Charles 291 

Hedge, Alanson 550 

Heiny, Eli 211 

Helm, Adam 627 

Helm, Adam H 537 

Helm, Henry 538 

Henderson, Howard E 842 

Hendricks, Mrs. Mary J....1103 

Hendricks, Thompson 1103 

Hendricks, Dr. Walter E..1104 

Henley, Elwood 380 

Henley Family 380 

Henrv. William E 312 

Hereth, William L 958 

Hergt, Fred 486 

Herod, William P 1186 

Herod, William W 1229 

Hershey, K. C, M. D..... ..1038 

Hershman, James K 831 

Hiatt Family 923 

Hibbs, Irwin, M. D 908 

Hickok, George 326 

Hicks, Alvin G 669 

Hicks, Clayton B 770 

Hicks, Edgar J 513 

Hicks, Joseph M., M. D 162 

Hicks, Mrs. Louise J 771 

Hicks, Samuel 358 

Hiday, Dr. Jacob 730 

Hiday, Thomas 730 

Higgs, James M 1127 

Hill, Albert A.. M. D 558 

Hill. William D., M. D 1107 

Hinshaw, John S 673 

Hoag, James H., M. D 669 

Hobbs, Mrs. Annie B 1226 

Hobbs, Cyrus M 255 

Hobbs Family 255 

Hobbs, James 614 

Hobbs, Walton C 1225 

Hodges, Ephraim 997 

Hodgin, Prof. Cyrus W no 

Hodgin Family no 

Hoereth, J. George 559 

Holadav, Thomas F., M. D.. 920 

Hollenbeck, Jacob W i=;4 

Hollett. Mark H 970 

Hollowell, Amos K 954 

Hollowell. Lynden P 479 

Holman, Daniel B 1113 

Holt. Henry 642 

Hoover, Enos W 667 

Hoover, Joseph S 683 


Horn, Turner B 486 

Home, William N., M. D..1064 

Hosford, Rezin 854 

Houghton, Prof. Alfred 893 

Houston Family 261 

Howard Family 1009 

Howard, Dr. Lewis N 860 

Howard,Capt. Montgomery C. loio 

Howard, Samuel 322 

Howe. Judge Daniel W 168 

Howe. John S 853 

Howell, Bricc M 853 

Howland, Hon. Elisha J.... 886 

Hoy, John H 1061 

Hubbard Family 839 

Hubbard, William H 839 

Hubbard, William S 184 

Hudson, James W 1014 

Huff Family 740 

Huff, John B ni9 

Huffer, Samuel U 397 

Huffman, Abel 1032 

Huffman Family 1 152 

Huffman. James 599 

Hughes. George 959 

Hughes, Rev. James 1123 

Hughes, Robert 810 

Hume, George E 61 

Hume, James M 60 

Hume. Mrs. .Mary E 6r 

Hunter. Charles G 602 

Hunter, George W 601 

Hunter, Rev. Rice V., D. D. . 529 

Hupp, DeWitt C 806 

Hurley, Frank C 1017 

Hurst, Rev. Emmons 664 

Hussey, Thomas 1006 

Huston, Joseph L 1007 

Hutchings, Dalphon 512 

Hutchins Family 697 

Hutchins, James L 697 

Hutto, George R 596 

Hyde Family 44 

Hyde. Rev. Nathaniel A 44 

Idler, Dewit C ,6o 

Ifert, George W 856 

Her. Ezra 875 

Ingling, Apollo S 617 

Ingling Families 566, 617 

Ingling, John H 566 

Jackson, O. H 197 

Jackson, Thomas W 881 

Jackson, William N 158 

Jameson, Henry, M. D 1232 

Jameson, Dr. Patrick H 474 

Janes Family 812 

Jay, Eli, A. B.. A. M 153 

Jay Family 153 

Jeffers, James G 700 

Jenkins, Alfred 541 

Jennings, William B 129 

Jennings, William H 363 

Jester, Joshua 780 

Jewett, Rev. Edward P 1137 

Johnson, Anthony 727 

Johnson, Ashley 945 

Johnson, Benjamin F 219 


Johnson, David R 942 

Johnson Families 30, 79. 937 

Johnson, FrankHn P 82 

Johnson, Grafton 437 

Johnson, John W 999 

Johnson, Jonathan 1036 

Johnson, Mahlon 937 

Johnson, Oliver 79 

Johnson, Perry T 33s 

Johnson, Sylvester 30 

Jones, Nathaniel H 751 

Jones, William H 507 

Jones, Hon. William H 1064 

Jordan, Ira H., M. D 1161 

Jordan, James C 898 

Jordan, James H 1222 

Joss, Hon. Frederick A 100 

Kautz, John A 717 

Kelly, Robert L., LL. D 87 

Kelso, Elmer E., M. D 924 

Kennedy Family 893 

Kennedy, James C 369 

Kennedy, Samuel, M. D 893 

Kennedy, William W 1154 

Kenroy. James 880 

Kenworthy, Harry L 867 

Kern, Hon. John W 22 

Kessinger, Charles A., M. D.1104 

Kiler, John M 1238 

King Family 574 

King, William 574 

Kinnaman, Fred L 723 

Kinnaman, George C 724 

Kinnaman, John W 1099 

Kinnard, Joseph D 1076 

Kinney, Collie E 204 

Kirby Family 1068 

Kirby, Thomas H 1073 

Kirk, Harvey A 1136 

Ki>sel. John 281 

Kissel, Samuel R 1238 

Klepfer, Omri D 677 

Klingensmith, Neldo 1017 

Klingensmith, Peter 1042 

Knight, Isaac 1157 

Knight, John C 878 

Knowland, James T 843 

Knox, J. j. 1044 

Kno.x, William J 909 

Kregelo, Charles E 428 

Kregelo, David 428 

Kuhn, August M 447 

Kuhn, Oscar T 871 

LaGrange, Daniel C 658 

Lanam, Dr. Jesse H 644 

Landers Family 412 

Landers, John 624 

Landes, William F 230 

Landgraf, Norbert 519 

Lankford, William L 816 

Laughlin, Jeremiah 735 

Lawrence F'amily 1196 

Lawrence, Henry W 414 

Lawrence, T. E 1196 

Lawson, Spencer 1128 

Layman Family 248 

Layman, Hon. James T 248 

Layton, William W 847 

Leach, Lyman 290 

Leach, Philip 1033 

Lefeber, Alonzo L 639 

Lefeber Family 639 

Lehman Family 248 

Lewark, John W 318 

Light, Robert C, M. D 336 

Lindley, C. M., M. D 1199 

Lingenfelter, William L 246 

Loehr, Edgar C, M. D 1067 

Logsdon Family 504 

Logsdon, Laurence 504 

Long Familv 813 

Lucas, Rev. "Daniel R., D. D. 200 

Lucas Family 201 

Luick, George 1091 

Lukenbill, Orestes C, M. D. . 170 

McBride, Hon. Robert W... 280 

McCann, John P 1041 

McCarty, Nicholas, Jr 28 

McCartv, Nicholas, Sr 24 

McCarty, William T., M. D. . 965 

McClain, Alexander 963 

McClintock, Tliomas A 509 

McCole, Maj. Cyrus J 1089 

McConnell, John S 659 

McCormack, Amos D 1043 

McCormack Family 938 

McCormack, Lycurgus P.... 938 

McComiick Family 220 

McCormick, Jediah R 220 

McCormick, John L 953 

McCoy Family 748 

McCoy, Taylor E 748 

McCoy, Thomas A 779 

McCray, Franklin 478 

McFarland, John L 692 

McFarland, William 961 

McGaughey, Rev. Oliver W. 228 
McGinnis. Gen. George F. . . 439 

McKee, Edward L 458 

McKej", Ben F 223 

McMurry, James 494 

Maas, Louis 570 

Maclntire, Capt. Charles T..1216 

MacKenzie, Cyrus W 1167 

Mackintosh, Rev. George L. . 976 

Macy, Hon. David 134 

Macy Families 134. 154 

Magenheimer, Val. A., M. D. 449 

Major, Elder Noah J 140 

Major. Sylvanus 1063 

Makepeace, Allen Q 313 

Makepeace, Capt. Alonzo I.. 1056 

Makepeace Family 313 

Malott, Volney T 130 

Manship Familv 682 

Manship, Jonas' B 682 

Mansur, William 59 

Marker, William H 780 

Marott, George J 488 

Mars. William A 887 

Martin, James L 745 

Martin, James W 1 139 

Martin, Jesse 907 

Martin, Nathaniel 612 

Martz, A. E 699 


Martz Family 394, 699 

Martz, Nicholas S 393 

Mason, Augustus 1 436 

Matthews, J. L 410 

Matthews. Oscar 843 

Mattlcr, Francis J 202 

Maxwell, Dr. Allison 430 

Maxwell, Mrs. Cynthia 157 

Maxwell, Dr. James D 431 

Maxwell, Hon. James J 157 

May, Fred E 1013 

May, :Mrs. May H 1012 

Meeks Family 365 

Meeks. James W 368 

Meeks. William A 368 

Mehring Family 569 

Mehring. Luther 569 

Meikel Family 72 

Merrill Family 632 

Merrill, James S 632 

IMerryweather, Savjl 734 

Meserve, Rev. Harry C 206 

Metzger, Robert 376 

Millard Family 191 

Miller, Gen. Abram O., M. D. 46 

:MilIer, Lewis A 11 18 

Miller, Mrs. Mary L 47 

Miller, Perry 753 

Milner, John W 516 

Mingle, Peter 340 

Minnick, David N 879 

Minnick, Mrs. Lydia A 880 

Minton. John W 1002 

Mitchell Family 419 

Mitchell, Henry C 821 

Mitchell. Robert B.. M. D... 422 

Mitchell. Samuel M 418 

Mitchell. Thomas J 782 

Mock Families 371, 1082 

Mock, Martin G 1082 

Mock, Noah 759 

Mock, Phoebe 371 

Molt, William F., M. D 563 

!Moore, Cornelius 388 

Moore Families 96, 738 

Moore, James L 738 

Moore, John 686 

Moore, Dr. John R 1 131 

Moore, Hon. Joseph J 96 

Moore. Thomas 332 

Moore. Rev. Webster O 11 17 

Moraskj', Christ 607 

Moreland, Rev. John R 75 

Morgan, \\'iUiam J 278 

Morris, Sylvan B 707 

Murphy, Dr. Maurice G....1143 
Murphy, William H., M. D...1142 

Mustard, Jacob S 584 

Myers, Allen 1093 

Mvers Family 118 

Myers, Capt. William R.... 118 

Neiman, Benjamin M 399 

Nelson, Elliott A 157 

Nelson. Lewis B 199 

Neptune, Richard 720 

New Families 18, 29 

New, Harry S 29 

New, Ccl. John C 18 


Newby Family 1039 

Newby, Howard H 1040 

Newton, Augustus S 

Nichol Family 649 

Nichol, George 649 

Nicholson, M. D 103 1 

Nickerson, William H 709 

Noble Family 769 

Noble, Thomas B., M. D 39^ 

Noble, Thomas Y 613 

Noble, William D 769 

Nowland, Mrs. Amelia T 21 

Nowland, John H. B 20 

Norwood, Elbert F 167 

Nunn, Ilia II4S 

Nutter, Isaac W 1235 

Nutter, Walter E 1 169 

Ogle, Elijah 1024 

Overbey, William H 903 

Overstreet, Gabriel M 433 

Overstreet, Hon. Jesse 441 

Owens, George 761 

Owens, William 675 

Paddock, Curtis C 1176 

Page, Thomas J 952 

Paige. Mrs. Maud A 557 

Palmer, George H 923 

Palmer, Hiram H 7S6 

Park Family 626 

Park, John 626 

Parks Family 250 

Parks, Joseph i6r 

Parks, Judge Milton H 137 

Parks, Perminter ^I.. Sr 137 

Parrish, J. Willard, M. D. . . . 287 

Parrott, Horace 1240 

Parry, D. M 461 

Parry, Roger 900 

Pasquier, John B 1175 

Paswater Family 648 

Patterson Famiiies 713, 741 

Patterson, James 713 

Patterson, Mark 741 

Patterson, William 83 

Patton, Ezra 357 

Paul, George 1171 

Paul. Joseph W li/T 

Peacock, William H 545 

Peake, Benjamin J 499 

Pearcy, Hiram T 1029 

Pearcy, Van Buren 1016 

Pearson Family 454 

Peek, Dudley 1227 

Penny Family 661 

Penny, George A 661 

Perry, Arba T 51 

Perry Family 50 

Perry, John C 50 

Phillips, Eli 928 

Pickel, Daniel 1048 

Pogue, George 481 

Poindexter Family 328 

Poindexter, Robert E 328 

Porter, Albert G 1221 

Porter, Edward B 1222 

Porter Family 1221 

Potter, William H 11 16 


Powell, Rev. Dayid D 835 

Powell, Isaac 946 

Preston, Dr. Albert G 330 

Preston, John V 330 

Pritchard., Carleton C 1008 

Props, WiUiani H 811 

Prunk, Daniel H., M. D 862 

Pryor, EUer E 805 

Quill, Michael 864 

Raber, Philip A nSS 

Randall, Henry C 614 

Randolph, Milton S 512 

Rash. John T 899 

Ratcliff, Moses C 947 

Rathert, William 242 

Ranch, John 242 

Reading, Alexander D 825 

Reading. Mrs. Sarah E. J.... 826 

Reagan, Mrs. Esther J 1152 

Reagan, George 1151 

Records, Franklin S 1 19S 

Records, John N., M. D 119S 

Records, Dr. Samuel 1203 

Redmond, Mrs. Ann 161 

Redmond,' Thomas ...' 161 

Reichart, Abraham 536 

Reid, Erasmus S 556 

Reid Family 555 

Reid, George W 555 

Rentsch, Robert 578 

Ressler. Jeremiah 1005 

Reyel, William W 610 

Richards, Rcy. Dayid R 803 

Richardson, Harland 581 

Richardson, Miss Ida F 233 

Richardson, Joel F 232 

Ridge, John G 872 

Ridpath. Henry N 1227 

Rifner Family 1062 

Rihl, Charles H 539 

Riley, James Whitcomb 468 

Riley. Martin V 593 

Rinker, Aaron 758 

Ritzinger, John B 982 

Ritzinger, Mrs. Myla F 983 

Robinson Family 187 

Rodibaugh, Samuel 791 

Rogers, Joseph M 732 

Rose, Aaron 1 138 

Ross, Col. James R 1052 

Ross, Mrs. Thesta A 1053 

Rothschild, Leopold G 472 

Rouse, William 1 124 

Ruckle, Col. Nicholas R 182 

Rudolph, Edward mo 

Rugenstein, William 1000 

Runnels Families 67, 163 

Runnels, Orange S., A. M.. 

M. D 67 

Runnels, SoUis, M. D 163 

Rupp, John 524 

Rush, M. A.. M. D 882 

Russell, Prof. Elbert 94 

Russell Family 94 

Rutledge, Capt. Jechonias... 179 
Ryan, George W 625 


Saffer Family 832 

Safifer, Prof. Levi G 832 

Sanders, Frederick C 818 

Sansberry. Charles T 736 

Satterwhite, Dr. Harvey 863 

Sayles, Charles F 264 

Sayles Family 264 

Sayles, Mrs. Frances T 267 

Scearce, H. C 1164 

Schaaf, Valentine 39 

Schier, Wendelin 664 

Scholl, Capt. Jacob F 792 

Schooley Family 733 

Schooley, William 379 

Schrader, William H 1241 

Scott, Col. Jefferson K 1178 

Scott, Vincent II79 

Scudder Family 966 

Scudder, Isaac B 966 

Seal Family 749 

Seaton, Dr. Charles 360 

Seaton Family 360 

Seaton. Guy, M. D 882 

Secrest, Maj. Nathan A 536 

Sellers. Bartley 1 162 

Sells Family 799 

Sells, Samuel C 799 

Selvage, Joseph W 542 

Seward Family 377 

Seward, Freeman H 377 

Shaw, William G 825 

Shearer, Daniel 224 

Shearer Family 224 

Sheets, Col. William H. H. . 205 

Shepherd, James McB 70 

Sheppard, Joseph H 553 

Shireman. Henry 877 

Shireman, Max 1062 

Showalter, Samuel 588 

Shulse, Rev. John M 869 

Shuman, John B 944 

Siegmund Family 387 

Silver, James R 187 

Sims, Calvin F 840 

Sims, John J 894 

Singleton, Francis T 1206 

Slack, Hon. L. Ert 865 

Sloan, George W., M. D.... 107 

Smead Family 621 

Smead, W. H 621 

Smith, A. J 784 

Smith, Bart 1135 

Smith, Greeley 1210 

Smith, Horace E 1225 

Smith, Odin R 151 

Smith, Rufus B 1 160 

Smith, Col. Zemro A 482 

Smock, William C 177 

Snider, Alonzo 1026 

Sourbeer, John R 619 

Sowder, Charles R., M. D 1209 

Spannuth, Dawilla 836 

Spence Family 929 

Spence, Nathan N 929 

Spicer, J. W., M. D 381 

Spiegel, Augustus 968 

Sponsel, Henry 165 

Sponsel, Henry G 229 

Stake, Charles 1240 



Starr, Joel D 

.... -66 

Steele, Theodore C 

.... 657 

Stelling, Augustus 


Stembel, Dr. Basil J.... 


Stephens, John H 

.... 272 

Stephenson, John W. . . 


Stephenson, Mrs. Malind 

a J. 1 158 

Stetzel, John 


Stierwalt, John K 

.... 1044 

Stiver, Henry 

.... 918 

Stolte, Henry 

.... 484 

Stoops Family 


Stott, William T., t). 




Stout, Rev. Andrew P. . 


Stout Families 

.218. 398 

Stout, Furman 


Stout, George W 

.... 179 

Strawn, Jeptha 

.... 670 

Stuck, Peter 

.... 580 

Studebaker. Joseph A.. 


Sulgrove, Joseph B 


Sullivan, Beverly W., 


D. S. 


Sullivan Family 

.... 413 

Sullivan, Reginald H. . . 

.... 413 

Sutton, John 


Swain. Charles E 

.... 629 

Swain, William N 

.... 902 

Swan, John A 

.... 1226 

Taffe, George A 183 

Tarlton, Hon. Caleb B 139 

Tarlton Family 139 

Taylor, Albert B S97 

Taylor Families, 

671, 796, 1027, 1058 

Taylor, Henry B 1058 

Taylor, Jacob C 672 

Taylor, James A 724 

Taylor, Jesse B 1090 

Taylor, John B 1027 

Taylor, Ward M 796 

Teague. William R 325 

Teckenbrock, C. H 1003 

Teckenbrock, H. W 622 

Teeters, Mrs. Eliza A 317 

Teeters, Milan M 317 

Templeton Family 1207 

Templeton, Leroy 1207 

Terhune Family 896 

Terhune, Rufus W., M. D. . 896 

Test, Judge Charles H 91 

Teter Family 645 

Teter, George 647 

Teter, Newton 648 

Tevebaugh. William F 585 

Thatcher, Thomas 589 

Thayer. Elmer Q 657 

Thistlcthwaite, Edward .... 638 

Thomas Family 706 

Thomas, Harrison ■,022 

Thomas, William H., M. D.. 181 

Thompson, Frank E 1153 

Thompson, Rev. Isaac N....1202 
■fhompson. Wni. L., M. D... 448 

Thomson, A 544 

Thornburgh, Amos 874 


Tilford, John C 490 

Tilford. Hon. Joseph M 979 

Tilson Family 1213 

Tingle. O. W 694 

Tomlinson. Carl H., M. D.. 310 

Tout. Asa .=;ii 

Tout, Wilkison M 551 

Towel!, Samuel .A. 1019 

Townsend Family 249 

Traub, William H 904 

Trucksess Families 562, 603 

Trucksess, Fred 534 

Trucksess, John J 603 

Trueblood, Prof. Edwin P.. 99 

Trueblood, Hezekiah L 543 

Truitt Family 920 

Truitt. John W 920 

Tucker, Dr. .\lbert R loSo 

Tucker Family . . .• 915 

Tuttle Familv 267 

Tyler, Spafford E 508 

Tyner Family 1055 

Van Arsdale, C. A. B 763 

Vance, W. C 389 

Vandivier, James H 957 

Vandivier, Noah R 650 

Van Home Family 1012 

Vanmatrc, .Andrew J .•?49 

Van Pelt, Capt. Francis M. . 687 

Van Pelt, Samuel D 678 

Van Pelt. Uriah 690 

Vestal, Albert H 760 

Vinson Family 253 

Vinson, Rev. John 253 

Wachtell, Calvin S 917 

Waehtell Family 915 

Wagner. John 1 129 

Wagner, Capt. John H 709 

Wald, Adolph 592 

Walker, Col. Ivan N 68 

Wall, Charles H T087 

Wall Family 1087 

Wallace, Gen. Lew 1230 

Wallace, Capt. William J 171 

Wallick, John F 200 

Walters Family 933 

Walters, MacDonald 933 

Walton, Rev. James P 247 

Warfel Family 754 

Waterman, Henry A 1037 

Watkins, Madison G 222 

Watson Family 1174 

Watson, Samuel 11 74 

Watters, Anthony $26 

Waymire Family 807 

Waymire, John S S08 

Waymire. Martin 807 

Weathers, James 608 

Webb, James F 1204 

Webb, James L loi . 

Weesner, Bennajah U 528 

Weinberger, Herman 481 

Weir. George W 963 

Wcnner. John J 605 

Whallon Family ^i2 

Whallon, Judge Thomas C. . 552 


Wieclcr, Charles J i j,S 

Wheeler Family 121 

Wheeler, George W 127 

Wheeler, Henry P 127 

Wheeler, James W 126 

Wheeler. John H 125 

Wheeler, Philip S 125 

Wheeler, William T 123 

White, James L 1125 

White, Moses C 1050 

Whitesitt, William H 837 

Whitinger, Mrs. Esther J. . 597 

Whitinger, Henry 597 

Wild, Leonard 746 

Wiles, Theodore 515 

Wiley Family 994 

Wilkinson, John B 514 

Willhide Familv 692 

Willhide, Martin H 692 

Williams, Henry 764 

Williams, Henrv G 771 

Williams, Rees R 1237 

Williams, Rufus 755 

Williams, William ios9 

Wills, John T 276 

Wilmington Family 347 

Wilmington. Oscar N 347 

Wilson. Mrs. Ann G 1133 

Wilson, Charles G 1 1 34 

Wilson, David B 1032 

Wilson, Isaac 1230 

Wingate, Edwin H 1 125 

Wirt, Capt. John B 464 

Wishard Family 73. 77, 471 

Wishard. Joseph M.. M. D. . 471 
Wishard. William H., JiLD.. 72 
Wishard, William N., M. D.. 76 

Wishmire. Christian F 497 

Witt, Albert E 685 

Witt, Richard C 685 

Wonnell, Thomas W 695 

Wood, Alexander 207 

Woods Family 3 

Woods, John W 530 

Woods, Judge William A... "3 

Worrell, Preston L 1019 

Wynn, Lieut. Charles W.... 948 

Wynn Family 948 

Wynn, Wilbur S 42 

Wysong. Adolphus i loi 

Yandes, Daniel i 

Vandes, George B 107 

Yandes, Simon 104 

Yoke, Prof. Nelson 484 

Yoke, Richason .•^ 483 

York, Edwin D 522 

York, William G 495 

Younce, Elder Andrew 750 

Younce Family 355 

Younce, Joseph 355 

Young. John H 1178 

Zabel, Charles G 9S9 

Zane Family 55 

Zeublin Family 1077 

Zeublin, Lieut. Jonathan W....1077 




lANIEL YANDES belonged to 
that class of men who natur- 
ally become pioneers. He 
was born in Faj-ette county, 
Pa., in January, 1793, when 
it was yet a new country, 
with fertile soil, and a hilly 
but beautiful surface, un- 
derlaid with coal. He was 
the son of Simon Yandes, whose wife before 
marriage was Anna Catherine Rider — both 
natives of Germany. His parents lived upon 
a farm near the JNIoiiongahela river west of 
Uniontown. They had two sons, Daniel and 
Simon, who received only the limited educa- 
tion usual at that time. Both of the sons 
worked on the farm. They enlisted in the 
year 1813 under General Harrison, in the last 
war with Great Britain, and served six months 
in northern Ohio, but were not engaged in 
battle. The father of Gov. Albert G. Porter 
enlisted in the same company. In 1814, when 
the city of Washington was first threatened 
by the British, they again enlisted, and 
Daniel Yandes at the age of twenty-one was 
elected major of the regiment. Before leav- 
ing the place of rendezvous the order to march 
was countermanded, and the troops were not 
again ordered out. In 1815 occurred the 
most fortunate event of his life, and that was 
his marriage to Anna Wilson, the oldest 
daughter of James Wilson and his wife, Mary 
Rabb. James Wilson was a leading farmer 
and magistrate of the county. The Wilsons 
were Scotch-Irish Presbyterians, and the 
Rabbs Scotch-English Presbyterians, and 
Anna Wilson was a Presbyterian. Her edu- 
cational advantages were but moderate as 
compared with those at present. James Wil- 
son's father, Alexander Wilson, was born in 
1727, and removed from Lancaster county, 

Pa., to Fayette county, where he died in 1815. 

After the marriage of Daniel Yandes he 
acquired a inill and opened a coal mine. In 
1817 his father died, at the age of eighty- 
four, and in 1818, when the advantages of 
the fertile soil of Indiana were heralded in 
western Pennsylvania and enthusiasm aroused, 
he, with his wife, mother and two children, 
floated down the Ohio to Cincinnati, and 
went thence to Fayette county, Ind., where 
he opened a farm in the woods near Conners- 
ville. In the spring of 1821 he removed to 
Indianapolis, which had been fixed upon as 
the seat of government for the State, and re- 
sided there until his death in June, 1878, at 
the age of eighty-five years and five months. 
His portrait and signature represent him at 
the age of eighty. His first residence was a 
log cabin which he built near the northeast 
corner of Washington and Illinois streets. In 
1822 he erected and resided in a double log 
cabin near the southwest corner of Washing- 
ton and Alabama streets, opposite the Court 
House Square. In 1823 he built a new frame 
residence of three rooms in that locality. 
About 183 1 he erected a two-story brick resi- 
dence west of and adjoining the State Life 
building. In 1837 he was the owner of an 
acre of ground where the L'nited States court 
house and postoffice now stands, and where 
he built a large plain two-story brick resi- 
dence. Here he lived until it was sold to the 
First Presbyterian Church in 1863, and here 
his wife died in 1851. After her death he 
did not marry again. 

He came to Indianapolis with about four 
thousand dollars, and strange as it may seem, 
that constituted him the largest capitalist of 
the incipient metropolis for the next ten 
years. That amount included the total of 
his inheritance and of his own acquisitions 


up to 1821. He was, in common with pio- 
neers generall)-, a man of rugged health, and 
liopefiil. confiding and enterprising. He was 
fond of building mills, manufactories, and in- 
troducing other improvements. On his arri- 
val in Indianapolis, with his brother-in-law 
he erected the saw and gristmill on the bayou 
southwest of the city where the McCarty 
land now is, the dam being built across White 
river at the head of the island which was 
opposite the Old Cemetery. This is said to 
have been the first mill in the New Pur- 

About 1823 the firm of Yandes & Wil- 
kens established the first tannery in the county. 
and continued in that business .together about 
thirty years. The active partner was John 
Wilkcns, a man well known for his uncom- 
mon merits. Afterward Daniel Yandes con- 
tinued the same business with his nephew. 
Lafayette Yandes. After the death of Lafay- 
ette he formed another partnership, with his 
nephew, Daniel Yandes, Jr., and James C. 
Parmerlee in an extensive tannery in Brown 
county, and in a leather store at Indianapolis. 
About the year 1825 Mr. Yandes became the 
partner in a store with Franklin Merrill, 
brother of Samuel Merrill. Stores in the early 
history of Indianapolis contained a miscel- 
laneous assortment, more or less extensive, 
including dry-goods, groceries, queensware, 
hardware, hats, shoes, etc. About 1831 he 
became the partner of Edward T. Porter, and 
the store of Yandes & Porter was in a brick 
building which preceded that where the State 
Life building now stands. At nearly the 
same time he started Joseph Sloan in business 
as a merchant at Covington, Ind., and con- 
tinued his partner for several years. In 1833 
he and Samuel iMerrill, treasurer of State, 
dug a race along Fall creek, and built a grist- 
mill, a sawmill, and the first cotton-spinning 
factory in this region. A few years after- 
ward he and William Sheets, then late secre- 
tary of State, built on the canal west of the 
State-house grounds the first paper-mill in 
the county. About the same time he became 
the partner of Thomas M. Smith in a store, 
and about 1838 was the partner of John F. 
Hill in another store, both of which were on 
the north side of Washington street, a little 
west of Pennsylvania street. In 1839, under 
great difficulties, he alone built at Lafayette, 
Ind., a gristmill, sawmill, and paper-mill, and 
opened with his son James a large store. 
While engaged in this enterprise the panic 

was precipitated upon the country, and Mr. 
Yandes found himself involved heavily in 
debt, both as principal and indorser, at Indi- 
anapolis and Lafayette. While he enjoyed 
the good-will of his creditors, he did not com- 
mand their entire confidence as to his solvency, 
and during the years 1839 to 1844 judgments 
in ■Marion county accumulated against him 
to the amount of over twenty-two thousand 
dollars, when he sacrificed some of his most 
valuable property at much less than cost. At 
the same time he was under protest at the 
bank at Lafayette. In due time, however, he 
paid the full amount of his debts, and it is 
a matter of honest pride that he and his chil- 
dren have always paid in full individual and 
all other indebtedness. About the year 1847 
he and Thomas H. Sharpe built the College 
Hall, a brick building, which preceded the 
Fletcher & Sharpe bank and store property, 
at the corner of Washington and Pennsyl- 
vania streets ; and a few years afterward he 
erected a brick building on Washington street 
west of Pennsylvania street. In 1847 he built 
ten miles of the Aladison railroad, which was 
completed about September of that year, and 
was the first railroad to Indianapolis. The 
same year he joined in building a gristmill 
at Franklin. In 1852 he and Alfred Harrison 
built thirty miles of the eastern end in Indi- 
ana of the Bellefontaine railroad. Previous 
to this time he had twice ventured success- 
fully in sending large cargoes of provisions 
by flat-boats from Indiana to New Orleans. 
About the year 1854, during the Kansas ex- 
citement, his desire for the freedom of that 
State impellel him to aid some young men to 
settle there, whom he accompanied to the 
West. About i860 he joined Edward T. 
Sinker as partner in the Western Machine 
\\'orks, where he continued for some years. 

One of his most curious traits was the 
manifestation of unusual energy and labor for 
a series of years until an enterprise could be 
put upon a solid basis, after which he evinced 
unusual indolence and inattention to details 
for several years, until he became again en- 
listed in a new enterprise. As a consequence, 
after new enterprises were fairly started and 
tested, he lost interest in them, and m a few 
years would usually sell his interest. He was 
senior partner, and in most cases the capital- 
ist. Although he matured his plans carefully 
and patiently, he was nevertheless too fond of 

If his business career had terminated 


when he was seventy-five }-ears of age he 
would have been a successful business man ; 
but an undue fondness for enterprise and a 
hopeful enthusiasm, together with the fascina- 
tions of the far West, an over-confidence in 
others, and the deterioration incident to old 
age, with his unwillingness to be advised, re- 
sulted in disaster. He lost a considerable 
amount in mines in the West, and a large sum 
in the Brazil Furnace, stripping him in effect 
of his property when he was past the age of 

In politics he was a very decided Whig 
and Republican, but cared little for the dis- 
tinctions of office. He was, however, the first 
treasurer of Marion county, and in 1838 Gov- 
ernor Noble, unsolicited, appointed him one 
of the board of internal improvements to aid 
in carrying out the extensive system of im- 
provements provided for bv the Legislature 
in 1836. 

In church matters he was a Lutheran by 
preference, but there being no church of that 
denomination at Indianapolis in early times 
he became a Presbyterian, and was for some 
years one of the first elders and trustees of 
the Second Presbyterian Church. From 1823 
to 1845, and until the failure of his wife's 
health, his house was one of the favorite stop- 
ping places of the Presbyterian clergy. Rev. 
Mr. Proctor, and afterward Rev. George 
Bush, were his guests for months. He was 
liberal to charities and the church, having 
given away up to 1865 about sixty thousand 
dollars. It would require at least double that 
amount, according to the present value of 
money, to be an equivalent. 

Five of his children died young. His 
daughter Mary Y. Wheeler died in 1852. 
His son, James W. Yandes, died in 1885. 
Simon Yandes died Oct. 5, 1903. Elizabeth 
Y. Robinson died in ]\Iay, 1904. His daugh- 
ter Catharine C. Fletcher and his son George 
B.' Yandes yet survive him. 

(deceased), at one time United States Circuit 
Judge, was born May 16, 1837, near Farming- 
ton, Marshall Co., Tenn., and came of Scotch- 
Irish ancestry by both father and mother. 
She was a Ewing. About 1760 the family 
came from Ireland to western Pennsylvania, 
whence descendants went to Maryland, Vir- 
ginia, North Carolina, Georgia, Tennessee and 
other western States. Both Judge Woods's 

grandparents were well-to-do farmers and in- 
Huential slave-holders. 

P^rancis H. Woods, the paternal grandfather 
of Judge Woods, was a son of Samuel Woods, 
who married Elizabeth Patten. Samuel 
Woods, or liis father, came from the North 
of Ireland and settled in Pennsylvania about 
1760. William D. Ewing, the maternal 
grandfather of Judge Ewing, was a son of 
Sanuiol Ewing, and grandson of George 
I'-wing. Sr., wlio married Eleanor Caldwell. 
William D. Ewuig was probably born in 
Georgia, and moving into Tennessee settled 
in what is now Marshall county, three miles 
north of Lewisburg, the county seat, where 
iie cleared a farm and spent his life. He reared 
a goodly family, and died at the age of eighty- 
four years. I'he wife of William D. Ewiiig 
was Rebecca Ewing, daughter of David 
Ewing. who was a son of William Ewing, Sr., 
who came from Ireland about 1760. The 
Judge's grandmother on his father's side was 
the aunt of his maternal grandmother. 

Allen Newton Woods, father of Judge 
Woods, was a student of theology, and took 
strong ground in opposition to slavery. He 
died June 15, 1837, when only twenty-six 
years old, and about 1844 liis widow married 
Capt. John J. Miller, who was also opposed 
to the institution of slavery. Capt. Aliller 
took his family to Davis county, Iowa, where 
he died before the ending of the year, leaving 
William Allen, and a younger step-brother, 
Adolphus, who is now a resident of south- 
western Iowa, to do the work of the farm 
under the guidance of a brave-hearted and 
pious mother. His life was one of exacting 
but hopeful toil in field and forest, brick yard, 
sawmill, gristmill and village store until in 
his sixteenth year he became a student, later 
an assistant teacher, in the Troy Academy : a 
notable result considering the limited advant- 
ages he had received at the district school. He 
was made chief of the lodge of the I. O. G. T., 
at Troy, and in the winter of 1854-55 helped 
organize at Troy. He was elected a member 
of the Grand Lodge of the Order in Iowa. 

In September, 1855, he matriculated at 
\Vabash College, from which he graduated in 
1859. During the ensuing year he was a tutor 
of the College. In i86o he took a school posi- 
tion at Marion, Ind., which he held until the 
first battle of Bull Run, when the school was 
broken up by the enlistment of Mr. Woods. 
An injured foot, however, disabled him from 


active service, and he was admitted in Decem- 
ber, 1861, to the Bar of the Grant County Cir- 
cuit Court, which was presided over by Judge 
Horace P. Biddle. At that session of the 
Court, as deputy prosecutor, he conducted the 
criminal trials. At Goshen, Ind., he opened 
a law office, March 17, 1862, and for two years 
had little to do. This time he diligently im- 
proved by careful and tliorough reading, 
which he did to such purpose that he became 
noted for a thorough and ready command of 
the principles of legal practice, and their ap- 
plication to the problems of the Court. Pres- 
ently his practice took on satisfactory propor- 
tions, and he was elected to the State Legis- 
lature in 1867, and introduced and pushed to a 
passage several important measures, by one of 
which a new judicial circuit was created, the 
judgeship of which was tendered to him by 
Gov. Baker. This i\Ir. Woods declined, as 
he did a renomination to the Legislature and 
a nomination to Congress, though his election 
would have been very certain. As an earnest 
Republican he was always active in his county 
campaigning, though seldom willing to speak 

Judge Woods was elected to the Judgeship 
of the 34th Judicial Circuit, in 1873. It was 
composed of Elkhart and LaGrange counties. 
He was re-elected without opposition in 1878, 
and was continued in that office until January, 
1881. That year he took his seat on the Su- 
preme Bench of the State, succeeding Judge 
Biddle. In May, 1883, being at the time Chief 
Justice of that Court, he was appointed Dis- 
trict Judge for the District of Indiana by 
President Arthur. Judge Gresham was his 
predecessor. Judge Woods held that high 
position until March 17, 1892. This was thirty 
years from the time he opened his office in 
Goshen. On the nomination of President Har- 
rison, he was commissioned United States Cir- 
cuit Judge for the Seventh Circuit, under the 
act of Congress, creating the United States Cir- 
cuit Court of Appeals, of which he was ex- 
officio a judge. By reason of his priority of 
commission following Judge Gresham, he was 
the presiding judge at the time of his death. 

The work of Judge Wcxjds on the Su- 
preme Bench of Indiana is preserved in the 
official reports, commencing with Vol. 73, and 
is well known to the profession, and of this 
a discriminating estimate was published in 
the "Green Bag" of 1892. On the Federal 
Bench he has dealt with many important 
cases, some of which, like the Tallysheet Cases, 

tlie Dudley Case, the World's Fair Sunday 
Opening Case, and the Debs Case, have been 
subject to wide comment and discussion. 
Rarely, if ever, has a more notable tribute 
been paid to the law and to a judge for de- 
claring and enforcing it, than the following 
pronounced by Justice Brevvfer, in an address 
before the Marquette Club, of Chicago, in 
February, 1896: "The great strike, of which 
this city was the historic center, attests the 
wisdom of judicial interference. * * * 
The peaceful ending of that strike is a supreme 
attestation of the power of the American peo- 
ple to govern themselves. That honest and 
true-minded men were in both sides of that 
controversy, no sensible man doubts, and that 
it was settled judicially, and not by bayonets 
and bullets, is the glory of all. Let me say 
in passing, that the hero of that struggle for 
the domination of the Law was Circuit Judge 
William A. Woods, whose name will be re- 
vered and honored through the coming ages, 
long after the memories of his critics and 
assailants shall have become like the body 
of Lazarus four days in the grave." 

The case, however, that attracted the most 
attention was the proceeding against Col. 
Dudley, charged with writing a letter from 
New York, during the campaign of 1888, ad- 
vising bribery at the polls. The election was, 
perhaps, the most exciting ever held in the 
State, and charges of corruption were freely 
made by both parties. A "confidential" letter, 
asserted to have been written by the chairman 
of a Democratic County Committee to a 
subordinate, fell into the hands of the opposite 
political party. It advised that voters who 
could be bought, were simply "floats," and 
should be closely looked after. Xo one should 
escape. Another letter, over the alleged signa- 
ture of Col. Dudley, written on a sheet bear- 
ing the imprint of the National Republican 
Committee, and addressed to an unknown per- 
son in Indiana, was intercepted in some man- 
ner, and fell into the hands of the Democratic 
Committee of the State. It gave full and ex- 
plicit directions for the conduct of the cam- 
paign, and contained this offensive clause, 
"Divide the floaters into blocks of five, and 
put a trusted man with necessary funds, in 
charge of these five. Make him responsible 
that none get awaj-, and that all vote our 
ticket." In his charge to the Federal Grand 
Jury, which met Nov. 14, 1888, Judge Woods 
called attention to Section 551 1, of the United 
States Revised Statutes, which makes bribery 


an offense, and provides that any person who 
"aids, counsels, procures or advises any such 
voter, person or officer to do any act hereby 
made a crime * * * shall be punished by 
a fine of not more than $500, or by imprison- 
ment, not more than three years, or by both. 
And shall pay the costs of prosecution." The 
question of the proper construction of the 
Statutes having been under consideration be- 
tween Judge Woods and Senator Macdonald, 
and there having developed a difference of 
•opinion, Judge Woods purposely omitted any 
construction of the section, and gave his charge 
to the Grand Jury employing the wording of 
the Statutes, so as to leave the District Attor- 
ney free to conduct the investigation before 
the Grand Jury in his own way. A month 
later, however, in response to a request from 
the Grand Jury for more explicit instruction, 
he quoted Section 55 11, and added this con- 
struction : "But in any case, beside the mere 
fact of the advice or counsel, it must be shown 
that the crime contemplated was committed, 
or an attempt made to commit it." This was 
followed by a storm of partisan criticism. It 
was charged in the Democratic press, and by 
the senior Senator from Indiana upon the floor 
of the United States Senate, that this construc- 
tion was inconsistent with the first charge, and 
that the Judge had determined to shield the 
guilty by making indictment impossible un- 
der his construction of the Law. The criti- 
cism being repeated in words of bitter de- 
nunciation in the Democratic State Platform 
of 1890, Judge Woods published an elaborate 
statement of facts with correspondence and 
data, which not only exonerated him from 
any suspicion of wrong doing or inconsistency, 
but also showed that his construction of the 
law was correct, that it was approved by 
Justice Harlan, of the LTnited States Supreme 
Court, who examined the authorities carefully 
at his request. It appeared later that his 
ruling was in exact accord with an early de- 
cision of the United States Supreme Court in 
the case of the U. S. vs. Mills. This was case 
7, Peters, 137, and it seems was overlooked 
while the discussion was being held. The 
vindication was complete. 

Judge Woods was well and favorably 
known in Indiana, and from three educational 
institutions of high degree did he receive the 
doctorate of Laws, namely: Asbury (De 
Pauw) University, Hanover and Wabash. 

Judge Woods was married, Dec. 6, 1870, 
to Miss Mata A., a daughter of ex-mayor 

Augustus Newton, of Des Moines, Iowa. To 
this union were born two children: Alice 
Newton, and Floyd Allen. The daughter is 
an artist of marked ability, and the son is a 
member of the legal profession in Indianapo- 
lis, and his career though brief shows that 
his father's mantle has fallen on worthy 

Augustus Newton was born at East Tem- 
pleton, Mass., and was educated in his native 
State. When a young man he came West 
locating in Benton Harbor, Mich., where he 
engaged in the fur trade on his own account. 
Later he went to Des Moines, Iowa, and there 
he built the first frame house, the first brick 
house and the first brick business block — the 
old Exchange Block — which is still standing. 
He was mayor of Des Moines and was a mer- 
chant there. After his retirement from busi- 
ness he moved to Knoxville, Tenn., where he 
died in February, 1894, aged seventy-four 
years. At Elkhart, Ind., he married Miss 
Mary Mitchell, born in Lancaster, Pa., daugh- 
ter of Gen. William B. IMitchell, born in the 
North of Ireland, of Scotch ancestors. Gen. 
Mitchell came to America when a young man, 
as a teacher, and he married Miss Rebecca 
Lyman, of Pennsylvania, born in Lancaster, 
of an old family there. Mrs. Woods's great- 
grandfather Newton was from Gardner, 
Mass., where he was a soldier in the war of 
the Revolution. His wife was a Miss Howe, 
a member of an early settled Puritan family. 

JOHN EBNER, president and sole owner 
of the Indianapolis Varnish Company, is one 
of the most prominent and successful business 
men of his city. A pioneer in his line in the 
middle west, he has by untiring, well-directed 
efforts risen step by step to his present pros- 
perous condition, being the head of one of the 
largest concerns of its kind in this section. 
His splendid business qualifications, as well 
as his many other admirable traits of char- 
acter, he has inherited from good German 

John Ebner, his grandfather, was a man 
of means and influence. For the most part he 
made his residence in the Kingdom of Wur- 
temberg, Germany, and there upon reaching 
manhood he settled and began managing a 
vineyard. Branching out in business, he also 
engaged in the manufacture of wine very suc- 
cessfully. Pie prospered through life and won 
the confidence of all, establishing for him- 
self a leading place in the business world. 


During liis young manhood he married and 
by this union there were five children, all of 
whom made their homes in Germany, and 
there died : David, John, Christoff , Caroline 
and Mary. ^Ir. Ebner was a man of cultiva- 
tion, and was well informed on general sub- 
jects. Possessed of many social attributes, he 
won for himself friends in all circles, espe- 
cially in the business world, where he wielded 
a large infiuence. Coming of an old and 
prominent Protestant family, he strictly ad- 
hered to their religious teachings. 

Christoff Ebner, father of John Ebner, 
whose name heads this sketc'n, fell heir to a 
good share of his father's stock of brains and 
force of character. Born in \\'urtemberg, he 
there, under the influence of a cultivated home 
and progressive institutions, grew to man- 
hood. As a preparation for life's activities 
he early learned the trade of a weaver, and 
being possessed of rare ability in his line he 
became in time an artist in that branch of in- 
dustry. As a young man he engaged in the 
manufacture of embroideries, corsets and other 
fine articles for ladies, and, meeting with suc- 
cess in this industry, he continued it for the 
most part throughout his active life. A skilled 
workman, gifted in directing aft'airs, and a good 
financial manager, he made well out of this in- 
dustry, and on the whole prospered through 
life. He died at the old homestead in Fricken- 
hausen, Wurtemberg, Germany, June 17, 1851, 
at the age of fifty-three years. 

During his young manhood ]Mr. Ebner 
married Rosina Xestil, who was born in Frick- 
enhausen, Wurtemberg, and to this union 
came six children: Pauline (who married J. 
Lang) and William, who both died in 
Germany ; August, who came to America 
in i860, and died some years later in New 
York, leaving one daughter, Pauline ; Chris- 
tina, who married William Riddcr, and had 
five children (both parents died in New 
York) ; Rosa, who married Christian Schweit- 
zer, in New York, and they had five children ; 
and John, mentioned below. Mr. Ebner was 
a man of influence, who through life found 
his friends in the best circles of German so- 
ciety. Possessed of expensive tastes, he 
usually lived up to his large income, using 
his money freely in entertaining his many 
friends and keeping up his luxurious home. 
He was exempt from army service, and de- 
voted himself unreservedly to the pursuit of 
his main industry. Reared in the Protestant 

failh. he was a consistent member of the Re- 
formed Church. 

John Ebner, son of Christoff, was born in 
Frickenhausen, Wurtemberg, Germany, Oct. 20, 
1836, and attending the well-conducted schools 
of his vicinity for eight years, he gained a 
thorough education, and formed habits of in- 
dustry and self-reliance of much value to him 
in later years. Remaining at home until he 
was eighteen years old, he early entered his 
father's business establishment, and there, by 
close attention to the work, learned the 
weaver's trade. A skilled workman, he had 
no difficulty in securing a position at his craft, 
and for several years he followed his trade 
in Germany, commanding good wages. In 
i860, however, he broke home ties and came 
to America, landing in New York Aug. 11, 
i860. Arriving there on the verge of the 
Civil war, on Oct. 11, 1861, at W atertown, 
N. Y., he enlisted for three years in Company 
D, 35th N. Y. \'. I., under Colonel Lord of 
Buffalo, and went to the front, where he 
served in many hard engagements. In the 
second battle of Bull Run, Aug. 2S, 1862, he 
received a wound in the left leg, froiu the 
explosion of a shell piece, and after six months 
and three days of hospital treatment, in Wash- 
ington, D. C, and Newark, N. J., on Feb. 28, 
1863, he received at Newark, N. J., an honor- 
able discharge, on account of disability. Re- 
turning at once to New York City he entered 
a varnish factory, and there applying him- 
self diligently to the work soon mastered all 
the details of the business. Advancing rapidly, 
after a short time he rose to the position of 
superintendent of the works, which place he 
filled very acceptably for some time. On 
the outlook for a good business opening for 
himseit in his line, he in 1867 completed by 
telegram negotiations with Henry B. Mears, 
of Indianapolis, for starting a varnish factory 
in that place, and proceeding at once to the 
field of the new enterprise, he directed the 
erection of the buildings, and after their com- 
pletion assumed the superintendency of the 
establishment, which operated under the name 
of the Capital City \'arnish \\"orks. Under 
his management the enterprise met with suc- 
cess from the start, and soon the company re- 
organized and enlarged the plant, giving the 
establishment the name of Mears & Lilly, still 
known as the Capital City Varnish Works. 
He remained with this firm until January, 
1871, when he and Mr. Andrew Kramer pur- 


chased a business site, and established the 
Indianapolis \'arnish Company. They en- 
larged the business from time to time, and 
tock in new partners, changing the name from 
Ebner & Kramer to Ebner, Aldag & Co., con- 
ducting the business under the style of the 
Indianapolis Varnish Company ; and under 
this appellation the firm did business until 
1885, when Kramer sold his interest to his 
partners. In 1893 the Aldags sold their in- 
terest to Ebner, and a stock company assumed 
the management of the business, comprising 
John Ebner, president, William Geiger, vice- 
president, and E. F. Knodle, secretary and 
treasurer. About 1895 Mr. Ebner bought out 
the interests of some of the other stockholders, 
the company then consisting of John Ebner, 
president. Bertha E. Ebner, secretary and 
treasurer, and Emil Ebner, vice-president ; with 
William F. Ebner, director, Edward J. Ebner. 
varnish maker, and Charles A. Ecklin, brother- 
in-law of ^Ir. John Ebner, one of the trav- 
eling salesmen. This company has since con- 
ducted the business with excellent results, has 
greatly improved and enlarged the establish- 
ment, as well as the force of employees, and 
has given the factory a standing among first- 
class industries of the middle west. ]\Ir. Eb- 
ner has in every respect shown himself an ex- 
cellent financier, and a most competent busi- 
ness manager. Possessed of many resources, 
he has in addition to conducting this business 
so efficiently also engaged in the real estate 
business to some extent, and he now owns 
some seventeen tenement houses in Indianap- 
olis, which he rents to advantage. Prosper- 
ing in all his ventures, he has amassed con- 
siderable wealth, and in addition to his city 
real estate he now has also a large bank ac- 
count, bonds, stocks, etc. He owns a pleasant 
residence property in Indianapolis, where he 
has long made his home. 

Mr. Ebner married in Xew York City, 
Alay 10, 1863, Christina Ecklin, who was born 
in Wendenreuthe, Baden, Germany, Sept. 4, 
1841. daughter of Andreas Ecklin. Andreas 
Ecklin was a shoemaker by trade, came of a 
good old Protestant family of Germany, and 
for many years made his residence in the town 
of Wendenreuthe, in that section of Baden. 
He married, in Germany, Elizabeth Schrode, 
of Baden. She passed her last days in Indian- 
apolis, and died there Sept. 23, 1899. Of their 
union were born five children : Christina, 
^Irs. Ebner; Elizabeth, wh6 married Nicholas 

Seyler, now of Indianapolis ; Mary, who mar- 
ried Henry Lohse, of New York City, Kate, 
who married George Gunsett, now of Indian- 
apolis ; and Charles A., the traveling sales- 
man for the Varnish Works. In 1853 Mr. 
Ecklin moved with his family from Germany 
to New York City, and there passed his last 
days, dying in 1857. He was a man of ability 
and always commanded the respect of his fel- 
low-citizens. The Reformed Church counted 
him among its influential members. 

Mr. and Mrs. Ebner had fifteen children, 
seven of whom died young: Rose, John, 
Charles, August, Christina, Olga and John. 
Of the eight now living Elizabeth and Anna 
M. have never married; Bertha E. is men- 
tioned above ; Ida married Frank Krause, and 
has one son, Arthur John ; Emil, of the Var- 
nish Works, married Barbara Berdel. and has 
three daughters, Helen Esther, JNIarie B. C. 
and Elizabeth Ruth ; William F., of the same 
firm, married ]Minnie Kuhler, and had one 
daughter, who is deceased; Edward J., the 
varnish maker, married Emma Erber, and has 
one daughter Mildred (he enlisted in the i6ist 
Ind. y. I., under Colonel Durbin, former gov- 
ernor of Indiana, and served in the Spanish- 
American war, being stationed in Cuba) ; 
Frank, who is a bookkeeper in the Indiana 
National Bank, married Marietta Whisenand, 
and has one son, John F. 

Mr. Ebner has by his efficiency, honesty 
and square dealings won the entire confidence 
of business men in Indianapolis and vicinity, 
where he is well known. He possesses an in- 
domitable will and plenty of courage, is broad- 
minded, alert and thoroughly up-to-date. Pub- 
lic-spirited and generous, he is a power for 
good in his community. Fraternally he stands 
high, belonging to the I. O. O. F. ; the G. A. 
\'. A., of which he is quartermaster ; the G. P. 
S., of Indianapolis; and is a member of 
George H. Thomas Post, G. A. R., No. 17, 
of Indianapolis. For many years he was a 
member of the Methodist Church, to which 
his wife and children still belong. 

DANIEL BERND, president of The 
Bernd Brothers Company, wagon manufactur- 
ers, of Indianapolis, is one of the substantial 
German residents of that city who have done 
so much to promote its industrial growth. He 
was born Feb. 24, 1839, in Dietschweiler, 
Rhenish Bavaria, Germany, son of George 
Philip and Phillipena (Becker) Bernd, and 



passed his earl}- life in liis native land, where 
he received a good common-school education. 

In 1857 Mr. Bernd came with his father 
to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he learned wagon- 
making, at which he worked until his enlist- 
ment, in 1864, in the io6th Ohio \'olunteer 
Regiment. He was sent to Stevenson, Ala., 
where he was on dut)- until the close of the 
war, after which he returned to Cincinnati, 
and resumed his old trade. Coming to Indian- 
apolis in May, 1868, he became an employe of 
the Shaw Carriage Company, and in March, 
1875, he started in business on his own ac- 
count, in partnership with his brothers. By 
industry and honest work the brothers pros- 
pered, doing an increasing business from year 
to year, until the concern is now upon a very 
substantial basis. In March, 1904, Mr. Daniel 
Bernd, with his sons George Philip and Theo- 
dore Jacob and son-in-law \\'illiam C. F. 
Grieb, formed an incorporation, ^^'illianl C. 
F. Grieb is first vice-president, and George 
Philip Bernd is second vice-president of the 
company and assists his father in business, 
having worked in the wagon factory for more 
than twenty years. Theodore Jacob Bernd is 
secretary and treasurer, and handles practi- 
cally all the financial affairs of the firm, to the 
advantage of all concerned. He is especially 
fitted for his duties, having received a good 
education in the public, high and business 
schools of Indianapolis and six years' train- 
ing in the practical part of the wagon manu- 
facturing business. Being acquainted thus 
with every detail of the work and endowed 
with keen business perception, his estimates 
are universally satisfactory, both to the firm 
and its patrons. His enterprise and progres- 
sive spirit have during his comparatively brief 
connection with the business been felt in ev- 
ery department. 

Daniel Bernd is well known in German- 
American social circles in the city, being an 
active member of the German-American \"et- 
erans' Association, the German Pioneers, the 
Druids, the German Protestant Orphans' 
Home Association, the Deutscher Klub und 
^Musikverein, the Germania Park Association, 
and one of the organizers of the South Side 

By his first marriage, to Carolina Diehl. 
Mr. Bernd had one son, Daniel, and four 
children have been born to his second union, 
with Louisa Matilda Juppenlatz, viz.: Ma- 
tilda. George Philip. Theodore Jacob and 
Alma Theresa. 

LISH, late of Indianapolis, was a man of 
national reputation and importance in affairs 
of government and business for so many years 
that Indiana was proud to claim him for one 
of her native sons. A mere recital of his 
achievements, the positions he held, his con- 
nection with various public and private enter- 
prises, with no comment upon the far-reach- 
ing effects of his life and work, would make an 
article of respectable proportions. The not- 
able productions of his pen, "The Conquest of 
the Northwest" and the "History of Indiana," 
will entitle his name to a permanent place 
among the writers who have made the State 
famous and who have won repute as chron- 
iclers of her fame. 

Mr. English's parentage and ancestry are 
also worthy of note, as showing decidedly 
whence he drew the strength and principle 
which characterized his whole career, and a 
brief mention of his forefathers w^ill be an 
appropriate introduction to his own life story. 
The family originated in England, from which 
country James English (son of Thomas) 
emigrated to America about 1700, settling 
near Laurel, Del. His son, James English 
(2), was the great-grandfather of William 
H. English. Elisha English, son of James 
(2), was born in Delaware and married Sarah 
Wharton, also a native of that State. Thence 
they migrated in 1792 to Kentucky, where 
their son, jMajor Elisha Gale English, was 
born. In their old age, in 1830, they moved 
to Greene county, 111., where several of their 
children had located. They lived together for 
sixty years, and their family consisted of 
fourteen children, all of whom were married 
and had children of their own before death 
came to break the family circle. At that time 
their descendants numbered about two hun- 

The Major was the first of the English 
family to come to Indiana. He settled in 
Scott county, this State, in 1818, being 
one of the earliest pioneers in that section, 
where he became one of the most prominent 
men of his day, both in business circles and 
in politics. At one time he served as United 
States marshal for Indiana, under appoint- 
ment of President Buchanan, and he served 
twenty-four years as a member of the State 
Legislature, in both House and Senate. Com- 
ing into the State shortly after its admission 
into the Union, and when Indiana was still on 
the border of the Indian territory, he had an 


important part in the making of her early 
history. His name was known and respected 
over a wide territory, and his influence in the 
formation of the early laws and institutions 
of the State is felt to this day. Major Eng- 
lish never gave up the home in Scott county 
where he settled upon his removal to this 
State, but he spent most of the time during 
the closing years of his life at the home of 
his son, William H., in Indianapolis, in which 
city his death occurred Nov. 14, 1874. He 
and his wife are buried in Crown Hill ceme- 
ter)'. Major English married Mahala Eastin, 
a native of Kentucky, whither her parents, 
Lieut. Philip and Sarah Smith Eastin, moved 
from Virginia, their native State. There were 
seventeen children born to Lieut. Eastin and 

On the maternal side William H. English 
was descended from those notable characters 
in American Colonial history — Louis Du- 
Bois, the Huguenot patentee of the Kingston 
(N. Y.) district, ancl Jost Hite, who brought 
the first colony to Virginia that settled west 
of the Blue Ridge mountains, locating on a 
grant of land of over 100,000 acres made to 
him by King George II. of England. William 
H. English's grandfather, Lieut. Philip Eas- 
tin, an officer of the Revolution, in the 4th 
and 8th Virginia Regiments, Continental Line, 
served through the entire war. Capt. Charles 
Smith, his great-grandfather, was an officer 
in the PYench-English Colonial war under 
•the then "Col." George Washington, and was 
severely wounded at the battle of Great 
Meadows. His great-great-grandfather. Col. 
John Hite, was a Colonial officer and a mem- 
ber of the first board of justices of Frederick 
county, Va., after independence was declared. 
Capt. Revel Wharton, another of Mr. Eng- 
lish's direct ancestors, was captain of an 
American privateer during the Revolu- 
tion, was captured in action, and died on 
board a British prison ship. 

William Hayden English was the only son 
of Major Elisha Gale English and Mahala 
(Eastin) English, and was born Aug. 27, 
i8j2, in Lexington, Scott Co., Ind. He grew 
up among the scenes familiar to the 
early settlers of his native locality, and 
there acquired the beginnings of his 
education in the common schools. His 
■collegiate course was pursued at Hanover 
University, where he studied for three years, 
after which he devoted himself to the law, 
which he had chosen for his profession. The 

most pointed comment to be made upon his 
aptitude is the mere statement that he was 
admitted to practice in the Circuit court when 
only eighteen years old. He began practice 
in his native county, and soon had a patron- 
age covering that and neighboring counties, 
for he was well known and trusted even at 
that early age. Within a short time he was 
admitted to the State Supreme court, and be- 
fore he was twenty-three to the United States 
Supreme court, at a period when the examina- 
tions were, to quote the words of one of his 
noted legal associates, "strict, thorough and 
exacting." That he possessed the necessary 
requirements and acquirements at such a 
youthful age was highly creditable. iNIean- 
time he had also laid firmly the foundations 
of his political power. Even before he at- 
tained his majority he filled local offices, serv- 
ing as deputy clerk of his county and as post- 
master at Lexington, and in 1843, when just 
twenty-one, he was chosen principal clerk of 
the Indiana House of Representatives over 
several worthy aspirants for the position. He 
served as such during 1843 and 1844. In the 
latter year he gave efficient service to his 
party in the election of Mr. Polk to the Presi- 
dency, and he was tendered an appointment 
as clerk in the Treasury department at Wash- 
ington, which he held throughout Polk's ad- 
ministration, resigning at its close because of 
his opposition to the election of President Tay- 
lor. In the memorable session of the compro- 
mise of 1850 he was a clerk of the Claims com- 
mittee in the United States Senate, resigning 
at the close of the session. Upon returning to 
his native State from Washington Mr. English 
had entered actively into the movement for a 
new State constitution, and he was elected prin- 
cipal secretary to the State Constitutional con- 
vention which assembled at Indianapolis in 
October, 1850, to revise the constitution; at 
the adjournment the convention assigned to 
him the important trust of supervising the 
publication of the constitution, the journal, 
address, etc. In 185 1 he was elected to repre- 
sent his native county in the State Legisla- 
ture against an opposition majority, and over 
a competitor considered the strongest and 
most popular man of his party in the county. 
This was the first meeting of the Legislature 
under the provisions of the new constitution, 
and judgment and discretion were required 
of the Legislature to put the new State ma- 
chinery into harmonious and successful opera- 
tion. It was, therefore, no small compliment 


for so young a man as Mr. English — he was 
but twenty-nine — to have been chosen over so 
many older and more experienced citizens. He 
was still further honored by being elected 
Speaker, and it may be mentioned as an evi- 
dence of his ability and popularity as a pre- 
siding officer that, during his long term of 
ser\'ice (over three months), no appeal was 
taken from his decisions. This was the more 
remarkable as it was the first session under 
the new constitution, when many new points 
had to be decided. His successful experience 
in the speakership opened new avenues for 
Mr. English and at the same time made him 
master of the local political situation. He 
became widely known throughout Indiana, 
and the favorable impression he had created 
while in the Legislature became apparent 
when he became a Congressional candidate. 

In October, 1852, Mr. English was elected 
to the United States House of Representa- 
tives, entering Congress at the commencement 
of President Pierce's administration. It was 
at the opening of this Congress that the 
famous Kansas-Xebraska bill was introduced. 
Mr. English was a member of the House com- 
mittee on Territories, which was charged with 
the consideration and report of the bill ; he 
did not concur with the majority of the com- 
mittee in the propriety and expediency of 
bringing forward the measure at that time, 
thinking its introduction unfortunate and ill- 
timed, and made a minority report on Jan. 
31, 1854, proposing several important amend- 
ments, which, although not directly adopted, 
for reasons hereafter explained, probably led 
to modifications of the bill of the Senate, 
which bill was finally adopted as an amend- 
ment to the House bill, and enacted into a 

Air. English was a conservative Demo- 
crat. The controversy about the institution 
of slavery, which had been going on, with but 
little intermission, ever since the formation of 
the Government, raged with greatly increased 
bitterness during the eight years immediately 
preceding the war. During all this perioii, 
Mr. English was in Congress, and more or 
less identified with the measures involving the 
question of slavery. It is therefore, perhaps, 
proper to briefly define the position he occu- 
pied upon this great question of the age, as 
gleaned from his speeches and the Congres- 
sional history of the period. "I am."' said 
he in one of his speeches, "a native of a free 
State, and have no love for the institution of 

slavery. Aside from the moral question in- 
volved, I regard it as an injury to the Stale 
where it exists, and, if it w^ere proposed to 
introduce it where I reside, would resist it 
to the last extremity." He greatly deprecated 
and unsparingly denounced the aggressive 
measures of the extremists of both sides, and 
their persistent agitation of the subject. He 
believed in faithfully maintaining all the 
rights of each individual State, as guaranteed 
by the Constitution, and that it would be 
wisest to refer the question at issue to that 
best and safest of all tribunals, the people to 
be governed, considering them to be the best 
judges of the soil and climate and wants of 
the country they inhabit, and the true judges 
of what will best suit their own condition and 
promote their welfare and happiness. Speak- 
ing for himself and his constituents, he said, 
upon another occasion, "We do not like the 
institution of slavery, neither in its moral,, 
social nor political bearings, but consider that 
it is a matter which, like all other domestic 
afifairs, each organized community ought to 
be allowed to decide for itself." The idea of ' 
■"leaving the people of every State and Terri- 
tory perfectly free to form and regulate their 
domestic institutions in their own way, sub- 
ject only to the Constitution of the United 
States," seemed to him at that time to be in 
accordance wdth the genius of our American 
institutions; but the storm raiseij by the pas- 
sage of the Kansas-Xebraska bill resulted in 
the defeat of nearly all the members from the 
free States who voted for it. In fact, Mr. 
English was one of the only three in the Uni- 
ted States who commanded strength enough 
to survive the storm. He was re-elected, and 
continued to support the policy of the adminis- 
tration during the XXXIV'th Congress. Dur- 
ing this Congress he made a speech in defense 
of the management of the Smithsonian Insti- 
tution (of which he was a regent for eight 
years — 1853-61), which was highly com- 
mended by Professor Henry, president of the 
Institution, Charles Henry Davis, and other 
eminent scientific gentlemen, Mr. Davis writ- 
ing a letter in which he said Mr. English was 
entitled to "'the gratitude and friendly regard 
of every scientific man in the country whose 
opinions are thought worth repeating." 

Mr. English was not a candidate for re- 
nomination in 1856, but his constituents 
claimed they had a right to his services at 
that time, and he was again brought forward 
and elected, by a larger majority than ever 


before. Speaker Orr appointed him cliairman 
of the committee on Post Offices and Post 
Roads, the arduous duties of which he dis- 
charged with abiht)'. In the meantime the 
agitation of the slavery question continued, 
and the Kansas controversy assumed a new 
and more dangerous aspect than ever. Apph- 
cation was made to admit Kansas as a State 
under what was known as the Lecompton 
Constitution, and this was favored by the 
South, and also by President Buchanan's ad- 
ministration. Mr. English acquired his 
widest reputation during this Congress by his 
course upon the Kansas policy of the adminis- 
tration. He was "Anti-Lecompton," but not 
of those who wished to cripple the adminis- 
tration, or break up his party organization, 
and he steadily and tirmly opposed the admis- 
sion of Kansas under the Lecompton Consti- 
tution until that instrument had been ratified 
by a vote of the people. Hitherto he had 
acted and voted in harmony with his political 
colleagues and the Democratic administration ; 
but he now found it impossible to persevere 
in that course. In the closing paragraph of a 
speech delivered by him in the House of Repre- 
sentatives, in exposition of his views upon that 
question, he clearly defined his position and 
his ultimatum. He said: "I think, before 
Kansas is admitted, her people ought to ratify, 
or, at least, have a fair opportunity to vote 
upon, the Constitution under which it is pro- 
posed to admit her; at the same time, I am 
not so wedded to any particular plan that I 
may not, for the sake of harmony and as a 
choice of evils, make reasonable concessions, 
provided the substance would be secured : 
which is the making of the Constitution, at 
an early da}', conform to the public will, or, 
at least, that the privilege and opportunity of 
so making it be secured to the people beyond 
all question. Less than this would not satisfy 
the expectations of my constituents, and I 
would not betray their wishes for any earthly 
considerations. If, on the other hand, all 
reasonable compromises are voted down, and 
I am brought to vote upon the naked and un- 
qualified admission of Kansas under the Le- 
compton Constitution. I distinctly declare that 
I cannot, in conscience, vote for it." During 
the long and exciting contest over this ques- 
tion, which had seldom before been equaled 
in bitterness, and was really the prelude to 
the terrible Civil war, Mr. English never de- 
parted from the position taken in this speech. 

As a party man he was anxious to heal the 
divisions that had sprung up among his politi- 
cal friends upon this question, and to relieve 
the administration and the South from the 
position they had taken, which Mr. English, 
in his heart, considered impolitic and danger- 
ous. The great contest filled the country with 
the most intense excitement, and awakened 
the apprehensions of the most thoughtful and 
patriotic citizens. For five long months it 
was the all-engrossing topic in Congress, ab- 
5 jrbing the attention of Senators and Repre- 
sentatives, and standing in the way of the 
transaction of all useful and legitimate public 
business. The Senate saw proper to pass a 
bill admitting Kansas under the Lecompton 
Constitution without limit or condition ; but 
this bill, although it commanded the favor of 
the President and his cabinet, failed to receive 
the sanction of the House of Representatives. 
The House, on the other hand, passed a bill 
as a substitute for that of the Senate, but this 
the Senate would not accept, or the Executive 
approve. Thus was an issue formed between 
great co-ordinate branches of the Govern- 
ment, whose joint and harmonious action 
could alone remove the dangerous question 
and give peace to the country. In this stage 
of the proceedings, when the whole country 
had about abandoned the hope of a settlement 
of the disagreement between the two Houses, 
and the angry contest was likely to be ad- 
journed for further and protracted agitation 
before a people already inflamed with sec- 
tional animosities, j\Ir. English took the re- 
sponsibility of moving to concur in the propo- 
sition of the Senate asking for a committee of 
free conference. The excitement upon the 
occasion had scarcely ever been equaled in the 
House of Representatives. Upon adopting 
this motion the vote was a tie (io8 to loS), 
but the Speaker voting in the affirmative the 
motion carried. As the Senate had asked for 
the conference, -the managers on behalf of 
that branch of Congress were informed by Mr. 
English that propositions for a compromise 
must first come from them. If they had none 
to offer, the managers on the part of the 
House had none, and the conference would 
immediately terminate. The managers on the 
part of the Senate made several propositions, 
none of which, however, were acceptable to 
the members on behalf of the House. The 
Senate committee then asked the members 
from the House if they had any compromise 


to offer, to which xMr. EngHsh repHed that he 
had none prepared, but he had a plan in his 
mind, based, however, upon the principle of 
a submission of the question of admission 
under the Lecompton Constitution, and an 
amended ordinance to a fair vote of the people 
•of Kansas; and if the committee thought it 
worth while, he would prepare it, and submit 
it to them at their next meeting. They told 
him to do so. Thus came about the great 
Kansas compromise measure, commonly 
called the "English Bill," which finally passed 
Jx)th branches of Congress, and became the 
law. ]\Ir. English never claimed that the 
"English bill" was entirely as he wiTshed it, 
-but it accomplished its object. Under this 
law the question of admission under the Le- 
compton Constitution was, in effect, referred 
back to the people of Kansas, and they voted 
against it. 

Thus was the result accomplished which 
Mr. English had contended for from the be- 
ginning, and there is no inconsistency in his 
record upon this subject. On the final vote 
which admitted Kansas as a State he was still 
a member, and voted for her admission. Presi- 
dent Buchanan wrote Mr. English a letter 
congratulating him upon the success of his 
compromise bill and prophesying itwould make 
the name of English historical. The popular 
current in the North was still strongly against 
the Democratic administration, and the "Eng- 
lish bill" entered into the ensuing political 
cam])aign, and came in for the usual amount 
of misrepresentation and abuse. Mr. Eng- 
lish had again been brought forward for re- 
election, and the contest in his district 
assumed a national importance. His poli- 
tical opponents made extraordinary ef- 
forts to defeat him, and there was at one 
time some disaffection with a portion of his 
political friends who thought he should have 
voted for the admission of Kansas under the 
Eccompton Constitution. This disaffection 
finally subsided, resulting, probably, in part, 
from a letter, which was made public, written 
by the President himself, in which he spoke 
in the highest terms of Mr. English, and said 
if lie had a thousand votes Mr. English should 
have them all cheerfully. In fact, although 
Mr. English had firmly opposed a leading 
measure of the administration, the President 
was well aware it was from conscientious 
convictions, and alwavs manifested the most 
friendlv feelintr for him. These kindlv rela- 

tions existed to the end of Mr. Buchanan's 
life. The election of 1858 resulted in the 
triumphant return of Air. English to Congress, 
by a larger majority than ever. 

In the meantime the split in his political 
party continued to widen, and the shadows of 
the great Civil war began to be visible to his 
keen and experienced vision. Mr. English 
was for pacification, if possible, and favored 
every measure tending to that result. He in- 
troduced a proposition looking to that end, 
which, with other similar propositions, was re- 
ferred to a committee, but all alike came to 

On the subject of secession he was as 
firm and bold in opposing the views of his 
former political associates from the South, as 
he had been in opposing the admission of 
Kansas as a State under the Lecompton Con- 
stitution. He denounced it from the begin- 
ning, and made every effort to induce South- 
ern members to abandon it. In a speech in 
the House of Representatives he plainly told 
the South that "the great Democratic party, 
that has so long and so justly boasted of its 
nationality, must not degenerate into a mere 
Southern sectional party, or a party that toler- 
ates the sentiment of disunion ; if it does, its 
days are numbered, and its mission ended." 
But his appeals were all in vain. The time 
for such appeals had passed, and the crisis of 
the great American conflict was at hand. It 
was now inevitable that the angry controversy 
would be transferred from the halls of Con- 
gress to be decided by a bloody and relent- 
less war, an event he had hoped would never 
come, and zealously labored to avert. He 
now determined at all hazards to retire from 
Congress and active political life, after serv- 
ing continuously through four terms, and he 
withdrew in 1861 with the full and unquali- 
fied endorsement of his constituents, as is 
shown by the fact that the convention which 
nominated his successor adopted unanimously 
the following resolution : 

Resolved, That in selecting a candidate to rep- 
resent this district in the Thirty-seventh Congress, 
we deem it a proper occasion to express the respect 
and esteem we entertain for our present member. 
Hon. William H. English, and our confidence in 
him as a public officer. In his retirement, in accord- 
ance with liis well-known wishes, from the position 
of representative, which he has so long filled -with 
credit to himself and benefit to the country, we 
heartily greet him with the plaudit, "Well done, 
lliou good and faithful servant.'' 



When the war broke out Governor ;\Ior- 
ton offered him the command of a regiment, 
but being without mihtary tastes or knowl- 
edge he refused it. During the war Mr. Eng- 
hsh remained an active "war Democrat"' and 
a warm supporter of Governor ]\lorton's war 
poHcies, and in his pubHc speeches recounted 
his position in Congress and recalled the fact 
that he had told his Southern colleagues that 
they could not expect the Northern Demo- 
crats to uphold them in their secession ideas. 
He continued to be one of the Governor's 
most trusted advisers, advanced money to the 
Governor to send troops to the front, and 
served as provost marshal of the Second Con- 
gressional district. 

Mr. English's political career had many 
remarkable aspects besides its unusually early 
beginning. Up to the time of his retirement 
from Congress in 1861 he had never sustained 
a defeat at election. He lived in a period of 
remarkable transition for tlie United States, 
and his early ambitions were fostered among 
conditions which made the courage of his 
convictions and the defense of his principles 
necessary elements of political activity. 
While in Washington as a young man he was 
a clerk in the Senate during those stirring 
times when the burning questions of ante- 
bellum days brought forth the best efforts 
of Calhoun, Cass, Clay, Webster and Benton, 
as well as other great statesmen of the age. 
His experience in numerous other positions 
of similar character made him remarkably 
familiar with the movements of his party, 
and his extensive acquaintance in the organi- 
zation made him invaluable as a worker. Thus 
the law, in which he had seemed destined to 
make a great name, gave way for the more 
urgent activities of politics and public ser- 
vice. He was qualified for leadership, and 
took a prominent part in all the great move- 
ments of the years during which he was in 
the legislative halls of his State and country. 
When he retired from politics it was to enter 
upon a business career in which his success 
was so great as almost to overshadow his 
earlier achievements. Only once after his 
voluntary retirement did he re-enter the poli- 
tical arena, and that was during the great 
national campaign of 1880, when he was the 
candidate for Vice-President on the Demo- 
cratic national ticket of Hancock and Eng- 
lish. However, while he had been out of politics 
for twenty years previously, so far as seeking 
or accepting office was concerned, during that 

time he was well known as an honored ad- 
viser in party councils, frequently presiding 
over conventions and in one important State 
campaign serving as chairman of the Demo- 
cratic State central committee. 

Upon Ins retirement from Congress Mr. 
English spent a year at the old home in Scott 
county, but the inaction was more than one 
of his nature could endure. He had allowed 
his law practice to lapse, and he had no heart 
to engage in public duties under the existing 
state of affairs. So his mind turned to busi- 
ness, he having become though somewhat 
indirectly, interested in financial matters. He 
had shown such ability in the management of 
the means he had accumulated that he was 
seriously advised to enter the banking busi- 
ness. Removing to Indianapolis, he in 1863 
became identified with the organization of 
the First National Bank, the earliest institu- 
tion under the national banking system in 
Indiana, and the first to issue notes under 
the then new banking law. He was president 
from the establishment of the bank until he 
retired on account of ill health, July 25, 1877. 
Other important financial interests also 
claimed his attention, and his bank ranked 
among the leading financial institutions of 
the covnitry, and its influence upon the busi- 
ness of the city and State was inestimable. 
His personal standing was such that he was 
recognized as the foremost banker in the 
State, being president at one time of the Indi- 
anapolis Clearing House Association and of 
the National Bankers Association of Indiana. 
During his presidency of the First National 
Bank the panic of 1873 swept over the coun- 
try, and his wise and conservative stand upon 
the proper method of handling the situation 
and preventing a recurrence of the conditions 
has always been conceded as indicative of 
the shrewdest insight regarding the true con- 
trol of the country's finances. On one occa- 
sion several years after his retirement from 
the presidency of the bank or any control 
thereof he came to its rescue when it was in 
financial difficulties and a run was being made 
upon it, saving it from disruption by the sole 
strength of his personal credit and presence. 

Mr. English was the owner of numerous 
pieces of real estate in Indianapolis and deeply 
interested in the development and opening up 
of the city, and at one time held a controlling 
interest in the street railways of the city. He 
encouraged all local improvements, aiding 
various enterprises with his means and in- 



fiuence. At the time of his death he was pay- 
ing taxes on 448 pieces of property in Marion 
county, very little of this being outside of 
Center township, practically all of his local 
real estate interests being in Indianapolis. 
Besides, he had invested in real estate in 
Louisville, Ky., and Washington, D. C, and 
owned large tracts of farm land in Iowa, 
Kansas, Minnesota, ]\Iissouri and Texas. His 
investments were so carefully made that a 
title accepted by William H. English was 
never disputed. He always strove to main- 
tain the value of property and the good stand- 
ing of any neighborhood in which he w-as in- 
terested, a fact so well known that his invest- 
ments were invariably regarded as a benefit 
to any locality. His assessments were never 
questioned and always promptly paid. Mr. 
English was exacting about conformation to 
the stipulations of his various contracts, but 
he was equally punctilious about carrying out 
his own obligations to the letter. And al- 
though he was strict in business and money 
matters it is well known that he never fore- 
closed a mortgage except as a last resort, or 
took any legal action in the settlement of a 
debt until all other means had been exhausted. 
Had Mr. English been successful merely 
as a business man his career would have been 
worthy of remark. But he had gained national 
fame as an able public servant before he had 
thought seriously of devoting himself wholly 
to business, holding a position of influence 
and power which few men would have had 
the courage to relinquish. And when busiest 
with financial problems he found pleasure 
and relief in the work which will most surely 
serve to perpetuate his name — his contribu- 
tions to historical literature. As a speaker 
and writer Mr. English was fluent and force- 
ful, and noted for the practical common sense 
of his arguments and the strength of his 
ideas. His writings were almost exclusively 
of an historical character. He first prepared 
a biographical work on the constitution and 
lawmakers of the State, w-hich coming from 
his pen could not be otherwise than au- 
thoritative and valuable. During the last 
ten years of his life he devoted most of 
his spare time to the compilation and pro- 
duction of his "History of Indiana," and 
from material discovered in his researches on 
that account grew "The Conquest of the 
Northwest," the latter work coming out 
shortly before his death. It has not been 
equaled by any others on the subject. His 

study of the early history of his State had 
been carried on for many years, and the inti- 
mate knowledge he possessed on the subject, 
supplemented by the numerous rare docu- 
ments of interest and value which he accumu- 
lated, qualified him thoroughly for his under- 
taking. Mr. English took the greatest pleas- 
ure in this work, into which he was led wholly 
by his interest. Regarding the "Conquest of 
tlie Northwest," a lawyer of high reputation 
gave his opinion as follows : "It is by far 
the most miportant, accurate and readable 
book ever published on this subject. It re- 
quired great research and experience, and is 
the true foundation of the earliest history 
of the white settlements of the Northwest 
territory. * * * His historical researches 
were made with great care and expense, with 
indefatigable perseverance, and are a fitting 
monument for his character." 

In 1885 a meeting of the surviving mem- 
bers of the Constitutional convention was 
held in Indianapolis, at English's opera house. 
There were not many. It was felt that it was 
high time to collect data regarding the early 
history of the State and put them into perma- 
nent form, and j\lr. English was made chair- 
man of the committee appointed for the work. 
In the end he had to assume the entire re- 
sponsibility of the work, to which the last ten 
years of his life were practically devoted. 
His enthusiasm in collecting material never 
waned, and he was not only patient and 
laborious in his researches, but also traveled 
considerably in the prosecution of the work, 
hunting up and going over thoroughly many 
old manuscripts, some almost forgotten. He 
spared neither pains nor expense, using his 
means freely in obtaining valuable and perti- 
nent documents, and in this connection it may 
be mentioned that his collection contained 
many rare and valuable papers and his rooms 
in the "Hotel English," where his last years 
were spent, were filled with all kinds of valu- 
able relics, mostly of an historical character. 
His papers were gathered from every part of 
Indiana and the adjoining States, many being 
original documents, while others are authenti- 
cated copies. Governor Matthews said at the 
time of his death: "No one was better pre- 
pared to write the history of Indiana, and to 
the citizens of the State his loss is immeasur- 
able. He possessed wonderful powers of re- 
search, tracing up important and hidden 
]3apers. The work was with him a labor of 
love, and he would have given to us a history 


of Indiana of which all could have been proud. 
The two volumes already published gave to 
thousands their first conception of the im- 
i:)ortant part Indiana played in the war of the 
Revolution, and if he had been permitted to 
finish the remaining volumes he would have 
related much that would have added to the 
sentiment of State pride." Mr. Owen, the 
secretary of the State at the time of Mr. Eng- 
lish's death, said apropos of the same sub- 
ject: "The pride of his life was not the 
immense fortune he built up, but was his his- 
tory of Indiana, which, indeed, is his worthy 

Mr. John H. Holliday, former proprietor 
of the Indianapolis A^ezvs and a prominent 
citizen of Indianapolis, said regarding his 
work : "He could both labor and wait. This 
is shown by his history of Indiana, to which 
h.e has devoted many of his later years, and 
which will be his real monument. He started 
this with an exact, comprehensive idea, and 
worked for years in making a collection of 
material which no one else ever could have 
done. It will be the chief source of all writers 
about Indiana in the future, a mine of histori- 
cal wealth and a monument of energy. I 
understand that it is now complete — a most 
fortunate thing. The first two volumes, re- 
cently published, have met the most favorable 
reception. Only last night I read a review 
of it in the New York Evening Post, a paper 
renowned for its literary criticisms, which 
spoke of it in terms of unqualified praise, 
calling it a noble and memorable contribution 
to American history. He had known so many 
of the men concerned in making Indiana, his 
family had been identified with it from the 
beginning, and he was so conversant with the 
incidents of its government and growth that 
he was fitted almost above all men to do the 
work. I hope the report that he has completed 
it is true, for it will be hard to find a worthy 
successor, even with his material available." 

Another prominent citizen who knew Mr. 
luiglish and his work well said of his history : 
"It is not too much to say that he has incor- 
porated in his writings much of the history 
of the Mississippi valley that very probably 
would never have been rescued from 

The following is taken from the Indiana- 
polis Journal of Saturday, Feb. 8, 1896, 
H'hich devoted over a page to Mr. English 
and his achievements : "It was his intention, 
when he began to make a history of Indiana, 

to make a monument for himself as well as 
to give to this country a complete history, 
such as had never been previously written. 
When he was well into the work he found 
that George Rogers Clark had a strong bear- 
ing on the war of the Revolution. It is cer- 
tain that no future history of the war of the 
Revolution will be complete without its chap- 
ter taken from i\Ir. English's 'Conquest of 
the Northwest.' This book, which has but 
recently come from the press, is only the pre- 
liminary to the history of Indiana, which he 
started out to write. He found he had so 
much material that he completed the work 
which has placed Indiana and the surrounding 
territory in a much more important place in 
the history of the country than it occupied 
before. The history of Indiana was left un- 
completed but he has made arrangements in 
his will for the completion and publishing of 
the work. In the matter of collecting the ma- 
terial for his history he has shown a perse- 
verance, a willingness to plod and a patience 
which have characterized much of the other 
work of his life. He has not been hurried, 
and no trouble has been too great for him to 
undertake to have every detail of the work 
without a flaw. The letters, state papers, 
and original letters from statesmen and sol- 
diers of the last century, files of newspapers 
of nearly a century ago, rare old prints, por- 
traits of prominent men and of their ances- 
tors, are treasures to the historian and collector. 
Mr. English has not left this collecting to be 
done by letter writing and depending on 
others iDut he visited many places himself 
and made personal search. Many of the let- 
ters have been reproduced in facsimile in the 
book, and not less interesting are the fac- 
simile scraps in the work, such as the auto- 
graphs of people mentioned in the book, 
pictures and other things which are inserted 
as they occur in the text. 

"One letter in the original which Mr. 
English had was written by Thomas Jeffer- 
son at Williamsburg Oct. 21, 1779. Another 
is the commission of Joseph Bowman as ma- 
jor, signed by Patrick Henry. There are 
personal letters of William Henry Harrison. 
j\lr. English had one letter of William Henry 
Harrison which he would never show to any 
one. It is in the collection, and Mr. English 
said that it only could be read after his death. 
Numerous letters from Thomas Jefferson to 
George Rogers Clark are also included. The 
original patent issued by King George II to 



tl;e father of the ]\lajor Bowman who was w ith 
Clark is in the list. Previous to Mr. English's 
writing there had never been a list of Clark's 
officers and men. He found the men had been 
given grants of land in Floyd, Clark, and part 
of Scott counties. He made a visit to those 
counties and found the name of the 
original grantee of land for every 
quarter section. This has all been methodi- 
cally arranged and placed in the book in a 
section by itself. To show what Mr. English 
was willing to do is his effort in getting the 
perfect copy of the seal of the Northwest 
Territor}-. There were many documents with 
an impression, but none was perfect. He 
took the different parts and, after weeks of 
labor, had the perfect copy made. It was made 
four times before it pleased him. This is the 
seal which is on the cover of the book. Few 
people can conceive of the work that he put 
on the whole. One bit, of which Mr. English 
was very proud, was the coat of arms of the 
Rogers family. He went to Washington 
many times and visited every historical society 
cast of the Mississippi river. He once heard 
that the Historical Society of Minnesota had 
some information which he wanted. He took 
a clerk and went to Minnesota, visited the 
society and secured permission to copy what 
he wanted. 

"A rare old bit, which caused Mr. English 
to feel proud at having secured it, is a note of 
Francis Vigo's. In another place there is a 
map of Indiana with George Rogers Clark's 
route to ditTerent points, all drawn by Mr. 
English. Not only have papers and portraits 
contributed to the stock of material, but he 
found the old swords of George Rogers Clark 
and Joseph Bowman. From the original 
\irginia patent of land grants to Clark and 
his men for their services in the campaign, 
Mr. English secured much information. 

"Mr. John J. Curtis, who was intimately 
associated with Mr. English and repre- 
sented his publishers during the publica- 
tion of his book, said Mr. Engish never 
lost his enthusiasm. Sometimes he would 
work till long after midnight, and then get 
up at 4 or 5 o'clock in the morning and go to 
work on it again. Mr. Curtis thinks that Mr. 
English prized the most highly the letter 
signed by Wyeth, Jefferson and Madison, 
which was written to Clark, giving the au- 
thority of the Virginia Legislature to Clark 
to carrj' on the campaign. 

"Mr. English was opposed to diclatinn; 

he could not get accustomed to it, and all his 
notes were written out in his own hand. His 
writing was very distinct and careful. It w-as 
as plain to read as typewriting. When the 
copy went to the printer it had corrections, 
and he never ceased to correct the proof as 
long as it was possible. He corrected the 
galley proof, the page proof and the plate 
proof. He studied every sentence, and when 
the proof left his hand for the last time he 
was perfectly satisfied with it. He did not 
hesita'te to correct the last plate proof, as 
many authors do. He seemed to feel that this 
was to be his last work, and as such it should 
be as perfect as it was possible to have it. 
He used to keep the proof for days, and at 
one time, after the proof was made of a sketch 
of Father Gibault, he delayed the printer and 
sent the proof to Father Schmidt at Welz to 
see if it was correct. Some of the plates for 
the illustrations were made three and four 
times before he was satistied with them. 
Finally, after years of patient labor and 
months of waiting for the material to be put 
into type and the proofs made and corrected, 
the books finally came from the binders. He 
chose the binding and the designs for the cover, 
with the George Rogers Clark figure as it 
stands just west of the soldiers' monument 
for the front cover and the seal of the North- 
west Territory for the last cover. When the 
first copy of the books w^as taken to Mr. Eng- 
lish he was as delighted as a child and ex- 
pressed the greatest gratification w'ith them. 
He never lost interest in the work, and often 
talked of it. Wednesday evening he was told 
of the distinguished attention which had been 
paid the book in a long criticism in a recent 
number of The Xatioji. He expressed his 
pleasure. It was not till the evening of life 
that Air. English took up literary work, and 
it was a task that thousands of younger men 
would have not only hesitated but become 
discouraged over. It is a history of the North- 
west broader in scope and more comprehen- 
sive than any ever written before, and, with 
the history of Indiana to appear, will be a 
lasting monument to the man when his ]X)liti- 
cal and business life will be hidden and lost 
even to memory." 

Mr. English was an enthusiastic member 
of the State Historical Society, of which he 
was president at the time of his death. He 
remembered the society with a bequest in his 
will to aid it in its work. 

Mr. English always maintained his inter- 



est in the welfare of Indianapolis and the 
management of its business affairs, and on 
important local questions was not bound by 
party ties, being independent in thought and 
speech. He was very public-spirited in his 
efforts to make the most of all funds expended 
for public purposes, and personally made 
many liberal contributions intended for such 
uses. He frequently attended City Council 
meetings and watched closely to keep down 
extravagant expenditures, but nevertheless he 
was never niggardly in opposition to spending 
money for real improvements, or in any way 
that would add to the prestige of his city and 
State. He was the author of the first set of 
resolutions adopted favoring the erection of the 
State soldiers' monument, was the author of 
the Bill which passed the Legislature authoriz- 
ing it to be built and contributed the largest 
sum donated by any individual to the fund for 
its erection. He was subsequently appointed a 
member of the commission which had charge 
of building it, and later became president 
thereof. His business judgment, and his inti- 
mate knowledge of the history of the State, 
made him a very valuable member of- that 
body. He was in favor of using the plans of 
the architect without change, and opposed 
many of the variations made from those plans 
which have since been regretted. He wrote 
the inscriptions which appear on the face of 
the monument and originated the idea of the 
subsidiary statues of General Clark, General 
Harrison, Governor Morton and Governor 
Whitcomb that surround it. The bronze tab- 
let on the base of the monument of Gen. 
George Rogers Clark (at the west side of 
]^lonument Place) was purchased with the 
money due Mr. English for his services on 
the monument commission, and which he 
presented to the commission for the purpose 
to which it was applied. 

Mr. English had a strong personality, but 
he never forced his convictions upon any one, 
and he was notably reserved and undemon- 
strative, though he was both positive and 
aggressive and could show spirit when neces- 
sary. His devotion to family ties was un- 
usually strong, as shown in his solicitude for 
his parents during their declining years, and 
his pride in his children and grandchildren. 
This sense of filial duty was particularly 
strong. When he went to Washington, dur- 
ing his young manhood, he kept only enough 
of his savings for his immediate expenses, 

giving the balance to his father, to assist him 
in paying the balance of purchase money due 
on the family homestead ("Englishton Park "j. 
Knowing his father would not accept it from 
his hands at such a time he sealed it in an 
envelope which he left with instructions not 
to be opened until after he was gone. He 
relied on himself to hew his own way and 
carve his own fortune. Later his father be- 
came quite well-to-do, but at that time, though 
fairly started, he was struggling to get 
possession of a large farm and home which 
cost more than he had cash to pay for, and 
the burden of meeting his payments as they 
fell due was heavy and burdensome, so that 
the gift was very acceptable. 

l\Ir. English's tastes were quiet, and he 
was as averse to display of his material 
possessions as he was of his remarkable re- 
sources of character. His energy, persever- 
ance and application enabled him to do any- 
thing to which he set his mind. His high 
sense of honor restrained him from directing 
his activities toward any but worthy objects. 
In business he was prudent and conservative, 
but too progressive to be over-cautious about 
adopting innovations, though he investigated 
new schemes thoroughly before giving them a 
trial. His executive ability was so uni- 
versally relied upon that often he was called in 
to adjust difficult financial problems, and fre- 
quently in order to protect his own interests 
in concerns in which he had invested he had 
to assume, at least temporarily, the heavy re- 
sponsibility of the entire management until 
matters were placed on a sound basis. }ilany 
instances of the confidence he enjoyed among 
Indianapolis business men are related by those 
who had long association with him. Mr. 
English had a fine presence and pleasant ad- 
dress, and his appearance suggested the intel- 
ligent, forceful, manly man. 

During his first sojourn at Washington, 
while a clerk in the Treasury Department, Mr. 
English was married there, in 1847, to Emma 
Mardulia Jackson, of Virginia, whom he long 
survived. She died in 1877, and is buried in 
Crown Hill cemetery. To 'Mr. and IMrs. Eng- 
lish were born two children, William E. and 
Rosalind. The latter became the wife of Dr. 
Willoughby Walling, late United States Consul 
to Edinburgh, Scotland, June 24, 1876, at 
which time he was a resident of Louisville, 
Ky., and to them have been born two children. 
Mr. English made a permanent home in Indi- 



anapolis when he established his business in- 
terests in the city, and he Hved for a number 
of years in his beautiful residence fronting 
upon the circular park known as the "Gover- 
nor's circle," because originally intended as 
the site for the residence of the governor of 
the State. But after the completion of the 
"Hotel English" at the corner of Meridian 
street and Alonument Place (and which block 
is now the property of his son), he lived there 
until his death. Air. English passed away 
Feb. 7, 1896, after several weeks' illness, and 
he was laid to rest Feb. 9, in Crown Hill 
cemetery, where he had erected a fine family 
monument several years previously. His 
funeral was conducted under the auspices of 
the Masonic fraternity, and Rev. John B. 
English (a first-cousin), a Baptist minister 
of New York, officiated. Nothing could have 
shown more clearly the general feeling re- 
garding Mr. English than the manner in which 
the public received the news of his demise. 
By order of Governor Matthews the remains 
lay in state at the capitol on Feb. 8, on which 
day over 15,000 citizens passed through the 
Statehouse to take a last look at their dis- 
tinguished fellow-citizen. The pall-bearers 
were men of the highest position in the city 
and State, including the governor and mayor. 
Messages of regret and condolence came from 
men of standing in every section of the country 
— President Cleveland, \'ice-President Steven- 
son, Senators \'oorhees and Turpie, and many 
others. Mr. English belonged to Center 
Lodge, No. 23, F. & A. M., in wnich lodge 
he was made a Mason a few years before his 
decease, his son, who was master of that 
lodge at the time, conferring the degrees. This 
was said to be the first occasion in the history 
of Masonry in this country where a son con- 
ferred the degrees on his father. Air. English 
also belonged to the Sons of the American 
Revolution by virtue of his Revolutionary, 
ancestor, Lieut. Pliilip Eastin, and held 
the right to membership in the Society of 
Colonial Wars through his direct descent 
from Col. John Hite of the Virginia Colonial 
Wars, Capt. Charles Smith of the French- 
English War and Louis DuBois, Mathew 
Blanchan and Cornelius Barrentsen Slecht of 
the Esopus (Kingston, N. Y.) Indian Wars. 
English avenue, in Indianapolis, and the 
town of English, Ind. (county seat of Craw- 
ford county), are named for Air. English, and 
a fine bronze statue of liim was erected at the 
latter place shortly after his death. A mag- 

nificent bronze statue of him was recently 
unveiled, Sept. 28, 1907, at Scottsburg, the 
county seat of his old home county of Scott. 
The residents of his old Congressional dis- 
trict and of Southern Indiana generalh' attended 
in great numbers and the immense concourse 
of people was addressed by Hon. Charles W. 
Fairbanks, Vice-President of the United 
States, Hon. Hugh T. Aliller, Lieutenant 
Governor of Indiana, ex-Senator John W. 
Kern, ex-Attorney General William L. Tay- 
lor, Judge Joseph H. Shea and Congressmen 
James E. Watson and William E. Cox. The 
statue was unveiled by Rosalind Orr Eng- 
lish, four and one-half years old, the only 
granddaughter of William H. English and 
only child of Capt. William E. English and 
Helen Orr English, his wife. The statue is 
of heroic size, being eight feet, four inches 
high, and is a striking likeness. During the 
years to come it will stand as a fitting and 
lasting monument to the distinguished Indi- 
anian in the midst of his old friends and 
neighbors of his native county. 

career of fifty years in Indianapolis which has 
been equalled by few citizens of that municipal- 
ity or, indeed, of the State of Indiana. As a 
public official and business man of the city, 
consul-general to London, England, and prom- 
inent worker in the State and national coun- 
cils of the Republican party, he held a leading 
place among the distinguished residents of In- 
diana from the time he attained his majority 
until he passed away. Colonel New came of 
a family which has long been settled in Amer- 
ica, and from the sturdy stock which gave 
patriots to the Revolution and the war of 1812 
he inherited mental and moral qualities of a 
high order, as well as the executive ability 
which was so potent a factor in his energetic 
life. But he surpassed the achievements of 
his forefathers, intelligent and forceful though 
they were. 

Jethro New, the Colonel's paternal grand- 
father, was born in Delaware, of English an- 
cestry, and was a farmer by occupation. He 
was a soldier in the war of the Revolution 
from the beginning until the end, and imme- 
diately at the close of the Revolution came 
West. He lived for fifteen years in Kentuckv, 
being a very old man before he came into In- 
diana to spend his last years with his children; 
he had a grant of land in what is now Clark 
county, this State, for his services in the Rev- 


olution. He lived to be over eighty. He had 
several sons and daughters. 

John Bowman New, son of Jethro, was 
born in Delaware, was originally a farmer, 
and later in life became the owner of a cab- 
inet-making establishment. For ten years he 
lived in Kentucky, and he came to Indiana as 
a soldier under General Harrison in the war 
of 1812, from North Carolina. In 1818 he 
made his home in Madison, from which point 
he moved to Vernon, where he spent a short 
time before coming on to Indianapolis, where 
he made his home until his death, in 1872, at 
the age of seventy-nine years. His widow 
passed to her rest in 1877, at the age of 
eighty years. Mr. New became a preacher in 
the Christian (Disciples) Church, and was 
one of the pioneer ministers of that denomina- 
tion in Indiana, preaching in Indianapolis and 
at various other points in the State. He was 
a pioneer along with such men as John 
O'Kane, "Raccoon" John Smith, John Wal- 
ker, Elijah Goodwin, Barton W. Stone, and 
other leading lights in that church. John B. 
New married Maria Chalfant, a native of 
Kentucky, and to them were born three sons 
and two daughters, of whom the only survivor 
is the eldest daughter, Mary C, widow of Dr. 
William C. Thompson. 

Nathan Chalfant, the maternal grandfather 
of Colonel New, was born in Pennsylvania, 
of Welsh descent. By occupation he was a 
farmer and a planter, and he lived many years 
in Kentucky, where he became quite prosper- 
ous, and where he died when past middle life. 
His family consisted of thirteen children. 

Colonel John C. New was bom July 6, 
1831, in Jennings county, Ind., and during his 
earlier childhood lived in Vernon, that county, 
where he began his attendance at the public 
schools. For some years he lived at Greens- 
burg, In^., and in 1847 entered Bethany Col- 
lege, in West Virginia, from which he was 
graduated in 185 1, at the age of twenty years. 
Studying law in Indianapolis, he was there 
admitted to the Bar in 1852, and the same 
year entered the office of the county clerk, 
where he was employed as a deputy until 1856, 
when the clerk died and he was appointed to 
the place, in which he continued until 1861. 

C)n the outbreak of the Civil war John C. 
New was appointed quartermaster-general of 
Indiana by Governor Morton. During his 
service as such he was elected to the State 
Senate for a term of two years, at the end of 
which time he became financial secretarv of 

Governor JMorton, serving in that capacity 
until, in January, 1865, he became cashier of 
the First National Bank of Indianapolis, be- 
ing associated with William H. English. This 
position he held until March 18, 1875, when he 
was appointed treasurer of the United States 
by President Grant, which place he resigned 
in July, 1876, to become vice-president of the 
First National Bank of Indianapolis. In 1878 
Colonel New sold out his banking interests, 
and, devoting himself considerably to politics, 
was chaimian of the Republican State Central 
Committee until 1879. The following year 
he took a position on the National Republican 
Committee, which he held until 1892. Colonel 
New was appointed assistant secretary of the 
United States Treasury by President Arthur, 
in February, 1882, and continued in that office 
until May, 1884. In 1880 and again in 1884 
he was an active worker in national politics, 
and in 1888 he worked indefatigably for Gen- 
eral Harrison in the national gathering of the 
Republican party. The following year he was 
appointed consul-general of the United States 
at London, England, resigning when Presi- 
dent Cleveland took office, in 1893. For 
thirty years he played a prominent part in the 
history of the Republican party, not only as 
an office holder and party leader, but also in 
the shaping of its policies as the controlling 
owner of the Indianapolis Journal. He was 
a man of attractive appearance, with a good 
figure and finely shaped head, and his face 
and manner bore out the general good impres- 
sion. His death, which occurred June 4, 1906, 
was widely mourned, for he had a circle of 
acquaintances as broad as the country itself. 

Colonel New was married, May 24, 1854, 
to Miss Melissa, daughter of Joseph and Han- 
nah (Matthews) Beeler, and to this marriage 
was born one son, Harry S. Mrs. Melissa 
New was born in jNIarion county, Ind., Feb. 
8, 1833, and died Sept. 16, 1867, at the age of 
thirty-four years. She was a member of the 
Christian Church. Joseph Beeler, her father, 
was a native of Virginia, when he came to 
Indiana, being numbered among the very 
early settlers of this State. He made a loca- 
tion in Morgan county, where he cleared and 
owned a farm, but in later years he came to 
a point in Marion county seven miles south- 
west of Indianapolis. His wife came here from 
Ohio when a girl, making the trip with her 
brother, on horseback, and she first met Jos- 
eph Beeler at the White river, nineteen miles 
below Indianapolis. He was towing a raft. 



and helped them across the river. Mr. iieeler 
was always a farmer, and he died in 1850 on 
his home place. He left three daughters and 
two sons. 

Colonel New was married (second) in 
September, 1868, to ^liss Elizabeth R. AicRae, 
of Cumberland county, \'a., a daughter of 
John H. and Elizabeth (Williamsonj ^NicRae, 
and to this union were born two daughters, 
Elizabeth Rowena and Rowena ^IcRae. Eliz- 
abeth R. married William R. iNIcKeen, Jr., of 
Terre Haute, who is now superintendent of 
motive power for the Union Pacific Railway 
Company, with his headquarters at Omaha, 
Nebr. Rowena 2\IcRae married Ernest H. 
Burford, of Indianapolis, son of \V. B. Bur- 
ford, senior member of the firm of \V. B. 
Burford & Company. 

Colonel New belonged to the Christian 
Church, of which his widow is also a member. 
In 1871-72 he built for himself the very hand- 
some and attractive residence at Xo. 518 
North Pennsylvania street which he occupied 
until his death. This house was two years in 
course of construction, and is regarded as one 
of the most elegant homes in the city. 

We may fittingly close this sketch with a 
brief article from the pen of Gen. John Co- 
burn, written under date of Dec. 20, 1906: 
"John C. New came from Jennings county, 
Ind., to Indianapolis (a young man) with his 
father's family. He was a graduate of Beth- 
any College, X'irginia, of which the famous 
Alexander Campbell was president. John C. 
New began the practice of law in Indianapolis 
and on the death of William Stewart was ap- 
pointed clerk of the Alarion Circuit court. 
During the war of the Rebellion he served as 
quartermaster-general of the State of Indi- 
ana, and was a close associate of Governor 
Morton. He was competent and accurate, 
and gave entire satisfaction in each of these 
offices. He was afterward engaged in bank- 
ing and was associated with William H. Eng- 
lish in the First National Bank of Indianapo- 
lis, and was appointed treasurer of the United 
States during President Grant's second ad- 
ministration, and was assistant secretary of 
the treasury under President Arthur, and 
consul-general to London, England, under 
President Harrison. He discharged the du- 
ties of these offices accurately and faithfully, 
with credit to himself and to the satisfaction 
of the Government. He purchased the Indi- 
anapolis Journal newspaper and printing es- 

tablishment, which was conducted by himself 
and son Harry Stewart New for a number of 
years. His father was a pioneer minister of 
the Christian Church. Among his personal 
friends and associates were Alexander Camp- 
bell, Barton W. Stone, Walter Scott, John 
O'Kane, Isaac Errett, William K. Pendleton, 
and many others. He was a soldier in tne 
war of 1812 under General Harrison. He was 
a very intelligent, decorous and honoraliie 

(deceased) was born in Frankfort, Ky., Oct. 
12, 1813, son of Matthias R. Nowland, and 
came of distinguished ancestry in both pa- 
ternal and maternal lines. His maternal 
grandfather, Capt. John Byrne, was a captain 
in the \'irginia line during the war of the 
Revolution, and afterward engaged in the 
wars with the Indians in Kentucky. One thou- 
sand acres of land were awarded him for his 
services in the Revolution. Phillips Nowland, 
his paternal grandfather, established and 
edited the Manchester (England) Chronicle, 
and had Tom Paine for a regular contribu- 
tor. His sympathies were heartily and unre- 
servedly with the colonists who had become 
Revolutionists, and he championed their cause 
very effectively in England. The Nowlands 
came to this country soon after the establisn- 
ment of peace, landing at Philadelphia, and 
made their home in Dover, Delaware, where 
Matthias R. Nowland was born. Phillips 
Nowland attended the inauguration of Presi- 
dent \Vashington, where he was treated with 
distinguished courtesy. After the death of 
his wife, Elizabeth, he moved to Kentucky, 
and later went to Texas to engage in an elTort 
to conquer ^lexico, though he received a per- 
mit from the government to gather wild 
horses. His purpose was suspected, and he 
and his party were taken prisoners by the 
Mexicans and executed on the plaza in the 
City of JMexico. His son, John R. Nowland, 
died side by side with Davy Crockett at the 
battle of the Alamo, while engaged in aveng- 
ing the death of his father. 

Matthias R. Nowland and his brother-in- 
law were here at the time the commissioners 
were locating the State Capital, and Mr. Now- 
land told them if they would select the mouth 
of Fall creek, as his place was then called, he 
would go back to Kentucky and move his 
family in, bringing with him as many of his 


neighbors as possible. In the new settlement 
Mr. Xowland early took the lead, as he was 
a man of education and tact, and had means 
as well. The tirst sale of lots was held Oct. 
9, 1821, from his cabin, on Washington street, 
between Alissouri and West streets. Manj^ of 
the early settlements were made near the White 
river, as the general impression prevailed that 
the future city would be located there. Mr. 
Nowland was appointed by the commissioners 
one of a committee to select a graveyard, in 
company with Daniel Shaffer and James 
Blake. ' They selected the site one Sunday, 
and the next Sunday Daniel Shaffer was 
buried there — the first to be laid to rest in the 
new cemetery. He was soon followed by Mr. 
Nowland, who had bought the tract of land 
bounded by Washington, East and Liberty 
streets, where he owned and operated the first 
brickyard, in which he took a severe cold, his 
death ensuing Nov. 11, 1822. He left a 
widow and several children, his son, John, 
whose name introduces this article, being only 
nine rears old. 

John H. B. is'owland came to Indiana 
with his father and was the last of a family of 
twelve, including hired help, to arrive in the 
State. The date of his arrival was Nov. 4, 
1820, and he attended the first school in In- 
dianapolis and also the first Sunday-school. 
The day school was taught by Ebenezer 
Sharpe, who had a gold repeater, which he 
frequently sent to the silversmith's, as the 
jeweler was then called, to be regulated, se- 
lecting first one boy and then another to take 
the watch. The teacher discovered that the boys 
tampered with it. but young John was never 
caught as he waited until he was out of the 
hearing of Mr. Sharpe, and thereafter he car- 
ried the watch whenever it was necessary to 
have it regulated. That watch was placed in 
Mr. Nowland's hands a few months before 
his death by the granddaughter of ^Nlr. Sharpe, 
after an in'tervafof seventy-nine years. 

Mr. Nowland attended the State Univer- 
sity- at Bloomingtcn, a notable privilege in 
those days, as but few could secure the benefits 
of a higher education, and among his class- 
mates was Governor Whitcomb. True to the 
traditions of his ancestors he was active m 
the public afifairs of his day, and he was only 
nineteen when he was private secretary to 
Governor Jennings, the first governor of the 
State, serving as 'such at the time of the treaty 
with the Pottawatamies and Miamis, in 1832 ; 

he was personally acquainted with Francis 
Godfroy, the great war chief of the Miamis, 
as he was with Richardville, the civil chief of 
the same tribe. He also had personal ac- 
quaintance with every governor of the State 
up to the time of his death, and was related 
to two by marriage. Mr. Nowland was ap- 
pointed to a government position under Presi- 
dent Tyler, and lived in Washington seven 
years, while there being a frequent and popu- 
lar contributor to the Washington Star. This 
was in the days of Daniel Webster, John C. 
Calhoun, William Seward and Henry Clay, 
and JNIr. Nowland and his wife attended a 
reception given by Henry Clay in honor of 
the passing of the Compromise Bill which 
admitted California and Texas into the Union. 
They also attended the only reception given 
to Fredricka Bremer in the United States. 
This was a notable occasion, adorned by all 
the great literary lights of the country, one of 
whom, Washington Irving, was at one time 
a beau of the mother of r\lrs. Nowland. The 
day following the reception he was a guest in 
the Nowland home. 

Mr. Nowland was engaged as a merchant 
in Indianapolis in the days when that business 
involved long and tiresome as well as dan- 
gerous journeys to buy goods in the East. 
Often he was obliged to make a trip by stage 
to Philadelphia, carrying with him in a strap 
around him as mucli as ten thousand dollars 
at a time. 

Mr. Nowland and iMiss Amelia T. Smith 
were married in 1840, the wedding, which 
took place in Christ Church, being notable as 
the first church wedding occurring in the city. 
Her father, Justin Smith, had the first whole- 
sale house in Indianapolis, whither he moved 
from Rochester, N. Y., with his family in the 
fall of 1838. He came of distinguished line- 
age, being a grandson of General Otis of Rev- 
olutionary fame, and a great-grandson of Col. 
James Otis, the president and the oldest mem- 
ber of the King's Council in Massachusetts in 
1764. The Nowland homestead on Washing- 
ton street between Meridian and Pennsylvania 
streets, was the third brick house erected in 
the city, and was used by the Nowlands for 
forty years ; up to the present time it has had 
but three owners. The Nowlands brought to 
this citv the first keel boat that ever navigated 
the \\'hite river in Indianapolis, bringing in 
provisions for the settlers, and they had the 
third piano in the city. 



^Ir. Xowland was considered a very fluent 
and entertaining talker as well as an inter- 
esting and picturesque writer, and he was a 
contributor to the local press for about sixty- 
five years. Two valuable books on local his- 
tory emanated from his pen, "Early Reminis- 
cences of Indianapolis'" and "Prominent Citi- 
zens of 1876." Several years before his death 
he was elected an honorary member of the 
Indiana Historical Society, and received the 
honor of ha\'ing a street named for him by 
the city, which afforded him much pleasure. 
In the editorials on his death, which occurred 
Aug. I, 1899, the papers said: "The death of 
yir. Xowland removes an interesting and his- 
torical figure. He had been a leading au- 
thority on our local history, and did much to 
preserve it. His works are something that 
will grow more valuable as time passes, and 
his friends may be sure that future generations 
will feel even more gratitude for it than the 
present one." "Air. Xowland served a great 
purpose in this city, and was regarded as a 
walking encyclopedia of all valuable informa- 
tion regarding its early days. There was a 
time in our history when no statistics were 
made, and few people either in public or pri- 
vate life were giving attention to the minute 
details important to all the world, but invalua- 
ble to us at home. The generation which he 
represented has passed away, and we know it 
through the efforts which he made to preserve 
its history. There is little else that is availa- 
ble that is a first hand report of the intimate 
life in Indianapolis, during its first years, and 
but for what he has written we could hardly 
build up a true conception of that earlier life. 
He saw Indianapolis grow from three log 
cabins to the city which now honors his mem- 
ory. His books will, indeed, always be con- 
spicuous in our chronicles, and to him will the 
future historian be indebted more than the 
casual reader recognizes, for scattered all 
through his gossipy reminiscences is a great 
amount of matter that graphically reflects the 
spirit of the times when our city and common- 
wealth were in a formative state." 

As a citizen Mr. Xowland was a generous 
and kind-hearted man, devoted to his friends 
As a father he was kind and indulgent, and 
a bountiful provider for his children's wants. 
He probably knew more public men in the 
Territory and State of Indiana than any other 
man living or dead in Indiana. A widow and 
two children, Edwin R. Xowland and i\Iiss 
Justine Otis Xowland, survive him. 

HOX. JOHX WORTH KERX, a distin- 
guished attorney at law in Indianapolis, was 
born in Howard county, Ind., Dec. 20, 1849, 
son of Jacob H. Kern, and grandson of Jacob 
Kern, who was born July 4, 1777, at Kerns- 
town, Frederick Co., V'a., of Holland-Dutch 
descent. His great-grandfather, Adam Kern, 
came to America about 1750, from the Rhine, 
Germany, with two other brothers. They set- 
tled in Pennsylvania, but Adam went to Fred- 
erick county, \'a., where he laid out Kerns- 
town. Jacob Kern was a blacksmith by trade. 
He came to Indiana in 1836, settling in Shelby 
county, where he died at about tne age of 
seventy years. He was the father of six or 
seven children. 

Jacob H. Kern, born in 1813 in N'irginia, 
was a physician by calling. He came to In- 
diana in 1836, locating first in Shelb_\- county, 
and in 1845 moved to Howard county, when 
it was an Indian reservation, just opened up 
to settlement. In 1871 he moved back to 
\'irginia, living in Botetourt county, near 
Daleville, where he died in April, 1900, aged 
eighty-seven years. Dr. Kern was a Demo- 
crat in politics. He never drank nor used to- 
bacco, nor swore in his life. He was twice 
married, his first union being to Xancy Lig- 
gett, who was born in Ohio, one of the twelve 
children of George Liggett, a native of Vir- 
ginia, who moved to Ohio and thence in an 
early day to Indiana. He died in Shelby 
county, Ind., at the age of about seventy-five 
years. He was a miller by occupation. Jacob 
H. and Xancy (Liggett) Kern had two chil- 
dren, Sarah E. (wife of Isaac Engel, of Dale- 
ville, \'a.) and John Worth. Tne mother 
died in 1859, at the age of thirty-five or thirty- 
six years.' She was a :\Iethodist. Dr. Kern's 
second marriage, which occurred in i860, in 
Virginia, was to Miss Sarah M. Engel. who 
survived him but a few months. 

John \V. Kern was reared in Howard 
county, in the village of Alto, attended school 
there and at the Xormal school in Kokomo, 
and graduated when nineteen years of age, in 
1869, from the Law Department of the Uni- 
versity of ^Michigan, at Ann Arbor. He began 
practising immediately at Kokomo. v'p.ere he 
remained until 1885. In 1884 he had been 
elected rejiorter of the Supreme court, and 
taking the office in January, 1885. moved to 
Indianapolis, where he has had his home ever 
since. He held that office four years. In 
1892 he was elected to the State Senate, in 
which body he served four years. He has 


also served two terms as cit}' attorney of In- 
dianapolis ; was city attorney at Kokomo for 
seven years ; was appointed by Attorney Gen- 
eral C3lney special assistant United States 
attorney in 1893 to prosecute the Indianapolis 
bank wreckers ; in 1900 he was the Demo- 
cratic candidate for , governor of Indiana ; 
was unanimously renominated for the same 
position in 1904, and received the complimen- 
tary vote of his party for United States sena- 
tor in 1905. He has always been a Democrat 
and is one of the party's leaders in his State. 

John W. Kern was married Nov. 10, 1870, 
to ]\liss Julia Anna Hazzard, daughter of 
David Hazzard, and to this union came two 
children, Fred Richmond and Julia Anna. 
Fred Richmond Kern died Feb. 26, 1901, in 
\\'ashington, D. C. He served with consid- 
erable distinction as a private in the Spanish- 
American war, being the only private volun- 
teer soldier from Indiana that took part in the 
battle of Santiago, and belonged to the ist 
District of Columbia Volunteers, the only 
regiment raised there. Miss Julia Anna Kern 
is a graduate of Mrs. Sewall's Girls' Classical 
School of Indianapolis, class of 1901. The 
mother of these children died Sept. i, 1884, 
aged thirty-four years. She was a member of 
the ^lethodist Church. On Dec. 23, 1885, 
^Ir. Kern married Miss Araminta A. Cooper, 
daughter of Dr. William and Eliza (New- 
comb) Cooper, of Kokomo. Two sons have 
been born to this union, John W. Kern, Jr., 
and William Cooper Kern. Mrs. Araminta 
A. Kern is a member of the Presbyterian 
Church, and a woman of the most estimable 
graces and virtues. The family reside at No. 
1836 North Pennsylvania street. 

Hon. John W. Kern belongs to Howard 
Lodge, No. 70, F. & A. M., of Kokomo; to 
Indianapolis Consistory, Scottish Rite Masons ; 
to Star Lodge, No. 7, Knights of Pythias ; ' 
and to Indianapolis Lodge, No. 13, B. P. O. 
Elks. He became a director of the Commer- 
cial Club soon after its organization and 
president in 1904. He also belongs to the 
University Club, the Country Club, and the 
Century Club, and was the first jiresidcnt of 
the Indiana Democratic Club. 

GEORGE HASTY, M. D., was settled in 
Indianapolis in the practice of medicine for 
over thirty years, and was one of the distin- 
guished members of his profession in the city. 
He was the founder of the Physio-lMedical 

College of Indiana, in which he lectured for 
a number of years, was prominent in the va- 
rious medical associations, and held such 
high ideals of the obligations of his profes- 
sion that he enjoyed the confidence and respect 
of all who knew him. A thoroughly honest 
and absolutely truthful man, he was sincere 
in his desire to do all he could for the benefit 
of his fellows, interesting himself in all things 
which he thought would promote the welfare 
of the city and its residents. He believed in 
doing the greatest good to the greatest num- 
ber, and usually devoted his talents to projects 
which would encompass that end, but never- 
theless his private charities were numerous, 
though he endeavored to bestow them worth- 

Dr. Hasty was born Sept. 30, 1835, in 
Henry county, Ind., son of Thomas and Ann 
(Raper) Hasty, and grandson of Thomas 
Hasty. The latter was born in Delaware and 
was a farmer by occupation. He reared his 
family of several sons and daughters in the 
West, dying in either Ohio or Indiana. 

Thomas Hasty, the Doctor's father, was 
born in Lexington, Ky., but left his native 
State when ten years old, growing to manhood 
in Ohio. He was an early settler in Indiana, 
in 1834 locating in Henry county, where he 
opened up a farm which he cleared of the 
heavy timber. He was a farmer all his life. 
He died there in 1893, at the age of eighty- 
five years. Thomas Hasty was twice married, 
his first wife being Ann Raper, a native of 
Wythe county, Va., whom he married in Ohio. 
Her father, John Raper, was born in Liver- 
pool, England, and on coming to the United 
States first settled in Virginia, but soon re- 
moved to Wayne county, Ind., where he 
cleared up and occupied a farm three miles 
south of Richmond. He died at an advanced 
age. He reared a large family. Mr. Raper 
served in the war of 1812. To Thomas and 
Ann (Raper) Hasty were born six children, 
four sons and two daughters, who grew to 
maturity, but only two now survive : Eliza- 
beth, w'ife of T. ' B. Keesling. of San Jose, 
Cal. ; and Mary, wife of O. H. Modlin, of Ex- 
celsior, Minn. The mother passed away in 
1865, at the age of fifty-seven years, and Mr. 
Hasty married for his second wife Mary 
Reese. After her death he married Mrs. 
Cooper, who survives. 

George Hasty was reared on his father's 
farm in Henry county, Ind., where he at- 


tended a leg cabin school. His intellectual NICHOLAS IMcCARTY, Sr., passed 

attainments, however, were not hindered and away over fifty years ago, but his memory 

shut in by his limited advantages, and in 1856 still lives in Indianapolis, and, indeed, all over 

he took up the study of medicine, graduating the State. He was a pioneer of Indiana, and 

from the Cincinnati Physio-^Iedical Institute, impressed himself deeply upon its morals and 

He began professional practice in his native politics. His influence on the mercantile life 

county, where he remained until 1872, when of his adopted city is yet felt, and among the 

he transferred his residence and interests to older residents there are many who remem- 

Indianapolis. That city was the scene of his ber the days of his business activity, when 

subsequent labors, which were marked with "McCarty's Corner" was the busiest place in 

unusual success. From i860 to 1869 Dr. the growing metropolis. 

Hasty was a lecturer in the Institute from jNIr. JMcCarty was a native \'irginian, born 
which he graduated and he founded the Sept. 26, 1795, at Moorefield, Hardy county, 
Fhysio-IMedical College of Indiana at Indian- in the Alleghany mountains, in that part of 
apolis, for which he lectured until 1896. His the- Old Dominion now included in ^^'est \'ir- 
lectures covered a period of thirty-seven years, ginia. He was reared, however, in Pittsburg, 
He was prominently associated with the In- Pa., whither his mother moved soon after the 
dianapolis Physio-AIedical Society (which he death of his father, which occurred when he 
founded), the First District Physio-Medical was very young. This circumstance threw 
Society of Indiana, the Indiana Physio-Med- him upon his own resources at a tender age, 
ical Association, and the American Associa- and he not only supported himself, but with 
tion of Physio-Medical Physicians and Sur- characteristic filial devotion found delight in 
geons. Dr. Hasty was remarkably successful being able to provide his mother with every 
in his life work, becoming prominent not only comfort. He had few advantages in his 
in his profession but also in many lines of youth, even for ordinary schooling. Before 
worthy activity in his adopted city, where his ne was twenty he left Pittsburg, going to 
kindly heart and good deeds won him many Newark, Ohio, where he soon entered the 
friends and admirers. He was a Republican employ of i\Ir. Buckingham, one of the fore- 
from the days of Fremont. During the Civil most merchants of that State, with whom he 
war he served in the Home Guard. He was continued for several years. He at once dis- 
an enthusiastic Mason for a number of years, played the traits which marked his career, 
and at one time served as master of the lodge and i\Ir. Buckingham soon intrusted him with 
in his home town, Mechanicsburg. His death, the superintendence of one of his branch 
which occurred Dec. 23, 1905, was widely stores, near Newark. This increased re- 
mourned in the city. sponsibility was met by increased industry 

On April 25, 1861, Dr. Hasty married and more strict attention to his duties, and 

Miss Caroline M. Julian, daughter of Peter the fidelity with which he served his em- 

and Adaline (Hess) Julian, and they lived in ployer laid the foundation of a friendship 

the home at the corner of West Michigan and which lasted as long as they lived. I\Ir. 

California streets, Indianapolis, where the Doc- McCarty did so well that within a few years 

tor bought when he first came to Indianapolis, he felt competent to begin business on his 

His widow still resides there. She is a mem- own account, having saved enough to justify 

ber of the Christian Church. a modest venture. 

Shubal Julian, Mrs. Hasty's grandfather. The emigration fever then pervading the 
was one of the early settlers of Wayne country had seized him. and he started to- 
county, Ind. His father, Isaac Julian, was ward the setting sun. \Mien in the vicinity 
born in France, and married a Long. Shubal of Indianapolis he became impressed with the 
Julian was born in Guilford county, N. C, fertility of the soil, and with Indianapolis as 
and married Bridget Hoover, who was born a geographical center, and in the fall of 1823, 
in Wayne county, Ind., where her father, Pe- then a young man of twenty-eight, Mr. Me- 
ter Hoover, was an early pioneer. I\Ir. Julian Carty settled in Indianapolis, of which city 
moved to Henry county, where he died, at he was a resident thereafter until his death. 
Cadiz, when ninety-four years old. His He established himself at what was popularly 
brother, Rene Julian, was the first clerk of known for over thirty years as "McCarty's 
Henrv countv. Corner," in a building at the southwest cor- 



ner of Washington and Pennsylvania streets. 
The first merchant of importance to settle in 
this city, and the first to open on so liberal a 
scale, his store attracted an unusual share of 
attention and his success was out of the ordi- 
nary. With a degree of confidence little un- 
derstood in his day, he soon branched out 
extensively by establishing stores at various 
points in the State — Laporte, Greenfield, Cov- 
ington, Cumberland and Waverly. To con- 
duct these branches profitably without neg- 
lecting his central establishment he employed 
many young men in whom he took great in- 
terest, and several of whom attained success 
in later life. He not only aimed to give them 
adequate commercial experience, but en- 
deavored to instill into them those sterling 
principles which made him so respected as 
a man, aside from any reputation he may 
have won in business life. Mr. McCarty was 
one of the greatest merchants of his time 
central Indiana had known. He continued to 
carry on his first place in Indianapolis for 
many years, and erected a substantial brick 
residence south of the store, which was the 
home of his family. The ground on which 
the Century building now stands was his 
barn}-ard in connection with his house and 

Mr. McCarty's enterprise and progressive 
methods were proverbial in the early days, 
and the stories of his original and ingenious 
expedients for overcoming the obstacles that 
blocked the path of the pioneer merchant war- 
rant the belief that he would have been a lead- 
ing spirit in any day or under any conditions. 
But though he maintained his aggressive 
energy to the last, Mr. McCarty never low- 
ered the high standard of honor with which 
he set out in life. He never promoted his 
own interests at the expense of another's, a 
characteristic so generally recognized by all 
who knew him that, in spite of the fact that 
he was notably successful, he never excited 
any but the friendliest feelings among his 
associates. He shared his prosperity with 
tlie communities in which it was won and 
was ever a generous and public-spirited citi- 
zen. But even better than his public benefac- 
tions were the various enterprises he set on 
foot which gave profitable employment to 
many, and advanced the welfare of the locali- 
ties in which they were carried on. One of 
the early industries in Indiana which for many 
years was a source of revenue that added sub- 
stantiallv to the incomes of the pioneer resi- 

dents was the collection of ginseng and its 
preparation for shipment. As early as 1821, 
following the advice of Philadelphia friends, 
Mr. James Blake came to Indianapolis to in- 
vestigate the possibilities of this business. At 
that time ginseng grew abundantly in the 
woods all about the settlement, and as the 
demand from China was on the increase he 
arranged to ship it from Philadelphia. In a 
little house south of the creek known as 
Pogue's run, on what is now South Delaware 
street, where the depot of the Big Four rail- 
road is now located, he installed a drying and 
purifying apparatus, where Mr. McCarty col- 
lected fhe roots sent in by the farmers to his 
place at Indianapolis and his various branch 
stores. May a farmer helped out a short corn 
crop by the profits from his "sang," as it was 
called. There was a little hoe made especially 
for gathering the roots, called a ''sang hoe," 
an implement that has been obsolete for many 
years. This business was one adjunct to Mr. 
McCarty's merchandising, barter being com- 
mon in the early days. Another venture 
somewhat out of the ordinary was his con- 
tracting to supply the Indians, and in the 
course of this business he became quite 
familiar with the dialects of two or three 
of the tribes on the Miami Reservation. 

Mr. McCarty's alert intelligence was dis- 
played in his efforts to introduce or discover 
new sources of revenue for his locality, and 
thus he became identified with the attempt 
to introduce the silk growing industry in 
about 1835. Again about 1840 he began one of 
the most important undertakings of his career, 
the cultivation and manufacture of hemp, 
though the financial condition of the country 
prevented the full development of its possi- 
bilities. He conducted this industry on his 
bayou farm, and in other localities. The part 
of this farm now in the city of Indianapolis 
was formerly incorporated and named West 
Indianapolis, with a population now of about 
seven thousand, where the Stock Yards, Car 
Works, Nordyke & Marmon Company and 
the Parry iSIanufacturing Company, as well 
as other establishments, are located. The 
fiber was rotted, broken and cleaned in vats 
and mills on the bluff bank of the creek, be- 
tween Morris and \\"ilkins streets, near Car- 
los street. The venture proved unprofitable 
and was abandoned in two or three years. 

In companv with James M. Ray and 
James Blake, Mr. McCarty built the first 
"steam flour-mill in the vicinity of Indianapolis ; 



this was situated on the north side of Wash- 
ington street, at the end of the National 
Bridge. Though several of his enterprises 
were unsuccessful, 2\It. ]\IcCarty never lost 
faith in the future of the city. He owned 
large tracts of land, which he bought at an 
early day, in the immediate vicinity of Indi- 
anapolis, as well as lands in different parts 
of the State. Those in the vicinity of Indi- 
anapolis became exceedingly valuable, his de- 
scendants reaping the benefit of his judgment 
and foresight. 

Mr. JMcCarty was eminently a business 
man and had no aspirations for public honors, 
though he had a taste for politics which, if 
cultivated, would have brought him into much 
greater prominence. He gave the benefit of 
his great personal popularity to the success 
of the Whig party during its last years. As 
commissioner of the Canal Fund he effected 
the first loan ever made to Indiana. His 
action in this matter was such as to commend 
him to those in authority, as well as to the 
people at large, and no man ever acquitted 
himself in a fiducial capacity with more 
conscientiousness and fidelity than he. But 
he eventually resigned the position, and an 
article which appeared in the Indiana Demo- 
crat of June 13, 1840, under the heading 
"Trembling in the Whig Camp," explains 
his position in the matter : 

"We are not so blinded by party as to be 
unwilling to award justice to real merit, let 
it be found in what ranks it may. It is a fact 
highly creditable to Indiana that the early 
negotiations of loans by our Fund Commis- 
sioners were eminently successful. Previous 
to the passage of the Internal Improvement 
Bill of 1836 Nicholas McCarty, the leading 
merchant of this place, and we believe of the 
State, stood at the head of that commission. 
Mr. AlcCarty has always been a bitter oppo- 
nent of General Jackson and a warm advo- 
cate of the United States Bank. We con- 
sider him a well-meaning politician, although 
differing with us in political matters. When 
the Internal Improvement Bill of 1836 was 
becoming a law Mr. McCarty, as a Fund 
Commissioner, plainly told the members of 
the Legislature that it would be a ruinous 
policy for the State not to provide means at 
that time to pay interest on the loans to be 
effected — that if they did not our bonds would 
soon depreciate. He sent to the Democrat 
ofifice a short time previous to the passage of 
the bill an extract from the message of Gov- 

ernor r^larcy of New York, showing the ruin- 
ous policy of not providing the means to pay 
interest previous to making loans. W't then 
stopped the press, took out other matter and 
placed this extract in type, printed it, and 
circulated additional copies, containing this 
extract, amongst the members of the Legisla- 
ture. But the Whig members, such as Stapp, 
Evans and others, would then hear no argu- 
ments and passed Air. Carty's suggestions by 
as the idle wind, regarding them as a clog to 
the bill. They were afraid the people would 
open their eyes if they would see tlie amount 
of taxes and then go for classification. Well, 
what was the result? The result was Nicholas 
]McCarty soon after resigned the station of 
Fund Commissioner. He was unwilling 
further to risk his high character as a 
financier in the ruinous policy the State was 
about pursuing. * * * * ]\Ir. McCarty 
as a friend of the United States Bank now 
warmly supports General Harrison, but he 
has become alarmed at the prospects of his 
party in this State, and even in our own 
county of Marion. He says truly the Demo- 
cracy is aroused, and at a meeting of the 
Tippecanoe Club, on Wednesday evening 
last, declared that unless they could make the 
Whigs in the country organize this county 
would go for VanBuren — nothing else would 
save them. We can assure the \\'higs that 
nothing can save them in this county — their 
fate is sealed — their doom is fixed — Marion 
county is Democratic. We have heard that 
at the Tippecanoe Club in this town "Sir. ]\Ic- 
Carty made the statement above alluded to. 
If he did not we shall contradict it when ap- 
prised of the fact. Few men in this State 
have more foresight than he. As an instance 
we refer to a remarkable fact. Knowing as 
he well did the embarrassment this State was 
running into, he resigned his office as Fund 
Commissioner long before the pressure com- 
menced. Possessed of that keen foresight 
which every real merchant should have, he 
would not jeopard his character as a mer- 
chant to continue connected as an officer with 
a ruinous system of internal improvement. 
His proverbial discretion in business and his 
foresight in financial operations entitle his 
opinion to much weight (where interest of 
course is excluded) and we believe with him 
that this county is Democratic. Can the 
Whigs hope to succeed in this State when 
one of the principal men abandons all official 
connection with their system of extravagance? 



This 'Hoosier Girard' knew too well that his 
character would be at stake if long connected 
with such a system. As a friend of the Uni- 
ted States Bank he supports Judge Bigger for 
governor and is anxious for his election, 
knowing, as he does, that Judge Bigger in our 
State Legislature opposed the State Bank of 
Indiana because he believed it would do away 
with the necessity of a United States Bank 
so far as Indiana is concerned.'' 

From 1843 the Whig party had been 
blamed for the financial distress which pre- 
vailed in the country and was greatly in the 
minority in Indiana, but the party leaders 
hoped they could gain in Congress by putting 
up a candidate whose personality could over- 
come the objection of the party. Mr. Mc- 
Carty was emphatically a man of the people 
and had the faculty of endearing himself to 
all classes, but he preferred a private business 
to public employment, and was seldom a can- 
didate for office, though he could have had 
almost any office in the gift of his party for 
the asking. In 1847 he was the Whig candi- 
date for Congress in his district, and though 
defeated by Judge Wick by a small majority 
was much stronger in the district than his 
party, the Democratic party being greatly in 
the 'ascendance at this time. Mr. McCarty 
made no show of oratory and knew none of 
the wiles of the politician, but he had execu- 
tive ability, strong common sense and a clear 
understanding of the needs of the situation, 
and his addresses were exceedingly effective 
and did him great credit as against an oppo- 
nent who was trained to the conduct of cam- 
paigns and accustomed to public duties. A 
few years afterward Mr. McCarty was a 
candidate for the State Senate and was elected 
and served three years— the last three under 
the old constitution. He was made chairman 
of the Committee on Corporations, and as such 
jealously guarded the interests of the people. 
In 1852 the Whig State Convention nomi- 
nated :\Ir. McCarty for governor, for the first 
gubernatorial term under the new constitu- 
tion. He did not desire the nomination, and 
strenuously opposed its being made. ^ How- 
ever, it was believed that because of his hon- 
est, upright character and business connec- 
tions and large agricultural interests he was 
stronger than any other man, and when the 
convention met it was apparent he would 
be nominated if he would accept. But it was 
so generally understood that ,he would not 
stand that the convention hesitated to make 

the nomination, and after appointing a com- 
mittee to see him and solicit his consent it 
adjourned until the following day. That even- 
ing the committee met Air. McCarty for a 
conference and found him firmly fi.xed in his 
determination not to make the race. It 
labored with him long and earnestly, but he 
continued obdurate. At last George G. Dunn, 
one of the most gifted Indianians of that or 
any other day, arose and, in the name of the 
Whigs of Indiana, demanded that Mr. Alc- 
Carty cast behind him his personal wishes 
and accept the standard his party wished to 
place in his hands. This touched him deeply, 
and, asking until the next morning for con- 
sideration, he left the room. It was felt at 
once that Mr. Dunn's shot had hit the mark. 
Next morning the committee notified the con- 
vention that Mr. AlcCarty would make the 
race, and he was nominated by acclamation. 
After this the convention was addressed by 
several distinguished speakers, among them 
James T. Suitt and George G. Dunn. 

W. W. Woollen, in his Biographical and 
Historical Sketches of Early Indiana, in his 
sketch of George G. Dunn, says: "Mr. 
Dunn in his speech drew a dark picture of the 
condition of the Whig party until Mr. Mc- 
Carty consented to be a candidate, and then 
rising on tip-toe and bending his body for- 
ward and pointing his finger at the nominee 
he exclaimed with the power of a Booth: 

"Now is the winter of our discontent 
Made glorious summer by this sun of Vork ; 
And all the clouds that lowered upon our house, 
In the deep bosom of the ocean buried." 

"It is a great pity that this speech was not 
taken down at the' time and preserved. It 
embodied the wit and drollery of Corwin, the 
invective and sarcasm of Randolph, and the 
elociuence of Clay, in one symmetrical whole. 
It lives only in the recollection of those who 
heard it, and, happily for the author, he was 
one. These men will be gone after a while, 
and then this great forensic efifort will be for- 
gotten, or remembered only as it is handed 
down from father to son." There are but 
verv few living who heard this great speech, 
among them Gen. John Coburn. who says it 
was one of the greatest speeches of the kind 
ever delivered of that time or any other 

Though defeated, Mr. McCarty "s cam- 
paign against Governor Wright was a notable 
one, for the Governor was an educated man, 



one of the best "stumpers"' in the United 
States, and a man whose long famiharity with 
pubhc Hfe had made him a master of cam- 
paign tactics and a ready speaker who could 
command attention wherever he went. Mr. 
I^IcCarty and Governor Wright made the can- 
vass with the utmost good feeling. They went 
from place to place together, often riding in 
the same carriage. They had no petty bicker- 
ings nor angry words, their intercourse being 
more like members of the same family, than 
of leaders of hostile parties. On the stump 
there was great difference between them. The 
Governor was a good talker and a good rea- 
soner; Mr. jNIcCarty was also a good talker, 
but not so good a reasoner. He dealt in 
repartee and anecdotes and was particularly 
happy in the application of the latter. But 
the year 1852 was a bad one for Whig candi- 
dates, and Air. McCarty was defeated by the 
Democratic nominee. Having resigned his 
seat in the Senate when he accepted the 
gubernatorial nomination, he was now a pri- 
vate citizen, and he remained one as long as 
he lived. 

One or two other incidents of Mr. Mc- 
Carty's career, though well known, will bear 
narrating here as showing his readiness in 
meeting emergencies, his executive capacity, 
his business instinct, and his intuitive honor. 
Early in 1829 a cold snap froze the Ohio, 
just as his goods reached Pittsburg from 
Philadelphia in order to take steam passage 
down to Madison. It was his entire season's 
stock, requiring sixteen six-horse Conestoga 
wagons, but he could not take any chances on 
an indefinite delay and he had the wagons 
continue the hauling the rest of the way. In 
order not to lose by this great expense, he 
used the wagons to haul his consignment of 
ginseng to Philadelphia — a management 
which enabled him to have his spring goods 
on hand at the proper time without loss. Air. 
McCarty's action, when the result of the panic 
of 1837 made his great resources — largely in 
real estate — unavailable, involving him to an 
embarrassing extent, was equally characteris- 
tic, though in another way. He made a settle- 
ment with his creditors upon such terms that 
they realized more than the principal and in- 
terest of his obligations. 

Practical and great-souled, the interests of 
the community were his, and while he was 
ambitious to acquire influence and independ- 
ence he was wise, broad and humane enough 
to desire the success of all good people. By 

force of early circumstances he had but little 
opportunity for learning, but he made the 
best use of what he acquired. He had a ready 
and comprehensive vocabulary and a sim- 
plicity in statement characteristic of great 
men in the various business and professional 
walks of life. Realizing his own deficiencies 
as a scholar he did what he could, in private 
life and public station, to secure to others 
what he had been denied himself. When a 
candidate for the State Senate he visited a 
neighborhood where opposition to public 
schools was active and strong, but he boldly 
said that, if elected, he would vote money to 
make tuition free. His courage and frank- 
ness won him friends, and many who went to 
hear him speak, opposed to free schools, went 
home their advocates. When Air. AlcCarty 
was nominated for governor, so well was his 
reputation for frankness established that the 
Indianapolis Sentinel had this to say of him : 
"Like Henry Clay, everybody who knows 
Nicholas AlcCarty knows his politics. The 
same yesterday, to-day and forever." 

Air. AlcCarty was an intelligent and in- 
fluential man. and his influence was always 
for the good. Although not a church mem- 
ber, he had a great reverence for Deity, and 
was an example of Christian purity, integrity 
and character. He was generous as the day, 
tolerant of ofifences that aiifected only himself, 
peaceable and honorable. No man that ever 
lived in the city was more sincerely or gener- 
ally loved and honored, and certainly none 
ever deserved it better. He was prompt in 
his aid of benevolent efiforts and one of the 
most active in the organization of the "Or- 
phans Home." He took particular delight in 
serving others, and would go out of his way 
to do a favor, being always too glad to make 
others happy. 

On July 27, 1828, Air. McCarty was mar- 
ried, in Boone county, Ky., to Alargaret Haw- 
kins, daughter of Rev. Jameson Hawkins, one 
of the earliest Baptist preachers of that 
county, and several times a member of the 
Kentucky Legislature. Their four children 
were Susanna, Alargaret R., Nicholas and 
Frances J. Airs. AlcCarty died Feb, 18. 1873. 

Susanna AlcCarty became the wife of Rev. 
Henry Day, for many years pastor of the 
First Baptist Church of Indianapolis, and she 
died Aug. 30, 1873. Air. Day died .Aug. i. 
1897. Their children are Henry AlcCarty 
Day and Alargaret AlcCarty Day, of Indi- 



Margaret R. ^icCarty married John C. S. HARRY STEWART XEW, particularly 

Harrison, grandson of William Henry Harri- well known in Indianapolis through his long 
son, and lor many years a partner of Harri- connection with the Journal, of which he was 
sons' Bank. They had four children : Mar- general manager until recently, was born in 
garet AicCarty Harrison, Nicholas AlcCarty the city Dec. 31, 1858. His father and grand- 
Jrlarrison, John Cleves Short Harrison and father both passed the greater part of their 
Cleves Harrison. The two living are xsicno- lives in Indiana, whither they came in pioneer 
las AicCarty Harrison, whose residence is in times, and the family has long been settled in 
Indianapolis, Ind., and Cleves Harrison, America. 

whose residence is in Los Angeles, Cal. Mr. Jethro New, great-grandfather of Harry 

Harrison died at Los Angeles April 0, 1904. Stewart New, was of the first generation of 
The four children of Nicholas and Alar- this family in Indiana, though he did not come 
garet McCarty were born in Indianapolis — here until late in life, to pass his declining 
worthy representatives of parents of the years with his children. He had served as an 
hignest character. The three living are Airs, ofificer in the Revolutionary war, and had a 
Harrison, Miss Frances J. Mccarty and grant of government land in what is now Clark 
Aicnoias McCarty, the only son, all ot whom county, this State, for his services in that 
reside in Indianapolis. struggle. 

Air. McCarty died Alay 17, 1854, and is John B. New, the grandfather, was a sol- 

buried in Crown Hill cemetery. At a meet- dier under General Harrison in the war of 
mg ot tne citizens, a committee consisting of 1812, and came to Indiana as such, from 
James Ai. Ray, Robert Hanna, Bethuel F. North Carolina. He was a minister in the 
xNlorris, Calvin Fletcher, John D. Defrees, Christian Church, and one of the pioneers of 
John AL. i'albott, and Nathan Ai. Palmer, that denomination in the State, and he num- 
preparea the following resolutions : bered among his friends such leaders of his day 

-Resolved, that in the departure of our as Ale.xander Campbell, Barton W. Stone, 
fellow citizen, Nicholas iMcCarty, Esq., we Walter Scott, John O'Kane, Isaac Errett, 
realize the loss of one who since the early William K. Pendleton and other lights of that 
uays of the city has deservedly ranked as a communion. He died in Indianapolis Jan. 9, 
most worthy, generous and valuable man, and 1872, at the age of seventy-nine years. His 
who by his affectionate heart, clearness of family consisted of three sons and two daugh- 
mind and strict integrity of purpose had ters, the only survivor being Alary C.,_ the 
warmly endeared himselt to all who knew eldest daughter, who is now the widow of Dr. 
him. 'in the important public trusts com- William C. Thompson. 

mitted to him — as commissioner of the Canal John C. New was born July 6, 1S31, in 

Fund, effecting the first loan of the State, Jennings county, Ind., and grew to manhood 
as senator of this county and in other en- ;„ this State. He graduated from Bethany 
gagements — he manifested remarkable judic- College, and coming to Indianapolis studied 
lousness and ability. It was with reluctance law, was admitted to the Bar, and became 
he was drawn into the pursuit of oflicial sta- deputy county clerk. He was appointed county 
tion, and with decided preference enjoyed the clerk in 1856', and held the position until 1861. 
happiness of an attached circle of family and During the Civil war he was quartermaster- 
friends. His hand and heart were ever at general of the State and very intimately asso- 
command for the need of the afflicted, and his ciated with Governor Alorton, and after the 
counsel and sympathies were extended where ^ar he became associated with William H. 
they could be useful with unaffected sim- English in the First National Bank of Indian- 
plicity and modesty." apolis, of which Colonel New became cashier. 

In the preparation of this biography of During President Grant's second adinimstra- 
Mr. Nicholas AlcCarty, Sr., we have made tion he was appointed treasurer of the United 
extracts from sketches by J. C. Fletcher, Berry States, and he was assistant secretary of the 
Sulgrove and W. W. Woollen ; we have also treasury under President Arthur, and consul- 
consulted old citizens of Indianapolis, in- general to London under President Harrison, 
eluding Dr. William H. Wishard and Gen. Qn Alav 8, 1880. Colonel New and his son 
John Coburn, who knew Air. AlcCarty well, bought the Indianapolis Journal Printing 
all of whom bear the same testimony to his Company, of which the Colonel was president 
high character and great usefulness. for a number of years. He married Alelissa 



Beeler, who was born in IMarion county, Ind., 
Feb. 8, 1833, and died Sept. lO, 1867. Like 
her husband she was a member of the Chris- 
tian Church. jNlr. New married for his second 
wife EHzabeth R. McRae, daughter of John 
H. jMcRae, of Cumberland count}-, V'a., and 
to this union were born two daughters, EHza- 
beth Rowena and Rowena AIcRae. EHzabeth 
married \\ iHiam R. ]\icis.een, Jr., and has her 
home in Omaha, Nebr., where 'Mr. McKeen 
holds a position as master mechanic with the 
Union Pacific Railroad Company. Rowena 
married Ernest H. Burford, of Indianapolis, 
a son of W. B. Burford, the senior partner of 
the printing and lithographic firm of W. B. 
Burtord & Compan)'. 

Joseph Beeler, father of Mrs. Melissa 
(Beelerj New, was a native of Virginia, 
whence he came to Indiana among the very 
early settlers of this State. He made a loca- 
tion in Morgan county, where he cleared and 
owned a farm, and in his later years he came 
to a point in JNlarion county seven miles north 
of Indianapolis. His wife came from Ohio 
when a young girl, making the journey with 
her brother, on horseback, and she first met 
Joseph Beeler at the White river, nineteen 
miles below Indianapolis. He was towing a 
raft, and helped them across the river. i\Ir. 
Beeler was always a farmer, and died in 1850 
on his home place. He left three daughters 
and two sons. 

Harry Stewart New, only child of Col. 
John C. and JNIelissa (Beeler) New, has al- 
ways called Indianapolis his home. He at- 
tended the public schools, and for three years 
during his youth and early manhood traveled 
in Europe, going there when he was fifteen 
years old ; during the greater part of the time 
he was by himself. Upon his return he be- 
came a student at Butler University, which 
he attended for a year, and on Feb. 11, 1878, 
he entered the employ of the Journal Com- 
pany, when the paper was the property of E. 
B. Martindale. His connection with the paper 
remained unbroken until May, 1903, he and 
his father buying the establishment in 1880. 
as previously mentioned. His father became 
president of the company and Harry S. New 
vice-president and general manager when it 
was incorporated, six years later. 

Like his father Mr. New is a well-known 
figure in Republican political circles, and at 
present is acting chairman of the National 
Republican Committee. He has been a mem- 
ber of the Indiana State Legislature, to which 

he was first elected in 1896, serving in the 
sessions of 1897 and 1899. During the war 
with Spain he was a captain and assistant ad- 
jutant general of the 3d Brigade, 2d Division, 
/til Army Corps. 

On Oct. 18, 1880, Mr. New was married 
to Aliss Kathleen V., a daughter of W. F. and 
Virginia (Teakle) Milligan, of New York. 
Mrs. New was a resident of Chicago at the 
time of her marriage. To this union w as born 
one child, Kathleen \'irginia, who died when 
a year old, and ;\Irs. New died May 21, 1883; 
she was a member of the Episcopal Church. 
Mr. New married for his second wife, Aug. 
18, ,1891, Miss Catherine McLaen, daughter 
of W. E. and Eliza Catherine (McLaen) 
McLaen. They have a tasteful and elegant 
home at No. 1002 North Capitol avenue. 

Mr. New is a Scottish Rite Mason, and 
has attained the thirty-second degree. He be- 
longs to the Columbia and Marion Clubs, and 
has the honor of being one of the organizers 
of the latter association ; he also holds mem- 
bership in the Commercial and Deutsche Haus 
Clubs, the Board of Trade, and the Spanish- 
American War X'eterans' Association. 

SYL\'ESTER JOHNSON, a retired 
citizen of Irvington, was the founder of that 
Indianapolis suburb, where he settled in 1872. 
Mr. Johnson was born in Union county. Ind., 
near Liberty, Jan. 31, 1822, a son of Pleasant 
and Sarah (Huddleston) Johnson, and grand- 
son of Nicholas Johnson. 

Nicholas Johnson was born in Virginia, 
and came of a family which originated in Scot- 
land, but settled in Virginia among the earlier 
pioneers. Nicholas Johnson was a member 
of the Society of Friends. He died in Union 
county, Ind. (where he had settled), in 1844, 
at the age of eighty-three years. He made a 
good living as a farmer, and reared a large 

Pleasant Johnson was born in Bedford 
county, \"a., and came from his native State 
to Indiana in 1816, locating in Union county, 
where his father gave him 100 acres of gov- 
ernment land which he had taken up. In 1837 
he removed to a farm near Dublin. Wayne 
county, where he lived until 1872, when he 
went to live at the home of his son. Sylvester. 
There he died at the age of eighty-two years. 
He married Sarah Huddleston. who was born 
in 1800 in New Garden, Guilford county. N. 
C. and died in 1866. Both were Friends, 
Mrs. Johnson uniting with the New Garden 



Friends" Oiurch. Mr. and Mrs. Pleasant 
Johnson had ten children, five sons and five 
daughters, namely: Sylvester; Dorinda J., 
the widow of John T. King, of Dublin, Wayne 
Co., Ind. ; 2\Iartha, who died unmarried when 
about twenty years old ; Elwood F., of Colo- 
rado Springs, Colo., who died in June, 1904; 
Timothy E., who married Mary E. Mcintosh, 
and died in Colorado Springs, Colo., about 
1896, leaving a family ; Elvira, who married 
Charles Gartman, of Jersey City, N. J. ; Milo, 
a farmer and fruit grower at Brownsburg, 
Hendricks Co., Ind. ; Mary Ann, the wife of 
Isaac H. Herrington, of Indianapolis ; Eliza 
Ellen, the wife of Samuel Compton, of Dub- 
lin, Ind. ; and John Ashley, of Dakota, who is 
married but has no children. 

Jonathan Huddlestcn, the maternal grand- 
father of Sylvester Johnson, was a native of 
North Carolina, and made his first appearance 
in Indiana in 1816, making his home in Union 
county, where he secured government land. 
\\'hen advancing age made it necessary for 
him to retire from active life he moved to 
Dublin, Wayne county, where he spent his 
last years, dying in his eighty-third year. He 
lived to see 150 of his descendants, and re- 
joiced in the fact that not one of the number 
was addicted to the use of either tobacco or 
intoxicating spirits. He was the father of 
thirteen children, of whom only one survives. 
Mrs. Lucinda Burkett, of near Dublin, Wayne 
county, but all had long and useful lives. In 
religion 2\lr. Huddleston was a member of 
the Society of Friends. He was one of the 
vice-presidents of the National Liberty con- 
vention which met in Buffalo, N. Y., Oct. 20, 
1847, at which John P. Hale and Leicester 
King were nominated for President and Vice- 
President of the United States. Mr. Huddles- 
ton walked all the way to and from that con- 
vention, and we are told walking was his fa- 
vorite mode of travel. 

Sylvester Johnson was about fifteen years 
old when he came with his parents to Wayne 
county, where he attained manhood. He had 
received his first education in the old sub- 
scription schools and later became a student 
in the academy at Dublin, which was erected 
in 1837 and rebuilt thirty years later. He 
became a teacher, his first school being in But- 
ler county, Ohio, where he also fought his 
first battle for temperance, by refusing to 
"treat"' his scholars with intoxicating liquors, 
as was the custom in those days. After leav- 
ing Butler county he returned to Dublin. Ind., 

where he taught in the academy for twelve 
years, ending in 1856. That year he entered 
upon mercantile life, which he followed at 
Dublin until 1861, when he was appointed 
mail agent on the route between Indianapolis 
and Daytcn. This position he held two 
years, resigning to become auditor of Wayne 
county, in which office he served eight years. 
In 1870 Mr. Johnson purchased a half section 
of land on which he laid out the town of Ir- 
vington, and on April 10, 1872, removed his 
family to the present home, which he had 
built the preceding year, and which is one of 
the handsomest residences in the suburb. The 
village presents the appearance of a park, the 
beautiful homes being surrounded by lovely 
grounds and shaded by stately trees. To keep 
out the liquor traffic for all time, each deed 
contains the following clause : "The grantee 
accepts this deed from the grantor with the 
express agreement that his heirs and assigns 
will not erect, or suff'er to be erected or main- 
tained, en the real estate herein conveyed, any 
distillery, brewery, slaughter house, soap fac- 
tory, or other establishment off'ensive to the 
people of said town; that he will not sell, or 
suffer anyone else to sell, on said premises any 
into.xicating liquor, except for medicinal or 
mechanical purposes. And he accepts this 
deed on the farther agreement that the right 
to compel the enforcement of the foregoing 
agreement rests in all property owners and 
inhabitants of said town, as well as in the 
grantor and his assigns."' The validity of 
such conditions in deeds has been passed upon 
by the Supreme court of the United States 
and held to be legal and constitutional. 

Early in life ^Ir. Johnson espoused the 
anti-slavery cause, and in 1844 voted for 
James G. Birney, the candidate of the Liberty 
party. Four years later he voted for \'an 
Buren, and in 1852 for Hale and Julian. In 
1856 he voted for Fremont and Dayton, and 
from that time until 1884 he voted the Re- 
publican ticket. However, he never gave his 
support to candidates who were known to be 
drinking and dissipated characters, voting for 
the candidate of the opposite party if it were 
known that he was free from the drinking 
habit. If no such choice presented itself he 
did not vote at all. In 1884, believing that 
there was no longer any reason to ex])ect the 
Republican party to free itself from the influ- 
ence of the liquor interests, its policy being 
in his opinion rather to perpetuate the traffic 
as a source of revenue and a means of ])olitical 



action, he abandoned the party and voted the 
straignt Trohibition ticket, both on State and 
national issues. His faith in the ultimate tri- 
umph of that party is still strong and is 
strengthened by the analogy between the sta- 
tus ct the present Prohibition party and the 
opinions formerly held of the anti-slavery 
movement, as well as by the attitude of the 
dominant parties on the subject. Since the 
organization of the Prohibition party, in 1S84, 
j\lr. Johnson has given much time to its up- 
building, tilling many important positions, and 
rendering services which money could not buy. 
He has been manager, secretary and treasurer 
of the Indiana Phalanx Company, publishers 
of the official organ of the Prohibitionists of 
the State, and has been secretary and treas- 
urer of the State central committee. 

Mr. Johnson has always been interested 
in the agricultural development of this sec- 
tion, and his activity in the various societies 
has made him well known in that line all over 
the State. He was president for twelve years 
of the Indiana State Horticultural Society; 
for six years he was treasurer of the State 
Board of Agriculture ; for eleven years he was 
president ot the Alarion County Agricultural 
and Horticultural Society; was appointed 
judge of horticultural implements and grapes 
(on which he is an authority) at the Colum- 
bian Exposition, held at Chicago; and was 

father he has been a model to be observed and 
followed. As a business man, a public officer, 
in which he had large experience, he has 
shown tine ability, capacity and integrity. As 
a citizen he has shown independence and high 
conscience in the discharge of his duties and 
a single purpose to serve the civil government 
to wuich his services were due. As a Chris- 
tian man he has been consistent and faithful. 
Summing up the life and character of Sylves- 
ter Johnson I will say his has been the life of 
an upright man." 

Jilr. Johnson was married, Nov. 21, 1844, 
to Rachel Miner, a daughter of Noah W. 
Miner, an attorney of Wayne county, Ind. To 
this union were born four children : Francenia 
(deceased), who was the wife of William W. 
Wilson ; Eudoras M., who was city comptrol- 
ler of Indianapolis for six years ; ]\Iartha E., 
the widow of James J. Powell; and Oliver R., 
now business manager of one of the depart- 
ments of the Indianapolis Nezvs, who was 
formerly vice-consul wdth Col. John New, in 
London, England. 2\Irs. Johnson died April 
28, 1899, at the age of seventy-two years. 

On ^lay 7, 1901, Mr. Johnson married 
Mrs. Eunice B. Harris, widow of William 
Harris, and daughter of James and Lucinda 
(Brown) Gilky. By her first marriage Mrs. 
Johnson was the mother of five children: 
Florence (deceased), who married Delbert 
"^ of 

one of the judges of fruits at the Louisiana Pyle ; Edith, wife of Melvin Helmnth, 

Purchase Exposition, held at St. Louis. He ~ " 

has filled many other positions of trust. For 
sixteen years he has been a trustee of Purdue 
University. For many years he was treasurer 
of the town of Irvington. He was appointed 
receiver of a large manufacturing company, 
and has acted as guardian and served as ad- 
ministrator in the division of several estates. 

. A prominent citizen, who has been a life- 
long friend of Mr. Johnson, says of him: "JMr. 
Johnson is distinguished for a kind heart and 
tender sympathy, and his ears and eyes are 
ever open to suffering and ready to relieve. 
Though advanced in years, he is still hale and 
hearty, active and clear-headed, illustrating 
the truth that temperate habits and upright 
life bestow their rewards in advanced years. 

Cahill, Minn. ; Emma, married to Alexander 
JMcCallum, of Spokane, \\'ash. ; Nettie, who 
is the wife of Herbert L. Smith, of ]\linneap- 
olis ; and Frank O., a railroad engineer, who 
has his home in JNIinneapolis. Mrs. Johnson 
is a member of the Irvington M. E. Church, 
and Mr. Johnson is a member of the Society 
of Friends. 

a distinctive and eminent position among 
manufacturers and inventors which entitled 
him to rank with the foremost "captains of 
industry" of modern times. His name in 
Indianapolis stands for everything included 
in a career of the most honorable achievement. 
His influence and work still continue in the 

He is a splendid specimen of that sturdy stock, business of E. C. Atkins & Co., the largest 
with iron will, clear conscience, high purpose 
and ceaseless energy, given by Quaker an- 
cestry- and training to this nation, whose influ- 
ence in reforming and shaping public and 
social affairs has been of inestimable value. 
As a son, brother, husband, father and grand- 

manufacturers of saws in this country, if not 
in the world. Mr. Atkins was the founder of 
this concern, and in it his chief interest as a 
business man was centered, but incidental to 
its management along progressive lines he 
found himself drawn into many other matters 



of vital importance. Having come to Indian- 
apolis in the days of its insignificance he was 
naturally interested in the growth of the city, 
and many enterprises whose adoption assisted 
materially in her advancement were furthered 
by his support and patronage. His was a 
broad nature, and his far-sighted judgment 
enabled him to grasp the advantages of a new 
invention or a project far ahead of the times 
so quickly that afterward his opinion seemed 
like a prophecy. He had many of the elements 
of greatness in his make-up, and in the simple 
pursuit of his natural inclinations found his 
level among the master minds of the day. 

]\Ir. Atkins began life poor in purse, but 
he had back of him the traditions of a long 
line of worthy American ancestors, to whom 
he owed his stability of character and strong 
mental traits. He was born June 28, 1833, 
in Bristol, Conn., son of Rollin and Harriet 
(Bishop) Atkins, and a descendant of Thomas 
Atkins, the first ancestor of the family in 
America. Thomas Atkins was a native of 
England, and settled in Connecticut about the 
middle of the seventeenth century. Samuel 
Atkins, a descendant of Thomas, and grand- 
father of Elias C. Atkins, was the father of 
twelve children. His son Rollin was born in 
Connecticut, and learned the trade of clock- 
maker, later turning to the manufacture of 
saws. He served as an officer in the militia 
of his native State, holding the rank of cap- 
tain of the 4th Company, 4th Regiment. He 
died in middle life. Rollin Atkins married 
Harriet Bishop, like himself a native of Con- 
necticut, of English ancestry, and five children 
were born to this union. 

Austin Bishop, the maternal grandfather 
of Air. Atkins, was a native of Connecticut, 
born in 1764, of old English stock. He mar- 
ried Anna Stalker, who was born in 1766, 
and they became the parents of ten children. 
They were farming people all their lives. Mr. 
Bishop died Sept. 23, 1833, at the age of 
sixty-nine years, and his wife passed away 
Oct. 22, 1840, at the age of seventy-four. 
Traditions of him survive as a perfect repre- 
sentative of the old-fashioned pious and de- 
voted New England deacon. 

Elias Cornelius Atkins was reared at Bris- 
tol, and attended school until his father's com- 
paratively early death caused him to be put 
to work on a farm, when only eleven years 
of age. The following year he was appren- 
ticed to his uncle for five years, starting work 

at the saw-making trade. By the time he 
reached the age of seventeen he had become so 
familiar with the work, and had displayed 
such mechanical ability, that he was foreman 
01 the shop. During these five years he would 
work overtime at every opportunity to earn 
money, in order to furnish his mother certain 
luxuries, and to pay his pew rent at the church. 

Mr. Atkins came West in 1855, and es- 
tablished the first saw factory at Cleveland, 
Ohio. The following year he came to Indian- 
apolis, opening a saw factory here with a cash 
capital of but $500. His place of business 
was in a little corner of the old Hill planing- 
mill, and a year or two later he moved into 
the old city foundry. At first he did all his 
own work, but presently employed a German 
named Louis Suher, who walked all the way 
from Bristol to go to work for him. Suher 
died while still in the employ of Air. Atkins. 
The business prospered from the start, and 
though he was twice burned out Air. Atkins 
each time opened on a larger scale and con- 
tinued with increasing success. The little 
shop in Illinois street, where he located after 
the destruction of the old city foundry, has 
grown into an immense institution, where over 
one thousand men are employed, and the 
weekly pay-roll amounts to more than $13,000. 
The firm of E. C. Atkins & Co. was incor- 
porated at $600,000. Branch houses are main- 
tained in Alemphis, Alinneapolis, New York, 
Portland, Seattle, Atlanta, Chicago, San 
Francisco and New Orleans, and there are 
important agencies all over the country. The 
Atkins saws are sold in China, Japan, Aus- 
tralia, and all other parts of the world. 

From time to time Air. Atkins became in- 
terested in other enterprises, where he found 
fresh opportunities for the exercise of his 
business ability. One of the most important 
of these was the Hecla Consolidated Alining 
Company, which had extensive silver, copper 
and lead mines. Air. Atkins went into the 
mountains, where supplies had to be hauled 
350 miles, from Ogden, Utah, and for two 
years he lived the rough life of a miner, find- 
ing his health greatly improved. It had been 
poor, and he sought this change of climate 
temporarily, but it produced important finan- 
cial results, for the original investment of the 
mining company, under his pluck and enter- 
prise, was raised from $60,000 to $1,500,000. 
At the time of his death he was president of 
the Natural Gas Manufacturing Company. 


co:mmemorative biographical record 

His connections with minor business enter- 
prises were quite numerous. 

j\lr. Atkins was himself a man of ideas, 
and he recognized and appreciated the pro- 
gressive tendency in others to such an extent 
that he was constantl\' on the lookout for new 
discoveries, especially those applicable to 
his own particular line of industry. And he 
could see more readily than most men the 
practical value of an invention, his superior 
analytical mind grasping at the essentials with 
unerring judgment. He became interested in 
condensed air, the power of which he investi- 
gated thoroughly, at the expense of considera- 
ble time and means, engaging experts to test 
its value. In company with some distin- 
guished English gentlemen he formed a com- 
pany which with the weight of his influence 
might have done an immense business, selling 
stock and manufacturing lifting machines. 
But Mr. Atkins was brought to a realization 
of the fact that the new power was little, if 
any, better than steam, and when he became 
convinced of this he demanded the dissolu- 
tion of the English compan}-, much against 
the wishes, however, of the otlier members 
thereof. He had no ambition to float a dis- 
honest enterprise. He was willing to take 
risks in a legitimate business way, but he had 
neither patience nor sympathy with schemes. 

i\Ir. Atkins belonged to the Commercial, 
the Columbia and the Contemporary Clubs, 
the Board of Trade, and at the time of his 
death he was the oldest member of JMarion 
Lodge, F. & A. i\I. In politics he was a 
strong Republican, and held strenuously to 
the doctrine of protection. Believing in and 
practising the rule of speaking well of people, 
he yet had no patience with political trickery. 
It was his ambition to do something for the 
benefit of his workingmen, and access to him 
by iiis employes was made easy, as he had 
risen from the anvil himself, and retained an 
intelligent sympathy with his men which was 
rewarded by their deep and lasting loyalty. 
Mr. Atkins was of a quiet and undemonstra- 
tive demeanor, devoted to his friends, and of 
deep religious convictions. He became a mem- 
ber of the Baptist Church in 1856, immediately 
after coming to Indianapolis, and at once 
made himself felt as a positive power for 
righteousness in the city. Of his growing 
means he gave liberally to all helpful projects, 
and was especially interested in the cause of 
education, contributing freely to the Baptist 
Female Seminarv, which for many years stood 

on the site of the Shortridge high school. He 
sought to secure the establishment of a Bap- 
tist University in this city, and offered under 
certain conditions to give forty acres of land, 
lying between jMeridian street and Central 
avenue, north of Thirty-second street. A\'hen 
the project for reviving the University of 
Chicago was launched, and Mr. Rockefeller 
offered his first gift of $100,000 to the Theo- 
logical Seminar)-, providing a like amount 
should be given by others, Air. Atkins offered 
to give the forty acres already noted as a 
$20,000 donation. This $20,000 secured the 
interest of Mr. Rockefeller, and the present 
great university took shape and beginning. 
Air. Atkins afterward bought back this tract 
of land, paying $20,000 cash for it, and it is 
now known as University Place. He was one 
of the trustees of Morgan Park Seminary, at 
Chicago, until it was merged into the Univer- 
sity of Chicago, and up to the hour of his 
death was on the official board of that institu- 

A notable thing in the domestic life of Mr. 
Atkins were his breakfast table talks to his 
family circle. In this he was greatly gifted, 
and showed much skill in presenting import- 
ant events, prospects, discoveries and devel- 

j\lr. Atkins was married three times. By 
his first wife, Sarah J. Wells, he had one 
daughter, Harriet, who is now Mrs. J. L. Mc- 
Alahon, of Colorado Springs, Colo. His sec- 
ond marriage was to Alary Dolbeare, and their 
only child is now deceased. On Aug. 17, 1865, 
he was married to Aliss Sarah F. Parker, a 
daughter of Rev. Addison Parker and Eunice 
(Brigham) Parker, and to this union were 
born five children : Alary D., Henry C, Sarah 
Frances, Emma L. and Carra. Alary D. mar- 
ried Nelson A. Gladding, the present secre- 
tary of the E. C. Atkins Saw Company ; they 
have two daughters, Frances AI. and Alary E. 
Henry C. has taken his father's place as presi- 
dent and manager of the saw company; he 
married Aliss Sue Winter, and they have 
three children, Elias C, Keyes Winter and 
Henry Clarence. Sarah Frances married 
Thomas Reed Kackley, second vice-president 
of the Atlas Engine Works ; they have two 
children, Sarah Frances and Thomas Reed, 
Jr. Emma L. married Edward B. Davis, at 
present managerr of the New York branch. 
Carra is married to Capt. Sandford H. Wad- 
hams, U. S. Army. 

Airs. Sarah F. Atkins, the mother of this 




family, is a woman of superior mental quali- 
ties and intellectual power, and she was al- 
ways regarded by her husband as his able ad- 
viser and most valuable counselor in business 
affairs, in which she took a deep interest. Her 
practical comprehension and thorough under- 
standing of manufacturing are such that she 
is still considered one of the best informed 
persons in Indianapolis on such subjects. 
Nevertheless she is a woman of engaging so- 
cial disposition, occupying a high position, 
and she has been especially prominent in D. 
A. R. circles. Mrs. Atkins comes of that 
sturdy Puritan stock so prominent in the his- 
tor}- of New England for high mcwal cour- 
age and devoted patriotism, and her ancestors 
were all zealous church workers. Her mother 
was a native of Sudbury, jNIass., a descendant 
of the Brigham and Haines families long and 
favorably known locally. Her great-grand- 
father Brigham was in the battle of Lexing- 
ton, where he held rank as a commissioned 
officer. Her grandfather, Aaron Parker, w-as 
a farmer and teacher in Vermont. Her father, 
Rev. Addison Parker, a Baptist minister, died 
in Agawam, Mass., in 1864, aged sixty-seven 
years, and her mother died in 1855, at the age 
of fifty-seven. The only brother of Mrs. At- 
kins is Rev. Addison Parker, of Richmond, 

We can find no more fitting close for this 
article than the estimate of Mr. Atkins made 
by i\lr. Volney JMalott, long a fellow citizen : 
"E. C. Atkins, founder of the most important 
manufactory in Indianapolis, and one of the 
two most important manufactories in the 
world, was a clear-headed, far-seeing business 
man. He possessed wonderful energy and 
great capacity for work. He had a most agree- 
able personality and was of a very generous 
nature, a large contributor to the institutions 
of his church, and to other benevolent and 
charitable movements that appealed to him. 
I knew him personally a number of years, 
from the time he started in business until his 
death. He took a prominent part in the up- 
building of Indianapolis, being an active par- 
ticipant in all the enterprises that contribute 
to the upbuilding of a city." 

pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of 
Indianapolis since 1885, is a distinguished 
representative of the Teligious denomination 
with which he is connected, and has won 
prominence in the educational field as well as 

in theological circles. He is a man of su- 
perior mental attainments, taking particular 
pleasure in the cultivation of his literary tal- 
ents, which have led him into many delight- 
ful associations. His long extended pastor- 
ate over a congregation of such notable in- 
telligence bespeaks remarkable fitness for the 
rather unusual demands of the position which 
he has indeed adorned. 

Dr. Haines was born in Aurora, Ind., in 
1850, and comes of a family of physicians, his 
father, Abram B. Haines, of Aurora, his 
grandfather, Matthias Haines, of Rising Sun, 
Ind., and his great-grandfather, Abram 
Brower, of Lawrenceburg, Ind., all being of 
the medical profession. His maternal grand- 
father was Ezekiel Howe Loring, of Rising 
Sun, Ind. After gathering the rudiments of 
an education in the public schools of Rising 
Sun and Aurora, Ind., he entered Wabash 
College, in 1867, ^nd was graduated there- 
from in 1 87 1. Then he became a student at 
the Union Theological Seminary in New York 
City, from which he was graduated in 1874. ' 
His first pastorate was at Astoria, N. Y., 
where he was called to the pulpit of the Dutch 
Reformed Church, which he continued to 
serve as pastor for eleven years. Then, in 
1885, he received a call to the pastorate of 
the First Presbyterian Church of Indianapolis, 
succeeding Rev. JNIyron W. Reed. In the suc- 
ceeding twenty-two years all of his talents 
have not been confined to purely church work, 
but have flowed out into wide channels of 
social and public activities. The hand and 
voice of Dr. Haines have been employed in 
many good works. He is president of the In- 
dianapolis Benevolent Society ; was for ten 
years a member of the Presbyterian Board of 
Aid of Colleges and Academies ; is a director 
of Lane Theological Seminary, Cincinnati, 
Ohio ; and a trustee of Wabash College. In 
1899 he was pressed by a large vote in the 
Presbyterian General Assembly as a candidate 
for moderator. He has entered in a number 
of ways into the life of the city and State. He 
was one of the committee of five, appointed 
b)- the Commercial Club, which drew up the 
new park law passed by the Legislature in 
1899. He has been president of the Indian- 
apolis Literary Club, is one of the executive 
committee of the Winona Technical Institute 
of Indianapolis, and a director of the Winona 
Assembly of Winona Lake. 

It is impossible to describe the personality 
of Dr. Haines without including many of the 



qualities that go to make the pastor of a large 
church loved, admired and respected. Witty, 
without crossing the border line into sarcasm, 
a post-prandial orator of more than usual in- 
terest, a charming host and a delightful guest, 
he is what a popular and faithful minister 
should be; and more than that, his unfailing 
sympathy and ardent devotion to duty have 
won him a distinguished place in the respect 
and afifection of tne people of Indianapolis. 

The First Presbyterian Church was or- 
ganized July 5, 1823, and was the third church 
organized in the new settlement, following the 
Wesley Chapel, now the Meridian Street 
Church, and the First Baptist, both of which 
were formed the preceding year. The Pres- 
byterian society was the first to erect a church 
edifice. Occasional preaching services had 
been held in the new settlement from August, 
1 82 1, but it was not until two years later that 
the settlers began dividing into different de- 
nominations. The first house of worship 
erected was located on the west side of Penn- 
sylvania street, north of Market street, on the 
present site of the Vajen block. It was be- 
gun before the organization of the church, 
and was a frame building 54x40 feet. In 1843 
it was given up for a brick building on the 
site of tne American Central Life building, on 
the corner of Market and Monument place. 
This, in turn, gave way to the third structure, 
located on the southwest corner of New York 
and Pennsylvania streets, which was begun 
in 1865, the chapel being occupied in 1866. 
The main auditorium was first occupied Nov. 
27, 1867. The fourth edifice — and the one 
now occupied by the congregation — stands on 
the corner of Delaware and Sixteenth streets. 
It was completed and dedicated Oct. 4, 1903, 
and is old English-Gothic in style, with a seat- 
ing .capacity of one thousand. The clergymen 
who have occupied the pulpit of the First 
Church during the more than fourscore years 
of its history have been of ability and charac- 
ter. The membership has embraced some of 
the most useful and prominent men in the 
State, including Governors Samuel Bigger, 
Conrad Baker, James A. Mount, President 
Benjamin Harrison, United States Attorney- 
General W. H. H. Miller, Mr. Thomas H. 
Sharpe, Hon. H. H. Hanna, Mr. John H. 
HoUiday, Mr. Thomas C. Day, and others. 

It is said of Dr. Haines that, since Indian- 
apolis was a village, no pastor has been more 
thoroughly respected or more universally 
loved than the pastor of the First Presbyterian 

Church. Ex-President Harrison said of him : 
"I thank God for a pastor who preaches Christ 
crucified, and never says a foolish thing." 

Dr. Haines was married Alay 7, 1885, in 
Astoria, N. Y., to Miss Sarah L. Kouwenho- 
ven, daughter of Francis D. and Harriet Kou- 
wenhoven, of Astoria. Two daughters were 
born to this union. The present home of the 
family is at No. 216 East Thirteenth street, 
Indianapolis. ' 

i\I. D., of Indianapolis, has during his quarter 
of a century of professional life experienced 
almost every phase of a physician's useful- 
ness. He has won reputation as a general 
practitioner, as an educator, as a public serv- 
ant in the field of his chosen work, and as a 
contributor to medical literature and research. 
His success in all these lines is ample compen- 
sation for the years of hard work which lie 
behind his accomplishments. He began mod- 
estly, at the close of. the regular student period, 
as a teacher in his alma mater and in regular 
practice. As his prospect widened new inter- 
ests came in which a man of progressive and 
helpful spirit could not conscientiously neg- 
lect. His responsibilities increased rapidly, 
but not too rapidly for his energetic spirit to 
grasp and master them, and though his best 
eilorts have been put forth with the object of 
helping others he has forged ahead with his 
ambitions until he is now in the front rank of 
the eminent physicians and surgeons of In- 

Dr. Earp was born Dec. 19, 1858, in Leba- 
non, 111., and is of English descent, being a 
son of Joseph and Margaret E. (Walls) Earp, 
natives, respectively, of Derby and London, 
England. The Earp family was long settled 
in England, and traced its ancestry back 
through Lord [Melbourne to Oliver Crom- 
well's time. The Doctor's paternal and ma- 
ternal grandfathers died in England, and the 
latter owned a landed estate ; his name is now 
lost to the memory of the Doctor. 

Joseph Earp was a cloth cutter during his 
early life, in England. When still a young 
man he came to America and became a minis- 
ter in the JNIethodist Episcopal Church, serv- 
ing in Southern Illinois. He died in 1898, at 
the age of seventy-five years, long surviving 
his wife, who passed away in 1875, aged fifty- 
five years. Of their four children the Doctor 
is now the only survivor. Rev. Joseph Earp 
was one of the preacher friends of Abraham 



Lincoln, being well known in southern Illinois, 
in what is known as "Egypt." His influence 
was such that he was frequentl}' called into 
the councils of Mr. Lincoln and his friends, 
among his associates being Gen. John A. Lo- 
gan, Governor Oglesby, Lyman Trumbull, 
Gen. John AI. Palmer, and a number of other 
men of national reputation. After the assas- 
sination of President Lincoln, Rev. Joseph 
Earp delivered the memorial address in the 
chapel of McKendree College, Lebanon, 111., 
and the audience was so large that only a por- 
tion could gain admittance. The address was 
spirited, patriotic and eloquent, such as a 
high-spirited Union man, unless very brave 
indeetl, would have hesitated to deliver at that 

Samuel E. Earp lived with his father at 
the various place to which he was assigned as 
pastor, and obtained his literary training in 
the high school at Alton, III, at Shurtleff 
College, in Upper Alton, and in McKendree 
College, at Lebanon, III, from which latter 
institution he was graduated in 1879. Mean- 
time he had commenced studving medicine in 
1874 under Dr. C. M. Smith, of Alton, III, 
and in 1879 studied under Dr. Gonsalvo C. 
Smythe, of Greencastle, Ind. He was gradu- 
ated from the Central College of Physicians 
and Surgeons of Indianapolis in 1882, and at 
once began practising in Indianapolis, where 
he has remained to the present day, achiev- 
ing fame and fortune in the calling of his 

The year of his graduation Dr. Earp be- 
came a member of the Faculty of Central Col- 
lege, with which he continued to be identified 
in an educational capacity until 1902. He was 
first engaged as Professor of Chemistry and 
Toxicology, later was in the department of 
Materia Medica and Therapeutics, and in 1899 
was elected Professor of the Principles and 
Practice of Medicine and Sanitary Science. 
He was secretary and dean of the college and 
was re-elected for four terms. His work as 
an educator has not, however, been confined 
to this institution. For seven years he was 
Professor of Materia Medica and Therapeut- 
ics in the Central College of Dentistry; he is 
one of the corps of instructors of St. Vincent's 
Training School for Nurses, his subject being 
the Practice of Medicine and Dietetics; and 
in July, 1906, he was elected Professor of the 
Practice of Medicine in the State College of 
Physicians and Surgeons, in affiliation with 
the Universitv of Indiana. 

The Doctor's public services have been of 
the kind that require not only wide profes- 
sional knowledge but also kindliness of heart 
and good judgment in the discharge of the 
duties attaching to the various positions he 
has filled. For two years he w^s chemist of 
the Health Department of Indianapolis ; for 
four years he was a member of the Board of 
Health of the city, and acted as the executive 
officer of that body, to which he was unani- 
mously elected, by both Democrats and Re- 
publicans ; later he became a member of the 
Board of Public Health and Charities ; filled 
out an unexpired term as police surgeon, and 
later was elected police and fire surgeon for 
two consecutive terms. 

Dr. Earp is on the consulting staff of the 
Indianapolis City Dispensary, the Indianapolis 
City Hospital, the Protestant Deaconess Hos- 
pital and St. Vincent's Hospital. He is a con- 
tributor to a number of medical journals, and 
is quoted in several text-books for original 
work in chemistry. His services to the pro- 
fession outside of his work as a teacher have 
been considerable, especially as editor of pro- 
fessional journals. He was first editor of the 
"Medical and Surgical ]\Ionitor," which was 
inaugurated in June, 1898, and associated 
with him were Drs. Joseph Eastman, Allison 
Maxwell, L. L. Todd, G. V. Woollen, and 
others. In November, 1903, Dr. Earp re- 
signed his position as editor of the "Medical 
and Surgical Monitor" and became editor of 
the "Central States Medical Magazine," and 
when, in November, 1905, the two journals 
were amalgamated under the title of the "Cen- 
tral States Medical Monitor," Dr. Earp be- 
came the editor-in-chief, with Drs. S. P. 
Scherer and S. C. Norris as associate editors. 
This monthly journal is one of the leading 
medical publications, and has for its collabora- 
tors and contributors some of the most promi- 
nent men in the United States. Its contents 
are freely quoted by the best medical journals. 

The Doctor is a member of the Indianap- 
olis Medical Society, and the Indiana State 
Medical Association. In fraternal connection 
he is a Mason and a member of the Knights 
of Pvthias, being prominent in both organiza- 
tions'. He is a thirty-second degree Scottish 
Rite Mason, and a member of Murat Temple 
of the Mystic Shrine, at Indianapolis; in the 
Knights of Pythias he belongs to the Uniform 
Rank, is brigade surgeon, with the rank of 
colonel, is past chancellor of Capitol City 
Lodge, No. 97, and has been representative 



to the Grand Lodge five times. In political 
connection he is a member of the Republican 

On June 29, 189S, Dr. Earp married jMiss 
Evelyn ]\I. Byers, daughter of David A. and 
Emma (Sheets) Byers, and this union has 
been graced* with two sons, Evanson B. and 
Leon S. Mrs. Earp is a member of the Me- 
ridian Street ]\Iethodist Episcopal Church. 
The family occupy an elegant home at No. 
1 121 North Illinois street, and the Doctor's 
office is at No. 2414 Kentucky avenue. 

The opinion of Dr. J. A. S'utcliflfe, one of 
the Doctor's friends and admirers, will be of 
interest at the close of this brief skecth of his 
career: "For a quarter of a century I have 
watched with pride and pleasure the intellect- 
ual achievements of Dr. S. E. Earp. He was 
born of a will and determination which knows 
no failure, of an energy and devotion to ef- 
fort which is well nigh irresistible ; and with 
it all with a due appreciation and regard for 
what is fair and right toward his fellow-men 
and the medical profession. In the many po- 
sitions of trust and honor which he has occu- 
pied his work has been characterized by in- 
tegrity and justice. As a writer and scholar 
he is a man of exceptional merits. Many 
practitioners and former students watch with 
eagerness for his editorials and other articles 
as the latest exponents of medical literature. 
As a teacher in medicine, his clear analytical 
and philosophical mind fits him pre-eminently 
for his work and easily adorns the chair which 
he occupies." 

Dr. William N. Wishard writes: "Dr. 
Earp is a man who has been regarded as a 
physician of ability from the time he first 
graduated in medicine. During the past 
quarter of a century he has been recognized 
as one of the leading men in general medicine 
and chemistry, to which departments he has 
given a great deal of attention. He is well 
and favorably known as a teacher and editor 
and a genial, pleasant gentleman." 

The venerable Dr. W. H. Wishard says: 
"Dr. Samuel Earp has always sustained him- 
self well as a reputable physician, a gentle- 
man and citizen." 

John H. Holliday, a distinguished finan- 
cier of Indianapolis and founder of the In- 
dianapolis Xct^'S, of which he was for many 
years the successful editor, writes of Dr. Earp 
under date of Jan. 7, 1907 : "Dr. Earp is noth- 
ing if not energetic and thorough. As a stu- 
dent of medicine at Greencastle he helped to 

support himself by corresponding for the In- 
dianapolis Neu'S, the editor of which marked 
and appreciated his services. He would have 
made a good newspaper man, in fact he has 
that all around combination of good qualities 
that would have brought him success in any 
calling he might have tried. But he chose to 
be a doctor and he has made a good one, hav- 
ing steadily gained in the estimation of his 
patients, the public and his professional 
brothers, so that he now holds an enviable 
reputation and rank in the profession. But it 
took work, hard work, to achieve it, and the 
reward has been fairly won. His career has 
been one characteristic of our American life, 
but none the less is it a shining example for 
all young men." 

THOLOMEW, attorney-at-law, Indianapolis, 
was born in Cabotville, Hampden Co., ^lass., 
Aug. 4, 1840, son of Harris and Betsy 
(I\ioore) Bartholomew, both of whom were 
natives of Alassachusetts. Of their four 
children Judge Bartholomew is the only one 
now living. 

Harris Bartholomew, grandfather of the 
Judge, was a son of Andrew Bartholomew, 
who was a native of Connecticut and came of 
Puritan ancestry. He was a prominent man 
in Alontgomery, Mass., where he spent his 
whole life, serving as a selectman, treasurer 
of the town and school commissioner. He 
died at the age of seventy-si.x, and was the 
father of six children. Pliny ]\Ioore, the ma- 
ternal grandfather of the Judge, was a farmer 
and a native of Massachusetts. \\'hen he died 
at the age of sixty-six years he left a family 
of five children. 

Harris Bartholomew, son of Harris and 
father of the Judge, was a merchant in Indian- 
apolis. He came to that city in 1869 and for 
some years was engaged in a wholesale tea 
and tobacco trade, in which line his -son Har- 
ris was a partner with him. Later in life he 
was a boot and shoe merchant. He died 
March 21, 1887, at the age of seventy-three 
years, two months. His first wife. Betsy 
(Moore), died in 1846, in Montgomery, Mass., 
at the age of thirty-nine years. She was a 
Congregationalist in religious faith. He mar- 
ried for his second wife Deborah S. Coleman, 
a well educated woman and a teacher in Mas- 
sachusetts, and two of their eight daughters 
are now living: Alice married Wells Noble, 
of Westfield, Mass., in which state the No- 



bles are a noted family. Leila is unmarried 
and for several years has been a teacher in 
the Indianapolis schools ; she is a graduate of 
Pratt Institute, one of the famous art schools 
in Brooklyn, and was at the head of her class, 
is noted for her originality in designing, draw- 
ing and molding, and won the first scholar- 
ship, out of four prizes submitted by the 
Prang Drawing School, against more than a 
thousand competitors. 

Harris Bartholomew was originally a Con- 
gregationalist, but after removing to the West 
became an elder in the Presbyterian Church 
at Cambridge City, Ind. When he died he 
was a member of the Seventh Presbyterian 
Church of Indianapolis. In politics he was 
originally a Whig and when the Republican 
party was organized in 1856 he at once at- 
tached himself to its fortunes. In 1850-51 
he was a member of the ^lassachusetts Legis- 
lature, and he and Daniel Webster were great 
friends. His integrity and reliability were 
beyond question, and he was a very success- 
ful merchant. 

Pliny Webster Bartholomew lived in Mas- 
sachusetts until he was sixteen years old, at- 
tending the common schools at Northampton 
until that age. He then found a position in a 
grocery and butcher shop, where he was to 
receive fifty dollars and his board for a year's 
salary. In the meantime his father had re- 
moved to Canton, N. Y., and presently Pliny 
followed him. He determined that the prac- 
tice of law should be his life work, and ac- 
cordingly for a time taught district school in 
Hermon, N. Y., and made preparations for 
entering college, which he did in the fall of 
1861, matriculating at Union College, Sche- 
nectady, N. Y., wliere he graduated in 1864. 
During the first two years and a part of the 
third he paid his way by teaching school 
in the winter and selling maps and books dur- 
ing the summer seasons. During his Senior 
year he took up the study of law, and was ad- 
mitted to the Bar at Schenectady in May, 
1865. He then went to Ballston Spa, the 
county seat of Saratoga county, and formed 
a partnership with J. S. Lamorreaux. practis- 
ing with him until the fall of 1866. That year 
he came to Indianapolis and established a law 
practice, in which he has been very successful, 
and in which he is still engaged, the only 
break in his professional career being when he 
was on the Bench. He was elected judge of 
the Superior court in i8go and served with 
great success until Oct. 26, 1896, when his 

term expired. He was a partner with Judge 
Edward Buskirk for several years, under the 
firm name of Bartholomew & Buskirk, and 
was also for a time a partner with David V. 
Burns, late of Denver, Colorado. 

Judge Bartholomew was married Jan. 30, 
1873, to Aliss Sarah Belle Smith, daughter of 
G. W. Smith, of Crawfordsville, Ind., and to 
this union were born three children : ( i ) Belle 
Isadora married Allin W. Hewitt, and lives 
in New Jersey. She is the mother of three 
children, Arthur Cromwell, Helen Louise and 
Sarah Lucile. (2) Pliny W., Jr., died when 
four years old. (3) Harris Sherley graduated 
at Shortridge high school and attended Union 
College one year, and is now a salesman in 
New York City. 

Judge Bartholomew and his family belong 
to the Presbyterian Church, in which he is an 
elder. In Marion Lodge, No. i, K. P., he 
is past chancellor, past representative to the 
grand lodge, etc., and at the present time is 
a member of the grand lodge ; he is past grand 
dictator of the Knights of Honor, is past Indi- 
ana representative and member of the Ameri- 
can Bar Association, and a member of the 
Indiana Bar Association. In politics he is a 
Democrat. From 1866 to 1870 he was com- 
missioner of deeds for New York and Con- 
necticut in Indiana. For several years he 
has lived at No. 1924 College avenue, where 
he has a fine and attractive home. 

VALENTINE SCHAAF, president and 
superintendent of the Indianapolis Manufac- 
turers & Carpenters Union, Nos. 201, 203, 205 
New Jersey street, Indianapolis, was born in 
Germany, close to Frankfort-on-the-Main, 
June 7, 1 83 1. He is a son of Valentine and 
Barbara (Schmidt) Schaaf, natives of Ger- 
many, who had four children, two now living: 
Valentine and Casper, the latter of Erben- 
hause, Germany. The father was a farmer 
in Germany and died there in 1884. aged 
seventy-nine years. The mother died in 1887, 
aged eighty-four years. They were Luther- 
ans. He served as a soldier in the regular 

Valentine Schaaf's paternal grandfather, 
also named Valentine, was a farmer, and died 
in Germany aged seventy-five years. He 
served in the Napoleonic wars. He had four 
sons, one of whom lives in Indianapolis, and 
is close to ninety-one years of age. The ma- 
ternal grandfather of our subject, Adam 
Schmidt, was a farmer, and died at an old 



age. He had two sons and two daughters. 

Valentine Schaaf was raised in Germany 
and received a common school education. He 
came to America in 1850 and settled in Indi- 
anapolis, where he learned the carpenter's 
trade, which he followed for many years, also 
doing contracting from i860 to 1870. Then 
he and Fred Schmid with others organized 
the Indianapolis Alanufacturers & Carpenters 
Union, for the manufacture of all kinds of 
house material. Mr. Valentine Schaaf has 
been its president since 1877. They employ 
about sixty-five people. 

On April 27, 1867, Valentine Schaaf mar- 
ried Miss Elizabeth Breckley, daughter of 
Gottlieb and Elizabeth Breckley. Eight chil- 
dren were born to this union, five sons and 
three daughters, two of whom are now living, 
Harry and Alvin. The others died in early 
childhood. Harry is foreman of the manufac- 
turing establishment of which his father is 
president ; he married Miss Minnie Aldag, and 
is the father of three children, Frieda, Nor- 
man and Paul. Alvin married Miss Lora 
Francis X'anatta, and they live in Indianapolis ; 
he was a traveling man for a lumber firm, 
but is now a salesman under his father. 

i\Ir. Valentine Schaaf was originally a 
Lutheran in religious connection, but is now- 
identified with the Evangelical German 
Church. In politics he is a Republican. He 
resides at No. 217 North Arsenal avenue, with 
his son Harry, in a fine home. Mt. Schaaf 
has lived in Indianapolis fifty-one years, and 
he has seen it grow from a small city, when 
the old Aladison railroad had been built only 
a year. Mr. Schaaf has put up a great many 
houses, and some of the large buildings of the 

HENRY P. COBURN came out to Indi- 
ana in 1816 — the year it was admitted as a 
sovereign State of the Union. He was a 
young lawyer, a graduate of Harvard College, 
and the library he brought with him was 
typical of the progress and advancement 
which he advocated and fostered to the close 
of his life. His labors in behalf of general 
education and the free school system have 
never been publicly acknowledged, but he is 
recognized as one of the earliest and ablest 
friends of free schools in this State by all 
familiar with their history. His efforts in the 
promotion of public morality w-ere still an- 
other expression of his earnest desire to be 
of the utmost service to his fellow-men. Mr. 

Coburn was a practicing lawyer throughout 
the period of his residence in Indiana, and for 
over thirty years clerk of the Supreme court 
of the State. 

Mr. Coburn w'as born in 1790, at Dracut, 
Mass., where his ancestors settled in Colonial 
times. The family is of English origin, the 
Coburns having come to America with the 
Puritans in the latter part of the seventeenth 
century and settled on the east bank of the 
Merrimac river, in what is now Dracut town- 
ship, Aliddlesex C0.3 Mass. Descendants of 
the original settlers still own and occupy the 
land purchased from the Indians over two 
hundred years ago. The title was from "John 
Thomas, a Sagamore of Natic." 

Capt. Peter Coburn, grandfather of Henry 
P. Coburn, was born in 1737, at Dracut, 
Mass., and died there in 1813. He served 
throughout the Revolution, being captain in 
the Continental ami)', commanded a company 
of minute-men at the Lexington alami, and 
was in command of his company at the battle 
of Bunker Hill, in Col. Ebenezer Bridge's 
Regiment. He married Dolly \'arnum, who 
was born in 1739 and died in 1765. 

Peter Coburn, Jr., son of Capt. Peter Co- 
burn, was born in Massachusetts, was a farm- 
er by occupation, and lived to the age of 
over sixty. He was a soldier through- 
out the Revolutionary war, and took part in 
the battle of Bunker Hill, although he was too 
young to enlist regularly, being only a boy in 
his teens at the time. He married Elizabeth 
Poor, who was born in 1766 and died in 1841. 
They had a large family. 

Henry P. Coburn, son of Peter Coburn, 
Jr., was reared on a farm. He received a 
thorough education, taking a course at 
Harvard College, from which institution 
he was graduated in 1812, studied law 
and was admitted to the Bar in Massa- 
chusetts. Shortly afterward he came to 
Indiana, the year it was admitted into the 
Union, and first located at Cor}-don, the early 
capital of the new State. He bought land 
near Mount Vernon. Mr. Coburn followed 
his profession at Corydon until after Indi- 
anapolis became the State capital, removing 
to the new center of government in 1824, 
from which time until his death he practiced 
in IMarion county and the surrounding terri- 
tor}-. In the Indianapolis Gaccttc of Jan. 30, 
1826, we find the following "Law Notice": 
"Hiram Brown and Henry P. Coburn will 
practice law in the Federal court and the 

j^ w^^ 


JC /'^G c^6i.c^, 



jMarion county courts in partnership. They 
reside in Indianapohs and keep their law 
office opposite Henderson and Blake's tavern 
[the .present site of the New York Store], 
one door east of the Journal printing office. 
Hiram Brown will practice in the Supreme 
court." ]\Ir. Coburn could not practice in the 
Supreme court, as he was clerk of that court, 
having been appointed while at Corydon, soon 
after the organization of the State. He was 
the second to hold the position of clerk of the 
Supreme court of Indiana, the first clerk dying 
within a year of his appointment. Mr. Coburn 
held the office continuously, by re-appointments 
of the judges of the Supreme court, until the 
new order was established in 1852. By the pro- 
visions of the new constitution just adopted 
the clerk of the Supreme court was to be 
elected by popular vote, and Mr. Coburn de- 
clined to be a candidate. As a lawyer he was 
highly successful, and the confidence he en- 
joyed in the profession was the most con- 
vincing evidence of his ability and legal at- 

Mr. Coburn thoroughly appreciated the ad- 
vantages of education, being far ahead of his 
day on the question of free schools. His 
foresight enabled him to see the benefits and 
future popularity of public education long be- 
fore they became apparent to those who would 
profit most by the change, and his sagacity, 
though recognized by his fellow workers, was 
underestimated by those he was seeking to 
help. The first attempts to have the free 
school system adopted met with little sympa- 
thy, but Mr. Coburn was not disheartened, 
and his perseverance and earnestness won out 
in the end. He was probably the earliest ad- 
vocate of free public schools in this section, 
and associated with him were such men as 
Calvin Fletcher, Samuel Merrill, James Blake, 
John G. Brown, and James M. Ray. These 
were all men whose names have become in- 
separably associated with the history of Indi- 
anapolis and who have left many traces of 
their life and work on the various commercial 
and public interests of the city. Mr. Ray's 
son. Judge Charles Ray, is a judge of the 
Indiana Supreme court. Mr. Brown was a 
\'irginian and a typical refined Southern gen- 
tleman ; one of his sons, Alexander M. Brown, 
became a lawyer of Indianapolis, and another, 
James W. Brown, a scholarly man of high 
scientific attainments, served a,s city engineer; 
there were also two daughters — Mary, who 
married Stephen Tcmlinson, a druggist (who 

gave Tomlinson Hall to the city), and Mar- 
garet, still living, who married a Presbyterian 

The prominence and standing of his asso- 
ciates in the cause of free education shows 
convincingly that Mr. Coburn was taken seri- 
ously by the best elements in the community. 
After the establishment of the schools was 
accomplished their maintenance was the next 
important question, and he was as prominent 
in this phase as he had been in founding 
them. It was his idea to tax the public for 
the revenue needed, and a vote was taken each 
year upon this point until the plan carried 
and was adopted by the State. He had the 
satisfaction — not always the lot of the bene- 
factor — of seeing his ideas in successful opera- 
tion for a number of years before his death. 
Mr. Coburn's well-known sentiments on the 
subject of education led him into close rela- 
tions with all similar projects and many insti- 
tutions of learning, for he took a public- 
spirited interest in every such establishment, 
aiding them all by his influence and encour- 
agement, and, where necessary, with his 
means. He was retained for many years in 
the office of trustee of the ]\Iarion County 
Seminary. He was one of the first promoters 
of the county library, was a member of its 
first board of trustees, and also served as 
treasurer. In that position he had consider- 
able to do in the early financiering of the 
library. The county commissioners appointed 
him to ascertain the amount due the public 
on the sales of all the original town lots of In- 
dianapolis, the county being allowed by law a 
certain per cent on such sales. This sum was 
to be applied to the purchase of the Marion 
county library. The task was considered a 
very tedious one, requiring time and patience, 
as well as judgment and ability, and Mr. Co- 
burn's selection was a mark of high confidence 
in both his integrity and business qualities. 
The money he collected formed the basis of 
the library fund, which has since been aug- 
mented by various amounts for the increase 
of the library. His son Augustus was the 
first librarian. The venerable Dr. William H. 
Wishard said recently (Jan. 10, 1907) : 

"Henry P. Coburn was an attorney, very 
modest and unassuming, a first-class type of 
a Christian gentleman of the old school. He 
was well educated and a graduate of Harvard 
College. In his legal business he was very 
generous to his clients, never exacting pay 
from the poor and indigent for his profes- 



sional services. Justice has never been done 
to this gentleman by the histories and his- 
torians of early Indianapolis and Marion 
county, as a worthy, far-seeing citizen, look- 
ing^ after the educational and moral welfare 
of this pioneer town. He was one of the 
very first advocates of general education of 
the people, long before the establishment of 
the public school system. He held various 
offices of trust. He was the earliest and most 
active advocate for temperance, and took a 
bold and determined stand against the 
licensing of grog shops in JNIarion county. 
He with Nicholas jMcCarty, Calvin Fletcher, 
James i\I. Ray, Samuel ^Merrill, David V. 
Culley, and John B. Dillon were the earliest 
and most active advocates of the public school 

The following comments upon Mr. Co- 
burn and his work were made by Gen. Lew 
Wallace and other men intimately acquainted 
for years with the progress and history of 
Indiana : 

Henry P. Coburn, a pioneer lawyer, clerk 
of the Supreme court of Indiana, was one of 
the foremost men of his time, always active 
in the promotion of public education and the 
establishing of the free school system, to 
which there was very considerable opposition, 
especially by men of the South or slave States, 
who were almost universally opposed to the 
establishing of free schools. ]Mr. Coburn was 
prominent and active among those who in- 
sisted upon a liberal provision by law for the 
establishment of the free school system, which 
met with a decided and vigorous opposition. 
He was a graduate of Harvard and a man of 
great influence among all classes, who re- 
spected him for his earnestness and 
honesty. No one was more prominent 
in the establishing and support of the 
free school system than Air. Coburn and 
it is remarkable that no recognition of him 
has been made by the citizens of Indiana for 
his constant services in the establishment of 
the public schools. He was connected with 
all public-spirited enterprises. He was posi- 
tive in his opinions and was a man of fine 
principle and of well-trained mind. He did 
more for the promotion of the free school 
system of Marion county than any other man. 
He was one of the trustees of the county 
seminary from its organization to its close, 
and was always on the school board. He, 
with David V. Culley, Calvin Fletcher, 
Samuel Merrill, Sr., John B. Dillon and 

others, made the rounds of the schools, en- 
couraging the teachers in their labors and in 
the preservation of order and thorough disci- 
pline. Calvin Fletcher was especially active, 
and would administer personal chastisement 
on the proper occasions. 

While at Corydon [Mr. Coburn married 
Sarah Malott, who was born at Louisville, 
Jefferson Co., Ky., daughter of Hiram Ala- 
lott, a pioneer of that county. Hiram Ma- 
lott's wife was a daughter of Peter Haas, a 
Swiss Mennonite settler of Lancaster county, 
Pa., who was noted for his religious principles 
and patriotism and was an influential man 
in his section during the Revolutionary war. 
He was a member of the committee of safety 
and observation, and also gave active service 
in the war, being a member of the first com- 
pany that passed the committee of observation. 
Hiram Malott was born in Maryland, of 
French-Huguenot ancestry, moved to Ken- 
tucky about 1785 or 1790, and was a farmer 
all his life, owning and managing a planta- 
tion of considerable size in Jefferson county. 
He was a soldier in the war of 181 2, and 
afterward served in the Kentucky militia, 
being known as jNIajor ]\Ialott. 

To Mr. and I\Irs. Coburn were born five 
children, four sons and one daughter, of whom 
but one is still living, Henry Coburn, of 
Indianapolis. Mrs. Caroline (Coburn) 
Bence, the widow of Dr. Robert F. Bence, 
also a resident of Indianapolis, died in 1903. 
Air. Coburn died in 1854, and Airs. Coburn 
passed away in 1866, at the age of about 
seventy-four. She was a Methodist in religi- 
ous faith, and Air. Coburn was a Presbyterian. 

president of the State Life Insurance Com- 
pany of Indianapolis, was born Jan. 25, 1850, 
in Alonroe county, N. Y. His ancestors on 
both sides came from old New England stock, 
a great-grandfather on each side having 
served in the Continental army during the 
Revolutionary war. Air. Wynn lost both of 
his parents when he was five years old, and 
lived with his maternal grandfather until he 
was fourteen, when he went to Indianapolis 
to live with an uncle, W. J. Wynn. who was 
at that time general agent for the Xow York 
Life Insurance Company. 

At the age of seventeen he entered the 
book house of Bowen-Stewart & Co., of Indi- 
anapolis. He spent ten years in the book 
business, part of the time on the road as a 



traveling salesman. At the same time he 
took up the study of law, and at the age of 
twenty-seven went to Hamburg, Iowa, and 
engaged in the practice of law. While there 
he was elected and served a term as city attor- 
ney. In 1882, his health failing, he moved 
to Sioux Falls, Dak., and engaged in the news- 
paper business, establishing the Daily Argus 
in that city, now the leading daily newspaper 
in South Dakota. In 1886 he sold out the 
newspaper and entered the life insurance busi- 
ness, as agent for the Michigan Mutual. He 
subsequently worked for the Northwestern of 
Milwaukee, in Dakota, and the Mutual Benefit, 
in Nebraska. During this period he made a 
close and profound study of the scientific 
basis and general principles of the life insur- 
ance business. 

He returned to Indianapolis in 1892, and, 
in connection with other parties there, organ- 
ized a stock company, the Atlas Life Insur- 
ance Company, of which he was actuary and 
manager. In 1893, the panic having materially 
reduced the chances for building up a suc- 
cessful company at that time, the Atlas rein- 
sured and went out of business. Mr. Wynn 
then became Indiana State manager for the 
Fidelity Mutual of Philadelphia. 

In 1894, the State Life Insurance Com- 
pany was organized by Mr. Wynn, Air. An- 
drew ]\I. Sweeney, and JNIr. Samuel Quinn, 
Mr. Wynn being the original promoter of the 
company. There being no legal reserve law 
in Indiana at that time the company was 
organized under the assessment law, but Mr. 
Wynn as its actuary placed the company from 
the beginning on an old line basis, and the 
company never issued a policy at any time 
that did not require the payment in advance 
of the full regular old line standard partici- 
pating premium rate, and the company, from 
the first, regularly valued its policies and 
maintained full old line reserves. For this 
reason, while still operating under the_ assess- 
ment law in Indiana, it was admitted in Ohio 
as a regular, legal reserve company. Mr. 
Wynn served as secretary and actuary, and in 
March, 1907, was elected vice-president of 
the company. 

Mr. "Wy'nn was the author of the fainous 
Legal Reserve Deposit law of Indiana, which 
requires all companies incorporated thereun- 
der to maintain a deposit with the State of 
the full net cash value of all outstanding poli- 
cies, and was largely instrumental in securing 
its enactment by the Legislature, and the 

State Life was the first company to incorpor- 
ate thereunder. This law has been of enor- 
mous benefit in inspiring public confidence in 
Indiana companies, and in making Indianapo- 
lis an insurance center. 

of Clifford, Browder & Moffett, lawyers, at 
Rooms 806-808 Stevenson building, Indiana- 
polis, was born in Jamestown, Ohio, Nov. 29, 
1850, son of Parker S. and Susan J. (Dakin) 
Browder, natives, he of Virginia and she of 

Parker S. Browder had seven children, 
five sons and two daughters: Cornelius, of 
Indianapolis ; Courtland R., of Chicago ; Wil- 
bur F. ; Frank F., of St. Louis, Mo. ; Charles 
S., of Old Mexico, a gold miner and ex-con- 
ductor ; Jennie E., wife of A. L. Stanfield, of 
Edgar, 111., now deceased ; and Airs. Carrie 
Tweed, a professor in the State Normal at 
Terre Haute, Ind. The father was for many 
years a farmer and stock drover and shipper 
of fine cattle. He came west with his parents 
to Greene county, Ohio, settled in James- 
town, and owned considerable property. In 
1858 he moved to Greencastle, Ind., and lived 
there until 1876, when he moved to Alurdock, 
Douglass Co., 111., where he died in 1890, 
aged seventy-four years. His wife still sur- 
vives and lives with her daughter at Terre 
Haute. They were Methodists. He was a 
local Methodist preacher, and gave thousands 
of dollars to the church. He was never a 
politician, but was a prominent Mason and an 
Odd Fellow. 

William Browder, the paternal grand- 
father of our subject, was a native of Virginia. 
The family was of Scotch-Irish descent, emi- 
grating from England. William Browder was 
a farn^r and soldier in the Revolutionary war. 
He was a Presbyterian and being opposed to 
slavery, he and h'is brother, James, who owned 
about 'two hundred slaves, brought them to 
Ohio and released them. William died when 
upward of fifty years of age. He had thirteen 
children who grew to maturity. James died 
aged eighty-eight years. The maternal grand- 
father of our subject was named Dakin. He 
belonged to the celebrated Dakin family of 
New York, had mone\- and was a gentleman 
of leisure. He was an early settler in Ohio, 
and died there aged about forty-six years. He 
liad four children by his first wife, and two 
bv his second. 

Wilbur F. Browder lived in Ohio until 



eight years of age, when they went to Green- 
castle, Ind., and he lived there until the fall 
of 1872. In that year he came to Indianapolis, 
and has lived here ever since. Attending the 
common schools in Ohio for his preparatory 
education, he graduated from Asbury (now 
Depauw) University, in 1872. He then be- 
came an officer of the Supreme Court under 
State officer James P. Black, the official re- 
porter, and served there until 1888 under four 
different officials, both Democratic and Re- 
publican. In 1888 he took up the practice of 
law in Indianapolis, and has continued at it 
ever since, being associated with Mr. Vincent 
D. Clifford until 1896, at which time they took 
in an additional partner, ]\Ir. W. S. IMoffett, 
the firm name now being Clifford, Browder & 
IMoffett. i\Ir. Browder was employed for 
several years in reading proofs and compiling 
court reports of Indiana, comprising volumes 
from No. 35 to Xo. 144 inclusive ; also from 
No. I to No. 12 Appellate court reports. He 
resigned in 1888, but continued to read proofs 
on these reports up to the year 1896. He is 
one of the three principal men in the C. P. 
Leah Paper Company of Indianapolis ; a mem- 
ber of the board of directors of the Indiana 
Insurance Company, and attorney for same ; 
and is identified with other enterprises in the 

On December 4, 1873, Mr. Browder mar- 
ried Miss Ella J. Jones, daughter of Richard 
Wilds and Mary Catherine (Daggy) Jones. 
Nine children were born to this union, seven 
sons and two daughters : Frederick, Emma, 
\\ilbur, Clifford, Alice Irene, Clarence Newton, 
Maurice Eugene and two who died in early 
childhood. I^Iiss Emma is a graduate of De- 
pauw University, and a teacher in the Indi- 
anapolis public schools. The other children 
are at home. Mr. and Mrs. Browder are mem- 
bers of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Brow- 
der is a member of Mystic Tie Lodge, No. 
398, F. & A. M., and past-master of the lodge ; 
of Keystone Chapter, No. 6, R. A. M., and an 
officer therein; of Raper Commandery, No. i, 
K. T. ; is a Scottish Rite Mason, Valley of 
Indianapolis, District of Indiana; a thirty- 
second degree Mason ; and is High Priest and 
Prophet of the A. A. O. N. M. S.. Murat 
Temple ; he also belongs to the Beta Theta Pi 
college society, Delta Chapter. In political 
sentiment he is a Republican, and has been 
a member of the County and City Central 
committees several times. He belongs to the 
Marion, Columbia and Commercial Clubs : 

Deutsche Haus, and various other local soci- 
eties. He lives at No. 2212 Talbot Avenue. 

whose home is at No. 1316 North Delaware 
street, Indianapolis, was born in Stafford, 
Conn., May 10, 1827, son of Capt. Nathaniel 
and Caroline (Converse) Hyde, both of whom 
were born in Connecticut. 

The founder of the family in this country 
was William Hyde, who settled at Norwich 
in the seventeenth century ; he first appears at 
Hartford in 1636, and probably came from 
England as early as 1633. He was an im- 
portant man in his communit}-, which he 
served as selectman. 

Ephraim Hyde, grandson of Thomas 
(grandson of William the founder), married 
Martha Geddings. 

Nathaniel Hyde, son of Ephraim and Mar- 
tha, was born in Stafford, Conn., in 1757, 
and he died there in 1825. He was twice 
married. His first wife was Sarah, daughter 
of Lieut. Strong, and his second, Cj-nthia Pal- 
mer, the latter still living at Hartford as late 
as 1856. 

Capt. Nathaniel Hyde (2), son of Na- 
thaniel and father of Rev. Nathaniel Alden, 
was born in Connecticut in February, 1800, 
and became a prominent iron manufacturer in 
his native State, prospering greatly. He died 
Oct. II, 1830. He was captain in the State 
militia. He married Caroline Converse, who 
was born in Connecticut in 1804, daughter of 
Dr. Josiah Converse, a native of Connecticut, 
and his wife, ]\Iartha (Alden) Converse, 
daughter of Captain Alden (a direct descend- 
ant of John Alden of the "Mayflower"). To 
Nathaniel and Caroline (Converse) Hyde were 
born three children. The wife and mother died 
Oct. 31, 1 86 1, in the faith of the Congrega- 
tional Church, of which she had long been a 

Rev. Nathaniel Alden Hyde was reared 
in Stafford, Conn., and when thirteen years 
old was sent to Monson Academy, at Monson, 
Mass., where he prepared for Yale College, 
which he entered when sixteen years of age, 
graduating therefrom in the class of 1847. 
After a brief rest he taught school for a year, 
and then entered the Theological School at 
Andover, Mass., to prepare for the ministry, 
completing the course and graduating in 1851. 
after which for nearly a year he was a resi- 
dent graduate in Yale Divinity School. He 
preached in Connecticut, at Central X'illage, 



Rockville, and other places, and was called 
to Central Village and Deep River, but de- 
clined, as he did not care tor an immediate 
pastorate. For two years he was secretary 
for Charles L. Brace, of the Children's Aid 
Society in New York City, and for a time was 
acting pastor of the First Congregational 
Church of Columbus, Ohio. He was called 
to Cincinnati to supply for Dr. Storrs, who 
was obliged to take a long vacation on account 
of ill health. In 1857 he was called to the 
Pastorate of the Plymouth Congregational 
Church in Indianapolis, where he was en- 
gaged for ten years, and for five years was 
superintendent of the Congregational Church 
in Indiana. After this he became pastor of 
the 2\iaytiower Congregational Church, in 
which capacity he served sixteen years. He 
resigned m May, 1888, and was elected pastor 
emeritus. Since that date he has not been 
in active pastoral labors, but for several years 
has been very intimately connected with the 
churches of the State as permanent secretary 
of the State Association, and chairman of the 
State Missionary Association. During all 
these years he has also been the chairman of 
the State Building Society, and is closely con- 
nected with the charitable and literary associ- 
ations of the city, among them being the Home 
of Friendless Women, and the Board of Chil- 
dren's Guardians of Marion county, being 
president of the latter. In the Indianapolis 
Literary Club he is an old and venerated 
member, and the Contemporary Club, of Indi- 
anapolis, also claims him for a member. For 
many years he has been a director of the Chi- 
cago Theological Seminary, and is still active 
in that capacity. In his early years he was 
chiefly instrumental in organizing the Associ- 
ation of Yale Graduates in Indianapolis, and 
for more than a decade has been president of 
the New England Society. His life has al- 
ways been a busy and useful one. 

'Mr. Hyde was married Aug. 28, 1866, to 
Miss Laura K., eldest daughter of Stoughton 
A. and jNIaria N. (Kipp) Fletcher. They have 
an adopted daughter, Josephine. In politics 
he is a Republican. For many years he lived 
at the corner of Ohio and Alabama streets, but 
for several years has occupied his present at- 
tractive and comfortable home. 

PETER BERND, senior member of the 
firm of Peter Bernd & Son, has been a resi- 
dent of Indianapolis since 1873 and has been 

engaged in business as a wagon manufacturer 
since 1875. Several members of the family 
have been interested in the same line through- 
out that period, and the name is well known in 
that connection in the city. 

Air. Bernd was born Oct. 5, t846, in Ba- 
varia, Germany, of which kingaom his parents, 
George Philip and Phillipena (Becker J Bernd, 
were also natives. He attended school in the 
Fatherland for four years before coming to 
America with his parents, and received the 
rest of his education in this country. He 
came to Lawrenceburg, Dearborn Co., Ind., 
with his father, and from there, in 1863, went 
to Cincinnati, Uhio, where he remained until 
1864, after which, until he settled in Indiana- 
polis, in 1873, he was at a number of places. 
In the spring of 1875 he and his brothers 
Daniel and George tormed a partnership 
known as Bernd Brothers, and they carried 
on the business of wagon manufacturing to- 
gether very successfully for many years. In 
the spring of 1904 Peter Bernd and his son, 
Albert Frederick Bernd, founded an independ- 
ent business under the firm name of Peter 
Bernd & Son, which bids fair to add further 
prestige to a name already well known in their 
line. The factory and offices are at Nos. 170- 
172 East Morris street. The work turned out 
of this establishment is its own recommenda- 
tion, being second to none of the kind. Both 
father and son are thoroughly familiar with 
the work in all its branches, and the firm en- 
joys a patronage of which any concern could 
be proud and which shows a steady and satis- 
factory increase. 

]\Ir. Bernd is prominent among the Ger- 
man-Americans of his adopted city, is a mem- 
ber of the German Pioneers, and of the Ger- 
man Protestant Orphan Association. He was 
married in the fall of 1875 to Catherine 
Thomas, daughter of Rev. Rudolph Thomas, 
whose wife was a Zorn, and they have had a 
family of seven children, three of whom sur- 
vive, namely: Catherine, Louisa and Albert 

Albert Frederick Bernd, born Oct. 15, 
1882, in Indianapolis, received his education 
in the public schools, finishing the course in 
the Manual Training High School, from 
which he was graduated in January, 1902. He 
has received a good practical business educa- 
tion, especially adapted to the needs of his 
own line of work, and he manages the business 
affairs of the factory for the most part. 



anapolis, attorney-at-law, farmer, banker, 
dealer in real estate, etc., was born in Conners- 
ville, Ind., Aug. 15,' 1856, son of Benjamin F. 
and Alice H. (Helm) Claypool. 

Newton Claypool. his grandfather, was 
born in X'irginia, of English descent, the 
family descending from a Claypool who settled 
in Pennsylvania in early Colonial days. New- 
ton Claypool was a farmer, merchant and 
banker, and otherwise prominent in his com- 
munity, serving eight times as a member of 
the legislature. He came to Indiana in 1817, 
locating at Connersville, where he passed all 
of his subsequent business life. He died in 
Indianapolis in 1867, aged seventy-one years, 
leaving four sons. 

Benjamin F. Claypool was born in Conners- 
ville, Ind., where he lived and died, and prac- 
ticed law there for forty years. He was a 
member of the Legislature from i860 to 1864, 
being State senator; was a candidate for Con- 
gress in 1874, but was defeated by W. H. Hol- 
man; and was a Presidential elector in 1864 
and 1868. He was a Whig, and when the 
Republican party was formed was a delegate 
to the convention that organized the party. 
Mr. Claypool died in 1888, aged sixty-two 
years, his wife passing away in 1882, aged 
about fifty. They had two children, Mrs. 
Mary C. Roberts (deceased) and Jefferson 
H. Mrs. Claypool was born in Indiana. Her 
father was a physician, and came to Indiana 
about 1820, locating in Rush county, where 
he practiced his profession. He was a special 
surgeon in the army during the Civil war. He 
died there about 1885, aged eighty-two years. 
He had six children, three of whom died be- 
fore him. Dr. Helm was active in the politi- 
cal affairs of his day, being a member of the 
Constitutional Convention of Indiana in 1852, 
and a member of the Indiana Senate one term 
subsequent to the war. 

Jefferson H. Claypool was born and raised 
at Connersville. He attended the public 
schools, and later the Miami University, at 
Oxford, Ohio, and the University of Virginia, 
after which he took up the study of law, and 
was admitted to the Bar in 1877. He began 
practicing at Connersville, where he remained 
till 1893. in which year he moved to Indianapo- 
lis, where he has had his home ever since. 
He was elected to the Lower House of the 
Legislature in 1888, and again in 1890, was 
Republican State election commissioner in 
1898, and again in 1900. Since coming to 

Indianapolis he has given his attention more 
particularly to farming and general business 
matters, having an office in the Talbot block. 
He is a director of the First National Bank 
of Connersville. He has written considerably 
for the newspapers on political and economic 
questions, and for a number of years assisted 
in the preparation of most of the Republican 
State platforms, being chairman of the State 
Advisory committee of the Republican party 
in 1896. 

On Oct. 18, 1893, Mr. Claypool married 
I\Iiss Mary Buckner Ross, daughter of Major 
J. W. Ross, of Connersville, and Sarah (Han- 
son) Ross. Their home is on Meridian street. 
They have one son, Benjamin Franklin Clay- 
pool. Mr. Claypool is a member of the Delta 
Kappa Epsilon college fraternity. 

ceased, brigadier-general in the Civil war and a 
physician and surgeon by profession, was born 
in i\Iadison county, Ohio, Oct. 2, 1827, and died 
in Lebanon April 25, 1901. He was a son 
of Thomas and Hannah (Fry) Miller. The 
father was a wheelwright by trade, and with 
his wife and family came to Indiana from Ohio 
in 1830, settling in Clinton county. The fol- 
lowing year both parents died, Mrs. iMiller 
surviving her husband but a few months. 
Both died in middle life, and they had seven 
children, three sons and four daughters, all 
now deceased. 

Abram O. Miller grew to manhood in 
Clinton county. He lived on a farm and was 
sent to the old fashioned subscription schools. 
Later he entered Louisville JNIedical College, 
and finishing received the degree of AI. D. 
from Rush Medical College, of Chicago. Until 
the breaking out of the Rebellion he practiced 
medicine at Jefferson, Clinton Co., Ind., but 
when the call to arms came he enlisted as a 
private in the loth Ind. V. I. in April, 1861. 
At the expiration of his three months' term 
of service, he re-enlisted for three years. He 
rose to the rank of lieutenant in the loth Regi- 
ment, three months' service, and after coming 
home he helped to reorganize that regiment 
and was promoted to be major and afterwards 
lieutenant-colonel of it. On Aug. 13, 1862, 
he was commissioned colonel of the 72d Ind. 
I. V. This regiment was mustered in Aug. 
24, at Lebanon, Ky., and when Col. Miller 
joined it there he was accompanied by his 
bride. Mary L. Miller, to whom he had been 
married three days earlier at Lebanon, Ind. 



Three weeks after Mrs. Miller returned home, 
and Col. JNIiller again took the field. 

The "Lightning Brigade" was composed 
of the 9Sth and 123d Illinois and the 72d and 
17th Indiana, and was commanded by Col. 
\\'ilder, who retired in July, 1864. Col. i\lil- 
ler succeeded him, but he had been practically 
in command for some time. About five months 
before the close of the war Col. Miller was 
brevetted Brigadier-General. He saw much 
active service and was in the following battles : 
Rich Mountain, in which he took the first 
Rebel tfag from off the enemy's works ; ]\Iill 
Springs ; Kenesaw JMountain ; Missionary 
Ridge ; Farrington ; Chickamauga ; and all 
through the Atlanta campaign. His regiment 
was mustered out in June, 1865. Gen. Miller 
was twice wounded, once only slightly, at Mill 
Springs, with the loth regiment ; and once 
severely, at Selma, Ala., while with the 72d 
regiment. This latter wound was received 
April 2, 1865, in the last battle in which the 
regiment was engaged. Gen. Miller was 
honorably discharged at the close of the war. 

\Mien the war ended Gen. Miller returned 
to Lebanon and resuming the practice of medi- 
cine continued in it until 1868, in which year 
he was elected county clerk for a term of four 
years. After the expiration of that time, he 
helped to organize the First National Bank, 
and was its cashier until 1876. Two years 
later he was nominated for State auditor on 
the Republican ticket, but as that ticket was 
included in the general landslide which over- 
took that party in 1878, all were defeated. 
After this Gen. JNIiller abandoned politics, and 
again returned to his medical practice, which 
he continued without further intermission un- 
til a short time before his death, which 
occurred April 25, 1901, when he was in his 
seventy-fourth year. The General was a 
member of the G. A. R. and of the Masonic 
Fraternity. He and his wife both belonged to 
the Methodist Church. 

As was previously stated. Gen. Miller was 
married Aug. 21, 1862, to Miss Mary L. Zion, 
a daughter of William and Amelia (Sims) 
Zion. Four children were born to them : (i) 
Elizabeth A. married Charles Shepherd, a 
grocer in Lebanon, by whom she had a son 
and a daughter, namely: Letha Louise, who 
married Owen E. Wilcox, a manufacturer of 
Lebanon, and who has borne him four sons : 
Owen E., Riley St. Clair, and Jacob and 
Charles (twins), and Arthur St. Clair, a gro- 

cer, who married Aliss Nellie Welch, and has 
one daughter, i\Iargaret. (2) Ada M. married 
Charles Hayden, by whom she had one 
daughter, Diana. Mr. Hayden is now de- 
ceased, and his widow has married I. A. 
Richey, of Lebanon, proprietor of a barber 
shop. (3) William S. is a printer in Chicago. 
His wife, formerly Miss Emma Johnson, of 
Thorntown, is the mother of one son, Chaun- 
cey Depew. (4) Abram Alonzo is a sales- 
man for Nelson Morris & Co., of Chicap'o, 
and resides in Philadelphia, Pa. He married 
Miss Helen Garrity, and has one daughter 
and two sons, Mary E., Abram A. and New- 
ton E. Mrs. Mary L. Miller survives her hus- 
band, and still lives in the old home on West 
Main street. 

William Zion, Mrs. Miller's father, was a 
native of Virginia, while his wife was born 
at Brookville, Ind. ]\lrs. Miller was one of 
eleven children, seven sons and four daugh- 
ters, of whom six are now living, namely : 
Parrizade, wife of Manson Head, of Zions- 
ville, Ind. ; Mrs. Mary L. Miller ; Theodore L., 
of Anderson, Ind. ; Alonzo A., of Indianapolis ; 
James M., of Clark's Hill, Ind. ; and Charles 
M., of Lebanon. The father was a black- 
smith by trade, but after he came to Indiana 
in 1834, locating in Lebanon, he engaged in 
general merchandising instead, and followed 
that until his death. In his younger days he 
was sheriiif of Boone county for two terms, 
and was postmaster of Lebanon four years 
under President Lincoln. Later he was a 
director and stockholder in the Lafayette & 
Indianapolis railroad (now the Big Four). 
He died in 1880 aged sixty-eight years, while 
his wife lived to be seventy-nine, passing away 
in 1894. She was a member of the Methodist 
Church. The paternal grandparents were 
Jacob and Catharine (Fleener) Zion, the 
former a native of X'irginia, of German de- 
scent. They had a large family and lived to 
be well advanced in years. The maternal 
grandfather was Stephen Sims, a native of 
Tennessee and a pioneer of Indiana. He lived 
for a short time in Boone county, then moved 
to Clinton county, and lived there on a farm, 
although he was a lawyer by profession and 
practice. He died in 1862 when he was quite 
old. The name of his first wife was Eliza- 
beth McCarthy, who lived to middle life and 
bore him thirteen children; after her death 
he married Caroline Betz, who became the 
mother of six children. Stephen Sims's 


father was a soldier in the war of 1812, and 
his father was a soldier in the war of the 

the distinguished, efficient and capable 
superintendent of the Central Indiana Hospital 
for the Insane, at Indianapolis, was born in 
Piqua, Ohio, June 13, 1857, son of John and 
Elizabeth (Roseberg) Edenharter. His 
grandparents on both sides died in Germany. 

John Edenharter, the Doctor's father, was 
born in Bavaria, and the mother was born in 
Saxony. They had a family of three sons 
and two daughters, and two of their children 
are still living, Dr. George F. and Frank, the 
latter an attorney in Indianapolis. John Eden- 
harter was a cabinetmaker, and sought a 
home in the United States about 1848, locating 
first in Cincinnati, but removed to Piqua. 
About 1875 he came to Indianapolis, where 
he died in 1898, at the age of seventy-four 
years. His wife passed to her rest in 1889, 
when about sixty-three years old. She was a 
Lutheran and he was a Catholic. In Germany 
he served his term in the regular army. 

Dr. Edenharter lived in his native town 
until he was about ten years old, when his 
parents moved to Dayton. It was not until 
1878, however, that he came to Indianapolis, 
where his father had already been established 
some three years. His academic education 
was obtained in the public schools, and his 
professional training in the Medical College 
of Indiana, from which he graduated in 1886. 
Dr. Edenharter at once began to practice in 
Indianapolis, rising to such professional stand- 
ing that he was appointed superintendent of 
the Central Indiana Hospital for Insane April 
7, 1893, entering upon the duties of his office 
the first of the following May. He was re- 
elected March 25, 1897, again on March 29, 
1901, and again, for his fourth term of four 
years, on JNIarch 31, 1905. The board of 
Trustees at this meeting adopted the follow- 
ing resolution : 

The Board of Trustees of the Central Indiana 
Hospital for Insane feel it their duty, as well as 
pleasure, to make this record of their appreciation of 
the services of Dr. George F. Edenharter, Superin- 
tendent of this institution, at this the close of another 
term of his employment. He assumed his duties 
as such superintendent in May, 1893, a"d during the 
twelve years of continuous service he has brought 
the hospital to the exalted rank it now enjoys, not 
only among the institutions of like character in this 
country, but among those of the civilized world, 

as is evidenced by the many testimonials and letters 
received from foreign visitors that have been guests 
of the institution. The results that have been 
achieved during his incumbency are the indisputable 
evidences of his high executive ability, untiring and 
conscientious industry — in short, a comprehensive 
grasp of the duties to be performed and a prompt 
and fearless performance ol them. 

We hereby most cordially commend Dr. Eden- 
harter for his faithful and efticient work and indulge 
the hope that the State may have many more years 
of his services. 

Resolved, That a signed copy of these resolutions 
be presented to Dr. Edenharter and also one be 
transmitted to the Governor. 

D. Edenharter was married June 6, 1888, 
at Dayton, Ohio, to Aliss Alarion E., daughter 
of j\iichael and jMarie (Michel) Svvadener. 
They have one child, Ralph. 

Ur. Edenharter is a Scottish Rite Mason, 
and is affiliated with Capital City Lodge. He 
is associated with the Indianapolis Medical 
Society, the American Aledical Association, 
the American Medico-Psychological Associ- 
ation, and the New York jNIedico Legal So- 
ciety, being vice-president of the last named 
for Indiana. 

In 1904 Wabash College conferred the de- 
gree of Master of Arts upon Dr. Edenharter. 
The Doctor is a Democrat in political faith. 

Dr. Edenharter was physician and surgeon 
to the JNIarion County Asylum for two years, 
and for one year was physician and surgeon 
to the Marion County Work House. He was 
in the city council from 1883 to 1887, as a 
representative from the Eighth ward, and in 
1887 was the Democratic candidate for mayor 
of the city, but failed of election. Two years 
later he received the unanimous vote of both 
Democrats and Republicans in the city coun- 
cil for superintendent of the City Hospital, 
and after serving a two years' term was re- 
appointed for a second term, but resigned to 
become superintendent of the Central Indiana 
Hospital for Insane. His home is on the 
hospital grounds, which are quite extensive, 
embracing one hundred and sixty acres and 
containing some thirty buildings, many of 
them models of architectural construction, all 
well adapted to their purpose, and maintained 
in a neat and most attractive manner. At the 
present time there are enrolled over two 
thousand patients under the care of this justly 
celebrated institution. 

The work of the hospital has been greatly 
changed since the advent of Dr. Edenharter, 
and advanced upon much more scientific lines. 
The pathological laboratory and the new hos- 



pital for the sick insane have been constructed 
under his regime, and in their design, scope 
and apphances are receiving the highest praise 
from many sources. Under his management 
the institution has become essentially a teach- 
ing hospital, its facilities being extended alike 
to student and practitioner. One afternoon 
each week the students of the Indianapolis 
Medical Colleges attend clinical lectures upon 
mental and nervous diseases and Neuro-Path- 
ology, the vast number of patients in this in- 
stitution offering unexcelled clinical ad- 

Dr. William B. Fletcher, a former superin- 
tendent of this institution, and now Emeritus 
Professor of Mental Diseases in the Medical 
College of Indiana, wrote to Dr. Edenharter, 
under date of Nov. 30, 1900: "In making 
your hospital a great institution of learning 
for the instruction of physicians you have 
taken a step that will ultimately save the 
wrecked minds of thousands of human beings 
and the State millions of dollars." 

The Pathological Department was dedi- 
cated by the Marion County Medical Society 
Dec. 18, 1896. The address was delivered by 
Prof. Ludwig Hektoen, M. D., of Chicago, 
who said in part : "The present occasion 
marks a most significant step in the advance- 
ment and improvement of the humanitarian 
work in which institutions like the Central 
Indiana Hospital for Insane are engaged. The 
inauguration, under the present auspicious cir- 
cumstances, of a fully equipped, substantial 
department of this hospital, built in accord- 
ance with the best modern views, reflects 
great credit upon the development of Ameri- 
can alienism, upon the intelligence of the 
board of control of this institution and of its 

Prof. C. B. Burr, M. D., of Flint, Mich., 
who addressed the society on Dec. 5, 1899, 
used the following language in closing his 
paper: "Indiana has done wisely in christen- 
ing her institutions State hospitals. She has 
done wisely to emphasize the hospital idea by 
erecting in connection with the Central Indi- 
ana Hospital for Insane this superb and in 
^-lany respects unique pathological laboratory, 
which in the perfection of its design and equip- 
ment will ever remain a monument to the en- 
thusiasm, sagacity and philanthropy of our 
esteemed confrere, generous host and worthy 
friend, Dr. George F. Edenharter." 

Dr. LewellysF. Barker, of Chicago, in an 
address to the'society on Dec. 18, 1900, said: 

"It is an encouraging sign to find here in inci- 
anapolis so well equipped a laboratory in con- 
nection with a hospital for insane. 1 have 
gone over this laboratory to-day and through 
the kindness of Dr. Edenharter have been per- 
mitted to examine it in detail. It is admirably 
constructed and presents many features that 
are novel. This institution and this commu- 
nity are to be congratulated on the possession 
of it, and on the fact that it is determined to 
facilitate every eil'ort in this place to a more 
thorough stud'v of psychiatric problems." 

Prof. F. W. Langdon, M. D., of Cincin- 
nati, Ohio, in closing an address delivered to 
the society on April 5, 1904, said : "We shall 
see at a glance the importance of the labora- 
tory for general pathology in institutions for 
the treatment of nervous and mental diseases. 
I congratulate you, members of the Indianapo- 
lis Medical Society, that you have in your 
midst a pioneer in this work in the West. 
How well it has been organized, and how 
well it is fulfilling its mission it is not neces- 
sary for me to tell you. The superintendent 
of this Hospital is building his monument 
from day to day and year to year, not alone 
in the material structures devoted to patho- 
logical anatomy and the sick insane, but also 
by his devotion for the higher researches of 
Neurologic and Psychiatric medicine. These 
annual meetings of the leading medical society 
of Indiana under the roof of the most com- 
plete laboratory for psychiatric research of 
any hospital for the insane in our country are 
in themselves unique ; they are also equally 
helpful and stimulating to the practitioner and 
the special students of nervous and mental 

Dr. U. O. B. Wingate, of ^Milwaukee. Wis., 
wrote as follows to Dr. Edenharter, after a 
visit to the institution in 1900: "I feel it my 
duty and it is a great pleasure, I assure you, 
to express my congratulations to you on the 
splendid arrangements you have provided by 
way of bacteriological, chemical and patho- 
logical laboratories at that institution, as well 
as many other improvements which you have 
been engaged in constructing. I know of no 
other hospital for the insane in this country 
for which there has been supplied such grand 
facilities for studying the obscure and sad 
diseases that are found in all hospitals for the 
insane, and not since the time when Pinel and 
Esquirol worked their great reforms in the 
treatment of the insane have there been greater 
steps taken for the benefit of this unfortunate 



class than you have taken in providing such 
complete scientific methods for studying and 
understanding mental diseases. You have, my 
dear Doctor, reared a monument to your repu- 
tation and name more lasting than bronze or 
marble, and you merit not only the approba- 
tion of every intelligent citizen of Indiana, 
but your work is entitled to the greatest praise 
by the medical profession throughout the 
country and the unfortunate insane and their 
friends should rise up and call you blessed, 
and I am sure they would if they could under- 
stand, as those of our profession do, what a 
great and lasting benefit will result from your 
splendid efforts." 

Extracts have only been made from a few 
of the many sources available concerning the 
character of the work done at this institution, 
but we have quoted sufficiently to show that 
the Central Indiana Hospital for Insane has 
a superintendent fully cognizant of the needs 
of the great institution over which he pre- 
sides, and the ability to initiate and carry for- 
ward a progressive management. His in- 
fluence with the General Assembly in 1905 
was very marked. It was his suggestion that 
the State should create a new district (South 
Eastern) for the insane population and build 
a new hospital. He also advocated that the 
bill providing for an epileptic village be so 
amended as to provide for the accommodation 
of the hopeful or curable cases rather than 
for the incurable insane epileptics in the hos- 
pitals for the insane. It is a matter of record 
that all of his suggestions were adopted, al- 
though the opposition was active and in- 

JOHN C. PERRY, president of the J. C. 
Perry Company, of Indianapolis, is by virtue 
of his position as the head of the oldest whole- 
sale' grocery house now doing business in the 
State a leader in that line in Indiana and the 
West. As a business man and a citizen his 
record is above reproach. Throughout a long 
and active career he has maintained the most 
creditable standards of personal and com- 
mercial integrity, and without putting forth 
his efforts especially to the end of attaining 
popularity he has achieved it by the manner 
in which he transacts the every-day affairs of 
a busy man. He has been a resident of Indi- 
anapolis for over forty-five years. 

Mr. Perry comes of an old family of Sara- 
toga county, X. Y., where his grandfather, 
iSenoni Perry, was born, near Edinburg, and 

he died there. His son, Arba D. Perry, was 
also born in Saratoga county, and there passed 
his early years. His father remarried after 
the death of his mother, and the stepmother 
proved unkind to the boy, who ran away from 
home at the age of thirteen, after a whipping. 
He never returned, but made his own way 
successfully, and though he died when a com- 
paratively young man he gained a high repu- 
tation as a contractor and civil engineer. 
Possessed of a fine mind, and gifted with un- 
usual mechanical ability, he gave evidence in 
his remarkable career of the possibilities open 
to a thoroughly trained tradesman who supple- 
ments technical knowledge with the intelligent 
judgment which enables him to see and fill the 
needs of his time and place. He learned the 
trade of carpenter, and built up a prosperous 
business as a contractor and builder whose 
work was in unusual demand, and in addition 
to the ordinary undertakings in that line en- 
gaged in building canals, aqueducts and dams, 
principally in Ohio and Indiana. He had 
come West with his family by wagon in the 
year 1836, their original destination being St. 
Joseph county, Mich., where Mr. Perry en- 
tered a tract of land. But because of the 
prevalence of ague in that region they moved 
through Indianapolis to Harrison, in the 
western part of Hamilton county, Ohio. Mr. 
Perry built the aqueduct at Harrison, 
Ohio, for the canal which ran down the 
White Water river valley from Hagerstown, 
through Central City, Connersville and 
Brookville to Lawrenceburg, Ind. Fourteen 
miles north of Lawrenceburg he built the 
aqueduct across the White Water river, which 
made a feed for the canal. This aqueduct was 
constructed about 1836. Having finished it, 
he took the contract for the dam across the 
^Vhite river at Waverly, Ind., and when that 
was completed took a contract for eighteen 
miles of the canal along the Maumee river, in 
Ohio. There he died, in 1842. Though only 
a young man he had reached a high position 
in his line of business, as may be judged from 
the character and importance of the work en- 
trusted to him. 

Arba D. Perry was married in Pennsyl- 
vania to Christina Hann, daughter of John 
Hann, of Newcastle upon Tyne, England, who 
came to this country and located in Chester 
county. Pa. Mr. Hann died at Point of 
Rocks, Md. He was a coal merchant. Mrs. 
Perry died when a young woman, in Septem- 
ber, 1837, and, as previously intimated, her 



husband did not survive her many years. They 
had three children who grew to maturity: 
Thomas P., of JNIarion, Indiana, now hving 
retired, who was a contractor and builder 
during his active years ; John C. ; and Anna 
C, the widow of B. F. Earp, who resides 
with her daughter Annie in Washington, D. C. 

John C. Perry was born Feb. 21, 1834, 
at P'aoli, Chester Co., Pa., came West with the 
family, and was only six years old when his 
father died. The children were reared by 
Mrs. Perry's relatives, John being adopted 
by her sister JNIartha, who was the wife of 
Richard Calvin, of Hamilton county, Ohio. 
As a business man Mr. Calvin was a prosper- 
ous contractor and later a farmer, and he was 
also popular as a public official in his county, 
where he served as sheriff. He was a man of 
high principle, and so universally respected 
and trusted that he w-as elected to the sheriff's 
office by the largest Republican majority ever 
given to a candidate in Hamilton county up 
to that time. Mr. Perry remained with his 
uncle and aunt until he was sixteen, when 
he decided to learn a trade and prepare to 
make his own way in the world. He learned 
cabinet-making, and followed it continuously 
until the breaking out of the Civil war, in 1861. 
In the year 1853 he came to Indianapolis and 
worked at his trade until 1861, since which 
time he has been engaged in the grocery busi- 
ness, in the retail jobbing and wholesale 
branches. He began as a retailer, was later a 
jobber, and finally confined himself exclusively 
to the wholesale line. At present he is the 
oldest wholesale grocer in the State of Indiana. 

I\Ir. Perry's first venture here was in part- 
nership with George L. Rittenhouse, under 
the firm name of Rittenhouse & Perry, and 
they located on Washington street, near Dela- 
ware. Selling his interest in this concern he 
traveled for a time for E. B. Alvord & Co., 
wholesalers, and later for A. Jones & Co. 
Subsequently Mr. J. E. Robertson bought a 
half interest in the last named firm, and Mr. 
Perry bought half of Mr. Robertson's share, 
thus acquiring a fourth interest in the business. 
Within a year Mr. Robertson bought out Mr. 
Jones's interest and the firm of J. E. Robert- 
son & Co. was established. During the panic 
of 1873 ]\Ir. Robertson's interest was pur- 
chased by his son, A. i\I. Robertson, and Mr. 
Perry, who formed the firm of Robertson & 
Perry. Five or six years later j\Ir. Perry 
bought his partner's interest, continuing the 
business under the name of J. C. Perry for 

three years, until he admitted his son, Arba T. 
Perry, and George C. Brinkmeyer into partner- 
ship. This was dissolved in 1898, Mr. Brink- 
meyer wishing to join his brother-in-law, and 
the firm became J. C. Perry & Co. It was 
incorporated as the J. C. Perry Company in 
1901. Arba T. Perry sold his interest in the 
establishment in that year. Mr. Perry not 
only has superior business ability, but he is 
a man who wins the liking of those with whom 
the various relations of life bring him into con- 
tact, and his friends are legion. He is a 
Mason, a member of Ancient Landmark Blue 
Lodge of Indianapolis. One of his friends, 
i\Ir. John H. Holliday, capitalist of Indianapo- 
lis, founder of the News, and well known in 
the city, says of him: 

"Air. Perry has been identified with the 
jobbing interests of this city for many years 
and is one of the best known as well as most 
popular men 'on the street.' He is genial to 
a marked degree, always has a smile and a 
pleasant greeting, is frank, outspoken and 
companionable, and to those who know him 
the name 'Jack Perry' means a combination 
of agreeable qualities that few men possess. 
Withal he is a rather retiring and unassuming 
man, going about his daily business in his 
thorough way, but taking no part in side lines 
or outside interests. To his concentration of 
purpose and effort is to be attributed his suc- 
cess. At one time he served as one of the 
governors of the Board of Trade, and ren- 
dered valuable help in the early days of the 
organization, but felt compelled to retire on 
account of impaired health. Mr. Perry is a 
thoroughly domestic man in every sense and 
very fond of his own fireside, but nothing 
pleases him more than to greet his friends 

i\lr. Perry married Miss Catherine Reb- 
stock, a native of Tuscarawas county, Ohio, 
who passed away in September, 1901. She 
was a most estimable woman, and a member 
of the M. E. Chuch in Indianapolis. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Perry were born four children, two 
of whom survive, Arba T. and Kate. The 
last named is the widow of Earnest T. Mor- 
ris, Esq., a noted naturalist, who was cor- 
respondent of the New York World in South 
America for eight years. 

Area T. Perrv was born Dec. 17, 1869, 
in Indianapolis, and has there passed his entire 
life. During his earlier manhood he was asso- 
ciated in business with his father, but he sold 
out his grocery interests in 1901 and is at 



present engaged in the life insurance business. 
He was the organizer of the Western Life 
Annuity Company of Indianapolis, of which 
he is president, and which he is developing 
with the object of making it one of the most 
reliable companies of the kind in the country. 
Arba T. Perry married i\Iiss Frances Foster, 
daughter of A. Z. Foster, late a leading citizen 
of Terre Haute, Indiana, who died in July, 
1906. Mr. Foster was a gentleman of the old 
school, respected alike in social and business 
circles, and well known as a capitalist and 
banker in his part of the State. J\lr. and Mrs. 
Arba T. Perry have one child, Foster Ferry. 

nent lawyer of Indianapolis, with offices at 
707 and 708 Lemcke building, was born in 
Plymouth, Ind., Aug. 14, 1846, son of Henry 
J. and Sarah F. (]\Iann) Brown. 

John Brown, his grandfather, was born in 
Virginia, and became a pioneer in Indiana in 
the days when the Indians were still trouble- 
some. He was killed while fighting with the 
Indians between Connersville and Liberty, in 
1812. During the Revolutionary war he bore 
arms in the Colonial cause, and also served in 
the war of 181 2. He had some eight or ten 

Henry J. Brown was born in Union county, 
Ind., and his wife in Worcester, Mass. They 
were the parents of six sons and two daugh- 
ters, and four of their children are now living : 
William, of Laporte, Ind. ; Judge Daniel L. ; 
Adelbert L., of Osborne, Kans., and John W., 
of Laporte, Ind. Andrew P., deceased, was a 
resident of Alton, Kans. The father was a 
farmer in Laporte, and lived there from boy- 
hood until his death, April 23, 1863, at the 
age of fifty-seven years. The mother died in 
1895 at the age of seventy-nine years. They 
were Second Adventists in religion, and peo- 
ple of fine character and of the very best repu- 

Horace Mann, the maternal grandfather of 
Judge Brown, was born in Massachusetts, of 
English ancestry, and died in Massachusetts 
in his fifty-sixth year, from the effects of in- 
juries received in the war of 1812. He had 
also been a soldier in the Revolution. He left 
a family of four daughters and one son. Farm- 
ing was his life work. 

Judge Daniel L. Brown was reared in La- 
porte county, where his boyhood and early 
youth were spent on the farm. He attended 
the district school. On the breaking out of 

the Rebellion he determined to be a soldier in 
the Union army, in 1862 enlisting in Company 
H, 87th Ind. Vol. Infantry, but he was de- 
tained by his father. In the fall of 1863 he 
ran away from home and enlisted in the same 
company and regiment, serving until the close 
of the war. At the battle of Kenesaw 2\Ioun- 
tain he was severely wounded in the left side, 
June 20, 1864. During the course of his mili- 
tary experiences Judge Brown participated in 
the following battles, being a private all the 
time : Resaca, Buzzard Roost, Pumpkin \'ine 
Creek, and was with General Sherman all the 
way through to the sea. Three brothers served 
with him in the same company, William, Henry 
Clay and Andrew P. Brown. 

After the war Judge Brown completed his 
academic studies in the Laporte high school. 
Upon finishing his high school work he was 
chosen constable, in 1867-67-69-70, the last 
year being nominated and elected sheriti on 
the Republican ticket. Two years later he 
was re-elected, and on the conclusion of his 
second term as sheritT was admitted to the 
Bar in 1874. He opened an office for pro- 
fessional business in Laporte, where he re- 
mained until the winter of 1879-80, when he 
transferred himself and his professional inter- 
ests to Concordia, Kans., remaining there 
until 1892. In Kansas his career was notably 
successful. He was made judge of the Pro- 
bate court in 1882, re-elected in 1884 and in 
1886, and for two years was mayor of Con- 
cordia. In 1892 Judge Brown came back to 
Indiana and established himself in Indianapo- 
lis, where he has since devoted himself to a 
large and growing legal practice. 

Judge Brown was married July 28, 1867, 
to Rliss Elizabeth M., a daughter of Daniel 
and Anna (Logan) Carpenter, and by her has 
two children, iNIaude B. and Daniel L., Jr. 
Maude B. married John LeMay, Professor of 
Physics in the Lake high school, of Chicago, 
and is the mother of two children, Alan B. 
and Elizabeth B. Daniel L., Jr., is associated 
with his father in his law practice. 

Judge Brown and his wife are members of 
the Tabernacle Presbyterian Church. He be- 
longs to the I. O. O. F., the K. of P., George . 
H. Thomas Post, No. 17, G. A. R., and the 
L^nion Veterans' Union, which he has served 
two terms as department commander. His 
residence is at No. 3229 North Illinois street, 
where he owns an exceedingly tasty and at- 
tractive home, in which he has lived for the 
past eight years. 



Professor of Gastro-Intestinal and Rectal Sur- 
gery in the Indiana Medical College, at In- 
dianapolis, is in the front rank of his pro- 
fession. If he had made his success in the 
commercial world he would have been classed 
as self-made, for such he is, though the term 
is not generally applied to the representatives 
of the professions. However, there is no rea- 
son why it should not be, for there are no 
more tireless or able workers in any field than 
we find among those who devote themselves 
to scientific pursuits. The returns are not so 
large to the workers themselves, perhaps the 
benefits of their labors are more widely dis- 
tributed, but as a class they possess the no- 
bility of spirit which enables them to sacrifice 
cheerfully their personal gain to the good of 
all humanity. The medical profession doubt- 
less offers more opportunities for self-sacri- 
fice than any other calling, and to their credit 
be it said that its followers generally take 
ready advantage of the many means of doing 
good open to them. 

Dr. Cook was born in Pennsylvania, of 
Irish extraction, and is the grandson of a 
Revolutionary patriot, so that his character 
may be said to be the combination of several 
of the most desirable elements of the typical 
self-reliant American. The Irish settlers in 
Pennsylvania have always ranked among the 
sturdiest and most honorable citizens of that 
State, and John Cook, the Doctor's father, 
was no exception. He was born in or near 
Belfast, Ireland, and emigrated to America in 
young manhood with two brothers, all locat- 
ing in western Pennsylvania. There Jameson 
and John remained and were married, making 
permanent homes near Noblestown, in Alle- 
gheny county, but Robert went west and was 
never again heard from. John Cook acquired 
a good farm some twelve miles west of Pitts- 
burg and passed the remainder of his life 
thereon, dying there in 1863. He married 
]\Iary Kelso, whose father, John Kelso, served 
in the Revolutionary war; Mr. Kelso had sev- 
eral children, Mrs. Cook being the youngest 
in the family. To John and Mary ( Kelso) 
Cook were born six children, three sons and 
three daughters. 

George Jameson Cook was born on his 
father's farm, twelve miles west of Pittsburg, 
near Xoblestown, Allegheny Co., Pa., and re- 
mained there until he was seventeen years of 
age, at which time his father died. His early 
life was passed much in the usual manner of 

farmers' sons of that time and locality, in at- 
tendance at the common schools in the winter 
season, and in farm duties during the sum- 
mer from the time he was old enough to be 
of any practical assistance. Like many a man 
successful in later years, he laid the founda- 
tion for a strong constitution and rugged 
health in outdoor work which developed his 
muscles and physical strength. But the in- 
tellectual side of his nature was not neglected 
either, and having inherited qualities mentally 
of a high order, he quite naturally improved 
every opportunity for education. Dr. Cook 
has always been characterized specially by his 
practical and unassuming disposition, and this 
was no less apparent in his young manhood 
than now. Without any ostentation, or any 
flourishes, he has pursued his way quietly and 
evenly, letting his work speak for itself. His 
education was attained in the same way. After 
leaving the common school he attended \'er- 
million Institute, at Hayesville, Ohio, until he 
began reading medicine, recognizing the need 
of thorough preparatory work, so that he 
could appreciate and comprehend to the full 
the instruction of his medical preceptors. He 
began the actual preparation for his profes- 
sion in 1864, and completed his medical course 
at the Kentucky School of Medicine, Louis- 
ville, Ky., graduating in 1866. Immediately 
thereafter he was appointed Demonstrator of 
Anatomy in his alma mater and began his ca- 
reer in that capacity, at the same time build- 
ing up an extensive general practice in Louis- 
ville, where he continued until the year 1882. 
In time he became Professor of Anatomy in 
the institution, doing excellent work and filling 
that important position until the year men- 
tioned, when he removed to Indianapolis. 

Throughout the period of his residence in 
Indianapolis Dr. Cook has been an important 
member of the medical fraternity. He began 
practice in his special lines at once, and, true 
to his early inclinations, continued his work as 
an instructor, first as Lecturer, two years later 
being elected to the chair he now fills in the 
Medical College of Indiana. He was secre- 
tary of the institution from 1896 to 1905. 

Dr. Cook has done a surprising amount of 
work, and that he has no superior in his spe- 
cialty in the State, and stands second to none 
in the United States, is due directly to years 
of untiring devotion to a chosen calling in 
which he seems to have been predestined to 
succeed. \\'hile his duties as college professor 
and general practitioner would have occupied 



wholly the attention of one less enthusiastic 
or indefatigable he has found time, in addi- 
tion to discharging them faithfully, for study 
and investigation which have carried him 
higher and higher until now he stands at the 
very top. That there is always plenty of 
room at the top has been well proved in his 
own case, and like the original investigators 
]\Iitchell, Gross, Agnew of Philadelphia, Rush, 
Cadwallader, Talbott, Parkes, Murphy, Senn, 
Byron Robinson of Chicago, he was to pre- 
vail in his investigations — a phrenologist 
would say because of his skull outline. We 
do not dispute the point, but no amount of 
talent could have accomplished such results 
without well directed and continued efifort. 
His analytical and well-trained mind, sup- 
ported by a physique of unusual endurance, 
has enabled him to give to his work a steady 
attention. Perhaps the good results he has 
had have robbed his labors of the fatigue that 
might be expected to follow such close appli- 
cation. In his careful and thorough work as 
an investigator Dr. Cook has perhaps done 
his best permanent work, for while the prac- 
tical application of knowledge is of course the 
real test of its value, careful research is the 
first stepping stone to that end. Naturally of 
an inquiring turn of mind, he has continued 
his search for knowledge mainly along origi- 
nal lines, not disdaining precedent, but fol- 
lowing it only when it seemed the part of wis- 
dom to do so. 

Dr. Cook was one of the first surgeons in 
the United States to go deeply into the sub- 
jects of Gastro-lntestinal and Rectal Surgery, 
and he has earned a reputation which extends 
all over the world among his own profession. 
He has been active in every branch of the 
particular line to which he has devoted him- 
self, being an investigator, an instructor, a 
practitioner, the inventor of various devices 
for insuring the success of operations in his 
line, and a contributor of valuable material to 
medical literature. With all his success, he 
retains a modest exterior, having none of the 
pomp and aggressive independence which 
mark so many men who have attained to high 
place and appreciate the fact. Dr. Alembert 
Winthrop Brayton, writing of Dr. Cook, has 
expressed the general opinion of his fellow 
practitioners : 

"Dr. George J. Cook has practiced gastro- 
intestinal surgery and medicine in Indianap- 
olis for twenty years. He was the second to 
devote himself to this si)ecialtv in the I'liited 

States, Dr. Joseph INI. ^^lathews, of Louisville, 
being the first. Dr. Cook has been professor 
of this specialty in the iMedical College of In- 
diana for fifteen years. He has devised a 
number of clamps, speculums and rectal di- 
lators, widely used by the profession. Dr. 
Cook is regarded as a leader in surgery of the 
bowel and in appendicitis in Indiana. He is 
one of the charter members of the American 
Proctologic Society, and has great influence 
in a large circle of friends in the local, State 
and national societies. Dr. Cook graduated 
from the Kentucky School of jMedicine in 
1866 and was for several years professor of 
anatomy and surgery in the Louisville 

Dr. Cook has always supported and identi- 
fied himself with the various societies which 
have for their object the advancement and 
encouragement of medical science. He is an 
active member of the Indianapolis Medical 
Society, the Indiana State Medical Society (of 
which he was president in 1906-7), the Missis- 
sippi \'alley JMedical Society (of which he 
once served as president), the American 2\Ied- 
ical Association, and the American P'rocto- 
logic Society, of which latter he was a char- 
ter member. 

Dr. Cook was married in June. 1S92, to 
Miss Ella Henderson, of ^lartinsville, Ind., 
daughter of Eb. and Ann Henderson, her 
father being a prominent citizen of Indiana 
and a former State auditor. 3.1 rs. Cook 
passed away in June, i8y6. 

SILAS BALDWIN, the recently deceased 
member of the wholesale jewelry firm of Bald- 
win, Miller & Co., was a successful business 
man of Indianapolis for over twenty years. 
He was connected with the house mentioned 
throughout the period of his residence in the 
city, previous to which he had lived in Ohio. 

Mr. Baldwin was born May 24, 1834, on 
his father's farm in Stark county, C)hio, near 
Canton. The Baldwins migrated to Ohio from 
Connecticut, David Baldwin (grandfather of 
Silas), of Milford, Conn., purchasing a farm 
in the Connecticut Reserve in the early years 
of the nineteenth century. He settled there 
in Stark county, when his son Jerub was a 
child of five or six years. Jerub Baldwin was 
born at Milford, Conn., in 1798, but passed 
the greater part of his life in Ohio. When 
about forty years old he moved west from his 
early home in Ohio to Logan county, that 
Slate, where he purchased a quarter section 



of landj on which he erected a mill in Alill 
Creek township (now included in Union 
county), about four miles northeast of Zanes- 
field. He and his wife lived to advanced age. 
Jerub Baldwin married Alary Elliott, and they 
had a family of nine children, David, Butler, 
Elliott, Jonah, Joseph, Andrew, Henry, Ruth 
and Silas. All lived to rear families except 
Ruth, who died in infancy. 

Silas Baldwin was only three or four years 
old when the family settled in Logan county, 
Ohio, and there grew to manhood. He at- 
tended the country schools of his home town- 
ship, and later had the advantage of a year's 
study at the Cincinnati Commercial College. 
At the age of fourteen he began clerking in a 
store at Bellefontaine, remaming there until 
he was twenty-one or twenty-two, when he 
became cashier of the Merchants' Bank of that 
place, a position in which he continued until 
the outbreak of the Civil war. In July, 1862, 
he was appointed first lieutenant and quarter- 
master of the 96th Ohio regiment, in which 
he served until Jan. i, 1864. 

Returning to Bellefontaine at the close of 
his military service Mr. Baldwin engaged in 
the mercantile business there on his own ac- 
count until 1867, when he made a radical 
change, going to Toledo, to become a partner 
with Air. Ed. C. Shaw in the wholesale dry 
goods business, under the name of Shaw & 
Baldwin. They were associated in that line 
until 1B83, when Mr. Baldwin sold out to 
come to Indianapolis, where he formed a part- 
nership with jNIr. E. C. Miller in the whole- 
sale jewelry trade. The firm of Baldwin, Mil- 
ler & Co. enjoyed high standing and a large 
patronage from the start. The high personal 
reputation of both members was demonstrated 
again and again in the unbroken confidence of 
their associates and patrons, and proved in all 
their transactions. The partnership was 
broken by the death of Mr. Baldwin, March 
7, 1906, He was a man as highly respected 
for integrity and straight-forwardness as he 
was admired for his ability and praiseworthy 
enterprise. Though not one of the older resi- 
dents of Indianapolis, he was well known 
through his intimate connection with its trad- 
ing circles. 

Air. Baldwin is survived by his wife and 
daughter, Mrs. E. C. Miller. He was mar- 
ried", Alay 4, . 1858, to Mary H. McCulloch, 
who was born in Bellefontaine, Ohio, daugh- 
ter of the late Judge Noah Zane McCulloch, 
granddaughter of the gallant Major William 

AlcCulloch, ranger, soldier, etc., and great- 
granddaughter of Abraham AlcCulloch. Ma- 
jor William McCulloch was one of the historic 
figures of his time. He was killed at Browns- 
town, Wayne county, Mich., while serving in 
the war of 181 2. On Page 466, of the "Pioneer 
History," by Hildreth, we find the following 
in regard to this interesting character: "\\'il- 
liam iMcCuUoch was brought up on the fron- 
tier of Virginia, near Wheeling, and from his 
youth was acquainted with Indian warfare. 
He came to Waterford, Ohio, about the time 
the war began, 1791, and was employed as 
a ranger. After peace he married a daughter 
of Isaac Zane, whose mother was an Indian. 
She was said to have been a superior woman 
for intelligence and beauty. He settled at 
Alad River, on lands given him by Mr. Zane, 
who owned a large tract presented to him by 
the tribe into which he was adopted. At the 
time of the late war, 18 12, he joined the 
American troops as a volunteer and was killed 
at the battle of Brownstown, Mich., greatly 
lamented by the army." 

Through her grandmother, Nancy (Zane) 
AlcCulloch, Mrs. Baldwin is descended from 
the celebrated Zane family, whose progenitor 
in America, Isaac Zane, came here from Eng- 
land with others of his family, and was a close 
friend and associate of William Penn : Zane 
street, in Philadelphia, was named in his honor. 
Col. Isaac Zane, son of Isaac, moved from 
Pennsylvania to Berkeley county, \'a., where 
his children were born. Col. Isaac Zane was 
a distinguished patriot of the Revolutionary 
war, was colonel of his county militia, and 
represented his county in the Legislative As- 
sembly, where he was associated with such 
leaders of his day as Patrick Henry, George 
Washington, Thomas Jefiferson and others of 
great note. He was a member of the Assem- 
bly when Patrick Henry made his great 
speech, and took the initiative in advising the 
Colonists to use armed resistance against Brit- 
ish injustice. Col. Isaac Zane was the first to 
indorse the resolution. Being colonel of the 
militia of his county, he was appointed chair- 
man or president of the committee of safety 
and observation, and he gave noteworthy serv- 
ice to the cause. He had a foundry and manu- 
factured cannons, chains, etc. He did every- 
thing but sign the Declaration of Independ- 
ence. Among his children were Isaac, Col. 
Ebenezer, Jonathan, Silas and Elizabeth, of 
\\ heeling, of whom volumes have been writ- 



Isaac Zane, son of Col. Isaac, was captured 
by the Indians when nine years old, while go- 
ing for the cows. He was taken to the Mad 
River country, in Ohio, and eventually mar- 
ried the sister of Cornstalk, the great chief of 
the Wyandotte tribe, who was one of the no- 
blest and most gifted Indians that ever lived. 

Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin had a family of 
three children, namely : Sallie Martina is the 
wife of E. C. Miller, and has two children, 
Marian X. and LeRoy B. ; Nellie M. died un- 
married at the age of twenty-one years ; Harry 
JNlcCulloch also died at the age of twenty-one, 
unmarried. i\Ir. Baldwin was a member of 
the Meridian Street ^I. E. Church, to which 
his widow also belongs. He also held mem- 
bership in the I. O. O. F., the Loyal Legion 
and the G. A. R. In politics he was a Repub- 

one of those men who identify themselves 
with every phase of life in the community in 
which their lot is cast. In Indianapolis he 
is remembered especially as an official who 
was almost continuously in the public service 
from early manhood, and as a business man 
who exemplified in his successful career the 
possibilities open to the energetic and ambiti- 
ous in a growing city. Every movement 
which made for civic progress and permanent 
improvement had his hearty co-operation and 
support. Yet his church work, his social and 
family life, his zeal in the interest of public 
education, were all as dear to him as the 
greatest triumph in politics or business. He 
came to Indiana in young manhood,- with no 
capital beyond his natural abilities and a 
knowledge of the printer's trade, and grew 
with the growth of the State. As educator 
and editor, as well as in his capacity of legis- 
lator, he wielded an influence and had much 
to do with the molding of public thought and 
with the directing of public sentiment. That 
he used his powers to good purpose and to 
good ends may be judged from the esteem in 
which he was universally held. 

Mr. Culley was a native of Pennsylvania, 
born in September, 1804, in Cooperstovvn, 
\'enango county, near the town of Franklin. 
His father, John Culley, was born in New 
York, of Scotch extraction, and was a car- 
penter and millwright by trade. He married 
Anne Hathaway Sleeper, of Philadelphia, who 
came of a fine old family. Her parents were 
Philadelphia Quakers, and she held her l^irth- 

right in the Society of Friends up to the time 
of her death. She was a woman of liberal 
education, and from his mother David V. Cul- 
ley :received the greater part of his early 
training. He grew up in \'enango county, 
and learned at least the rudiments of his trade 
while still a boy at home. 

In 1818 he came west with an elder 
brother, the greater part of his father's family 
having moved to Elizabethtown, Ky. For a 
few years he remained at Elizabethtown, Ky., 
in his father's home, and completed his ap- 
prenticeship at his trade. In 1823, his mother 
having died, Mr. Culley came with his father 
and a sister to Corydon, Ind., which was then 
the capital of the State, and was for a time in 
the employ of John Douglas, Esq., at that 
time State printer, and for many years pro- 
prietor of the Journal of Indianapolis. From 
Corydon he went to Brookville, Ind., where 
he had two sisters. In 1824 he settled at 
Lawrenceburg, where he continued to live for 
about twelve years, and entered upon a public 
career which brought honor to him and many 
lasting benefits to the State of Indiana. At 
this time he began his work as a newspaper 
man. In partnership with Hon. Milton 
Gregg he established the Indiana Palladium, 
which, under their management, was one of 
the most influential papers in the State. In 
the conduct of the Palladium Mr. Culley gave 
evidence of executive ability as well as of 
talent as a writer and editor. When, in 1834, 
political differences separated the partners, 
Mr. Culley retained the Palladium, which he 
continued to conduct as a Democratic paper. 
As an example of his enterprise it is inter- 
esting to note the fact that in 1834 ]\Ir. Culley 
introduced into the State the use of compo- 
sition rollers in press work. About a year 
afterward, having an opportunity to dispose 
profitably of his paper and printing business, 
he did so, and for almost another year de- 
voted his time to the study of law, at that 
time intending to adopt that as his profession. 
So intense was his application and so persist- 
ent his industry, that he frequently passed 
whole nights in study. 

Mr. Culley had been recognized by the 
Democratic party as one of the able workers 
in its ranks, and he was elected State Senator 
from Dearborn county. In this office he dis- 
played such marked ability and conscientious- 
ness that in 1829 he was nominated for Lieu- 
tenant Governor on the ticket with Reed, 
which ticket was defeated bv Governor Noble. 




However, this defeat was no check to the 
steady rise of this ambitious and energetic 
young man. He continued to exercise his 
influence in pubHc affairs, and directed poHti- 
cal opinion through the columns of the Palla- 
d ill III. and he served two or three terms as a* 
member of the Lower House of the Legisla- 
ture at this point in his career. In 1838, 
under the administration of Martin Van Bu- 
ren, he was appointed Registrar of the Uni- 
ted States Land Office, and from that time un- 
til the day of his death made his home in Indi- 
anapolis. The frequent floods in Lawrence- 
burg had long made a change of residence 
desirable, so that it was welcomed by all the 
family. Isaac N. Phipps, his brother-in-law, 
represented the Government as agent in the 
Land Office. In time Mr. CuUey succeeded 
to the agency himself. During his business 
activity in Indianapolis he was associated with 
such well-known men as James M. Ray, James 
P. Drake, Daniel Yandes, Thomas A. Morris, 
\\'illiam X. Jackson and others. 

Air. Culley took an interest in municipal 
affairs from the time of his settlement in the 
town of Indianapolis, which was incorporated 
as a city in 1838. In 1841, upon the resigna- 
tion of William Sullivan, he was honored with 
election as President of the Council, although 
he had lived in the city but five years. Such 
early and decided recognition of his abilities 
and value in the community was unusual, but 
deserved, and his fellow-citizens never had 
reason to regret their choice nor change their 
first judgment of his character. Possessing 
peculiar dignity of manner, a keen sense of 
humor and a thorough grasp of the demands 
of his position, he made an ideal presiding 
officer. He was re-elected for two terms, and 
ever afterward, until ill health caused him 
to decline further service, he was a power in 
the aft'airs of the city. In 1854, advocating 
the opinions which were then taking so strong 
a hold on the people of the North, he joined 
what afterward became the Republican party, 
and during the early days of the Civil war 
lent the support of his pen and his means to 
the cause of the Government. 

Mr. Culley was methodical, painstaking 
and accurate in his business methods, as can 
be seen from the numerous books of account 
which show the details of the very consider- 
able public and private business which he 
transacted. Mr. Culley attended carefully to 
his private interests, as was attested by his 
continued prosperity. With a singular clear- 

ness of perception he realized that popular 
education was a great factor in the upbuilding 
of the community. He had educated himself 
in the time that he could spare from bread 
winning. He appreciated keenly the value of 
education in his own case, and his support of 
everything looking to s}-stematic school work 
was enthusiastic and untiring. If our public 
school system had not been laid out on broad 
lines and managed with disinterested care and 
devotion by such men as Mr. Culley the 
schools of Indianapolis would not now have 
the proud distinction of standing at the head 
of the schools of the country. He was con- 
nected with the public schools of the city for 
many years as trustee and managing superin- 
tendent, and his devotion in that work left 
results appreciable to the present day. 

The qualities which recommended him to 
the suftVages of his fellow-citizens made him 
an important factor in the business aft'airs of 
the city, and though he had no financial re- 
sources when he began life himself he surely 
had no occasion in his later years to lament 
the fact. The substantial fortune which he 
accumulated found him to be not only a man 
of keen judgment, but one especially fitted to 
take advantage of the opportunities of his 
day. The early growth of a large city always 
aft'ords a progressive man a good opening, the 
more profitable as it appeals to the needs or 
comfort of the people who patronize his en- 
terprises. It was mainly through Mr. Culley "s 
untiring energy and perseverance that gas was 
manufactured in the city at so early a date, 
and on March 20, 185 1, he was made presi- 
dent of the Indianapolis Gas_and Coke Com- 
pany. The new residence which was built on 
Ohio street, between Pennsylvania and Meri- 
dian streets, had the first stone foundation 
laid in the city, which was another evidence 
of his enterprise, as the stone had to be 
brought from Vevay, Ind., over the Madison 
road, at that time the only railroad entering 
Indianapolis. His public spirit, however, was 
not confined to local affairs. Like a truly 
patriotic American, he took just pride in 
evervthing which added to his country's 
prestige or glory. He was especially inter- 
ested in the' first Pacific railroad, a project 
which he had considered feasible long before 
its construction was undertaken. He was of 
a logical and thoughtful temperament, but his 
alert mind and broad sympathies kept him 
abreast of the times. His conscientiousness 
and high integrity were a sure guide in the 



administration of public affairs. He had a 
tine sense of the responsibilities of a trustee- 
ship. That this was universally recognized 
was shown by his frequent selection as the 
guardian of minors, a duty usually taken with 
reluctance, involving, as it often does, much 
irksome and unappreciated work. No trust 
is more often shirked or more easily abused, 
yet in Mr. Culley's care it became a noble task 
to perform, and he never failed to earn the 
warmest aft'ection of those he so served. Un- 
doubtedly his kindness of heart and sincerity 
of purpose, as well as the fidelity which he 
gave naturally to the fulfillment of every trust 
reposed in him, had much to do with his suc- 
cess in this respect. Certain it is that the 
breath of suspicion never dared assail him. 

In this connection some mention of George 
William Armentrout, Lieutenant Commander, 
U. S. N., will be most appropriate. Armen- 
trout's mother died when he was an infant, 
his father when he was six years old, after 
which he was reared in the Culley home, J\lr. 
Culley having become his guardian. At the 
age of seventeen he entered the navy, and in 
the fourteen years which preceded his death 
had a distinguished career, occupying a posi- 
tion in the regard of his associates and super- 
iors second to none of his age in the service. 
He would have been one of the first to ac- 
knowledge that his success was largely due to 
the training which he received in his guar- 
dian's home. 

One illustration of the fact that ;\Ir. Cul- 
ley's integrity was conspicuous at an early 
age, and believed in even by those only slight- 
ly acquainted with him, is given in a little in- 
cident which happened while he was at Cory- 
don. A friend who knew him at that time 
related that Samuel Merrill, the treasurer of 
State, was obliged to leave home for a few 
days and needed a guard for the funds of the 
Commonwealth, consisting largely of gold and 
silver, which was kept in the treasurer's pri- 
vate residence. Mr. Culley, though then little 
more than a boy, was selected (with the gen- 
tleman who told the incident) to sleep in the 
treasurer's house and protect the public 
money — a high mark of confidence for one of 
his age. 

Soon after his removal to Indianapolis Mr. 
Culley connected himself with the then newly 
organized Second Presbyterian Church, in 
which he was one of the leading spirits 
throughout the remainder of his life. It was 
through his inlluence that Henry Ward 

Beecher was brought from Lawrenceburg. 
Mr. Culley served the church many years as 
elder, being elected ruling elder Jan. 6, 1842, 
was senior elder at the time of his death, was 
trustee for a number of years, and clerk for 
a period of twenty years. That he gave free- 
ly of money as well as time goes without say- 
ing. He was practical and consistent in his 
Christianity; in fact, if he took any personal 
pride in the influence he exerted, it was the 
influence of his upright life. He was a dili- 
gent and careful student of the Scriptures, in 
which he found much comfort, and his spirit- 
ual strength was never more tried nor better 
shown than in the lingering illness which pre- 
ceded his death by a period of several months. 
He died at the family residence on East Ohio 
street, on the evening of Friday, June 4, 1869, 
in the perfect faith of a devout Christian. 

Gen. John Coburn spoke thus of his old 
friend: "I knew David V. Culley from my 
boyhood for at least sixty-five years past. 
When I first saw him he was a member of the 
Legislature here as senator from Dearborn 
county. And he was highly respected for his 
intelligence and ability. He changed his resi- 
dence from Lawrenceburg to this place. He 
served in the Legislature several years. He 
held one of the Land Offices here for several 
years. He was one of the trustees of the 
County Seminary here, and a member after- 
ward of the school board. He took a great 
interest in the education of the rising genera- 
tion. He was a teacher in the Sunday-school, 
and one of the prominent members of the Sec- 
ond Presbyterian Church, of which Henry 
W. Beecher was the pastor. He was a quiet, 
modest, unassuming gentleman, but a firm 
and active advocate of all the efforts made by 
the people in favor of morality, sobriety, good 
order and particularly of temperance. He 
lived a quiet life, but his whole strength was 
always given to the improvement of society, 
in education, morality and religion. He was 
a model citizen in all respects, aiding in every 
word and work for the good of society. He 
was a man of firm convictions as to all eft'orts 
to promote the observance of the law and of 
good order in society and religion. In all 
these things he was among the foremost citi- 
zens of Indianapolis, at all times and under 
all circumstances. He was so modest, so 
quiet, and unostentatious in all these things 
that his influence for good was very great. 
\'erv few men in the history of Indianapolis 
have surpassed him in great and quiet works 



in the upbuilding of this city. He had no 
enemies, but in their place many warm friends 
in every rank of society." 

i\Ir. Volney T. ]\Ialott writes of Mr. Cul- 
ley : "David V. Culley was one of our most 
prominent and influential citizens, a pioneer 
newspaper man of Indiana, for many years 
editor of the Indiana Palladinm, of Lawrence- 
burg, Ind., a prominent churchman and asso- 
ciate of Henry Ward Beecher. He was a 
legislator and an earnest advocate of temper- 
ance and a good citizen generally, and left 
many worthy descendants." 

Perhaps we have dwelt too much on the 
serious side of Mr. CuUey's character. Though 
of a serious temperament, he had many graces 
of mind and disposition. He enjoyed the 
higher things of life, good literature and lively 
company, and in his old age was often found 
among young people. In the winter he could 
be seen upon the ice with the young, skating 
as joyously as any of them; in the summer he 
took delight in rowing with his friends, and 
he often enjoyed a day's hunting. His kindly 
sympathy was evident in his intercourse with 
all, for his most attractive personal quality 
was his habit of estimating each of his fel- 
low-men at his full value. He passed many 
pleasant hours among his books, and his Don 
Quixote, Shakespeare and INIilton were well 
read and thoroughly appreciated. 

In January, , 1824, at Lawrenceburg, :Mr. 
Culley married Miss :\Iary Ann Brown, 
daughter of Daniel Brown, who was born 
near Sandusky, Ohio. 

No history of the Culley family could be 
told without including special mention of Mrs. 
Culley, whose rare strength and beauty of 
character stamped every feature of their do- 
mestic life with a peculiar charm. Her in- 
fluence extended beyond the home circle, for 
she was a remarkable woman in many ways. 
She was a Methodist in early life, and believ- 
ing firmly in the open profession of religion 
she united with the Methodist Church at Law- 
renceburg in 1830, retaining this connection 
until the family removed to Indianapolis. 
Here she took membership in a church of the 
same denomination, which she continued to 
attend until 1850, when, for the sake of unity 
in family arrangements, she obtained the or- 
dinary dismissal and transferred her member- 
ship to the Second Presbyterian Church. She 
was a regular attendant at church except when 
prevented by illness, and always ready to do 
her share in promoting the social and other 

interests of the church. ^Irs. Culley was one 
of the early Daughters of Temperance, and in 
this connection it may be stated that many of 
the young men in her husband's employ on the 
Palladium in Lawrenceburg owed much to 
her wise counsel and encouragement. It was 
the custom there in those early days for the 
host to have wines and liquors for his guests, 
but Mrs. Culley succeeded in persuading her 
husband to dispense with liquors and allow 
her to substitute coffee. In this and in many 
other ways did she exercise her firm but gentle 
influence, and though hers was not an aggres- 
sive disposition she accomplished much good 
in her circle and gained a host of loving and 
devoted friends. She died Oct. 11, 1863, in 
the sixty-second year of her a,ge, leaving sur- 
viving her one son and two daughters : Han- 
nah Ann, who became the wife of William 
Mansur ; Mary Elizabeth, who married James 
Madison Hume; and Capt. Daniel B. Culley, 
who died Nov. 12, 1886, at his residence, Xo. 
486 North Pennsylvania street. The daugh- 
ters both married citizens of high standing, 
and the son was a prominent citizen of Indian- 
apolis for many years. He was one of the 
"Old Seminary Boys," conspicuous for agility 
and good humor, was city clerk in 1851-52 
and 1853, and was secretary of the Marion 
Fire Company for a year or two during the 
latter part of its existence. He was among 
the first to enlist in the nth Regiment, was 
elected second lieutenant of Company B, rose 
to the captaincy, and was honorably dis- 
charged in the fall of 1862. In the spring of 
1847 Daniel Culley, with the other boys in the 
Journal ofiice, John R. Elder and John H. 
Ohr, started the Locomotive, which for a de- 
cade led all the papers of the city in the matter 
of circulation. In 1850 it was purchased and 
enlarged by Mr. Elder and John Harkness, 
and was recognized as the leading paper from 
a social and literary standpoint until 1861, 

WILLIAM MANSUR. for many years 
one of the successful business men of Indi- 
anapolis, was a native of Indiana, born Jan. 
20, 1 8 19, at Salsburg, then the county seat 
of Wayne county. Jeremy Mansur, his 
father, was one of the eleven children of Wil- 
liam Mansur, of Temple, N. H. This latter 
William was in the Continental army and 
served throughout the Revolution, being with 
General Burgoyne at the siege of Ticondcroga. 
Jeremy Mansur came to Indiana and settled 
in the Quaker settlement near Richmond, 



Wayne county. When his son, William, the 
subject of this sketch, was two years old, the 
family was living on a farm near Auberville, 
Wayne county. Two years later they 
moved to P.ichmond, where they lived until 
William was twenty-one years old. William 
Mansur received the practical training com- 
mon to the youth of his day, which fostered 
endurance and self-reliance. In 1840 he 
came to Indianapolis, where he made his 
home, and was there engaged in business for 
many years. His first venture was in the 
dry-goods business with his brother-in-law, 
John H. Wright. In 1847, i" partnership 
with his father, he built a pork house near 
the old jNIadison depot and continued in the 
pork packing business until 1861. In 1863 
he and his father and his brother Isaiah were 
associated with Daniel Yandes and others in 
the starting of the Citizens National Bank, 
\\'illiam iMansur being, a director of that in- 
stitution for twenty years. Meantime he was 
also interested in other important business 
enterprises, being for many years a director 
of the Indianapolis Rolling :\lills. He had a 
reputation in the community for honesty and 
fair dealing, and as a result attained an en- 
viable position among the business men of 
the city. Dignified and self contained in 
manner and speech, his words carried weight 
wherever he was known. He was as con- 
siderate and thoughtful as he was earnest, 
and won the friendship of many by his kindly 
courtesy. After a creditable and honorable 
career he retired from business, with a con- 
siderable fortune, and passed the remainder 
of his days in its enjoyment, in travel, in his 
favorite modes of recreation, and in the culti- 
vation of social pleasures among friends and 
kindred. He prized true friendship above all 
things, and, as a true friend himself, had the 
devotion of many. His amiable disposition 
was as marked in his home circle as under the 
more restraining influences of society. 

Mr. Alansur took a pride in the rise and 
progress of the city, and an active part in the 
local civil administration, believing faithful 
service to be the test of true public spirit. 
He considered it a citizen's duty to assist to 
the best of his ability in the advancement of 
his home city. Accordingly, during his 
busiest years, he found time to act as city 
commissioner and member of the city council, 
and he never failed in his duty in either posi- 

Mr. Mansur was long active in the Second 

Presbyterian Church, with which he united 
by profession of faith in 1843, during the 
great revival conducted by Henry Ward 
Beecher. To the day of his death he was 
a regular attendant at church and contributed 
largely of money and counsel. For thirty-one 
years he served as trustee of the church of 
which he was a member. Like his ancestors 
he believed in living his religion, carrying its 
principles into every relation of life, and took 
much comfort in his faith and its teachings. 
This was especially noticeable in his closing 
days. His life left a lasting impression for 
good on those among whom he moved. 2^Ir. 
Mansur died Oct. 18, 1893, at his new home 
at Illinois and Thirty-second streets, which 
had just been completed, and was buried at 
Crown Hill cemetery. 

On Aug. 17, 1847, 2^1 r. JMansur married 
Hannah Ann Culley, daughter of the Hon. 
David V. Culley, and his widow and one son, 
Charles William, survive him. 

JAMES .AIADISOX HU.ME, during his 
active years one of the prominent busi- 
ness men of Indianapolis, was a native of 
Indiana, born in the pioneer days, and came of 
creditable ancestry on both paternal and ma- 
ternal sides. The Humes came originally 
from the Scotch border and belonged to the 
house of Wedderburn, Sir David Hume, of 
Wedderbum, being mentioned in the charter 
of 1450. One of his descendants, a Covenan- 
ter, came to Pennsylvania and settled in Lan- 
caster county, and so devout a Christian was 
he that he changed his name to Humes, fear- 
ing that people might associate him with 
Hume, the historian, who was a relative but 
an infidel. 

Of such stock came Madison Hume, 
father of James jMadison Hume, who was a 
distinguished man among the pioneers of 
Dearborn county, Ind., where he owned a 
farm, and at the same time followed his pro- 
fession as minister of the gospel. He was a 
Baptist preacher, and, there being but few 
churches in the early days, traveled on horse- 
back from village to village, holding services 
in the schoolhouses, in which connection he 
is remembered by some of the older citizens 
of Indianapolis. In 1833 he purchased and 
moved to a small farm near Augusta, Marion 
Co., Ind., seven miles north of Indianapolis. 
In i860 he sold his farm and moved to Indi- 
anapolis, and here passed his remaining days, 
(lying in the sixties at his residence on Capitol 



avenue, near Thirteenth street. His widow sold 
this home to the school board, and a large brick 
schoolhouse now occupies the site. Airs. 
Hume purchased a home on Illinois street, 
where she died Aug. 25, 1899, at the advanced 
age of ninety years. 

James Madison Hume was born Oct. i, 
1830, in Dearborn county, Ind., and was a 
mere child when his father settled on the 
farm near Augusta, where he passed his 
youth and early manhood. His educational 
opportunities were limited to attendance at 
the three-months' schools in the neighborhood 
of his home. In 1849 he came to Indiana- 
polis, business life appealing strongly to him. 
That he was not mistaken in his abilities or 
tendencies was proved by the result of his 
ventures into the world of trade. He first 
entered the merchant tailoring establishment 
of James Hall, as clerk, and six months later, 
so completely had Mr. Hume won his em- 
ployer's confidence, he was sent by Air. Hall 
to Pendleton, this State, to take charge of a 
shoe store there, a speedy recognition of 
worth and integrity as well as a bestowal of 
responsibility unusual for one of his age. 
There he remained a few months, until the 
store was closed out. Having acquired a 
taste for the dry-goods business. Air. Hume, 
in 1852, made arrangements to enter the em- 
ploy of Horace A. Fletcher, who was exten- 
sively engaged as a dealer in dry-goods, car- 
pets and wall-paper. The first year he re- 
ceived but twenty-five dollars in money for 
his services, but by 1856, with what he had 
saved, he was able to purchase an interest in 
the business and took charge of the establish- 
ment, doing the principal part of the buying. 
The business was now conducted under the 
firm name of H. A. Fletcher & Co. In 1858 
Air. Edgar N. Lord, of Alassachusetts, pur- 
chased an interest in the concern, which was 
then moved to No. 10 East Washington 
street, where for a time they were located in 
a building adjoining the one now occupied 
by the Indianapolis Nczi's. In 1859 Air. James 
Al. Ray commenced building the "Trade Pal- 
ace," which was completed in i860, and H. 
A. Fletcher & Co. had the foresight to lease 
the first floor of the building, thus obtaining 
a store room 35x100 feet; the three upper 
floors of the building were sixty feet deep. It 
was thought by many that the growth of their 
trade would not justify the occupancy of what 
was then considered extensive quarters, but 
the partners were,,^-illing to take the risk. 

and time proved that their judgment was not 
at fault. In 1863 Air. Fletcher, wishing to 
retire, sold out to his partners, who in the 
fall of that year admitted Air. W. L. Adams 
into the concern, which then became Hume, 
Lord & Co. In 1864, because of failing 
health. Air. Lord sold out to the other partners 
and retired, and for another year the firm 
was carried on as Hume & Adams. In 1865 
they disposed of their dry-goods business to 
engage extensively in the carpet, wall-paper 
and window shade trade, wholesale as well as 
retail, and about the same time Edgar J. Fos- 
ter entered the firm, which then became 
Hume, Adams & Co. In 1867, so steadily 
had their business grown, they were able to 
purchase the "Trade Palace," which under 
this enterprising management was speedily en- 
larged to four times its original capacity. 
The first floor was rented to N. R. Smith & 
Co., dry-goods merchants, and the second 
floor was reserved for their own use. By 
1870 the further extension of the business re- 
quired the admission of an office partner, and 
Arthur L. Wright, ex-county treasurer, was 
taken in. Later the firm name was changed 
to Adams, Alansur & Co. 

Air. Hume married Alary Elizabeth Cul- 
ley, daughter of David V. Culley, one of the 
prominent citizens of Indianapolis, and they 
iiad one son, George E. Hume. Like his 
father, James AI. Hume clung to the faith of 
the Baptist Church, while Airs. Hume, with 
the rest of her fannly, held membership in 
the Second Presbyterian Church. In 18.-1^ 
Air. and Airs. Hume went to California, 
where they remained until 1893, after which 
they again resided in Indianapolis, their home 
being at No. 3213 Illinois street. Air. Hume 
died Alarch 5, 1899, leaving his widow and 
son surviving. 

George E. Hume is one of the younger 
business men of Indianapolis. He was born 
Alarch 19, 1869, son of James Aladison and 
Alary Elizabeth (Culley) Hume, and, as may 
be seen above, comes of two of the old families 
of the city. 

Air. Hume attended the common and high 
schools of the city until 1885, when he en- 
tered the Boston Latin School. He graduated 
from that school in 1889, and entered Harv- 
ard L'niversity, graduating in 1893. Return- 
ing to Indianapolis, he became a student at 
the Indianapolis Law School, where he ob- 
tained his degree of LL. B. He read law 
for a year in the office of Butler, Snow and 



Butler, and then formed a partnership for 
the practice of his profession with Edward E. 
Gates, continuing in general practice until 
the organization of the Indiana Title Guaranty 
& Loan Company, of which he was elected 
secretary and treasurer. In 1904 he was 
elected treasurer of the American Central 
Life Insurance Company. 

On Nov. 16, 1896, George E. Hume mar- 
ried Lucy Fitzhugh Holliday, of Indianapolis, 
daughter of William Jacquelin and Lucy 
(Redd) Holliday, the former a cousin of 
Governor Holliday, of Virginia, the latter a 
descendant of Patrick Henry. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hume have two sons, William ISIansur and 
Jacquelin Holliday. 

in \'ernon, Jennings Co., Ind., June 22, 1837. 
His parents were among the early settlers of 
that State, taking up their residence in Ver-, 
non in 18 19. His father was born in Canan- 
daigua, Ontario Co., N. Y., Dec. 30, 1810. 
His mother was of Scotch-Irish descent, born 
at Castlefinn, County Donegal, Ireland, Sept. 
14, 1812, and she emigrated to this country 
when she was only six years of age. 

Captain Foster attended the public schools 
of his native town until he had outgrown 
them ; graduated from the old Seminary, Indi- 
anapolis, Ind., located on the southwest cor- 
ner of 2\Ieridian and New York streets, in 
University Park, and later attended Hayden's 
Commercial College, located in the second 
story of an old brick building on the site now 
occupied by the L. S. Ayres & Co. new build- 
ing. After receiving a practical business edu- 
cation he was ofTered a position in the bank 
of Fletcher & Churchman, or S. A. Fletcher 
& Co., but as the staying-m rules were so 
strict he declined the position, preferring free- 
dom and fresh air. Returning to his old home, 
he entered his fathei''s cabinet shop as an ap- 
prentice, working at the trade for one year, 
when he accepted a position in the Civil En- 
gineering Corps, of which the late General 
Mitchell, of Cincinnati, Ohio, was the chief, 
in the construction of the Ohio & Mississippi 
railroad from Cincinnati to St. Louis, Mo. In 
the survey for a railroad route to California 
and the Pacific coast by the United States 
government he was offered a position in the 
United States Civil Engineering Corps under 
the command of the late General Lander, but 
owing to the defeat of the measure by Con- 
gress, authorizing the survey, Captain Foster 

returned to Indianapolis and took a position 
in the general auction house of the late Wil- 
liam Y. Wiley, located on the corner of the 
alley east of the F'letcher National Bank. A 
year later he entered the dry goods house of 
M. M. Dunn & Co., in the Blake's Commer- 
cial Row, now named the Commercial Block. 
The Glenn's New York Store was directly 
opposite in the old "Bates House." On the 
removal of -M. M. Dunn & Co. from the city 
he accepted a position in the establishment of 
H. A. Fletcher & Co., dry goods, carpets, etc. 
Not liking the dry goods business, he accepted 
a position in his father's drug store, at Ver- 
non, Ind., where he remained until he became 
acquainted with the business. Returning to 
Indianapolis he entered the drug house of Per- 
kins & Lilly, located on the ground of Was- 
son & Co.'s building. During his business 
life in the drug store he received his first mili- 
tary instructions and training in the "school" 
of a soldier, with others who were members 
of the "Independent Zouaves," a military 
company that graduated many good soldiers 
who served with honor and distinction to 
themselves and State throughout the entire 
war of the Rebellion. 

Military service of Captain Foster, during 
the zcar of the Rebellion: When the first gun 
was fired on Fort Sumter, and before the 
echo of that shot had died. Captain Foster 
was recruiting a company. When the first 
call for three months' volunteers by President 
Lincoln was made he entered the service as 
a private of Indiana volunteers April 16, 1861, 
assisting in recruiting a full company for the 
service which was assigned to the nth Indi- 
ana Volunteer Infantry (Lew Wallace Zou- 
aves). The late Maj.-Gen. Robert S. Foster, 
his brother, enlisted at the same time, and was 
commissioned captain of Company A, nth 
Indiana Volunteers. Later two younger 
brothers entered the service, Edgar J. Foster 
as first lieutenant of Company K, 9th Indiana 
\'olunteer Infantry ; he was also on the staff 
of Maj.-Gens. \'an Cleave and Beatty. Chapin 
C. Foster enlisted as a private in Company D, 
i32d Indiana Volunteers. 

Captain Foster was commissioned lieuten- 
ant of Company H, nth Indiana Volunteers 
(Infantry), April 20, 1861. His regiment 
was organized at Indianapolis for three 
months' service ; niuetered in the United States 
service April 26, 1861 ; May 7, 1861, ordered 
to Evansville, Ind., where the regiment 
guarded the Ohio river Atil June 7tli, when 



it was ordered to West \"irginia, arriving near 
Cumberland, JMd., on the 9th, bivouacking 
near New Creek until the evening of the loth, 
when the march was resumed; in action early 
on the morning of the nth at Romney, W. 
\'a. ; June 12th returned to Cumberland late 
in the night, bivouacking on the sidewalks on 
Baltimore street; on the morning of the 13th 
went into camp near the cemetery ; from June 
13th to July 7th remained in camp near Cum- 
berland, the regiment participating in several 
skirmishes and one engagement on Kelley's 
Island ; July 8th regiment ordered to reinforce 
Gen. Patterson at Alartinsburg, Va., thence 
to Charlestown, Va., where term of service of 
the regiment — three months — expired. From 
a request of Gen. Patterson for ten days' 
longer service the vote of the regiment was 
unanimous to remain ten days longer. Shortly 
after they marched to Harper's Ferry, and 
before the ten days had expired they were re- 
lieved by new troops and the regiment started 
home via Hagerstown, Md., Chambersburg 
and Pittsburg, Pa., Columbus and Dayton, 
Ohio, arriving at Southeastern avenue and 
Washington streets on the morning of July 
29, 1861 ; mustered out Aug. 2, 1861. In Sep- 
tember, Lieutenant Foster joined the 13th In- 
diana Volunteer Infantry, in West Virginia, 
for three years ; was attached to Gen. Rose- 
crans' Brigade, McClellan's army of occupa- 
tion, West Virginia; Gen. Reynolds' Cheat 
JMountain Brigade to November; JMilroy's 
command, ^Mountain Department, Jan. i, 
1862, promoted first lieutenant of Company 
H, 13th Indiana Volnteer Infantry. In j\Iarch, 
1862, the regiment was assigned to the 2d 
Brigade, Shields' 2d Division, Banks' Sth 
Corps, to April; April ist promoted to cap- 
tain of Company H, 13th Indiana Volunteer 
Regiment, assigned to 3d Brigade, 1st Di- 
vision, Department Rappahannock, to July; 
Ferry's Brigade, 2d Division, 4th Corps, Army 
of the Potomac, to September ; attached to the 
staff of Gen. R. S. Foster, commanding Pro- 
visional Brigade ; Peck's Division, 7th Army 
Corps, at Suffolk, Virginia, Department of 
\'irginia, to April, 1863 ; 2d Brigade, same 
corps, to July 29th. 

Participated in the folloiuiiig service: Ex- 
pedition to Camp Baldwin, December, nth 
to I2th; Allegheny Mountain, Dec. 13th; or- 
dered to Green Spring Run, \'a., Dec. i8th, 
on duty there until March, 1862; expedition 
to Blue Gap, Jan. 6th and 7th; advanced on 
Winchester, Va., March 5th to isth; recon- 

noissance to Strausburg, March i8th; battle 
of Winchester, March 22d, 23d, with Stone- 
wall Jackson's troops; again at Alount Jack- 
son, March 25th; Strausburg, March 27th; 
Woodstock, April 1st; Edenburg, April 2d; 
I\It. Jackson, April i6th; New Market and 
Rood Hill, April 17th; Summersville, May 
7th; march to Fredericksburg, Va., May 12th 
to 2ist; to Front Royal, May 25th, and again 
May 29th-30th ; battle Port Republic June 5th. 
Regiment ordered to Peninsula June 20th to 
July 2d; Chickahominy Swamps, July 3d and 
4th ; Westover, July 4th to Aug. 14th ; Fort- 
ress Monroe, Aug. 15th to 23d, thence to Suf- 
folk, Ya.., Aug. 30, 1862; on duty at Suffolk 
until June, 1863; action on the Blackwater 
district, Oct. 9th, 24th, 29th, 30th, Nov. 17th 
and Dec. 15th, 1862: Deserted House, Jan. 
30, 1863, and Joiner's Ford, Siege of Suffolk, 
N'irginia, from April 12th to May 4th; regi- 
ment engaged in the destruction of Petersburg, 
Norfolk and Seaboard & Roanoke railroad, 
June 15, 1863. With the advance forces — 
cavalry, artillery and infantry — of General 
Keyes' expedition up the Peninsula, July ist 
to I2th; regiment ordered to Folly Island, S. 
C, July 28th to Aug. 3, 1863 ; attached to ist 
Brigade, loth Army Corps, at the mouth of 
the Island, from August, 1863, to February, 
1864; engaged in the siege operating agamst 
Fort Wagner, Sumter and Charleston, S. C, 
from February to April. While an officer of 
the 13th Regiment, Indiana Volunteers, Cap- 
tain Foster served on the staff of Generals 
Sullivan and Foster. During Captain Foster's 
military service he served with General Mc- 
Clellan in the Army of the Potomac, General 
Lander at Paw Paw Tunnel and Bloomery 
Gap, Virginia, Generals Shields and Kim- 
ball in the battles and skirmishes down the 
Shenandoah and Rappahannock Valley, with 
General Sullivan at Columbia Bridge and 
the skirmish at Dog Town, Va., General Mc- 
Dowell at Fredericksburg. Va. ; participated 
in the review ^f 80,000 infantry, cavalry and 
artillery by President Lincoln and Secretary 
of War Stanton. His regiment participated 
in the first expedition and assault on Fort 
Fisher, N. C, under command of General 
Butler, and again in the second expedition and 
assault under the successful command of Gen-. 
erals Terrv and Curtis; regiment was with 
General Butler at Deep Bottom, Va. ; Army 
of the James ; with General Banks in Florida ; 
Generals Devens, Meade and Grant to Appo- 
mattox. He was one of the escorts to Presi- 



dent Lincoln when the latter passed through 
Indianapolis in iSOi on his way to Washing- 
ton, D. C. 

Just before the close of the Rebellion, Cap- 
tain Foster received an honorable discharge 
on account of defective hearing, contracted 
by exposure and hard service in the Chicka- 
hominy Swamp. Soon after his return home 
he was appointed to a position in the United 
States Pay Department headquarters at Co- 
lumbus, Ohio, and Indianapolis. On Sept. 
2"/, 1864, he was commissioned by Gov. O. P. 
-Morton on special service at Cairo and Alound 
City, 111., St. Louis, ^lo., ]\Iemphis, Tenn. 
During this service he sent thousands of sick 
and wounded soldiers to their homes, secur- 
ing for them free transportation and medical 
attention. After retiring from the special 
service, in August, 1865, he engaged in busi- 
ness again, but later on account of his in- 
creased deafness he retired from active busi- 
ness and entered the commission house of R. 
S. Foster & Co. In 1882 he was appointed 
to a position in the Indianapolis post office, 
remaining there until 1886. While in the post 
office department the first two years of service 
he became totally deaf. After the expiration 
of his term of service he accepted a very pleas- 
ant position under the late William X. Jack- 
son, secretary of the old Union Railway 
Company, in which he transferred the minutes 
of the old company to new books, in all nearly 
fifty years' business transactions of the old 
company. In 1887, in the organization of 
The Consumers' Gas Trust Company, he was 
given a position as receiver of records. 

After Captain Foster became totally deaf 
in both ears he organized, for the mutual ben- 
efit of all comrades afflicted with deafness, 
the Silent Army of Deaf Soldiers, Sailors and 
Marines, of which he was secretary and treas- 
urer. In 1888 he secured an increase of pen- 
sion for all pensioners on the rolls afflicted 
with deafness, and in 1902 he secured another 
increase for the total loss of . hearing, in a 
general bill, to forty dollars per month. In 
all he labored twenty-five years to secure par- 
tial justice and equity in the rating of pen- 
sions for his deaf comrades. 

Teaching Patriotism in the Public Schools. 
Captain Foster's patriotism was first devel- 
oped in 1846-47 during the war with Mexico, 
and he demonstrated it by erecting a flagstafi' 
at his father's residence in Vernon and un- 
furling therefrom an improvised flag. In 
1861 he again demonstrated his patriotism and 

love for his country and flag by offering his 
services in defense of both. At the close of 
the fearful struggle to maintain the honor of 
his country and tiag he resumed the peaceful 
pursuits of citizenship with a holy love for 
his flag and the Union that was part of him- 
self and inseparable. As the years passed into 
history, he saw the coming danger to 'our 
country in the influx of undesirable foreign- 
ers, flooding our country with their un-Amer- 
ican customs and ignorance of our free insti- 
tutions. With these thoughts in his mind, in 
1889, in connection with the late Col. George 
T. Balch, U. S. A., auditor of the board of 
education of New York City, he became 
deeply interested in the problem of teaching 
these young foreigners American customs 
and intelligent citizenship through the influ- 
ence of patriotism taught in our public schools, 
and displaying the stars and stripes over 
school buildings and grounds. Captain Fos- 
ter's interest in displaying the flag over school 
buildings and from staffs erected on the 
grounds, with flags for schoolrooms, he 
classed as emotional patriotism, preparing the 
scholar for the higher branches of intellectual 
patriotism and the practical duties of citizen- 
ship. His patriotic activity was aroused early 
in 1890 by opposition from two members of 
the school board to his request for the privi- 
lege of erecting a flagstaff on the campus of 
public school No. 32, of Indianapolis. After 
promising to defray the expenses of erecting 
the staff and purchase of flags he received 
unanimous consent of the board to erect the 
staff, and on the 20th of February, 1891, with 
the aid of the patrons and friends of the school, 
erected the first staff and flag on the grounds 
of school No. 32, and followed this up with 
patriotic instruction in the school, zi'liich zcas 
the first knozvn school in the country to raise 
a Hag in the interest of patriotic teaching and 
continue the instructions in the school. The 
memorable patriotic day at school Xo. 32 was 
an inspiration that re-echoed from [Maine to 
California, and the example was followed by 
other schools in the city, county. State and 
other States of the Union. In September, 
1891, during the 25th National Encampment 
of the Grand Army of the Republic convened 
at Detroit, ]Mich., Captain Foster made an- 
other very important move in patriotic teaching 
by bringing before the Encampment and the 
people the importance and need of teaching 
patriotism in our public schools. A beautiful 
blue silk banner was presented to him by Col. 



ISalch, 'vith the motto of Captain Foster 
painted upon it in gold letters : "Teach Patriot- 
ism in tl:e Public Schools." It has bc2n his 
inspiration ever since. This banner he car- 
ried in the parade, over four miles of the prin- 
cipal streets of Detroit, the motto creating 
intense interest and enthusiasm, causing the 
people not only to think but to heartily in- 
dorse the sentiment inscribed upon the banner 
and the patriotic movement inaugurated by 
Captain P^oster, for it was the first banner in 
the interest of patriotic teaching ever carried 
in a National Encampment parade or in the 
parade of any organi.zation. The motto had 
a warm greeting from the school teachers as 
well as citizens, and the study was welcomed 
in the curriculum of patriotic education. Cap- 
tain Foster issued an address to the delegates 
of the 25th National Encampment and not 
only placed a copy in the hands of each dele- 
gate but placed his banner on the stage where 
every member of the Encampment could see 
and read it. While the Encampment in- 
dorsed the patriotic motto it simply referred 
the matter to a committee of Past National 
Commanders-in-Chief to be reported upon at 
the 26th National Encampment, to be held in 
Washington, D. C, in 1892. In the 26th Na- 
tional Encampment there were two committees 
appointed who sent in a report to salute the 
flag in the fall of the year and seemed in- 
different to the importance of teacliing patriot- 
ism in the public schools every school day, 
and as no further interest was taken in the 
matter, Captain Foster appealed to the loth 
Convention, Department of Indiana, Womans 
Relief Corps, that met at Evansville, Ind., 
in April, 1893. It did not take the Depart- 
ment of Indiana, Womans Relief Corjjs, in 
convention fifteen minutes to deliberate on 
Captain Foster's patriotic proposition, for the 
sentiment in the convention was unanimous 
and enthusiastic, accepting a series of resolu- 
tions presented by him, giving his views as to 
the best means of inculcating a deeper and a 
more earnest love for our country anel flag: 
the reason why patriotic instructions in our 
public schools 'were necessary was fully ex- 
plained, and indorsed by the convention and 
recommended as part of their work. At the 
nth National Convention of the Womans Re- 
lief Corps, convened in the city of Indianap- 
olis, Sept. 6, 1893, the Department of Indiana 
presented the resolutions accepted by them to 
the National body, where they were indorsed 

and accepted by a rising vote in which great 
enthusiasm was manifested. 

Before the National Encampment of the 
Grand Army of the Republic convened in this 
city in 1893, a few friends of Captain Foster 
presented him a handsome United States 
regulation silk flag and made up a purse that 
he might enlarge his display of banners and 
flags for his patriotic display. With this fund 
he added to his first banner one white silk and 
one yellow silk banner. On the yellow was 
the motto "We give our Heads and our Hearts 
to God and our Country," on the white ban- 
ner was the additional motto, "One Country ; 
One Language; One Flag." In addition to 
the silk flag and banners he added thirty-two 
army corps flags. This display was carried 
for the first time in the parade of the 27th 
National Encampment, held in Indianapolis, 
Ind., in September, 1893. From the 27th Na- 
tional Encampment the display became a na- 
tional feature in the G. A. R. National En- 
campment and school parades, and was dis- 
played in the following cities : Washington, 
D. C, Pittsburg, Pa., Louisville, Ky., St. l^aul. 
Minn., New York City, Chicago, 111., and 
other minor parades. The display was retired 
a few years ago, after the flags had fulfilled 
their mission. The white and yellow silk ban- 
ners Captain Foster presented to the Depart- 
ment of Indiana, Womans Relief Corps, and 
they are displayed by them at all Department 
and National Conventions. The balance of 
the display was carefully taken care of by Cap- 
tain Fo-ster. Since 1893 there has been an 
aggressive movement in the interest of the 
patriotic curriculum by the Womans Relief 
Corps in nearly all the States of the Union, 
and great good has been accomplished. As 
the interest in patriotic teaching increased the 
demand for patriotic literature l>ecame natural 
and necessary to increase proficiency in the 

In April, 1894, Colonel I'.alch died very 
suddenly, and left nearly all of his unfinished 
work to Cajitain Foster, who was his most 
trusted and intimate friend, equal to the trust 
imposed upon him. His first work was to re- 
vise Colonel Balch's four-page folio primer 
into an acceptable primer for the use of teach- 
ers in schools. In revising the patriotic jjri- 
mer for the Little Citizen it was enlarged from 
a four-i«ge to a sixty-two page in 1895. and 
in i?'^)^ to 112 pages, and is now in its fourth 
edition. In 1898 a facsimile of the original 



copy of the Declaration of Independence was 
published and introduced and is now in its 
third edition. Another publication of Captain 
Foster's is the "Origin and History of the 
Stars and Stripes," first published and in- 
troduced in 1898, and now in its fourth edi- 
tion. All these publications have been copy- 
righted. The success of these publications 
has been marvelous, aggregating nearly 50,000 
primers, 25,000 facsimiles of the Declaration 
of Independence, and 35,000 "Origin and 
History of the Stars and Stripes," distributed 
through the Womans Relief Corps and other 
patriotic women's societies into every State 
of the Union, including one thousand primers 
and 500 copies of "Origin and History of the 
Stars and Stripes," contributed by the Womans 
Relief Corps to the Commissioners of Educa- 
tion in Manila, P. I., San Juan, Porto Rico, 
and Honolulu, Hawaii. Besides these publica- 
tions. Captain Foster invented a flagstaff stand 
for the W. R. C. and D. A. R. and school rooms, 
having distributed more than 10,000, with a 
credit of 25,000 silk and bunting flags that he 
has sent into forty-six States of the Union and 
all the Territories. At the 13th National Con- 
vention of the Womans Relief Corps, Captain 
Foster was honored with the appointment of 
National Sponsor for the American flag. 

Captain Foster says that in summing up 
the great patriotic work accoinplished from 
1893 to the present time, the noble self-sacri- 
ficing women of the Womans Relief Corps, 
Auxiliary to the Grand Army of the Repub- 
lic, and the intelligent patriotic women teach- 
ers who have so enthusiastically co-operated 
with him, must not be forgotten, for they have 
been his strength and inspiration in all his 
work. To them he gives the honor and credit 
for introducing the patriotic curriculum in our 
pubhc schools, for he believes they are God's 
natural teachers of the young; and it can be 
truthfully claimed for the Womans Relief 
Corps, in its patriotic interest, that not an- 
other organization in the world can lay claim 
to or show such a glorious record in all good 
deeds to elevate the best good in mankind and 
citizenship. Mercy and kindness to dumb 
animals was another good work in which Cap- 
tain Foster was interested, and he practiced 
what he preached. He was also a great lover 
of children and showed it in his attention to 
them. His own favorite school. No. 32. he 
loves and calls "his little family," for he takes 
a special interest in the pu])ils. 

Captain Foster has never refused to give 

a helping hand to the worthy poDr and hungry 
when called upon. 

He was married April 25, 1866, to Jane 
Miller Doggett, eldest daughter of the late 
William F. Doggett, auditor of the I'ennsyl- 
vania Railroad Company. This union was 
blessed with a son and daughter, his son liv- 
ing. His daughter died Sept. 6, 1881, and 
his wife May 2, 1894. Captain Foster is a 
member of the Tabernacle Presbyterian 
Church, formerly the old Third Presbyterian 
Church, uniting with the church in 1867. He 
resides in his own home at No. 2030 North 
Capitol avenue, Indianapolis, where he has 
lived. since 1882, engaged in his patriotic life 
work, which has extended to every State and 
Territory in the Union, co-operating with 
more than four hundred and fifty thousand 
loyal women in the Womans Relief Corps, 
Daughters of the American Revolution and 
teachers in the public schools. 

Captain Foster is a charter member of 
George H. Thomas Post, No. 17, Department 
of Indiana, G. A. R. ; an honorary member of 
the Patriotic League, Loyal Home Workers ; 
a memlier of Mystic Tie Lodge, F. & A. M., 
and Adoniram Grand Lodge of Perfection, 
Scottish Rite Masons. 

Captain Foster has had the uncommon 
distinction of having two mountains named in 
his honor — everlasting witnesses to his un- 
faltering patriotic citizenship. Both moun- 
tains were named in 1900. One of these, Mt. 
Foster, so named by Mrs. Samantha West 
Miller, of Indianapolis, and her daughter. 
Miss Elizabeth Miller (author of "The 
Yoke"), is located in the Ouray. Colo., group, 
1 1 ,000 feet above the level of the sea. By a 
singular coincidence, on the same day, Mt. 
Capt. Wallace Foster was named by Mrs. 
George A. King, of Denver. Colo. This lat- 
ter mountain is in the Montezuma group in 
Clear Creek county, Colo., near Elk Springs. 

Of Captain Foster, General Coburn wrote : 
"I knew Captain Wallace Foster before the 
war of the Rebellion. He lived from his boy- 
hood in Indianapolis, Ind., and went out 
among the early volunteers from this State. 
His reputation is that of a brave and faithful 
soldier. I did not serve in the same army 
with him, and am not a personal witness of 
his conduct. He, I know personally, came out 
of the military service with the reputation of 
a brave, intelligent and faithful soldier. No 
man of his rank surpassed him in the line of 
dutv well performed. I regret to say that I 



•cannot speak of his ccnduct in the tiekl from 
personal knowledge. But I know that he has, 
since his service during the war of the Re- 
bellion, the respect of his comrades in arms, 
who, without exception, speak in the highest 
terms of his arduous and gallant service. 

"He is well known as the author of the 
movement to call the attention of the whole 
people to the protection of and a reverence 
lor the flag of our country." 

yi. U., a surgeon of Indianapolis, whose office 
and hospital are at No. 522 North Illinois 
street, was born in Licking county, Ohio, June 
II, 1847. His parents were Edwin and L\dia 
(_ Eaton) Runnels, natives of \ermont and 
New York, respectively. 

The Runnels family is of Scotch and Eng- 
lish descent, and has long been established ni 
America, the ancestors settling first in Nova 
Scotia, after leaving Scotland, and later mi- 
grating to Vermont. The Doctor's great- 
grandiather, Stephen Runnels, was in the bat- 
tie of Bunker Hill, and was among those who 
lost guns in the battle. He later became cor- 
poral, according to the New Hampshire Pro- , 
vincial records. 

Col. Daniel Runnels (otherwise Reynolds, 
written interchangeably), great-great-uncle of 
Dr. Runnels, was captain of Company I, in ■ 
Col. Nichols' regiment, which went with Col. 
Stark to Bennington in 1776. Later he be- 
came major and colonel of that regiment. It 
is stated that few Revolutionary records were 
more praiseworthy than his. His gradual 
growth, and acknowledged merit and distinc- 
tion as an officer, and perseverance to the end, 
had given him high rank among the Rcvolu- 
ticnary soldiers of New Hampshire. 

A cousin, Enos Runnels, was also in the 
battle of Bunker Hill, in Capt. JMoore's com- 
pany, Col. Stark's regiment. They started 
from IMedford early in the morning, and 
reached Bunker Hill "along in the forenoon." 
They marched to the redoubt, which was then 
lull. Orders were given to the regiment to 
take the post on the left when the rail fence 
was commenced, and he helped to make it. 
He afterward enlisted for three years, and 
served in the Northern army under Gen. 
Schuyler: was taken prisoner by the Indians 
and delivered to the British. He escaped im- 
prisonment at Ticonderoga, rejoined the army 
under Gen. Gates, and was present at the sur- 
render of Gen. Burgoyne at Saratoga. At the 

time of Arnold's treachery he was stationed at 
West Point, and performed guard duty in the 
same room with Major Andre on the last 
night of his life. 

Stephen Runnels, the grandfather, was 
born at Topsham, \'t., and was a farmer by 
vocation. He migrated from his native State 
to Ohio in i8ig, and died in Licking county 
at the age of nfty-nine years. On Jan. 26, 
1806, at Cambridge, \t., he married Jane 

Edwin Runnels at the age of twelve years, 
in 1819, migrated with nis parents from Tops- 
ham, Vt., to Licking county, Ohio, where he 
grew to manhood amid pioneer conditions. 
Clearing up a farm and living there until late 
in life, when he removed to Red Oak, Iowa, 
where he died in 1879, aged seventy-two 
years. His wife died three years previously, 
aged sixty-seven years. In religious faith 
tney were originally Baptists, but latterly 
Methodists. He was a public speaker and a 
great anti-slavery man, being a conductor on 
the so-called "tmderground railway," in Ohio. 
Eleven children were born to him and his 
wife, seven sons and four daughters, of whom 
six are now living, namely : Celestia R., wife 
of George C. Hicks, of Sidney, Iowa ; Or- 
mond, of Red Oak, Iowa ; Annie P., wife of 
Charles JMcFarland, of Nipomo, Cal. ; Dr. 
Orange S., of Indianapolis, Ind. ; Dr. iMoses 
T., of Kansas City, Mo. ; and Sherwin T., of 
Nipomo, California. 

Dr. Runnels's maternal grandfather was 
from Connecticut, and was of English stock. 
He was a farmer, and resided first in Con- 
necticut, later at Rome, N. Y., and then in 
Licking county, Ohio, where he died at an 
advanced age. 

Orange Scott Runnels was reared in Lick- 
ing county, Ohio, worked on a farm, and at- 
tended the district school as much as possible 
during the winter terms. He also attended 
Oberlin College off and on for several years, 
but his health failed before he completed the 
ccurse. He taught a district school each win- 
ter in order to get money to defray his col- 
lege expenses. He studied medicine under 
Dr. J. B. Hunt, of Columbus, Ohio, and grad- 
uated from the Cleveland University of Medi- 
cine in February, 1871, in April of the same 
year locating for practice in Indianapolis, 
where he has followed his profession ever 
since with marked success. In 1890 he estab- 
lished his private surgical hospital at No. 522 
North Illinois street, and he has enlarged it 



from time to time. He devotes himself ex- 
clusively to surgical practice, and has attained 
national eminence in his specialty. He has 
been a voluminous contributor to professional 
literature. Oberlin College conferred upon 
him the honorary degree of A. ^NL, in 1894. 

Dr. Runnels was surgeon general of In- 
diana, under Governor Mount, and estab- 
lished and conducted Camp Mount Military 
Hospital, upon the return of the Indiana 
troops from the Spanish American war, in 
1898. He is a member of the County, State 
and National Medical Societies, and of the 
Surgical and Gynecological Association of the 
American Institute of Homeopathy, besides 
being an honorary member of the ^Massachu- 
setts Surgical and Gynecological Society, of the 
New York State Homeopathic Society, of the 
JNIissouri Institute of Homeopathy, of the 
Kentucky Homeopathic Society, and of the 
Southern Homeopathic Association. He is an 
ex-president of the County, State and Na- 
tional Homeopathic Aledical Societies, and is 
also an ex-president of the American Asso- 
ciation of Orificial Surgeons. He was chair- 
man of the delegates of the American Insti- 
tute of Homeopathy to the World's Homeo- 
pathic Congress held at Basle, Switzerland, 
in 1886, and was made vice-president of that 
body. He is a member of the Commercial 
Club, the University Club, and the Indianap- 
olis Literary Society ; in religion he is a mem- 
ber of the Plymouth Congregational Church 
of Indianapolis. 

On June 20, 1872, Dr. Runnels was mar- 
ried to J\Iiss Dora Clark, of Columbus, Ohio. 
Four children were born to this union, all 
sons, namely : Edwin C, who died aged five 
years; Walter, who died aged eight months; 
Scott C, who still survives ; and Clark, who 
died aged nine years. 2>ilrs. Runnels died in 
1 89 1, aged forty-five years. She was a mem- 
ber of the Plymouth Congregational Church. 

On June 28, 1893, Dr. Runnels was mar- 
ried to Mrs. Alice }ilcCulloch, widow of Rev. 
Oscar C. McCulloch, of Indianapolis, and 
daughter of M. R. Barteau. of Appleton, Wis. 
Dr. and Mrs. Runnels reside at Xo. 1 100 
North 2\Ieridian street. 

COL. IVAN N. WALKER, deceased, of 
Indianapolis, was born just north of Rush- 
ville. Rush Co., Ind.. Feb. 3, 1S39. .^on of 
James and Jane (McRride) Walker, both na- 
tives of North Carolina. 

John Walker, the grandfather of Col. I. 

N., was born in \'irginia, and was an early 
settler in North Carolina. About 1820 he 
came to Indiana, and made a location in the 
Little Blue river valley, Center township, Rush 
county, where he bought a half section of 
land, and made his home until 1853. In that 
year when he was seventy-five years of age, 
he sold his place, and moved into Hendricks 
county, where about as soon as he was nicely 
established, he was fatally injured in an acci- 
dent at Plainfield. Air. Walker was twice 
married, and by his first wife had thirteen 
children, and seven by his second. He was 
a Presbyterian minister, and after coming 
west he became identified with the Christian 
Church, and was a pioneer preacher of that 
body at the time of his death. 

The maternal grandfather of Colonel Wal- 
ker was Robert McBride, who was a native 
of North Carolina, and of Scotch descent. In 
the war of 1812, in the Creek war and in the 
Seminole war, he held a captain's commis- 
sion, and did valiant service. About 1820 he 
came to Indiana, and settled in Rush county, 
where he died at the age of eighty-eight 
vears. His wife was Betsev (Heathman) 

James Walker, father of Col. I. N., was a 
member of the Walker Lead Company of 
Cincinnati, and was actively engaged in busi- 
ness there, when he died at an advanced age 
about four years ago. His wife died about 
three years ago, also reaching an advanced 
age. His career has been that of a merchant 
and manufacturer. Both husband and wife 
were members of the Christian Church. They 
were the parents of the following children : 
Col. Ivan N. ; Sarah, the wife of J. F. Kinney, 
of Cincinnati ; Elizabeth, the wife of J. K. 
Rugg, of Cincinnati; James M., of Cincin- 
nati ; Martha, the widow of Colonel Beck, of 
Connersville, Ind. ; Emma, the widow of Wal- 
ter Whittaker, formerly of St. Louis ; John, 
who is deceased ; Franklin P. and Alfred B., 
both of Cincinnati. 

Col. Ivan N. Walker was three }ears old 
when his parents moved to northern Indiana, 
and the most of his younger life was spent at 
Fort Wayne, where he passed through the 
public schools and the local academy. His 
entrance into business life was as agent for 
the United States and American Express 
Companies, serving two and a half years in 
that capacity. In i860 he was made deputy 
warden at the Northern Indiana State Prison 
at Michigan City, which position he retained 



Tintil 1862. During the Civil war, in 1862, 

Colonel Walker raised a compan}-, which was 
known as Company K, 73d Ind. V. I., he go- 
ing to the front as captain of that command. 
Six months later he was made a major of the 
regiment at the battle of Stone River. Imme- 
diately afterward he was made lieutenant 
colonel of the regiment, and the following 
I\Iay was raised to the rank of colonel. This 
was following the death of Colonel Hatha- 
way, who was killed at the battle of Blount's 
Farm. Colonel \\'alker was in active service 
two years and three months, being but slightly 
wounded during the entire time. He was on 
the battlefields of Richmond, Ky., Perry ville, 
Stone River, Sand Mountain, Crooked Creek, 
Blount's Farm, Decatur, Athens and at Nash- 
ville. He was a prisoner of war in Libby 
Prison, and was one of the 109 who escaped 
through the tunnel Feb. 9, 1864. 

After the war Colonel Walker established 
himself in mercantile pursuits and manufactur- 
ing at Nashville, Tenn., and was a resident of 
that historic city until 1871, when poor health 
compelled a change of scene and a location 
farther north. That year he came to Indian- 
apolis, and made his home in this city up to 
the time of his death. For eight years he was 
the chief deputy in the auditor's office of 
]\larion county, and in 1890 was the Repub- 
lican candidate for the office of auditor of the 
State. In 1891 he became State tax commis- 
sioner of Indiana, and served in that capacity 
for eight years, and later was tax agent for 
the Pennsylvania Railway Company. 

When Colonel Walker came to Indian- 
apolis he associated himself with George H. 
Thomas Post, G. A. R., and was its com- 
mander in 1885. The following year he was 
appointed assistant adjutant general of the 
Department of Indiana, and served as such 
until he was elected Department Commander 
in 1891. In 1893 he was chosen senior vice 
commander-in-chief, and two years later was 
unanimously elected commander-in-chief at 
the National Encampment at Louisville, an 
office he ably filled for one year, the allotted 
time for that position. He was also for some 
}ears chairman of the pension committee of 
the G. A. R., and through his efforts some 
12,000 pensions that had been illegally stopped 
were restored without re-examination. 

Colonel Walker was married Oct. 27. 1864, 
to JNIiss Anna Layton. a daughter of William 
C. and Sarah J.' (Dunn) Laytcn. To this 
union were born five children, namely : ( I ) 

Lizzie married William E. Sharp, of Indian- 
apolis; (2) Lena died at the age of fourteen 
years; (3) Sarah married Morris Black, of 
Cleveland, a graduate of Harvard, and a bril- 
liant young lawyer, who died three months 
after their marriage. Mrs. Black was thor- 
oughly educated in music in the schools of 
this country and in Europe, and is now filling 
a six years' engagement singing in the Royal 
Opera at Menna, Austria, as prima donna 
contralto. (4) Layton C, who died Sept. 8, 
1903, was bookkeeper for the Indianapolis 
Rubber Company; (5) Percy married H. D. 
Hammond, of Indianapolis. 

Mrs. Walker and family belong to the 
]\Ieridian Street Methodist Church. Col. Wal- 
ker was a member of Star Lodge, No. 7. K. 
P., and of the business firm known as the Wal- 
ker Lead Company, of Cincinnati and St. 
Louis. He passed away Sept. 22, 1905. 

CHARLES E. COOTS, who has been 
cliief of the Indianapolis Fire Department 
since 1901, is a man of peculiar fitness for that 
position. His long experience in the depart- 
ment has made him familiar with the work of 
fire fighting, and the equally important work 
of preventing fires, to an unusual degree : his 
executive ability enables him to keep the af- 
fairs of the department in excellent working 
order; his efficiency and proven trustworthi- 
ness have gained him the good-will of the pub- 
lic to a remarkable extent. He is widely 
known, having numerous friends both in and 
out of the department, and enjoys a measure 
of the confidence of the people of Indianap- 
olis which should serve to spur any man to his 
best efl'orts. 

Mr. Coots is a native of Indiana, born July 
22, 1 85 1, in Hagerstown, Wayne county, son 
of John and Lemira E. (Owens) Coots, and 
grandson of John Coots. His grandfather 
lived in Kentucky, where he owned a planta- 
tion and slaves, which he lost in the stress 
and storm of the Civil war. He lived to an 
advanced age. 

John Coots, father of Charles E., was born 
in Shelby county, Ky., and was one of a nu- 
merous family. He came to Indiana about 
1846, locating in Wayne county, where lie 
passed the remainder of his comparatively 
short life, dying there in 1854. at the early 
age of thirty-five. He was a farmer by occu- 
pation. He married Lemira E. Owens, like 
himself a native of Shelby county. Ky.. and 
tlicir onlv child that reached maturity was 


Charles E., whose name introduces these Hnes. 
JMrs. Coots still survives, making her home 
with her son in Indianapolis. She is a mem- 
ber of the Presbyterian Church, to which her 
husband also belonged. 

Thaddeus Owens, maternal grandfather of 
Charles E. Coots, was born in \'ermpnt, and 
served as a soldier in the war of 1812. When 
a young man he migrated to Shelby county, 
Ky., where he married and where most of his 
children were born, and later he came to 
Wayne county, Ind., where he was a hotel- 
keeper in the early days. He was twice mar- 
ried, first to Lemira Elliott, who was born in 
New York, and had six daughters by his two 
marriages, five born to the first union, yir. 
Owens attained a good old age. 

Charles E. Coots lived in Cambridge City, 
Ind., until eighteen years of age, when he 
came to Indianapolis, and here he has since 
maintained his home. He attended the public 
schools of Cambridge, and when a young man 
learned the trade of stove molding, which he 
continued to follow for five years after his 
removal to Indianapolis. On Aug. 17, 1878, 
he entered the Indianapolis Fire Department, 
with which he has ever since been connected. 
For several years he was captain, in 1896 was 
made assistant chief, and in November, 1901, 
was promoted to chief, in which position he 
has since been retained. He not only attends 
to his duties in a manner highly satisfactory 
to the city by which his services are engaged, 
but with such good eiTect that his reputation 
has extended to other cities. He is liberal in 
his estimate of the work required of one in so 
important an office, and endeavors to discharge 
his obligations conscientiously, sparing neither 
pains nor labor to bring the department up to 
the highest mark of efficiency. He has under 
his charge twenty-eight engine houses and 250 
men, eleven engines, twenty-six hose wagons, 
nine ladder companies, one water tower and 
three chemical engines. Forty-five thousand 
feet of hose are required to equip the hose 
wagons. In 1906 they laid out 349.741 feet, 
elevated 22,288 feet of ladder," and with the 
apparatus traveled 11,232 miles, not counting 
the trips made by the chief's buggies. In 1906 
there were 1,203 alarms of fire. 

On Oct. 21, 1873. Mr. Coots was married 
in Indianapolis to ^liss Jeanette Morton, who 
was born in Steuben county, X. Y., daughter 
of Ebcr L. and Lucy (Gastin) Morton.^both 
of whom were born in Xew York State. To 
this union have come two children : Howard 

^l. graduated from high school and from the 
School of Design in Philadelphia, then took 
a course of one year in the Cincinnati, Ohio, 
School of Art, and is now working in Chicago 
at interior designing, doing high art work. 
May L. Coots, the daughter, graduated from 
high school, and is now the wife of Charles 
Hanna, an attorney at law, Judge of the Su- 
perior court, member of the firm of Hanna & 
Daly, who have offices in the Lemcke build- 
ing, in Indianapolis. 

Air. and Airs. Coots reside at Xo. 423 East 
Xew York street, Indianapolis. Air. Coots is 
a prominent Scottish Rite Alason, member of 
Capitol City Blue Lodge,' Xo. 312, and also 
maintains membership in the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. In political con- 
nection he is a Republican. Airs. Coots is a 
member of the Central Avenue Alethodist 

one of the most prominent citizens of Indian- 
apolis, long identified with the city"s business 
interests, a leading politician, and an honored 
veteran of the Civil war, was born Alarch 31, 
1843, in Poughkeepsie, X. Y., a son of Dr. 
George W. and Julia A. (AlcBridej Shep- 

Dr. George \\'. Shepherd was of English 
descent, but was born and reared and also mar- 
ried in Xew York, in the city of Utica, his 
immediate ancestors having been farming peo- 
ple of that State. His father's children were : 
Richard ; Xicholas, of California ; Robert ; 
George W. ; Lydia, who died in 1898, wife of 
Hon. H. D. \irack, of Poughkeepsie ; Sallie, 
who first married a Air. Parmely, of Canada, 
and later Edwin Goodwin, secretary of an in- 
surance company at Hartford, Conn. ; and 
Alary, who died unmarried in 1899. Dr. 
George W. Shepherd was a prominent physi- 
cian of the Eclectic School and practised med- 
icine and surgery for more than fifty years in 
Xew York State. He then spent a few years 
in South Carolina, in the drug business, re- 
turning later to his old home, where he died 
in 1898. For more than a half century he was 
a prominent member of the Presbyterian 
Church at Dansville. serving as deacon and 
Sabbath-school superintendent for many years, 
and was one of its leading supporters. He 
was a man of many charities and commanded 
the respect of all with whom he came in con- 
tact. Dying at the age of eighty years, he left 
onlv warm friends among those who had 



known him best. His wife, Julie A. ]McBritle, 
was born in Utica, N. Y., a daughter of Rob- 
ert ^IcBride, who was born in the north of 
Ireland, of Scotch-Irish ancestry. In early 
manhood JNIr. ^IcBride emigrated to America 
and as he was a civil engineer by profession he 
settled at Utica, N. Y., where he was made 
superintendent of the locks construction work 
on the Erie Canal, later undertaking other 
large contracts and becoming prominent ami 
wealthy in the pursuit of his profession. 
Through indorsing notes for false friends he 
lost the bulk of his property, and he spent his 
last days with his daughter, j\lrs. Shepherd, 
at Dansville, where he died at the age of 
ninety-seven years. Mv. McBride reared a 
family of thirteen children, five of whom 
passed away in infancy, the names of the oth- 
ers being: Julia A., Airs. Shepherd; Louise, 
who married J. F. Bernard, of Chicago ; Su- 
san, who became JMrs. Sheriden, of New York ; 
Helen, who married Thomas Collier, of Can- 
andaigua, N. Y. ; Jane, who married United 
States Senator E. G. Lapham, of Attica, N. 
Y. ; James, deceased ; Robert, deceased ; and 
John, who, at the time of his death, was a 
justice of the peace in St. Louis, Missouri. 

Children as follows were born to Dr. 
Shepherd and his wife : Henry V., for many 
years a prominent railroad man, who died in 
1S98 at the age of fifty-seven, in Indianapolis; 
James ]McB. ; Edward S., who is president of 
the Crerar Adams Railway Supply Company, 
of Chicago; Aliss Alary L. ; and Susan, who 
married Frank Shepherd (no relative), of 
Xew York. Both parents were valued mem- 
bers of church and social circles. In politics 
Dr. Shepherd was originally a Whig, later a 

James AIcBride Shepherd was reared at 
A'ienna, N. Y., was educated in the schools of 
Dansville, and remained under the parental 
roof until he was eighteen years of age, when 
he went to Danville, Pa., and accepted a cler- 
ical position there, remaining until his enlist- 
ment, in September, 1861, in Company H. Jth 
Pennsylvania Cavalry, for three years. Soon 
after enlistment he was appointed quarter- 
master sergeant and took the first squad of 
his company into camp. When the regiment 
was ready for service it was assigned to the 
Army of the Cumberland and for three years 
and two months this brave and loyal soldier 
endured all the privations and rigors of war. 
After eighteen months of faithful service he 
was promoted to be orderly sergeant and in 

March, 1S64, sergeant-major for the 17th 
\'eteran Reserve Corps, which position he held 
until he was mustered out, on Xov. 20, 1864, 
receiving an honorable discharge. During 
this period he had held many responsible po- 
sitions, having charge of companies of men 
and commissaries, and acquitted himself with 
such credit that he received praise and thanks 
from the highest quarters. However, the 
long exposure and hardship developed chronic 
troubles for which his pension from the gov- 
ernment scarcely compensated. The greater 
part of his field of service was in Tennessee, 
under General Thomas, that noble, fearless 
leader, and he participated in many hard- 
fought battles, receiving but a slight wound. 
After the close of his army life Mr. Shep- 
herd located at Indianapolis and engaged 
again in clerking, later taking charge of the 
Aleikel Brewery, in which position he contin- 
ued for ten years. He then commenced his 
contracting and construction work, beginning 
with the excavating and paving of streets. 
After prospering in this line for several years 
he received an appointment as quartermaster- 
general of the State, from Gov. Isaac P. Gray, 
and most capably filled the office for four 
years. Resuming his old line of activity, he 
found that his health was not equal to the 
strain, and he was thus obliged to abandon 
active labor. He was confined to his bed, 
helpless from rheumatism, for two years be- 
fore his death, which occurred Jan. 14, 1906. 
Air. Shepherd possessed valuable property in 
the city and one of its most comfortable 

In politics Air. Shepherd was long an in- 
fluential member of the Democratic party and 
he filled ixisitions of trust and responsibility. 
From 18(18 he was prominently identified with 
city affairs, served three terms in the council, 
and was many times selected as a delegate to 
the various city, county and State organiza- 
tions. He was a man of strong convictions of 
right and wrong, pursuing a path in life 
guided by conscientious motives. 

On Jan. 11, 1865, Air. Shepherd was 
united in marriage with Aliss Alary A. Aleikel, 
who was born April 4. 1843, and was bap- 
tized by Rev. Henry Ward Beecher. She at- 
tended first the common schools and finished 
at the seminary of St. Alary's of the Woods, 
and is a lady of the highest culture and most 
amiable qualities. She is a descendant of an 
honored pioneer family, a daughter of John 
P. and Afary AI. (Weaner) Aleikel, the for- 



mer of whom was born in Nassau in 1814, 
and the latter in Baiern, Germany, in 1820. 
Mrs. Meikel was twelve years of age when her 
parents came to Cincinnati, where she married 
IMr. Meikel. Ey trade Mr. Weaner was a 
blacksmith. He died at Newport, Ky., a 
Protestant in religious faith ; Mrs. Weaner 
died at Indianapolis, at the age of ninety 
years, a member of the Catholic Church. 

In 1840 John P. Meikel moved to Indian- 
apolis, then a small town, and assisted in the 
development of its industries. At that time no 
railroads intersected the country or centered 
here, and he engaged in the freighting busi- 
ness frcm Cincinnati, did city teaming, and 
later became a prominent contractor. In as- 
sociation with \'. Butch & Pottage he erected 
the Washington Hall, which was the first 
large assembly room in the city, and later he 
bought the large brewery of Gause & Em- 
bery, about 1856. Subsequently he bought 
the old "Carlisle House," on the corner of 
Washington and California streets, moved 
the brewery to that location, built a small dis- 
tillery and manufactured whiskey. His power 
was one horse at that time, but later he put in 
steam power, had the largest brewery, and 
manufactured nothing but beer. He was one 
of the enterprising and public-spirited men of 
the early days in Indianapolis and he was 
always ready to assist others to prosper, de- 
siring wealth for his neighbors as well as 
himself. At one time he was probably the 
wealthiest man in the city, but his generosity 
in indorsing notes caused him to be caught in 
the panic of 1873, and his whole vast estate 
was swallowed up. His honorable character 
was shown in his resignation of everything, 
even when it was to pay debts he did not owe. 
In politics he was a Democrat, but never ac- 
cepted office. Through life he was a consist- 
ent -member of the Lutheran Church. Dur- 
ing his years of ample means no religious, 
political or public-spirited appeal was made to 
him in vain. 

The family of Mr. Meikel. brothers and 
sisters, all came to America and became 
worthy citizens. They were : Jacob P. : Jus- 
tin ; Charles P.. who died at Greencastle ; 
Henry J., and Catherine, Mrs. Piattle. Two 
children were bcrn to Mr. Meikel: Henry J., 
who served for three months in the Civil war 
and died at Indianapolis: and Marv A., the 
wife of Mr. Shepherd. Mr. Meikel died in 
this city in 1886, but his wife still survives, at 

the age of eighty-seven years, a beloved mem- 
ber ot her daughter's family. 

The children born to Air. and Airs. Shep- 
herd were: Henry M., who died in infancy; 
John W., born in 1866, a gas and steam-fitter 
by trade, now conducting a hotel at Bastrop, 
Texas; and Edward, born in 1867, who is en- 
gaged in a drug business at Chattanooga, 

Air. Shepherd was a Presbyterian in re- 
ligious belief, but Airs. Shepherd was reared 
in the faith of the Catholic Church. His fra- 
ternal relations were most cordial in George 
H. Thomas Post, G. A. R., and the Union 
\'eteran League. 

Even before the days of Hippocrates, ^scu- 
lapius and Galen, in ancient ages, suft'ering 
mankind turned agonized eyes upon heal- 
ers whose knowledge of human ills was but 
superficial, if knowledge they possessed at all, 
and after the advent of these ancient empirics 
found relief of a temporan,- character only, 
through use of medicines they had compound- 
ed ; and so it went on until the days of \Villiam 
Harvey, discoverer of the circulation of the 
blood, who with other anatomists helped to 
make the practice of medicine an exact science. 
But the enormous strides made in medical 
science within the past quarter of a century 
have outstripped all that had been done be- 
fore for hundreds of years, and justly famous 
as the predecessors of the physicians of the 
present generation were it is doubtful if their 
intrinsic merits exceeded those of the medical 
men we have now among us. In Indianapolis 
the best known among these is the venerable 
Dr. \\'illiam H. Wishard. 

Dr. Wishard was born in Nicholas comity, 
Ky., Jan. 17, 1816, the eldest child of John 
and Agnes H. (Oliver) Wishard, natives, 
respectively, of Pennsylvania and Kentucky. 
They had eleven children born to them, three 
of whom are still living : Dr. William H. : 
Ri.v. Samuel E., a Presbyterian minister, of 
Los Angeles. Cal. ; and Alargaret A., widow of 
Dr. Thomas B. Noble, of Greenwood, Ind. The 
father was always a farmer. He was taken 
to Kentucky by his parents when one year old, 
grew to manhood in that State, and came to 
Indiana in 1825. He commanded a company 
of riflemen in the Black Hawk war and was 
also colonel of a ccmiiany of State militia, the 
^()th Indiana. He lived ten miles south of 


/h-^ TV. 'yr:^^A^^^a<^ -^ ^^ 



Indianapolis, near Glenn's \'alley, just in the 
€dge of Johnson county. He died at Green- 
wood, Johnson county, in September, 1878, 
in his eighty-seventh year, from a partial sun- 
stroke. He had a brother who lived to be 
ninety, and a sister who lived to be ninety- 
five years and seven days old. His wife died 
in August, 1849, in her fifty-eighth year. 
Both were Presbyterians. 

The paternal grandfather of Dr. W. H. 
Wishard was William Wishard, a native of 
County Tyrone, Ireland, but his ancestors were 
frcm Scotland. He came to America about 
1774 and located in the State of Delaware, 
and participated in the battle of the Brandy- 
wine. He afterward moved to Redstone Fort, 
near Brownsville, Pa., but removed to Ken- 
tucky in 1793, settling in Nicliolas county, 
where he engaged in farming. He died on his 
farm, from apoplexy, at an old age, the father 
of thirteen children. 

John Oliver, the maternal grandfather of 
Dr. Wishard, was a native of \'irginia. He 
settled at Lexington, Ky., as early as 1782 
or 1783, was a companion of Daniel Boone 
and helped build the blockhouse at Lexington, 
and died in Kentucky at an advanced age. He 
was of English descent, was a farmer, and 
quite a mechanic. His wife was Martha Hen- 
derson, and they had five children who lived 
to maturity. 

^^'i^liam H. Wishard was nine years and 
nine months old when his father moved to the 
farm in Johnson county, Ind., and the Doctor 
lived on the farm until twenty-two years of 
age. He was educated in an old log school- 
house. In the winter of 1837-38 he began 
tlie study of medicine, under the preceptor- 
ship of E)r. Benjamin S. Noble, of Greenwood, 
with whom he was afterward in partnership 
for ten years, until Dr. Noble moved to Iowa, 
where he died in i86g. Dr. Wishard first 
attended lectures at the Ohio Medical 
College, at Cincinnati, afterward graduated 
from" the Laporte (Ind.) Medical College, 
and again went to the Ohio Medical College, 
where he took another course. He practised 
continuously from April 22, 1840, until Janu- 
ary, 1906, being located at Greenwood until the 
breaking out of the Civil war, during which he 
served as a volunteer surgeon in the 59th Indi- 
ana Regiment, and later in the 83d Indiana. 
While acting in the capacity of volunteer sur- 
geon he rendered a notable service to the 
wounded and disabled soldiers, one that was of 
sufficient importance to make it a matter of his- 

torical record. Realizing that the facilities 
were insufficient for caring for the sick and 
wounded soldiers on the field and in hospitals, 
and removing them to their Northern homes, 
Dr. Wishard reported these facts to General 
Stone, Quartermaster General of Indiana, who 
requested him to obtain all the information 
regarding the disabled troops belonging to the 
Department of the Mississippi after the sur- 
render of Vicksburg and turn it over to Indi- 
ana's celebrated war governor, Oliver P. 
Morton. So complete was Dr. Wishard's re- 
port that Governor JNIorton secured through the 
War Department an order to remove all sick 
and wounded troops from the front to North- 
ern hospitals — the first order of the kind to be 
issued. Dr. Wishard was present during the 
siege of Vicksburg and on the morning 0+' 
July 4, 1864, marched into that city with 
General Grant's army. General Stone arrived 
the same day with a communication from Gov- 
ernor Morton to the chief surgeon of General 
Grant's staff, requesting the removal of sol- 
diers according to the order referred to. In 
a pompous manner, characteristic of him, the 
chief surgeon declined, telling General Stone 
to present his compliments to Governor Mor- 
ton and tell him the medical department was 
able to discharge its duties without his assis- 
tance. At General Stone's request Dr. Wish- 
ard then personally secured from each of the 
hospitals a list of disabled Indiana soldiers, 
with their capacity for providing for them; 
also a list of the boats for transporting soldiers 
and their accommodations for the same. Gen- 
eral Stone returned to Indianapolis at once 
and gave the facts to Governor Morton, who 
started for Washington the same night. He 
applied to Secretary Stanton for an order that 
would insure the execution of the first order, 
but Secretary Stanton refused to comply, 
whereupon Governor Morton hnmediately ap- 
pealed to President Lincoln. Without delay 
a cabinet meeting was called, attended by 
Governor Morton, who personally presented 
the matter in an earnest and cfifective speech. 
Secretary Stanton claimed the reports were 
not to be relied upon, and that if the order 
was granted other States would complain of 
partiality being shown to Indiana. The Pres- 
ident called in Surgeon General Barnes and on 
investigation it was found that the report made 
by Dr. Wishard to Governor Morton did not 
vary three per cent, from the reports made by 
the'Surgeon General through official channels. 
Secretary Stanton was told by the President 



to issue a general order, whereby all sick and 
wounded soldiers could be sent home, and so- 
liciting the co-operation of all the governors 
of the different States. At first the order was 
resented by the medical officers in high author- 
ity, who thought their prerogatives were be- 
ing ignored, but the President said it was a 
humane act and must be complied with. Im- 
mediately the order went into eft'ect hospital 
boats were equipped, the transportation North 
of the sick and wounded became the first work 
of the medical department, and thus many lives 
were saved. With the steamer "Sunnyside," 
Dr. Wishard was the first surgeon to make a 
trip for that purpose, going from Vicksburg 
to Natchez, on to Cairo, and from there to 
Indianapolis. Gen. Lew. Wallace and other 
men of prominence in the army have repeat- 
edly stated the entire credit for this order, 
which brought untold relief to the suft'ering, 
was due to Dr. Wishard. For all the time and 
services thus given to the country in its time 
of peril, covering a period of over two and a 
half years, he never accepted any compensa- 
tion except his personal expenses. During 
almost the entire period of the Civil war his 
residence was at Glenn's Valley, on the old 
homestead which he had purchased from his 
father and which his father had purchased 
from the Government. In the spring of 1864 
he moved his home to Southport, Marion Co., 
Ind. After the war he practised medicine 
at Southport until the fall of 1876, when 
he was elected coroner of Marion coun- 
ty, in which office he served four years. 
To facilitate the discharge of the duties of 
that office he removed to Indianapolis, where 
he has remained ever since. His professional 
services were still in demand to a flattering 
degree when he retired from practice in Jan- 
uary, 1906, after celebrating his ninetieth 

On Dec. 17, 1840, the Doctor married Miss 
Harriet N. Moreland, the youngest daughter 
of Rev. John R. and Rachel McGohan More- 
land, the former at one time pastor of the First 
Presbyterian Church of Indianapolis. Nine 
children were born to this union, the four 
eldest of whom died in early childhood, those 
w-lio survive being: William N., Albert W., 
George W., Harriet J. (the wife of Dr. John 
G. Wishard, medical missionary in Teheran, 
Persia), and Elizabeth M. (who is living at 
home). Of the sons, William N. is a physi- 
cian and a professor in the Indiana Aledical 

College; he married ^liss Alice M. Woollen,, 
who died eight months later, and he afterward 
married I\liss Frances C. Scoville, by whom he 
has two children, William Niles, Jr., and 
Charles Scoville. Albert W. is an attorney in 
Indianapolis and has been a State senator, 
and was afterward United States District At- 
torney for Indiana; he married i\Iiss Fannie 
Cooper, who is deceased, and subsequently 
married Miss Corrie Wallace, of Hopkinsville, 
Ky. George W. is in the farm loan business 
in Minneapolis, JNIinn. ; he married ]\Iiss Ida 
L. Wishard and they have three children liv- 
ing, Dwight Milton, Harriet ^^larjorie and 
Robert Moreland. The Doctor and his fam- 
ily are members of the Presbyterian Church. 
Throughout his life Dr. Wishard has never 
allowed the pressure of professional work to 
interfere with his church and religious duties, 
except in cases of emergency. For over sixty 
years he has been a ruling elder in the church 
of his choice, and has served as commissioner 
in six meetings of the General Assembly of 
the Presbyterian Church U. S. A., the last 
time being at Winona Lake, Ind., in May, 
1905, just fifty-nine years from the first time 
he represented the Indianapolis Presbytery in 
that capacity. He has thus availed himself of 
the privileges too seldom exercised by Chris- 
tian physicians, of being able to minister to 
the sin-sick as well as to the bodily ills. It 
would hardly be fair to speak of Dr. Wish- 
ard's usefulness as a citizen and physician 
without paying a tribute to his wife, to whose 
unfailing devotion much of his success may 
be attributed. With great self-denial she co- 
operated with him in the early struggles of 
their married life and was always the cheer- 
ful, patient helpmate that is to be found in the 
ideal wife and mother. j\lrs. \Mshard"s death 
occurred April 28, 1902, after a wedded life 
covering a period of more than sixty-one 
years. The family home is at No. 506 Capitol 
avenue North. 

Fraternally the Doctor is a member of 
Chapman Post, G. A. R., of w-hich he has been 
surgeon for fifteen years. He is a charter 
member of the State Medical Society, and was 
its president at the fortieth anniversary. Only 
two of the charter members are now living. 
At the fiftieth anniversary of the society Dr. 
Wishard delivered the address of welcome 
and gave a history of the organization. He 
was also for many years a member of the 
American ]\ledical Association, and is still a 


member of tlie ]\Iarion County [Medical So- 
ciety, of which he was one of the charter 
members, and was its president three years 
ago. Upon his retirement from this office the 
members of the society celebrated his eighty- 
ninth birthday at the Doctor's home, when 
his address as retiring president was read and 
the society presented him a parchment testi- 
monial, bound in a morocco cover, book form, 
and appropriately inscribed. On his ninetieth 
birthday a large oil portrait was presented by 
his sons to the Medical Society, and the day 
was fittingly celebrated by calls and congrat- 
ulations from many friends. 

When the Doctor came to Indiana to live 
the country was full of wolves, panthers, 
squirrels, wild turkeys, deer and game of all 
kinds, as well as hosts of Indians. He has 
seen this region develop from a wilderness, 
and understands from experience all about the 
hardships and privations incident to pioneer 
life. He has seen steam and electricity be- 
come the motor power of the world, and all, 
modern medical and surgical appliances 
were unknown when he began the practice of 
medicine. Anaesthesia had not been discov- 
ered, fever thermometers and hypodermics 
were not thought of, while only the surgeons 
of to-day have had the blessing of antiseptics 
to aid them in accomplishing the best results 
in their special field of work. 

Dr. Wishard was a passenger on the first 
through train that ever came from Madison 
to Indianapolis, being one of the interested 
persons who boarded the cars at Greenwood. 
On the return trip he sat by Henry Ward 
Beecher, the most distinguished divine who 
ever held a pastorate in Indianapolis, who was 
on that day leaving the Second Presbyterian 
Church to become pastor of Plymouth Church, 
Brookl}n. Dr. Wishard is the author of a 
short historical sketch of the early medical 
days of Indianapolis, together with the biog- 
raphies of a few of its pioneer physicians, the 
articles containing many important and valu- 
able facts. He has also written entertainingly 
of his experiences as an army surgeon. 

In his welcome address to the State Medi- 
cal Society upon the occasion of the celebra- 
tion of its fiftieth anniversary he gave some 
valuable advice to the younger members of 
the society, the promptings of a good heart 
called forth by a lifelong experience as a phy- 
sician, and he was particularly emjjhatic about 
the value of preserving a good character. He 
is recognized as a leading physician of Indian- 

apolis and had an active practice of over sixty- 
seven years. 

To-day Dr. Wishard occupies a unique po- 
sition in the medical and social life of Indian- 
apolis. He has frequently been called "a 
walking historical encyclopedia." His remark- 
able memory enables him to recall quickly and 
perfectly events and dates, even the days of 
the week upon which they occurred. This 
marked characteristic has not lessened his 
interest in current events, as is so often the 
case with elderly people, but he manifests an 
interest in the religious, professional and po- 
litical questions of the day equal to that of a 
man in the prime of life. In writing of him 
as a professional and personal friend, the late 
Dr. N. S. Davis, of Chicago, founder of the 
American Medical Association, said: "Dr. 
William H. Wishard of Indianapolis, Indiana, 
is one of the oldest, most intelligent, most 
useful and patriotic general practitioners of 
medicine in that State. Rendered strong and 
self-reliant by abundance of physical labor in 
his youth, with educational advantages limited 
to the public or district schools of his neighbor- 
hood, he is in the best sense a self-made man. 
Though contributing but little to the pages of 
medical literature he has for sixty-three years 
efficiently sustained the regular medical organ- 
izations, both State and National, and as 
surgeon in volunteer regiments of, Indiana 
during the Civil war, and especially during the 
siege of Vicksburg, his services were more 
than ordinarily efficient and valuable in the re- 
moval and care for the sick and wounded 
soldiers, many of whom had to be removed to 
Northern hospitals. He is one of those pio- 
neers whose integrity, industry, and efficiency, 
have been his prominent characteristics in every 
position he has been called upon to occupy." 
It is given to but few men to enjoy the 
rich heritage of an upright and honorable life 
spent in usefulness and good works, such as 
has been portioned to Dr. Wishard. Sur- 
rounded by his children and many relatives, 
honored by his professional and personal 
friends, he is passing the last years of his life 
in comfort and happiness, and although ninety- 
two vears of age he is still active physically 
and vigorous mentally. His has been a life 
well spent. 

L.\ND. Of the early ministers who helped 
to mold the moral and spiritual character of 
Indianapolis in its early days, no one left a 



stronger impress than the Rev. John Robert- 
son Moreland, who was the second pastor of 
the First Presbyterian Church. 

i\Ir. Jiloreland was born near Brownsville, 
Pa., in 1785. The death of his father threw 
him upon his own resources when little more 
than a lad, and drawn by the influence of rel- 
atives in Kentucky he went to that State, 
where during the prolonged revivals that 
marked the beginning of the nineteenth cen- 
tury he was converted under the preaching of 
the eminent Dr. Lyle. Soon after he an- 
nounced his determination to enter the min- 
istry. Having been deprived of educational 
opportunities in his boyhood he was unable to 
take up his theological studies until he had 
first received a collegiate course, which he did 
at the Transylvania University at Lexington, 
Ky., where he graduated with honors. 

Not being able to go East to attend a theo- 
logical seminary, for at that time there was 
none in the West, he began his studies with 
Rev. John Robertson and afterward went to 
the home of Rev. Thos. Cleland, D. D., of 
Harrodsburg, Ky., a Presbj'terian minister 
noted for his deep piety and power as a 
preacher, as well as a profound student, 
where he completed his preparations. For a 
short time Mr. J^Ioreland served as a mission- 
ary in Tennessee. Returning to Kentucky he 
was married to Rachel AIcGohan Stagg, June 
5, 1814. Five children were born to them, 
three daughters and two sons : Nancy Logan, 
who married William L'nthank ; Mary Ann, 
Avho married Charles B. Davis ; Harriet New- 
ell, who married Dr. William Henry Wishard ; 
Luther jMcCalla, who died in infancy, and 
William Latta, who died in 1906. at the age of 
eighty years, the last survivor of his father's 

]\Ir. Moreland successfully filled pastorates 
at Cynthiana, JNIt. Pleasant and \'ersailles, and 
for two years supplied the church at Paris, 
Ky., wliile the pastor. Rev. John jMcFarland. 
went to Europe to recuperate his health. In 
1828 Mr. Moreland was called to the First 
Church of Indianapolis. This call came 
through the influence of two of the elders, 
Mr. Ebenezer Sharp and Mr. John G. Brown. 
Avarm friends of Mr. Moreland, who had 
known him as a pastor in Kentucky, and 
served in one of his churches in that State 
as elders. He found the membership some- 
what scattered and suffering for the need of 
pastoral care. One who knew of his work in 

writing of him said : "By the blessing of God 
upon his energetic labors, in and out of the 
pulpit, the church was revived and strength- 
ened. It was during his ministry that James 
Blake and James M. Ray, co-workers in the 
vineyard for so many years, united with the 
church by a public profession of faith." Be- 
sides attending to the duties of his own church 
he was largely instrumental in the organiza- 
tion of Hopewell Church, in Johnson county, 
and Washington Church, in Washington town- 
ship, Marion county, no longer in existence, 
often going to these points to preach and seek- 
ing to bring about the establishment of the 
churches. It was while he was a pastor in 
Kentucky in 1823 that foimer members of his 
church who had emigrated' to Indiana sent 
for him to come and organize the Sand Creek 
Church, in Decatur county, now known as 

But few are living who were personally 
acquainted with Mr. ]\loreland. The late Gen. 
John Coburn, of Indianapolis, in speaking of 
him said: "As a small boy I remember the 
Rev. Mr. j\Ioreland. He was from my earliest 
recollection a preacher of the Presbyterian 
Church in Indianapolis. I was too young to 
judge of his influence as a man and of his 
power as a preacher, but he was respected and 
beloved here as a preacher by all persons." 
He served the church less than four years, and 
died Oct. 13. 1832, when only forty-seven 
years old. His wife died Aug. 19, 1839, and 
both were buried in Green Lawn cemetery. 

No better summing up of his life and the 
purposes and ambitions manifested in his daily 
walk and ministrations as a preacher and pas- 
tor can be made than is to be found in the in- 
scription placed on his gravestone by the eld- 
ers of the First Church, who requested the 
privilege of inscribing these words, "The 
Friend of God." 

of Indianapolis, was born in Greenwood, Ind., 
Oct. 10, 1851, son of Dr. William H. and 
Harriet N. (Moreland) ^^'ishard. The par- 
ents were natives of Kentucky. Of their nine 
children, four sons and five daughters, three 
sons and two daughters are now living: Dr. 
\\'illiam N. : Albert W., formerly State sen- 
ator, afterward United States District Attor- 
ney for Indiana, and later solicitor of the In- 
ternal Revenue Department, at Washington, 
D. C. : George W., of ]\Iinneapolis, Aiinn., 



where he is engaged in the farm loan business ; 
Harriet J., who married Dr. John G. Wishard, 
of Teheran, Persia; and JNliss EHzabeth M., 
at home. 

Dr. W. H. Wishard has been a physician 
for over si.xty-seven years, and though he is 
now ninety-two years old, is still active, 
though retired from the practice of his pro- 
fession. In 1825 he came to Indiana, locating 
nine miles southwest of Indianapolis, near, 
Glenn's Valley, where he grew to manhood 
and studied medicine. When about twenty- 
three years old he went to Greenwood, Ind., 
where he practised medicine for some years, 
having previously been located at White River 
Bluffs, near Waverly, for a short time. In 
1S61 he went back to the old farm near Glenn's 
Valley, where he located with his family and 
was also engaged in professional labors. Most 
of the time during the war of the Rebellion 
he was in the Union army as a surgeon. In 
1864 Dr. Wishard moved to Southport, and 
there he was engaged in professional labors 
until 1876, when he came to Indianapolis. He 
is still a resident of this city and his last years 
have been rich in friends and reputation. 

John Wishard, grandfather of Dr. William 
N. Wishard, was born at Old Redstone Fort, 
Pa., in 1792. He was colonel of an Indiana 
regiment in the Black Hawk war. He came 
to Indiana in 1825, being moved to make the 
change because of his profound antipathy to 
slavery. He settled in Johnson county, nine 
miles south of Indianapolis, and was a farmer 
by occupation. He attained a very great age, 
dying in Greenwood, five miles from his old 
home, in 1878, when eighty-seven years old. 
Uf his very large family three are still living. 
He held strong Abolition sentiments, and in 
politics was a Whig and later a Republican. 
In his religious views he was a member of the 
Presbyterian Church. 

The Wishards are of Scotch-Irish descent, 
William, the father of John, having been a 
native of Scotland, and his wife an Irish girl. 
His family were expelled from Scotland and 
lost their property, seeking refuge in Ireland 
during the religious troubles of a former cen- 
tury. They finally sought a home in the Amer- 
ican Colonies, and settled in Pennsylvania, 
where William Wishard became a soldier in 
the Revolutionary war. When the war had 
come to a successful issue he settled at Old 
Redstone Fort, Pa., and from there went to 
Nicholas county, Ky., where he died in the 
early part of the nineteenth century. 

Rev. John Moreland, the maternal grand- 
father of Dr. William N. Wishard, was reared 
in Kentucky, became a minister, and after his 
marriage came to Indiana, in 1828. He settled 
in Indianapolis, and became a noted clergy- 
man of the city, where he died in 1832, tlie 
result of an accident. At the time he was liv- 
ing in the rear of the First Presbyterian 
Church, of which he had formerly been the 
pastor, on the northwest corner of the Square 
upon which the new post-office is now located. 
Of his five children, none are living. 

William N. Wishard was born at Green- 
wood, and when he was nine years of age ac- 
companied his parents to Glenn's \ alley, 
where he remained until 1864, with the ex- 
ception of one year he spent at school in 
Tecumseh, Mich. In 1864 the family moved 
from Glenn's \'alley to Southport, where he 
joined them in April of that year, on his 
return from school in Michigan, and where 
he resided, except when away at college, until 
1876. After attending the Southport high school 
he became a student in Wabash College, at 
Crawfordsville. He did not complete his course 
at Wabash owing to ill health, but received the 
honorary degree of A. i\I. in 1891. In the fall 
of 1871 he began the study of medicine in the 
Indiana Medical College, at Indianapolis, from 
which he was graduated in 1874. For a short 
time he practised with his father, and in the 
spring of 1875 took a course of lectures at 
Aliami Medical College, Cincinnati, in the fall 
of the same year entering on the full course 
in that school, whence he was graduated in 
1876. The same year he opened an office in 
Indianapolis for the practice of his profession, 
meeting with large success in his chosen call- 
ing, and proving himself worthy of confidence 
as a citizen as well as an excellent physician. 
For seven and a half years he was the superin- 
tendent of the Indianapolis City Hospital, and 
was chiefly instrumental in its construction. He 
has been fittingly named by Dr. J. X. Kitchen 
as the real "father of the Indianapolis City 
Hosi)ital." He was largely instrumental in 
founding the Indianapolis Training School for 
Nurses in coimection with the City Hospital. 
This was the first school for nurses established 
in the State, and the second in the West, the 
first having been established in Chicago. Since 
leaving the hospital in 1887 he has been con- 
tinuously on its consulting staff of physicians. 
Dr. Wishard has also been connected as a 
member of tJie consulting staff, on genito- 
urinary diseases, with St. Vincent Hospital, 



the Protestant Deaconess Hospital, the Bobbs 
Dispensary, and the Indianapolis City Dispen- 
sary. During the time he was superintendent 
of the Hospital he also held the position of 
lecturer on Clinical Medicine in the Medical 
College of Indiana. After leaving the hospital 
he spent one winter in study in New York 
under eminent specialists to better prepare 
himself for special work in genito-urinary and 
venereal diseases, and on his return was elected 
Professor of that chair in the JMedical College, 
which position he still holds. As may be in- 
ferred, he has made a specialty of genito- 
urinary diseases, and since April i, 1888, has 
limited himself to that branch of medical 
science, and has visited Europe several times 
for study and research. He gives his time to 
office practice, consultation and operating, and 
the range of his patronage is very wide, pa- 
tients coming not only from Indiana but from 
other States as well. Not long after devoting 
himself to a specialty his original work in 
prostatic surgery brought him prominently be- 
fore the profession at large. He performed 
the first, or one of the first, operations on rec- 
ord for removal of the lateral lobes of the pros- 
tate gland through a perineal opening. He in- 
vented an instrument for use of the galvanic 
cautery on the prostate gland through a per- 
ineal opening. This is the first instrument 
devised specially for this purpose which gives 
an opportunity for direct inspection of the 
operative area and is intended as an independ- 
ent method as well as to supplement other pro- 
cedures. For a number of years Dr. Wishard 
has served as chairman of the Committee on 
jMedical Legislation for the Indiana State 
jMedical Society, and as such wrote the larger 
part of the Indiana law governing the prac- 
tice of medicine, and was the leading spirit 
in securing its passage, in March, 1897, as well 
as its subseciucnt amendments. It is conceded 
by all the profession that no one exerted a 
larger influence in the recent merger of the 
three schools of medicine — the Aledical College 
of Indiana, the Central College of Physicians 
and Surgeons, both located in Indianapolis, 
and the Fort Wayne Aledical College — than 
did Dr. Wishard. The result of this effort is 
the Medical department of Purdue Univer- 
sity established at Indianapolis, and having 
for its teaching force the largest and strongest 
body of physicians and surgeons ever united in 
any medical school in Indiana. 

Dr. ^Vishard is an influential member of 
tlie various medical organizations of the city 

and State, being a member of the Marion 
County Aledical Society, the Indiana State 
Aledical Society, the American JMedical Asso- 
ciation, the Alississippi X'alley Aledical Asso- 
ciation, the American Association of Genito- 
urinary Surgeons, the American Urological 
Association, and several other medical organi- 
zations. He has been honored by being elected 
president of the county and State societies, 
the Alississippi Valley Aledical Association 
and also the American Urological Association. 
In his capacity as president of these organiza- 
tions, and the efforts growing out of them. Dr. 
Wishard has shown his unusual ability as a 
leader of men and as an executive officer. 
Considerate of the opinions of others, court- 
eous to those who hold views dift'erent from 
his own, forceful and clear in argument, calm 
in judgment, and tenacious, energetic and per- 
severing in whatever he undertakes, his marked 
characteristics of leadership have gained for 
him a place in the profession of medicine unlike 
that of any of his local contemporaries and 
have gained for him not only the co-operation 
and loyalty of his supporters, but the respect 
and esteem of those who represent opposing 
factions. In medical legislation, college and 
hospital management, his counsel and advice 
are sought and his time given to their advance- 
ment to the loss of his own personal interests. 
Selfishness has no part in his nature. In 
politics Dr. Wishard is a stanch Republican. 
During the incumbency of Governor Hovey 
Dr. Wishard was Assistant Surgeon General 
of Indiana and later was appointed Surgeon 
General by Governor Chase. For several years 
Dr. \\'ishard has been a member of the State 
Board of Health and has served that body as 

Dr. Wishard was married Alay 20, 1880, 
to Aliss Alice AI. Woollen, daughter of Wil- 
liam Wesley Woollen, of Indianapolis. She died 
Dec. 9, 1880. His second marriage, on June 17, 
1896, was to Aliss Frances C. Scoville, daugh- 
ter of Charles E. and Frances Howell Sco- 
ville, of Evansville, Ind., and five children have 
been born to this union : William Niles, Jr., 
Charles Scoville, and three who died in in- 
fancy. Dr. \\'ishard and his wife belong to 
the First Presbyterian Church, in which he is 
an elder. He has also represented his church 
in the General Assembly of that denomination. 
The family have a pleasant and charming 
home at No. 2024 North Delaware street. 

No preceptor ever had a stronger follow- 
ing of fflithful students than Dr". Wishard, 



those who in the office under his direction and 
afterwards as practitioners have always shown 
their intense love and devotion to him both 
as teacher and sympathetic friend and guide. 
His nobility of character has won for him hosts 
of friends from every walk in life, those who 
reccgnize in him the earnest Christian gentle- 
man as well as the skilful, conscientimis phys- . 
ician. The esteem and regard in which he is 
held by his associate physicians are shown in 
the cordial appreciation of him as expressed 
by two leading physicians, both editors of 
medical journals and warm personal friends 
of Dr. Wishard. Dr. A. W. Brayton, editor 
of the "Indiana IMedical Journal," says: "Dr. 
W. N. Wishard has practised medicine con- 
tinuously in Indianapolis for over thirty years. 
He was assistant coroner of Alarion county 
two years, and for over seven years the super- 
intendent of the City Hospital, changing it 
from a rude barrack into a modern hospital 
with a full-fledged training school for nurses, 
and making it a model for all the hospitals 
since established in Indianapolis. For twenty 
years Dr. Wishard has confined his medical 
work to genito-urinary surgery and stands in 
the front rank in the country in this depart- 
ment of surgery. He has been the leader in 
Indiana in establishing the medical registra- 
tion and examination iDoards, and in the work 
of the Indiana State Health Board, of which 
he was president. Dr. Wishard has also been a 
leader in medical education as well as in 
medical legislation. He belongs to the middle 
group of Indiana physicians — those who were 
in touch with the great physicians and sur- 
geons of the Civil war period, and who have 
also taken an active part in the medical and 
surgical renaissance which is the chief glory 
and beneficence of modern biological research. 
In all of Dr. \\'ishard's relations, in medical, 
sanitary, and civic life, he has been a wise and 
conservative counselor, but, whenever the oc- 
casion required, an aggressive and successful 
actor, serving as conditions demanded, either 
as the watchman at the bow or the 
helmsman at the wheel. He is now only 
in the height of his medical and civic useful- 
ness and has a large fund of acquired knowl- 
edge and experience which he draws readily 
u]ion in surgical and general discussions and 

Dr. S. E. Earp, editor of the "Medical 
Monitor," adds: "Dr. Wishard possesses 
rare executive ability and his power as a leader 
is recognized. In and out of professional life 

his methods show a comprehensiveness and 
value which is the issue of an analytical mind. 
His contributions to the medical profession in 
the line of new instruments, to better and per- 
fect his special line of work, are the products 
of an inventive genius. His place in medical 
literature and his merit as a teacher are in 
the first rank, so that, all in allj his life and 
work make his position an enviable one." 

OLIVER JOHNSON, who died March 
19, 1907, on the elegant farm in Section 13, 
Washington township, Marion Co., Ind., 
where he was so long settled, gave evidence 
throughout a long career of sterling w-orth 
and a most honorable and industrious nature. 
He was descended from families in both pa- 
ternal and maternal lines early settled as 
farmers in Franklin and [Marion counties, Ind., 
and was born in Franklin county, near Brook- 
ville, Nov. 22, 1821, son of John and Sarah 
(Pursel) Johnson, the former a native of \'ir- 
ginia, the latter of New Jersey. 

Jeremiah Johnson, grandfather of Oliver, 
was a native of Virginia of mingled Irish and 
German stock. He moved to Kentucky prior 
to 179s, in which year his son Thomas was 
born there. His w^ife, Jane (Lawson), was 
given some twenty odd slaves by her father, 
but Mr. Johnson refused to have any interest 
in them, and when he moved to Franklin 
county, Ind., the slaves were left in Kentucky. 
After" Mrs. Johnson's death the State of Ken- 
tucky expected the family to do something 
with them, and after [Mr. Johnson's death the 
children met in Marion county, Ind., and 
voted, out of respect for his wishes (he not 
believing in slavery), to set the blacks free. 
They then numbered over thirty-five, and 
some of them were worth as much as $1,000 
apiece. In 1805 Jeremiah Johnson entered 
government land in Franklin county, and from 
him Johnson's Forks takes its name. He also 
located land in Marion county, east, west and 
nor|h of Indianapolis, becoming a large land 
owner, and he was able to give each of his 
children an eighty-acre farm. In his old age 
he moved to Marion county, to be near his 
children, and he died advanced in years. On 
Aug. 15, 1803, he was appointed by the gov- 
ernor captain of the Dearborn county militia, 
and in August, 1807, major. His children 
were : Samuel married Susan Johnson ; 
Jeremiah, Jr., enlisted from Center township, 
IMarion county, in the war of 1812 (he mar- 
ried Oct. 19, 1823, Rachel Reagan ; they were 


the first couple married in Marion county, 
Squire Wilks Reagan officiating) ; Thomas 
was married Feb. 12, 1826, to Rhoda I'arr, 
by Squire Lismund Basye ; John is mentioned 
below ; r\lilton married Aug. 3, 1829, Mary 
Parish, George Smith, associate judge, per- 
forming the ceremony ; Nancy was married 
Dec. 13, 1824, to Israel Harding, by James 
IMcIlvain, associate judge of IMarion county; 
Jane was married JNlay i, 1825, to Samuel 
Harding, by Rev. Henry Brenton ; Mary mar- 
ried John W". ^ilcCloud; Sarah married Jesse 
\\'hitehead ; Hannah married Jan. 5, 1823, 
Richard Williams, the ceremony being per- 
formed by Rev. James Scott; Elizabeth mar- 
ried April 22, 1823, Daniel Trollinger ; Mar- 
garet married June 30, 1825, Reuben Putnam; 
Isabella married Sept. i, 1825, John Negley ; 
^\"illiam M. was married May 18, 1826, to 
Eliza Appleton, by Associate Judge George 
Smith; Isaac C. married Sept. 5, 1826, Ber- 
sheba Helvey ; William married Nov. 3, 1836, 
Elizabeth Robinson; George 'M. married Oct. 
20, 1831, Jane Robinson; Ann was married 
Jan. 18, 1831, to ^Morgan E. Xordyke, by B. 
F. Moore, presiding Judge. Jeremiah John- 
son was an exhorter in the Baptist Church, 
and preached on White Water river. 

John Johnson, son of Jeremiah, Sr., was 
born Jan. i, 1798, in Kentucky. He accompa- 
nied the family on their removal to Franklin 
county, Ind., and became one of the pioneer 
farmers and stockmen there. In 182 1 he 
came to Indianapolis, and hewed the logs for 
his own cabin, which, with the assistance of 
his brother, he erected on the eighty acres 
he entered at the land sale, now a part of the 
fair grounds. In the early part of March, 
1822, he brought his family, which then con- 
sisted of wife and two children, Louisa and 
Oliver, to this home. He added to his land 
from time to time until he owned 214 acres. 
Later he bought an additional quarter section, 
which he afterward sold to assist his children, 
but his other land he retained. He died in 
August, 1854, at the age of fifty-si.x years, 
seven months, twenty-three days. His wife, 
Sarah Pursel, whom he married in Franklin 
county, was a daughter of Peter Pursel, Esq., 
formerly of New Jersey, and one of the early 
pioneers of Franklin county. She died about 
four years before her husband. They had a 
family of six sons and six daughters, all but 
the oldest two born in IMarion county, namely : 
(Oliver; Luther, deceased; John V'anBuren, of 
Broad Rii)ple, a resident of Washington town- 

ship ; \olney, deceased ; Newton, deceased ; 
Charles P., of Topeka, Kans. ; Louisa, who 
married Ambrose Dawson, and is deceased; 
Sarah Elizabeth, wife of William Dawson, of 
Washington township ; ^lary Ann, wife of 
Hezekiah Ringer, of Lawrence, residing in 
Washington township; Nancy Jane, wife of 
Hiram Haverstick, of Broad Ripple, Washing- 
ton township; Lucinda, deceased; and Elijah, 
deceased. John Johnson, the father, was very 
prominent in public aft'airs. He was drafted 
with all his neighbors for the Blackhawk war, 
but was selected to remain at home and run his 
own and two of his neighbors' farms. In 
his religious views he was a L'niversalist, and 
his wife clung to the faith of the Baptists, but 
neither was identified with any church organi- 

At the second county fair a premium of 
$25 in gold was oft'ered for the best cultivated 
farm in Marion count}-, and this was won by 
John Johnson. The $10 on the first ten fatted 
hogs and $5 on second ten fatted hogs were 
also won by him. A plowing contest for the 
best four plowed furrows, forty yards, was 
won by John Johnson. In lieu of the gold 
they gave a brass kettle and a woman's cheap 
shawl, and instead of the gold offered in the 
plowing match he was offered a plow, but re- 
fused to accept it. On the hogs he received 
nothing on the first and silver on the second. 
All were disappointed, and ]\Irs. Johnson re- 
fused to wear the shawl. ]\Ir. Johnson was 
indignant and declared they had killed the 
Fair, which proved true, as no country fair 
was afterward held. To this fair Mr. John- 
son's son, Oliver, drove the horse and plow, 
turning the same over to his father on his 
arrival. Mr. Johnson was a very stern man. 
He was six feet tall and was of large frame, 
weighing 202 pounds, and he had a very large 

Peter Pur.sel, father of Sarah (Pursel) 
Johnson, was born in New Jersey, of Irish 
and German descent. He was reared to farm- 
ing and followed that line all his life. He 
settled in Franklin county when Indiana was 
yet a Territory, and there he died at an ad- 
vanced age, leaving seven or eight children. 

Oliver Johnson was only about four months 
old when his parents came to Marion county, 
and there he made his home until his death, 
at which time he had lived longer in the county 
than any other resident. For over eighty years 
he was a resident of Washington township. 
His first schooling was acquired in an old- 



time double log house, originally built for a 
residence, on the site of the present home of 
his son Silas, and the school was held in what 
had been intended for the kitchen. Split slabs 
were used for seats, and greased paper took 
the place of glass in the windows. He de- 
voted his life to farming and stock raising, 
living at home until he was about twenty-two 
years of age, assisting his father for eight or 
ten years in the clearance of the home farm. 
When he married he worked three months for 
his father-in-law, receiving eight dollars a 
month, extra good wages at that time, be- 
cause of his competency. He then rented a 
i6o-acre farm for some seven or eight years, 
and carefully saved his money, so that at the 
end of that time he was able to buy half of 
the farm he was then renting. Later he sold 
this and bought his late home, in 185 1, com- 
])rising 162 acres, at the north limits of the 
city of Indianapolis. This became one of the 
best farms in the county, being thoroughly 
cultivated and improved with handsome build- 
ings. It was in the sale of portions of this 
tract that ]\Ir. Johnson made the greater part 
of his substantial fortune. Until his death 
he retained forty acreS; at what is now the 
corner of Forty-second street and Central ave- 
nue, Indianapolis, for his home place. The 
balance was sold from time to time at such 
remarkable prices that it was estimated, shortly 
before his death, he had received a sum equiva- 
lent to $2,000 for every year of his long life. 
When he purchased the tract, in 185 1, the 
price he paid, $8,000, was considered extrava- 
gant. That was an average of $50 an acre, 
and the increase in land values was so great 
that he sold it at from $1,000 to $1,600 an 
acre. Thus he was able to establish his chil- 
dren comfortably, and they and their children 
have all been numbered among the prosper- 
ous farming people of Marion county. Mr. 
Johnson improved his own farm with sub- 
stantial buildings, and kept it in a condition 
which would have satisfied the most exacting 
taste. Hard toil and wise investments earned 
'Mr. and Mrs. Johnson their beautiful home. 

On Sept. 27, 1843, ^^^- Johnson was mar- 
ried, by the Rev. Henry Ward Beecher, to 
Pamela Howdand, daughter of Powell and 
Mahala (Thurber) Howland, both of New 
York, and granddaughter of Elisha and Rhode 
(Powell) Howland, and of Lawson and Doro- 
thea (Wood) Thurber. To this union were 
born four children, namelv : (i) Mary Eliza- 

beth married William A. Lowe, and both are 
deceased. Their only child, Ada P., is the 
wife of John Higgins, a brass foundr_\nian of 
San Francisco, Cal. (2) James P., deceased, 
was a farmer, and one of the trustees of the 
township; he lived on a part of the Oliver 
Johnson farm. He married Rebecca Shoe- 
maker, and they had two children, Charles and 
Edward. (3) Silas H., owner of a fine farm 
adjoining his father's on the north, which 
includes the site of the old log cabin school 
which his father attended, has been twice mar- 
ried. His first wife, Laura Wright, now de- 
ceased, bore him two children, Alice and Ollie ; 
and his second wife, Etta Atkins, is also the 
mother of two children, Howland and Mary 
Esther.. (4) Franklin P. owns a fine farm 
south of the State Fair grounds. He married 
Georgia Pursel, and has two children, Howard 
A. (engaged in the real estate and insurance 
business in Indianapolis, who married Minnie 
Fessler, and has a son, Franklin ; they belong 
to the Second Presbyterian Church) and 
Francis H. (who married Georgia Farmer, 
and is engaged in farming in \Vashington 

In his political views Oliver Johnson was 
a Democrat, but in local issues not strictly 
partisan. He served many times as supervi- 
sor, and was a strenuous worker for good 
roads, in the old days being much interested 
in the building of the first toll roads in the 
county, in which he was a stockholder. His 
name was once on the ticket for county com- 
missioner, the nomination coming unsought, 
as he had no desire for official honors or pre- 
ferment. He believed thoroughly that public 
positions should have no attraction other than 
the opportunity they afforded for benefiting 
the community. 

Mr. Johnson earned his beautiful farm by 
hard and honest toil, and he was noted for his 
integrity and uprightness. He and his wife 
were loyal and devoted companions through 
the sixty-three years of their married life. 
She belongs to the Lutheran Church. Mr. 
Johnson, though not identifying himself with 
any church, believed in the principles of Chris- 
tianity, and gave freely of his means to the 
sup])ort of the church, the Methodist Church in 
his neighborhood being the particular benefi- 
ciary of his generosity in this regard. 

Mr. Johnson was a warm friend of Henry 
Ward Beecher, and he and his wife once saw 
that noted divine run a horse race. Mr. 



Beecher was on liis way to perform the mar- 
riage ceremony for James Armentrout, of 
Washington township, and Miss Margaret 
Bkie. He rode out from Indianapolis with 
Henry Nelson, who was to be the "best man." 
Both owned race horses and on the way out 
got up a race. The judges at the end of the 
quarter mile were noticed by the guests at the 
wedding, and all ran down to see, being in 
time to greet and cheer Mr. Beecher as he 
proudly rode the winner past the post. He 
then proceeded to the performance of the cere- 

Until about ten years before his death Mr. 
Johnson took considerable interest in the 
annual meeting of old settlers held at Broad 
Ripple, but more recently he did not attend, 
as he was averse to the prominence that was 
given to him as the oldest settler. This 
modesty and lack of pretension were thor- 
oughly characteristic. In private conversa- 
tion, however, he delighted to talk of the old 
times when, while living on his father's farm, 
on the Fair grounds, he assisted in entertain- 
ing travelers who came through looking for 
land. He had many interesting reminiscences. 
There were Indians passing through at tliat 
time also, and these often came down Fall 
Creek in their canoes. This was before the 
days of bridges, and he often ferried travelers 
across the creek. 

Mr. Johnson died at his home at seven 
o'clock on the morning of March 19, 190". 
after several days' illness, and on March 21st 
was laid to rest in the cemetery of the Eben- 
ezer Lutheran Church. 

FRANKLIN P. JOHNSON, one of the 
prominent farmers o"f Marion county, Ind., 
owning a large, well-improved farm in Sec- 
tions 19 and 16, Range 4. Center township, 
was born Jan. 14, 1850, in Washington town- 
ship, on a farm whoch is now included in the 
city of Indianapolis, its site being in tlie vicin- 
ity' of North Illinois and Fifty-eighth streets. 
The parents of Mr. Johnson were Oliver and 
Pamela (Howland) Johnson. 

Franklin Pierce Johnson, so named on ac- 
count of his father's admiration for the great 
statesman and President, was reared on the 
farm now occupied by his father. His educa- 
tion was acquired in the old subscription 
school, in a small building erected on one cor- 
ner of the home farm. His interests have al- 
ways been agricultural and by the time he was 
ready to set up his own domestic establishment 

he had become a thoroughly practical farmer, 
quite able to cope with the various possibili- 
ties of soil, seed and weather, which a farmer 
must always take into consideration. The 
youngest of the family, he remained at home to 
operate the farm after his marriage, and lived 
there for seventeen years. Air. Johnson then 
bought a farm of his own, consisting of one 
hundred acres, where he has resided ever 
since, taking pride in its cultivation and im- 
provement, and making it one of the finest 
farms in the county. In 1887 he erected a 
handsome, modern residence and commodious 
barn and made other substantial improve- 

i\Ir. Johnson's home is very favorably situ- 
ated, its elevation giving a delightful view and 
a dryness of soil conducive to fertility. It is 
situated just across from the main traveled 
road, south of the State Fair grounds. Mr. 
Johnson was mainly instrumental in having 
these grounds located as at present. His fore- 
sight predicted the rapid and sure growth of 
the city northward of the Fair Grounds and 
the car line to this public park makes his 
propert)' of much greater value. It was to 
liis material advantage that his was the only 
tarm that could be secured to permit the line 
to run directly through, from the Union depot 
to the grounds, without crossing a railroad. 
For many years !\Ir. Johnson followed general 
fanning and dairying, but latterly has given 
much attention to the production of fine poul- 
try-, being mainly interested in the Light Brah- 
mas. He has disposed of a part of his home 
farm, but has become the owner of the old 
Stanley farm, in Washington township. 

On Nov. 14. 1871, Mr. Johnson married 
Miss Georgia Pursel, daughter of Thomas 
and ]\Iahala (Harlan) Pursel. and they have 
two sons : Howard A. and Francis H. The 
former married ISIiss ^Minnie Fessler, and they 
reside on the old Oliver Johnson homestead ; 
they have one son. Franklin Fessler Johnson. 
Francis H., who is farming his father's large 
farm in Washington township, married Miss 
Georgia Farmer. 

In politics Mr. Johnson is a stanch Demo- 
crat and his sons share his political convic- 
tions. He has never accepted public office, 
but has worked for the party's success, from 
principle. He has been honored many times 
by agricultural organizations. For a number 
of years he has been a member of the State 
Dairy Association, also of the Marion County 
AgricuUtiral and Horticultural Society, and 



was president of the latter for two years. He 
belongs also to the Poultry Fanciers' Associ- 
ation of Indiana and was its secretary one 
term and its president for two terms. 

The parents of Mrs. Franklin P. Johnson 
were reared at Brookville, Ind., and they 
had a family of two sons and three daughters : 
John T. Pursel, of Denver, Colo. ; Georgia, 
wife of Franklin P. Johnson ; Maria, wife of 
James O. Warne_, of Tuscola, 111.; Lizzie, wife 
of William Ward, of Brookville; and Charles, 
who died aged fifty years, at his home in 
Kno.xville, 111., leaving a wife and one child. 

Peter Pursel, the paternal grandfather of 
Airs. Johnson, was a pioneer at Brookville, 
and died there in advanced age. He was of 
Scotch-Irish descent, followed farming, mar- 
ried and reared a family of thirteen children. 
The maternal grandfather of Mrs. Johnson 
was Ellis Harlan, who also came to Brook- 
ville in pioneering days, married a member of 
the Barber family and, like most of his neigh- 
bors, reared a large, intelligent, healthy family. 
He was an extensive farmer and a man of 
means and worth. 

leading members of the Bar at Indianapolis, 
whose attractive home, at No. 520 East Ohio 
street, shows taste and culture, was born in 
Lawrence county. Pa., May 2, 1831, son of 
Andrew and Nancy (Zerver) Patterson. 

Andrew Patterson, the grandfather of Wil- 
liam, was born in Pennsylvania, of Scotch- 
Irish ancestry, was a soldier in the Continental 
army all through the Revolution, and for his 
services in that war received a section of land 
in western Pennsylvania, where he lived and 
reared his family, a large one for that day. 
There he died at an advanced age. His 
brother Samuel served in the war of 181 2 and 
drew a pension from the government. 

Andrew Patterson, son of Andrew, was 
born in Pennsylvania, and was a farmer all 
his life. Coming to Indiana about 1861, he 
located at Marion, where he maintained his 
home, though he owned a farm not far away. 
There his life was spent with the exception 
of the last six months, when he lived with his 
son William^ at whose home he died at the 
age of eighty-one years. His widow survived 
some thirteen years, dying in 1891, when about 
seventy-nine years old. All her life she was 
a consistent and devoted member of the 
jMethodist Church. Her husband was not a 
member of any church, but usuallv attended 

divme services with her. Like him, she was 
a native of Pennsylvania. They had a family 
of six sons and five daughters (five of their 
children stilh living) viz.: Betsey; John; 
William ; Henry ; Robert ; Margaret ;' Andrew, 
whose home is in Fort Scott, Kans. ; Nancy, 
who is the wife of Columbus Love, of Fort 
Scott, Kans.; Amanda J., the wife of Frank- 
lin Coggeshall, of Fort Scott, Kans.; Abigail 
E., the wife of Charles E. Neal, of Marion, 
Ind. ; and Solomon, deceased. 

Henry Zerver, the maternal grandfather 
of William Patterson, was born in Pennsyl- 
vania, of German descent, and by occupation 
was a farmer. About 1840 he moved from 
Lawrence county, Pa., to Wayne county, Ohio, 
where he lived to be en old man. His was a 
numerous family. 

William Patterson lived on the Pennsyl- 
vania homestead until he was about sixteen 
years of age, attending the district school, and 
later becoming an academy student at Po- 
land and Ellsworth, Ohio, where his edu- 
cation was advanced sufficiently for him to 
teach school. He was engaged in teaching at 
Middletown, Carthage, Alount Washington 
and Amelia, Ohio. It was in Cincinnati that his 
professional career began by his taking up 
the study of law with the law firm of Morris, 
Tilden & Rariden. In April, 1853, he was 
admitted to the Bar at Lawrenceburg, Ind., 
where he at once began the practice of his 
chosen profession. The following year he 
was chosen prosecuting attorney of the Fourth 
Judicial Circuit of Indiana, and filled that 
position very creditably until July, 1858, when 
he resigned this position to which he had 
been re-elected in 1856, and removed to Indi- 
anapolis. This city has been his home to the 
present time, and here his knowledge of the 
fundamental principles of law, his wide and 
thorough familiarity with its application to 
the various problems of social and business 
life, and his unswerving integrity, together 
with his genial disposition and manly char- 
acter, have won for him the favor of the com- 
munity to a marked degree. 

Mr. Patterson was married April 16, 1856, 
to Miss Sarah A. Corbly, daughter of Justice 
and Mary Corbly, of Hamilton county. Ohio. 
To this union were born four children, one 
son and three daughters : Florence, a teacher 
in the Indianapolis schools, has for more than 
twenty years maintained a high rank in her 
chosen calling. Abigail, the second daughter, 
married George J. Macy, and has her home 



in Columbus, Ohio. William is a clerk in the 
pork packing establishment of Kingan & Com- 
pany ; he married Birdie Alexander, and they 
have one son, George Russell. Mary is the 
third daughter. In 1866 Mr. Patterson built 
the house in which he is now living, having 
bought the ground on which it stands as early 
as 1858. 

I\lrs. Sarah A. Patterson died Dec. 11, 
1901, at the age of sixty-eight years, seven 
months. She was a member of the Roberts 
Park Methodist Church at the time of her 
death, and left behind her sweet and tender 
memories of a faithful wife and a loving 
mother. Mr. Patterson, who is also a Metho- 
dist, was the recognized leader in the found- 
ing of the Woodlawn Tabernacle, which is 
now the Edwin Ray Methodist Church, and 
for years has been one of its hardest and most 
earnest workers, having been trustee, steward 
and class-leader. 

Until 1852 Mr. Patterson voted the Demo- 
cratic ticket, but he associated himself with 
the first movements for the organization of 
the Republican party, with which he con- 
tinued to act until after the first election of 
President Grant. From that time he has taken 
an independent stand in politics, seeking the 
best men and measures regardless of party 
names. The only public position he ever filled 
was that of prosecuting attorney, as already 

Two brothers of William Patterson, John 
and Andrew, bore arms for the Union during 
the Civil war, being members of the i6th Ohio 
Volunteer Infantry. They were honorably 
discharged, Andrew at the close of the war, 
and John earlier for disability. They received 

William Patterson is one of the most 
highly respected citizens of Indianapolis, 
where he is widely known for his many good 
qualities and professional ability. 

WILLIAM FORTUNE. "In contemplat- 
ing so busy, so active, so useful a career as 
that of William Fortune, whose fame extends 
far beyond his beautiful city of Indianapolis, 
the biographer is led to question from what 
virile stock sprung so active an intellect, so 
strong a personality, and whence came that 
flow of energy which has made so notable an 
impression upon the minds and affairs of his 

William l-"ortune was liorn in lioonville. 
Warrick Co., Ind., .May 2-], 1863. He is of 

J-'rench and Scotch descent on his mother's 
side, the St. Clairs of Kentucky and \'irginia. 
His great-grandfather was Waynian St. Clair, 
and his grandfather was Isaac St. Clair. On 
his father's side the family (Fortune-Shoe- 
maker) is of French and German origin. Al- 
though the St. Clairs were large slave owners, 
the Kentucky branch of the family took the 
Union side, .'ind five of the six uncles of our 
subject served through the war on the I'ederal 

William H. Fortune, the father of Wil- 
liam, was one of the first to enlist in Company 
A, 1st Ind. Cav., and he served till mustered 
out at the close of the war. He was one of 
the great number of Union soldiers who went 
South soon after the surrender of the Con- 
federates. He located in Mnrfreesboro, 
Tenn., in the summer of 1865, but, like nearly 
all others who sought their fortune in the 
rebuilding of Southern prosperity, he encoun- 
tered reverses instead, and eighteen months 
afterward returned North. The next few 
years were spent in Paxton, 111., Seymour, 
Shoals, Mitchell and Evansville, Ind., the 
family finally returning to Boonville, the birth- 
place of William, where the latter lived from 
ills ninth to his eighteenth year. 

William Fortune became an apprentice in 
the printing office of the Boonville Standard 
in 1876. The editor of the Standard, M. B. 
Crawford, took much interest in the training 
of the boy as a writer, and before he was six- 
teen years old he was doing much of the edi- 
torial work of the paper. When seventeen 
years old he wrote and published a history of 
his native county, from the profits of which 
he was enabled to provide for the family, 
which had become dependent upon him. while 
he sought a new field of work. In January, 
1882. he became a reporter on the Indianapo- 
lis Journal. His reports of the sessions of 
the Indian.! General Assembly in 1883-4 were 
the cause of several rather dramatic incidents, 
resulting finally in an attempt by the Demo- 
cratic majority to expel him on the last da\- 
of the session, but this was thwarted by 
enough of the Democratic Senators voting on 
his side to make a tie. and the deciding vote 
of the Lieutenant-Governor. Gen. Manson, was 
cast in his favor. Soon afterward Mr. For- 
tune succeeded Harry S. New as city editor 
of the Journal, and continued in this position 
till the spring of 1888, when he resigned on 
account of ill-health. Soon afterward he 
started the Sunday Press, with Mrs. Emma 



Carleton as associate editor. The paper 
ranked high in literary quality, and amongf its 
regular contributors were many of the best 
known people in the State, but it was soon 
demonstrated, as Mr. Fortune believed, that 
the possible success of such a publication was 
not worth the efforts and expense of establish- 
ing it, and the Press was discontinued at the 
end of three months, without financial loss to 
any one who had put money into it, except 
Mr. Fortune. The nomination of Harrison 
for President made Indiana the battle center 
in the campaign of 1888, and, as the special 
representative of several leading newspapers, 
including the New York Tribune, Philadel- 
phia Press and Chicago Tribune, Mr. Fortune 
did some notable work as a political corres- 

While an editorial writer on the Indianap- 
olis Xeivs, when John H. Holliday was in 
charge of the paper, Mr. Fortune wrote sev- 
eral articles urging organized effort toward 
overcoming the extreme conservatism which 
then hindered the physical improvement and 
commercial development of Indianapolis. The 
suggestion was received with general approval, 
as shown by many letters written to the paper 
commending the articles and oft'ering ideas as 
to the scope of the needed work. It had been 
proposed in the articles that the work should 
he undertaken by the Board of Trade, but 
when a resolution on this line was brought 
before the governors of that organization it 
was defeated. One of the few members of 
the Board of Governors who supported the 
resolution was Col. Eli Lilly. When advised 
of the adverse action of the Board of Trade, 
Mr. Fortune immediately called up by tele- 
phone a number of business men asking them 
to attend a meeting at the "Bates House" the 
next day. Twenty-seven men were at this 
meeting, and they became the nucleus of the 
Commercial Club, of Indianapolis, the organ- 
ization of which was completed at another 
meeting held two days later, with eighty char- 
ter members. Col. Eli Lilly was chosen as 
president and Mr. Fortune was elected sec- 
retary, and the Commercial Club entered vig- 
orously upon the work for which it was or- 
ganized. The membership grew from eighty 
to a thousand inside of a month, and the many 
projects which constitute the history of the 
club during the period of activity of Col. 
Lilly and Mr. Fortune were brought forward 
in rapid succession, and every important un- 
dertaking was successfully carried out. This 

movement marked the beginning of a new 
era in Indianapolis. The aim which Mr. For- 
tune kept in view in the work, as often de- 
clared, was "to make Indianapolis a model 
city." The story of what was accomplished 
through this work and his connection with it 
is to be found more completely than it can be 
given here in the history of the Commercial 
Club during the time of his official responsi- 
bility and activity. For five years Col. Lilly 
was president and Mr. Fortune secretary of 
the club, when both retired. Mr. Fortune 
then served two terms as first vice-president 
and rounded out his career in the work with 
one term as president, retiring finally from 
all oflicial connection in February, 1898. 

Mr. Fortune had charge of the National 
Paving Exposition held in Indianapolis in 
1890. It was the first exposition of the kind 
ever held. The original purpose of it was to 
interest the people of Indianapolis in good 
street pavements, and to bring to them the op- 
portunity of fully informing themselves as 
to materials and methods. The enterprise, 
however, attracted such wide attention 
throughout the country that it quickly grew 
into national importance, and official delegates 
were sent to it by municipalities from all parts 
of the L'nited States. This exposition was the 
practical beginning of modern paving in In- 

In 1891 Mr. Fortune proposed that a sys- 
tematic and organized effort should be made 
to bring to Indianapolis large conventions or 
meetings, arguing that in this way the fame 
of the city could best be spread, and, besides 
affording the most desirable advertising, it 
had the advantage of bringing to the city a 
large revenue. This work was established on 
a permanent basis with a large fund for its 
continuance raised by his personal efforts. 
He was elected Executive director of the G. 
A. R. National Encampment held in Indian- 
apolis in 1893. This Encampment was con- 
ducted on new plans devised bv him after a 
careful study of the methods followed in pre- 
vious years. Greater responsibility devolved 
upon him than was ever put upon one man 
in the management of these great veteran en- 
campments, and his work involved every de- 
tail of expense. As the Encampment was 
held at Indianapolis in the year of the panic, 
there was difficulty in raising the large sum 
of money required for its expense, and it was 
feared that there would be a deficit. The 
total amount raised was about $120,000, of 



which $75,000 was appropriated by the com- 
mon council of Indianapolis. The expense 
the year before at Washington had amounted 
to $157,000. The Encampment in Indianapo- 
lis was conducted on fully as large a scale as 
in Washington, and the accommodations for 
veterans were the best ever provided, but at 
the close it was found that the total expense 
was only about $63,000. Over $42,000 of the 
city appropriation was returned and about 
$12,000 of funds raised by the Commercial 
Club were left on hand. 

In 1892 a movement for Good Roads was 
started througn the efforts of Mr. Fortune, 
resulting in the assembling of a Good Roads 
Congress, under his direction, to which dele- 
gates were sent by nearly every county in 
the State. At this meeting the Indiana High- 
way Association was formed. i\Ir. Fortune 
was elected president but declined, and the 
Congress adopted a testimonial, thanking him 
for his work in behalf of good roads. He 
was also prominently identified with the Good 
Roads Congress at the World's Fair in 1893. 

Mr. Fortune was one of the committee of 
three, the other members of which were H. 
H. Hanna and Col. Eli Lilly, which had 
charge of the relief of the unemployed in In- 
dianapolis during the winter of 1894. This 
committee devised and successfully carried 
out what became widely known as "the Indi- 
anapolis plan" of relief, whereby food, fuel 
and clothing were provided for unemployed 
people in need under conditions which elimi- 
nated as far as practicable the pauperizing 
influences of charity. The plan embraced the 
establishment of a food market, where, after 
investigations, worthy people were given 
credit for supplies, issued in regular rations, 
in payment for which they performed labor 
under the direction of the committee. They 
provided for over 5,000 people during most 
of the winter, and, so successful was it in 
the avoidance of pauperizing influences, that 
for some time after the close of the relief 
work in the spring of 1894, there were fewer 
people than usual dependent upon the Charity 
Organization Society. A history of this work 
is given in a pamphlet entitled "Relief for the 
Unemployed," and it was the subject of sev- 
eral magazine articles. 

In 1894 Mr. Fortune proposed and 
brought about the organization of the Indiana 
State Board of Commerce, composed of the 
commercial organizations representing the 
different cities of Indiana, which were thus 

brought together for united action in advanc- 
ing the public and commercial interests of the 
State. He was elected president of this or- 
ganization in 1897, and again in 1898 and 
1899. He was specially active in the move- 
ment inaugurated by the State Board of Com- 
merce to reform county and township govern- 
ment in Indiana, and was chairman of the ex- 
ecutive committee which prepared and secured 
the passage of these laws, which in the first 
year of their operation saved to the people 
over three million dollars. 

His management of the National Paving 
Exposition in 1890 suggested to him the need 
of a publication devoted specially to munici- 
pal' improvements, and, with William C. 
Bobbs as business manager, he soon afterward 
issued "Paving and Municipal Engineering," 
as a sixteen-page journal. This has since 
grown into "Municipal Engineering Maga- 
zine," a large and prosperous publication rec- 
ognized as an authority and the foremost rep- 
resentative of the interests connected with the 
practical affairs of American municipalities. 
He was for years the editor of the magazine 
and is president of the company owning it. 

Mr. Fortune was one of the original mem- 
bers of the Commercial Club Elevated Rail- 
road Commission, appointed in 1894, and, in 
conjunction with Col. Lilly, was active for 
many years in promoting the project for es- 
tablishing in Indiai:apolis a system of elevated 
railroad tracks, running east and west 
through the city, as a means of relief to the 
public from the dangers and inconveniences 
of grade crossings. Mr. Fortune was ap- 
pointed chairman of the commission in June, 
1898, to fill the vacancy caused by the death 
of Col. Lilly. Mr. Fortune continued at the 
head of the commission, and in 1898 he se- 
cured the enactment of an ordinance requir- 
ing track elevation. This was resisted by the 
railroads and the fight was carried on for 
years through the courts, the legislature and 
in local political campaigns, resulting finally 
in the triumph of the movement and the en- 
actment of an amendment to the city charter 
providing for continued progress in the work 
of track elevation, which is already well ad- 
vanced. From the time of its organization 
he was a member of the executive committee 
of the Citizens League, being associated in 
this work with Thomas C. Dav, T. E. Grif- 
fith, Father Gavisk, Lucius B.' Swift, A. L. 
Mason and G. E. Hunt. 

Mr. Fortune was the first President of 



the Imlianapolis Press Club, organized in 
1 89 1. He was one of the organizers of the 
Century Chib, and was its president in 1892. 
He was president of the Automobile Club of 
Indiana for two years. He is a member of a 
number of clubs, including, besides those 
mentioned, the Country Club, the Columbia 
Club, the University Club and the Woodruff 
Club, of Indianapolis. 

Through the Commercial Club in 1902 
Mr. Fortune offered a gold medal to the pupil 
of the public schools writing the best essay 
on the topic "Why We Take Pride in Indi- 
anapolis," the object being to stimulate home 
pride and public spirit in the young people. 
This was afterward continued for a number 
of years by the Commercial Club. 

In January, 1908, ^Mr. Fortune was elected 
president of the Inter-State Life Assurance 
Company. He is also president of Municipal 
Engineering Company, and of the New Tele- 
phone Company, of Indianapolis, and is a di- 
rector in several companies. 

It was largely through Mr. Fortune that 
Wong Kai Kah, the Chinese diplomat, was 
influenced to establish his home in Indianap- 
olis while in America, and through him Prince 
Pu Lun was invited to become the guest of 
Indiana and Indianapolis for a week in 1904. 
Mr. Fortune was chairman of the General 
Committee cf Citizens in charge of the en- 
tertainment of the Prince and his suite dur- 
ing this visit. In 1905 the Emperor of China 
by letter patent conferred upon Mr. Fortune 
the rank of nobility and also bestowed on him 
the decoration of the order of the Double 

On Xov. 2^,. 1884, :\Ir. Fortune was mar- 
ried to Miss ~Slay Knubbe, daughter of Fred- 
erick and Jerusha A. Knubbe. She was a 
beautiful woman, who was beloved by all 
who knew her and who supplied to her hus- 
band those elements of tenderness and soft- 
ness which the character of his strenuous life 
does not bring uppermost. Her death took 
place Sept. 28, 1898, in her thirty-fourth 
year. She was survived by her three children : 
Russell, Evelyn (who in August, 1907, was 
married to Mr. Eli Lilly) and iMadeline. 

Perhaps one of the most gratifying ex- 
pressions of public esteem which have been 
numerous in Mr. Fortune's career, was the 
presentation to him, in 1899, of a very hand- 
some loving cup, bearing the inscription, "To 
William Fortune from citizens of Indianapolis 
in recognition of his services in promoting the 

general welfare of the city, February. 1899." 
This was accompanied by an address which 
was signed by 100 citizens, headed by P.en- 
jamin Harrison and James Whitcomb Riley, 
in which they expressed their high personal 
regard and their appreciation of his untiring 
efforts on behalf of the city and State. 

Mr. A. L. Mason, in an address on "The 
Duties of Citizenship" in May, 1902, said "I 
undertake to say that William Fortune has 
contributed more individual energy and has 
achieved greater success in building organiza- 
tions for the carrying out of public reforms 
than any man of his age in the Middle West." 

who since 1903 has been the efficient Presi- 
dent of Earlham College, at Richmontl, Ind.. 
which is one of the leading educational centers 
of the Society of Friends, is a man well qual- 
ified in every way for tViis high office, as may 
be read in his former connections with im- 
portant schools in various parts of the coun- 
try. Dr. Kelly is equally at home as an ex- 
ecutive, as a teacher and as a lecturer, having 
devoted close study to many psychological 
and political questions, outside of the general 
field of literature. He was born March 22. 
1865, at Tuscola, 111., son of Robert and Anna 
(Pearson) Kelly. 

In 1867 Robert Kelly moved with his 
family to Lawrence county. Mo., where he 
became editor of the Spring River fountain, 
the leading Republican newspaper of that re- 
gion. Several years later he went to St. Louis, 
thence to Terre Haute, Ind., where >oung 
Robert L. attended the public schools tor one 
years, and then, the family settling on a farm 
at Bloomingdale, Parke county, Ind., his ed- 
ucation was further advanced by his attend- 
ance at the Friends' Bloomingdale Acatlemy, 
from which he was graduated in 1884. 

Dr. Kelly then taught school in the Kelly 
school house, in the Kelly settlement, and in 
the fall of 1885 he entered the Sophomore 
class (1888). Earlham College. After grad- 
uation he became superintendent of schools 
at Monrovia, Ind., a position he held for two 
years. He was for a like period principal of 
Raisin Valley Seminary, Adrian, Mich., and 
he then took charge of the Central .Academy. 
Plainfield. Ind., which position he held for 
seven years. Later he took a three-years 
post-graduate course at the Chicago Univer- 
sity, and during the absence of Pres. .\. Ros- 
cnbergcr acted as president of the Penn Col- 


lege of Iowa for one year. He then came to 
Earlham College as Professor of Philosophy, 
and in 1903 was elected president of the insti- 
tution, since which time the old college of the 
Friends has become one of the leading insti- 
tutions of learning in the State. He has 
given special attention to the departments of 
Philosophy and Psychology, having established 
a Psychological laboratory which is exceeded 
in its equipment, in Indiana, only by the State 
University. The college has developed ad- 
ditional advantages and the faculty has been 
increased, several new members, men of learn- 
ing and ability, having been added. An indebt- 
edness of $35,000 has been liquidated, and the 
institution put on a sound financial basis. 
During the year 1907 a new library building, 
a new men's dormitory and a new central 
heating plant were constructed at a total cost 
of $100,000. While a student at Chicago Uni- 
versity, President Kelly gave close study to 
the Psychology of children, working for two 
years in the Physiological School for Deficient 
Children, the result of this research being 
published in the "PsychologicaJ Review." 
This, with other addresses to learned bodies, 
has helped to cause unusual attention to be 
given this important subject, and the City of 
Chicago has made a department in all schools 
for these studies. President Kelly is a mem- 
ber of the National Educational Association, 
and numerous local educational associations. 
He is a member of the board of trustees of 
the Religious Educational Association, and is 
president of the Ijoard of education of the 
Five- Years Meeting of American Friends. 
He is also a member of the State Board of 
Education of Indiana, which carries with it 
membership in the Indiana State Library 
Board, the Indiana School Book Commission 
and the Indiana Teachers' Training Board ; 
and- he is a member of the Indiana Rhodes 
Scholarship Committee. Dr. Kelly is a well- 
known minister of the Society of Friends, 
and spends much time and effort in minis- 
terial labors. At its sixtieth anniversary De 
Pauw University conferred upon him the de- 
gree of LL. D.' 

On Aug. 13, 1890, President Kellx- was 
married in Bloomingdale, Parke county, Ind., 
to Cecilia Rifner, born Dec. 4, 1869, in Clevcs. 
Hamilton county, Ohio, daughter of James 
M. and Martha fCillev) Rifner, the P'ifners 
being of Holland-Dutch and C.crman ances- 

GEX. JOHX COBURX. one of the lead- 
ing lawyers of Indianapolis, has been a life- 
long resident of that city, where he was born 
Oct. 27, 1825. He attended the common 
schools, also the Marion County Seminary 
and Wabash College, from which latter he 
graduated with honor in 1846. He then 
studied law in his father's office, was ad- 
mitted to the Bar of the Supreme court in 
1849. ^'id has practiced almost continuously 
ever since. As an efficient public servant he 
has been prominently before his fellow-citi- 
zens throughout the greater part of his active 
life. He practiced law in Marion and ad- 
joining counties until 1859, meantime enter- 
ing upon the career of public usefulness 
which has caused him to become so well and 
favorably known, the advancement and wel- 
fare of his city and State having been ever 
as dear to him as the prosperity of his pri- 
vate interests. 

In 185 1 he went as representative to the 
State Legislature, and the following year, in 
the Scott campaign, he was one of the Presi- 
dential electors on the Whig ticket. In 1859 
he was made judge of the Court of Common 
Pleas, holding that position until September, 
1861, when he resigned to enter the Union 
army. He was appointed colonel of the 33d 
Indiana \'olunteers. Infantry, and served three 
years, during which period he rose to the rank 
of general by brevet. In command of his 
regiment he participated, in 1861, in the bat- 
tle of Wild Cat, Ky., the first engagement 
fought on Kentucky soil, in which the Rebels, 
led by General Zollicoft'er, were repulsed after 
a severe engagement. In February, 1863, our 
subject was appointed brigadier-general, and 
in the spring of that year he was captured at 
Thompson's Station, in Tennessee, but was 
exchanged two months later. In the battle 
of Thompson's Station, where he fought Gen- 
eral VanDorn, he attacked six brigades with 
one, being misled by being informed that he 
was attacking General Forrest, who at that 
time had one thousand eight hundred men. 
When he got into the battle he fought the six 
brigades until he ran out of ammunition. He 
was deserted by his cavalry and artillery, 
also by one regiment of Ohio infantry which 
guarded the ammunition that belonged to his 
brigade, neither of which belonged to his 
brigade. After his exchange he returned to 
the Army of the Cumberland, with which he 
remained, iloing dutv in Tennessee and 


Georgia, until his term expired. He served 
under Gen. Gordon Granger in the Reserve 
Corps, and under Gen. Joseph Hooker in the 
20th Army Corps. During this time he was 
in many hard-fought battles, his brigade dis- 
tinguishing itself especially in the Atlanta 
campaign, at Resaca, New Hope Church, 
Gulp's Farm, Kenesaw Mountain and Peach 
Tree Creek. Atlanta was surrendered to him, 
the mayor attempting to surrender the city 
while a Rebel brigade fled for safety. He was 
brevetted brigadier-general for gallant and 
meritorious conduct in this campaign. 

Returning to Indianapolis, General Co- 
burn resumed the practice of his profession, 
and in the spring of 1865 received the ap- 
])ointment of first secretary of the Territory of 
Montana. He declined the honor, but in the 
fall of 1865 he accepted the position of judge 
cf the Circuit court for Marion and Hen- 
dricks counties, to which he was elected with- 
out opposition. However, he did not long 
serve in this capacity, as in 1866 he was 
nominated for Congress, and immediately re- 
signed the judgeship to take the stump. He 
was elected to Congress, and was re-elected 
three times, serving four terms in succession, 
until March 5, 1875. As might be judged by 
the length of his service, he exhibited marked 
ability in many directions, and as he acted 
upon several committees there was constant 
demand for the exercise of his varied gifts 
of mind and legal attainments. As a member 
of the committees on Public Expenditures, 
Banking and Currency, Military Aflfairs, the 
Kuklux Investigation and the Alabama 
Election Investigation, he proved himself a 
man of rare good sense and excellent judg- 
ment, and he won the same measure of es- 
teem on the floor, his actions being marked 
by justice and honor, and all his work being 
characterized by capability and honesty. His- 
views upon questions of reconstruction, which 
then agitated the entire country, were very 
])ositive, and he had the courage of his con- 
victions in openly opposing such measures as 
he considered — in the light of then recent 
events — unpatriotic and unnecessarily gener- 
ous. Another movement to which he was 
strongly opposed was the contraction of the 
currency, holding firmly to the belief that too 
much le'gislation'on the currency question was 
an error, and that such matters could not be 
adjusted merely by legislation. He also took 
a stand against 'further land grants being 
made to railroads, claiming that the amount 

already devoted to that purpose was ample. 
General Coburn was among the earliest advo- 
cates of the reduction of the high duties levied 
under the tariff laws during the Civil war 
and for some time afterward, arguing for pro- 
tection at a moderate rate, and that this was 
a matter which Congress should be ready at 
all times to modify in accordance with exist- 
ing conditions. He offered a bill providing 
for the appointment of an American com- 
mission to act conjointly with one appointed 
by the British government, looking to the sur- 
vey of a route for a ship canal connecting 
the St. Lawrence river and the Great Lakes, 
and capable of allowing the passage of the 
largest ocean steamers of both nations. This 
bill was referred to a committee, but never 
reported. Recently the scheme has been re- 
vived under more favorable circumstances. 
He served four years as chairman of the 
committee on Military Affairs, and made a 
notable record. The system of army pay was 
put upon a new basis as reported by him and 
as adopted by Congress without amendment. 
And it was as the result of a bill which he 
drafted and reported that the army prison at 
Fort Leavenworth was established. The 
prisoners, then scattered at a great expense 
in the States' prisons and jails, were thus 
made self-supporting, and secured the hu- 
mane treatment which, as old soldiers, they 

There is one especially interesting epi- 
sode in General Coburn's Congressional life 
which now seems almost prophetic, and 
evinces a penetration into national affairs 
possessed alone by the higher type of states- 
man. In February, 1873, a discussion arose 
in the House over a bill making an appro- 
priation for the ^lilitary Academy at West 
Point, in which it was proposed to drop the 
teaching of Spanish. The General, then 
chairman of the committee on Military .Af- 
fairs, at once opposed this projxisition, al- 
though it had the approval of President 
Grant, the Secretary of War and the I'.oard 
of Visitors, mainly composed of college pro- 
fessors. He urged most strenuously that the 
study of the Spanish language was of prinie 
importance, and especially to our military offi- 
cers, since those of our national neighbors 
who do not speak English use the Spanisli 
language, and that our soldiers might be 
brought into contact with Spanish peoples, 
either bv conquest or annexation. His speech 
concluded with these words : "Let the stand- 



ard of our military academy be made so high 
that its graduates will be proficient alike in 
English, in German and in Spanish. The 
knowledge of this last language will be of 
greater and greater value as time rolls on. 
The boy is born that shall see the day when 
the general shall mount his horse and lead 
the column riding from the Rio Grande to 
the isthmus of Panama, with the flag and 
the armed men of the Union behind it. The 
boy is alive who will issue general orders in 
Spanish from Alorro Castle to a people who 
will then be citizens of the United States." 
The amendment was adopted and the Spanish 
language continues to be a part of the course 
taught at West Point. He also originated 
and reported a bill which became a law, pro- 
viding for the erection of headstones over 
the soldiers' graves in the national cemeteries 
and elsewhere, of which the Daughters and 
Sons of the American Revolution have eagerly 
availed themselves. Another excellent bill 
W'hich was introduced and carried through the 
House by him provided for the prevention of 
the promotion of officers of the army addicted 
to the habitual intemperate use of intoxicants 
or drugs, but this bill, though admitted to be 
a just and salutary measure, met defeat in 
the Senate. Thus it may be seen that he 
carried the enthusiasm and patriotic ardor 
which marked his army service into the legis- 
lative hall, and worked unceasingly for what 
he believed to be the good of the army and 
the benefit of his old comrades in arms. The 
publication of the Rebellion Records, giving 
to the world the orders, dispatches and re- 
ports of both Union and Rebel ofiicers, and 
of which one hundred and fifty volumes have 
already been published, is the result of a law 
of which General Coburn is the author. His 
entire career in Congress was marked by a 
conscientious resistance to all schemes for the 
extravagant expenditure of the people's 
money. He was defeated with the Republi- 
can ticket in the fall of 1874, when the Baxter 
liquor law of Indiana engendered great hos- 
tility to the Republican party. In 1876 he 
declined to be a candidate for Congress and in 
1880 declined the candidacy for governor. 

Since the close of his service in Congress 
he has practiced law at Indianapolis, except 
while absent from the State as United States 
commissioner at Hot Springs, Ark., to which 
he was appointed in 1877 by President Hayes, 
to settle the land titles, lay off the city, fix 
the price of lots, etc. He was also in Mon- 

tana for about two years, having been ap- 
pointed by President Arthur one of the three 
judges of the Supreme court. When the 
Democrats came into power he was removed 
for political reasons, and returned to Indi- 
anapolis to resume his legal practice, in w-hich 
he has ever since been engaged. His offices 
are in Rooms 532-533, Lemcke building. 

Although General Coburn has always been 
busy with his legal work, he has never been 
too busy to take a public-spirited interest in 
the affairs of the city, and his influence has 
ever been directed toward the attainment and 
maintenance of the highest good. In 1851 he 
set on foot the project for the erection of a 
United States post office building in Indi- 
anapolis, and called a meeting of citizens 10 
urge it upon Congress. It was not taken up 
with enthusiasm by many, but a committee of 
three, of w^hom he w^as one, labored so faith- 
fully that within a few months the measure 
introduced became a law, and the city had 
a public building after New Orleans and De- 
troit. In 1B54 he bore an important part in 
the organization of the Shade Tree Associ- 
ation, encouraging the planting of trees in 
public places, and in 1859, while judge of the 
court, he ordered and had planted a double 
row of trees around the court-house square. 
The free schools have also had their share 
of his attention. He served one term as a 
school commissioner of the city, and was one 
of the first to advocate the introduction of 
manual training into the public schools. Gar- 
field Park, now a source of pride to the city, 
had long been neglected, and had been leased 
for ten years, but when the city council and 
aldermen passed a resolution authorizing it 
to be leased for another five years General 
Coburn thought the time to act had come, 
and he resolutely opposed such action. He 
called and addressed public meetings, gained 
the good-will of the newspapers, and so far 
succeeded in awaking the public feeling that 
not only was the original project defeated, 
but an ordinance was passed providing for the 
future protection and improvement of the 
park. To him also is due mmch credit for 
the efficiency of the various public charitable 
institutions. He did his best to obtain legis- 
lation for the establishment of a capable board 
of public charities, but without success. He 
worked zealously in the founding of the Indi- 
ana Soldiers' Orphans' Home, at Knights- 
town, and w^as one of the earliest workers for 
the building of the soldiers' monument, de- 


livering a most eloquent address in its favor 
at a State soldiers' mass meeting held at Indi- 
anapolis in 1877; he rejoiced greatly at the 
successful outcome of the project, and de- 
livered an oration when the corner-stone of 
the monument was laid. He took a leading 
and active part in preventing the division of 
the fund granted to the States by Congress 
for agricultural and mechanical colleges, 
which resulted in the establishment of the 
Purdue University at Lafayette. 

General Coburn deserves the high esteem he 
enjoys. His life has been one of continuous 
unselfish usefulness reaching put in many di- 
rections, solely with a desire to promote the 
public and private good of his fellow-men, 
never with a motive of personal gain. That 
he has won an enviable standing was inevit- 
able. No man could so devote himself and 
his work to the general good without gaining, 
in a large measure, the respect and good-will 
of all, and his talents as a speaker and writer, 
his legal attainments, his high natural endow- 
ments and their continual development, would 
also entitle him to a high place. He has ever 
aimed at practical results, and his success in 
attaining them is the best evidence of a high 
intelligence properly utilized. Gen. Lew Wal- 
lace spoke of him as one of the best men that 
ever lived and characterized his services to 
the State and nation as invaluable. 

In JNIarch, 1852, General Coburn married 
Miss Caroline Test, who was born Dec. 15, 
1830, daughter of Judge Charles H. Test, of 
Centerville, Ind. One child was born to them, 
a daughter, who died in infancy. Their home 
is at No. 1 5 18 South New Jersey street. Mrs. 
Coburn is a member of the Congregational 
Church. The General belongs to George H. 
Thomas Post, G. A. R.. of which he was a 
charter member, and is also a member of the 
Loyal Legion. 

Judge Charles H. Test, attorney and cir- 
cuit judge, was born in New Jersey, of Qua- 
ker ancestry, and was a direct descendant of 
John Test, the first sheriff of Philadelphia. 
Hon. John Test, the father of Judge Charles 
H. Test, was a typical gentleman of the old 
school, even to the cue he wore. He was a 
native of New Jersey and a noted figure in 
the early days in Indiana. He was admitted 
to the Bar of Indiana in 181 1, was con- 
sidered the best lawyer in the then Territory, 
and was an important man in every respect, 
doing much to improve the condition of the 
early settlers around Brookville and in Frank- 

lin county. He was the first Congressman 
from that section and did good work while 
in the public service. In his efforts to aid 
in the prosperity of the town he purchased the 
Butler watermill on Yellow creek, at Brook- 
ville, in which he installed a carding ma- 
chine, a great innovation at that time. John 
Test married Mary Hall, a native of Penn- 
sylvania, and like himself of Quaker stock, 
she being a descendant of Friends who came 
from England to Philadelphia with Penn. 
They were the grandparents of William and 
Gen. Lew Wallace. 

As a boy Judge Test assisted in the sur- 
vey of the public lands of Indiana, and he 
was familiar with the development of the 
State from its primitive condition. He 
adopted his father's profession, in which he 
became eminent, serving as judge on the 
Wayne county and Lafayette circuits, and 
was at one time secretary of State for Indi- 
ana. Judge Test was twice married, and 
had five children by each union. His first 
wife, Rebecca (Davis), of Kentucky (a second 
cousin of Jefferson Davis), was the mother 
of James, Caroline (Mrs. Coburn), Thad- 
deus, and two that died in childhood. I\Irs. 
Rebecca (Davis) Test was a Methodist in 
religious belief. She died in Centerville, 
Wayne county, and the Judge subsequently 
married Elizabeth Moore, by whom he had : 
Charles, Lydia, Mary, Edmund B., and one 
that died in infancy. Mrs. Elizabeth (Moore) 
Test was a Friend, and Judge Test himself 
united with the Society in his later years. 
Both died in 1884, he passing away in De- 
cember of that year, at the age of eighty- 

JNIrs. John Coburn has the old clock of 
her grandfather, Hon. John Test, a fine piece 
of niechanism and of typical high-class work 
of the earlier days. It has an enameled dial, 
with full face, hand-painted moon, showing 
the changes of the moon, day of the month, 
etc. The maker, Humphrey Griffith, was a 
man of Welsh descent, noted as a fine watch 
and clock maker, and an all-round mechanical 
genius. He afterward had a shop in Indi- 
anapolis, owning land on the north side of 
Washington street, his establishment being 
where the Ncivs office is now located. He 
left valuable property. His children and de- 
scendants have been citizens of the highest 
respectability. [Since the foregoing was writ- 
ten, notice has been received of General Co- 
burn's death, January 28, 1908. — Ed.J 



DR. JOHX V. BAIRD. The Baird fam- 
ily, to which the eminent physician. Dr. John 
\'enable Baird. of Albany. Delaware county, 
Ind., belongs, is of ancient lineage. It orig- 
inated in the South of France, where several 
of the name were living during the reign of 
Louis IV. and the first of the name mentioned 
in Great Britain came over with \\'illiam the 
Conqueror. It is believed that it first appears 
in Scotland, when members of the family ac- 
companied William the Lion on his return 
from captivity in 1 174. Certain it is that 
little more than half a century later they pos- 
sessed fine estates and had made alliances in 
the south and southwest counties of Scotland. 
The old spelling of the name was Bard, 
Barde, Beard, Byrd and Bayard. In New 
York it has been spelled Bard, Bardt and 
Baort. The Co.\t of Arms is: gules, a boar 
passant, or. Crest : a griffin's head with the 
motto, Dominns fecit. Tradition says these 
were presented by William the Lion, who 
happened to detach himself from his attend- 
ants while hunting in the southwest part of 
England, and was then attacked by a wild 
boar. Calling for help, a Baird came to the 
rescue and killed the boar. As evidence to 
the truth of this story, one foot of the boar 
was carried north, and is still preserved ; it 
is fourteen inches long and nine broad, cut 
oflf at the ankle. Among the members of the 
family especially prominent in the early days 
may be mentioned: Le Seigneur de Barde, 
who. in 1066, was one of the followers of 
William the Conqueror ; Henry de Barde, 
Mariscallus and Strivelin, who in 1178 was 
a witness to a charter granted by King Wil- 
liam the Lion to the Bishop of Glasgow upon 
some lands in the town of Stirling: Hugo de 
Baird, one of the sub-witnesses to a safe con- 
duct granted King William, April 17. 1194. 
by King Richard I, in which large appoint- 
ments of money and provisions are ordered 
for him during his going, coming and stay- 
ing in England : Magistrus Ricardus de 
Barde, a witness in 1224 to a charter granted 
by the Bishop of Glasgow : Richard de Baird, 
who in 1228 made a donation to the Abbot 
and Convent of Kelso : Duncan, Fergus, John 
and Xicol Baird, mentioned in 1296, in "Pym's 
Collection,"' as men of rank and property ; 
Jordan Baird, the brave companion of Sir 
William Wallace (1207-1305): in 1308 a 
Baird was put to death for conspiracy against 
King Robert Bruce : Peter Baird, made com- 
mander of the navy (1313) by King Edward 

II : Sir \\'illiani Baird. of Evendale, who par- 
ticipated in the battle of Poictiers : General Sir 
David Baird (1757-1829), who at the head of 
the British troops successfully stormed Ser- 
ingapatam. India, in 1799, when Tippo Sahib 
was killed and India given to Britain : Lt. Col. 
Andrew Wilson Baird. F. R. S. (born April 
28, 1842), a noted civil engineer, and in 1885 
a collaborator with C. H. Darwin in "The 
Harmonic Analysis of Tidal Observations." In 
American annals are found mention of Wil- 
liam Byrd (born at Westover, ^'a., March 28, 
1674, died Aug. 26, 1744), promoter of sci- 
ence and literature, fellow of the Royal So- 
ciety of London, receiver general in Mrginia. 
thrice agent for \'irginia in England, thirty- 
seven years a member and finally president of 
the King's council of the Colony, commis- 
sioner in 1728 to set boundary line between 
Xorth Carolina and \'irginia. and in 1733 '^'d 
out the cities of Richmond ( first called IByrd's 
Warehouse) and Petersburg, \'a. : Robert 
Baird, D. D. (born near Lniontown, Pa., Oct. 
6. 1798. died at Yonkers, X. Y., March 15, 
186^), theologian and writer: Henrv Martvn 
Baird (son of Robert, D. D.), Ph. D., D. D., 
LL. D. (born in Philadelphia, Jan. 17, 1832). 
noted evangelist and writer : Absalom Baird 
(born in Washington, Pa., Aug. 20. 1824), 
American soldier, graduated West Point 1849, 
Florida hostilities, 1851-53, assistant profes- 
sor at military academy, 1856-59. captain and 
assistant adjutant general Aug. 3. 1861, lieu- 
tenant colonel June 13, 1865, brigadier general, 
U. S. ^'ols., 1862-66, and retired Aug. 20, 

John Baird, great-grandfather of Dr. John 
X'enable Baird, was son of John Baird, Sr., 
and grandson of Barzilla Baird. In his relig- 
ious faith he did not depart from the teachings 
of his Scotch ancestors, but was a strict Pres- 
byterian. His wife was an English woman 
by the name of Leighton. 

Bedent Baird. son of John, born about 
1780, lived on Schoharie creek in Xew York 
State. He married Sarah Britton, whose 
father was Welsh. About 1812 they removed 
to Ohio, making the journey down the Ohio 
river in a flat boat, and settling in Middle- 
town, Butler county. After a short time there 
they went to Warren county. Ohio, and settled 
about seven miles northeast of the village of 
Lebanon. Here Bedent Baird cleared up 160 
acres of land from the woods and made a fine 
farm. His first house was of hewed logs, but 
later he built a one-storv flat-roofed frame 



house, large on the ground and very substan- 
tial, with many wide rooms and an excellent 
cellar. To Bedent and Sarah Baird were born 
eleven children, nine of whom survived in- 
fancy. The elde'_-t, Hannah, born Dec. 30, 1802, 
married William X'enable. The others in order 
of birth were : John ; Britton ; Newell ; Eliz- 
abeth ; Joseph ; Bedent ; Jane ; and William. 
Bedent Baird died on his farm in 1850. In 
his religious faith he was an Universalist. 
He was a man of much independence of char- 
acter, and was an active old-line Whig. 

John Baird, son of Bedent and father of 
Dr. John \'., was born in New York State 
Nov. 8, 1808, and was about four years old 
when the family came down the Ohio. He 
was reared among the pioneers of Warren 
county, Ohio, and in the early schools of that 
locality acquired a good education for the 
times, including a knowledge of Latin. He 
became a teacher, and was well-known 
through all that part of Ohio. In 1836 he 
moved to Indiana, making the journey with 
two wagons, each drawn by four horses, over 
the old Indian Trail from Cincinnati to Fort 
Wayne. He settled upon 160 acres of land 
in the woods. Of this land his father had 
entered eighty acres for him, and he entered 
eighty more for himself. At first he built a 
two-story hewed log house, which is still 
standing. After clearing up his land he be- 
came very prosperous, and was a man of 
much influence in the community. For many 
years he held the office of justice of the peace, 
in political principle he was an old-line Whig 
with strong Abolition sentiments. His home 
was a station on the Underground railroad. 
With his brother, also a strong Abolitionist, 
he helped many a runaway to the north to find 
freedom. At the organization of the Republi- 
can party, John Baird was one of the first to 
pledge his allegiance to its principles, and he 
voted for Gen. John Charles Fremont, its first 
presidential candidate, and all through that 
exciting campaign he took an active part, 
making many public speeches. He died Oct. 
25, 1858. He was a man of active mentality, 
and was charitable in his judgments. His 
religious faith was that of the Universalists. 
On Jan. 27, 1831, in Warren county, Ohio, 
John Baird married Eliza Staley, born in 
Frederick City, Md., Aug. 11, 181 1, daughter 
of Solomon and Margaret (Butler) Staley. 
Solomon Staley was born in Maryland of Ger- 
man descent, and was a wealthy farmer, tan- 

ner and slave holder, living on the Little Mon- 
ocacy River near Frederick City, Md. To 
John and Eliza Baird were born the following 
children : Sarah, Mary, Elias, William, Eliz- 
abeth, Jane. John Venable and Rudolph C. 
Of these William and Elias were soldiers in 
the Civil war, the latter, a member of Com- 
pany F. 75th Indiana Infantry, being injured 
at the battle of Chickamauga and dying 
from the effects of wounds. William, in Com- 
pany C, 8th Indiana Cavalry, saw three years 
of service, of Vv'hich time five months were 
spent as a prisoner in Libby prison. 

Dr. John X'enable Baird, son of John, was 
born June 13, 1850, on his father's farm in 
Jay county, Ind. He received a common 
school education. The first school he at- 
tended was a subscription school, and it was 
held in a log cabin, with puncheons for seats, 
and a plank fastened to one side of the wall 
with wooden pins to do service as a writing 
desk. His father paid thirty-three cents for 
each child. The next school was held in a 
frame building. He was able to attend but 
two or three months in the winter, the rest 
of his time being required on the home farm. 
At the age of sixteen he went to Liber Col- 
lege, Portland, Ind., where he took up higher 
mathematics and other advanced studies. He 
then began teaching, and for ten years was 
so engaged in Jay county, at the same time 
working on thi> homestead. In the meantime 
he studied medicine with Dr. E. W. Moon, of 
Portland, afterward attending the Cincinnati 
Medical College, from which he graduated in 
1880. He at once established himself for 
practice in Albany, Ind.. and soon won a sub- 
stantial patronage. Dr. Baird is a man of 
wide reailing, and has accumulated a collection 
of 1,000 volumes, the largest, perhaps, of any 
private library in that section of the State. 
He is a patron of the leading medical periodi- 
cals, and he keeps up with the modern scien- 
tific developn->ent of his profession. 

Dr. Baird is very public-spirited and has 
been greatlv interested in the cause of edu- 
cation, and was for years an active and effi- 
cient member of the school board of Albany. 
As a Republican he represented his district in 
the Sixty-third General Assembly. Fraternally 
Dr. Baird is a member of the Masons at Al- 
bany, the Modern Woodmen, the Odd Fellows 
and the Maccabees. Like all his family he 
clings to the faith of the Universalists. Both 
as a citizen and as a physician he has won the 



respect of the people of Albany and vicinity, 
and his great kindUness of manner has en- 
deared him to many. 

On June 26, 1875, Dr. Baird married 
AureHa Meeks, who was born in Miami 
count',, Ohio, Sept. 14, 1844, daughter of EH 
and Matilda (IMorris) Meeks. Eli Meeks was 
born in Miami county, Ohio, and in i860 set- 
tled in Jay county, Ind., where he opened and 
farmed a fine tract of 200 acres ; he died in 
Lima, Ohio, aged sixty-five years, in the faith 
■of the Universalist Church. In politics he 
was a Democrat. His children were: John, 
Eliza, Ellen and Aurelia. To Dr. John \". 
and Aurelia Baird were born the following 
children : John W., a lawyer in Muncie, who 
married Mary Risher; and Morris B., in the 
real estate business in I\Iuncie. Mrs. Aurelia 
(Meeks) Baird died Feb. 28, 1890. Dr. Baird 
married (second) June 30, 1892, at Poplar 
Bluff, Mo., Mary A. IMcGarvey, who was 
born in Paradise, Ky., Aug. 4, 1857, daughter 
of Peter and Bridget (McGrail) IMcGarvey, 
of Scotch-Irish stock on both sides. Mrs. 
Baird attended the high school at Rockport, 
Ind., and the State Normal at Terre Haute, 
later studying medicine with her brother. Dr. 
John McGarvey, in Poplar BlufY. She grad- 
uated from the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons at Indianapolis, in 1898, and began 
the practice of her profession in Albany, be- 
ing very successful especially in the line of 
gynecology and obstetrics. She is a woman 
of strong sympathies and is of a bright, cheer- 
ful disposition, and her very presence brings 
hope into the sick room. 

Butler. The Butler family, to which Dr. 
Baird belongs through his grandmother. ]\[ar- 
garet (Butler) Staley, daughter of Richard 
Butler, is of English stock, and came from the 
island of Scilly in the English Channel. Tra- 
dition says the first ancestor went over from 
Normandy with William the Conqueror. The 
first of the family of whom there is definite 
information was Theobald Fitz-Walter, who 
went to Ireland with Henry II, and was given 
the office of chief butler of Ireland, his es- 
pecial duty being to attend coronations, and 
to present the first cup of wine to the newly 
made king — whence the name "Butler." 
Crest: Out of a ducal coronet, or, a plume 
of five ostrich feathers, argent. Therefrom 
is.suant a falcon rising, of the last. Arms: 
Or, a chief, indented, az. Motto: Cominc jc 
troiive (As I find). 

Many of the name have been prominent in 

American history, and the descendants of 
Thomas Butler, born about 1674, who settled 
in Maine in 1698, with a retinue of servants, 
form a brilliant company of soldiers, profes- 
sional men and statesmen. Lieut. Col. Perci- 
val Butler was a brave officer of the Pennsyl- 
vania Line in the Revolution. Col. Wiliam 
Butler was also in command of a Penn- 
sylvania regiment in the struggle for liberty; 
Gen. William O. Butler succeeded Gen. Scott 
as commander of the American army in Mex- 
ico in 1848; Zebulon Butler, bom in 1731, and 
an early settler in the Wyoming ^'alley, took 
part in the French and Indian War, and also 
in the Revolution, attaining the rank of cap- 
tain ; and Gen. Benjamin F. Butler, lawyer, 
politician, general, member of Congress, Gov- 
ernor of Massachusetts, and candidate of 
the People's party for President in 1884, died 
in 1893. 

Richard Butler, father of :Margaret (But- 
ler) Staley, was born in Ireland and was 
killed by the Indians in battle in Ohio, Nov. 
4, 1 79 1. He came to America before 1760, 
and held the rank of lieutenant-colonel in the 
Pennsylvania Line of the Continental army. 
He served throughout the war, and was agent 
for Indian affairs in Ohio in 1787. He was 
with St. Clair in his disastrous expedition in 
1791, commanding the right wing of the army 
with the rank of major. 

Thomas Butler, born in 1754, brother of 
Richard, died at New Orleans Sept. 7, 1805. 
He was in every important battle of the ]\I id- 
die States during the Revolution, at Brandy- 
wine and Monmouth, receiving the thanks of 
his commanders, Washington and Wayne, for 
his skill and bravery. In 1791 he commanded 
a battalion under St. Clair, and was twice 
wounded at the defeat of that leader, when 
his own brother Richard was slain. 

well-known as Professor of Biblical Literature 
at Earlham College, Richmond. Ind., as well 
as a contributor to various religious period- 
icals, was born Aug. 28, 1871, at Friendsville, 
Tenn., son of \\'illiam and Eliza (Sanders) 

George Russell, the pioneer of the family 
in Indiana, settled about 1809 in this State, 
about three miles east of Richmond, whence 
he soon removed, however, to ^^"ebsler, Ind., 
where his son. Josiah, was born. 

Josiah Russell received the pioneer educa- 
tion of his dav in the old Friends school. 



Avhich was one of the first schools of this sec- 
tion. In Wayne county, Ind., he was married 
to Mary Whitson, born Dec. 5, 1812, prob- 
ably near Webster, that county. Her people 
had come from South Carolina on account of 
their opposition to slavery. About 1840 Jo- 
siah Russell and wife removed to Marion 
county, where he entered land from the Gov- 
ernment, paying therefor $1.25 per acre. He 
first took up a tract of eighty acres, and to this 
he added from time to time until his property 
consisted of 240 acres, he being one of the 
most substantial men of his community. He 
was a member of the Beech Grove Rleeting, 
and later was one of the founders of the West 
Newton Meeting, in which he became an 
elder. In politics he was a Free-Soiler, later 
became an original Republican, voting for 
Fremont and Lincoln, was a stanch Aboli- 
tionist, and during his last years a Prohi- 
bitionist. . ]\Ir. Russell died in 1889, aged 
seventy-two years. He was a man of magni- 
ficent physique, standing six feet four inches, 
and being of immense frame, his weight be- 
ing 280 pounds. Three of Mr. Russell's 
aunts together weighed over 1,000 pounds. 

William Russell, father of Prof. Elbert, 
was reared at \'a!ley Mills, Ind., and was an 
early attendant at the Friends Meeting there, 
the instructor being the well-known Gilbert 
P. Pinkham, one of whose pupils was Presi- 
dent Alills of Earlham College. In 1862 Mr. 
Russell entered Earlham, from which he was 
■graduated, as class poet, in 1866, after which 
he taught school for three years near Azalia, 
Bartholomew county. About 1867 Mr. Rus- 
sell was married at Beech Grove to Eliza San- 
ders, daughter of Eli and Ruth (Mills) San- 
ders. After their marriage they settled in 
that locality, where Mr. Russell was engaged 
in agricultural pursuits for one year. They 
then removed to Friendsville, Tenn., where 
Mr. Russell became a teacher in the Friends- 
ville Academy, and later became principal 
thereof. He was a recorded minister and 
preached not only for the meeting in Friends- 
ville, but devoted much time to the meetings 
in the surrounding country. Here Mr. Rus- 
sell died aged thirty-three years. He was a 
man of deep religious feeling and poetic na- 
ture, some of his poems beingr published in 
the press of the day. Mrs. Russell died dur- 
ing the same year as her husband, in 1879. 
leaving three children: Eva, born March 10, 
1869, married \\'avne Haworth, of Knox- 
ville, Tenn. ; Elbert ; and Ruth, born Aug. 13, 

1877, married Carl Bowen, a merchant of 
Lynn, Indiana. 

Elbert Russell received his early education 
at West Newton, Ind., where he was living 
with his grandfather, Josiah Russell, his 
father having died when he was about seven 
years old. After graduating from the high 
school he entered Earlham College, from 
which he was graduated in 1894, at which 
time he became assistant teacher. The next 
year he took the degree of A. M., and was 
appointed Professor of Biblical Instruction, 
a chair he has held to the present time, with 
the exception of two years when he was in at- 
tendance at the Divinity School of the Uni- 
versity of Chicago. He is a well known con- 
tributor to publications of a religious nature, 
including the American Friend, The British 
Friend and the Biblical World. 

Professor Russell was married Aug. 14, 
1895, in West Newton, Ind., to Lieuetta Lil- 
lian Cox, born in West Newton, Nov. 17, 
1872, daughter of Theodore M. and Rachael 
( Stewart) Cox, and a member of an old Co- 
lonial North Carolina family. 

Abner Cox, son of John Cox and wife 
(Quakers of Irish descent) and great-grand- 
father of Mrs. Russell, was a native of North 
Carolina and came from that State to In- 
diana in 1820, accompanied by his father, 
two brothers, and three sisters, making 
the journey in a covered wagon. Abner en- 
tered land in Morgan county between Wav- 
erly and Landersdale, along White river. 
Here he cleared up a large farm, building a 
large frame house and later, in 1849, a one- 
story brick, one of the first in this section. 
He owned about 1,000 acres and was largely 
engaged in buying and selling mules. He 
lived to be eighty years of age, and at the 
time of his death, his homestead was one of 
the most prominent on the Waverly pike. 
He married Alice Dollarhide, who also at- 
tained advanced years. To- them were born 
seven children: John, Larkin, Dennis, Aca, 
Mary, Delilah and Rachel. Abner Cox was 
a typical North Carolinian pioneer. His neigh- 
bors told as a characteristic joke that on one 
occasion he walked all the way back to North 
Carolina again for an old jacket that was 
lined with red cloth, which he had left hang- 
ing on a fence post. This kind of thriftiness 
enabled him to accumulate a fortune of $40.- 
000 in addition to his acres of land. He and 
his sons gave the land for the Mt. Olivet 
(Methodist) Church, and erected the building. 



Larkin Cox. the j:;raiul father of Mrs. Rus- 
sell, was born on the old Cox homestead in 
Morgan county. Ind.. and in 1843 was mar- 
ried to .Martha McXab. daughter of Hicklin 
and Rebecca McXab. Kentucky pioneers of 
Scotch stock. After marriage Air. and Mrs. 
Cox settled on a farm near the homestead, 
and at the time of Mr. Cox's death, in 1853, 
when he had only reached his thirty-fourth 
year, he had 700 acres. He gave the land 
upon which was built the Landersdale school 
house, and like all his family, was interested 
in education. He was a man of fine qualities, 
and was religiously inclined, being a faithful 
member of the Methodist Church. Mr. Cox 
and liis wife had three children : Theodore 
Mitchell. Sarah and Rebecca. 

Theodore M. Cox was born July 14. 185 1, 
in Morgan county, and received a common 
school education in his native locality, after 
which he also attended a private boarding 
school. He was married in Indianapolis to 
Rachael Stewart, born March 2, 1849. daugh- 
ter of James and Sarah Jane (Peters) Stew- 
art, Pennsylvanians of Scotch and German 
birth. Air. Cox died aged thirty-four years, 
while his widow is still living. They had two 
children, namely : Daisy Evelyn, and Lieu- 
etta Lilliam. The latter graduated from West 
Newton high school in 1893. and entered 
Earlham College the same year. She contin- 
ued her studies after her marriage to Pro- 
fessor Russell and graduated in 1899. In politi- 
cal matters Mr. Cox was a stanch Democrat, 
although he never held public office ; and in 
religious belief he was in early life an adherent 
of the Christian or Campbellite faith and in 
later life joined the Methodist Church. He 
was an intlustrious farmer, taking great in- 
terest in overseeing his farm of 1 1 1 1-2 acres, 
this being a part of the old Cox homestead 
which had been owned by his father. 

Two bright children, a son and a daugh- 
ter, have been borji to Air. and Airs. Russell, 
namely: Josiah Cox, born Sept. 3. 1900. in 
Richmond. Ind. ; and Alarcia Raciiel, horn 
Alarch 31, 1903, in Chicago, Illinois. 

In this country of self-made men, where titles 
are unknown, where hereditv — so it shows its 
representatives to be of honest, upright par- 
entage — is almost unheeded, and where a man 
is judged solely upon his merits, we venture 
the opinion that the loftiest ideal is the man 
who surmounts all difficulties ; who stands true 

and unshaken by the storms of life, and by 
unceasing eiTorts is able to lift up both him- 
self and those about him. Such a man, pre- 
eminently the cause of his own extraordinary 
success, and the benefactor of all who know 
him, is the Hon. Joseph JelTerson Aloore, of 
Trafalgar, Johnson Co., Indiana. 

He was born in Union township, Johnson 
county, April 29, 1831. His father, Robert 
Aloore, was born in Ohio, and was a hatter 
by trade. He conducted a prosperous business 
in that line in Nashville, Tenn. He was a 
soldier in the War of 1812. In 1821 he lo- 
cated near Nineveh, Nineveh township, John- 
son county, where he entered eighty acres of 
land and lived there for some years doing a 
general fanning business. He then moved to 
Union township, again entering land, and here 
he remained for some years. He was one of 
the Associate Judges during his residence 
there, and in 1849 removed to Jasper county, 
settling in the Blue Grass region. Six years 
later he returned to Union township and died 
there Jan. 20th, 1855, aged upwards of sixty 
years. Robert Aloore's wife, Elizabeth (AIc- 
Kinley) Aloore (a first cousin of the lamented 
President AIcKinley), was born in the same 
State as her husband, and she died in 1844. 
She was a member of the Christian Church, in 
which she was held in high esteem. Her hus- 
band was identified with the Cumberland 
Presbyterian and United Brethren Churches. 
Eight children were born to them, of whom 
four are now living: Alartha Al., widow of 
David Wyon, of Decatur, 111. ; Rachel 
Amanda, wife of Joseph Yoeman, of Rens- 
selaer, Ind. : Robert AI., of Trafalgar : and 
Joseph Jefferson. 

The father of Robert Aloore was a native 
of Ireland, coming to .America during the 
Revolutionary war, and locating at Ripley. 
Ohio, where he lost his life in the prime of 
his manhood in the building of an old-fash- 
ioned stick chimney. He left a large family, 
one of his sons being known as "Uncle Bill" 
Aloore. He was a great .\bolitionist, and 
was Captain of the great Underground Rail- 
road at Ripley. He was a man of great 
bravery, and carried out his ideas of right re- 
gardless of dangers. In later years he became 
wealthy and owned a large tract of land near 
Georgetown, Ohio. 

Airs. Elizabeth (AIcKinley) Aloore was a 
daughter of Hugh AIcKinley, who lived near 
Higginsport, Ohio. He was a great horse- 
man, and raised manv blooded animals, in 



"whicli he took great pride. He was of Scotch 
descent, and died well advanced in years, 
leaving a large family. 

The Hon. Joseph Jefiferson Moore passed 
his boyhood days in Union township in the 
varied duties and interests of farm work. 
Here he remained until about the time of his 
maturity, attending the old fashioned sub- 
sciiption schools. He began his business 
career in making rails and cutting wood, at 
twenty-five cents a cord. This work he did 
upon the neighboring farms, and he also as- 
sisted in the work at home. He then spent 
several years in hunting, trapping and fishing, 
at which he was an adept. His opportunities 
along educational lines were few, but he was 
always a great lover of books, and from them 
gained his information. He earned his first 
book. Pike's Arithmetic, by laboriously cutting 
wheat that had been left by the reapers in the 
field. For a pencil he used a flattened bullet, 
and his calculations and drawings were made 
upon logs which he had smoothed ofif for that 
purpose. At the end of three years he left 
Jasper county and removed to Johnson county, 
where he was selected, on account of his fit- 
ness and industry to teach in the schools there. 
His first experience was a three months term, 
for which he received the munificent sum of 
S25.00, together v/ith his board and clothes. 
On account of the success with which he con- 
ducted his first term, he was selected for the 
position in a larger school, where he again 
taught for three months, this time receiving with board and clothes. After this he 
taught in the subscription schools, in which 
his income was derived from per capita as- 
sessments against tlie pupils in amounts of 
$2.00, which netted him quite a handsome in- 
come for those days. Afterward entering 
Franklin College for one term, he completed 
the course of his studies and then accepted a 
position as clerk for Morgan & Bridges in 
Trafalgar, where he remained about a year. 
P^rom this position he turned to renew his 
school work and taught another year, when 
he married and took up the general work of 
farming. After about a year he moved to 
[Morgan county, continuing his work of farm- 
ing. He had acquired a thorough knowledge 
of surveying some years before, while hunting 
and trapping, by reason of his employment by 
a surveyor, and soon after going to Morgan 
county, on account of his fitness for the po- 
sition, he was elected county surveyor, in 
v.hich position he continued a full term. At 

the beginning of the war he determined to 
go into business for himself, and accordingly 
returned to Union township, where he started 
a general store. He was elected county sur- 
veyor of Johnson county, and in this position 
served for many years. He continued con- 
ducting his store, until about 1866, when he 
rented "a house in Trafalgar, and started a 
store later on in the place where his present 
business is located, building the store, ware- 
house and other buildings. In the year 1881 
the buildings were all destroyed by fire, bring- 
ing upon him a loss of $16,000. Of this he 
only received the sum of $3,000 in the insur- 
ance. This would have been a crushing blow 
to most men, but Mr. [Nloore was undaunted, 
and simply used his insurance money in get- 
ting another start, and success has come to 
him. He is kept busy looking after his ex- 
tensive mercantile interests and his farms and 
is greatly interested in the projected interur- 
ban railway between Indianapolis and Evans- 
ville, which will make Trafalgar one of the 
best towns in the state. 

On Oct. 23, 1856, he was united in mar- 
riage to Ermina Forsyth, daughter of John 
and Sarah (Hughes) Forsyth, and to them 
four children were born : Frank F., Elgin E., 
Sinchona A., and one child who died in in- 
fancy. Frank F., now a prosperous and bril- 
liant lawyer in Indianapolis, married May 
Wyeth, and has two children, Joseph W. and 
Fannie ]\I. Elgin E. died at the age of two 
years and eight months. ]\Irs. jNIoore died on 
June 25, 1902, at the age of sixty years, three 
months and thirteen days. She was a member 
of the Baptist Church in which she was an 
earnest worker and highly esteemed by all, 
and her loss was a great shock to ;\Ir. Moore 
and all of her friends. 

The political affiliations of Mr. Moore have 
always been with the Democratic party, in 
which he has long been an important factor 
throughout the State. He is a Master Mason 
and was the author of the Gravel-road system, 
which was adopted with great success in this 
section. By this each farmer constructs his 
own section of road. This has resulted in 
much satisfaction to the tax payers and citi- 
zens of the communities where such roads 
exist, and greatly improved them at a mini- 
mum cost. In 1890 Mr. Moore was elected to 
the State Senate representing Morgan, John- 
son and Brown counties. He served ably in this 
capacity for four years, and won the respect 
and admiration of his constituents. 



The story of Mr. Moore's life, with ali 
its varied occupations, its general unfolding 
and steady development, might almost without 
embellishment, furnish material for a work of 
fiction, which in proper hands, might live 
throughout the ages. First as a farmer's boy 
Avith no advantages, he began life's struggle; 
then through successive stages, even as the 
immortal Lincoln of Illinois, farming, teach- 
ing, rail-splitting, clerking, he rose until he 
was chosen to fill one of the highest positions 
in the gift of the State. Now. in his honored 
age, all join in admiration and highest regard 
for him, who had the ability to win these many 
laurels, and the heroism of soul to sacrifice 
and labor until they were all honorably ob- 

LL. D.. former president of Franklin College, 
Franklin. Ind., which high and honorable po- 
sition he held for more than thirty years, is 
now serving as superintendent of the Soldiers' 
and Sailors' Orphans' Home, at Knightstown, 
Ind. By birth Dr. Stott belongs to Indiana, 
and his high moral character and intellectual 
attainments are but natural heritages from 
forefathers who through life followed high 
ideals and worked for the spiritual develop- 
inent of their fellowmen. 

Dr. Stott was bcrn in Jennings county, 
near ^'ernon, Ind., May 22, 1836, son of Rev. 
John and Elizabeth ( \^awter) Stott, natives of 
Kentucky. Rev. \Mlliam Taylor Stott. paternal 
grandfather of William Taylor Stott. who 
bears his name, was born in Kentucky of 
Scotch ancestry. His religious zeal carried 
him into the sparsely settled neighborhood of 
Madison, Ind., and later he made his home at 
Vernon. A giant in physical appearance, his 
mental equipment matched it well, and 
through his preaching more than 1,000 con- 
verts were baptized and added to the church. 
His work took him all over the State, and his 
last charge was at North Vernon. For more 
than fifty years he preached at \'ernon. Earl- 
ier in his career, he was a soldier in the War 
•of 1812. under Gen. Hull, and he fought his 
country's foes as valiantly in the flesh as later 
he taught the battles to be fought in the spirit- 
ual sense. The death of Grandfather Stott 
took place at the home of his son near North 
Vernon, at the age of ninety years. His wife 
was Alary Ann Stott, and they had three sons 
and four daughters. No less distinguished 
was the maternal grandfather of Dr. Stott, 

Rev. William Vawter, a native of Kentucky, 
who also came as a pioneer to Indiana. His 
first settlement was near Madison, but later 
he located at Vernon and lived there all his 
life, dying in 1868, aged ninety years. His 
father was Rev. Jesse X'awter, a Baptist min- 
ister, and his wife's father was Rev. Philemon 
\'awter, also a minister in the Baptist Church. 
The family is of French-English descent. The 
parents of Dr. Stott came from Kentucky 
into Indiana, about 1820, lived a short time 
near Madison, and then located at North Yer- 
non. The five children born to Rev. John 
and Elizabeth Stott, were the following: 
Vawter, who died in infancy ; Martha, wife of 
Maxa Moncrief, of Franklin ; Dr. William T. ; 
Miss Mary F., of Franklin ; and Alaria J., 
deceased, who was the wife of James N. 
Chaille. For fifty years these parents lived on 
the same farm in Jennings county, moving to 
Franklin only a short time prior to decease. 
His death occurred in December, 1887, at the 
age of seventy-seven years, while his widow 
survived until November, 1893, when she had 
reached her eighty-third year. He was a 
minister in the Baptist Church, and had a 
number of charges in Jennings county as well 
as in other parts of the State. For a great 
many years he ministered to the churches 
known as Geneva Church, at Oueensville, the 
Graham, Brush Creek and Zenas Churches in 
Jennings county and the Versailles Church, in 
Ripley county. He was ever ready to answer 
any call in any part of the State, but his last 
pastorate was at North Vernon. 

Dr. William Taylor Stott spent his boy- 
hood days on the farm near \'ernon. and was 
given educational advantages at the academy 
at Sardinia. With this preparation, he entered 
Franklin College, in 1856-7 and graduated in 
1 861. In the Julv following, he enlisted as 
a private soldier, in Company I, i8th Ind. V. 
I., with Thomas Pattison as Colonel com- 
manding. His ability was marked, and W'as 
early recognized by his superiors, and he re- 
ceived promotion, until he was made captain 
of his company. With his regiment he fought 
neaily the whole way round the Confederacy, 
taking part in the battles of Black Water, 
Sugar Creek, Pea, Cotton Plant. Port 
Gibson, Cham])ion Hills. Big Black River, 
Mcksburg. Mustang Island. Fort Esperanza, 
Baton Rouge. Berryville. Hall Town, Win- 
chester, Fisher's Hill. New Market, and Cedar 
Creek. At the last named battle Major W'W- 
liams having fallen, he as senior captain, at a 


critical moment, assumed command of the regi- cago Tribune; Grace E., who is the wife 
ment. ralUed his men, re-formed, and with rare of Rev. C. R. Parker, of LaPorte. Ind., and has 
ability and coohiess, conducted them to the two children, Cyril R. and Ruth Eleanor • 
close of that ever-to-be remembered day. As Edith, who married Rev. F. G. Kennv of 
a soldier, in camp, on the march or in the Indianapolis, Ind., and has one child, Grace 
field, he maintained in a large degree those Elizabeth; and Roscoe G., of LaPort'e, Ind. 
qualifications which distinguish the really who married Isabel Porter, of Petoskev,' 
great; self-possession, alertness, patience, reso- Michigan. 

lution, strength — in short, character. If he In political sympathy Dr. Stott is a Re- 

was ever afraid, no one but himself ever knew publican, but in local niatters is very liberal, 
it. On Dec. lo, 1864, he was mustered out, his methods while in the city council demon- 
having served continually more than three strating that his aim was not to advance party, 
years and six months. but to faithfully serve the city. When lie" 

At the close of the war, Capt. Stott, with accepted his position as head of the great 
characteristic energy and decision, resumed educational institution, which has been^pre- 
his student life. He matriculated at Rochester viously mentioned, it was at a time when 
Theological Seminary, where, after three a debt of $13,000 with no assets, had to be 
years, he graduated and was ordained pastor provided for. His years there were not onlv 
of Columbus Baptist Church, in 1868. In 1869 fruitful in the advancement of educational 
he was called to the chair of Natural Science, standards and attainments, but in the placing 
in Franklin College. In 1872 he became a of the college on a firm footing, with assets 
professor in Kalamazoo College, at Kalamazoo, at $464,000 and with only a small floatino- 
Mich., taking the chair of chemistry and phy- indebtedness. To his present position as su'^ 
sics, but in a few months, when Franklin Col- perintendent of the Soldiers" and Sailors' Or- 
lege was re-organized, he was asked to assume phans" Heme he is bringing to bear these 
the grave responsibilities of its Presidency, same talents, and not only has he won the 
This he did. He had received at Kalamazoo the approval of those in authority, but he has the 
degree of Doctor of Divinity. As president of love and respect of his charges. For the 
one of the State colleges of Indiana, Dr. Stott past three years he has been a member of the 
showed most unusual executive ability, and State Board of Education. In 1880 he served 
through the years exhibited a breadth of as president of the Indiana Baptist conven- 
culture, clearness of perception, fidelity and tion, and is prominent in all the leading move- 
perseverance in work, which not only made ments of his religious body. Dr. Stott had 
his name an inspiration all over the State, but a delightful home at No. 847 East Jefferson 
which gave him a reputation among those en- street, where he resided for about twenty- 
gaged in higher education. As a teacher he five years. There he delighted to meet his 
has few equals in America, while he also keeps chosen friends, by whom he is held in high 
abreast of the times in every line of the world's ' esteem, 
work. Not onlv is he interested in the affairs 

of Nation and State, but his attention has been PROF. EDWIN PRITCHARD TRUE- 

given to municipal matters, and he served as a BLOOD, one of the best known educators of 
member of the city council, having been elec- Indiana, who has been connected with Earl- 
ted by his ward by the largest majority on ham College, of Richmond, Ind., since 18S8, 
record. His influence in civic affairs has been was born May 16. 1861, a member of an old 
felt and his fellow-citizens feel confident of his Colonial Quaker family of English stock, 
influence and approval for anything which Caleb Trueblood, grandfatlier of Edwin 

assures real good to the community. P., was a native of North Carolina, and the 

On ]\Iay 21, 1868, Dr. Stott was united in first of the family to come to Indiana. In 1814 
marriage with Miss Arabella R. Tracy, he removed to this State, settling in Washing- 
daughter of Isaac S. Tracy and Mary M. ton county, after a hard and perilous journey 
(Pierce) Tracy, of Rochester. N. Y. Five by horse and wagon. He entered 160 acre's 
children were born to this union, three sons of land near Canton, ten miles northeast of 
and two daughters, Cyril H., the youngest, Salem, cleared his land from the woods, and 
dying at the age of seven years. The other replaced his original log cabin with a good. 
members of the family are : Wilfred T.. a substantial two-story frame dwelling. This 
brilliant journalist, on tlie staff of the Chi- homestead he later sold and removed one mile 


south, where he bought loo acres, which he 
also cleared, and on this latter tract continued 
to reside until his death. 

Jehu Trueblood, father of Edwin P., was 
born ^larch i8, 1819, in North Carolina. 
He received a common school education, was 
reared a farmer, and this occupation he fol- 
lower throughout life. He was married June 
II, 1840, to Louisa Pritchard, born Jan. 24, 
1822, in North Carolina, who in 1829 came 
to Washington county, Ind., where the family 
settled about one and one-half miles east of the 
Trueblood homestead. She was the daughter 
of Benjamin and ]\Iilea (White) Pritchard, 
both of Quaker stock. After marriage Mr. 
and Mrs. Trueblood settled on the original 
Trueblood homestead, but after the birth of 
three children removed to the neighborhood 
of the old Blue River Friends' Church, live 
miles distant, where he purchased 160 acres 
of land, partly improved. On this property 
stood a block house, built by the original set- 
tlers as a protection against the Indians. Jehu 
Trueblood completed the clearing of this tract, 
and here he died in 1877 at fifty-eight years 
of age, his wife passing away at Whittier, 
Cal., in 1892. Both Mr. and Mrs. Trueblood 
were faithful members of the Blue River 
Friends Meeting, where he was overseer, 
elder and clerk for many years, his home be- 
ing the stopping place of many of the early 
Quaker ministers. Mr. Trueblood was a 
strong Abolitionist. At the time of the Mor- 
gan raid, the old homestead was directly in 
the path of both pursued and pursuers, and 
the Truebloods were compelled to conceal 
their horses in the neighborhood known as 
"The Knobs," a tract covered with timber 
near the White River. Jehu Trueblood was 
a hard-working, industrious farmer, and a 
God-fearing man, noted for his honesty and 
integrity, and esteemed by his fellow men for 
his many sterling qualities of character. To 
such sturdy pioneers Indiana is indebted for 
its present greatness as a State. 

Edwin Pritchard Trueblood was reared on 
his father's farm, and received his early edu- 
cation in the district schools of his native lo- 
cality and the Friends school at Blue River, his 
farly teachers being William Pinkham, Albert 
\'otaw, Angle Huff White and Amos Sanders. 
Later he entered the preparatory department 
of Earlham College, where he continued from 
1879 until 1885. graduating in the latter year, 
in tlie meanwhile having taught school in 
1883 and 1884 in Blue River Acadcmv, his 

home school. For one year, 18S5-6, he taught 
at Raysville, near Knightstown, Ind., after 
which he spent one year at the University of 
^Michigan, from which institution he received 
the degree of B. L. P'or one year he was su- 
perintendent of schools at C?rthage, Ind., and 
in 1888 he came to Earlham College as Pro- 
fessor of Oratory and Public Speakmg, which 
position he still holds. Here Professor True- 
blood has been remarkably successful. During 
his tutorage Earlham College has taken part 
in fifteen inter-collegiate debates, winning 
twelve of the fifteen, and has been represented 
in four inter-State contests. Professor True- 
blood is very popular with the students, and 
largely through his eft'orts the gymnasium, 
which cost $2,500, and Reid Field, the athletic 
park, named for Daniel Reid its largest donor, 
were secured for Earlham. 

On July 2, 1889, at Carthage, Ind., Pro- 
fessor Trueblood was married to Pennina 
Henley, born in Carthage, daughter of Rob- 
ert and Mary (Newby) Henley, and grand- 
daughter of Joseph and Pennina (Morgan) 

Joseph Henley was born in Randolph 
county, N. C, in 1768, of Welsh stock, and 
was an early settler in Rush county, Ind., 
where he entered 160 acres of land, cleared 
it from the woods, and made a good home. 
His son, Robert, born in 1822, was fifteen 
years of age when the family came to 
Indiana, and afterward for one year was a 
student at Earlham College, then a boarding 
school. Robert Henley married Mary Newby, 
daughter of Henry and Sarah (Thornburg) 
Newby, in 1856. After marriage they settled 
'on the old Henley homestead, where the rest 
of their lives was spent, he dying in 1879, and 
she in 1881. Robert Henley was an overseer 
in the Friends' Church, and his wife was clerk 
of the monthly meeting for many years. He 
was trustee for the Friends' Academy, and 
was township trustee for several terms. In 
politics he was a Republican, and he was a 
stanch Abolitionist. 

!\lrs. Trueblood received her education in 
the Friends Academy at Carthage, as well as 
the high school of that city, and in the fall 
of 1882 came to Earlham College, where she 
was in school for two years. The following 
year she remained at home, but in 1886 and 
1887 completed her studies. 

of the firm of Jameson & Joss, prominent in 


legal matters in Indianapolis, who have offices 
in the Brandon Block, was born in Center- 
ville, St. Joseph Co., Mich., May 5, 1867, son 
of John C. and Mary M. (Merrell) Joss. The 
father was born in Germany, and the mother 
in New York. 

John C. Joss was an editor in early life. 
About 1856 he removed to this country, lo- 
cating in Constantine, St. Joseph Co., Mich., 
where he conducted a weekly paper known as 
the Constantine Commercial and Advertiser. 
During the Civil war he enhsted in Company 
A, 2d Mich. V. I., and rose from the ranks to 
the rank of captain. At Knoxville, in 1863, 
he was severely wounded, and on the third 
day of the battle of the Wilderness lost his 
left leg. He served between three and four 
years and was in both battles of B'.dl Run, 
Chantilly, Fair Oaks, and the siege of Vicks- 
burg, participating in all in some seventeen 
of the important battles of the war. After 
the war Capt. Joss was elected county clerk 
of St. Joseph county, Mich., and was retained 
in that position fourteen years. For a few 
3ears prior to his death he was retired, though 
he was somewhat interested in manufactur- 
ing. On Feb. 2, 1 881, he was killed in a rail- 
way accident on the Michigan Central, near 
Xiles, Mich., while returning from a Soldiers' 
reunion. Mr. Joss had been a student in the 
Heidelberg and Halle Universities in Ger- 
many, and was a man of unusually broad and 
thorough education. He and his wife had 
two sons : Frederick A. ; and Harold, a soldier 
in Manila, though his home is Chicago. Mrs. 
Joss survived her husband until June 3, 1891, 
when she passed to her rest, at the age of fifty 
years, which was her husband's age at the 
time of his departure. She was a member of 
the Episcopal Church, while the Captain was 
a Lutheran. 

John Joss, the grandfather of the Hon. 
Frederick A., was a soldier, came to this 
country from Germany, and locating at Con- 
stantine, Mich., lived retired. He was in re- 
ceipt of a pension from the German Govern- 
ment. He had four children, and died at a 
very advanced age. 

Robert Merrell, the maternal grandfather 
of Frederick A. Joss, was born in New York, 
and came of English stock. When he died 
he was still a young man. He had a family of 
two daughters. Considerable milling property 
was established and owned by him in the 
vicinity of Paw Paw, Mich., where he con- 

structed a large dam. This was about 1850. 
and he became quite a prominent character in 
that part of the State, where he died. 

Hon. Frederick A. Joss was reared in Cen- 
terville until he was thirteen years old, and 
was graduated from the local high school. His 
education was continued in the high school 
at Ann Arbor, and then in the University of 
IMichigan, from which he was graduated in 
1889. For about a year and a half he was 
employed by mining interests in the Province 
of Quebec, Canada, when he came to Frank- 
fort, Ind., to study law in the office of the 
Hon. S. O. Bayless, now assistant general 
counsel of the Big Four System, with his 
office at Cincinnati. Mr. Joss was admitted 
to the Bar in 1891, and at once took up the 
practice of his profession at Frankfort, where 
he remained until June 12, 1892, when he 
came to Indianapolis to take a position in the 
office of Ovid B. Jameson, with whom he af- 
terward formed a partnership, as noted in the 
opening paragraph of this article. The firm 
still continues, and does a very large business. 

Mr. Joss was married Sept. 2. 1891, to 
Miss Mary Quarrier, a daughter of John R. 
and Lucy (Clark) Hubbard, of Wheeling, W. 
Va., the latter a daughter of a physician. To 
this union -lave come Xw^ -children, Mary and 
Lucyanna. Mrs. Joss belongs to the First 
Presbyterian Church, and Mr. Joss to the 
Dutch Reformed Church of America. Mr. 
Joss is a 32d degree Mason, and belongs to 
Mystic Tie Lodge, F. & A. M., and also to 
Murat Temple. Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. 

In politics Mr. Joss is a Republican, and 
he was elected State Senator from ]\larion 
and Morgan counties in 1898, serving in the 
General x\ssembly of 1899 and 1901. While 
in the Senate he introduced the famous Joss 
Consolidation Railroad Bill, and was also the 
author of the Joss Primary Law. which is now 
in force in Marion and \'anderburg counties, 
and which is the initial step in this State to- 
ward primary reform. In the session of 1899 
he was one of the original Beveridge men, and 
was his manager on the floor of the Caucus, 
when he became the nominee of the Republi- 
can party for the office of United States Sen- 
ator. JNIr. Joss is prominent in the councils 
of the younger Republicans of the State, 
who have wrested Indianapolis from the 
hands of the Democrats. At present he is 
city attorney of Indianapolis. His comfcrta- 
ble and attractive home is at No. 226 East 
Tenth street, which is the center of manv 


warm aiid genial social and domestic relations 
and friendships. He has a fine summer home 
in Xoble county. In Indianapolis ]\Ir. Joss is 
a member of the following organizations : 
The Columbia Club, the IMarion Club and the 
University Club; Das Deutsche Haus, and 
the ^laennerchor. 

D., Professor of Latin in Franklin College, at 
Franklin, Ind., is an educator whose ability 
and versatility are known in more than one 
State. Prof. Brown descends from old and 
honorable families of New England, who 
have taken prominent part in the political, ed- 
ucational and religious development of their 
communities. He was born Feb. i8, 1838. 
near Chardon, Geauga county, Ohio, son of 
Laban and Dameris (Barney) Brown, and 
was one of a family of nine children. 

The Brown family were early residents of 
the State of \"ermont, where William Brown, 
the paternal grandfather of Prof. Brown, 
lived a quiet, useful life, performed his duties 
to family, church and country, reared a large 
and respected family, and died at the age of 
sixty-five years. On the maternal side the 
ancestry also reaches to Vermont, in which 
State the family is numerous. It has been 
particularly noted for its liberality in the 
cause of education. Dr. Edward Barney, the 
maternal grandfather of Prof. Brown, was, 
no doubt, in his earlier years, a soldier in the 
Revolutionary war. His descendants were 
many. In 1835 his death occurred in Belle- 
ville. N. Y., at the age of eightv-six years, and 
there his burial took place. He was long a 
man of prominence there, and was one of the 
charter members of the Baptist Church. 

Laban Brown, father of Prof. Brown, was 
Iwrn in Connecticut, moved to Ohio, and thence 
to Indiana in 1839, locating in Jackson countv, 
where he purchased a farm. About 1870 he 
sold this property and removed to Seymour, 
Ind.. where he died on his eighty-seventh 
birthday. Nov. 23, 1882. During the war of 
1812 he had been one of the minute men. and 
through life was to be found ready when an 
emergency of any kind occurred, living up 
to the highest ideal of Christian citizenship. 
His wife died in January, TS71. aged sixty- 
nine years, a woman of estimable cliaracter, 
displaying through life the homely virtues of 
devotion to family, love of home and exer- 
cise of neighborly kindness. Both were con- 

sistent members of the Baptist Church. Their 
surviving children are : Sophronia, widow of 
John Gibson, of Seymour, Ind. ; John M., of 
Seymour ; and Prof. Francis William. 

The boyhood days of Prof. Brown were 
spent in Jackson county, Ind., on the farm, 
and he acquired his primary education in the 
old log school-house near Seymour. Later 
he became an ambitious student in Elutherian 
College, in Jefferson county, subsequently 
studying under private tutors, continuing dur- 
ing much of his college course. His entrance 
to Franklin College followed in 1858. and he 
would have been a member of the graduating 
class of 1864, had not financial troubles closed 
the school at this time. Later, upon its re- 
organization, he returned, and acquired the 
degree of A. M.. and in 1887, the college 
conferred upon him the degree of Ph. D. 
From 1867 until 1871 he was employed as a 
professor in this college, the duties of which 
position, after his long period of close mental 
application, proved, however, too exhausting. 
Nervous prostration followed, and he was 
obliged to seek an entirely different environ- 

Prof. Brown then embarked in the mer- 
cantile business in which he continued for 
some twelve years. During a visit to the 
South, he was prevailed upon to enter again 
the educational field, and he took charge of 
the Covington Institute, at Springfield, Ky., 
going thence to Ewing Institute at Perryville, 
Ky. The following vear was spent as presi- 
dent of the Bethel Institute, at Bath, Ky., 
where he received a telegram announcing the 
honor conferred upon him, by an election to 
the chair of Latin, in Franklin College. His 
return to the college was in 1887, since which 
time he has carried on his educational work 
here. His ability as an instructor is well- 
known, and he is one of the foremost men in 
the faculty of a college which has a national 
reputation. Since 1893 Prof. Brown has 
been a member of the American Philological 

On Oct. 27, T863, Prof. Brown was united 
in marriage with Sarah J. McCoy, daughter 
of Spencer Collins McCoy, and two daugh- 
ters were born to this union, namely: Ida, 
who died in infancy : and ]\Irs! Alinnie 
Bruner, who has one daughter, Lena. Mrs. 
Bruner is a lady of education and cultivated 
tastes, and has charge of the music depart- 
ment in Franklin College. Both Prof. Brown 


1 05 

and wife are members of the Baptist Church. 
Ill pohtics the Professor affiliates witli the 
Repubhcan party. 

The parents of Mrs. Brown were early 
settlers in Clark county, Ind., and were ac- 
tive supporters of the Baptist Church and 
liberal in gifts to Franklin College. Mr. IMc- 
Coy was a farmer of large means and a most 
estimable man and valuable citizen. His fam- 
ily consisted of six sons and two daughters. 
Miss Eliza McCoy, an aunt of Mrs. Brown, 
was for many years a missionary among the 
Indians. She was a woman of wealth, who, 
at her death, left her fortune of $60,000 to 
be divided equally between the Louisville 
Baptist Theological Seminary, and the For- 
eign Mission Board of the Baptist Church. 

number cf years one of the most prominent 
figures in business life in Indianapolis, bears 
a name which has been a power in financial 
circles in the city for almost seventy years. 
The Fletcher National Bank is the successor 
of the private bank of the same name, so that 
the institution has flourished from its foun- 
dation, in 1839. 

Mr. Fletcher was born Sept. 25, 1853', in 
Indianapolis, where his father, Stoughton A. 
Fletcher, Sr., had settled in young manhood. 
His grandparents, Jesse and Lucy (Keyes) 
Fletcher, were both born in Westford, Mass., 
and were pioneers of Ludlow, Vt., where they 
settled in 1783. Jesse Fletcher was a farmer 
by occupation, and he was active in the pub- 
lic affairs of his locality, which he represented 
in the State Legislature. Stoughton A. 
Fletcher, Sr., was horn at Ludlow in 1808, 
and left his native place when a young man of 
about twenty-two, coming West to Indianapo- 
lis, where he passed the remainder of his life. 
He made a great success as a business man, 
acquiring a substantial fortune, and he was 
tlie founder of the Fletcher Bank in 1839. 
'Mr. Fletcher married Julia Bullard, a native 
of INIassachusetts. 

Allen Miller Fletcher was educated at the 
Jacob Abbott School, in ]\Iaine, at the Swed- 
enborgian School. \\''altham. Rfass., and at 
W'illiston Seminary. Easthampton, Mass. He 
also traveled extensively before returning to 
Indianapolis to engage in the serious work of 
life. In 1875 he was elected vice-president of 
the Indianapolis Gas Company, and in 1878 
president, and served as such until 1890, 
when he sold out his interest in that concern. 

In 1893 he became identified with the Fletcher 
Bank, at that time a private concern, which 
he changed to its present standing, as a na- 
tional bank, just before severing his connec- 
tion therewith. Mr. Fletcher went to New 
York in 1899, but spent most of his time in 
foreign travel until the fall of 1900, when he 
established a private bank in New York City 
at No. 128 Wall street, opposite old Trinity 
church. Later he was located at No. 7 Wall 
street, where he remained in business until his 
retirement, in 1905. At that time he settled 
upon the old Fletcher farm, the home of his 
ancestors, near Proctorsville, Vt., where he 
has a handsome residence situated between 
Proctorsville and Ludlow. Mr. Fletcher has 
taken the keenest interest in the public affairs 
of that locality since he established his home 
there, and has given his services in the \'er- 
mont Legislature for three terms. He pre- 
sented the Memorial Library at Ludlow to 
that town in honor of his father's memory, 
and various improvements in the vicinity tes- 
tify to his interest in its welfare and his pub- 
lic-spirited eft'orts to enhance the natural 
beauty of the region. 

On April 26, 1876, I\Ir. Fletcher married 
Miss Mary E. Bence, of Indianapolis, daugh- 
ter of Dr. Robert F. and Caroline (Coburn) 
Bence, the latter a daughter of Henry P. Co- 
burn, one of the most noted of the early res- 
idents of Indianapolis. He is mentioned else- 
where in this volume. jNIrs. Fletcher's father 
was born in Brunerstown, or Jeft'ersontown, 
Ky., son of George and Elizabeth Hughes 
(McKeown) Bence, the latter the only child 
of Robert McKeown. of Brunerstown. and his 
wife Mary (Mayfield). of Carolina. Robert 
McKeown's brother John was the grandfather 
of Mr. Vohiey T. Malott, a prominent citizen 
of Indianapolis. 

Mr. and Mrs. Fletcher have had three 
children, Mary C, Fannie B. and Allen Mil- 
ler, Jr. The family attend the M. E. Church, 
although i\Irs. Fletcher is a Presbyterian, be- 
longing to the Second Church in Indianaixilis. 
Mr. Fletcher is a member of the Masonic 

HENRY COBURX. prcsi.lent of the 
Henry Coburn \\'arehouse & Storage Com- 
pany, of Indianapolis, and previously the head 
of the Henry Coburn Lumber Company, of 
this city, is a man whose business standing 
has been irreproachable tliroughout an ex- 
tended and active career. He bears a name 



which has been a synonym for the highest 
ideals of citizenship in Indianapohs from its 
early days, and he himself is one of the repre- 
sentative, progressive business men. For over 
forty years from 1859 to 1903, he was en- 
gaged in the lumber business, and he has since 
been established in his present business on 
the site of his old lumber yard. 

Mr. Coburn was born in Indianapolis 
Sept. 17, 1834, son of Henry P. and Sarah 
(Malott) Coburn, and was educated at the 
Marion County Seminary. In 1859 he en- 
gaged in the lumber business in which he 
was successful from the start. On May 8, 
1862, he was married to ]Miss Mary Jones, 
who was born in Indianapolis, daughter of 
William H. and Jane (Simcox) Jones. They 
were born in the vicinity of Chillicothe, Ohio. 
j\Ir. Jones came to Indianapolis in 1824 with 
his parents, and not long after was left an 
orphan, his father dying in 1827. He learned 
the trade of carriage maker, at which he was 
engaged for several years, when he formed a 
partnership with his son-in-law, Henry Co- 
burn, in the lumber business. They continued 
together until the death of Mr. Jones, in 1886. 
Mr. and Mrs. Jones were members of the 
First Baptist Church. He was a member of 
the I. O. O. F. He and his wife had three 
daughters : Anna, the wife of Fred B. Brow- 
nell. late of St. Louis, a manufacturer of street 
cars : Fannie J., who married James S. Cruse, 
a real estate dealer who has his office in the 
Lemcke building, Indianapolis; and INIary, 
Mrs. Coburn. 

Mr. Coburn withdrew from the lumber 
business in 1903, and having the right of 
way and track, he conceived the idea of build- 
ing his present large storage house, the only 
one of the city containing a railroad in which 
a train of cars can enter, unload and load 
merchandise, such as agricultural implements, 
etc. Mr. Coburn's enterprise has been direc- 
ted chiefly to business ends, and outside of 
business he has been quite prominent among 
the best social organizations of the city, be- 
longing to the Columbia and Commercial 
Clubs. He is also a member of the Board 
of Trade. Mrs. Coburn is equally prominent 
in club life and has been president of the 
Women's Club. Mr. and Mrs. Coburn attend 
the Second Presbyterian Church. Of their 
family of five children, (i) Mary is the wife 
of W. B. Allen, a real estate and fire insur- 
ance man cf Indianapolis, representing the 
Home Fire Insurance Company. (2) Wil- 

liam H., a lumber and coal merchant of In- 
dianapolis, a graduate of Yale, married ]\Iiss 
Helen Erwin, daughter of Daniel P. Erwin. 
deceased, a wholesale dry goods merchant of 
Indianapolis. (3) Augustus, who owns the 
Michigan Lumber Company, is a graduate of 
Yale; he married Annie Peck, daughter of 
B. B. Peck, deceased, State manager at In- 
dianapolis of The Alutual Life Insurance 
Company of Kentucky. (4) Henry P., secre- 
tary and treasurer of the Coburn Warehouse 
& Storage Company, graduated from Yale; 
he married Louise Erwin, daughter of Daniel 
P. Erwin, deceased. (5) Myla L. is the wife 
of Frank F. Powell, cashier of the Coburn 
Warehouse & Storage Company ; he was born 
and raised in Cincinnati, son of a hardware 
merchant of that city, and is a graduate of 

SIMON YANDES died on the 5th day of 
October, 1903, in the city of Indianapolis, at 
the ripe age of eighty-seven. He was born in 
Fayette county, Pa., Jan. 5, 1816. His father, 
Daniel Yandes, was of German origin, and 
his mother, Anna Wilson, w'as of Scotch- 
Irish descent, a Presbyterian of the strictest 
sect. His father and mother moved from 
Pennsylvania to Indianapolis on the 20th day 
of i\Iarch, 1821. He was born in the birth 
year of the State of Indiana, and his parents 
located in the village of Indianapolis the year 
in which the town was laid out. Indianapolis 
continued to be the place of his residence 
until his death. 

The opportunities for a thorough primary 
education in the little town of Indianapolis, 
when he was a boy, were not of the best ; yet 
he availed himself of the best possible. His 
preliminary training was obtained in a private 
school kept by Mr. Ebenezer Sharpe. Later 
he attended the Indiana State University for 
one year. Subsequently he read law for a 
short while, and in 1838 went to the Harvard 
Law School, and obtained his degree in 1839. 
Judge Story and Simon Grcenleaf were then 
the instructors. There was a notable list of 
young men who were his fellow students in 
the Law School. William M. Evarts, E. 
Rockwood Hoar, Charles Devens, \\'illiam W. 
Story, Charles T. Russell, Nathaniel Holmes, 
John R. Shepley (of St. Louis), George F. 
Shepley, James Russell Lowell, Richard 
Henry Dana,. Marcus Morton, Rufus King 
and George V. Lothrop were among the num- 
ber. And wc have the testimony of James 

#<^ '£\ 




Russell Lowell that Simon Yandes made the 
distinct impression of being one of the best 
men in his class ; and Judge Story predicted 
for him a future as a lawyer, took much inter- 
■est in him, and corresponded with the young 
man several years after he left the Law 
School. The predictions of Mr. Yandes' 
friends and fellow students were justified by 
his subsequent career at the Bar of Indianapo- 
lis. On his return to Indianapolis he was in- 
vited into the firm of Fletcher and Butler, then 
the leading law firm in the State of Indiana ; 
this was in 1839. He remained as an associate 
of these two distinguished lawyers for four 
years, when Mr. Fletcher retired. Subse- 
quently Mr. Yandes practiced law alone for 
four years, and then C3liver H. Smith and Mr. 
Yandes formed a partnership, which took the 
lead in the State, and maintained it for four 
years. Mr. Smith then retired, and Mr. Yan- 
des associated himself with Cyrus C. Hines, 
the latter becoming subsequently the associate 
of Gen. Benjamin Harrison for years in the 

In 1858 Mr. Yandes was candidate for 
the Supreme Bench, but was defeated at the 
polls. Just before the war he retired, having 
accumulated what was then deemed a fortune. 
Subsequently he devoted his attention to his 
business affairs. As a lawyer, his practice 
was extensive and varied in all of the courts, 
Federal and State, and when he retired from 
the practice he was regarded by the Bar as 
•one of the most accomplished and able lawyers 
within the State of Indiana. 

One who knew him well has stated that 
"he was precise, but not technical ; logical, 
but not coldly analytical ; well read in the law, 
but not embarrassed by precedents. His 
moral integrity was a granite rock, and his 
intellectual poise was akin to it. He did not 
have that large imaginative power that is 
needed for the making of an orator, but his 
full information, happy humor and power of 
accurate statement made him a strong speaker. 
As a counselor he was at his best. His fair- 
mindedness, his wide foresight, and his strong 
mental grasp, qualified him to see all sides of 
the question, and to advise a course which 
always proved to be the right one. * * * 
Intellectuality was the dominant characteris- 
tic of his mind. His moral fibre was without 
a flaw or twist. His mold was the mold of 
Abraham Lincoln. Under an exterior of re- 
serve, he kept an equable and generous nature 
and courageous spirit." 

Upon his retirement from the practice JNIr. 
Yandes, by wise economy and judicious in- 
vestments, accumulated money verj' rapidly. 
In this he had a definite purpose to accom- 
plish ; it was to accumulate a sufficient sum 
with which cff'ective work could be accom- 
plished in educational and religious matters. 
He avoided, therefore, frittering away his 
accumulations in little matters. Some years 
ago he was asked by an acquaintance for a 
contribution of a small sum to a cause that 
one would have thought appealed to him. 
This he refused, saying that the man who was 
diffuse could not concentrate ; if he chose to 
aid by bits everything that appealed to him, he 
could never reach the position where he could 
do a thing greatly, and one or the other of 
these all men should do. In other words, 
there could be no dift'usion and identification 
in small degrees with everything, and con- 
centration for the purpose of larger effort. 
He chose the latter as his course. 

Before he arrived at the age of seventy 
years, Mr. Yandes stated a number of times 
to the writer of this little sketch that three- 
score years and ten measured the compass 
of the average man's capacity, and that when 
he arrived at that age he proposed, as he put 
it, to quit business, and wind up his affairs. 
He never married. And when he reached 
seventy years, he began to administer upon his 
estate. In this he acted with great care, 
caution and critical examination. He looked 
long and carefully to see where he could put 
his accumulated wealth to the best advantage, 
regarding himself in the light of a trustee of 
his holdings ; modestly, quietly, and even 
secretly, he began to make his gifts, and for 
fifteen years only those closest to him had any 
knowledge of his large benefactions. In the 
latter part of the spring of 1902 some of the 
facts concerning his gifts commenced to leak 
out. Curiously inaccurate and even untruth- 
ful statements were published in the newspa- 
pers — caricatures of the man and of his 
doings. One of the results was that hun- 
dreds of begging letters came to him from 
people of whom he had never heard, and for 
objects of which he knew nothing. It vexed 
him much, and he was advised to put an end 
to this by a published statement of his dona- 
tions, and let the public know that he had 
practically given away his fortune. He ob- 
jected, on tile ground that these were private 
and confidential matters. The pressure, how- 
ever, became too great, and he dictated a 



short statement concerning his benefactions, 
in the following words: 

■'When I got to be seventy years old, I 
thought I ought to be settling up my estate, 
and in the course of a few years thereafter I 
gave to Wabash College $150,000. Later, I 
gave a small sum to another college ; and I 
have given away, from time to time, about 
$400,000, to church and charities. During 
the period from 1886, when I was seventy 
years old, to the present time, I have given to 
relatives at least $400,000. During this time 
I was accumulating what I could, and' reduc- 
ing my funds by gifts. And while I gave 
away $800,000, or thereabouts, I have not had 
$800,000 at any one time. Among these dona- 
tions, I have given $60,000 to the Indiana 
Missionary Society; I have given, at least, 
$100,000 to the Foreign IMissionary Societies 
— Presbyterian, Methodist and IBaptist. I 
have given $40,000 or $50,000 to Home IMis- 
sionary Societies — Presbyterian, Methodist 
and Baptist." 

Commenting on this, at the time, the Bos- 
ton Globe truthfully said: "Andrew Carnegie 
has given millions of dollars to found free 
public libraries, but he continues to receive 
sufficient dividends from steel stock to pay 
for a first-class passage to his castle in Scot- 
land. He has millions left in his possession. 
"John D. Rockefeller has contributed mag- 
nificently to educational and religious institu- 
tions, yet never has he reduced his principal 
or his income to a point where he would lose 
his power and prestige in the financial world. 
"The Indianapolis lawyer, however, has, 
to all intents and purposes, stripped himself 
of an entire fortune, which he might to-day 
haVe counted in seven figures, and is content 
to live among his books, in a city block, on 
plain food, and clothed in raiment just fine 
enough to be respectable. * * * -pjig 
Hoosier philanthropist practiced economy, as 
well as law, maintained his integrity, and has 
thereby been enabled to help the poor, edu- 
cate aspiring boys and girls of parents who 
are strangers to him, spreading the gospel at 
home and abroad, and, without forgetting his 
own worthy relatives, making the world bet- 
ter and brighter." 

Simon Yandes was of a profoundly religi- 
ous nature. No man with his intellectual 
vigor, and the love of truth which marked 
him, could live long without inevitably being 
brought to investigate the great moral laws 
governing life; and few men studied more 

critically and carefully, than he did, these mat- 
ters. The two subjects of his most careful 
and constant study — and he was a bachelor 
student — were theology and economics — the 
laws governing moral life and the laws of 
business. He accumulated on these topics an 
admirable library. Few theologians had his 
learning on theology. Not many of the pro- 
fessors teaching the science of economics had 
his attainments on the latter subject. 

He was much attracted by the life and 
writings of Dr. Samuel Johnson, and he made 
an exhaustive collection of Johnsoniana. It was 
Johnson's profoundly religious nature and 
powerful defense of the Christian religion, in 
an age of skepticism, that won the admiration 
of J\ir. Yandes. 

Simon Yandes was a strong man ; a strong 
man intellectually, a strong man morally ; suc- 
cessful in all he undertook ; at the Bar he 
arose rapidly to the first place ; in business, 
in an inland town, he accumulated a large 
fortune ; and as a philanthropist acted so wise- 
ly and judiciously as to merit the approval of 
all interested in the welfare of humanity. 

There was one quality in his nature of 
which mention should be made — one that was 
known only to a few. Reasoning from a 
knowledge of human nature, we would have 
a right to say that a man of his intellectual 
and moral character must have had strong 
affections ; he did ; and these ran quietly, but 
beautifully, in a channel almost out of sight. 
His dominant afifection was for his mother. 
The writer remembers hearing, some years 
ago, a woman, now dead, who knew him as a 
boy, say of Simon Yandes that his relation- 
ship as a boy and }-oung man to his mother, 
his afifection for her, his respect for her, the 
beautiful understanding that seemed to exist 
between them, made him an ideal son. ISIore 
than once, when sitting in his room, has the 
writer's eye been caught by a picture, framed, 
and hung where it could be seen from any 
]5oint of the room — the picture of a woman, 
old and wrinkled, with a wise and gentle face 
strong, clear, intellectual eyes — this was the 
picture of Mr. Yandes' mother. The writer 
has heard him say, with a strange sort of 
]«thos, that this was a beautiful picture ; that 
his mother was one of the strongest in char- 
acter and intellect of all the persons he had 
known ; and he added once, half jocularly, that 
if he, by Nature, possessed any particular 
merit of intellect or character, he owed it 
largely to her. He admired his younger 



brother, George, and spoke of him often as 
a father would of a son. He was devoted to 
his near kin, and provided for them Hberally ; 
yet, it was to his mother that he gave his 
tenderest affection; he honored her, when 
living, and he cherished her memory, when 
dead, with an affection that was beautiful. 
We all know what a mother's love is. Simon 
Yandes was a living example of the absorbing 
power of a son's love for his mother. From 
boyhood to old age, to the last hour of his life, 
this was the one peculiarly tender sentiment 
of his soul. When the shadows of death were 
fast approaching, when the darkness was be- 
ginning to shut out the light, in a lucid inter- 
val, the thought of his mother came to him, 
and found utterance from lips that were about 
to be closed forever. 

PiiAR. D., late president of the Sloan Drug 
Company, Inc., at No. 22 W. Washington 
street, Indianapolis, Ind., was a distinguished 
citizen and ex-soldier. He was born in Har- 
risburg. Pa., June 28, 1835, son of John and 
;\Iary (White) Sloan, natives of New York 
and Pennsylvania. 

John Sloan, the father, was a cabinet- 
maker, and came to Indianapolis in 1837, 
where he followed his trade until his death 
ir 1874, aged sixty-two years. His wife, 
]Mary (White), died in 1847. They were 
both earnest and consistent members of the 
Presbyterian Church. They were the parents 
of six children — three sons and three daugh- 
ters — of whom two are still living: I\Iary R., 
widow of William Clark of Philadelphia; and 
Sarah ^I., of the same city. 

Robert Sloan, the grandfather of George 
W., was a native of Pennsylvania of Scotch- 
Irish descent, and died in Pennsylvania. He 
was also a cabinet-maker, and had three sons 
and three daughters. The maternal grand- 
father of George W. was George \\'hite, a 
native of Pennsylvania of English descent. 
In religion he was a Quaker. By trade he 
was a machinist and a builder of fire engines. 
He died in middle life, the father of two sons 
and two daughters. 

Dr. George W. Sloan was reared in In- 
dianapolis and attended the public schools. 
AMien thirteen years of age he began clerk- 
ing in a drug store, later taking the course 
in Pharmacy at the Philadelphia College of 
Pharmacv. In 1880 Dr. Sloan received the 

honorary degree of Doctor of Medicine from 
the ]\Iedical College of Indiana, at Indianapo- 
lis. In 1S91 he received the degree of Doctor 
of Pharmacy from Purdue University. 

On April 3, 1866, Dr. Sloan married Miss 
Caroline Bacon, youngest child of Hiram and 
I\Iary Alice (Blair) Bacon, prominent pio- 
neers of Indiana. They have three children : 
(i) George B., who was a partner in the 
firm of the Sloan Drug Company, and later 
the representative of Eli Lilly & Co., was 
married, June 28, 1906, to Miss Alice M. 
Spalding, daughter of George A. and Sarah 
C. Spalding, of New Albany, Indiana. On 
June 10, 1907, a son was born to them, George 
Spalding Sloan. (2) Frank T. is the Insur- 
ance Inspector for the Brooklyn Rapid Tran- 
sit Company, of Brooklyn, N. Y., and a'so 
for the Aletropolitan Street Railway Com- 
pany, of New York City. (3) Mary Alice 
is living at home with her mother. 

Dr. Sloan enlisted for service during the 
Civil War, in Company B, 132nd Ind. V. I., 
for four months, and was made first lieuten- 
ant at the organization of the company. The 
captain of the company was taken sick, and 
Dr. Sloan was made acting captain in his 
absence. After the war he returned to the 
drug business in Indianapolis, and became a 
partner in the firm of Browning & Sloan, 
druggists. That fimi failed in 1886, and in 
1887, the Doctor started a drug business on 
his own account, which he conducted in his 
own name until March, 1897, when the Sloan 
Drug Company was organized. It was in- 
corporated with the Doctor as president, his 
wife as vice-president, and his son, George, 
as secretary and treasurer. After the death 
of Dr. Sloan the company went out of ex- 
istence, and the business with which he had 
been actively identified for more than fifty- 
five years was sold. In politics Dr. Sloan was 
a stanch Republican. He was actively con- 
nected with the Indianapolis Board of Trade 
from the time of its organization, was long a 
member of its board of governors, and for 
one year was its president. He was a member 
of tiie Clarion County ]\Iedical Society, and 
of the State IMedical Society, and a member 
of the Commercial Club. He filled the posi- 
tion of president of the American Pharma- 
ceutical Association, which includes both Can- 
ada and Mexico, as well as the United States. 
He was a member of the Indiana Board of 
Pharmacy, as president, and was its secretary 



at the tiir.e of his death ; a member of the 
board of School Commissioners, and presi- 
dent thereof. 

Dr. Sloan and his wife became identified 
with Christ Church (Episcopal), where he 
was vestryman for thirty years. He was an 
active member of the Masonic fraternity in 
the following lodges: Mystic Tie Lodge, No. 
398, F. & A. M. (treasurer) ; Keystone 
Chapter, No. 6, R. A. M.; Adoniram Grand 
Lodge of Perfection, Scottish Rite Masons ; 
the Saraiah Council ; Rose Croix Chapter, In- 
dianapolis, Indiana Consistory ; and was ex- 
alted to the thirty-third degree. He was al- 
ways interested in the development of In- 
dianapolis, which he had seen grow from a 
town of 2,500 to a city of 200,000 inhabitants. 

In October, 1902, Dr. Sloan was stricken 
with apoplectic paralysis, and from that time 
was unable to attend to his business. He was 
bedfast most of the time from October until 
his death Feb. 15, 1903. There was a me- 
morial service held in Christ Church in mem- 
ory of Dr. Sloan, Nov. 15, 1903, nine months 
after his death. Many tributes were paid to 
his public services by those who had known 
him from boyhood. A beautiful memorial 
volume, a tribute to his valuable service on 
the board of trustees of the United States 
Pharmacopoeial Convention, was presented to 
his family some months after his death. 

HIRAM BACON was born in Williams- 
town, Mass., in 1800, and attended Williams 
College, where he studied law. In 1820, on 
account of broken health, he gave up prac- 
ticing law, and came West with a Govern- 
ment surveying party to Indianapolis. He 
entered and purchased a tract of land which 
is now known as Malott Park, then returned 
to Williamstown and in the autumn of 1821 
married Mary Alice Blair. They came im- 
mediately to their new purchase to make a 
home, for at that time it was considered that 
the noblest thing the youth of the East could 
do was to become pioneers in the new country. 
A\'hen the young couple reached this region, 
there were only tlirce log cabins where the 
beautiful city of Indianapolis now stands, 
and they were located on the banks of White 
River. The Miami and other Indian tribes 
were numerous when they first came to this 
part of the country, and Mrs. Bacon used to 
tell of some thrilling experiences witli them. 
One day, ten Indian braves in their war iKiint 

filed into the cabin home, brandishing their 
tomahawks and demanding food of the fair 
little eastern woman, who was alone e.xcept 
for the baby in the cradle. (This cradle was. 
by the way, the first cradle made in Indian- 
apolis, and was constructed by Caleb 
Scudder, or Squire as he was called). When 
these braves saw the baby, they took it and 
passed it from one to the other, ofTerin.if to 
buy it from her. After eating all the food in 
the house they relented and left the baby. 

Hiram Bacon and his wife were two of the 
first six persons to join together to form the 
nucleus of the First Presbyterian Church of 
Indianapolis. The first meetings were held in 
Caleb Scudder's cabinet shop. When it was 
decided to erect a church building, Hiram 
Bacon gave the lumber, cutting the trees on 
his farm, hauling them to the mill, and deliv- 
ering the lumber on the ground, ready for the 
building, which was erected on the west side 
of Pennsylvania street, just south of Market 
street. Mr. Bacon was always Justice of the 
Peace in his region, and always kept in ad- 
vance of his neighbors in all enterprises for 
the good of the community. After some 
years, it was thought by the Pr£sbyterians 
that it was his duty to build a church on his 
place. He did so, and maintained it for many 
years, taking out to his home from time to 
time such men as Dr. Isaac Coe, John Gur- 
ley, William McClung, Henry Ward Beecher 
(the last named the greatest Presbyterian 
preacher of his time) and others to preach in 
the "Washington" church, as it was called for 
the township in which it was located. Dr. 
Isaac Coe was a great man, and a distin- 
guished Presbyterian of early Indianapolis, 
whose daughter married James M. Ray, the 
great Sunday school superintendent. Mr. 
Bacon was a close associate of Dr. Coe, Mr. 
Ray. Mr. James Gurley, and helped spread 
Presbyterianism throughout this section by 
his practical personal aid, donating material 
for the first three churches in Indianapolis, in 
addition to "Washington" church erected on 
his land. 

INIr. and Mrs. Bacon had ten children — 
seven daughters and three sons — whom thev 
reared and educated with unusual advantages 
for that time. They lived together for nearlv 
fifty years on the farm where they first settled 
until Mrs. Bacon's death in 1865. Mr. Bacon 
lived until 1880. Their children were: (i) 
Harriet married Upton J. Hammond, son of 



Rezin Hammond, the first JNI. E. circuit rider 
of this district. (2) Electa married Dr. Wil- 
ham P. Thornton, of Logansport, afterwards 
of Cincinnati, founder of a medical college, an 
eminent man, who left $150,000 to Wabash 
College. (3) Sarah Maria. (4) Hellen married 
Charles A. Howland, son of Powell Howland, 
a pioneer of Senate township. (5) George, a 
farmer, married Harriet Steers. (6) Hiram, 
Jr., a farmer and miller, married Priscilla 
Given. (7) Mary Alice, married Benjamin F. 
Tuttle, a wholesale grocer of Indianapolis. (8) 
William, a farmer, married Sallie James. (9) 
Caroline married Dr. George W. Sloan. (10) 
One died in infancy. 

Anderson, comes from Revolutionary ances- 
try. His great-grandfather, Darius Chipman, 
as well as the latter's brothers, Nathaniel and 
Daniel, participated in several battles, includ- 
ing the battle of Lexington and the capture 
of Fort Ticonderoga, and they also took part 
in a night attack upon a British battle ship on 
Lake Champlain. Nathaniel was with Wash- 
ington at Valley Forge. Daniel, the eldest 
brother, lived at Rutland, Vt., at one time, 
and was a member of the Legislature of that 
State for twenty years. 

Horace Darius Chipman, son of Darius, 
was born in Vermont, and he died in Cincin- 
nati at the age of about eighty-five years. He 
was in a general commission business in that 

Hon. De Witt C. Chipman, son of Horace 
D., at present residing in Anderson at the age 
of eighty-three, and father of Judge Chipman, 
is one of the best known men in the State, 
and is a pioneer lawyer. He was born in 
Aliddlebury, Wyoming county, N. Y., Sept. 
21, 1824. His wife was Miss Cassandra 
Clark, born at Noblesville, Ind., daughter of 
Dr. Haymond W. Clark, a native of Virginia. 
Judge INIarcellus A. Chipman, son of the 
Hon. De Witt C, was born in Noblesville, 
Ind., Sept. 27, 1852. His early life was 
passed in his native town, where he attended 
school. He came to Anderson with his par- 
ents in 1870, and began the study of law with 
his father. In the fall of 1872, he entered the 
law department of Indiana University, at 
Bloomington, and was graduated in 1873, 
with the degree of LL. B. On returning from 
College he commenced the practice of his pro- 
fession with his father, and after the latter 
removed to Richmond in 1875, he practiced 

alone until 1876. He then entered into part- 
nership with H. C. Ryan, and the firm of 
Chipman & Ryan existed until 1879, when it 
was dissolved. Later with Hon. James W. 
Sansberry a partnership was formed which 
continued until 1886, when Mr. Sansberry re- 
tired to become president of what is now the 
National Exchange Bank. Judge Chipman 
again engaged in practice alone and continued 
until Feb. 22, 1889, when he was appointed 
Judge of the Fiftieth Judicial Circuit by Gov. 
Alvin P. Hovey, to fill a vacancy created by 
an Act of the Legislature in constituting 
Madison county a Judicial Circuit. He held 
this position until Nov. 22, i8go, when his 
successor by election cjualified. He was nom- 
inated by the Republicans for re-election, but 
although the Democrats controlled the county 
by five hundred and ten majority. Judge Chip- 
man was defeated by only three hundred and 
forty votes. On Dec. i, 1890, he entered into 
partnership with F. A. Walker, and the part- 
nership continued until June i, 1893. In 1893 
the firm of Chipman, Keltner & Hendee was 
formed, making altogether the most formida- 
ble legal combination in this part of the State. 
Mr. Keltner was formerly of the firm of Rob- 
inson, Lovett & Keltner, and Mr. Hendee was 
for many years the partner of Charles L. 

At the time of his appointment as Judge, 
Mr. Chipman was secretary of the board 01 
trustees, also secretary of the Republican 
County Central Committee. He is a member 
of the State Bar Association, and American 
Bar Association. Judge Chipman as chair- 
man of the Indiana commission, appointed by 
Governor Durbin, for the Codification of the 
Laws of Indiana, rendered most valuable ser- 
vice to the State. The most important of the 
many bills proposed was the one on Munici- 
pal Corporations, which was adopted by the 
Legislature to give uniform government to all 
cities of the State. The Commission pre- 
pared a bill on Eminent Domain, which 
passed the Legislature; revised the Criminal 
Code ; a bill on Highways ; one on Drainage, 
and one regarding Private Corporations ; and 
all passed the Legislature except the last. It 
is doubtful if any other State Codification 
committee ever passed successfully so many 

Judge Chipman has been affiliated with the 
I. O. O. F. since 1875, being at one time 
grand master; at the present time he is a 
member of the board of trustees for the erec- 

co.mmejmoratr'e biogr.\phical record 

tion of the magnificent new fourteen-story 
stone office building, at the corner of Penn- 
sylvania and Washington streets, in Indian- 
apolis, the two upper stories to be occupied 
by the Grand Lodge. The building is about 
completed. The Judge is also a member of the 
K. of P., and the Elks. 

On June 22, 1875, Judge Chipman was 
married at Paoli, Orange county, Ind., to 
Aliss Margaret B. Buskirk, daughter of John 

B. Buskirk, a prominent merchant of that 
place. They are the parents of two living 
children, Katherine Carpenter and j\lary 

C. Lennox. 

^vho holds the chair of Professor of History 
in Earlham College, Richmond, Ind., is one 
who, by reason of natural inclination, schol- 
:arly attainments and years of practical ex- 
perience has become one of Indiana's leading 
'educators, and he belongs to a family which 
can trace its honorable ancestry back to the 
seventeenth century. 

The Hodgin family is of old English stock 
and nomenclature, the name having been de- 
rived from the noun "hodge," meaning a 
farmer, as the early representatives were 
mainly agriculturists. Probably from this 
branch came the similar names : Hodgson, 
Hodson, Hodgen, Hodgens and Hotchkiss. 
The American founder of the family was 
Robert Hodgson, a Quaker preacher, who 
with several zealous Friends and missionaries 
came to New Amsterdam in 1657. As re- 
called they were : William Robinson. Christo- 
pher Holder and Robert Hodgson, all of 
whom had crossed the ocean in Capt. Robert 
Fowler's vessel, "The Woodhouse," in 1657. 
Concerning their visit, William Robinson 
wrote George Fox from the Boston jail, 
where he was hanged in the next year on ac- 
count of religious persecution. It is probable 
that Robert Hodgson was a native of Skep- 
ton, Yorkshire, England, and that he had suf- 
fered persecution in his native land as he sub- 
sequently did in New Amsterdam, being one 
of the sixty missionaries sent out by George 
Fox, the founder of the Quaker faith. Capt. 
Robert Fowler had also been a Quaker 
preacher in England. After landing at New 
Amsterdam Robert Hodgson began preaching 
his doctrines in the streets, which did not 
meet with the approval of the ]\Ianhattan gov- 
ernor, old Peter Stnyvesant, and the mission- 
ar)' was confined in a cold, damp anil filthy 

cell. It is told, however, of the impression 
which he had made on the people who had lis- 
tened to him, and how they gathered around 
his cell window and listened as the mission- 
ary preached within. Before he was released 
he was provided for by devoted followers who 
brought him food. Robert Hodgson went to 
Long Island after his release, and later be- 
came connected with the New Jersey settle- 
ments of Friends under the general domina- 
tion of William Penn. 

The descendants of Robert Hodgson set- 
tled in Pennsylvania. He had many children, 
but this record is concerned with George, who 
went to Center, Guilford county, N. C, and 
became a member of New Garden Meeting, 
about 1750. He had four sons and two daugh- 
ters: George, Robert, John and Joseph, Sa- 
rah and Susannah. George Hodgson and 
wife both died in Guilford county, N. C, the 
latter in 1764. Their son, Joseph, was born 
in Guilford county, and is next in the present 
line of ancestry. In Center he was one of the 
influential members. His occupation was 
farming, and the two-story frame house in 
which he lived, and which was erected early 
in the 1800's, is still standing. He married Han- 
nah Williams, and they were the parents of 
fifteen children, namely: John, William, Jos- 
hua, Joseph, Jonathan, Isaiah, Jacob, Rebecca, 
Nancy Ann, Lydia, Susannah, Sarah, Jemima, 
Solomon and Pegg}-. His will is dated, 29th 
day of 4th month, 1826, and was filed at 
Greensboro, North Carolina. 

Joseph Hodgin, son of Joseph, and the 
grandfather of Prof. Hodgin, was born in 
Guilford county, N. C, and was reared on his 
father's farm. He married Ruth Dicks, born 
at Dicks's ]\Iills, now Randleman, N. C. 
daughter of Peter Dicks. The latter was a 
Welsh Quaker, and was an early settler in 
Guilford county. Joseph Hodgin became a 
successful farmer for his day. In 1834 
he removed with his wife and sev- 
eral of his younger children to Ran- 
dolph county, Ind., making the long 
journey in a covered wagon in regular pio- 
neer style. After reaching his destination, he 
bought land in the woods which he cleared, 
and erected a log house similar to that of his 
neighbors, in which he lived to old age, dying 
in 1850, aged eighty years. His wife was a 
victim of cholera in 1849. He was a magis- 
trate, and the record has come down to his 
descendants that he was a man of straight- 
forward life and excellent judgment. His 



children were : James, Elizabeth, Elias, Ase- 
iiath, Nathan, Benjamin, Tilnias and Rachel. 
After settling in Indiana he gave each of his 
children forty acres of land. 

Tilnias Hodgin, son of Joseph, and father 
of Professor Hodgin, was born in 1817, at 
New Salem, Center IMeeting, N. C. Al- 
though he had but limited school advantages, 
he became a man of high character, and was 
looked up to by his neighbors and friends. 
He was about seventeen years old when the 
family moved to Indiana, and he assisted in 
clearing the pioneer farm. He was married 
at Lynn, Randolph county, Ind., in the Lynn 
Meeting, to Rachel Hinshaw, born in Ran- 
dolph county, N. C, in 1819, daughter of 
Jacob and Phoebe (Allen) Hinshaw. The 
Hinshaw children were : Nathan, Allen, Sol- 
omon, Elijah, Rachel, Hannah and Jacob. 
The widow Hinshaw"s children cleared up her 
farm of eighty acres, on which she lived many 
years. She was later married to Jeremiah 
Cox, of Cox's Mills, Ind., with whom she 
lived to the age of eighty-five years, dviug in 

The father of Tilnias Hodgin having 
given him a forty-acre farm in the woods, sit- 
uated on Cabin Creek, two miles south of the 
village of Farmland, he built here a pioneer 
cabin of poles, with a stick and clay chimney, 
where he lived for two years, when he sold 
and bought another forty acres within one 
mile of Lynn, which property he completed 
clearing, residing upon it for six years, and 
when he disposed of it in 1850 he moved to 
Newport, now Fountain City, where he kept 
the toll-gate on the Richmond and Newport 
turnpike, residing at this place until 1855, 
when he removed to Richmond, and kept the 
toll-gate most of the time until 1884. For a 
time he was engaged in a mercantile business 
at Lynn, but subsequently traded it for a farm 
between Lynn and Winchester, where he lived 
for three years, and then resumed keeping 
the toll-gate. His death occurred at Rich- 
mond, Ind., Jan. 13, 1884, aged sixty-seven 
years. He was a member of the Society of 
Friends, and was a man of deep religious 
character. For a number of years he was an 
invalid, for five years being entirely bedrid- 
den, but he had an active mind, and was an 
excellent manager, having the judgment to 
choose the right people to serve him. He was 
greatly interested in seeing his children edu- 
cated, and three of them reflected the great- 
est credit upon him in the educational line. 

The children of Tilnias and Rachel (Hin- 
shaw) Hodgin were as follows: Cyrus W., 
born Feb. 12, 1842; Joseph N., born Jan. 27, 
1844; Elias M., born Oct. i, 1845; Eli Lin- 
den and Hannah Melvina, twins, born in 
1847, died in 1849; Asenath Adeline, born 
in 1849, died in 1852; Phoebe Alice, born 
Aug. II, 1853; James Orlando, born Aug. 27, 
1856, died in 1864; Charles Elkanah, born 
Aug. 21, 1858; Emma Eldora, born March 24, 
i860, died in 1864 ; and William Percival, 
born Jan. 10, 1863, died Jan. 10, 1904. Prof. 
Charles E. Hodgin was educated in Hadley's 
Academy, the Indiana State Normal school, 
the L^niversity of Chicago, and the Univer- 
sity of California, and is now Dean of the 
University of New Mexico, and principal of 
the Department of Education. Phoebe Alice 
Hodgin was educated in the Hadley Acad- 
emy, and the Indiana State Normal school, 
and was a teacher in the public schools of 
Henry county, Ind.; she is now (1908) in 
Pasadena, California. 

Prof. Cyrus Wilburn Hodgin spent his 
boyhood on the home farm and assisted in its 
clearing. His primitive education was se- 
cured in an old log schoolhouse standing 
near his father's home, but when he was fif- 
teen years old he began to prepare himself for 
teaching and spent two years at Hiram Had- 
ley's Academy at Richmond, Ind. Mr. Had- 
ley was one of the well-known pioneer edu- 
cators of Indiana, and an early student at 
Earlham, and is now Territorial Superintend- 
ent of Education in New Mexico. Mr. Hod- 
gin was then engaged with friends in a mer- 
cantile business for three years and 
after one more year of school attend- 
ance under Mr. Hadley became his 
assistant at Richmond. Later he taught 
the village school at Lynn, attending 
Mr. Hadley's Summer School at Richmond 
in 1864, and in the fall of that year entered 
the Illinois Normal University, near Bloom- 
ington, where he remained three years, work- 
ing for his board at the home of Dr. Edwin 
C. Hewett. After graduating in 1867 he re- 
turned to Richmond, where he was principal 
of the Hadley .\cademy for one year, and 
principal of the Richmond high school for two 
years. His next engagement was as princi- 
pal of a graded school in Dudley township, 
Henry county, Ind., the first township graded 
school in the State, where he remained for 
three years, and then became Professor of 
Historv in the Indiana State Normal School 


at Terre Haute, IiuL, where he remained from 
1872 to 1881. He was then superintendent of 
the city schools of Rushville for one year, and 
upon his return to Richmond, in association 
with other competent teachers, opened the 
Richmond Normal School, of which he re- 
mained principal for four years. In 1887 he 
became Professor of History in Earlham Col- 
lege, a position he still fills. In 1892-3 he 
was given a leave of absence and spent the 
year in Chicago, doing post-graduate work 
under direction of the famous Dr. \'on Hoist. 

Prof. Hodgin was married Aug. 22, 1867, 
at Kankakee, 111., to Emily Caroline Chandler, 
born April 12, 1838, daughter of Robert A. 
and ^la.v\ Ann (Dodd) Chandler, and grand- 
daughter of Andrew and Ann Elizabeth 

Andrew Chandler was born in Passaic 
county, N. J., where he owned a farm and his 
old homestead was recently occupied by his 
descendants. His children were : Robert A., 
born Oct. 28, 1798; John, born Jan. 29, 1801, 
died at New Orleans of yellow fever; William 
B.. born Oct. 2, 1805 ; Sarah Ann, born Feb. 
6, 1809; Henry, born July i, 1812, died May 
2, 1883, the last survivor of the family ; Pe- 
ter, born Aug. 10, 1814; and David, born July 
31, 1819. 

Robert A. Chandler, father of Mrs. Hod- 
gin, was born in Passaic, N. J., and was a 
well-informed and well-educated man, al- 
though he had few advantages. His early 
ambition had been to enter college, but as he 
was the eldest of the family he knew that 
his father was not able to gratify his wish, 
and when sixteen years of age he left home 
to take care of himself. He worked hard and 
devoted all his spare time to study, educating 
himself in Latin and English, and was also a 
fine mathematician. He subsequently read 
law, and after his marriage settled at Orange, 
N. J., and later lived one year at Newark. In 
1833 they removed to Indiana, and settled in 
\\'illiamsport, Warren county, where Mr. 
Chandler practiced law and subsequently be- 
came one of the most prominent lawyers in 
the State. From 1849 to 1850 he served in 
the State Legislature, and was one of the or- 
ganizers of the Republican party in this sec- 
tion, later voting for Fremont and Lincoln. 
At the time of his death he owned 1400 acres 
of land in Kansas, in addition to a section in 
Illinois and many acres in Indiana. He was 
one of the early Masons in the State, and had 
advanced to the office of High Priest. His 

death occurred 3.1arch 10, 1861, at Williams- 
port, Ind., when he was aged sixty-three 

Mr. Chandler was married in New Jer- 
sey, Sept. 19, 1823, to Alary Ann Do<Jd, and 
their children were : IMargaret Almira, born 
July 25, 1824, at Orange, N. J. ; Lydia Ann, 
born April 7, 1827 ; David Dodd, born Oct. 
24, 1828, died in infancy; Andrew Washing- 
ton, born Dec. 26, 1829 ; Sarah Eliza, born 
Jan. I, 1832; j\Iaria Sophia, born March 29, 
1834; William Augustus, born Alay 20, 1836; 
Emily Caroline, born April 12, 1838; Laura 
Catherine, born April 5, 1840; Lila Florence, 
born Oct. 3, 1844 ; George Dodd, born April 
13,' 1842, and Hilary Ann, born Dec. 8, 1846. 
The above were the children born to the first 
wife, who died at Williamsport, Jan. 26. 1847. 
Mr. Chandler was married (second) May 29, 
1849, to Deborah Fleetwood Bryant, born 
June 10, 1822, and died April 6, 1905. She 
was a daughter of James M. and Dorcas G. 
Bryant, and the children of this marriage 
were : Robert A., born i\Iay 24, 1852 ; Dor- 
cas J., May 25, 1854; James Bryant, June 9, 
1856; Henry Bryant, Sept. 10, i860; and Ella 
Rose, in 1858. 

Mary Ann Dodd, the first wife of Rol>frt 
A. Chandler, was born May 5, 1806, at Or- 
ange, N. J., daughter of David and Lydia 
Ann (Ward) Dodd, the former of whom was 
a son of David and Sarah (Harrison) Dodd. 

David Dodd, the first ancestor of this fam- 
ily in America probably came to this country in 
1646, and died in the winter of 1664-5. ^"'^1 
his wife died in 1667, both being buried at 
Bradford, Conn. Their children were : Alary, 
born in 1647, who married Aaron Blakcley ; 
David, born in 1649 '• Ebenezer, who died in 
1675; a daughter who died in infancy; Ste- 
phen, born in 1655. died at Guilford, Comi., in 
1691, who married Mary Stephens; Samuel. 
born in 1657; and Ann, who married a Mr. 

David Dodd, Jr., had these children : Dan- 
iel, Stephen, John and Dorcas. 

John Dodd, son of David, Jr., married 
a Miss Sampson, and their children were: 
John, David, Abigail. Marv, Phoebe and Eliza- 

David I>odd, son of John, who was a 
farmer near Orange, N. J., was a Minute man 
in the Revolutionary war. He married Sarah 
Harrison, and they had these children : Polly, 
Zebina, Elizabeth, David J., Sarah, Abbie, 
Phoebe and Lvdia. 



David Dodd, Jr., sou of David, followed 
farming on the old Dodd homestead. He 
married Lydia Ward, and their children 
were : John, Eliza, Mary, Chandler, Reuben, 
Jonah, iMargaret and Almira. 

Professor Hodgin is a member of the So- 
ciety of Friends, to which his wife also be- 
longed, and he has been one of the clerks of 
Whitewater quarterly meeting. He is a recog- 
nized minister of the Gospel. In political opin- 
ion at one time he was a stanch Republican, but 
since 1884 he has been identified with the Pro- 
hibition party. He has always taken an active 
interest in public questions, especially when 
they have touched on peace or temperance. 
On many occasions he has delivered temper- 
ance addresses, and on numerous occasions 
he has made peace addresses before different 
yearly meetings and other assemblies. Pro- 
fessor Hodgin is also known as an author, 
having contributed largely to the educational 
press of the day, notably a series of articles 
to the Indiana School Journal, and another 
r.eries to the Minnesota Journal of Education. 
He has placed the following books upon the 
market, all of which have met with public ap- 
proval : "Civil Government of Indiana," 
"Historical Sketch of Indiana," "Historical 
Sketch of Indiana," as supplement to Red- 
way's "History of the United States," and 
in collaboration with Prof. Woodburn of the 
Indiana State University, "A Study of the 
American Commonwealth," being an edition 
of the speeches of Burke and Webster that 
have political reference to United States his- 
tory. He also edited a revision of Page's 
"Theory and Practice of Teaching." 

Professor Hodgin has a pleasant home at 
Richmond, and takes part in the intellectual, 
religious and social life of the city. Mrs. 
Hodgin was a Daughter of the American 
Revolution. She died Nov. 13, 1907, leaving 
one daughter. Laura Alice, born at Richmond, 
April 27, 1869. 

been engaged in the general practice of medi- 
cine at Muncie, Delaware Co., Ind., since 
1894. He is a busy man, his wide patronage 
in and around the town, and his duties as sur- 
geon of the Ball Brothers Glass Manufactur- 
ing Company, fully absorbing his time. Dr. 
Ball is a native of Ohio, and comes of old 
Colonial stock well known in New England 
and Virginia, where there have been many 
illustrious representatives of the name. 

Lucius Styles Ball, father of Dr. Lucius 
Lorenzo Ball, of Muncie, was born Jan. 6, 
1814, at Ascot, Sherbrooke Co., Quebec, 
Lower Canada, and there he grew to man- 
hood, receiving such schooling as was af- 
forded in the days of his boyhood in a pioneer 
neighborhood. When twenty years old he 
left the home at Sherbrooke for the United 
States, first going to New York City, where 
he bought produce for his uncle, Silas Har- 
vey. He then went to Florida, where he was 
premised a railroad position, but owing to a 
change of management he after a short time 
found himself without position or money. He 
concluded finally to learn the carpenter's trade, 
being handy with tools, and in this trade he 
became very proficient. He worked at it five 
years in Florida, and then visited his home in 
Greensburg, Trumbull Co., Ohio, whither his 
parents had removed from Canada, and he 
built a substantial frame house to make the 
old folks comfortable. Returning again to the 
South he was employed at his trade, becoming 
a master workman, at Natchez, New Orleans 
and other points. Returning once more to his 
home in Ohio, about 1845, he married Miss 
Maria P. Brigham, who was born Jan. 14, 
1822, in Stanstead, Quebec, daughter of Ben- 
jamin and Lydia (Beebe) Brigham. She had 
been a very successful and popular teacher, 
having taught in several important schools. 
Mr. Ball purchased his father's farm and the 
young couple settled there, remaining two 
years. He then purchased a larger farm, 
which was known as the Dr. Bascom farm, 
and which was improved with a large two- 
story house, besides complete buildings for 
dairy purposes. Mr. Ball then began dairy 
farming, and besides his own dairy he en- 
gaged in the business extensively, buying all 
he could of neighboring farmers, and ship- 
ping in large quantities to New York City. 
In 1856-57. having rented his farm, he estab- 
lished a large and profitable produce business 
in Minneapolis. Minn., and planned to move 
his family to that State, but just when 
business seemed most prosperous came the 
panic of 1857, and the failure of his creditors 
caused him to return to his farm. Just about 
this time he invented and began the manufac- 
ture of the first horse rake on wheels in the 
United States. In i860 he took two droves 
of breeding mares to be sold to stock breeders 
in Bourbon county, Ky., selling these on one 
year's time. He was also engaged with other 
parties from Ohio in developing oil lands in 



Bourbon county. The Civil war breaking out 
in 1861, his southern creditors informed him 
that they had repudiated all northern debts, 
and at the same time they served notice upon 
him to leave the State within three days. This 
entailed such severe financial losses that he 
then returned to his farin in Ohio. In 1863 
he sold his farm and moved to Grand Island, 
Erie county, N. Y., where he lived for two 
years on the farm of his brother, the Rev. G. 
H. Ball. He next moved to Tonawanda, N. 
Y., and engaged in the oil business and in 
shipping hay. In 1867 he went to Canandai- 
gua, K Y., and went into the grocery busi- 
ness with a Mr. Bates, under the firm name 
of Ball & Bates, this partnership lasting three 
years when it was dissolved. Mr. Ball then 
purchased a small fruit farm, upon which his 
family lived, and while there he invented a 
patent egg carrier and also a paper barrel. 
He died Jan. 25, 1878, in Canandaigua. He 
was considered a man of rare good judgment 
and intelligence, and was highly esteemed 
by all who knew him. He left a widow and 
■five sons and two daughters, the children all 
born in Greensburg, Ohio, as follows : Lu- 
cina Amelia, born Aug. 20, 1847 (died Jan. 
14, 1901): Lucius Lorenzo, ]\Iarch 29, 1850: 
William Charles, Aug. 13, 1852; Edward 
Burk, Oct. 27, 1855 ; Frank Clayton, Oct. 27, 
1857: Mary Frances, Aug. 7, i860: George 
Alexander, Nov. 5, 1862. Several of the 
sons are members of the Ball Brothers Glass 
]\Ianufacturing Company, of Muncie, Ind., 
Frank C, being president; Edward B., vice 
president : William C, secretary ; and George 
A., treasurer of the Company. 

Lucius Lorenzo Ball, a representative of 
the eighth generation of the family in Amer- 
ica, was born on his father's farm in Trum- 
bull county, Ohio, and attended the district 
school in the neighborhood, during the sum- 
mer working on the home farm. He was 
seventeen years old when he removed with 
the family to Canandaigua, N. Y., where he 
studied at the old academy for about two 
years. In was an excellent institution, and 
many famous men of his generation and the 
one preceding there gained their literary 
training, the higher branches having been 
thoroughly taught. Lucius L. Ball later en- 
gaged with his brother, William C. Ball, in 
the manufacture of cigars, in which business 
lie continued for about five years, also assist- 
ing his father in carrying on a farm for the 
raising of small fruit. In 1882 he went to 

Buffalo, where he and his brothers Edward 
B. and Frank C. carried on the manufacture 
of oil cans. About this time he entered upon 
what has proved to be his life work, the study 
of medicine. He took the regular course at 
Buffalo Medical College, receiving his degree 
in 1889, and the same year began practice in 
the Adrian (Pa.) Hospital, where he was 
house physician and assistant physician to the 
Buffalo, Rochester & Pittsburg 'iron & Coal 
Company. For three years he was physician 
and assistant physician to the Buffalo, Port- 
land & Pittsburg Iron & Coal Company, and 
after that experience returned to Buffalo, 
where he practiced until his removal to Alun- 
cie in 1894. There he has built up a lucrative 
patronage, and is chief physician for the 
Muncie & Portland Traction Company, medi- 
cal director of the Western Reserve Life In- 
surance Company (home office, Muncie, 
Ind.), which with his duties as surgeon to the 
Ball Brothers Glass Manufacturing Company 
keeps him thoroughly employed. The last 
named company has two thousand employees, 
and the nature of the business makes expert 
medical attendance necessary. Dr. Ball is a 
prominent member of his profession in Mun- 
cie, and indeed enjoys high standing through- 
out Delaware county. He has a valuable 
medical library and keeps well-abreast of the 
times and modern research through the lead- 
ing professional journals. He is an active 
member of the Delaware County Medical So- 
ciety, the State Medical Society and the 
American Medical Association. In politics he 
is independent, his professional labors occu- 
pying so much of his time that he has not 
interested himself in public matters or office. 
In fraternal connection he is a 32d degree 

On June i, 1893, Dr. Ball was married, in 
Bay City, JNIich., to Sarah Rogers, a native 
of New York State, and they have had one 
daughter, Helen, born in ^luncie March 23, 

The Ball Family. During the days of 
religious persecution in England many Balls 
came to America, and Dr. Lucius L. Ball is a 
descendant in the ninth generation from the 
common English ancestor of the New Eng- 
land and Mrginia Balls, William Ball, of 
Wiltshire, England. This William Ball of 
^^'iltshire, formerly of Northamptonshire, is 
looked upon as the progenitor of both the 
New England and Virginia Balls, as the 
coats of arms preserved in both branches are 


the same, differing only as to crests and mot- 
toes. Arms have been granted to which the 
crest has never been added. Moreover, mi- 
nor changes, say the authorities, were often 
made in the coats of arms to distinguish dif- 
ferent branches of a family. In the present 
case, as the field and charges on the shield 
are the same, it is evident that both arms be- 
longed to the same family, or the devices on 
the shield would not be similar. These arms 
are given by Burke, in General Armory, as 
those of Northamptonshire, granted in 1613, 
probably to the father of the William Ball (of 
\\'iltshire) whose six sons came to America 
in 1635, and indicate that he was an esquire. 
The arms were displayed on the shield, as 
usual, and the crest surmounted the casque, 
or head piece. The six sons mentioned. Ail- 
ing, John, Samuel, Richard, Francis and Wil- 
liam, came to America in the ship "Planter" 
in 1635, the church of which most of them 
were members coming in a body. Ailing Ball 
was the ancestor of the Ball Brothers of ]Mun- 
cie, and is said to be identical with the great- 
grandfather of General Washington, whose 
mother was Mary Ball. 

There is other evidence pointing to this 
close relationship between the New England 
and Virginia families. In Col. William 
Stone's history of Saratoga county, N. Y., 
is found the statement (on page 379) that 
Rev. Eliphalet Ball, of Ballston, N. Y., 
claimed to be third cousin to General 
\\'ashington, whose mother was Mary Ball, 
granddaughter of Col. William Ball, who was 
one of the six brothers from England. This 
claim is stipported by the statement that when 
\vashington visited Ballston in 1783 he was 
the guest of Rev. Eliphalet Ball and recog- 
nized the relationship. Washington spent a 
large portion of his time during the Revolu- 
tion in New Jersey, and always recognized 
the descendants of the New England Balls 
as his cousins. There were many descendants 
of Edward Ball, of Connecticut, in New Jer- 
sey at the time, and more than thirty of them 
were connected with dift'erent branches of the 
American army. The fact that he recognized 
them as cousins is abundantly attested in their 
family records and traditions. After the war 
he wrote to Deacon David Ball, recommend- 
ing a former officer in the army to his friend- 
ship, and addressed him as cousin. 

The Ball coat of arms (the Northampton- 
shire arms) w^as brought to America by Ail- 
ing Ball, and is preserved in the book plate 

of his son. Col. John Ball, the grandfather 
of Rev. Eliphalet Ball. Col. ^\■illiam Ball 
(brother of Ailing), the foimder of the \'ir- 
ginia line, brought the same arms to \'ir- 
ginia. The most remarkable similarity of 
names and general family resemblance may 
be only circumstantial evidence, but it is very 
strong. It is usually understood that Gen- 
eral Washington inherited his tall and com- 
manding figure from the Balls, who were 
large and strong men. 

(I) Ailing Ball, born in \\'iltshire, Eng- 
land, landed at Boston from the ship 
"Planter" in 1635, and thence went to various 
forts. One of the leaders of the church com- 
pany to which he and his brothers belonged 
was William Tuttle, who came in the same 
ship with his wife, Elizabeth, and three chil- 
dren. This family was intimate with the 
Balls, and they intermarried, and thus the 
date of the arrival of the Balls in America is 
authenticated from the carefully prepared his- 
tory of the Tuttle family. The Tuttles and 
Ailing Ball and wife remained in Boston until 
1639, when they removed with their church 
to Connecticut, locating in New Haven, where 
they owned adjoining property, now owned 
by Yale College. Ailing Ball had charge of 
the farm of Rev. John Davenport, in East 
Haven, from 1640 to 1650. No record has 
been discovered of the births of children there 
until that of his son John, which occurred 
in 1649. After leaving the Davenport farm 
Ailing Ball settled in New Haven, where he 
died. The Branford and East Haven settle- 
ments were practically one. with one Inde- 
pendent (or Congregational) Church, under 
one pastor. 

Ailing Ball married, probably in London, 
Dorothy Fogal, and their children were : Ed- 
ward, born about 1642; John, .April 15, 1649, 
at East Haven; Eliphalet, born h'eb. 11, 
1651, at New Haven; x-\lling. born June 27, 
1656, at New Haven, and Mary, who married 
George Pardee. There may have been others, 
of whom no record has been found. 

(II) Edward Ball, the noted Puritan, was 
according to Rev. George H. Ball, D. D. (ed- 
itor of "The L'nion Record," the official rec- 
ord of the Ball family, founder and president 
of Keuka College. Keuka Park, N. Y.), a son 
of Ailing Ball, but though the fact is al- 
most conclusively proved there is no written 
evidence. He was born at East Haven, Conn., 
about 1642-43-44, during the time his father 
had charge of Rev. John Davenport's farm, 



and married in Connecticut about 1664 Abi- 
gail Blatchley, of Connecticut. They became 
the parents of six children, namely : ( i ) Ca- 
leb was born probably about 1663, therefore 
in Connecticut, and the last trace of him as 
being alive is found in 1716, when he wit- 
nessed a deed. He owned the homestead at 
Newark, N. J., on May i, 1704, returning it 
to his father. At the time of his death he 
was probably living with his sons, Caleb, Jr., 
and John, at jMillbrook. The name of his 
wife, Sarah, appeared once only, on a deed 
dated Feb. 19, 1705-06. (From chart made 
Feb. 3, 1888. by Joseph Harrison Vance, Erie, 
Pa., from manuscript of John R. Burnet, of 
Xorthfield, N. J., deceased, and the authority 
on the early Ball families). (2) Abigail mar- 
ried Daniel Harrison, who died in December, 
1738, aged seventy-seven years. (3) Joseph 
fell heir to his father's home lot, in Newark, 
N. J., which remained in the family until sold 
by his great-grandson, Joseph Hadden Ball, 
in 1849. He was twice married, first to Han- 
nah Harrison, who died probably in 171 1, and 
subsequently to Elizabeth (supposed to be 
daughter of Lydia (Ball) Peck) ; there were 
three children by the first union and four by 
tlie second. Joseph Ball died April 25, 1733. 
aged sixty years. (4) Lydia, who died Aug. 
22, 1742, aged sixty-six vears, was the wife of 
Joseph Peck, who died Jan. Q. 1746, aged sev- 
enty-one ye"ars, three months. Joseph Peck 
came from Connecticut. He was apprenticed 
to Mr. Ailing or Allen, the first blacksmith 
in Newark, and lived on Washington street, 
Newark, on the northwest corner of Edward 
Ball's home lot. He was deacon of the First 
Presbyterian Church. (5) i^Ioses, born about 
1685, died April 20, 1747. He probably re- 
sided in Newark, N. J. He married Mary 
Ticlienor, who was born in 1684-85, and died 
in December, 1747. They had no children, 
and numerous bequests were left to nephews, 
nieces, etc. (6) Thomas is mentioned further 

Edward Ball, the father of this family, 
was in 1666 a member of the church at Bran- 
ford, of which his father was one of the 
founders. Rev. Abraham Pierson, pastor of this 
church, led his congregation to emigrate to 
Newark, N. J., in 1666. naming the new set- 
tlement after Newark, in England, where he 
formerly was pastor. About thirty families 
had moved there from New Haven the year 
before. The East Haven and Bran ford 
churches were closely allied, and readily 

united in the scheme of planting a Puritan 
city in New Jersey. The historical facts are 
as follows: East Haven, Milford, and Bran- 
ford constituted a special settlement of Puri- 
tans who insisted that none but church mem- 
bers should participate in governmental af- 
fairs. About 1666 the Colonies of Connecti- 
cut and New Haven were united by royal 
charter, which admitted non church members 
to the privileges of voting and holding office. 
Alarmed by this license to worldliness, and 
attracted by promises from the lord proprie- 
tors of the Province of New Jersey, Rev. 
Abraham Pierson led a company of his church 
members to emigrate. They appear to have 
consisted of members of the Congregational 
Church of ]\lilford and Branford, styled 
"Friends from Milford and the neighboring 
plantations thereabout." "It was agreed 
upon mutually that the aforesaid persons 
from Milford, Guilford and Branford, to- 
gether with their associates, being now ac- 
cepted of, do make one township that through 
God's blessing, with one hand, they endeavor 
the carrying on of spiritual concernments, as 
also civil and town affairs, according to God, 
and a goodly government, these to be settled 
by them and their associates." These emi- 
grants signed what they called "The Funda- 
mental Agreement, to provide with all care and 
dilligence for the maintenance of the purity of 
religion." They carefully restricted civil 
power to those who should be members of 
one or the other Congregational churches. 
(The Congregational Church which these 
emigrants founded afterward became Pres- 
byterian, being now the First Presbyterian 
Church of Newark.) Edward Ball was one 
of the signers of the "Agreement," Oct. 20, 
1666, and an active and influential member of 
the new colony, he himself removing to New- 
ark in 1667. He was then about twenty-two 
or twenty-four years of age. During his life 
he held many important offices, and did most 
valuable service. In a few vears he became 
high sheriff of Essex county, N. J., and in 
1693 he is mentioned as holding several pub- 
lic positions, such as commissioner on deli- 
cate and important trusts, committeeman on 
boundaries, on settlement with the lord pro- 
prietors and Indians. The territory selected 
for the city of Newark was laid out in sec- 
tions, and a lot of six acres was assigned to 
Edward Ball. A portion of that lot is still 
owned by liis descendants bearing the name of 
Burnet. The residence is No. i A\'arren 


street, in the heart of the city, and the six 
acres assigned to Edward Ball lie between 
Broad and Washington streets, being now 
worth millions of dollars. The living de- 
scendants of Edward Ball probably number 
between two and three thousand. They are 
more numerous in New Jersey than else- 
where, but are found in large numbers in 
nearly every State in the Union. It is not 
known when Edward Ball and his wife died. 
The last record of him alive is in 1724, when 
he was eighty-one or eighty-two years of age. 
(Ill) Thomas Ball, son of Edward, born 
in 1687-88, died Dec. 18, 1744. About 1710 
he married Sarah Davis, who died Feb. i, 
1778, aged eighty-eight years. He was a 
blacksmith by trade, was constable of New- 
ark in 1715, and removed — probably about 
1718-20 — to a tract of land between Hilton 
and Jeflferson village, N. J., where he died, 
near the site of "Tuscan Hall," built by his 
son Ezekiel. Thomas Ball was the father of 
twelve children by one wife, his being the 
largest family of any of the children of Ed- 
ward Ball. The record of this family is as 
follows: (i) Timothy, born Oct. 26, 171 1, 
died Jan. 9, 1758. He was a farmer on the 
mountainside west of Maplewood station, 
near South Orange, N. J. In December, 
1734, he married Esther Bruen, who was born 
Sept. 25, 1715, and died Oct. 10, 1803. (2) 
Aaron died Sept. 22, 1752, aged thirty-nine 
years. He married Hannah Camp, widow of 
Samuel Johnson, blacksmith, and resided near 
South Orange, N. }. Mrs. Ball married for 
lier third husband Timothy Peck, and died 
Dec. 23, 1790, aged seventy-eight years. (3) 
Affie died in 1785, aged about seventy years. 
She married Simon Searing, who died in 
April, 1760, and they lived at Connecticut 
Farms, N. J. (4) Nathaniel died in 1780. 
He married Esther Osborn and lived at Con- 
necticut Farms. He was a blacksmith by 
trade. (5) David, born in 1729, died April 
19, 1789. He was a blacksmith, and resided 
at Springfield, N, J. He married (first) 
Phebe Brown, who died July 10. 1748, and 
his second wife was Joanna Watkins, who 
died Feb. 18, 1776. He was married (third) 
on Dec. 12, 1776. (6) Ezekiel, who died 
Dec. 19, 1804. aged eighty-three years, in- 
herited the homestead, the site of "Tuscan 
Hall," at Hilton, N. J., which he built. He 
was a carpenter by trade. He married Mary 
Jones, of Sag Harbor, Long Island. N. J., 
who died ]\Iarch 25, 1810, aged eighty-four 

years. (7) Jonas, who died about 1787, aged 
about sixty-four years, at Headleytown, near 
Irvington, N. J., was a cooper by' occupation. 
He married Hannah Bruen, who died in 
1805. (8) Mary, born June 4, 1726, died in 
1817. She was first married to John Bruen, 
a sailor, who was lost off Newfoundland Sept. 
24, 1758, and by whom she had three children. 
Her second husband was Thomas Longworth, 
Esq., of Newark, N. J., and three children 
were also born to that union. (9) Rachel, 
born in 1728, died in 1750. She was the wife 
of Samuel Headley, who died Nov. 7, 1787, 
at the age of sixty-four years. (10) Thomas, 
born about 1731, died May 20, 1806. He was' 
a lawyer by profession. He married Mary 
Crane, who died ]\Iay 27, 1806, and they 
made their home in Jefferson village, near 
South Orange, N. J. (11) Amos, born about 
1733' probably survived the Revolutionary 
war, but the time and place of his death are 
not known. (12) Moses is the next in the 
line we are tracing. 

(IV) Moses Ball, born about 1735, died 
about 1775. His home was in Springfield, N. 
J. His children were : Jonathan, Samuel, 
and others whose names are not known. 

(V) Jonathan Ball was born in New Jer- 
sey, about 1759 or 1761, and married Sarah 
Stiles. In the year 1799 he removed with sev- 
eral Springfield (New Jersey) neighbors, to the 
northern wilderness, locating at the present 
site of the town of Sherbrooke, Province of 
Quebec. There he bought a tract of land 
from the English government, and improved 
his property, his sons helping him to clear 
two farms from the wilderness. He became 
a prosperous and prominent man of his com- 
munity. Sherbrooke, now a flourishing man- 
ufacturing place, is built on one of his farms. 
He erected the first lumber mill at that point. 
A street in Sherbrooke is named for some 
member of the Ball family. Jonathan Ball was 
the father of the following named children : 
William, David, Moses, Alexander and Lu- 
cindia, of whom William was the grandfather 
of Dr. Lucius L. Ball, of Muncie, Indiana. 

(VI) William Ball was born (according 
to the records in the family Bible) Dec. 31, 
1784, at Sherbrooke, Canada, growing up 
among surroundings which made it neces- 
sary for him to become self-reliant and inde- 
pendent. He remained in his native country 
until about 1835, when he migrated with all 
his family except one son (Lucius S., who 
had gone to Florida about a year before) to 


the United States, settling in Greensburg, matters. After his first marriage Samuel My- 
Trunibiill county, Ohio. He bought 150 acres ers lived one year in Clinton county, Ohio, 
in the timber, repeating his father's experi- He had early been left an orphan by the death 
ence as a pioneer. Building a log cabin, he of his father, and when a boy was bound out 
and his sons immediately began the improve- to a weaver, which trade he had learned and 
ment of the land, and when Lucius S. Ball followed in conjunction with school teaching, 
returned from the South he joined the family He located in Indiana in 1836, arriving in 
and did his share of the work at home. He Anderson, in October of that year. Here he 
was a carpenter, and helped his father to bought 220 acres of timbered land, east of 
erect a frame house. In about ten years Wil- where the asylum now stands and partly 
Ham Ball sold this place and purchased a within the present corporation of the town of 
tract of 150 acres which had been partly im- Anderson. He built a log house, which is 
proved, and upon which stood a frame house, still standing, covered with weather boards, 
Here he passed the remainder of his active and proceeded to clear up his farm. In 1849 
days, the last few years of his long life being he built a pleasant residence, in which he re- 
spent in the home 'of his son Lucius S. Ball, sided until his death, at the age of eighty-two 
near Buffalo, X. Y. Air. Ball was a large years, in February, 1895. 
man, standing six feet, was heavily built and Samuel Myers was twice married. His first 

very powerful, possessed an intelligent mind wife was Caroline Gather, born in Rocking- 
and held to sound principles. He was hard- ham county, \'a., daughter of Robert W. and 
working and industrious, and enjoyed the Rebecca (Johnston) Gather, the latter of 
respect' and esteem of all who knew him. whom was a full cousin of Joseph E. Johns- 

ton. !^Irs. JMyers died in 2ilay, 1839. and he 
CAPTAIN WILLIA:\I R. MYERS, in married (second) Elizabeth Gather, sister to 
his lifetime one of the most prominent mem- his first wife, and she lived to be about sev- 
bers of the Tkladison county Bar, who also enty years of age, dying in 1894. in Anderson, 
won distinction in lines outside of his pro- To the first union two children were born: 
fession, was born June 12, 1836, in Clinton William R., and Jasper C, both of whom 
county, Ohio, son of Samuel and Caroline were officers in the Civil war. The children 
(Gather) Myers. of the second union were: Mary, Caroline, 

The flyers family are of German Huguenot George, Oliver, Frank, Kate and Jesse. Sam- 
stock, the originators of this branch of the uel Myers was in the 100-day service in the 
family coming through France to America Civil war, and took part in the Morgan Raid, 
and settling in North Carolina about 1768-9. Originally he was an old-line Whig, but he 
Ralph iNIyers, grandfather of Captain W. R., became an Abolitionist and voted for James 
was born'jMarch 6, 1785, son of Elijah ]Myers, G. Birney, the "Liberty" candidate. He sup- 
and he lived and died in North Carolina. In ported and voted for John C. Fremont, the 
religion he was a Quaker. He was twice first Republican candidate for President, and 
married, his first wife being Prudence Baker, also cast his vote for Abraham Lincoln. Sam- 
bv whom he had these children : Nathan, who uel ]\Iyers was an honored citizen and was 
settled in Hamilton county, Ind., in 1836; highly respected among the pioneers. He 
i\Iary, who married Lin Jessop : and Samuel, held the position of township trustee and 
He married (second) the Widow Elmon, who school director, and took an active interest 
had by her first husband a daughter, Mahala, in anything pertaining to the welfare of his 
who married John Arnold. Ralph ■Myers was county. He was noted, even among the pio- 
a substantial citizen and owned a consider- neers, for his liberal hospitality, and the say- 
able tract of land, and, although living in the ing was true of him, that his "latch-string 
South was not a slave owner. He located as was always out." He engaged extensively in 
a pioneer in Clinton county, Ohio, in early contracting, and many of the old Anderson 
times and died there about 1820. buildings were built on his contracts. Fra- 

Samuel Alyers, son of Ralph, was born ternally he was an Odd Fellow, being one of 
Nov. 4, 1812, in Clinton county, Ohio, on his the early members of the Anderso-n Lodge, 
father's farm. He received a common pio- and passed all the chairs, including that of No- 
neer education, but became a well-informed ble Grand. He was a man of broad views 
man, and took a great interest in educational and was liberal in his religious beliefs. His 



son, Jasper C, graduated from West Point 
in 1S62, and entered the ordinance depart- 
ment as 2nd lieutenant. He was promoted 
to 1st lieutenant and served through the war. 
He was on the staffs of Generals Butler and 
Schofield, and had been a class-mate of the 

William R. ]\l3'ers was about three months 
old when brought to Indiana, in 1836, by his 
parents. He w'as thus reared among the pio- 
neers of Anderson and attended the old log 
cabin schools. He was brought up on the 
home farm, and at the age of nineteen began 
teaching school, working on the farm during 
vacations. On June 7, 1858, he married in 
Anderson, ]\Iary F. Mershon, born Oct. 20, 
1839, in Pendleton, daughter of William H. 
and !Mary J. (Bourne) JMershon. William 
H. j\Iershon was tlie son of Franklin Mer- 
shon, of New York State, and was a class- 
mate of William H. Seward at Princeton. He 
moved to Pendleton in 1827, where he was 
one of the county judges, and a man of in- 
fluence in the early days. His children were : 
John D., W^illiam B., Mary F., Emma S., 
Sonora and Henry. Mr. Mershon died at the 
age of seventy-eight years, in 1876. 

Captain ]\Iyers enlisted at Anderson, in 
April, 1861, in the three months service, but 
as the three months men were not accepted he 
again enlisted in October, 1861, as a private of 
Company G, 47th Ind. V. I., to serve three 
years or during the war. He served until 
honorably discharged at New Iberia, Novem- 
ber, 1863. and re-enlisted in the same organ- 
ization for three years, becoming a veteran. 
He was honorably discharged in November, 
1865, and was mustered out of service at In- 
dianapolis, Ind. Among the battles in which 
Captain Myers participated were the follow- 
ing: New Madrid, Mo., March, 1862; Island 
No. 10, April, 1862; Riddle's Post, April, 
1862; Arkansas Post, 1863; Siege of Vicks- 
burg from April until July 4, 1863 ; the Red 
River expedition, being in several skirmishes 
during this arduous campaign ; the battle of 
Champion Hills, and many minor battles and 
skirmishes. With the exception of eight days 
when he was confined to the hospital on Por- 
cupine Island, Yazoo Pass, he was with his 
regiment every day of his enlistment and 
never missed an engagement of any kind. The 
history of the 47th regiment is the history of 
Captain Myers. He was promoted to second 
lieutenant for meritorious conduct, June 18, 

1862, to first lieutenant in June, 1863, and for 
gallant and efficient conduct to the rank of 
captain, in November, 1863, commanding his 
company in the Red river expedition. 

After the war the gallant captain 
returned to his home, to find that his 
only child, Claude, the son of his 
first wife, had died while he was 
serving his country. The Captain and his 
wife thereupon adopted two nephews — Cap- 
tain Percy IMyers Kesler and Claude H. Kes- 
ler, whom they brought up as their own chil- 
dren. Mrs. Myers died Feb. 23, 1892, and 
the Captain was married (second) in Septem- 
ber, 1894, to ;\Iiss Florence 'SI. Stewart. 

Captain flyers read law with Davis & 
Goodkuntz in Anderson, where he practiced 
successfully up to the time of his death, in 
April, 1907, being one of the leading members 
of the Madison county Bar. He served as 
school trustee until 1878, and was one of the 
earlv county surveyors, being elected to that 
office in 1858. He was elected to the National 
Congress in 1878, on the Democratic ticket, 
and served on a special committee investigat- 
ing the pension department, which exposed 
the conduct of the department under Pen- 
sion Commissioner Bentley. The Cap- 
tain was Secretary of State in 1882, 
and was re-elected in 1884. In 1887 he 
bought the Anderson Democrat, a weekly pa- 
per, which he started to edit in 1888. The 
same year he received the nomination for 
Lieutenant Governor, but was defeated. In 
1892 he was again nominated on the Demo- 
cratic ticket for Secretary of State. 

In April, 1891, Captain Myers was in a 
railroad wreck on the Big Four railroad, near 
the insane asylum, and was badly injured. 
He was confined in the St. Vincent Hospital 
for 103 days, was on crutches for nine 
months, and never fullv recovered from the 
injuries. He was one of the early members 
of the I. O. O. F., of Anderson, having joined 
that lodge in 1857, and was made Grand Mas- 
ter of tiie State in 1877. and represented the 
State at the Sovereign Grand Lodge. He was 
also a Scottish Rite Mason, and was an 
honored member of the G. A. R. and Loyal 
Legion. He and his estimable wife were both 
devoted and consistent members of the First 
Presbvterian Church of Anderson, in which 
he was a member of the board of trustees. 
He was a man of unimpeachable honor and 
honesty, strong intellect and excellent busi- 


ness ability, and tliougli of few words was 
very popular with all who knew him. He 
was a strong speaker, an able thinker, and a 
clear-headed counselor. 

IGNATIUS BROWX (deceased) was 
born Aug. ii, 183 1, in Indianapolis, and lived 
to become one of the honored and distin- 
guished citizens of his native place, having 
been identified with the movements in the 
direction of education and development which 
made the years of his active manhood fruit- 
ful ones for this prosperous city. His ancestors 
came from ^^'ales, about the year 1700, the 
founder of the family in America having been 
Evan Bruen (as the name was then spelled) ; 
succeeding generations came westward from 
the coast, Thomas Brown having been the 
founder and proprietor of Brownsville, Pa., at 
the site of the prehistoric fortification known 
as Redstone Old Fort ; and at Brownsville, 
July 18, 1782, was born Hiram Brown, son of 
Thomas Brown. 

Hiram Brown was a man of strength, 
mental and physical ; not only was he deeply 
read in the law (his preceptor having been the 
great Thomas Corwin,, of Ohio), but as an 
advocate he was easily the most powerful man 
before a jury in central Indiana, in a day when 
oratory meant much more than it does now ; 
when few people read the few newspapers 
and men's minds were swayed only by the 
personal appeal. Hiram Brow-n married 
Judith, daughter of Rev. Thomas Smith, one 
of the earliest and foremost of the Methodist 
preachers of this country. Of this union, 
Ignatius Brown was born. 

With this heritage of intellectuality, the 
education of Ignatius began with Kemper and 
Lange, in the famous old Alarion County 
Seminary, w'hich stood for years in what is 
now' known as University Park. The son of 
a family of lawyers, the young Ignatius 
chose to follow the law, beginning as a stu- 
dent in his father's office. Later, he entered 
the Law Department of the State University, 
at Bloomington. being graduated therefrom 
in 1852. From college he came home to prac- 
tice law with his father: after the death of 
the latter in 1853, Ignatius continued alone; 
after the year 1868, he limited his field to the 
law of real estate, and to the preparation of 
abstracts of title, acquiring an enduring repu- 
tation for the excellence of his work. In this 
special branch of the law he continued until 
his death, July 8, 1903. 

In his youth, like most young lawyers. 
Mr. Brown went into politics with great en- 
thusiasm. He aided in organizing the Re- 
publican party, and in his home county he 
introduced and carried through the county 
convention the first anti-slavery resolutions 
adopted in Indiana. He was President of the 
Young Men's Republican Club in the Fre- 
mont campaign. In later years, he was con- 
tent to leave active political strife to younger 
men. Though never the holder of an elective 
office, he served for two years as Secretary 
of the State Board of Agriculture, preparing 
the reports of that body for 1856 and 1857. 
the State Fair ground then being what is now 
known as Military Park. 

In conjunction with Dr. R. L. Catling 
(afterw^ard widely known as the invenfor of 
the Catling gtm) Mr. Btown organized the 
first Board of Trade of Indianapolis (not the 
present Board) preparing circulars and maps 
issued by the Board, setting forth the ad- 
vantages of the town as a manufacturing and 
commercial center. At a subsequent period, 
in 1873, at the solicitation of a committee of 
the City Council, he prepared a large 
pamphlet with maps and statistics, showing 
the commanding position of Indianapolis for 
business purposes. This pamphlet was widely 
distributed by the City authorities and busi- 
ness men, and it aided in producing the 
"boom" of 1873-4-5. 

It is. however, as the first and best his- 
torian of his own city that Ignatius Brown 
has earned his place in the memory of his 
fellow-citizens. In 1857, for the directory of 
that year, he prepared the first historical 
sketch of Indianapolis, with maps showing the 
extent of the town at successive periods of 
development. For the directory of 1868. the 
publishers asked a more extended article, and 
this Mr. Brown furnished, covering a hundred 
closely printed pages with a wonderfully com- 
pact statement of the history of this commu- 
nity from 1819 to 1867; so thoroughly did he 
do this work that every author who has since 
written upon this or any allied subject has 
gladly acknowledged his indebtedness to 
Ignatius Brown for the facts placed at his 
disposal. To his labors in this field Mr. 
Brown brought sterling honesty, accuracy, in- 
dustry and that fine-fibred, evenly-balanced 
sense of justice without which real history 
cannot be written. Too much stress cannot 
be laid upon the fairness, the lack of bias, and 
the absolute accuracy of Mr. Brown's his- 

^^0^^.^^^:^ A^>^^-<--,_ 


torical works. His was a fine mind, well cul- 
tivated. All his life a student, of quiet and 
retiring nature, he avoided society and gave 
himself to his books. It may safely be said 
of him that he had read more of the books in 
the city Public Library than any other of its 

Such recreation as Mr. Brown permitted 
himself, he enjoyed along the wooded banks 
of river and creek, fishing, with rods of his 
own making, and flies of his own tying : fish- 
ing, yet with much more thought of the joys 
and beauties of Nature than of the number 
of fish he might bring home. And this was 
really typical of his life, that he did what he 
could, for its own sake, without regard to the 
result when measured by any sordid standard. 

On May 5, 1857, Mr. Brown was married 
to Elizabeth, daughter of Rev. Joseph iMarsee, 
a IMethodist minister of the good old pioneer 
stock : she died Nov. 30, 1873. To them were 
born four children: Hiram Brown, Lyndsay 
j\I. Brown, Mrs. Francis A. Carvin and Mrs. 
Herbert M. Adkinson, all of whom are living 
in Indianapolis. 

WHEELER. The connection of the 
Wheeler family with the development of In- 
diana is almost contemporaneous with its his- 
tory as a State, for the first \\'heeler to join 
the pioneers reached Hamilton county in 1828, 
only twelve years after Indiana's admission 
to the Union. The Wheelers were an old 
Colonial family, but at what exact point along 
the coast they settled is not definitely known. 
The earliest records are of two brothers, Wil- 
liam and Thomas, who were taken to Vir- 
ginia in childhood and there grew to man- 

The ancestor of the Indiana branch of the 
Wheeler family was William, who was born 
April 27, 1768. When in their early days 
both brothers pushed on to Kentucky, where 
\\'illiam settled in Nicholas county, while 
Thomas remained only a short time and then 
went on to Ohio. He located near Chilli- 
ccthe, married and reared a family, and many 
of his family are scattered throughout that 
section. William farmed in Kentucky for 
years, but in 1828 moved to Hamilton county, 
Ind., where a son had gone two years before, 
and he settled near him in the township of 
Noblesville, three miles from that village. 
The journey was made with horses and wag- 
ens and required considerable time. The rest 
•of his life was passed on this farm, and he 

died in February, 1833. William Wheeler 
was a typical pioneer, of strong physique, six 
feet tall and weighing about 180 pounds. 
During the war of 1812 he enlisted, with two 
comrades from Kentucky, John Stoops and 
George Burt, and saw considerable service in 
Canada. In politics he was an old-line ^^'hig. 
William Wheeler was married three times. 
His first wife, whose name is not known, had 
two daughters, ?\Iargaret and Mary, of whom 
]\Iary died in Kentucky. He next married 
]\Iiss Rose Ann Ishmaul, a native of Wales, 
who had come to Nicholas county, and she, 
too, died in Kentucky. Her children were as 
follows: John, born Sept. 29, 1807; Nancy, 
Oct. 3, 1809: Roseann, Jan. 2, 1812: and 
Thomas, Feb. 3. 1814. The third wife was a 
widow, Mrs. Sarah (Ferguson) Burns, and 
she bore him two children, namely: \\'illiam. 
born Oct. 5. 1816: and Moses, jNIarch 11, 

John Wheeler, oldest son of William, born 
Sept. 29, 1807, grew up on the Kentucky 
frontier and had no chance for even the rudi- 
ments of an education during his boyhood, 
but after his marriage his wife taught him to 
read and write. His main book was the Bi- 
ble, and he became a close student of its 
teachings. His father's farm on Licking river 
was close to that of Philip Stoops, another pi- 
oneer, who had a daughter, Mary, and the 
two young people fell in love with each other 
and were betrothed. Early in September, 
1826, Philip Stoops and his family started for 
Indiana, traveling with an ox team and a 
team of horses, and John Wheeler accompa- 
nied them. He drove the oxen, and led a two- 
year-old colt. The party camped out along 
the way in true pioneer style and were five 
weeks in making the journey, arriving at their 
destination Oct.' i. 1826. On March 5th, fol- 
lowing, the young couple were married and 
began their long life together. 

John Wheeler had taken an eight-year 
lease from Aaron Finch for twenty acres of 
heavily timbered land about three miles south- 
east of Noblesville. He built a log cabin and 
gradually cleared the land, and meanwhile, 
to support his family, did much clearing for 
others in the vicinity. There was no money 
in the community, so his work was paid for 
in small produce or barter, and altogether the 
family lived in a most primitive way. The 
log cabin, while warm and comfortable, was 
rough in the extreme, with ]nmcheon floor, 
a door of clap boards with wooden hinges, 


a single glass window, and a stick and clay 
chimney. The clothing for the family was 
made from the wool and flax which Mrs. 
Wheeler spun and wove. In 1834 Mr. AMieeler 
determined to follow the Indian trail 
to Fort Wayne, 100 miles distant, in order to 
get work there on the Wabash and Erie Ca- 
nal. Provided with onlv simple provisions 
and a blanket to cover him at night, he set 
out on his journey. He secured the work, 
receiving sixteen dollars a month, and worked 
for three months, after which he walked 
home again through the woods. He had 
earned enough money to buy forty acres of 
forest land, two and a half miles east of No- 
blesville, and there he built a new cabin and 
settled down with his family. Industrious 
and thrifty, he prospered and was able to 
add to his property until he owned a fine farm 
of 224 acres. In time he built a frame house, 
and during the latter part of their lives he 
and his wife enjoyed all the comforts of life. 
He lived to be seventy-two years old. passing 
away at the home Aug. 17, 1880. His wife 
died April 7, 1881, while visiting her grand- 
children, George and Eva Fisher, of Nobles- 
ville. Both Mr. and ]\Irs. Wheeler were 
converts to the teachings of Alexander Camp- 
bell, who often journeyed through Indiana in 
those early days. He founded a church at 
Noblesville, and the ^^Mleelers were among the 
most interested and sincere members. John 
Wheeler was a deacon in it for many vears. 
In politics he was a Whig at first, but later 
was a strong Abolitionist. In his locality he 
was noted for his sound judgment and was 
more frequently called upon than anv other 
man there to serve upon both grand and petit 

;Mrs. Mary (Stoops) Wheeler was in 
many respects a most remarkable character. 
While she had only an ordinary education, 
she had an excellent mind and retentive mem- 
ory, and was very well informed for her 
times. She was especially familiar with the 
Bible and could readily quote almost any pas- 
sage from it. She was really the educator 
of her children, and by her strong character 
exerted an influence over them to which was 
largely due their success in the world. Her 
word was law to them, and they all felt the 
greatest reliance on her judgment. A single 
incident wiU'illustrate her force of character 
and ability to dominate a situation instantly. 
During her husband's absence in Fort Wayne, 
a deer that had been grazed across the back 

by a bullet sought shelter in Stony Creek near 
her cabin, and was chased into the water by 
their hound "Tusmer." Mrs. W'heeler seized 
an ax, rushed out on a log, and as the deer 
came down upon her, struck it between the 
eyes and killed it instantly. JNIrs. Wheeler's 
influence was not confined to her own family, 
for she had a wonderful knowledge of human 
nature, and became an authority among her 
neighbors, among whom she was very gen- 
erally called "Aunt Polly." John and Mary 
(Stoops) Wheeler were the parents of eleven 
children, Margaret, Philip S., \\'illiam T., 
Ann G., John H.. George W., Jane, Sarah 
C, James W.. :\Iartha M. and Henry P. The 
oldest child, JNIargaret, was born Jan. 3, 1829, 
and died the same day. 

Stoops. The Stoops family, from whom 
the posterity of John Wheeler are descended 
on the maternal side, has a history similar to 
that of the Wheelers, coming from the same 
State originally, and sharing like experiences 
on the frontier. Tradition has it that the 
first one of the name in America was Philip, 
and that he came from Germany. Although 
he settled in Pennsylvania he never learned to 
speak English. A descendant, Philip, the 
father of Mrs. Wheeler, was born June 17, 
1768, probably in \'irginia, and is thought to 
have been a son of Stor\- Stoops. His old 
family Bible, containing many records, is now 
in the possession of a grandson, ^^■illiam 
Stoops, of Tama county, Iowa. It is bound 
in deerskin, and printed in English, and has 
been handed down from father to son. 

Philip Stoops married Miss jNIary Fergu- 
son, of Scotch-Irish stock, and they settled in 
Kentucky, where he cleared a good farm from 
the woods in Nicholas county, near Alexander 
Blair's place. But he was strongly opposed to 
slavery, and finally left Kentucky to get his 
family out of its influence. On arriving in 
Hamilton county, as already narrated, he 
bought a half section adjoining the present 
corporation of Noblesville, built a cabin and 
went to work to clear the land from the heavy 
timber. He got his farm under cultivation, 
built a two-story frame house, and became one 
of the prosperous and influential men of that 
section. He died at home. Jan. 23, 1841. 
He and his wife were strong Presbyterians 
and helped to found the church of that denom- 
ination in their countv. In politics he was a 


Philip Stoops was married twice, both 
times in Kentucky. His first wife, Marv Fcr- 



guson Stoops, died J^Iarch 12, 181 1, leaving 
children as follows : John, born Sept. 10, 
1793, who served in Canada in the war of 
1812, with William Wheeler and George 
Berk; Ann Gray, born Oct. i, 1795; Alicia, 
Nov. 29, 1797; William, Dec. 23, 1799; 
Philip, April 17, 1802; Rebecca, Sept. 30, 
1804; :\Iary, jMarch 3, 1807; James, Aprir3, 
1808; and Judith, March 2, 181 1. By his sec- 
ond union to Miss Agnes Morgan, who was 
born Sept. 16, 1778, Philip Stoops had five 
children: Thomas, born Sept. 2, 1812; Agnes 
and Sara, twins, June 22, 1814; Margaret, 
Sept. 16, 1816; and Jesse A., March 22, 1819. 
One of these children, William Stoops, be- 
came a specially prominent man in Hamilton 
county, and was a member of the State Legis- 
lature in 1848. 

William T. Wheeler, son of John and 
Mary (Stoops) Wheeler, was born on the 
farm first leased by his father, and as a boy 
and youth growing up on the frontier, he knew 
practically all of the sturdy men who laid the 
foundation for the present prosperity of No- 
blesville and the surrounding country. His 
first school days were spent in a log cabin 
school house some two miles from his home, 
which had been built for a home and then 
abandoned by some settler. Its structure and 
appointments were all after the rude fashion 
of the rude frontier, and it was lighted only 
where a hole had been cut out and the space 
covered with greased paper. Another school, 
to which he went next, was on the same prim- 
itive order, with slab desks and seats, sup- 
ported by pins. This one he attended from 
forty to sixty days a year, but with all these 
disadvantages he learned to read and write well. 
\\"hen he was nineteen he spent one winter at 
a school near Noblesville, where the school 
house was a frame building with more con- 
veniences. All through his early life Mr. 
^^"heeler worked hard on the home farm, but 
when twenty years old he began hiring out to 
other farmers. His first job was in Noblesville 
township, grubbing for John Guilkey, at 
thirty-seven and a half cents a day. The 
money thus earned enabled him to pay for a 
license and settle down to married life. He 
was married in 1850 to Miss Christiann Burk, 
the ceremony being performed by Elias Cay- 
lor, a Dunkard preacher, who made the young 
people a wedding present of his services on 
the occasion. Miss Burk was born in Wayne 
county, Sept. 16, 1830, daughter of Jacob and 
Barbara (Heiny) Burk, and as she was left 

an orphan when eleven years of age, she was 
brought up by strangers. Her father, Jacob 
Burk, was born in Lancaster county. Pa., son 
of a farmer there, and his wife also came from 
the same locality; they moved to Wayne 
county, Ind., and entered 160 acres between 
Hagerstown and Cambridge City, on Simon's 
Creek. After clearing this land he sold out 
and moved to the northern part of Carroll 
county, where he bought 320 acres in the 
woods. There he died aged about sixty 
years, his wife surviving him. Their children 
were : Samuel, Jacob, Peter, Christiann, John, 
Barbara, Martha and Henry. 

After their marriage Mr. Wheeler settled 
with his wife about half a mile from his 
father's home, on a tract of forty acres, partly 
cleared, which he had leased. There was a 
cabin already on it, with windows and doors, 
which was somewhat in advance of many of 
the cabins of that day. After two years there 
J\Ir. Wheeler began peddling clocks for Ab- 
ner D. Bond, an old peddler, who purchased 
in Connecticut the Seth Thomas eight-day 
clocks, and had several wagons on the road. 
Mr. Wheeler did well at this, selling in Tip- 
ton, Howard, Cass, Fulton and Knox coun- 
ties. He then bought fifty acres of land, three 
miles southeast of Noblesville, with twenty 
acres deadened, moved onto it a hewed log 
cabin, which stood just across the road and 
which he had purchased, and made his home 
there until 1862. By that time he had cleared 
thirty acres of the tract, but decided to leave 
it, and moving into Noblesville was engaged 
for three years in the stave and heacfing bus- 
iness. From 1865 until 1870 he had an inter- 
est in a brick making concern and also bought 
and sold stock, but he finally returned to farm- 
ing, and from 1870 to 1889 occupied the i6o- 
acre Evans place, northwest of Noblesville. 
On leaving that he bought fifty acres north 
of Noblesville, although this was almost in the 
woods, and life there would in many ways be 
like a return to the earlier times. There was 
a log cabin on the place, but his son Samuel 
settled in this, and the father bought twenty 
acres more for his own home. He built a 
good frame house there and moved into it in 
November, 1889. He still occupies this place. 

In the eighteen years that Mr. Wheeler 
has lived on this farm he has continually been 
adding improvements and bringing it to a high 
state of cultivation. He has set out orchards 
and besides has five acres in various fruits and 
the place is known as the Glcncove Fruit 


Farm. In 1887 a remarkable gas well was 
struck on his farm. There was a six-inch 
casing in the well, and when on one occasion 
the gas was accidentally set on fire it rose 
with great force for eight feet without any 
flame and then suddenly bursting into a blaze 
threw a mass of fire into the air eighty-five 
feet in height and of an enormous fan shape. 
This burned six weeks before it could be 
brought under control. Soon after this more 
wells were struck but they were of less value 
than the first one. 

Mrs. William T. Wheeler passed away at 
their farm home July 21, 1903, a woman of 
many virtues and one whose death was deeply 
felt. She was a member of the Christian 
Church, and her husband belongs to the same 
organization, in which he has served as treas- 
urer. He has been a prominent man in his 
section, and from 1890 to 1895 was trustee of 
Xoblesville township, besides serving four 
terms as deputy assessor. Mr. Wheeler's first 
vote was cast for Franklin Pierce, his next 
for Buchanan and his third for Stephen A. 
Douglas, but when Lincoln was a candidate 
the second time he voted the Republican 
ticket, and has done so for every Republican 
Presidential candidate since. Fraternally he 
is a IMason, a member of Lodge No. 57, and 
he has been an Odd Fellow since 1863. He 
has filled all the chairs in this latter order, in- 
cluding Noble Grand, and has several times 
represented his lodge at the State Grand 
Lodge. ]\Ir. Wheeler has the universal re- 
spect and esteem of the community in which 
his life has been spent, antl is one of the finest 
types of citizens. 

Four children were born to William T. and 
Christiann Wheeler, and three of these reared 
large families : 

. (i) Elizabeth, born Feb. 13, 1851, mar- 
ried Dec. 13, 1874, Henry Berg, a farmer of 
Noblesville township. They had children, 
born as follows : Daniel P., Oct. 8. 1875 ; 
Prof. William T., Jan. 26, 1877 : Fannie, Nov. 
10, T879, who died in infancy; Benjamin, July 
10, 1881 ; Christiann. Sept. 7, 1883; John H., 
Sept. 20, 1885 : Walter B., Oct. 8, 1887 : Ralph 
W.. Jan. 9, 1889: and Elizabeth, Nov. 26, 
1891. The mother died Dec. 6, 1891, and 
Christiann and Elizabeth, the latter only ten 
days old, were taken to their grandmother's 
home. Henry Berg died Oct. 6, 1895, and all 
but the two oldest children were brouglit up 
by the grandparents. Four still live at the 
homestead. Prof. William T. Berg married 

Aug. 15, 1905, Miss Edith Kelly, born Oct. 
18, 1882, and has two children : Myron A., 
born Oct. 29, 1906 ; and Alberta Louise, Sept. 
15, 1907. Benjamin Berg married June 12^ 
1907, i\Iable Russell. Christiann Berg mar- 
ried May II, 1907, Jasper E. Pickett. Daniel 
P. Berg was married Jan. 10, 1894, to Miss 
Mary E. Humbles, born March 4, 1871, and 
they have children as follows : Charles, born 
Nov. 15, 1894; Lorenzo, Dec. 11, 1895; Fred- 
rick; William H., Oct. 17, 1898: Benjamin, 
March 18, 1900; Edna May, Feb. 8, 1902; Lo- 
retta, July 2, 1903 ; Walter, Aug. 12, 1905. 

(2) John Wheeler, son of William T. 
Wheeler, was born Oct. 19, 1852. He was 
married Feb. 3, 1884, to Miss Kate Supple, 
by whom he has had the following children: 
Mary, born Dec. 10, 1884: Nellie, May 7, 
1888; and an infant, born Sept. 23, 1889, de- 
ceased Sept. 26, 1889. 

(3) Mary Magdalen Wheeler, daughter of 
William T. Wheeler, was born Jan. 26, 1855. 
On Feb. 22, 1877, she became the wife of El- 
mer Mott, and they have children as follows : 
Samuel, born Dec. 12, 1877, who married. 
Aug. 21, 1901, Miss Elsie May Lunn ; Wil- 
liam T., born Nov. 26, 1879. who was married 
June 7. 1900, to JNIiss Friedie Kliefoth, and 
has one daughter, Elsie May, born ]\lay 9. 
1901 ; Christiann, born Aug. 29, 188 1, a 
teacher in Noblesville ; Man.-, born June 14. 
1884, who married Oct. 18, 1905, Orville Dye 
(she has two children, Wilmur, born Jan. 24, 
1903, and Benjamin Dye, born Nov. 30, 
1907) ; Harry, born Oct. 9, 1886, who was 
married Oct. 8, 1905, to Miss Clara Hammar : 
Carl, born Jan. 9, 1889 ; Forest, born Jan. 19, 
1891 ; Maggie, born July 10, 1893; and Leah, 
born Oct. 30, 1895. 

(4) Samuel Wheeler, son of William T. 
Wheeler, was born Sept. 18, 1856. On Oct. 
II, 1876, he married Miss Sophronia Ed- 
wards, and is the father of eight children: 
Maggie, born April 2, 1880, married Nov. 9, 
1902, Samuel Stern, and has two daughters, 
Nellie (born Aug. 24, 1903) and Ruby (born 
Nov. 10, 1904) ; Christiann, born Oct. 31. 
1882, was married i\Iay 14, 1902, to Frank 
Shock, and has two children, Edna (born Dec. 
I, 1902) and Thelma (born Aug. 7, 1904) ; 
Roy, born Jan. i, 1884, married Theresa Fod- 
rea, and has a son, Russel A., born Feb. 13, 
1907; Carl, born March 26, 18S6: Dora, born 
Feb. 22, 1889, was married Feb. 24, 1906, to 
Walter Galloway, and has a daughter, Erema, 
born Nov. 30. 1906: Guy was born Feb. 21, 


1895 ; Bert was born March 17, 1897 ; and 
\'erne, born April 25, 1899. 

Philip S. Wheeler, son of John and 
jNIary (Stoops) Wheeler, and brother of Wil- 
liam T. Wheeler, was born Jan. 7, 1829, and 
died Dec. 29, 1898. His first wife, Rebecca 
D. Burcham, to whom he was married May 3. 
1849, d'sd JMarch 10, 1871, the mother of 
three children, born as follows : Mary, 
born March 7, 1850 ; John, born Nov. 21, 1852 ; 
and Emma, born Feb. 9, 1857. The old- 
est daughter, ]\Iary, married Benjamin Shoe- 
maker, and had three children, Rebecca, 
Philip and John H. Mr. Wheeler was mar- 
ried (second) Nov. 14, 1897, to Caroline 
Bolton, now also deceased. Philip S. Wheeler 
was the owner of one hundred acres of fine 
land besides a number of houses in Nobles- 
ville. He was a member of the Masonic fra- 
ternity, and for two years served efficiently 
as township assessor. It would, indeed be a 
great injustice to his memory not to mention 
his philanthropy. While his own family was 
not large, his house looked more like a kin- 
dergarten than a residence, as he reared several 
orphans. He aided the destitute to a marked 
degree — in fact none who appealed to him 
for help was refused, and he gave to charity 
more than many men ever made. His last 
intelligent expression was that he wished his 
brother, William T., to see that his own chil- 
dren did not exact any share in the property 
owned by his second wife, "For," he said, 
"my children would then have more than hers. 
Thus I will have made good my promise to 
her, which has been my chief aim." This was 
done as he wished. 

Ann Gray Wheeler, oldest daughter of 
John, was born Feb. 28, 1833. At the age of 
twenty, July 22, 1853, ^^^ married Henry 
Fisher. Both died in middle life, she Feb. 
8. 1870, and he Sept. 5, 1876. They left three 
children: (i) Mary Eva, born Oct. 29, 1854, 
married Orlando Lock, May i. 1882, and died 
ten years later, Oct. 16, 1892, leaving no issue. 
(2) George W., born Dec. 20, 1856, was mar- 
ried June 5, 1883, to Miss Mattie Bare, who 
died Aug. 5, 1890, leaving two children, 
Emma Pearl (born Feb. 11, 1885) and Wil- 
liam H., (born May 12. 1888). George W. 
Fisher married (second) Rebecca Jones, June 
30, 1901. (3) John H., born July 24, i860, 
married, March i, 1883, Miss Fannie Gascho, 
and they have had three children: Henry L., 
born Jan. 29, 1884; Nellie M., born Aug. 25, 
1888; and Roland N., born Dec. 5, 1886. 

John H. Wheeler, third son of John, was 
born Dec. 17, 1834, and was reared on the old 
homestead near Noblesville. From an early 
age he showed a marked adaptability for bus- 
iness and became a dealer in hogs and cattle. 
He was very successful and was one of the 
substantial men of the township, in which his 
real estate holdings were 330 acres. During 
the Civil war he enlisted in the first company 
and regiment accepted in Indiana, the 6th 
Ind. \'. I., for three months' service ; and was 
in one battle in West Virginia. On Dec. 16, 

1862, he was married to Miss Louisa Jones, 
who was born ]\Iarch i, 1837, in Noblesville 
township, daughter of Abner and Nancy 
(Carlin) Jones. Two children were born to 
this union; Nancy A., May 16, 1868; and 
George, Aug. 14, 1878, who died March 20, 
1887, in Noblesville. The daughter married 
C. B. Ward, of Indianapolis, and died Nov. 
24, 1893, the mother of one son, Newell, born 
Oct. 19, 1889. Mr. Wheeler died Sept. 17, 
1898, and his wife passed away Jan. 17, 1901, 
both in Noblesville. Mrs. Wheeler was a 
member of the Methodist Church, and her 
husband belonged to the Christian Church. 
He was a good Republican in his political 
views, and fraternally belonged to the Nobles- 
ville Lodge of Masons. 

J.\ne Wheeler, daughter of John, was 
born Oct. 17, 1838, and became the wife of S. 
H. Poland, Oct. 27, 1857. She bore her hus- 
band six children : ( i ) John J., born Aug. 25, 
1858, married Feb. 8, 1883. Miss Laura Ellen 
McKenny, who was born Feb. 22, 1861. They 
have had five children, namely : Dora M., born 
July 23, 1887; Walter E. Dec. 23, 1891 ; 
Blanche E., Nov. 30, 1893; Grace J., Aug. 28, 
1896; and Pauline Anne May, July 14, 1898. 
(2) Dora was born Nov. 14, i860, and died 
Jan. 5, 1880. (3) Philip S. was born July 22, 

1863. On May 5, 1889, he married Miss 
Amanta James, who was born Jan. 17, 1870, 
and they have had children as follows : Maggie, 
born Dec. 11, 1890; Lester H., June 4, 1893; 
George R., May 3, 1895 ; Re.x F., Aug. 22, 
1900 (deceased May 7, 1903) ; and Cecil A., 
Aug. 13, 1903. (4) Henry O. was born Dec. 
19, 1865. (5) Mary E., born March 26, 1870, 
died April 18, 1901. (6) Fred R., born July 
8, 1873, married ;\Iaud (Duggins) Poland, 
who was born Feb. 5, 1876, and they have had 
three children : Opal F.. born June 14, 1897 ; 
Otis S., Feb. 26, 1901 ; and Hugh H., Feb. 
19, 1903. 

S.\R-AH C. Wheeler, daughter of John, 



was born in January, 1840. She married Isaac 
Fisher, by whom she had two children : Henry 
and Belle, who married Watt Love. 

James W. Wheeler, fifth son of John, 
•was born Feb. 27, 1843, 3"d grew up amid the 
same influences as other boys of the frontier. 
His father and mother both did all they could 
to insure their children getting- all the educa- 
tional advantages possible, and they were all 
fairly well educated for that day. James W. 
AVheeler attended several of the subscription 
schools during the winters, and in summer 
worked on the farm. On April 20, 1864, he en- 
listed, at Xoblesville, in Company B, 136th Ind. 
V. I., for 100 days, and was honorably dis- 
charged four months later, in August, in In- 
dianapolis. He served mainly in Tennessee 
on guard duty near Murfreesboro, and on 
one occasion was detailed with ten comrades 
to guard the railroad thirty miles south of the 
city, being stationed at Bellbuckle. For two 
weeks he was sick in the hospital, but for the 
rest of the time was in active service. After 
returning from this experience, ]Mr. Wheeler 
engaged in business as a butcher, opening a 
meat market in Noblesville, which he ran un- 
til about 1866 or 1867. He then traded his 
property for seventy-two and a half acres on 
the Greenfield road, three miles southeast of 
Noblesville. There was a cabin on the tract 
and twelve acres had been cleared. Mr. 
Wheeler finished clearing it, drained the land 
and built a good frame house, besides adding 
to the land until he owned 320 acres. Later he 
became interested in real estate transactions, 
town property, sawmills and land in Arkansas 
and Georgia, and residence property in No- 
blesville. becoming quite wealthy. He is an 
influential man in the community and promi- 
nent in the work of the United Brethren 
Church, where he is president of the board of 
trustees. In politics he has always been a 
strong Republican, since the day when he 
cast his first vote for Lincoln for President. 
He belongs to Noblesville Post, G. A. R. 

i\Ir. Wheeler's first wife, to whom he was 
married in Noblesville, Dec. 28, 1864, was 
I\Iiss Sarah Ann Horsh Haverstick. She was 
born in Carroll county, Ohio, Feb. 18, 1847. 
The Haverstick family came from Lancaster 
county, Pa., and were of Dutch stock. ]\Irs. 
Wheeler's grandfather, Christian Haverstick, 
was a farmer and wagonmaker. He married 
Alaria Gall, and they moved, in 1843, to Car- 
roll county, Ohio, and settled on 200 acres of 
improved land. There Mrs. Haverstick died, 

and in 1859 'ler husband traveled by w^agon 
with all their goods to Noblesville, and lo- 
cated on a farm, adjoining the Wheeler 
place, where he died during the seventies, 
aged eighty-four years. He and his wife be- 
longed to the German Reformed Church. 
They had an only child, Amos G., father of 
INIrs. Wheeler. 

Amos G. Haverstick was born in Pennsyl- 
vania. While living in Ohio he married Sa- 
rah Ann Horsh, also of Pennsylvania Dutch 
stock, and they had two children, Sarah Ann, 
J\lrs. Wheeler; and Horsh A. His first wife 
dying, ]\Ir. Haverstick married (second) Sus- 
annah, daughter of Stephen and Susannah 
(IMcFern) Staley, who was born in Carroll 
county, Ohio, Dec. 5, 1837. Mr. Staley was 
a son of Joseph and Zilpha (Fern) Staley, 
residents of near London, and when a young 
man accompanied his parents from England 
to America, and they settled in Carroll county, 
Ohio, where Stephen Staley lived to be about 
seventy years old. He married Miss McFern 
in Cambridge, Pa., and they had ten children : 
Mary, Zilpha, Nancy, Priscilla, Henry, Ste- 
phen, Joseph, Susannah, Benjamin, and a 
daughter who died young. Amos G. and Sus- 
annah (Staley) Haverstick had two sons: 
James B., born Jan. 6, 1858; and George A\'.. 
born in 1863. Mrs. Sarah Ann (Haverstick) 
Wheeler died in 1885, the mother of fourteen 
children. She was a member of the L'nited 
Brethren Church, and a woman of many vir- 
tues. After her death Mr. Wheeler married 
(second) Aug. 15, 1886, in Anderson, Ind., 
Miss Miranda Malvina Sample, who was born 
in Hancock county, Ind., Feb. 6, 1848. She 
was a daughter of John G. and Elizabeth 
(Darke) Sample, and a granddaughter of 
James and j\Iary (Barsett) Sample, pioneers 
of Indiana from Virginia. The children of 
James W. Wheeler were all by the first wife, 
and several died young. Eight are living: 
(i) Christian L., born Oct. i, 1865, a lumber 
merchant of IMemphis, Tenn., married ]\Iiss 
Nancy Landig, and has one son, James L., 
born in Noblesville Oct. 21, 1887. (2) Frank- 
lin A., born Oct. 23. 1868, was graduated 
from the Noblesville high school when onl\- 
sixteen, and for the next three years taught 
school. He then entered Purdue L^niversity, 
but did not complete the course. He is now a 
farmer in Hamilton county. He married Sept. 
21, 1886, Miss Ella Harris, daughter of Capt. 
James Harris, warden of the L". S. prison, in 
Washington, D. C. They have one daughter, 



Vola \'crne, born April 11, 1887, who married 
George Webster, a farmer of Noblesville, and 
has a son Hairis. (3) NeUie D., born Oct. 
18, 1870, was married Feb. 15, 1890, to Har- 
vey Landig, in the real estate lousiness in 
Noblesville. Their children are : Griffith W., 
born Aug-. 30, 1891 ; Mary Rose, born March 
17, 1898; and Aaron W., Jan. 9, 1906. (4) 
Polly Ann, born July 7, 1872, was married 
Sept. 6, 1898, to Eldon Robb, a lawyer in 
Greenfield, Ind. A daughter, Gladys lone, was 
born June 16, 1899. (5) Amos G., bom Aug. 
6, 1876, was married Aug. 6, 1899, to Miss 
Jessie Epps, of Madison, Ark. ; he is in the 
lumber business in that State, at St. Francis. 

(6) Sarah Caroline, bom Dec. 9, 1878, has 
like all the family received a good education, 
being a graduate of the Noblesville high 
school and DePauw University, class of 1903. 

(7) Susannah A., born Dec. 11, 1880, is a 
graduate of the same institutions, being in the 
university class of 1904. (8) Hulda Verne, 
born Jan. 24, 1884, was graduated from the 
Noblesville high school, then taught in that 
town, and later attended the Metropolitan 
School of Music in Indianapolis, of which she 
is a graduate. 

Martha M. Wheeler, youngest daugh- 
ter of John, was born Feb. 28, 1845. At the 
age of twenty-four she was married, Aug. 12, 
1869, to Joseph R. Bell. Mr. Bell, who was 
born June 4, 1844, was a soldier in the Civil 
war, and later was sheriff of Warren county, 
Iowa, for two terms. The family now resides 
in Alvin, Texas. Three children were born 
to this union: Orville J., born July 13, 1870; 
INIary L., born Sept. 7, 1877, deceased June 9, 
1879: and Floss A., born Feb. 27, 1889, who 
mairied H. J. Hooper. 

Hexry P. Wheeler, son of John, was 
born Sept. 29, 1847. His wife was Frances 
A. Boden, to whom he was united Dec. 29, 
1869. Their children are: Linnie, born Oct. 
II, 1870, wife of William Lindsay; Harvey 
JNI., born March 11, 1876, who married Miss 
Ettie Epps, and has three children, Henry R., 
Virginia and Frances ; Zune, born June 29, 
1881, who is the wife of Charles Eaton, and 
has a daughter, Dorothy ; and Pansy, born 
June 30, 1885. 

George W. Wheeler, another son of 
John, born Nov. 17, 1836. after finishing his 
own education in the public schools, began 
teaching, and held a position in Fishersburg, 
Ind., for several terms. An attack of lung 
fever compelled him to give up this work, and 

he turned again to agricultural pursuits, with 
which he had been familiar in boyhood. In 
company with his brothers John H. and James 
W., he took up farming and stockraising. He 
and John H. had bought 120 acres of partly 
cleared land two and a half miles southeast of 
Noblesville, and while the second brother 
lived in town, George W. occupied the farm, 
living in a house of hewed logs. He finished 
clearing the l^nd and continued farming there 
until 1873, when the two brothers divided 
their property. George W. bought more land 
until he owned 265 acres, 185 near Nobles- 
ville and the rest in Fall Creek township. He 
also, with his brothers, was engaged for six- 
teen years in manufacturing tiles. He was 
a pioneer in that industry, and has been a 
prominent member of the National Associa- 
tion of Tilemakers. Since 1905 he has re- 
sided in Noblesville. 

Mr. Wheeler has always been a strong 
Republican, his first vote having been cast for 
Lincoln. He is influential among his fellow 
citizens in the township, and was one of the 
earliest men chosen as county commissioners. 
He, as well as his wife, belongs to the Chris- 
tian Church. In physical make-up Mr. 
Wheeler, like all his brothers, is over six feet 
in height and weighs in the neighborhood of 
200 pounds. 

George W. Wheeler was married March 
18, 1863, in Noblesville township, to JNliss 
Hulda George, who was born in 1841, daugh- 
ter of James and IMaranda (Sinclair) George. 
They are the parents of six children, all of 
whom finished the common schools and then 
attended the Noblesville high school, but not 
all of them attended college: (i) William T., 
born Sept. 7, 1865, served three years and ten 
days in the Philippines in the 13th regiment, 
and although he took part in twenty-seven 
engagements escaped without injury. He 
married Sept. 6, 1886, Miss Emma Boden, and 
thev have had two children, bom as follows: 
A. Marie, Nov. 24. 1888, who graduated from 
the Noblesville high school in 1907 : and Irwin 
Glenn, born June 14, 1890, at present a stu- 
dent in the Noblesville high school. (2) Laura 
M., born May 30. 1868, completed high school 
and began teaching at the age of seventeen 
years. " She married, July 24. 1895, Albert 
keiser, who has been principal in the First 
Ward, Noblesville schools, for thirteen 
years. (3) Charles J. was born Dec. 2, 1871. 
(4) Anna L., born March 9, 1874, grailuated 
from the Noblesville high school in 1893, and 


became the wife of Beilford Russell, Sept. 23, 
1903 ; they have two children, Robert R., born 
Oct. 12, 1904, and Louise ^lay, born April 15, 
1907. (5) Orpheus H., born Jan. 24, 1876, 
also served in the Spanish-American war, in 
the hospital corps of the nth ward, Porto 
Rico. On Nov. 25, 1901, he married Miss 
;\lyrtle Reed, and they have two children, 
Alice H., born March 29, 1903 : and Orpheus 
C, born June 13, 1905. (6) Ella N., born 
Sept. II, 1879, married June 11, 1907, Frank 
S. Campbell, a graduate of the Noblesville 
high school and also of the University of 

The George family, to w-hich j\lrs. George 
W. Wheeler belongs, was formerly of Vir- 
ginia. The grandfather, James George, was 
a farmer there in Hampshire county, near 
\\'inchester. He was twice married, both 
times in Virginia. By his first wife, Hannah 
Youley, his children were : Lewis, Silas, 
Maria, Joel, James, Jesse and David. Ten 
years after the death of his first wife he was 
married to Mary Barrett, but they had no 
family. Somewhat later than 1820 he moved 
to Highland county, Ohio, entered land in 
the woods, and settled there in a log cabin, 
soon clearing up his property. He also went 
to the present site of Indianapolis, and entered 
land where the city now stands. His sons, 
David and Joel were early settlers in West 
Newton. James George died on his farm, ad- 
vanced in years. 

James George, Jr., father of Mrs. Wheel- 
er, was born in Virginia in February, 181 1, 
and received a much better education than 
usual then, besides being a great reader of 
books and newspapers and a close student of 
the Bible. For years he took the Xciv York 
Tribune. Early in life he learned cabinet 
making from William Horsman, a very skill- 
ful workman. Before he had finished he went 
to Ohio to visit his father, who had moved 
there, and was so well pleased that he de- 
cided to settle there, too, though he returned 
to Virginia to complete his apprenticeship. 
Afterward be followed his trade in Ohio, re- 
siding with his parents. 

In the fall of 1840 James George moved 
to Hamilton county, Ind., transporting his 
family and goods in wagons. He settled two 
and a half miles northwest of Noblesville, in a 
log cabin, on a woodland tract of 240 acres, 
which he had bought. He not only built his 
cabin, which was constructed wholly without 
nails, and with puncheon floors and clapboard 

doors, fastened by wooden latch and hinges, 
but also made much of his furniture. Besides 
the table and cupboard, he fashioned a bed- 
stead out of split rails with holes bored 
through for ropes. This primitive furniture 
was replaced by better later. After clearing 
his land he sold it and about 1853 moved to 
another farm of 240 acres, three miles south- 
east of Noblesville. There were some im- 
provements on the farm, and he added others, 
and built a two-story frame house. In 1875 
he moved to Kansas, bought 220 acres, ex- 
tending half way round the city of Erie, coun- 
ty seat of Neosha county. Here the rest of 
his life was passed, and he died Aug. 9, 1875. 

While living in Ohio Mr. George was mar- 
ried, in Barnesville, to Miss Maranda Sinclair. 
Her father, James Sinclair was of Scotch de- 
scent, and was in early life a farmer but was 
obliged on account of breaking his leg to give 
this up. He moved to Barnesville and kept 
a hotel there until he died, at a good old age. 
By his first wife, there were three daughters, 
but the names of mother and daughters are 
forgotten. By the second wife, Mary Bundy, 
there were seven children : Hulda ; Dempsey ; 
John ; William ; Emily, who died in 1906, aged 
ninety-one years ; Maranda ; and Matilda. 
This family w-ere members of the Friends 
Church. The two first children of James 
George were born in Highland county, Ohio, 
and were named for the father's old employer 
and his wife, who had treated him like a son. 
Their names were Lydia, born Oct. 21, 1837: 
and William, born May 24, 1839. The other 
children were born in Indiana as follows: 
Hulda, born Aug. 23, 1841 : Dempsey, April 
5, 1843; Minerva, May 9, 1845; Rachel, July 
9, 1847 ; Harriet, July 28. 1849 ; Isaac New- 
ton, Feb. 5, 1852; and Maria, Sept. 5, 1854. 
William and Dempsey were in the Civil war, 
the fomier for the first three months and the 
latter for a three-year service. Mrs. Maranda 
(Sinclair) George died in Noblesville, April 2, 
1879. She w^as never a member of any church, 
though a Friend in belief. Her husband was 
in early life a member of that Society but did 
not remain long in that faith, and he died a 
member of the Methodist faith. He was 
prominent in his community, and was for 
some time a trustee of Noblesville. 

Charles J. Wheeler, son of George W., 
born in Hamilton county, Dec. 2, 1871, re- 
ceived a good education, as his father was 
deeply impressed with the necessity of giving 
all such atlvantages possible to his chiUlren. 



Charles J. advanced from the grammar 
schools of Noblesville to the high school and 
was graduated from it in 1891 with the class 
honors. He was then sent to the Indianapolis 
Business University and after completing his 
course there returned home to relieve his 
father of the management of the farm. He 
proved himself well fitted for the task and 
has won the confidence of the community by 
the ability and integrity he has uniformly 
shown. He has always been active in local 
politics, and in November, 1902, was elected 
county clerk on the Republican ticket, receiv- 
ing a good majority. He entered upon the 
discharge of his duties Jan. i, 1904 and has 
been a most efficient county official. 

On March 8, 1893, Charles J. Wheeler and 
Miss Etta M. Wheatley were joined in matri- 
mony. Mrs. Wheeler was born in Nobles- 
ville, July 23, 1871. and was the daughter of 
William and Angeline (Neidigh) Wheatley. 
They have a family of two sons and two 
daughters, born as follows : Ruth A., Dec. 
15, 1893 ; Thomas W., Dec. i, 1895 ; Mabel 
R., April 5, 1898; and George W., Feb. 3, 
1904. Mr. Wheeler and his family attend the 
United Brethren Church, and he is particularly 
active in its work. A trustee of the church 
he has also been a teacher in the Sunday- 
school for some time, is president of the local 
Young People's Society and also of the 
branch Y. P. C. U., White River Conference, 
and secretary of the Quarterly Conference. In 
fraternal work Mr. Wheeler is also prominent. 
He belongs to the Uniform Rank, Knights of 
Pvthias ; and has passed all the chairs and 
held the State offices in the Jr. O. U. A. M. 
and belongs to the I. O. R. M., Modern 
Woodmen, Masons and Elks. In January, 
1906, he was elected chairman of the Repub- 
lican County Central Committee, and in Jan- 
uary, 1908, was re-elected by acclamation. 

WILLIAM B. JENNINGS, one of the 
most prominent men of Franklin, Ind., and 
a man of wide influence throughout this por- 
tion of the State, was born in Franklin, Jan. 
4, 1852, son of William H. and Margaret J. 
(Lyons) Jennings, natives of Kentucky. 

Thompson Jennings, the paternal grand- 
father, was an early settler in Kentucky, 
where he died, the father of four sons and two 
daughters. The maternal grandfather, Rob- 
ert Lyons, a native of Pennsylvania, was an 
early settler in Johnson county, and was a 
tanner and farmer in White River township. 

Here he died aged about eighty-seven. His 
wife was a Van Arsdal, and four sons and 
five daughters were born to them. , 

Hon. William H. Jennings, father of Wil- 
liam B., was a farmer and stock dealer, who 
came to Indiana at an early date, and settled 
in White River township, where he resided 
a number of years, and served as sheriff of 
the county two terms during the forties, and 
while in office removed to Franklin. In ad- 
dition to this office, he was county treasurer 
two terms ; joint senator by appointment ; 
mayor of Franklin one term and re-elected to 
this office, but died Jan. 30, 1873, i" h'^ fifty- 
fifth year, while serving his second term as 
mayor. His wife died April 11, 1907, aged 
eighty-two years, in the faith of the Method- 
ist Church. The father was very prominent 
in the Alasonic fraternity, and belonged to 
Raper Commandery, in Indianapolis, and also 
took an active part in Franklin Lodge, I. O. 
O. F. In politics he was a Democrat, and 
took an active part in the deliberations of 
the party. Four sons and one daughter 
were born to him, four of whom are now liv- 
ing: William B. ; Laura E., wife of Edward 
Cutsinger, of Amity, Ind. ; Robert, deceased ; 
Harry B., of Franklin ; and Emil H., a book- 
keeper in Frenzel's bank, at Indianapolis. 

William B. Jennings was reared in Frank- 
lin, attending the public schools of that city, 
and Hanover College. Returning home in 
February, 1872, he became deputy county 
auditor, under E. Newton Woollen, and 
served four years, after which he was for 
four years in the deputy auditor's office in 
Indianapolis, under William K. Sproule. 
While serving in this latter capacity, Mr. Jen- 
nings retained his residence in Franklin, and 
was honored by election to the office of county 
auditor of Johnson county, and re-elected, 
thus serving in this capacity for eight years, 
and giving his constituents as well as the 
county, a fair, honorable and satisfactory ad- 
ministration. Having confined himself so 
closely to his duties, at the expiration of his 
second tem: as countv auditor, Mr. Jennings 
took a trip to California, and upon his re- 
turn was called upon to take the office of 
deputy auditor for four years under Thomas 
J. Coyle. During this time he was elected 
county treasurer, and re-elected, serving four 
years. He then was assistant in the auditor's 
office for five years, until his election in 1906 
as county auditor, and is still serving in that 
office. During his entire political career Mr. 



Jennings has been steadfast in his devotion 
to the principles of the Democratic party, and 
in the several offices with which he has been 
honored, he has given the people good service, 
and brought about many desirable reforms. 
Pleasant, genial in manner, he has many 
friends, and all recognize his ability and per- 
sonal popularity. In 1882 he and :\i. L. John- 
son, now deceased, secured the franchise for 
the Franklin \\'ater. Light and Power Com- 
pany, which franchise they transferred to ]Mr. 
R. G. Reeves, of Chicago. 

On Dec. 10, 1895, ^Ir. Jennings was mar- 
ried to Miss Claudia B. Cutsinger, daughter 
of Edward and Clara Cutsinger, and one 
daughter, Clara Margaret, has been born to 
this union. Mr. Jennings is a consistent 
member of the Methodist Church, and Mrs. 
Jennings and daughter are members of the 
Christian Church. " Fraternally :\Ir. Jennings 
is a member of Franklin Lodge. No. 107. F. 
& A. M., Franklin Chapter. No. 65, R. A. M., 
and Franklin Commandery, Xo. 23. K. T. 

^■OLXEY THO^L\S ^lALOTT, a dis- 
tinguished financier, president of the Indiana 
National Bank of Indianapolis for the past 
twenty-five years, is a man of national reputa- 
tion in his line. He has been associated with 
the banking business of the city since the early 
fifties, and the great institution of which he is 
the head ranks second in the volume of busi- 
ness transacted and has the greatest surplus 
of any bank in the city. Mr. Malott has been 
spoken of in New York by two men eminent 
in financial circles as the greatest banker west 
of the Alleghany mountains. Inheriting men- 
tal qualities of a high order, he has in the 
prosecution of his business interests developed 
a degree of prudence and foresight rare even 
aniong the men whom he counts as his note- 
worthy associates. His interests are numer- 
ous and varied, demanding a wide range of 
ability and understanding, and his long-con- 
tinued active career has made him master of 
the commercial situation in Indianapolis to an 
extent which could scarcely be realized by one 
unfamiliar with the man himself. 

Mr. Malott's life story is an interesting 
one, and he comes of an ancestry which has 
helped to make history in more than one sec- 
tion of the United States. His forefathers 
have been distinguished for intelligence, abil- 
ity and patriotism. In the direct paternal line 
he is a grandson of Hiram Malott, a native 
of Maryland of French Huguenot stock. Hi- 

ram Malott was reared to farming, and fol- 
lowed that vocation all his life, about 1785 or 
1790 moving to Kentucky, where he owned 
and managed a plantation of considerable size 
in Jefi'erson county. There he passed the 
greater part of his mature life, and died at the 
age of sixty- three. He bore a gallant part in 
the war of 1812, in which he served as cap- 
tain, and by reason of his services in the Ken- 
tucky militia after that war he was known as 
Major Malott. His brother. Col. Daniel Ma- 
lott, was intimately associated with the poli- 
tical history of the State of Ohio in its early 
days and made the government survey of that 
State. Hiram Malott married a daughter of 
Peter Haas, and to them was born a large 

Through Peter Haas, his great-grandfa- 
ther, Mr. Malott comes from the Swiss Men- 
nonite stock which has made certain sections 
of Pennsylvania justly famous. Peter Haas 
was a Swiss Mennonite pioneer of Lancaster 
county, that State, noted for his religious 
principles and patriotism. He was a man of 
influence, thrifty and wealthy, owning large 
bodies of land in Berks, Lancaster, Chester 
and Northampton counties, and he was one of 
the earliest advocates of the patriot cause in 
that section. He was chosen a member of the 
committee of safety and observation from 
Lancaster county, and to represent his county 
in the election of two brigadier-generals of 
Pennsylvania Associators. He was a zeal- 
ous and fearless member of the committee, 
active in ferreting out and arresting those un- 
favorable to the patriots, and himself gave 
active service in the Revolution as a soldier 
from Pennsylvania [see .American Archives 
and Pennsylvania Archives], being a member 
of the first company ( 1775) that passed the 
committee of observation. Peter Haas mar- 
ried ]\Iary Boyer, who was descended from 
Scotch-Irish Presb\terian stock, which has 
borne so important and prominent a part in 
the development of Pennsylvania, her progress 
and history, and has formed the backbone of 
the intellectual strength of that Common- 

William H. :\Ialott. father of ^■olney T. 
Alalott. was born in Kentucky. He was a 
farmer until 1841, when he came to Indiana 
to enter into business as a merchant with his 
brother. ATaj. Eli W. Malott, under the firm 
name of Eli W. and William H. Malott. They 
engaged in what was called the "lower river 
trade."' furnishing planters in Louisiana with 



breadstuffs and provisions. The business had 
been estabhshed by Major ^^lalott, and was 
very profitable. William H. Malott survived 
only a short time after his removal to Indiana, 
dying in November, 1845, ^t the age of thirty- 
two years. In religion he was a Methodist, 
and his wife also belonged to that denomina- 

Mr. Alalott married Leah Patterson Mc- 
Keown, a native of Indiana, and they became 
the parents of four children, two of whom 
died in infancy, Volney Thomas and Mary 
Catherine living to mature j'ears. The latter 
married Stephen Keyes Fletcher, of Indian- 
apolis, and died in 1876. Mrs. JNIalott was 
married in 1847 to John F. Ramsay, and lived 
in Indianapolis from that time until her death, 
which occurred in May, 1904. By this mar- 
riage she became the mother of five children, 
all but one still living: John W., of Indian- 
apolis ; Ella R., the wife of Dr. Frank M. 
Chaplain, of Brooklyn, N. Y. : Elizabeth R.. 
the wife of Augustus W. Ritzinger. of St. 
Paul, !Minn. ; and Robert C, of Indianapolis. 
Mr. John F. Ramsay died in 1884, at the age 
of seventy-five years. 

On his mother's side Mr. JMalott is related 
to the McKeowns and the Pattersons. She 
was a daughter of John and Catherine ( Pat- 
terson) McKeown, granddaughter of Robert 
and Leah (Hughes) McKeown, and great- 
granddaughter of Capt. John McKeown, of 
Hanover township, Lancaster (now Dauphin) 
Co., Pa., who was a prominent man during 
the Revolutionary period, as a most active pa- 
triot and soldier. He was a member of the 
Flying Camp, having enlisted early, first in 
1775- He was appointed adjutant of a Penn- 
sylvania Rifle Regiment by the Pennsylvania 
Assembly May 25, 1776 [page 856, Vol. VI. 
4th Series, American Archives] ; was later a 
captain in the 1st Pennsylvania Rifle Regi- 
ment, and also presumably in the 6th Penn- 
sylvania Regiment, a Capt. John "McCowan" 
being given in the Pennsylvania Records as of 
that regiment. They are probably the same, 
as Capt. John "McCowan" took the oath of 
allegiance at Mt. Joy, Pa., while Capt. John 
"ilcKeown" took the oath of allegiance the 
second time, in Hanover township, Sept. 3, 
1777. Capt. John IMcCowan was at \'alley 
Forge in 1778. Captain McKeown is known 
to have served in various Pennsylvania regi- 
ments, was in the battle of Long Island, and 
saw active service in the Jerseys. He had 
represented Hanover township as a member 

of the committee of safety and observation, 
being elected Nov. 8, 1775. He was a Revolu- 
tionary pensioner. 

In the history of Kentucky by Z. F. Smith, 
we find (page 56) that John "RIcCown" was 
with Capt. James Harrod's party of survey- 
ors, who made the first cabin improvements "in 
Kentucky, at Harrodsburg, in 1774, and he was 
later associated with Col. Robert Patterson, 
at Lexington. The McKeowns were pioneers 
in Jeflferson county, Ky. Robert, John and 
Morgan McKeown, sons of Capt. John Mc- 
Keown, shared the most trying experiences 
of pioneer life in that section. Capt. John 
McKeown when he came into Kentucky was 
put in command of the blockhouse on the site 
of Louisville, to which the settlers were wont 
to repair for refuge on the occasion of Indian 
alarms and forays. He himself had a fort 
called IMcKeown Station, near Brunerstown, 

Robert McKeown married Leah Hughs, 
and they had three sons, John, Robert and 

John McKeown, grandfather of \'olney T. 
Malott, was a resident of Jeflferson county, 
Ky., and was a saddler by trade, following 
that vocation at Jefifersontown. He took part 
in the Indian war in Indiana, serving in the 
battle of Tippecanoe. About 1808 he married 
Catherine Patterson, and his sudden death, in 
1816, while he was still a young man, was 
caused by poisoned milk. At that time his 
daughter Leah ( who became the wife of \\'il- 
liam H. Malott) was but an infant. \\'hen 
Corydon was made the capital of Indiana, John 
McKeown moved to that point, and there his 
death occurred. He and his wife had five 
children, Rachel, Delilah, Eliza, Leah (Mrs, 
William H. Malott). and Robert P. (who 
died just after ordination at Princeton Col- 
lege). Mrs. McKeown survived her husband 
with four children, and after the father's 
death the family returned to Kentucky. 

IMrs. Catherine (Patterson) McKeown was 
born May 14, 1788, daughter of James Pat- 
terson, who married Miss Kinslow. Their 
children were: Peggy, Polly, John, Squire. 
Isaac. Delilia, Catherine (Mr. Malott's grand- 
mother) and Zeruey. The McKeowns were 
of Scotch origin. 

\'olncy Thomas Malott. son of William H. 
and Leah Patterson (AIcKeown) Malott, was 
born Sept. 9, 1838. in Jeflferson county, Ky., 
and was eight years old when his motber 
brought her family to Indianapolis. The prin- 


comme:\ior.\tive biogr-\phical record 

cipal part of his education was secured at the 
seminary at Salem. Ind., which during his at- 
tendance was in charge of John I. ^Morrison, 
and later went to private schools, being a 
pupil for some time of Rev. William A. Holi- 
day ; he also went to the Marion County Sem- 
inary and the Indianapolis high school. ^Ir. 
Mal'ott began his banking career in the banking 
house of John W'ooley & Company, which sub- 
sequently became the Bank of the Capitol, and 
there he' remained until 1857. when he entered 
the Indianapolis branch bank of the Bank of 
the State of Indiana, which had been recently 
organized, and of which he became teller. In 
this capacity he served until September, 1862, 
when he was offered the position of cashier. 
This proposal he declined, that he might ac- 
cept the office of secretary and treasurer of the 
Peru & Indianapolis Railroad Company, of 
which he was also chosen director. His con- 
nection with the bank was continued through 
his position as a director in its management. 
In the spring of 1865 ^Ir. Alalott organ- 
ized, in company with several others, the Mer- 
chants' National Bank of Indianapolis, which 
he served as cashier until 1870, meantime con- 
tinuing to act as treasurer of the railroad cor- 
poration previously named. This road had, 
however, been reorganized, as the Indianapo- 
lis, Peru & Chicago Railroad. In 1870 he 
left the bank to devote himself to the building 
of the Indianapolis & ^Michigan City Railroad, 
which was an extension of the Indianapolis, 
Peru & Chicago road, and in 1871 he was ap- 
pointed assistant president of that corporation, 
in 1875 taking the general management. From 
that time he was general manager and vice- 
president, later acting as president, until 1881. 
That year the Indianapolis, Peru & Chicago 
was sold to the \\'abash Railroad Company, 
but Mr. Malott continued his connection with 
the road, acting as vice-president until 1883, 
when he was elected vice-president and man- 
ager of the Indianapolis Union Railway Com- 
pany, a position he retained until August, 
1889, when he resigned, having been ap- 
pointed, in May of that year, by Judge Wal- 
ter Q. Gresham, receiver for the Chicago & 
Atlantic Railroad Company. During his con- 
nection as executive with the Indianapolis Un- 
ion Railway Company and the Belt Line the 
company was reorganized and the Union Sta- 
tion built. In i8qo Mr. Malott was elected 
president of the Chicago & Western Indiana 
Railroad Company, a terminal line of Chicago, 
furnishing terminal facilities for six railroads 

entering that city, and operating a belt line. 
The following year he resigned the office of 
president, but was made chairman of the board 
of its board of directors having charge of its 
principal financial affairs. While Mr. Malott 
was on the board several millions of dollars 
were spent in vast improvements of this line, 
and as a consequence it has become a very val- 
uable property. Mr. i\Ialott gave up this posi- 
tion in 1S95. and, taking a long vacation, made 
an extended tour of Europe with his family. 
In 1896 Judge W. A. Woods, of the United 
States Circuit Court, appointed him receiver 
for the Terre Haute & Indianapolis Railroad, 
which with its leased lines is known as the 
X'andalia system. 

:\Ir. Malott was elected president of the 
Merchants' National Bank of Indianapolis, in 
which Capacity he served from 1878 until 
1882, when he transferred his interests to the 
Indiana National Bank, of which he became 
president. This bank is the successor of the 
Indianapolis branch of the Bank of the State 
of Indiana, and it is with this institution that 
he is still associated. 

The Indiana National Bank, which dates 
its inception back to 1865, during the dark 
days of the Civil war, is one of the leading 
banking corporations of Indianapolis. It is 
the direct descendant of an honorable ances- 
try, the State Bank of Indiana, one of the 
earliest and most widely known banks of the 
West, of which it is the successor, having 
been chartered by special act of legislature in 
1834. Its managers were men of sterling in- 
tegrity and great business ability. In those 
early days, when the State was slowly filling 
up with hardy toilers from the East and 
Soutli. and when currency was scarce, an in- 
stitution of such strength and character was 
a great aid in marketing the rich products of 
these new and distant settlements. Upon the 
expiration of its charter, in 1856. the State 
Bank of Indiana was succeeded by the Bank 
of the State of Indiana, with branches in Law- 
renceburg. Madison, Terre Haute. Lafayette, 
Fort Wayne. Richmond and elsewhere. In 
an address before the American Bankers' As- 
sociation at Detroit a few years since Mr. Wil- 
liam C. Cornwell. a financial writer of emi- 
nence, in speaking of this bank said : "It was 
one of the best banks the world has ever 
known. A monumental bank, great and bene- 
ficent, it lived through two terrible panics, 
never suspending specie payments. From the 
day it opened in 1834 until it was shut out by 



the operation of the tax on State banks it was 
the most highly profitable to shareholders and 
most advantageous to the public of any insti- 
tution we have ever had." It is a matter of 
history that the Chemical Bank of New York, 
the State Bank of Kentucky at Frankfort, and 
the Bank of the State of Indiana were ac- 
tually the only banks in the United States that 
did not suspend pavment during the panic of 

When the war of the Rebellion had 
reached its height, and the Government pro- 
posed the organization of National banks, and 
called all patriotic bankers to its aid. the di- 
rectors of the local branch of the Bank of the 
State of Indiana organized the "Indiana Na- 
tional Bank," with George Tousey as presi- 
dent, and David E. Snyder cashier. From the 
beginning it has greatly prospered, its growth 
being one of the marvels of modern financier- 

In the fall of 1895 the bank received a bap- 
tism of fire. Nothing perhaps could more 
plainly show the enterprise of this institution 
than what then occurred. The fire started at 
six o'clock in the morning, and while the fierce 
frames were leaping a hundred feet high over 
the fire-proof vaults containing their books 
and securities, and their million dollar gold 
coin reserve, the officers were busily engaged 
looking for suitable quarters : and amazing as 
it may seem, the bank opened for business at 
nine o'clock, in a hastily improvised bank 
room, and began receiving deposits and pay- 
ing checks as usual ! The bank building, 
which had been recently refitted at a great 
cost, was, with the exception of the vaults, en- 
tirely destroyed. To prevent the recurrence 
of such a calamity, the directors now deter- 
mined to build a new structure that would last 
for all time, and accordingly the present mag- 
nificent building was erected at a cost of nearly 
$300,000. The building is of classic archi- 
tecture, somewhat resembling the Bank of 
England, in London. It is conveniently lo- 
cated, and bears the distinction of being the 
only fire-proof structure of its kind in Indi- 
ana. Its immense vaults are built of lami- 
nated chrome steel overlapping plates, no cast 
steel or chilled steel entering into their con- 
struction. The business of the Indiana Na- 
tional Bank has increased very crreatly since 
tlie new building was erected. The deposits, 
which then were about three million dollars, 
have now reached seven million, five hundred 

thousand dollars, and the total assets exceed 
nine million dollars. 

Mr. Malott is the third president the bank 
has had since the organization, in 1865. 
George Tousey having been at the head of its 
aflairs from its foundation until 1875 ; he was 
succeeded by William Coughlin, who was 
president from 1876 to 1882, since when Mr. 
]\Ialott has been the executive head. Mr. 
Coughlin served as vice-president from 1882 
to 1893 ; was succeeded by George B. Yandes, 
who served until 1896, since which time Ed- 
ward L. McKee has filled the vice-presidency. 
Mr. D. E. Snyder, the first cashier, was suc- 
ceeded in 1866 by David ]\I. Taylor, who held 
that position until 1882: William E. Coffin 
served from 1883 to 1884: and Edward B. 
Porter, the present incumbent, has served 
since 1885 ; he had been connected with the 
bank for several years previous to his promo- 
tion to the cashiership, as general bookkeeper 
and teller. The directors of the institution 
have included such eminent figures in the 
commercial and financial world of Indianapolis 
as Oliver Tousey, George Tousey, William 
Coughlin, George Merritt, Omer Tousey. Ja- 
cob P. Dunn, David JNI. Taylor, Frederick 
Rand, Daniel Stewart, John H. Stewart, 
George T. Porter, Frank A. Fletcher. Morris 
R. Eddy, T. B. Boyd, Robert S. McKee. Wil- 
liam J. Holliday, Charles H. Brownell, Simon 
Yandes and George B. Yandes. 

Mr. Malott was married Sept. 2. 1862, to 
Caroline Macy. daughter of Hon. David and 
Mary A. (Patterson) J\Iacy, the latter a 
daughter of Robert Patterson. To this union 
have come six children: (i) Florence M. is 
at home. (2) Macy W., who is engaged in 
business as a merchant in Indianapolis, mar- 
ried Miss Anna Cotter, and they have two 
children, Caroline and Anna Macy. Their 
home is on North Delaware street. (3) Car- 
oline Grace married Edwin H. Forry, and 
they have their home on North Meridian 
street. (4) Catherine F. married .-Xrthur \'. 
Brown, and is the mother of two children. 
\'olney Malott and Arthur W. Jr. (5) Ella 
L. married Edgar A. Evans, and they live on 
North Delaware street. They have three chil- 
dren. Eleanor Macy. Mary Robertson and 
Caroline IMalott. (6) Margaret P. married 
Paul H. White, and ttiey have three children. 
Caroline Margaret. \'olney Malott and Paul 
Helb. This family lives on Talbot avenue. 

Mr. and Mrs. Malott are members of 



Meridian Street .Methodist Church, and he is 
serving as president of the board of trustees. 
He belongs to the Union League Ckib of Chi- 
cago, is an honorary member of the Bankers 
Chib of Chicago, president of the University 
Ckib of IndianapoHs, and a member of the 
Conmiercial and Columbia Clubs of the latter 
city. He is a member of the Indianapolis 
Board of Trade, and is a director and chair- 
man of the Finance committee of the Indian- 
apolis Art Association. His handsome and 
well-appointed home is at Xo. 524 North Del- 
aware street, where he has lived since he built 
the residence, in 1867. 

Mr. Malott acted as receiver of the Terre 
Haute & Indianapolis Railroad and its leased 
lines, as previously mentioned, until Jan. i, 
1905, and is still a director of that road. He 
also operated for the owners, as trustee, the 
Terre Haute & Logansport Railroad and the 
Logansport & Toledo Railroad. He is a di- 
rector of the X'andalia system, of the Indian- 
apolis Union Railway Company and of the 
Chicago, Indianapolis & Louisville Railway 
Company, whose line is popularly known as 
the ^lonon Route. 

This brief review of a career packed to 
the brim with interlacing activities and mul- 
tiplied interests gives some hint and sugges- 
tion of a most interesting life story, that of a 
man who has taken a high position in the bus- 
iness affairs of Indianapolis and of the A\'est, 
and has maintained through long and strenu- 
ous years an enviable reputation for ability, 
honesty, integrity and a most comprehensive 
grasp of affairs. 

HON. DAMD MACY was the last of an 
old-time circle of brilliant men who made the 
laws and set the pace for progress in the earb- 
days of the Commonwealth of Indiana. A 
lawyer by profession, he devoted all his time 
to legal work during the early part of his 
career, and was in successful practice in sev- 
eral locations. Before his removal to Indi- 
anapolis he had sat in the General Assembly 
five terms, three from one district and two 
from another, and won notable honors as a 
statesman in the public service. Thus he was 
well known in the State as a legislator and 
professional man before his affairs took him 
into business life, in which he found his pre- 
vious experience invaluable. It may be that 
he is best remembered by the present genera- 
tion as the promoter and oreanizer of rail- 
road companies, and as one of the ablest finan- 

ciers of his time in the State, but nevertheless 
his way to success as such was paved by the 
evidences of reliable ability he had given in 
the discharge of every previous trust. A 
brief history of his early life and associations 
will be interesting as showing the possibili- 
ties open to the ambitious man, even in what 
may seem to be the most unpromising circum- 
stances. Mr. Macy lived in the days when 
Indiana was coming out of pioneer obscurity 
to the advanced position her awakening indus- 
tries and developing resources entitled her, 
and his enterprise broadened with the spirit 
of the times, keeping pace with the leading 
progressive movements of importance. 

David Alacy was born Dec. 25. 1810. in 
Randolph county, N. C, son of Albert and 
Nancy (Wall) ]Macy. Though of Southern 
birth he was of New England ancestrv. being 
a direct descendant of Thomas Macy. who 
lived in the parish of Chilmark, near Salis- 
bury, Wiltshire, England, until his emigration 
to America, in about 1635. He was living 
near Newbury, Mass., in 1659, when driven 
from his home charged with providing shelter 
and comfort to Quakers, who were obliged to 
flee for their lives from the persecutions of the 
Puritans. L'nable to live in peace in Massa- 
chusetts Colony, Thomas ^Macy and nine 
others negotiated with the Indians and ef- 
fected the purchase of the whole island of 
Nantucket, which has afforded a home for his 
posterity through all the intervening genera- 
tions to the present, many of the name living 
there yet. 

Joseph Macy, a direct descendant of 
Thomas, and the grandfather of Hon. David 
Macy, married Mary Starbuck, of ;Massachu- 
setts, and lived in Nantucket until he was 
thirty years old, at that time moving South 
with his young family. They settled at Guil- 
ford Court House, North Carolina. 

Albert Macy, son of Joseph, was born in 
Nantucket, IMass., in 1774. and was onlv a 
boy when the family went South. He mar- 
ried Nancy ^^'all, of \'irginia, and thev had a 
family of eight children, four sons and four 
daughters. David being the fourth in order 
of birth. He was only ten years of age when 
his father moved out to the then frontier re- 
gion in the new State of Indiana, settling 
in Randolph county. His youth and early 
manhood were passed there and in the two 
adjoining counties of Wayne and Henrv. 

Thus David Macy received his earjv im- 
pressions in the two localities as distinct in 

X^^^^c^^ ..^t^^ 




elements and influence as might be found. 
His boyhood and youth were about evenly 
divided between his native State and that of 
his adoption, and his personality never lost 
the softening effects of the one nor the rug- 
gedness of the other. His father was con- 
fronted with the customary work of the pio- 
neer in those days, that of clearing a farm 
from the heavy forests which then covered 
the region, and the sons were obliged to take 
their :'hare of the hard labor incidental to 
such an undertaking, David working with the 
rest. Felling trees, building log cabins, put- 
ting up fences, and performing the numerous 
other tasks necessary to transform the wil- 
derness from its natural state to a cultivated 
condition, hardened his muscles and tough- 
ened his sinews, and taught him lessons of 
self-reliance and economy. When he was 
eighteen he went to learn the trade of mill- 
wright with his brother Hiram, but after an 
apprenticeship of three years he concluded 
that professional life appealed more strongly 
to him and he determined to devote his ener- 
gies to work of his choice. Though his train- 
ing in manual labor had been thorough and 
comprehensive he had received meager schol- 
astic training, having been dependent therefor 
on the unpretentious district schools deemed 
sufficient by most of the backwoodsmen. But 
he had been a close observer, and had shown 
practical appreciation of the opportunities at 
hand, and accordingly he entered upon the 
study of law, at Centerville, Wayne county, 
with a due sense of the importance of steady 
application and the practical mind which was 
characteristic of the times. Lack of means 
and the consequent economy in physical mat- 
ters produced a similar tendency with regard 
to the mental acquirements of the young men 
of those days — they cared little for knowledge 
that could not be directly applied. The same 
feeling, in a broader sense, possessed David 
^lacy, and his eminently practical character 
made him a real student of law, not merely a 
reader of text-books. It was of no use to 
him except as it could be turned to account in 
the business or legislative affairs of the day 
and place, and he found meaning in everv par- 
agraph. By hard study he had fitted himself 
for admission to the Bar bv the end of two 
vears, passing a rigid examination, conducted 
bv two of the prominent Circuit judges. Hon. 
Charles H. Test and Hon. Mr. Eggleston. 
It was under the old regime, when other qual- 
ifications besides good moral character and 

the ordinary course of study were required 
of men who expected to be active practition- 
ers of one of the most learned and honorable 
of the professions. Moreover, the liar of 
Wayne county, to which he was admitted, was 
composed of an unusually strong and able set 
of men, association with whom was in itself 
an opportunity and a privilege, as well as a 
challenge to the best that was in a man to 
manifest itself. That he not only retained his 
place among these men, but gained honorable 
standing, speaks well for both his character 
and his ability. Air. Macy first located for i)rac- 
tice, however, at Newcastle, the county seat 
of Henry county, which adjoins Wayne on the 
west, moving thither from \\'ayne county in 
1832, almost immediately after qualifying. 
After one year at the Bar he obtained his 
license to appear before the judges of the Su- 
preme court in the argument of cases ap- 
pealed. He was one of the early attorneys at 
Newcastle, and his strength received quick 
appreciation from his fellow-citizens, for he 
was soon given a foremost place in the public 
life of the town. In 1835 he was sent to the 
Legislature, and was re-elected in 1836 and 
again in 1837, his services in that body re- 
flecting honor on his district. At that time 
there was an ambitious movement on foot in 
Indiana which had the double purpose of 
promoting internal improvements on a very 
large scale and bringing the State much 
needed revenues. The scheme was to con- 
struct turnpikes and canals, open highways 
across the State, and even railroads, which 
were then only remote possibilities, at the ex- 
pense of the State, as the development of its 
resources seemed to be retarded by the lack of 
proper transportation facilities. The interior 
towns, with all their possibilities, were still 
regarded as frontier posts, and were likely to 
remain so. and leaders in the Assembly saw 
an opportunity to mend this condition of af- 
fairs and at the same time improve the fiscal 
condition of the State. A bill authorizing the 
loan of $10,000,000 for the puqjose of carry- 
ing out these plans was introduced into the 
Assembly, and Mr. Macy was one of its ac- 
tive advocates. The interest in transportation 
thus aroused undoubtedly awakened the com- 
mercial instincts in his nature which eventu- 
allv caused him to give almost his whole at- 
tention to the railroad business. 

In 1838, at the close of his experience as 
a legislator from Henry county. Mr. Macy 
was retained in the public service by being 



elected prosecuting attorney of the Sixth Ju- 
(Hcial district, which inckided Henry county, 
and in 1840, on the expiration of his term 
as such, he removed to the eastern edge of the 
State, settling in Lawrenceburg, Dearborn 
county. There he remained for twelve years, 
active in the practice of his profession, and 
quite naturally, as in his former home, taking 
an important part in public affairs. He served 
two terms as mayor of the city, being the first 
incumbent of that position, giving an able 
administration, as had been expected of him, 
and in 1845 and 1846 he represented the dis- 
trict in the Legislature. In 1852 he removed 
to Indianapolis, with which city he was after- 
ward identified to the close of his long life. 
He formed a partnership with David McDon- 
ald, but except for the legal work which his 
financial interests required he was not active 
in his profession from this time. It was the 
threshold of the great era of railroad build- 
ing in the State, and as an organizer and pro- 
moter of railroads he proved second to none 
in his day. He had positive genius for the 
successful promotion of this particular utility, 
a genius which went beyond the inceptive 
stages and made him successful as manager 
and financier also. 

In 1855 Mr. Macy was elected president 
of what was then known as the Peru & Indi- 
anapolis Railroad Company, which had the 
seventy -five miles of railroad between those 
two points, now a part of the Lake Erie & 
Western system. He held the position for a 
quarter of a centurv almost continuously — 
the exceptions being one or two short inter- 
vals — voluntarily retiring from active rail- 
road management in 1880, and during that 
period the office became vastly more import- 
ant with the extension of the road, a line be- 
ing built from Michigan City to Laporte and 
the control of a line already constructed, be- 
tween Peru and Laporte, being acquired. 
These beneficial changes were all made under 
Mr. Macy's management and by his advice. 
He recognized the fact that the road was the 
principal means of transporting lumber from 
the lake ports to the interior of the State, and 
ice from the small lakes of northern Indiana 
to points in the southern part. His first ac- 
complishment was to put the short line which 
was the nucleus of this system upon a paying 
basis, and then, as opportunity offered and 
patronage demanded, his policy was to in- 
crease the same by judicious purchase and 
carefully considered additions, until the com- 

pany had a through line from Indianapolis to 
Lake Michigan, known as the Indianapolis, 
Peru & Chicago road. Perhaps his judgment 
was never better shown than in his selection of 
his assistants in this work, for he rarely made 
a mistake in estimating a man's capabilities, 
and he relied upon the men he chose for the 
successful maturing of his plans. Neither 
was he slow to give them credit, and as a con- 
sequence he had the aft'ectionate esteem of his 
subordinates to an unusual degree. They 
considered him their friend, and he repaid 
their confidence in kind. He was never ar- 
rogant in his position, nor indifferent to theirs, 
and he was always approachable and invari- 
ably kind. He had enough of the old-fash- 
ioned pride in their welfare to make it the ob- 
ject of an almost paternal solicitude, and men 
who had grievances, real or fancied, were sure 
of a reception from him devoid of ceremony 
or formality that awed or of conditions that 
humiliated and affronted their self-respect. 
He did not believe in imposing conditions or 
assigning a man duties that would involve the 
sacrifice of his manhood, nor did he ask for 
service without just compensation. And his 
employees, recognizing these traits, did their 
work with a readiness and efficiency which 
made his executive ability the more effective. 
While directing his railroad interests J\[r. 
Macy also became engaged in banking, and in 
1876 he was elected president of the Merid- 
ian National Bank, continuing in that office 
by annual re-elections until 1889. when he de- 
clined, wishing to retire to rest in the enjoy- 
ment of the ample fortune which he had ac- 
quired. In this as in every other line which 
he entered Mr. Macy was highly successful. 
During his young manhood and middle age 
Indiana was passing through the most import- 
ant stage of its development, a time when men 
of breadth and action were needed to lay the 
foundations of a prosperous commonwealth, 
and he had the faculty of penetration to an 
extent possessed by few, and the ability to 
grasp his opportunities, with the force to pur- 
sue them to successful issue. All his prin- 
cipal interests were centered in projects that 
benefited his fellow-citizens generally, and 
his personal affairs prospered accordingly. 
His tireless energy and large capacitv were 
backed by an integrity that gained him uni- 
versal confidence which was in itself an in- 
centive to right-doing. It is said that every 
one of his investments yielded large profits : 
every important work he undertook was ac- 



complished. The causes are as simple as the 
bare statement. He was a close observer of 
the principles that govern material things, and 
in business affairs manifested one of his phys- 
ical characteristics that was noteworthy in a 
man of affairs — he was never in a hurry. He 
moved with precision at the proper time, and 
so he acted in business matters. Every detail 
was attended to, every precaution taken, and 
then he was content to wait for the maturing 
of his plans with the wisdom of those who 
know that forced growth is not generally 
healthy growth. 

Mr. IMacy's winning personality and high 
character reflected both the unassailable in- 
tegrity of his New England ancestors and the 
graces of his Southern birth and influences. 
The granite was there, but its hard exterior 
was made beautiful by all the courtly dignity 
of the old-school gentleman, and an unstudied 
charm of manner which made' him welcome 
socially wherever he went, in high circles or 
among the humblest. His manners were 
easy, but not suggestive of any lack of 
strength. An acute sense of justice, and a 
tendency to deep thinking which grew with 
his years, made him known as a man of rather 
few words and a good listener more than a 
talker. "He gave his ear to all men, his 
tongue to few," though he was naturally 
frank, and his reserve was cultivated of ne- 
cessity. As "words half reveal, and 

half conceal, the soul within," so he compre- 
hended more than he disclosed. 

On Jan. 19, 1837, while attending a session 
of the "legislature, Mr. Macy was married to 
Miss Mary Ann Patterson, and they had a 
happy wedded life of over fifty-five years. 
Their only daughter, Caroline, is the wife of 
Volnev T. Malott, a leading banker and 
wealthy citizen of Indianapolis. The family 
home in Indianapolis is a spacious and well- 
built residence, and Mr. ]Macy was particularly 
blessed in his home life, which was marked 
by a rare depth of aft'ection, gentleness and 
evenness of disposition, and generous hospi- 
tality, which, endured until his death, on Sun- 
day morning, May 29, 1892. He peacefully 
passed to rest at his home, surrounded by his 
devoted family, the last of the "old guard." 
the pioneer Indiana lawmakers of a former 
generation. Of his colleagues during his first 
term in the Indiana Legislature — 1835 — Col. 
Richard W. Thompson alone survives. Mr. 
INlacy was a professor of Christianity, a com- 
municant of St. Paul's Episcopal Church, and 

gave liberal support to that body and to ob- 
jects of charity. 

ceased). The State of Indiana has many 
honorable names on the pages of its history, 
and the one borne by Judge Milton Hite 
Parks will be found among the early settlers, 
and among those which have been identified 
with much of the progress and development 
of Morgan county. 

Judge Parks comes of combined Irish and 
Holland ancestry. His paternal grandfather, 
James Parks, was born in North Carolina, of 
Irish parentage, and as early as 1816 he mi- 
grated to Indiana and secured Government 
land in Monroe county, in the vicinity of El- 
lettsville. This land he cleared and improved, 
and here he reared his family. James Parks 
was twice married, first to Nancy Moore, and 
second to Frances Kendrick, the latter of 
whom lived to the age of ninety-eight years, 
while his life was extended to the unusual 
age of 102 years. James Parks was a man of 
affairs, a leading member of the Democratic 
party and was a member of the first Legisla- 
ture convened in the State of Indiana. On 
the maternal side, the grandfather of Judge 
Parks was William Hite, a native of Ken- 
tucky but of Dutch ancestry. He also became 
an early settler in Monroe county. Ind. He 
was a miller by occupation, and he died in 
middle life. He married a member of the 
Mav family, an old and prominent one in 

Judge Parks was born Oct. 29, 1842, in 
Martinsville, Ind., son of Perminter M. and 
Lucinda (Hite) Parks, the former of whom 
was born in North Carolina, and the latter in 
Kentucky. They had seven children torn to 
them, five sons and two daughters, of whom 
IMarietta is the wife of John Simpson, of Mar- 
tinsville ; Tilman H. resides at Martinvsille; 
Milton H. is mentioned below: Perminter IM. 
is also of Martinsville: Alice A. married 
Frank Branch, of Martinsville, and is de- 
ceased: and Paschal S. and Willard E. are 
also both deceased. 

Perminter M. Parks, the father of Judge 
Parks, was a merchant in Morgan county. 
for many years, a man of substance and of 
prominence in business life. He came to In- 
diana in 1816. and grew to manhood in Mon- 
roe countv, and a few years after attaining his 
majoritv,'came to Morgan county. He or- 
ganized the First National Bank of Martins- 



ville, in 1865, it being one of the oldest in 
the State, and he continued its president until 
his death. He owned large tracts of land both 
in Indiana and Iowa, and was interested in 
farming and pork packing. In political life 
he was very active, and was twice elected to 
the State Senate from Morgan county, on the 
Democratic ticket. He died in 1867, aged 
fifty-nine years. His widow survived until 
1875, dying at the age of sixty-four years. 
Both parents were were most worthy mem- 
bers of the Christian Church, in which he was 
an elder. Mr. Parks with Gen. Ebenezer Du 
^lont and Hugh ]\IcCullough, was for twenty 
years, a member of the sinking fund board 
of the State of Indiana. He was a man held 
in the highest esteem by his fellow citizens, 
as was his father, who was honored every 
year for fifteen years prior to his death, by 
a visit of prominent men from all over the 
State, to pay their respects on his birthday 

The venerable Noah J. Major says of him : 
"Perminter M. Parks, Sr., came from Ken- 
tucky to Monroe county, Ind., and to JNIorgan 
county about 1836. He was a distinguished 
pioneer citizen of ^Morgan county. He was 
very energetic, was a merchant and pork 
packer and shipper to Xew Orleans. He was 
a leading politician, and a man of great abil- 
ity. He was one of the ablest men ]\Iorgan 
county has ever had. He was an able mem- 
lier of the State Senate. He was interested 
in public education, and was one of the ear- 
liest advocates of the free public school sys- 
tem. He was a liberal contributor to the 
Church. I regarded him as one of the most 
useful and able men of Morgan county and 
Indiana. He was a great financier. He 
started in life with limited means, but accu- 
mulated a fortune of $250,000." 

Judge Milton H. Parks was reared in 
Martinsville, and in boyhood he attended the 
district schools. Later he became a student 
at the Northw^estern Christian University at 
Indianapolis and the State University at 
Bloomingtcn, and graduated from the law de- 
partment of Harvard University in 1865. 
This was a notable class, numbering among 
its members some distinguished men. the names 
of William C. Whitney. Gov. Chamberlain of 
South Carolina and \Villiam Evarts appear- 
ing on the roll with Judge Parks. When Ne- 
braska was admitted into the I'nion as a 
State, Judge Parks was then a young lawyer 
at Omaha. In 1875 he returned to Indiana 

and formed a partnership with A. M. Cun- 
ning, who afterward became Judge here, and 
that legal combination lasted for several 
years. Then a second partnership was 
formed, with Judge George W. Grubbs, and 
this continued for sixteen years, being sev- 
ered by the election of Air. Grubbs, on the 
Republican ticket, to the position of Judge 
Judge Parks continued to practice alone for 
a number of years and then became associated 
with W. S. Shirley. Eight years later this 
partnership came to an end by the election of 
Mr. Parks to the Bench, a position he filled 
with dignity and efficiency for two years. 
Judge Parks was president of the First Na- 
tional Bank for about six years, and afterward 
continued as one of its directors. 

On Aug. 10. 1871, Judge Parks was mar- 
ried to Aliss Ida Griggs, daughter of Judge 
Algernon Sidney Griggs and Phoebe ( Hutch- 
inson) Griggs. Five daughters were born to 
this union, namely : Edna G. died in infancy ; 
Gussie S. married William Yakey, of Bloom- 
field, county clerk of Greene county, and they 
have two sons, Joseph Parks and Milton Hite : 
Blanche M. married Karl I. Nutler, assistant 
cashier in the First National Bank, and they 
have one son. Parks A. ; Georgia A. married 
Frank Eubank ; and Scottie G. married Frank 
Crone, and resides with Mrs. Parks. Mrs. 
Parks is a member of the Methodist Church. 

Judge Algernon Sidney Griggs was a na- 
tive of Maryland, a son of Ebenezer Griggs, 
who is recalled in the mechanical world as 
the inventor of the governor for engines. 
Judge Griggs and his wife were early settlers 
in Indiana, and about 1840 he was made pro- 
bate judge in Morgan county. His home was 
in Martinsville where he died in 1886, aged 
seventy-three 3'ears. During the Civil war he 
served as a soldier with the 33rd Ind. \'. I. 
He was twice elected to the State Senate. 
Judge Griggs married Phoebe Hutchinson, 
daughter of Jonathan Hutchinson, who was a 
native of Iowa and a farmer there. The wife 
of Jonathan Hutchinson was Mary Jordan 
Walden, and they reared ten children. Mrs. 
Griggs died in 1873, ^g^fi forty-nine years, 
her birth having taken place in Iowa in 1824. 
The children of Judge and Mrs. Griggs were 
eight in number, two sons and six daughters, 
the four survivors being: Kate I., wife of 
John R. McBride. of Washington. D. C. : \'i- 
ola. wife of Judge George W. Grubbs : Ida. 
widow nf Judire Parks: and Phoebe, the wife 
of W. ( 1. Smith, of Punxsutawnev, Pa., con- 



gressman from the 27th district of Penns}-!- 

Judge Parks was a life-long Democrat. 
He was widely known in his official position 
as judge of the 15th Judicial Circuit of the 
State of Indiana, and enjoyed a large measure 
of public confidence. He died Jan. 9, 1907, 
of paralysis. His fraternal connections were 
with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

in all the world evokes so much admiration 
and enthusiasm as a man who has reached the 
full zenith of an able and successful political 
career, unstained by ciuestionable dealings. 
Such a leader, of undoubted integrity, of tal- 
ents far beyond his fellows, stands, as it were, 
the admired of all admirers. To attain to 
such a position in a country of democratic 
customs, bespeaks a surpassing ability, a 
knowledge of men and things, and that rare 
faculty of winning the confidence and love of 
the public at large, without which no man 
can aspire to become the chosen one, who shall 
lead and mold the thought of his constituency. 

In this order of genius, Caleb B. Tarlton 
of Franklin, Johnson county, Ind., fills a 
unique and brilliant place. He was born in 
Fayette county, Ky., May 27, 1827, his par- 
ents being Merritt and Catherine (Hutchin- 
son) Tarlton, both natives of the same State. 
He had four brothers and six sisters, of whom 
five are now living: John, of Hendricks 
county ; Miss Catherine, who lives at home ; 
James, of Indiamapolis ; William, of Green- 
wood ; and Susan, widow of Capt. Wightman, 
a soldier in the war of the Rebellion. 

Merritt Tarlton was a successful stock 
man and farmer, and came to Indianapolis in 
the year 1833, where he bought a fine farm 
of 160 acres, about eight miles south of Indi- 
anapolis. This he improved, clearing it of 
the heavy timber, and here he lived until his 
death, which occurred in the year 1877, at 
the age of seventy-seven years. His wife sur- 
vived him until 1885, her death occurring that 
year at the advanced age of eighty-five years. 
Both were influential members of the Mis- 
sionary Baptist Church, and he was through- 
out his life an ardent Democrat. 

The paternal grandfather of the Hon. ]\Ir. 
Tarlton, also bore the name of Caleb, and was 
born at Hagerstown, Md. He married 
Nancy Bean and removed to Scott county, 
Ky., in i8o6, buying a farm adjoining that of 
his brother Jeremiah, about three miles east 

of Georgetown, and one mile froni Johnson's 
Mill. In 1809 lie sold that tract, and bought 
160 acres in Fayette, where he built a home 
which is now owned by his grand-daughter 
Ella Nichols. Some two years later he pur- 
chased additional land, and died there in the 
year 1841, at an honored old age. His wife 
followed him two years later. He was a 
grand old man, and held up as a model by 
later generations in his family. Twelve chil- 
dren were born to him, his youngest child 
Jackson being a soldier in the war of 1812. 

A recent competent authority states that 
the Tarlton family is of Saxon origin and 
takes its name from Tarlton parish, Lanca- 
shire, England. The early home of the Tarl- 
tons was near Liverpool, and the eldest sons 
in the family were heirs to landed estates, and 
were living there until recent times. There 
were also other members of the family living 
in other parts of England, and also in Lon- 
don, prior to the year 1600, which shows that 
the Tarlton family is one of excellent an- 
cestry and descendants of nobility. 

Sir Banistee Tarlton, a son of John Tarl- 
ton, was born in Liverpool, England, in 1754, 
and at the breaking out of the Revolutionary 
war, he left the study of law, in which he had 
become deeply interested, and purchased a 
cornetcy of dragoons, and in December, 1776, 
commanded the advanced guard of the patrol 
which captured General Lee in New Jersey. 
He also served with Howe and Clinton in 
the campaigns of 1777 and 1778. After the 
evacuation of Philadelphia, he commanded as 
Lieutenant-Colonel, a cavalry corps of regu- 
lars and Tories, called the British Legion. 
This corps was constantly rendering import- 
ant service to Lord Cornvvallis in the South, 
until he and Tarlton surrendered at York- 

The maternal grandfather of Senator 
Tarlton was Archibald Hutchinson, a native of 
Scott county, Ky.. where he died at an old age, 
leaving a large family. He was successful and 
widely known as a hotel keeper, being fa- 
miliarly called "Captain" Hutchinson, 

Senator Tarlton was only six years of age 
when his parents moved to Indiana, and he 
was raised upon his father's farm in Franklin 
township, Marion county. He received his 
early education in the old fashioned subscrip- 
tion schools of that day, and remained at home 
until reaching his maturity, when he began 
his life-work by renting land for one year. 

On Nov. 13, 1849. li^ was joined in wed- 



lock to Evelyn j\I. West, a daughter of Ma- 
rine and Sophia (DiA'all) West. He began 
his early married life by running her father's 
farm in Pleasant township, Johnson county. 
This farm Mr. Tarlton now owns, and it is 
situated about two and a half miles east of 
Greenwood, originally containing 225 acres, to 
which he has subsequently added fifty acres, 
so that it now contains 275 acres of highly 
productive and valuable land. He and his 
wife resided there for about twent3--five years, 
and then moved to his present home, just east 
of the corporate limits of Franklin, in order 
to get the benefit of the excellent educational 
facilities offered by Franklin college, for their 
children. He has a beautiful home and about 
twenty acres of land in this place, and takes 
great pride in keeping it in excellent condi- 
tion and entertaining his many friends there. 

Seven children were born of this union, 
six sons and one daughter, John H., Merritt 
William, Eva, James A., Charles W., George 
and Caleb, the last named dying in infancy. 
All of the six survivors are now doing 
excellently in their varied walks of life. 
John H. is cashier in the Citizens' National 
Bank in Franklin, and bears the title of Ma- 
jor, having served in the Spanish- American 
war as captain of a company at Chickamauga, 
and was afterward promoted to the rank of 
Major; he married Jessie Gibson, and has two 
children, Marcia and Charlotte. INIerritt W. 
married Mary Bell, and they reside in Green- 
wood. Eva married Hervey McCaslin, and 
lives in Franklin, having one child, Ethel P., 
now the wife of Edward Bailey. James A. 
is with L. L. Ayers in the dry goods business 
in Indianapolis ; he married Jeanie Needham. 
Charles W. is a carriage trimmer in Franklin, 
married Elizabeth Funk, and has one child, 
Caleb B. George was an invalid, and lived 
at home, until his death, IMarch 9, 1906. 

Senator Tarlton's wife died Dec. 19. 1898, 
at the age of seventy-four years. She was a 
member of the First Baptist Church of Frank- 
lin, and was greatly beloved by all who knew 
her. Senator Tarlton is a member of the 
same church. He has been, since the year 
1855. a Master Mason. In political affiliations 
he has always ably supported the Democratic 
party, being elected as joint representative of 
Johnson and Morgan counties in the year 
1870, and serving in the Lower House of the 
Indiana Legislature one term. Six years 
later he was elected to represent Shelby and 
Johnson counties, and served for four years. 

In addition to his successful career as an agri- 
culturist and stock raiser, he has been exceed- 
ingly active in the political world. Through- 
out his career he has maintained the highest 
standard of honesty and integrity, and it has 
been said of him : "He is quiet and dignified 
in bearing, and is one of those men upon 
whom it can be depended that they mean just 
what they say, and will perform what they 
promise." He has been a resident of John- 
son county since the year 1 849 and in 1857 
was elected president of the Johnson county 
Agricultural Society, which office he held for 
some eight or ten years. 

Now, in the beginning of his journey to- 
ward the setting sun, the golden gleams of 
that luminous orb seem to have surrounded 
his head as in a halo of light and benediction, 
after his long life of usefulness in both public 
and private life. Of unassailable honesty and 
integrity throughout his strenuous career. 
Johnson county may well point with pride to 
him, and counsel the rising generation to em- 
ulate such qualities arid a life of such com- 
pleteness and success. 

ELDER NOAH J. MAJOR. In recalling 
the representative men of Morgan county, 
Ind., one of the most respected and admired 
citizens, one of the best known men in the 
locality, and one whose influence has been felt 
in many phases of its development, is Noah 
J. Major. Although ]\Ir. ]\Iajor has devoted 
much attention to agriculture he has been 
prominently identified with t)ther lines of ac- 
tivity. In political life he has teen an import- 
ant factor, while his long and devoted service 
of more than half a century in the ministry 
of the Christian Church entitles him to high 

Noah J. Major was born Aug. 14, 1823, in 
Brookville, Ind., a son of William A. and Re- 
becca (Clark) INIajor. both of whom were na- 
tives of Pennsylvania. The ]\Iajor .family is 
of Welsh descent, but representatives of the 
name have lived in America for five genera- 
tions. Eddy Major, the grandfather of Elder 
j\Iajor, was born in Lancaster county. Pa. He 
was a trooper in the little army that sup- 
pressed Shays's rebellion in Pensylvania, and 
when the war of 1812 broke out took part in 
that conflict, barely escapinsr with his life at 
the time of \\'inchester's defeat and the In- 
dian massacre. By trade he was a stone-ma- 
son. He was a pioneer near Brookville, Ind., 
and died there at the age of fifty-four years. 

^ri/ U^ i.i(nA^ 





i\Ir. Major was a high tempered man, given 
to very plain speech. His wife, Isabella (Ap- 
plegate), was a woman of high character and 
good common sense, a rare good mother. 
Their family consisted of eight daughters and 
four sons, eleven of whom lived to maturity, 
and ten were married, as follows : Sally 
married John Coe, and had fifteen children. 
Polly married William Elliott and also had 
fifteen children, nine of whom were living 
when she died, at the age of ninety-four years. 
\\'illiam A. married Rebecca Clark and had 
seven children. Hathea, who married J. G. 
Randall, had six children. Devore married 
Ruth Leslie and had eight children. Bessie 
married David Shoup and had six children. 
Harriet married JNIartin Shoup and had seven 
children. Isabella had seven children by her 
first husband, John Clark, and three by her 
second, William H. Craig. Robert B. married 
Sally Lanphere and had eight children. Su- 
san married Nathan Wiere and had eight chil- 
dren. Isabella and Harriet were the only ones 
of the ten who married twice. 

William A. I\Iajor was born in western 
Pennsylvania, and came to Indiana with his 
parents about 1810. Here he learned his trade 
of plasterer and brick-mason, in the prosecu- 
tion of which he built the first brick court 
house in Connersville. Later he engaged in 
farming until 1832, in which j-ear he left 
Brookville and located in Morgan county, 
where he entered 160 acres of Congress land. 
He also bought 520 acres, of Section 16, Town 
12, Range i, east (school land), in Washing- 
ton township, about four miles north of Mar- 
tinsville, and there he lived until his death, 
which occurred in 1847. He was only forty- 
eight years old at the time. Although Mr. 
Major died at a comparatively early age, he 
had accomplished great results in the improve- 
ment and stocking of his land, which even 
to the present is regarded as one of the fine 
farm properties of the township. He was not 
only energetic in the promotion of his busi- 
ness interests but likewise active in the poli- 
tics of the day. About 1836 he was made 
county commissioner, and held that office for 
several terms. He and his wife were influen- 
tial members of the Christian Church. Seven 
children were born to their union, two sons 
and five daughters, of whom three still sur- 
vive, namely : Noah J. : William Sims, of 
Chicago : and Genevieve, wife of Dr. Charles 
Seaton, of Martinsville, Ind. Martha Jane, 
deceased, was the wife of William Williams, 
of Washington township ; Emeline was the 

wife of Dr. Tilford, of Martinsville. Mrs. 
Rebecca Major died in 1856, at the age of 
fifty-four years. 

The Clark family, to which Mrs. Rebecca 
(Clark) Major belonged, was of English or- 
igin, and her father, Joshua Clark, was born 
in Pennsylvania, east of the Alleghany moun- 
tains. He married Hannah Parsons, and they 
had nine children. In 1814, when their daugh- 
ter Rebecca was twelve years old, the family 
moved out to Indiana, and settled among the 
pioneers in Brookville, where Mr. and Mrs. 
Clark spent the remainder of their lives. He 
died at the age of fifty-eight years. Their 
trip west was typical of the times, having been 
made by way of the Ohio river from Pitts- 
burg, whence their household belongings and 
wagons were conveyed by boat, the horses 
being sent around bv land to Cincinnati, where 
they met the goods. From that point the jour- 
ney was continued by wagon to Brookville. 

L'ntil he was nine years of age Noah J. 
jNIajor lived near Brookville, where he had 
the common advantages for schooling avail- 
able at the time. In 1832, when his parents 
removed to Morgan county, he continued in 
the winter schools of that day, finishing at the 
old County Seminary, under Prof. Edmond- 
son, in 1842, after which he taught three years 
in the winter schools. He and his present 
wife became members of the C. L. S. C. (Pan- 
sey Class), receiving diplomas of high grade 
for a four years course of reading. 

However, in spite of his early labors as a 
professional man, Mr. ^fajor has always been 
deeply interested in agriculture, and with the 
exception of two years spent in Martinsville 
has enjoyed the pleasures and comforts of ru- 
ral life. It has been his aim and delight to 
excel in agricultural pursuits. Since 1844 he 
has never missed raising a corn crop or feed- 
ing stock, and is still at it, in his eighty-fifth 
year. Until his marriage he lived at home, 
and his father then gave him a good start in 
life. For two years he workerl his father's 
farm, at the end of that time buying eighty 
acres of the old homestead : he received fifty- 
six acres more at his father's death. This 
land was nearly all cleared, and he erected a 
house thereon, as well as barns and other 
buildings, and there made his home until 
1878. During the year 1879 he lived in Mar- 
tinsville, in 1881 returning to the country, .^t 
that time he settled on his present home, the 
propertv of his wife and her children. To- 
gether they own 340 acres of finelv improved 
land, the home being situated in Section 13, 



Town 12. Washington township, five miles 
from Martinsville. They have every conven- 
ience enjoyed by the modern farming class, 
with the privileges of free gravel road, tele- 
phone and rural free delivery service. 

On Sept. 5. 1844. Xoah J. Major was mar- 
ried to Miss Hannah Hastings, daughter of 
Job and Keziah (Xorcross) Hastings. i\Irs. 
Major died when her first-born, Shelburn, 
was but eighteen days old, and he also passed 
away at the age of nine months. On Oct. 15, 
1846, Mr. Major married (second) I^Iiss 
Mary Eva Rudicell. daughter of John and Sa- 
rah (Stipp) Rudicell. and five children 
blessed this union, namely : ( i ) Isabella died 
in her fifty-first year. She was twice married, 
her first husband being Jared P. Hadley, by 
whom she had two sons, Clayton M. and Noah 
J. By her second union, to Benjamin R. 
Green, she had tw^o daughters. Ora and Eva. 
(2) Sylvanus. who is a farmer on the old 
homestead, married Ella Hendricks, and their 
children are Horace, Isis, Otis, Mary, Noah 
J. and ^Marguerite. (3) Amanda died at the 
age of twenty-two years. (4) Harriet died 
in infancy. (5) Laura married Nathan H. 
Gilbert, and they live in Brown township. 
Thev reared four children to maturity. Earl, 
Don, Ralph and Floy, but Don died at the age 
of twenty-one years and Ralph at _ the age of 

Mrs. Mary Eva ]\Iajor died July 7, 1872. 
aged forty-four years, and on Nov. 4, 1875, 
Mr. Major was married (third) to Mrs. I\Iar- 
garet Ann Piercy. No children were born to 
this union. 

At the time of her marriage to Mr. Major 
Mrs. jNIajor was the w-idow' of Joseph W. 
Piercy, and she was the youngest of four chil- 
dren of Dr. Samuel W. and ^largaret R. 
(Coke) Brown, and granddaughter of Rev. 
Samuel Brown, of pioneer Methodism. She 
was born in Brandenburg, Ky.. June i, 1840. 
Her life from her fourth until her twelfth 
year was passed in Leavenworth. Ind., but in 
1852 she returned with her parents to Ken- 
tucky. Her school days were spent in Owens- 
boro and Hardinsburg. In December, 1859, 
she came to Cloverdale. Ind.. where she made 
the acquaintance of Joseph W. Piercy, to 
whom she was married Jan. 12, 1862. In the 
winter of 1866 I\Ir. Piercy moved to !\Iartins- 
villc, where he and his brother John H. Piercy 
engaged in the drug business, purchasing the 
store now owned by William H. Tarleton. In 
1870 Mr. Piercy was elected clerk of the Mor- 

gan Circuit court, and was serving in that ca- 
pacity at the time of his death. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Piercy were born five 
children, four sons and one daughter. Two 
sons died in infancy. Those surviving are: 

( 1 ) \\'att B. Piercy, of Boise, Idaho, was 
united in marriage with Miss Magdaline, 
third daughter of the Hon. and Mrs. Eb. Hen- 
derson. Feb. I, 1888. Their children are Al- 
ice, Philip H., Joseph Ebenezer and Esther. 

(2) Joseph W. Piercy. Jr.. resides in Indian- 
apolis. On March 9. 1892. he wedded Miss 
Mary A., only daughter of Rev. John H. and 
Martha (Stark) Ketcham. They have one 
daughter Josephine. (3) Eleanor Piercy be- 
came the wife of Arthur Cunningham, of De 
Pauw University. Sept. 5, 1888. and closed 
her earthly life May 9, 1892, leaving one 
daughter, Eleanor. 

Joseph W. Piercy, Sr., served for a time 
in the war o fthe Rebellion, as first lieutenant 
of Company K, 97th Regiment, Indiana \'ol- 
unteers. He was honorably discharged on ac- 
count of disability. He died July 6. 1872. 

Mrs. Major is a woman of superior mind 
and training, and known throughout her ac- 
quaintanceship for high qualities of intellect 
and womanhood. She is a member of the 
Christian Church, the W. C. T. L.. and the 
Martinsville Woman's Club. 

Mr. Major became a member of the Chris- 
tian Church when nineteen years of age, and 
has been preaching for over fifty years. His 
services have been sought in times of grief, 
and his words of encouragement and cheer 
have been welcomed at hundreds of marriages, 
while his sympathy and comforting help have 
lightened the gloom of many funerals. He 
has held the position of elder for over half a 

Air. Alajor is a man of deep convictions 
on political questions as well as in religious 
matters. Originally a Whig, he eventually 
became a Republican. The only political of- 
fice he ever held, however, was that of repre- 
sentative in the State Legislature, of which 
body he was a member for four sessions — en- 
tering first in 1865, as a Republican: in 1870, 
as an independent: in 1878, as a Greenbacker. 
Since 1884 he has cast his ballot in support of 
the principles of the Prohibition party, and in 
the year mentioned was the only man in Mar- 
tinsville who so voted. Mr. Alajor has been 
a total abstainer for sixty-five years, and he 
has the courage of his convictions, ^\'he^e he 
sees a conscious leading, he follows. He does 

comme:\ior.\tive biographical record 


not hate the man that makes whiskey, nor the 
man that sells whiskey, nor the man that 
drinks whiskey, but the infernal whiskey. 

Elder Major is a remarkable man in his 
community. He is a man of the backwoods, 
with something of the present day finish. 
There is no phase of the development of this 
section, from its primitive state, with which 
he is not familiar. The experiences of pio- 
neer life are the realities of his youthful davs, 
and the recollections of his intimate associa- 
tion with those vital forces of the early times 
are among his most cherished memories. Born 
in a log house, schooled for the most part in 
a log house, he courted and was married in a 
log house, and began housekeeping in a log 
house. He has carried up the corners of many 
log dwellings and log barns. He has plowed 
among roots and stumps, rolled logs, made 
rail fences, reaped wheat with a sickle, trod it 
out with horses, helped to build flat-boats and 
take them to New Orleans, laden with pork 
and lard. Notwithstanding this, he is an up- 
to-date man in the best sense of the phrase 
His intelligence and business instincts have 
proved equal to every demand made upon 
them. He served the public as guardian, exec- 
utor, administrator and assignee for forty-one 
years consecutively, until he utterly refused 
further appointments. In that capacity, and 
as a continuous resident of this section for 
so many years, he had the opportunity of ac- 
quiring valuable and reliable data concerning 
local affairs and families, which he has care- 
fully preserved, and much of which he has 
published for the benefit of an interested pub- 
lic. Few men have been as highly regarded 
as authorities on such matters as he. He has 
written a number of pioneer sketches which 
from time to time have appeared in the Mar- 
tinsville Republican and the Morgan County 
Democrat, and proved of great interest to the 
readers of his own and adjoining counties. It 
IS quite probable they will appear in book form 
in the near future.' 

Elder Major believes in squaring every act 
of life by the Golden Rule, three hundred and 
sixty-five days in the year. His influence on 
the moral development of his community has 
been a recogitized factor in that growth for 
many years, and he is beloved, respected and 
admired, throughout a wide circle of friends, 
to a degree enjoyed by verv few men. His! and aid now, as always, are highly 
regarded by all who have the privilege of 
■seeking his help on anv matter. 

Judge George W. Grubbs writes of Mr. 

Major, under date of April 13, 1908: "Xoah 
J. Major is regarded as one of the best, most 
reliable and well informed citizens of Morgan 
county. He is of the highest character as a 
man and citizen, foremost in all movements 
for the best interests of the comnnmity, a man 
with probably the largest acquaintance and 
best historical knowledge of the people of his 
section of the State. He is a man of the high- 
est moral character, foremost in all movements 
for the elevation and betterment of the com- 
munity — a man universally respected and be- 
loved by all the people of his section of the 

The following sketch, from Mr. Alajor's 
pen, will be of interest to our readers : 

?iloRGAN County was organized in 1822 
with Martinsville as the county seat. Joshua 
Taylor. John Gray, James Cutler. Samuel 
Scott and Joel Furgeson were, jointly, the 
donors of 160 acres of land upon which the 
town was platted. Cyrus Whetzell is gener- 
ally supposed to be the first settler (1818). 
Philip Hodges was the first land-owner 
(1820) and Humphry Roberts the first white 
child born in the county, date of birth un- 
known. He lived to be about sixty-nine years 
old ; was a gunsmith by trade. 

Among those born in Morgan county who 
have attained to some distinction is Franklin 
Landers, farmer, stock-feeder, merchant, pol- 
itician. State senator and Congressman. A 
close second is Ebenezer Henderson, farmer, 
stock-feeder, pork packer, politician, county 
treasurer. State senator, auditor of State 
(four years), chairman of Democratic State 
Central Committee and presidential elector. 

Among the eminent divines born in the 
county were W. B. F. Treat. Jose]3h ^^'oods. 

D. D., and Urban C. Brewer. Mr. Brewer 
began preaching at sixteen years of age, and 
fairly won the distinction of the foremost boy 
preacher in the county. 

Of native born lawvers we mav name F. 
P. A. Phelps, Judge Milton H. Parks. Hon. 

E. F. Branch (Speaker of the House of Rep- 
resentatives), C. G. Renner, Oscar Matthews. 
Karl JNIinton, Murray Bain and S. C. Kivett. 
Of distinguished lawyers not born in the 
county, but local practitioners in the Morgan 
Circuit court, we may write W. R. Harrison. 
\\'. S. Sherlcy, ex-Judge G. W. Grubbs, and 
James PI. Jordan, now on tlie Supreme bench 
of Indiana. 

Among the physicians, those born in the 
county are Drs. John and D. P. Kennedy. Drs. 



U. H. Farr, H. C. Robinson and son Frank C, 
A. S. Tilford, E. M. Sweet of the National 
Sanitarium, Grant Monical, Otis Sweet, \V. 
E. Hendricks of the Home Lawn Mineral 
Springs, Keylon Williams, Dr. Spoors and 
others. Among the old-time physicians who 
rode horse-back from house to house, night 
and dav, in fair weather and foul, were Drs. 
John S'ims. F. A. Matheny, McCorkle, C. F. 
Barnard, Walters, Freeman. Hoyt, Cal. Hen- 
drix. Tilford, Blackstone, Tarleton, Clymer 
and Dozier, Tompkins, Thwing, H. W. Cure 
and Dr. Bradley. Dr. Hussey was about the 
first in Mooresville; then Fridinger, Hiner, 
Dr. Hawk and son, G. B. Mitchell, A. M. 
Reagan and others. Dr. Fridinger practiced 
for a time at Waverly, but Jeremiah Vincent 
was the principal physician for many years. 
Dr. White practised in Greene township, and 
Dr. Trower located in ^Morgantown in 1836. 
R. C. Griffith, another prominent physician, is 
still living in Morgantown. Dr. Lindley of 
Brooklyn, Dr. Wright, the well-beloved phy- 
sician of Monrovia, Stogsdell, a good doctor, 
but an "undesirable citizen" who left the 
county for the county's good, Drs. Charles, 
Grafton and Guy Seaton are products of Hall. 

Moving In. Men with their families came 
from their old homes in Kentucky, Virginia, 
Tennessee and the Carolinas, over mountains 
of difficulties, landing in Clarion, Morgan, 
Johnson and Hendricks counties in the spring 
and fall of 1820, some coming as late as the 
last days of November, to begin the settlement 
of central Indiana. 

James Hadley and John Jones, from North 
Carolina, arrived in Monroe townsliip, Morgan 
county, on the 20th ray of November, 1820. 
They were brothers-in-law and members of 
the Friends Church. Their wives and chil- 
dren were kindly received, for the time being, 
in the scattered homes of the early settlers. 
Mr. Hadley with his hired man and four 
others began the erection of his log cabin the 
next day, and completed it in seven days, 
without a nail, a pane of glass or a strip of 
sawed timber, and the family moved in on the 
eighth day after their arrival. Mr. Jones' 
cabin was built in the same manner. Jones 
and Hadley were good representatives of the 
early settlers and their way of starting things 
in the wilderness was typical of all early set- 
tlers. The winter of 1820 found about fifty- 
four families in Morgan county to be trained 
to pioneer life, acclimated and have their 
"meat hardened." 

There was a "nigger-head" corncracker on 
White Lick, where the town of Brooklyn now 
stands, but the hand-mill and hominy-mortar 
got most of the trade. It was up to the bread- 
winner to find something to "crack" for the 
first year. These fifty-four families numbered 
some two hundred and fifty souls. Within 
two years they were re-inforced by one hun- 
dred and twenty other families, giving a popu- 
lation of about eight hundred. 

Peter ^lonical was, perhaps, the first local 
M. E. preacher in the county. Thomas Lock- 
heart was a minister in the Christian Church, 
and Hiram T. Craig of the Baptist, lienja- 
min Bull was first local lawyer at Martins- 
ville, Dr. John Sims first physician, Dr. Hus- 
sey first physician at Mooresville. Samuel 
]Moore was the founder of Mooresville, and 
the first merchant and trader. Washburn, Al- 
lison and the Cutlers were first merchants at 

The first commodities for export were gin- 
seng, beeswax and bucks' horns, wagoned to 
Louisville, Ky. "Sang" was legal tender — 
also coon-skins and deer-skins. The cash sys- 
tem in those days was hardly knowm. Barter- 
ing and the credit system prevailed every- 
where. What little there was of mone\- con- 
sisted of gold, silver and later on paper. 
Nevertheless, the people succeeded in busi- 
ness fairly well, with their "bits" (twelve and 
one-half cents), picayunes (six and one-fourth 
cents), and iMexican dollars. The old-time 
copper cents were of little use, other than a 
plaything for the children and to tie around 
the necks of the babies, of which there was a 
good crop every year, wet or dry. "Uncle 
Sam," who was in the real estate business, ab- 
sorbed most of the gold at $1.25 per acre, 
cash in hand. When a North Carolinian or 
Kentuckian had saved $100 in gold and landed 
in central Indiana on a i6o-acre tract of land, 
he was "happy as a clam at high tide." He 
was now assured of a good home for himself 
and family in the near future, mixed up with 
enough adventure, privation and hard work to 
make life worth living. 

r^Iorgan county lies at the head of flat- 
boat navigation on West White river to New 
Orleans, a distance of 1,800 miles. This mode 
of transportation liegan in 1825 and continued 
until the railroads were built in 1853. It has 
been computed that not less than 345 boats 
were sent along this water-way between 1829 
and 1853. 4,500,000 feet of lumber were 
used in their construction, most of which 



was the finest poplar that ever grew on White 
river. They cost about $80,000, and the car- 
goes were worth $1,350,000. These boats 
were sent about fifteen in number once per 
year, in ]\Iarch and April, with sixty men to 
man them. When unloaded in New Orleans 
they were sold for about $25 each. They 
were loaded with pork, wheat, flour, corn and 
hmiber, but pork was the principal commodity. 
For twenty years more money came to this 
county through this mode of transportation 
than through all other channels combined. 

Grist Mills. Colonel Lyon bought and 
remodeled the Brooklyn Mills early in the 
■20's. Several other mills were soon started 
on W'hite-lick Creek, by Messrs. Moon, Moss, 
Samuel Moore and Sutliflf. Some of the re- 
mains of Moon's mill are still standing and 
visible from the I. & N. railroad bridge look- 
ing west, about a furlong's distance. John 
\\'. Cox built the first mills on White river 
about the year 1824 or 1825, at a point now 
called High Rock, or Kirkwood. These mills 
were in active operation for more than forty 
years. Cornelius Free built the celebrated 
Waverly mills in 1837. It was one of the 
finest mills in central Indiana. All of White 
river could be turned on the wheels of a dry 
time, with an eight-foot fall, given by the 
feeder-dam and a short section of the old In- 
diana Central canal. ]\Irs. McKinsey, daugh- 
ter of Cyrus Whetzell, says she has seen as 
many as 100 wagons around this mill in one 
day. Other mills were built on White river, 
southwest of Martinsville, in a very early day, 
by Mr. Pumphrey, Freidrick Buckhart, 
Joshua Evilsizer and Mr. Myres. Myres' 
dam broke the back of many a flat-boat 
in its time. The mills on White river ran the 
year round, excepting during high tides, when 
they were stopped by back-water. The mills 
on the creeks were frequently closed on ac- 
count of long periods of dry weather. 

The first carding machine at Mooresville 
was built and operated by Mr. ^^■orth. Tolbert 
and Israel Gilpin built the first carding ma- 
chine in ^[artinsville, propelled by an inclined 
wlieel with three blind horses. 

Home T\r.\xuF.\cTURES. Tanyards, hat- 
ter shops, blacksmith and wagon shops, tailor 
and shoe shops were established in various 
parts of the county in a very early day ; also 
tin shops and potteries. John J. (Jeff) Gra- 
ham is said to have had the first slioe store 

in Martinsville, connected with his tanyard, 
hiring journeyman shoemakers to make the 
shoes and boots. After the sheep industry 
and flax raising got under way, the every-day 
clothing was made at home, with the addition 
of cotton yarn shipped in by the merchants. 
narly in the spring the sheep were sheared 
and the wool washed and picked and sent to 
the carding machine to await its time, which 
would often be two or more weeks. Meantime 
the flax, having been rotted, dried, broken, 
"scutched" and hackled, all by hand, was 
ready for the distaff, from which it was trans- 
ferred by deft fingers to the "flyers" of the 
little wheel, where it was made into thread 
and wound on the reel — 120 threads to the 
cut. The little wheel was propelled by means 
of a treadle, much as the present-day sewing- 
machine, the spinner sitting on a stool or 
chair. Our mothers did not make "Irish" 
linen, but a good quality of Hoosier linen, 
which, fitted to a boy's back on a frosty morn- 
ing, relieved him of the necessity of a shower 
bath. Towels, table-cloths, shirts, pillow slips 
and sheets were for many years made of flax. 
Tow-linen was used for straw-ticks, ropes, 
grain sacks and pantaloons. The flax fabrics 
of the pioneers gradually gave way to cotton 
cloth, as it was'cheaper and more comfortable. 
But jeans, flannel and linsey stayed with us 
for years, ^^'hen the rolls came from the 
carding machine, all neatly packed in a sheet, 
pinned together with thorns, our mothers or- 
dered the big wheel set on the back porch and 
the girls Ijecame "floor walkers." When a 
girl could reel off eighteen cuts per day, and 
help mother do the kitchen work, she was 
fitted for marriage, with all the accompanying 
festivities. Where now is the bare-foot girl 
in the cotton dress, surrounded by morning 
glories and "touch-me-nots," turning the 
wheel or banging the loom, meanwhile hum- 
ming "Old Sister Phoebe how merry were 
we," while her big brother went whistling to 
his plow, "The Girl I Left Behind Me," all 
lending enchantment to pioneer life? We 
have seen hundreds of lovely girls, good and 
true, all furbelowed, frilled and frizzled, but 
none more charming than the girl of old "in 
her calico dress," turning rolls into thread, 
and thread into cloth. 

Slowly her shuttle swings to and fro, 
Catching the hum of the river's flow. 
Culling the song of the hirds and hees. 
Gleaning the inurinur of forest trees. 



Now she is blending the blush of rose, 
Weaving it in as the shuttle goes; 
Tips of the trees by the sunlight kissed, 
Jewels of dew that the sun has missed. 
God and contentment and love and play, 
These are the skeins she wove every day. 

The reader will perceive that we have 
woven in some of Byron William's "Dreams." 
changing the form so as to fit our girl of the 

For nine years after the county organiza- 
tion we were' joined to several other counties 
for representation in the General Assembly. 
From 1822 to 1831 the senators were John 
AI. Coleman, James B. Gregory, Levi Jessup 
and Lewis :Maston : and the representatives 
were Hugh Barnes, Eli Dixon, Daniel Harris, 
Thomas J. Mattock, Dr. Hussey and Alex. 
Worth: the two last named were citizens of 
]\Iooresville, at the time of election. Under 
the old Constitution the elections were held 
once a vear — first ^Monday in August — for 
representatives, and every third year for sen- 
ators. The Legislature met once every year — 
generally in the fall season— until 1852, when 
the present Constitution was adopted, chang- 
ing the election to once in two years. The 
date and order of their election from 1831 is 
as follows : John W. Cox, R., 1831-32 ; Grant 
Stafford, R., 1833-34. and senator. 1836-40; 
W. H. Craig, R., 1835 ; Hiram Matthews, R., 
1836: Dr. John Sims, R., 1837 : Jonathan Wil- 
liams, R., 1838: John Eccles, R., 1839: Perry 
M. Blankenship, R.. 1840: P. ^L Parks, S., 
1841 to 1847; Dr. Francis A. Matheny, R., 
1841-42: A. B. Conduitt, R.. 1844, S., 
1848-56: Isaac W. Tackett, R., 1845-54: Ol- 
iver R. Dougherty, R., 1846-47: Alfred M. 
Delevan, R., 1848-49. S., 1850: William P. 
Hammond, R., 1850: Enos S. Taber, R., 
1852: Algernon Svdnev Griggs, S.. 1854, 
Joint R., 1868: Cyrus Whetzel, R., 1858: John 
W. Fergtison, R., i860: Jarvis J. Johnson, R., 
1862: Franklin Landers. Joint S., i860: Col. 
Samuel P. Oyler, Joint S., 1864: Nr.ah J. Ma- 
jor, R.. 1864-70-78: Capt. John E. Greer. R., 
1866: James V. Mitchell, R.. 1868: Ebenezer 
Henderson, Joint S., 1868: James J. Max- 
well. Joint S., 1872: Dr. Harvev Satterwhite. 
R., 1872: William S. Sherley, Joint R.. 1872: 
Dr. John Kennedy, R., 1874: :\Iaior George 
^^^ Grubbs. i876,"S.. 1878: Capt. David Wil- 
son. R., 1880: Gabriel M. Overstreet. Joint 
S., 1882: Tames F. Cox. Joint S.. 1886: 
George A. .\damf. R.. 1882-S4-88: Alfred W. 

Scott, R., 1886; William Harvey Brown, R.. 
1890; William Davidson Bain, R., 1892: Jo- 
seph J. Moore. Joint S., 1890: Adam Howe, 
R., 1894: Ouincv Adams Blankenship, R., 
1896-98: William' E. McCord, Joint S., 1894; 
F. A. Joss, Joint S., 1898 ; James M. Bishop. 
R., 1900 : D. P. Smith, S., 1900 : E. F. Branch, 
R., 1902-04-06, elected Speaker of the House, 
in 1907. 

F"rom the beginning until 1854 the voters 
were divided into Whigs and Democrats, and 
the party lines were strictly drawn from 1828 
to the last named date. The Democrats were : 
Cox, Williams, Eccles, Parks, Matheny, Dele- 
van and Tackett. The Whigs were : Staf- 
ford, Matthews. Sims. Craig. Blankenship. 
Conduitt, Taber, Hammond, Dougherty and 
Griggs. After the Republican organization. 
Craig, Blankenship, Matthews, Dougherty and 
Griggs espoused the Republican cause, while 
Taber and Conduitt affiliated with the Demo- 
crats. Of the last named forty-three mem- 
bers, sixteen were members of the M. E. 
Church, twelve of the Christian Church, three 
Presbyterians, three L'niversalists, one Bap- 
tist, and one member of the Dutch Reformed 
Church. There were five doctors, fourteen 
lawyers, one miller, one blacksmith, one pas- 
tor and evangelist, four ministers, six farmers, 
who followed no other business, sixteen who 
connected farming with merchandising and 
other callings. The general character of the 
foregoing fifty-three men would compare fa- 
vorably with that of any delegation sent to 
the State capital during the eighty years past 
since the county's organization. 

We cannot yet lay claim to the birth and 
education of any great man, as men count 
greatness, but he may now be going to school 
or soon will be going, and when the supreme 
hour comes, he may arise and flash a story 
or a poem across Indiana's literary horizon 
as bright and lasting as a comet's tail. Or he 
may develop into a "Tall Sycamore of the 
Wabash" or a later Albert Jeremiah, "spell- 
binder. " He is bound to come. 

[XoTE — The writer has had the honor of 
a personal acquaintance with almost all of 
the members of the Legislature elected from 
this county during the last seventy-five years, 
and is glad to pay this little tribute of respect 
to their patriotism and moral worth, and pre- 
serve their names a while longer from inevi- 
table fortgetfnlncss. X. J. M.v.tor.] 



DR. SAAIUEL W. BROWX was born in 
Barren county, Ky., March 17, 181 1. He was 
one of eleven children born to Rev. Samuel 
and Cassandra (Watt) Brown, and the eldest 
of three sons who, in time, became successful 
physicians. His father was a pioneer i\Ieth- 
odist preacher, at one time a colleague of the 
Rev. James B. Finly. His labors were chiefly 
confined to Kentucky and Tennessee, but in 
the year 1820 he was appointed to what was 
then called "White Water circuit," with Ar- 
thur Elliott. This is believed to be the only 
year he preached in Indiana. He was a man 
of winning presence, possessed of a genial 
nature, a preacher of ability and ranked wtih 
the best theologians of his day. 

The labors of the itinerant were arduous 
and rec|uired the absence of the husband and 
father a greater part of the time, it often tak- 
ing weeks and even months to "make the 
rounds."' for the Conference in those days in- 
cluded several States, or parts of States. An 
increasing family and a desire to give his chil- 
dren better educational advantages caused the 
elder Brown to locate in Brandenburg. Ky., 
where he practiced his profession, that of 
medicine, but continued to preach when not 
professionally engaged. He was a citizen of 
marked influence and died regretted by all. 
He was of Scotch-Irish descent on his father's 
side, and had a' strain of French blood on the 
mother's side, she being a Montgomery. 

The mother of S. W. Brown belonged to 
an old and sturdv Scotch family, noted for in- 
dustry, intelligence and piety. She was emi- 
nently fitted for the life of an itinerant preach- 
er's wife. When or where duty called she 
followed, with the unquestioning faith and 
courage of the true heroine. 

As the son of a pioneer preacher, Samuel 
W. Brown passed his early years as the lives 
of all such were passed, in moving from place 
to place, as the interest of the cause seemed 
to demand. His education was obtained from 
the schools he attended wherever his father's 
lot was cast. After his father's location his 
advantages were better. He spent several 
years in the study of medicine with his father, 
making due preparation for his chosen profes- 

On ?\Iarch 11, 1832. he was united in mar- 
riage with Miss l\Iargaret R. Coke, of Breck- 
inridge county, Ky. She was one of a family 
of twelve children, all of whom reached ma- 
turity. Her father, William Coke, was of 
English stock, born either in \'irginia or 

brought there from England at an earlv age. 
He married Miss Elizabeth Gore, of Nelson 
county, Ky., a member of a family of fourteen 
children. The Gores were prominent citizens 
of the above mentioned county. Mrs. Brown 
was a woman of sterling qualities, not easily 
discouraged, and a true helpmate. Indeed, 
much of the Doctor's success in his profession 
was owing to her interest in his work, and her 
sympathy and assistance in all matters per- 
taining thereto. She was of sound judgment 
and a safe counselor at all times. Early in 
his professional career Dr. Brown moved to 
Leavenworth, Ind., where he soon became 
popular as a physician and where he formed 
a partnership with his younger brother, Al- 
bert Brown. But the latter's career was short 
though promising, for he soon fell a victim 
to consumption, and passed away almost in 
the beginning of his professional life. Dr. 
Brown's oldest daughter, Elizabeth C, was 
also smitten with the same fatal disease, and 
died in her eighteenth year. His only surviv- 
ing child is the wife of N. J. Major. One 
daughter, Nancy, died when four years of age. 
The son, William C, died in infancy. 

In the late summer of 1852 Dr. Brown re- 
turned to his native State, and located in Da- 
viess county, where he purchased a farm and 
continued the practice of medicine with his us- 
ual success. Then after a few years there 
came a time when the political horizon became 
threatening and the Doctor disposed of his 
property and came North, locating in Clover- 
dale, Putnam county. Ind., in December, 1859. 
Although born and educated in the South and 
loving her people, yet he never could bring 
himself to believe in the "divine" right of one 
man to own and rule over another without his 
consent. Consequently he was anti-slavery in 
principle. Believing that trouble was coming 
to this nation in the near future, he left the 
South in time to escape personal strife, though 
at a financial loss. 

As a physician Dr. Brown was sympathetic 
and conscientious, always responding to the 
call of the sick and suffering when not prac- 
tically impossible. He did not stop to inquire 
what remuneration he was to receive for his 
services. He believed it to be his duty, as it 
was his greatest pleasure, to minister to the 
relief of suffering humanity. Not only that, 
but he frequently provided such comforts for 
his poorer patients as their condition de- 
manded. As a citizen he was law-abiding, 
his influence being always on the side of right 



and justice. As a Christian his Hfe was con- 
sistent. While a Methodist in every fibre of 
his make-up, yet he was large-hearted, and 
recognized all good men as brethren. He was, 
to quote the words of his friend, Rev. \\ illiam 
C. Smith, "A man of commanding presence, 
a noble, dignified, Christian gentleman." The 
last five or six years of his life were passed 
in Martinsville, Ind. His death occurred in 
February, 1879. He won manv friends dur- 
ing his short residence here by his qualities 
of mind and heart. He was devoted to his 
church, his friends and his family. "He loved 
his fellowman." 

of the last of the pioneer lawyers who prac- 
tised in the circuit courts of Morgan and 
Owen counties, Ind., died at his home on 
Xorth Jeliferson street, in [Martinsville, Ind., 
on Monday, Oct. 15, 1905, at eleven o'clock, 
in his eighty -third year, after a life of profes- 
sional activity covering over sixty years. He 
was born in Knox county, Tenn., Dec. 6, 1822, 
but removed with his parents to Kentucky in 
early youth, being reared in Jklaysville, Mason 
county. In his seventeenth year he was thrown 
upon his own resources. His early education 
was obtained in the country schools of Ken- 
tucky. Thence he went to Ohio, where he 
attended an academy in Delaware county, 
taught school and kept books, meantime em- 
ploying his leisure moments in reading law 
ancl assisting lawyers. After this experience 
he was first admitted to practice in the Mason 
county (Ky.) Circuit Court in 1846. A busi- 
ness trip to Indiana in May, 1848. led to his 
locating in Martinsville in June of that year. 
Compelled to live in the State one year before 
he could be admitted to the Bar. he spent the 
intervening period in teaching school, further- 
ing his law studies and familiarizing him- 
self with the Indiana code, and in 1849 he 
passed the required examination, and received 
his certificate entitling him to practice law 
from Judge David McDonald. From that 
time until the close of his long life, he was 
continuouslv engaged in the practice of law 
in Morgan and adjoining counties, being for 
a long period the senior member of the firm of 
Harrison & Shirley, later of Harrison & Mc- 
Cord, and for perhaps the last fifteen years 
of his life doing business in his own name. 

Mr. Harrison was a marked man both as 
a citizen and as a lawyer. His angular and 
somewhat ungainly figure, his homely but 

strong ancl aggressive face, his ready wit and 
characteristic humor, his striking personality, 
made him an attractive figure at the Bar, and, 
joined with his learning in the law, his match- 
less nerve, his persistency, his power of clear 
statement, his homely logic and strong invec- 
tive, his singular faculty of riveting the atten- 
tion and convincing the judgment of the jury, 
gave him a reputation, standing and success 
enjoyed by few of his associates at the Bar, 
and made him a most formidable antagonist 
even when pitted against the ablest members 
of the Bar of the State. By his well known 
and accepted cognomen, "Rip" Harrison, he 
was known far and wide, not only among the 
members of the bar, but by others who did not 
enjoy his personal acquaintance. He was a 
most companionable and entertaining man. 
His fund of anecdote and humorous stories 
was inexhaustible, and with his quaint humor, 
his homely and irresistible mannerism, the 
twinkle of his eye and the droll expression of 
his mobile face, he was unequalled as an en- 
tertainer in whatever company he was thrown. 
He was so able and successful as a lawyer 
that for many years he was the acknowledged 
head of the Alorgan County Bar, a Bar upon 
whose rolls were the names of many distin- 
guished lawyers of Indiana. He met in im- 
portant cases such distinguished legal lights 
as Benjamin Harrison, Joseph E. McDonald, 
Jonathan W. Gordon, Solomon Claypool, De- 
lana E. Williamson, Pink Fishback. John T. 
Dye, Judge Byron K. Elliott (of Indianapo- 
lis\ Gabriel Overstreet (of Franklin) and 
others of like fame, and they one and all 
recognized in him a foeman worthy of their 
steel. To the very last he was accorded their 
fellowship, friendship and respect as a lawyer. 
He had no specialty. He was an all around 
lawyer, one of the best and most successful the 
State has produced. He was a thorough trial 
lawyer in every sort of a case, civil, criminal, 
or equitable. He would give the same close 
attention, thorough preparation, vigorous 
prosecution and inimitable logic to the case 
of a poor widow or a wronged girl, where 
there was scantv hope of fees, as to that of 
the richest client or great corporation. It 
is within the memory of his associates at the 
P)ar that perhaps his greatest speeches, brist- 
ling with logic, eloquence and invective, tinged 
with humor and incisive ridicule, seasoned with 
tenderness and pathos, spontaneous and nat- 
ural, in which he swayed juries at his will, and 
compelled the wonder and admiration of all 



who heard, were made in such cases as these. 
He was the master of the art of accurate and 
strong pleading. He could state the most 
complicated cause of action in clear, logical 
and vigorous language. He wrote with care 
in a characteristic and beautiful hand. He 
was a master of good English, and his plead- 
ings were ordinarily proof against demurrer, 
and rarely subject to criticism. If his op- 
ponent, in presenting a demurrer to his plead- 
ing, suggested any defect or absence of any 
probable material allegation, he did not wait 
for any ruling of the court but would 
promptly amend and express his thanks for 
the suggestion. 

Mr. Harrison was aggressive but court- 
eous, brusque in speech and manner, given 
sometimes to outbursts of apparent anger, im- 
potence and irritability, but at heart he was 
as tender as a child and without capacity to 
hold malice. Toward the court he observed 
the deference and uniform courtesy of the old 
time lawyer, and, while a resolute fighter, he 
never failed in due consideration for opposing 
counsel. As a lawyer he was loyally and 
thoroughly true to his client, and whatever 
the cause of that client demanded, and the 
ethics of his profession warranted, he was 
ready to do ; and he did with all his might ir- 
respective of public opinion or criticism. In 
the fiercest legal contests he exhibited superb 
nerve and unfailing courage. He gave and 
received hard blows and did not flinch if over- 
thrown. He always fought to a finish. His 
resources of attack and defense were unfail- 
ing, and in the conduct of a case he exhibited 
consummate tact and generalship. 

Taking William R. Harrison altogether, 
he was a great lawyer, and his personality was 
unique and attractive, his mannerisms so char- 
acteristic, his power of eloquent and incisive 
statement so peculiarly his own, so "Har- 
risonian," that his name and fame as a lawyer 
and man are destined to live longer in the 
memory of those who knew him than that of 
probably any other man who since 1840 has 
practised in this judicial circuit. His breth- 
ren of the Bar in that circuit and elsewhere 
will miss him from the forum, which he so 
long graced and adorned. 

The following words close the article writ- 
ten by his friend, George W. Grubbs, from 
which the foregoing was also taken: "We 
give this hour and service as a deserved tribute 
to him as an honored member of the Bar, and 
in our hearts and memories we will keep alive 

and treasure the many qualities he exhibited, 
the kindly life he lived, and the loyalty to 
duty and the right that marked him as a man, 
a friend and a lawyer. If Mr. Harrison was 
great as a lawyer, he was also great in the 
higher relation of citizen; for citizenship 
in a Republic is the highest and most respon- 
sible public relation. He was always alive 
to the best interests of the community in which 
he lived. He saw JNIartinsville grow from a 
struggling village to a flourishing city. He 
helped to attract its railroads, its. industries, 
and, better than all, its substantial citizens. 
He was constantly alive to the moral welfare 
of the community, to its social life, to the 
purity of its home life, to the safety of its 
boys and girls. He was a courageous and wise 
leader in movements for social and political 
reforms, for law enforcement, and could al- 
ways he depended upon when the forces of 
right and wrong were contending for mastery. 
His instincts and his convictions were for 
"whatsoever things were true ; whatsoever 
things were honest; whatsoever things were 
just, and whatsoever things were of good re- 
port,' and he thought upon these and stood 
by his convictions. He stood for noble living 
and a square deal. He was not a fanatic nor 
a hypocrite, but a clean, wholesome, attractive 
man of tact, resource and individuality, and 
fortunate was that movement for higher and 
better things that enlisted his heart, conscience 
and devotion. His presence and counsel will 
be missed in the gathering of the good people 
of ]\Iartinsville, when met to consult of the 
public good and to devise things that make for 
public weal and for purity. He lived to see 
manv of the great ideals he cherished and 
loved realized in our home and public life, 
and then content he passed beyond, "like one 
who wraps the draper)- of his couch about him 
and lies down to pleasant dreams.' 

■'Wii-Lis Heck.x.m, 

"Samuel O. Pkkkns, 

"W. S. Shiri.ev, 

"Geo. W. Gruuiss, 

As intimated Mr. Harrison was very public 
spirited in the promotion of beneficial pro- 
jects and progressive movements. He and 
"Jeflf" Scott began the construction of the 
Fairland & Martinsville branch of the Cleve- 
land, Cincinnati. Chicago & St. Louis railroad. 
Mr. Harrison was attorney for the Big 
Four railroad for twenty or twenty-five years. 
He served frequently as judge of Courts by 


appointment, and about 1853 was nominated 
on the Republican ticket for the State Legis- 
lature, but met with defeat. In 1871-72 he 
was secretary of the State Senate. Although 
nominally a Republican, Mr. Harrison was in 
fact a very independent type. 

At the age of twenty-one years Mr. Wil- 
liam R. Harrison was made a Mason in Ken- 
tucky, and about a year later was sent as del- 
egate to the State Grand Lodge. He was ini- 
tiated in Minerva Lodge, Xo. 116, F. & A. M., 
of the town of Minerva, JNIason Co., Ky., in 
1843, and after coming to ]\Iartinsville, Ind., 
helped to organize Martinsville Lodge, No. 74, 
of which he was the first worshipful master, 
although under the dispensation of James Per- 
ham. W. M. : Mr. Harrison was also a member 
of Osceola Chapter during its existence. He 
was a member of the Cumberland Presbyter- 
ian Church and served as trustee. 

Mr. Harrison was three times married. On 
Oct. 15, 1850, he wedded ]Miss Elizabeth J. 
Park, but the duration of their felicity was 
brief, as Mrs. Harrison was called away Oct. 
20, 185 1, leaving a child, Walter J., of whom 
further mention will be made. On Nov. 20, 
1852, Mr. Harrison married IMiss Mary Wil- 
son, who died June 2, 1863, the mother of 
two children, Efifie J. and ]Mary Ellen. For 
his third wife Mr. Harrison chose Miss Mary 
J. Crawford, a daughter of James and Delilah 
(Gray) Crawford, and to this union were born 
three children, Delilah, Alartha C. and Agnes 
Mrginia. Walter J. Harrison is a farmer and 
dairyman living on West Morgan street ; he 
is married to ^liss Emma Bishop, and has a 
family of four children, Bettie Jane, Maude, 
William Ralph, and Blanche. Effie J. Harri- 
son was married to Prof. John Hesler, and 
died the mother of two daughters, Mary 
Rachel and Lelah Ellen. ^lary Ellen Harri- 
son- is unmarried and is a cottage matron at 
the Soldiers & Sailors' Home at Knightstown, 
Ind. Delilah Harrison is the wife of Henry 
Goss, lives in the Southern part of ]\Iorgan 
count}' and has four children, \\'illiam Ripley, 
Bessie, Fay and Ephraim. Martha C. Harrison 
is the wife of Odin R. Smith, of Martinsville, 
clerk of Morgan county and has three chil- 
dren, Mary V., Sidney H. and William Bar- 
tholomew. Agnes \"irginia Harrison is at- 
tending school in Indianapolis, but her home 
is in Martinsville, Indiana. 

Mrs. Mary J. (Crawford) Harrison died 
July 2, 1901, in the faith of the Cumberland 

Presbyterian Church, of wliich all the family 
are members. 

r^Ir. Harrison's ancestors, paternal and ma- 
ternal, were of New England. His parents, 
William and I^lartha (Hitchcock) Harrison, 
were natives, respectively, of Massachusetts 
and Connecticut, and through his mother he 
was a grandson of Benjamin Hitchcock, a 
native of Wales and a weaver by trade, who 
came to America from England and settled 
in Connecticut. He was a patriot in the Revo- 
lution. About 1784 he married Mary John- 
son, who long survived him, dying in 1835. 
j\Ir. Hitchcock passed away Nov. 19, 1817, in 
Connecticut. They had a large family, all 
born at Bethlehem, Litchfield Co., Conn., of 
whom we have the following record: Samuel 
Johnson, born Feb. 4, 1786; Lowly, Aug. 6, 
1787; Lucy, April 23, 1790; Delia, I\Iarch 9, 
1792; :Mary (or Polly), Dec. 19, 1793; 
^lartha, Dec. 3, 1795; Alma, Dec. 2, 1797; 
Abigail (or Nabby), Oct. 16, 1799: Sarah (or 
Sally), Feb. 23, 1802; Betsy, Aug. 10, 1804; 
Benjamin R., Aug. 5, 1806; Sophronia, Oct. 4, 
1808. One of the daughters married a Piatt 
and became the mother of Senator Orville C. 
Piatt, of Connecticut, who was thus a full 
cousin of William Ripley Harrison. Both 
the Hitchcocks and the Platts were very promi- 
nent families of the East. 

^^'illiam Harrison, father of \\'illiam R. 
Harrison, prepared for the ministry when 
young, but he never followed the sacred call- 
ing. He became a teacher and went to Ohio, 
where he met and married Mrs. Martha 
(Hitchcock) Clark, about 1820. Her first 
luisband, Thompson Clark, whom she married 
about 1818, died about 1820. ^Ir. Harrison 
then went to Louisiana, and did some business 
at Baton Rouge and New Orleans, and was 
afterward in the mountains of Tennessee for 
a year or two. He next went to Kentucky, 
and followed his profession of teacher at var- 
ious places, but his residence was in Pendleton 
county, Kentucky, where he died in 1840. His 
widow then returned to Ohio, and later came 
to Martinsville, Ind., passing the last four 
years of her life with her son. \Mlliam R. 
She expired in 1880, in her eighty-fifth year. 
IMrs. Harrison was reared an Episcopalian, 
but later became a Methodist, and she died 
in that faith. William Harrison was a Pres- 

To William and Martha (Hitchcock) Har- 
rison were born children as follows : William 


Ripley ; Frederick A., late of Martinsville ; 
Virginius (or Jake) of Colorado; Oscar, also 
of Colorado ; Jilary R., who died in infancy ; 
and ]Martha, who married ]^Iarks Smith, and 
died in 1866. 

ODIN R. S:\IITH, who has been clerk of 
the Circuit court of Morgan county, Ind., 
since Jan. i, 1907, was born Oct. 5, 1867, on 
his father's farm near Spencer, Owen Co., 
Ind. His grandfather, Alarcus Smith, a na- 
tive of Virginia, was a pioneer farmer of 
Owen county, where he died at about the age 
of eighty-two years. He and his wife, Ma- 
linda (Pierson), were members of the Chris- 
tian Church. They had a family of seven 
children : Bartholomew, Samuel, Doctor 
Presley, Jesse H., Juretta (who married Rob- 
ert Fearcy, and resides in Morgan county), 
^Marietta (unmarried) and Francis (who 
married Charles Maderias and resides on a 
farm near Spencer). The mother of this fam- 
ily died when about seventy-eight years old. 

Bartholomew Smith, father of Odin R. 
Smith, was born Feb. 5, 1837, in Owen 
county, Ind., but for many years he has been 
a prominent resident of Morgan county. He 
was sheriff of this county for four years, 1890 
to 1894, and has successfully followed farm- 
ing, still owning a farm in Clay township. He 
and his wife now reside near Brooklyn, Mor- 
gan county. In August, 1861, he married 
Mary J. Hancock, who was born near Frank- 
fort, Ky.. daughter of Thomas and Nancy 
(Gilpin) Hancock, both also natives of Ken- 
tucky, and of old Virginia ancestry. To [Mr. 
and Mrs. Smith were born five children : 
Odin R. ; Beatrice, wife of Leslie McNeff ; 
!Miss Bertha, who is deputy county clerk of 
Morgan county ; Rosetta, who died unmarried 
at the age of eighteen ; and Lora H.. a far- 
mer of Clay township, Morgan county. Bar- 
tholomew Smith is a Mason, belonging to 
Brooklyn Lodge, F. & A. M. During the 
Civil war he was a soldier in the loth Indiana 
Battery, 4th Corps. 

Odin R. Smith was educated in the common 
schools and the State Normal School at 
Terre Haute. LTntil he was twenty-one he 
followed his father's calling, farming, and 
tb.en began to teach school. After two terms 
he became deputv sheriff under his father. 
Again he taught two terms, in a country 
school, and was then appointed deputy county 
clerk, under \\'illiam A. Conner. He served 
two years, 1897 and 189S, and then after 

teaching two years in Martinsville he was 
elected principal of the ward schools there, 
continuing in that position three years. In 
1902 he purchased a farm near Martinsville, 
in Jeft'erson township, consisting of 370 acres, 
330 of which he still farms. In November, 
1906, he was elected to the office he now holds, 
that of clerk of the Circuit Court of Mor- 
gan county. :\lr. Smith is a Republican in 
political sentiment, and a Alason in fraternal 
connection, being a member of the Blue 
Lodge and of Osceola Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons, of ]\lartinsville. Mr. Smith's reputa- 
tion as a citizen, an intelligent agriculturist, a 
teacher and a public official has been credit- 
able to himself and to the excellent family to 
which he belongs. He is progressive, public- 
spirited and substantial, the kind of man that 
can be depended upon to serve his commun- 
ity well. 

On Jan. 26, 1893, Mr. Smith was married 
to :\Iiss Martha C. Harrison, daughter of 
William R. and ^lary J. (Crawford) Harri- 
son. They have had a family of three chil- 
dren, jNIary Virginia, Sidney Harrison and 
William Bartholomew. Mr. and Mrs. Smith 
are members of the First Presbyterian Church 
of [Martinsville. 

of Benjamin F. Askren removed from War- 
ren township and [Marion county a prominent 
farmer and an upright citizen who was well 
and favorably known over a large extent of 
the county. He was born June 17, 1840. in 
Warren township, a son of Thomas and Mary 
(Demoret) Askren, early settlers in Marion 

Benjamin F. Askren was reared on his 
father's farm and attended the local schools. 
In 1863 he enlisted for service in the Civil 
war, in the 70th Ind. \'. I., and was wounded 
in the battle of Resaca, and returned to his 
home in 1865. 

On Jan. 15, 1874, Benjamin I". Askren 
was united in marriage with .Martha J. IV-rry, 
born in 1844, a daughter of John and Marga- 
ret (Heizer) Perry, the former of whom was 
born in Illinois, later moved to Indiana and 
still later to Iowa, where the father died. The 
other members of the family came to Law- 
rence county, Ind., just prior to the Civil war, 
the father having died in i860. Mrs. As- 
kren's maternal grandfather was born in 
Pennsylvania and removed from there to Illi- 
nris and later to Indiana. Mrs. .Vskren's 



mother passed away in 1885. The children of 
Mr. and Mrs. Perry were: James married 
Mary Hensley, and is a farmer near Kokomo ; 
Martha J. is the widow of Benjamin F. As- 
kren; Mary is the wife of Asa Newhouse ; 
Lizzie married Thomas Speeze, a farmer of 
Marion county; Edward married Kansas 
Shank and they live at Irvington ; Howard, 
deceased, married E. Perry; William married 
Ida McVay; Drucilla, deceased, married 
Henry Newhouse. 

The late Beni&min F. Askren was a very 
successful farmer and fruit grower, and 
owned an estate of 475 acres, almost all of 
which is under the plow. Few farms in this 
township can boast of more fruitful orchards, 
]\Ir. Askren taking a great deal of interest in 
his large peach and apple orchards, and devot- 
ing much time to their care. He was a man 
who loved his home, and he took pride in 
having comfort and attractiveness in his sur- 

Mr. Askren is survived by his wife and 
six children, namely : John, who married Liz- 
zie Ruark. is employed as a stenographer in 
the recorder's office ; Samuel is a farmer and 
married Leona Baxter; Annie married James 
McConnell, who farms on the old McC'onnell 
place; Charles carries on farming for his 
mother; Benjamin H. is at home; and Laura, 
is the wife of Albert Cotton, a corn inspector. 
In politics Mr. Askren was a Republican, and 
he always took an active interest in party 
matters. He belonged to the local G. A. R. 
Post, and was valued by his comrades. He 
was a man who was highly esteemed bv all 
who knew him and lived an honorable, useful 

JOHN ARMSTRONG, late of Indi- 
anapolis, was one of the prominent pioneers 
of this part of Marion county, having pur- 
chased the farm where he lived so many years 
in May, 1847, and made his location there in 
September of that year. The place was then 
known as the "Sam Houston" farm, and was 
slightly improved when it came into the 
possession of Mr. Armstrong. 

Mr. Armstrong came from Muskingum 
county, Ohio, a few miles east of Zanesville, 
where he was born April 10, 181 1, son of 
James and Isabella (Foster) Armstrong, 
pioneers of Muskingum county. His father 
was of Scotch-Irish ancestry. After the birth 
of their son John, James Armstrong and his 
wife removed to a location about four miles 

north, where John was reared to manhood. 
John Armstrong was married in 1837 to 
Frances Ann Rowe, a native of Pennsylvania, 
after which he was engaged as a merchant at 
Adamsville, Ohio, for some four years. Dur- 
ing this time he passed through the noted 
panic of 1837, and he felt it wise to exchange 
his interest in the stock of goods for a farm 
on the Muskingum river, where he lived for 
%ome years, improving his land. This place 
he sold to Joel White, a native of Virginia, 
and the land is still held by the White family. 
The sale was made in 1846, and the following 
year Mr. Armstrong came to his place in 
Marion county, Ind., which contained origin- 
ally 240 acres. A few years later he and 
Martin Williams bought a tract of ninety 
acres to the east of this farm, paying eighty- 
five dollars an acre, and this was one of the 
first real estate transfers that took place in 
the vicinity after the location of Mr. Arm- 
strong. The price was supposed to be exorbi- 
tant, but he cleared forty dollars an acre 
when he sold it to Mr. Condy. Mr. Arm- 
strong always led an active and vigorous life, 
and was a very successful farmer and stock 
raiser. In former years he was also an ex- 
tensive stock dealer. He was one of the 
oldest residents of Indianapolis, as was also 
his widow, who died March i, 1906, in her 
ninetieth year, having been born June 4, 1816. 
Mr. Armstrong and his wife had three 
children, only one of whom, Edwin J., sur- 
vives, James W. and Mary J. (Mrs. Batty) 
being deceased. James W. Armstrong, the 
eldest, born in Muskingum county, Ohio, died 
in June, 1901, aged sixty-two years. He 
served as a soldier in the Civil war, being 
captain of Company I, 17th Ind. \^ I. He 
was in partnership with his brother in the ice 
business and like him was a Scottish Rite 
Mason, attaining the thirty-second degree in 
the fraternity. He married Ida Ocorr. 
daughter of Henry Ocorr, a manufacturer of 
Indianapolis ; they had no children. Mary J. 
Armstrong married George W. Batty, a 
farmer of Muskingum county, Ohio, and they 
had one child, Jessie A., who is the wnfe of 
Karl A. Gunder, manager of the wholesale 
drug supply house of the Whitall, Tatum Com- 
pany, Chicago. 

In politics Mr. Armstrong was a Whig 
in early days, and in later life became a Re- 
publican. He was a worthy member of the 
Robert Parks Methodist Church, to which his 
widow belongs, their association with the 


Methodist Church covering sixty years. Jesse 
Rowe, Mrs. Armstrong's father, was a 
Methodist minister, and the Armstrongs have 
always been Hberal contributors to the sup- 
port of the Gospel. They have been num- 
bered among the most esteemed citizens of 
Marion county. The changes that time has 
wrought since their coming to this "county, 
over fifty years ago, have been marvelous. Indi- 
anapolis, then a straggling hamlet, is now one 
of the most beautiful of the many beautiful 
cities of the Union, with a population ex- 
ceeding two hundred thousand. North Indi- 
anapolis, for many years a farming section, 
has now become one of the most pleasant 
parts of the city. As Mr. Armstrong re- 
marked, many people remove to the city when 
they retire from the more active duties of 
life. But in his case the city came to him, the 
farm being surrounded by pleasant homes and 
business places. The land that composed the 
farm has been divided into city lots, and on 
many of these have been erected fine homes. 
He erected a beautiful brick residence at No. 
1036 We^t Thirtieth street, where he and his 
wife enjoyed their declining years in 
the benefits of an industrious and well-spent 
life. He was a man of large intelligence and 
possessed a fine memory notwithstanding his 
advanced years, for he had just reached nine- 
ty-one at the time of his death, April 10, 

Edwin J. Armstrong was born Aug. 6, 
1845, on his father's farm in Muskingum 
county, Ohio, and was but two }'ears old when 
he came with his parents to Marion county, 
Ind., and to the farm on a portion of which 
he still lives. He attended private and public 
schools and concluded his studies at Asbury 
University, now DePauw University, at 
Greencastle, Ind. For many years he was en- 
gaged in business with his father, with whom 
he carried on farming until 1880, when he 
engaged in the ice business, as a member of 
the Indianapolis Ice Company. In 1901 he 
sold out, and, owing to ill health, practically 
retired, but later took up the real estate busi- 
ness with his father, handling their own real 
estate. He is still occupied in this way. Mr. 
Armstrong's title is quite remarkable, as his 
land was purchased in 1847 and has had but 
few transfers since its purchase from the Uni- 
ted States Government. I\Ir. Armstrong is a 
prominent Scottish Rite IMason. a member of 
Mystic Tie Lodge, No. 398. A. F. & A. M., 
and Raper Commandery. both of Indianapolis. 

iMr. Armstrong was married in Indianapo- 
lis on April 12, 1882, to Miss Charlotte Sher- 
bonda, a native of Philadelphia, who died 
Sept. 14, 1892. She was a member of the 
Methodist Church. 

ELI JAY, A. B., A. M., now past four 
score years of age, and practically retired from 
the educational work that filled so many years 
of his bright, busy and useful life, has, by 
precept and by example, wielded a great and 
healthy influence over the lives of the young 
people with whom he has been brought in 
close contact. He was born in Miami county, 
Ohio, Feb. 19, 1826, son of Walter Denny and 
Mary (Macy) Jay. 

William Jay, his great-grandfather, was 
probably born in Maryland about 1720, but 
little is known of him or of his ancestry. About 
1743 he married in Frederick county, Va., 
i\lary Vestal, who was born in Chester county, 
Pa., daughter of William and Elizabeth ( Mer- 
cer) Vestal, who moved with their family 
from Pennsylvania to Frederick county, Va., 
about 1730, and who were members of the So- 
ciety of Friends. William and Mary (Ves- 
tal) Jay were the parents of eight children, 
five sons and three daughters, all born in \'ir- 
ginia between 1744 and 1765. William Jay 
died in Virginia, and it seems that his widow 
and her children joined in the large migration 
from the Northern Colonies to the Southern 
Provinces a few years before the Revolution. 
From 1750 to 1780 these homeseekers, many 
of whom were members of the Society of 
Friends, made large settlements in the newer 
portions of the Carolinas and Georgia. The 
Jay family with others of the name of Brooks, 
Brown. Coate, Compton, Cook. Coppock, Elle- 
man. Embre, Evans, Furnas, Hasket, Hol- 
lingsworth, Jenkins, Jones, Kelly, Neal, 
O'Neall, Patty, Pearson. Pemberton, Pugh. 
Thomas, Thompson and Wright, mostly from 
\'irginia and Pennsylvania, formed a large 
settlement on Bush river, then in the District 
of Ninety-six, now Newberry county, S. C, 
about forty miles west of Columbia. 

John jay, son of William and Mary, was 
born in Virginia, Oct. 26, 1752. On March 4, 
1773, he married Elizabeth Pugh, who was 
born Sept. 6, 1755. daughter of Thomas Pugh 
(born in 173 1) and his wife, Ann Wright 
(born in 1725). The Pugh family moved 
from Pennsylvania to Frederick county, Va., 
about 1750. Ellis Pugh, the founder of the 
familv in America, was born in Wales in 



1656, and emigrated in 1687 with liis family 
to Pennsylvania, where he died in 1718. He 
was an approved minister of the Society of 
Friends, preaching in the Welsh language both 
in his native land and in America. Thomas 
Pugh, son of Ellis, was born in ^\'ales in 1686, 
and his son Jesse, born in Pennsylvania in 
171 1, became the father of Thomas, whose 
daughter Elizabeth married John Jay. After 
living for more than thirty years in South 
Carolina, where their eleven children, seven 
sons and four daughters, wei-e born between 
1773 and 1795, and where three of their chil- 
dren married, John and Elizabeth Jay moved, 
in 1803, with all their family (except one son 
who came three years later) from South Caro- 
lina to Ohio, settling in Warren county. The 
father engaged in a mercantile business at 
\\ aynesville, and also carried on farming 
operations with his boys. He made two trips 
to Baltimore, Md., for goods, taking with him 
the products of the new country, such as pelt- 
ries, with his own five-horse team, and bring- 
ing his goods back in the same way. On both 
these trips he was accompanied by his son, 
Walter Denny Jay, as teamster and companion. 
In 1808 the family located on heavily timbered 
land in the southwest comer of ^lonroe town- 
ship, Miami Co., Ohio, about forty miles 
north of Waynesville, where John Jay, the fa- 
ther, had entered a consideralDle tract of land. 
In a short time the families of nine of his 
eleven children were settled either on land ad- 
joining or nearby, and in a few years the forest 
lands were changed into productive farms. It 
had been the father's intention that his son, 
Walter Denny, should be his associate and 
eventually successor in the store, but the in- 
door life was irksome to the young man, and 
he chose rather to take his axe and clear the 
newly purchased lands. John Jay died in 1829. 
\Valter Denny Jay was born in Newberry 
county, S. C, July 15, 1786, son of John and 
Elizabeth (Pugh). On Jan. 8, 1810, he mar- 
ried Mary Macy, and their married life lasted 
fifty-six and one-half years. Mary (Macy) 
Jay was born in Guilford county, X. C, Dec. 
7, 1787, daughter of Thomas Macy (1765- 
1833) and Anna Sweet (1768-1840), both na- 
tives of the Island of Nantucket, Mass., whence 
they moved with their parents to North Caro- 
lina about 1773. Early in 1787, Thomas Macy 
and -Anna Sweet w-ere married in North Caro- 
lina, in which State they made their home un- 
til after the hirth of five of their children. In 
1797 they moved to East Tennessee, where 

five, more children were born, the remaining 
two being born after the removal to Ohio in 
1807. In the latter State they located in Mi- 
ami county, on land adjoining that of John 
Jay. Their daughter Mary was their oldest 
child, and was of the seventh generation of 
the family in America. The ancestor of the 
]vlacy family in the New World was Thomas 
Macy, born in Wiltshire, England, in 1608. 
who came to Salisbury, Mass., between 1635 
and 1640, residing there until 1659. Being one 
of a company that had purchased Nantucket 
for homes, he went there with his family in 
October, 1659, with two other white men, and 
spent the winter there in the midst of 3000 
Indians, who received them kindly and assisted 
them in getting a living by fishing and such 
pursuits as were familiar to the aborigines. 
Thomas Macv died in 1682, and his wife Sarah 
Hopcott, born in 1612, died in 1706. From 
him, the line is through John i\Iacy ( 1635- 
1691) and Deborah Gardner (1658-1712): 
Thomas ^lacy (1687-1759) and Deborah Cof- 
fin ( 1680-1760) : and Jolin Macy (1675-1751') 
and Judith Worth (1689-1767) (the line here 
doubling the grandson of Thomas (1687), 
Paul 2vlacy, marrying Bethiah Macy. the 
granddaughter of John (1675) : Joseph Macy 
(1709-1772, son of Thomas) and Hannah 
Hobbs : and John Macy ( 1721 son of John, 
died after 1795) and Eunice Coleman (1724- 
1768) : Paul Macy (1740-1832, son of Joseph 
and Hannah) and Bethiah Macy (1744-1810. 
daughter of John and Eunice) ; to Thomas 
and Anna ( Sweet) Macy, mentioned above. 

!Mrs. Anna (Sweet) ^lacy was of the sixth 
generation of the Gardner line in America, 
this family being also early settled in Nan- 
tucket. Richard Gardner (1626-1688) mar- 
ried Sarah Shattuck (1632-1724). Their son. 
Richard Gardner (2) (165^1728). married 
Mary Austin. Their son. Solomon Gardner 
(1680-1760) married Anna Coffin (died in 
1740). Their son, Stephen Gardner (1718- 
1792), married Jemima Worth (1710-17801, 
and they removed about 1770 from Nantucket 
to North Carolina. Their daughter, Mary 
Gardner (1751-1708), married John Sweet, a 
native of England. Their daughter, Anna 
Sweet (176S-1840), married Thomas Macy 
(176:^-1855). Their daughter. MaryMacy 
r 1787-1868') . married 1810. Walter Dennv lav 
(1 786- 1 86.0. 

EH T.nv. son of Walter Denny and Mary 
(Macv) Jav, was born as above stated in Mi- 
ami county. Ohio, and was brought u]5 on a 


farm under the care of parents who early 
trained their children to habits of industry and 
usefulness. Amusements and sports were not 
considered the main objects of living, but 
came incidentally as occasion seemed to re- 
quire, and were enjoyed more because un- 
expected than if planned and worked for. 
Rainy days and times of slack work were more 
apt to be passed with good books in the quiet 
home, than in the excitement and frolic where 
idlers meet to kill time. The remembrance of 
these strenuous years of work, where correct 
habits were formed, sweetened by the benefi- 
cent results accomplished, is still very pleas- 

While the schools, as far as they went, 
were a great blessing, they had little to 
otYer to the bright pupil, who after he had 
completed the very few branches taught could 
find nothing fresh with which to feed his hun- 
gr\- mind. i\Ir. Jay's experience was typical of 
the studious pioneer boy. The five years fol- 
lowing his fourteenth year, during which time 
he attended the three months' winter school 
monotonously reviewing what he had thor- 
oughly learned before, were practically wasted 
so far as educational advancement was con- 
cerned. A keen taste for reading gratified by 
the few books that came his way redeemed 
somewhat the intellectual barrenness of that 
period. Mr. Jay's father then, influenced by 
his three younger sons (of whom Eli was sec- 
ond), hired a young man of advanced educa- 
tion who opened a good school in a comfort- 
able settlement school house for four months 
two winters, where the pupils could push ahead 
as fast as they pleased. Ambitious young men 
and women gathered here, and much real work 
was done. ]\Ir. Jay here mastered pretty 
thoroughly nearly all the mathematics of an or- 
dinary colle,ge course, and acquired a knowl- 
edge of Physiology, Natural Philosophy, 
Zoology, Chemistry and Geology. As he him- 
self has expressed it, the eight months in this 
school made a "refreshing oasis in his intel- 
lectual life." The next two winters, he him- 
self taught a similar school in an adjoining 
neighborhood, and the summer between 
(1848) he attended for five months Farmer's 
College, near Cincinnati, Ohio, where among 
other worthy classmates were Benjamin Har- 
rison and Murat Halstead, whose influence has 
been left on our country's history. 

On Oct. 24. 1849, ^Ir. Jay was married to 
Mahalah Pearson, iDorn Dec. 7, 1827, who had 
been his schoolmate in the eight months' 

school referred to. For the three previous years 
she had taught public schools in the summer 
and attended private schools in the winter. 
Her ancestors came from England to the Prov- 
ince of Pennsylvania under William Penn. 
Thomas Pearson was married in Cheshire, 
England, Feb. 18, 1683, to Margery Smith, 
and they came to Pennsylvania, arriving in 
August of that year. Their fourth son, Enoch 
Pearson, born 1690, married in 1719, Mary 
Smith, and three of their sons moved, about 
1770, with their families, to Newberry county, 
S. C. Samuel Pearson, one of these three 
sons of Enoch, had lived, on his way South, 
several years in Frederick county, Va., where 
in 1762, he married Mary Rogers. Their eld- 
est son, Benjamin Pearson, born in Virginia 
in 1763, married in South Carolina in 1790, 
Esther Furnas (1770-1835), whose parents 
were natives of the county of Cumberland, 
England. Their son, Moses Pearson, born in 
South Carolina in 1798, married in Ohio in 
1823, Sarah Pearson (1805-1844), and their 
daughter, Mahalah, married Eli Jay. Sarah 
(Pearson) Pearson, mother of ]\Irs. Jay, was 
a great-granddaughter of Thomas Pearson 
(1728-1820), son of Enoch and brother of 
Samuel Pearson mentioned above. In 1751 at 
Philadelphia he married Ann Powell. Their 
second son, Enoch Pearson ( 1761-1839). mar- 
ried in South Carolina in 1784, Ann Evans 
( 1 763-1836). Their son, Robert Pearson 
( 1785-1860), in South Carolina, in 1804. mar- 
ried Charity Galbreath (1788-1811). Their 
daughter, Sarah Pearson, born in South Caro- 
lina in 1805, married Moses Pearson as above 
stated. The Pearsons moved from South 
Carolina to :\Iiami county, Ohio, in 1806. 

To the marriage of Mr. and i\Irs. Eli Jay 
has come one daughter, Mary A., born at 
Richmond, Ind., Jan. 4, 1871, who married. 
July 31, 1895, Edgar H. Ballard, who died 
Aug. 14, 1901, leaving his widow with two 
children, both horn at Richmond: Juanita, 
Aug. 2. 1896, and Eleanor. Oct. 11. 1897. Mrs. 
Ballard is a graduate of the University of 
:Michigan, A. B., 1891, and is a successful 
teacher, being now connected with Earlham 
College. She and her children reside with 
Mr. and :Mrs. Jay. 

Soon after their marriage Mr. and :\Irs. 
Tay began teaching in a school house he and 
his brother William had built the previous 
summer near the villa,ge of Fredericksburg, on 
their own land. There seemed to be a real 
need of such a school as had been conducted 



b\' Mr. Jay the two preceding winters, but 
the school houses were not well adapted to 
the purpose, hence the new building with its 
commodious school room and recitation room, 
suitable for the work of two teachers. This 
was patronized far beyond their expectations, 
and was ver\- successful in every way. After 
conducting this school two years, both Mr. 
Jay and his wife felt the need of a better edu- 
cation for their work, and realized they would 
never be satisfied without it, so they deter- 
mined to give up teaching — their financial con- 
dition then warranting this — and enter upon 
a complete college course. They spent two 
years at Oberlin College, Oberlin, Ohio, then 
the only co-educational school in the country, 
doing there work in Latin and Greek, and such 
other studies as were necessary to enter col- 
lege. Their four years" course was pursued at 
Antioch College, Yellow Springs, Ohio, a co- 
educational institution opened in the fall of 
1853, under the presidency of the Hon. Horace 
JNIann. a noted educator. They graduated in 
1857 with the degree of A. B., and in i860 re- 
ceived the degree of A. AL, Thomas Hill, later 
president of Harvard, being the president then. 
During all their six years of study, they kept 
house, most of the time having with them some 
relative they were assisting in getting an edu- 
cation. They had so thorough a foundation 
for their work, that they found their studies 
did not occupy all their time, but that they 
could also do some teaching. Mrs. Jay taught 
a large class in Latin in the Preparatory De- 
partment of the College all through her senior 
year, and continued teaching Latin and other 
studies in that department for more than two 
years after graduation, while Air. Jay taught 
in the public schools of Yellow Springs two 
years, and one year in an academy near Lafay- 
ette, Ind. Together they taught two years at 
Spiceland, Ind., and one year at Tippecanoe 
City, Ohio. After this they returned to their 
home at Yellow Springs, expecting to rest for 
a year, but the demand for teachers was so 
urgent, owing to their scarcity in that war 
time, that they taught for part of the year. 

In the summer of 1864 both Prof, and Airs. 
Jay accepted positions at Earlham College, 
"Richmond, Ind.. and soon after sold their 
property at Yellow Springs, and since then 
Richmond has been their home. Their work 
at Earlham began in 1864 and closed in 1884. 
During most of these years Mrs. Jay taught 
Latin and other studies in the Preparatory 
Department and a gi od part of the time was 

I'rincipal of that department, which included 
two-thirds of all the students in the school, 
and the last year she had charge of all the 
essay work in the College classes. Prof. Jay 
himself held several dift'erent positions, teach- 
ing for several years Alathematics, Natural 
Science and Histor}' in the Preparatory De- 
partment; was acting President in 1874-5 dur- 
ing the absence of the President on a visit in 
the Sandwich Islands, and the last five years 
was Professor of Alathematics. Physics and 
Astronomy in the College. They were away 
from the college about five years, resting, trav- 
eling, and one year working among the In- 
dians at Fort Sill, now Lawton, Okla., and 
two years teaching a township high school in 
Henry county, Indiana. 

Since 1884 neither Prof, nor Airs. Jay has 
engaged in much regular teaching. One win- 
ter they spent in Florida and taught a small 
five months' school. From 1888 to 1891 they 
resided at Ann Arbor, Alich., while their 
daughter took a literary course in the Univers- 
ity of Alichigan, and at the same time they 
pursued several lines of study, attending many 
lectures and recitations, although not enrolled 
as regular students. 

For the past twenty years Airs. Jay has 
devoted a large part of her time to missionary 
work, having made three trips, of several 
months each, to Alexico. in the interest of the 
Friends Alissionary work in that country. For 
thirteen years she has been secretary of the 
American Friends Board of Foreign Missions. 
which has been a Bureau of Information for 
all American Friends' mission work, and 
which has for about eight years been carrying 
on successful field work in northeastern Cuba. 
In the past twenty-four year's both Prof, and 
Airs. Jay have given private instruction in 
their home to many who have sought their aid. 
To close this brief outline of the vast work ac- 
complished bv these earnest teachers, no bet- 
ter resume of the whole could be found than in 
the Professor's own words : "In the years of 
our semi-retirement we have found sufiicient 
employment and plenty of lines of research 
and study to prevent the rust of either physical 
or mental inactivity. We are now both past 
four score years, and we rejoice to be in a fair 
state of health and strength for people of our 
age. As we look back on our past >-ears we 
are deeply thankful that they have been so 
full of joy and usefulness and peace as they 
have. Our lives and work have brought us 
in contact with many thousand young people 



in the formative time of their Hves, and we 
trust, through divine grace, our connection 
with them has been for their good and that we 
have been of benefit in the communities where 
our lot has been cast. Such at least has been 
the motive which has inspired and sustained us 
during all these years." 

ceased). For many years the late James J. 
Maxwell was one of the leading men of ]Mor- 
gan county, prominent in promoting move- 
ments for its benefit, a public-spirited citizen, 
a factor in political circles and one of the large 
and successful farmers. He was born Feb. 
^7, 1839, in ]\Iorgan county, Ind., where his 
parents were pioneers, son of John and Cath- 
erine (Graham) IMaxwell. 

John Alaxwell came from Ireland and set- 
tled in Morgan county in its early days, fol- 
lowing farming for many years in Washing- 
ton township. His death occurred at Mar- 
tinsville when he was aged sixty-five years. 
He married Catherine Graham, who came 
from Scotland, where her father, James Gra- 
ham, lived and died. She was one of his two 
children. She lived to be eighty years of age. 
Roth she and her husband belonged to the 
Catholic Church. They were the parents of 
seven children, three of whom are living: 
Robert ; Susanna, wife of Josiah Burton, of 
Martinsville ; and Catherine, wife of Paul 
Murphy, of Alabama. 

The boyhood of James J. Maxwell was 
passed on the farm' in Morgan county which 
was his home through life. His education 
was superior to that of the majority of his 
companions, and he attended the Martinsville 
high school, and later had advantages in Cin- 
cinnati. His vocation was farming, and he 
owned five hundred acres of land four miles 
south of ]\Iartinsville. During a long period 
Mr. Maxwell was a leader in the Democratic 
party, and was its chosen representative for 
the State Legislature for two terms. His 
services as a legislator reflected credit upon 
himself and his constituency. In the Masonic 
fraternity he was widely known. With his 
wife he belonged to the Christian Church and 
at one time was one of the deacons in that 
bod v. 

On Feb. 15, 1866, Mr. Maxwell was 
united in marriage with Miss Cynthia 
Hodges, daughter of John and Lucy (New- 
land) Hodge., and the following children 
were born to them : Josephine, one of the 

successful teachers in the Alartinsville public 
schools, now taking a course in Emerson 
College, Boston; Alinnie Myrtle, who died 
aged two years ; Otto, who died aged three 
years ; Frank Robert, a physician in Martins- 
ville ; Howard H., . formerly a science teacher 
in the Normal School at Chillicothe, Mo., now 
Superintendent of Schools at Valley City, N. 
Dak. ; Mitte May, who married Jesse Ran- 
dall, of Franklin, and died Aug. ig, 1905 ; 
and John, who operates the home farm for 
his mother. The death of the father of this 
family, the Hon. James J. Maxwell, took place 
Dec. 8, 1901. 

John Hodges, father of Mrs. Maxwell, 
was one of the six children of Thomas and 
Elizabeth (Parr) Hodges, who came at a 
very early day to Indiana, and in Washington 
county, near Salem, entered land from the 
government, later coming to Baker township, 
Morgan county. Thomas Hodges was a son 
of a kid-glove manufacturer in England. He 
died near Salem, Washington county, when 
near eighty years of age ; his wife died in Ba- 
ker township, JMorgan county, aged seventy 
years. ■ 

John Hodges accompanied his parents to 
Washington county, Ind., and later, on his 
own account, entered government land in Ba- 
ker township, jMorgan county, where he died 
in 1846, aged forty-six years. His wife, Lucy 
Newland, was a native of Kentucky, but was 
reared in Washington county, Ind., where she 
married, and she and husband soon after set- 
tled in Morgan county, where she diejd in July, 
1882, at the age of seventy years. Mr. and 
Mrs. Hodges had a family of six sons and 
four daughters, the surviving members being: 
William, of Baker township ; Louisa, wife of 
Presley Johnson, of Paragon, Ind. ; Sarah, 
wife of John C. Duncan, of Indianapolis ; and 
Cynthia, wife of ]\Ir. Maxwell. Mrs. Lucy 
(Newland) Hodges was a daughter of Wil- 
liam Newland, who came to Washington 
county, Ind., from Kentucky at an early date ; 
he married Nancy Booth, reared a large fam- 
ily, and died at the age of ninety years. All 
these names represent old established families 
of the county who have been prominent in 
the development of this part of the State of 
Indiana, and are among its wealthiest and 
most respected citizens. 

ELLIOTT A. NELSON, one of the lead- 
ing florists of Indianapolis, has had a career 
that well illustrates the value of persistent 


enterprise and tireless energy in this age. 
Altliough he had to start at the very founda- 
tion of his business in 1893, he has now ten 
houses, covering 34,000 feet of ground, his 
being by far the largest establishment of its 
kind in the city today. The business which 
he transacts compares ver)- favorably with 
that of any other florist in the West. 

Mr. Nelson is a native of Indianapolis, 
born feb. 21, 1868, at the home of his parents 
on Madison avenue. James Nelson, his father, 
was born in Denmark, where his parents, Niels 
Christopher Frederickson and Susie Pierson, 
were farming people. James Nelson followed 
the custom of his native land and added the 
"son" to his father's given name, hence Niel- 
son, or Nelson as it is now written. He learned 
flour-milling, and coming to Indianapolis in 
August, 1865, with a friend who had settled 
in the city, he found work in a mill on the 
canal, south of the tOwn, called the Underbill 
^Nlill, at the end of the canal and half a square 
west of South Meridian street. He is at pres- 
ent with his son in the florist business, and 
has been ever since it was started. James Nel- 
son has been twice married. His first wife, 
Christina Jacobsen, died nine months after 
their marriage, and in 1867 he married Marie 
Hansen. To this union have been born seven 
children : Elliott A. ; Sena, who is at home ; 
Thorena, wife of Edward Schoen, cigar and 
tobacco dealer of Indianapolis ; Clara, Hutter, 
Walter and Albert, all at home. Mr. Nelson 
is a member of the I. O. O. F. and Court of 

Elliott A. Nelson began to learn his pres- 
ent business in 1888, with James Larson, 
whose reputation as a superior florist was well 
established, and with whom he served an ap- 
prenticeship of two years. He was engaged 
at the business for seven years before he 
started for himself. To a thorough knowledge 
of all branches of the florist's field Mr. Nelson 
adds an enthusiastic love for his work. His 
enterprise and energy have overcome all ob- 
stacles, and have brought him in a very brief 
period to the verj' front of his calling. It is 
a pleasure to visit his beautiful grounds and 
beautiful greenhouses, at Nos. 3503-07 North 
South avenue. It is hard to realize that so 
much can be accomplished in so short a time. 
Mr. Nelson has a very complete and general 
stock, making, however, at the present time, 
a specialtv of roses and carnations. 

Mr. Nelson married :Miss Rose Green, 
daughter of Henry C. and Harkey (Lee) 

Green, natives of Indiana. Mr. Green was a 
school teacher, was a soldier in the Civil war, 
and died in December, 1903. Mr. and Mrs. 
Nelson are members of the University Place 
Baptist Church. Mrs. Nelson is a woman of 
much worth and high character. She and her 
husband have many friends in the city, and 
their associates and patrons include some of 
the best people of Indianapolis. 

"Uncle Billy" Jackson to the thousands of 
people in Indianapolis who called him friend, 
was probably one of the most widely known 
men who have ever lived in that city. He 
was one of the characters of his day, known 
best for his kindliness and unstinted gener- 
osity, though aside from his reputation as a' 
pbilanthropist he had high standing as a busi- 
ness man and was popular wherever known. 
He aided thousands, in many ways. Gen. 
John Coburn said of him: "I have known 
William N. Jackson since I was a boy. He 
came to Indianapolis in an early day and en- 
gaged in the mercantile trade, was also secre- 
tary and treasurer of the Madison and Indian- 
apolis Railway Company, and was later con- 
nected with the Bellefontaine railroad. He 
was an active Presbyterian, a generous, kind- 
hearted bachelor gentleman of the old school. 
He was a good friend and fond of society, a 
man upright and moral and an unpretending 
Christian, universally respected, beloved by 

IMYRON DICKSON, clothier and farrner, 
one of the leading business citizens of Martins- 
ville, Ind., was ixjrn Oct. 16, 1845, i" Fulton, 
111., son of James Clarke and Sibyl (Kendall) 
Dickson. The former was a native of \'er- 
mont and the latter of Massachusetts. Myron 
was one of seven children born to them, the 
other survivors being: Carlos, of Chicago, 
111.; Wallace E., of Martinsville; and Alice 
Josephine, wife of A. W. Hester, of Chicago, 

The Dickson s are descended from Richard 
or Dick of Keith or Keth, a son of the family 
of Keith or Keth, Earls of Marshall, one of 
the most powerful families of Scotland, at a 
time when with the sole exception of the 
royal family the rank of Earl was the 
highest in the kingdom. This family had 
such great possessions that it was for- 
merly said that they could journey from 
the north to the south of Scotland 
and sleep every night in their own castle. 



The mother of Richard of Keith or Keth was 
a daughter of Douglas. Richard was born in 
1247. His sons were styled Dick after him. 
Thus the origin of the name, the word son 
being affixed in the Lowlands in the same 
manner as Mac was preiixed in the Highlands. 
Descendants of the family are settled mostly 
in the counties of Peebles and Berwick, also 
in Lanarkshire. The Dickson Clan was one 
of the most prominent of the Border Clans. 
Most of the clansmen were "Lairds." many 
occupying high positions in Parliament, the 
Scotch Government and local affairs. The 
Border Clans were Hume, Elliott, Johnston, 
Graham, Irving, Armstrong, Cranston, Cock- 
burn, Maxwell, Gladstone, etc. Archdeacon 
Barbour writes at length of them in 1375. 
Blind Harry, the famous minstrel, sings of the 
exploits of Thomas Dickson in 1381. Robert 
Dickson married into the Douglas family and 
his coat-of-arms carries three stars of the 
Douglas coat. These stars are called mullets in 
heraldry. Its motto: "Fortune favors the 
brave." The two other coats of arms in the 
family are first: "A human heart in blood, 
red color, with silver wing on either side." 
]Motto: "Heavenward." Second: "A deer 
couchant (lying down) with its head up in a 
wreath of laurel." Motto: "Though lying 
down I am on the watch." Thom Dickson of the 
15th century, was a famous man, was lord of 
two baronies, and a governor of Douglas castle. 
The family includes several clergymen and 
professors of Edinburgh L^niversity. Robert 
Dickson, of Bouchtrig, County Berwick, was 
one of those who fell on the Field of Flodden 
in 15 13. Robert Dickson, another descendant, 
the paternal grandfather of Myron Dickson, 
came to America in 1773 with a Scotch Colony 
from Glasgow, and purchased a tract of land 
at Ryegate, Vt., on the Connecticut River, 
where he settled with his family. He was a 
soldier of the War of 1812. He married Jean 
Lindsay (paternal grandmother of Myron 
Dickson), a descendant from the Xiord 
King of Sweden (B. C. 40). deduced from 
the Danish and Swedish archives, has been 
fully compiled by Harrison, the historian of 
the West Riding of York. According to Har- 
rison (see History of York chart) Niord is 
descended from Odin, King of Ascardia, who 
came out of Scjihia with an army of Goths, 
conquered northern Europe, settled Sweden, 
reigned and died there. Odin was forty-first 
in the descent from Eric, King of the Goths 
in Scandinavia, living in the same time as 
Seruc, great-grandfather of "Abraham." The 

Scotch name of Lindsay dates from 11 16 in 
the reign of David I. Walter de Lindsay, son 
of Baron Baldric de Lindsay, was an Anglo- 
Norman, and one of the great Barons of Wil- 
liam the Conqueror, related to and contem- 
porary with him, was Baron Baldric de Lind- 
say, a Norman gentleman. The family is an 
offshoot of the noblest family of the Normans 
and of a common male stock with Rollo and 
the Dukes of Normandy, and is descended 
from the royal houses of Denmark, Gothland, 
and Sweden, tracing (by chart) to Niord, 
King of Sweden (40 B. C'.), WiUiam de Lind- 
say of Ericldun First of Scotland, 1133, Wal- 
ter Lindsay of Ericldun, 11 50, William Lind- 
say of Ericldun and Crawford, 1236, married 
Marjory, daughter of Henry, Prince of Scot- 
land, sister of "William the Lion," descendants 
of Malcolm Canmore and the Saxon princess 
Margaret of England, sister of Edgar, the last 
heir of the Saxon line. Jean Lindsay was a 
descendant of this line. Sibyl 'Kendall 
Dickson, the mother of Myron, was a descend- 
ant of the ^^'ilder family. Nicholas \Mlder, 
a military chieftain in the army of the Earl of 
Richmond, at the battle of Bosworth in 1485, 
came from France with the Earl and landed at 
Milford Haven, England, with him. On April 
15. 1497, being the twelfth year of the reign 
of Henry YU, the King gave him as a token 
of his favor a landed estate and a coat of 
arms. John Wilder, his son. was in posses- 
sion of the estate in 1525, and died in 1588. 
He married Alice Keats, daughter and heiress 
of Thomas Keats of Sulham House. Thomas 
Wilder, his son, heir to the Sulham estate, in 
Berkshire, England, married Martha, and 
sailed for America in 1638 in the ship "Con- 
fidence," from Southampton, for Massachu- 
setts Bay. They landed at Hingham, Mass. 
Thomas Wilder, a son of the former, settled in 
Charlestown, Mass., in 1639, later removing 
with his family to Lancaster, Mass. He was 
one of the subscribers to the Courts grant for 
Lancaster as a settlement in 1659." In the 
Military Annals of Lancaster. Mass., his name 
appears as lieutenant on the roll of Colonial 
soldiers. Joshua Wilder, a descendant of this 
family, born in May, 1759, died March 14, 
1849. He served in the war of the Revolution, 
and reared a family of thirteen children. His 
oldest daughter, Anna, born in 1782, married 
Luke Kendall, the maternal grandfather of 
Myron Dickson. Joshua Wilder's brother, 
Sampson, settled in Bolton, Mass. The follow- 
ing is from a clipping from a Boston 
paper, of Nov. 17. 1900, on the sale 

I Go 


of his old home: "■McKinley's Sum- 
mer Home. The Mansion that was to have 
been Napoleon's Refuge." "Agreements 
have been signed for the sale of the 
magnificent old estate in Bolton, Wor- 
cester county, known as the Sampson Wilder 
Mansion, situated at the crest of the Wotto- 
quotic Hill, to J. Wyman Jones, of Engle- 
wood, Xew Jersey, brother-in-law of Mark 
A. Hanna. It is pretty certain that this will 
serve as the summer home for President Mc- 
Kinley. This property, aside from being one 
of the most picturesque and elegant in that 
part of the country, possesses many historic 
associations. It is a well established tradition 
that it was arranged that the Wilder Mansion 
should be an asylum for Xapoleon after his 
defeat at Waterloo. Passage had been en- 
gaged for him on a vessel that was to bring 
iiim to America, but he waited too long and 
was unable to sail, and gave himself up as a 
prisoner of war." 

Dr. James Clarke, Dickson, the father of 
Myron Dickson, married Sibyl Kendall, at 
Boston. Mass., and located in Cincinnati, 
Ohio, in 1830. He moved from there to In- 
dianapolis about 1840, and then removed to 
Fulton, 111. There the family lived for a 
number of years, and there most of the chil- 
dren were ix>rn. He later returned to Indi- 
anapolis, remaining several years, then going 
to Paola, Kans., where they resided until af- 
ter the close of the Civil war. Coming again 
to Indianapolis, and giving up the practice of 
medicine, he entered into a partnership with 
his son, Carlos, in the firm of C. Dickson & 
Co., engaging in selling agricultural imple- 
ments and woolen mill findings. He made In- 
dianapolis his home during the remainder of 
his life, his death, however, occurring in Mar- 
tinsville, at the age of seventy-six years. His 
wife died in Indianapolis some years previ- 
ously at the age of fifty-eight years. 

Until the outbreak of the Civil war My- 
ron Dickson remained with his parents, at- 
tending school in the various localities where 
the family was established. As a member of 
Company F, 14th Kansas Cavalry, he served 
three years in the war, taking an active part 
in manv battles, and in the constant skirmish- 
ing, and acting as scout for eight months. His 
brother Wallace served three years and then 
re-enlisted as a veteran. His brother .\lonzo 
served almost three years and was killed in 
battle. After the close of the war Myron 
Dickson returned to Indianapolis and entered 
business college, afterwards taking a position 

as bookkeeper with the firm of W. P. & E. 
P. Gallup, later embarking in the grain trade 
at Martinsville, Ind., and with C. Dickson & 
Co., Indianapohs. Prior to Mr. ^Mitchell's 
death Mr. Dickson held the position of paying 
and receiving teller in the Mitchell bank for 
seven years. 

On Dec. 2"], 1S71, Mr. Dickson married 
Miss Catherine Mitchell, daughter of the 
banker, the late Samuel M. Mitchell, and Anne 
(Sandy) Mitchell, of Martinsville, Ind. Four 
children have been born to this union, namely : 
Samuel M. died aged six months. Anne May. 
a graduate of Lasell Seminary, Auburndale, 
Mass., near Boston, married James Spencer 
Adsit, general agent of the Chicago. Milwau- 
kee & St. Paul Railroad, at Kansas City, '\\o., 
and they have one son. James Spencer, Jr. Dr. 
Giles Mitchell Dickson, a graduate of Hi.ghland 
Military .Academy, Worcester, Mass., and of 
the Ohio Medical College, Cincinnati, married 
Miss Elizabeth McCracken. second daughter 
of Calvin A. and Mary ( ^lathews) McCracken, 
of Martinsville, Ind., and was associated with 
his uncle. Dr. Giles S. Mitchell, of Cincinnati, 
Ohio, in the practice of medicine until his 
death, when he returned to Martinsville, and 
became a partner in the clothing business with 
his father : he has had two children, Robert 
Spencer, who died at the age of eleven 
months ; and Mary Catherine. Harold Ben- 
ton Dickson is a student at Highland Military 
Academy, Worcester, Massachusetts. 

While Mr. Dickson has never had any de- 
sire to serve the city or State in any official 
capacity he has been recognized as a force in 
the community in all that tended to built up 
and strengthen good citizenship. His ideals 
of civic righteousness are high but practical, 
and he is always ready to give his best eflforts 
in any cause that appeals to him on the score 
of community interest. He is a man of deep 
and strong convictions with the characteristics 
of his Scotch race. Though a quiet man, he 
has deep sensibilities and when these are 
stirred he is at his best. He deli.ghts in a good 
fight when in the cause of right and justice. 

'\\r. Dick.son and his family resided in the 
old Mitchell homestead for fifteen years and 
they have recently moved into their beautiful 
new home opposite the old homestead. Mr. 
Dickson like liis father has always been iden- 
tified with the Republican party, casting his 
first vote for .Abraham Lincoln at the age of 
eighteen years, while a soldier in the Civil 
war. In religion the family are members of 
the Cliristian Church. 



THOMAS REDMOND, who was a busi- 
ness man of Indianapolis for several years be- 
fore his death, was born in Dublin, Ireland, 
and came of an aristocratic and prominent 
family, many of whose members are profes- 
sional men and political leaders in the old 
country. He was an uncle of the Hon. John 
E. Redmond, of Dublin, a member of the 
House of Parliament and one of the leading 
politicians of his country. 

Thomas Redmond was highly educatedi 
in his native land, and came to this country be- 
fore his marriage. Locating at Evansville, 
Ind., he taught school for several years, and 
later embarked in the grocery business. There 
he married his first wife, by whom he had 
two children, and after her death he married 
Miss Ann Parks. When he enlisted for service 
in the Civil war he moved his family to Indi- 
anapolis, and this city has been their home 
ever since. Here he engaged in a wholesale 
and retail grocery business, which he con- 
tinued up to the time of his death, Jan. 19, 
1875. Mr. Redmond was reared a Catholic. 
During the Fenian troubles he was very loyal 
to the Irish cause, and led a company to join 
the raid on Canada. Some fighting had al- 
ready been done, and much blood would have 
been shed if the American government had 
not strongly interfered. The silk out of 
which his Fenian banner was made was im- 
ported by him from Ireland. Had he lived, 
he would undoubtedly have made his mark 
in American politics. He was broad-minded, 
intelligent, and connnanded the unreserved 
confidence of all with whom he came into con- 
tact. After his death his wife and family 
were robbed of their possessions by sharks and 
obliged to provide for themselves. The widow 
became a professional nurse, an occupation 
she has followed for many years, and she now 
owns a comfortable home. The city has hon- 
ored her name by bestowing it on the street 
where her home is located. 

To Thomas and Ann (Parks) Redmond 
were born the following children : Margaret 
A., William J., Thomas and Jane died young; 
Maggie A. is the wife of William Collett ; 
William J. (2) lives in Chicago; Mary D. 
first married B. F. Bevan, by whom she had 
three children,' Lucy (Mrs. A. B. Coetler), 
Joseph (now deceased) and Marguerite (also 
deceased), and is now the wife of Charles 
Grothe, of Indianapolis, by whom she has one 
daughter. Vera. 

^irs. Redmond has been recognized by the 
general government, receiving a widow's pen- 
sion. She belongs to the W. R. C. and is 
associated with George Chapman Post, G. A. 
R., at Indianapolis. She was confirmed in 
the Episcopal Church, from which she has 
never departed. Her family history is inter- 
esting. She was born Feb. 16, 1836, in County 
Longford, Ireland, daughter of Joseph and 
Margaret (Griffith) Parks. 

Joseph Parks was born and reared in Ire- 
land, and was the eldest son of Joseph Parks, 
Sr., who was a farmer and a prosperous man 
of his day. He died in Ireland, and his widow 
came to this country, spending her last days 
among her children in Indiana, where she 
died in Vanderburg county. The children 
were as follows : Charles, James, Alexander, 
Jane and Joseph. Jane and her husband. Dr. 
H. Dobson, were the first of her family to 
come to the United States ; they located in 
\'anderburg county, where he gave up his 
profession to become a prosperous farmer. 
All the family came to this country to become 
honored and successful citizens. In the old 
country they were ranked far above the aver- 
age in intelligence and education, and their 
standing in their adopted land was equally 

Joseph Parks was reared to a farm life, 
but pushed out into business pursuits and be- 
came a large contractor, employing many men 
in quarries, mills and peat beds. At one time 
he was reputed a wealthy man, enjoying 
large credit, which he allowed his friends to 
use, indorsing largely to help them. Losing 
heavily in 1843, he came to the New World 
to build anew his fortunes under better con- 
ditions. Joining some friends who had settled 
in N'anderburg county, Ind., he secured by 
entry and purchase a half section of land. It 
was heavily timbered, and needed sore labor 
to put it into tillable condition. In time he 
became a prosperous and successful farmer, 
and was widely known as an Irish gentleman 
of integrity and honor, always ready to give 
a neighbor a friendly turn. Though he was. 
often solicited to become a candidate for office 
he would not accept anything in that line. He 
administered several large estates, and acted 
as guardian when called upon to do so, in- 
every such case acquitting himself to the satis- 
faction of all concerned. In Ireland he belonged 
to the Presbyterian Church, but when he settled 
in Indiana he found no such church at all con- 


venient, and was among the first to assist in a soldier in the war of 1812, fighting previ- 
the organization of the First Episcopal Church, ously under General Harrison at Tippecanoe, 
of which he was a member during the rest of His de'ath occurred in Vermilion county, on 
his life. In that church his children were all the "Narrows of the Wabash," when he was 
confirmed by Bishop Upfold, the first bishop less than thirty-seven years of age. He was 
of Indiana, who made the home of i\lr. Parks one of the earliest settlers of the State. Dr. 
his stopping-place when in that part of the Hicks's mother was a native of Bullitt county, 
country. Mr. Parks was a good neighbor and Ky., born not far from Shepherdsville, and 
kind friend, living an enviable Christian life, was married in Vermilion county, Ind. Her 
and commanded the confidence and esteem of brother, Col. Joe Davis, was killed in the battle 
the community to a marked degree. In his of Tippecanoe. Babel Hicks was the father 
own home the Sabbath was strictly observed, of four children, the only one of whom now 
and the children learned to turn their thoughts known to be living is Dr. Hicks, of Indianapo- 
in the direction of the religious life on that lis. His sister, Mary Elizabeth, died in lUi- 
day. In politics he was a Republican. His nois while a child ; John was killed by a sheep 
death took place Aug. 12, 1888, his wife pre- while in childhood, his back being broken; 
ceding him to the better land in November, Samuel entered the Union army during the 
1877. Her maiden name was Margaret -Grif- Civil war, and has never been heard from since 
.fith, and she was born and reared in Ireland, that time. 

.a daughter of John Griffith, also a native of Dr. Hicks was a soldier in the Mexican 

.that country. John Griffith was a man of war, and a surgeon in the Union army during 
wealth and influence in Ireland, where he died, the Civil war, and though not regularly en- 
leaving all his possessions to his daughter listed did much for the cause he loved. He 
Margaret, but before leaving Ireland much of spent his boyhood and youth on the frontier 
her inheritance had been taken from her by farm in Vermilion county. At an early age 
supposed friends, and she and her husband he became interested in the subject of medi- 
^came to this country to repair their fortunes, cine and surgery, and though but eleven years 
This they did after a hard struggle. James of age when his father died, he gained without 
Griffith, an uncle, was the only relative known financial assistance a thorough professional 
.to Mrs. Redmond in this country. education through his own efforts. He ac- 

Joseph and ^ilargaret Parks had children quired the rudiments of an education in the 
as follows: William, a physician, who is old pioneer log school-house. After his 
deceased; Joseph, deceased; Jane, the widow father's death he went to live with a hotel- 
of J. Smith, residing at Evansville, Ind. : keeper in Newport, where he earned his sub- 
Charles, who owns and occupies the old home- scription fees by blacking shoes and doing odd 
stead; ' Ann, Mrs. Thomas Redmond; chores around the house. For two years he 
Matthew, deceased; Margaret, unmarried; attended the Laporte Medical College on a 
and John, deceased. perpetual scholarship owned by Dr. Willetts, 

Mrs. Redmond came to this country with who kindly rendered the ambitious lad this 
her parents when only seven years old, and great kindness. While attending this school, 
grew to womanhood on her father's farm in out of which Rush Medical has grown, the 
Vanderburg county, Ind. In 1859 she was young student lived on seventy-five cents a 
married to Thomas Redmond, then engaged in week for many weeks at a time. He became 
the grocery business in Evansville, in which dissatisfied with the allopathic system of medi- 
city they settled and where they resided until cine, and removed to the Eclectic School at 
1861, when Mr. Redmond entered the govern- Cincinnati, where he attended two years, living 
ment service in connection with the commis- on the same small scale as before. After the 
sary department, continuing thus until the first two years he engaged in practice, and 
close of the Civil war. after graduating established himself in Ver- 

milion county. While in college he also 
JOSEPH M. HICKS, M. D., a pioneer studied mechanical engineering and architec- 
physician of .Indiana, residing in Indianapolis, ture, employing such time as he could spare 
was born in Vermilion county, this State, Oct. in the making of novelties and necessary 
27, 1826, son of Babel and Betsy (Davis) household articles. He has a bureau which 
Hicks. The father was born in North Caro- he made fifty-two years ago, and he made 
lina, coming to Indiana about 1812, and was washboards and other kitchen appliances 



which he sold to hghten his expenses through 

J. Braxton Hicks, a distant relative of 
Joseph J\l., became deeply interested in him, 
and furnished funds for him to go to England, 
where he attended King's Homeopathic Col- 
lege, and practiced medicine for three years. 
Returning home in 1868 he opened an office 
at Battle Ground, Ind., and there followed his 
professional labors for eighteen years. In 
May, 1888, he came to Indianapolis, where he 
has actively practiced his profession to the 
present time, making a specialty of gynecology 
and cancer. He holds diplomas from the 
American Association of Physicians and Sur- 
geons, and St. Luke's Hospital, at Niles, Mich 
For many years he was a member of the 
Methodist Church, but he did not deposit his 
letter when he removed to this city. 

Dr. Hicks has passed through many vicis- 
situdes. After his mother's death, when he 
was scarcely seven years of age, his father 
re-married, and henceforth "home was not 
home." There are memories the most touch- 
ing of all that still come over him, of his 
sainted mother and his early home associations. 
From that time he has been entirely self-sup- 
porting, and has carved out a career of honor 
and prominence. 

In 1848 Dr. Hicks was married to Miss 
Eloisa Berry, who died in Perrysville, Ind., 
leaving one son, who is now deceased. The 
Doctor's second marriage was to Mary A. 
Willard, who died in 1878, leaving one daugh- 
ter, Clara A., now Mrs. Hamilton, of Selma, 
Cal. The present wife of Dr. Hicks was Clara 
A. States, of Wayne county, Iowa. She was a 
mother to the daughter in everything but 
blood kinship. 

Dr. Hicks has always been interested in 
bee keeping, and for nearly the whole period 
of his active life has been identified with that 
industry, being a liberal contributor to the 
"Bee Keepers' Journal," and at one time had 
over four thousand stands in Illinois, Indiana, 
Michigan, Kentucky and Ohio. A volume on 
bee keeping has appeared from his pen. 

SOLLIS RUNNELS, M. D., one of the 
prominent physicians of Indianapolis, W'as 
born near Delaware, Ohio, Dec. i, 1854, son 
of Sollis, Sr., and Eliza (Nash) Runnels, na- 
tives of Vermont and New Hampshire, re- 
spectively, who were both of Scotch descent. 

The derivation of the name Runnels or. 
Revnolds has never been satisfactorily settled. 

Of the many hypotheses advanced, two are 
worthy of consideration: One of the Rey- 
nolds' coat of arms has for a crest a fox pas- 
sant, holding a rose, gules, in his mouth. The 
one for whom these arms were created was 
probably a courier, or bearer of dispatches, of 
such remarkable swiftness and shrewdness 
that he literally "ran ells" (perhaps two Eng- 
lish ells) at a stride, hence "runner of ells," 
or Runnell, one of the earlier forms of the 
name. The other explanation of the name is 
that it comes from the Scotch word "runnel," 
a small stream, and the family living thereto 
became Runnells, Runeles, Runnels, Runniels, 
Renolls or Reynold, and so on through the 
forty-nine different spellings of the name. 

Some branches of the family have King 
David I, of Scotland, as the progenitor, while 
others give that distinction to Rhodri-Mawr, 
King of Wales about 1625. Among the "Wor- 
thies of Devon" is mentioned Rev. John Rain- 
olds, who was president of Corpus Christi 
College, a man of vast learning and a great 
Hebraist, and to whom is due the King James 
version of the Bible, he having urged upon 
the king the necessity of revising the Scrip- 
tures. Other names known to fame are: Sir 
Joshua Reynolds, the greatest portrait painter 
of all time ; Sir Francis Ronalds, meteorolo- 
gist and inventor of the electric telegraph; 
Elmer Reynolds, ethnologist and founder of 
the Anthropological Society of Washington, 
D. C. ; and many others in civil and political 

i\Ientioned above is the Reynolds coat of 
arms with the fox on crest. Another says 
"The Reynolds arms are azure, a chevron 
ermine, between three crosses crosslet fitchee 
argent. Crest, an eagle argent, ducally gorged 
and lined or." 

The name Runnels appears frequently in 
the patriotic annals of America. Many a 
Runnels or Reynold has fallen on the battle- 
field. Six brothers fought side by side in the 
Revolution. Stephen Runnels, great-grand- 
father of Dr. Sollis Runnels, was a soldier in 
that war, and participated in the battle of Bun- 
ker Hill. He afterward became a corporal. 
It is related of him that his pay was regularly 
sent to the maiden to whom he was affianced, 
and that she was advised to invest the money 
in rye, as the currency was rapidly depreciat- 
ing ; she preferred, however, to keep it in her 
possession, and when she came to buy the fur- 
nishings for their new home was obliged to 

1 64 

co^ime:\iorative biographical record 

pay seven dollars for a small cream pitcher. 
Daniel Runnels, a great-great-uncle of Dr. 
Runnels, was captain of Company 1, in Colonel 
Xichors regiment, which went with Colonel 
Stark to Bennington, \'t., in 1776, and he be- 
came major and later colonel of the regiment. 
His ability as an officer and his perseverance 
and endurance gave him high rank among the 
New Hampshire soldiers of the Revolution. 

Enos Runnels, a cousin of Corporal Stephen 
Runnels, was in the battle of Bunker Hill, 
serving in Capt. Moore's company of Col. 
Stark"s regiment. He afterward enlisted for 
three years and served in the northern branch 
under General Schuyler. He was taken pris- 
oner by the Indians and turned over to the 
British, but escaped from his captors at Ticon- 
deroga, rejoined the army under General Gates, 
and was present at the surrender of Burgoyne 
at Saratoga. At the time of Benedict Arnold's 
treachery he was stationed at West Point, and 
he served as guard in the room with Major 
Andre on the last night of that unfortunate 
Englishman's life. 

Stephen Runnels (2), son of Corporal 
Stephen, was born in Vermont, and in 1819 
came West, settling in Ohio. His death oc- 
curred in Licking county, that State, in 1846, 
at the home of his son, Sollis Runnels, Sr. 

Sollis Runnels, Sr., son of Stephen (2), 
was born in \'ermont in 1818, and accompa- 
nied his parents to Ohio in 1819, settling in 
Licking county, at a place not far from New- 
ark. The greater part of his married life was 
spent on a farm near Delaware, Ohio. He 
traveled a great deal through the West, and 
he died quite well-to-do for the times. His 
death occurred July 27, 1854, when he was 
aged thirty-six. He was one of the first men 
in his township to vote the Abolition ticket, 
and he made numerous stump speeches in sup- 
port of his principles, besides giving shelter 
to runaway slaves. He married Eliza G. 
(Xash), who bore him five children, namely: 
Caroline, who died at the early age of five 
years ; Albina, wife of George Pitts, a fanner 
of Diller, Xeb. ; Richard, a former railroad 
contractor and builder, but now a wealthy 
farmer at Wichita, Kans. ; Marion, who lives 
on the old homestead near Ostrander, Ohio, 
and who is a successful stock dealer and 
farmer ; and Sollis, of Indianapolis. After the 
death of the father the mother married Fred- 
erick Decker, of Delaware, Ohio, and when 
she died .Vpril 5, 1900, in her eightj'-first year, 
her seven sons acted as pall-bearers. 

Dr. Sollis Runnels remained at his native 

home in Ohio until he was sixteen, when he 
accompanied his brother Richard to Red Oak, 
Iowa, where he spent one year on a farm, one 
year as cowboy on the Plains, a third year as 
a student at .NlcClain's Academy, at Iowa City, 
and the fourth year as a clerk in a large dry- 
goods store in Red Oak. Returning East by 
way of Indianapolis, he went to Oberlin, Ohio, 
where he entered school, spending three years 
in the preparatory department of the college 
and three more years in the college proper. 
As his health failed about this time, instead of 
graduating he went to the Pacific coast, and 
spent a year traveling through that region. 
At Oberlin he was a member of the Second 
Congregational Church. 

On his return Dr. Runnels spent one year 
in Rush Medical College, Chicago; two years 
at the Chicago Homeopathic College, graduat- 
ing from the latter in 1887, with the degree of 
2\i. D. Later the honorary degree of M. D. 
was bestowed upon him b\- Hahnemann Aledi- 
cal College, Chicago. His work in school 
was exceptionally good, and he ranked high 
with both teachers and pupils, and was presi- 
dent of his class during the Senior year. 
Immediately after his graduation he located 
in Indianapolis, and has since devoted his 
time to the practice of general medicine. He 
is a member of the Indiana State Homeo- 
pathic Society, of which he has twice been 
treasurer ; of the Marion County Homeopathic 
Society, of which he has been president ; antl 
also belongs to the American Institute of 
Homeopathy. In the midst of his busy life 
Dr. Runnels has found time for the practice 
of philanthropy, and he founded the Indiana 
Industrial Home for Blind Men, of which he 
was made and still is president. This institu- 
tion is of inestimable benefit to those afflicted, 
affording as it does a chance to learn a trade, 
whereby the blind may become self-support- 
ing. Only those are admitted who have be- 
come blind after the school age limit. Dr. 
Runnels is widely known for his gentleness, 
and for his wonderful personal charm that 
makes him a welcome visitor in the sickroom, 
and a most agreeable companion socially. He 
is of quiet and undemonstrative demeanor and 
of extreme modesty. He is generous to all 
benevolent and charitable movements that 
appeal to him. 

On May 7, 1890, at Wallaceburg. Ont., 
Dr. Runnels was married to Margaret Laird, 
ilaughtcr of Charles P. and Susan (Carter) 
I-aird, the former of Florence, near Chatham, 
Ont.. and the latter of Halifax, Nova Scotia. 



Her paternal grandparents were natives of 
Paisley, Scotland, and her maternal grand- 
parents, George Bruce Carter and Mahitabel 
Gwynn, were the first settlers at Canso Bay, 
at the northern end of Nova Scotia, and were 
of English descent. Mrs. Runnels was the 
twenty-sixth enrolled member of the Indiana- 
polis Free Kindergarten Society, having 
joined in 1883, before it became one of the 
affiliated charities, and she is still an interested 

Of Dr. Runnels, Edward L. McKee, under 
date of Jan. 16, 1907, writes : "Twenty-five 
years ago Sollis Runnels came to this city 
from a smaller community. His inclination 
at that time was to take up the study of medi- 
cine as a profession. That characteristic of 
careful thought and conscientious deliberation 
which has been so pronounced in his later life 
eVen at that time was prominent and forbade 
his taking up the profession of M. D. until he 
was satisfied in his own judgment that he was 
b_\- nature mentally and physically worthy of 
so high a calling. Dr. Runnels's distinguished 
position in the practice of Homeopathy bears 
witness to the wisdom of his decision, and 
his many patients eagerly add their testimony 
— for few physicians are blessed with his God- 
given power to ease the suffering. Dr. Run- 
nels's character as a man is high, his ideals 
are lofty, his striving for the best unceasing, 
and his accomplishments many. So high a 
manhood combined with the careful prepara- 
tion he has received along educational lines 
fits him in an unusual manner for the minis- 
trations of his sick rooms." 

In his political belief Dr. Runnels is a 
stanch Republican, and a charter member of 
the Columbia Club, being one of the members 
of that organization who went to ■Minneapolis 
in 1892 to assist in nominating Benjamin Har- 
rison for the Presidency. 

HENRY SPONSEL, now living retired 
in Indianapolis, was for over thirty years ac- 
tive in business in the city in connection with 
various enterprises. His home has been there 
since 1863. 

Mr. Sponsel was born ]\Iarch 17, 1840, in 
Bavaria, Germany, son of George and Magde- 
lena (Lang) Sponsel, both of whom were 
from Bavaria. The family came to America 
in 1842, settling in Cincinnati, Ohio, and there 
Henry Sponsel was reared and educated. He 
learned the shoemaker's trade after leaving 
school, and remained in Cincinnati until the 

latter part of the year i860, when he went to 
Southport, Marion Co., Ind., his brother, who 
was doing a prosperous shoemaking business 
there, having sent for him. There he con- 
tinued to work at his trade until the breaking 
out of the Civil war. On July 6, 1861, he 
enlisted in Company G, 21st Indiana Volun- 
teers, with which he saw active service until 
wounded, at the battle of Baton Rouge, Aug. 
5, 1862. After the taking of the city of New- 
Orleans he was one of the few detailed to 
work the Mexican guns that had been cap- 
tured, and while thus engaged at the battle 
of Baton Rouge he received a bullet in his 
right thigh, close to the hip joint. Lieut. 
Brown, noticing the blood, called to him : 
"Henry, are you wounded?" He answered, 
"Yes, Lieutenant, I am," and the Lieutenant 
told him to fall to the rear "and do your best, 
for we are at very close quarters with the 
enemy." He got to the rear, which was at 
the top of a ridge, and walked down through 
a hail of bullets, stopping the fiow of blood 
as best he could with his hand. At the bottom 
of the ridge he was practically safe from bul- 
lets, so he rested for a while, after which, find- 
ing himself too weak from loss of blood to 
walk, he crept on his left knee and his hands 
to the first house on the outskirts of the city, 
a distance of over two hundred yards. It was 
his only chance to save his life. At the door, 
which he was barely able to reach, he saw a 
lieutenant of the 6th i\Iichigan Volunteers 
thanking the lady of the house for bandaging 
his arm. The lieutenant, on seeing Mr. Spon- 
sel, said, "Hello, Comrade, are you wounded, 
too?" After examining the wound, he said 
"You are wounded badly ; I will report in the 
city and have you sent for immediately." 
The lady of the house assisted him as much as 
possible, saying she had two sons in the war 
on the Confederate side, and if they fell near 
Union homes she hoped they would be as 
well treated as the Union soldiers whom she 
had aided. Then four soldiers, with their 
guns and blankets, and a board and pillow 
given by this benevolent lady, managed to 
carry ]Mr. Sponsel to the Deaf & Dumb Asy- 
lum in the city. The ball was removed and he 
recovered slowlv, being discharged Oct. 16, 

Returning to Southport after his army ex- 
perience, Mr. Sponsel remained there only a 
short time, early in 1863 moving to Indiana- 
polis, where he has ever since remained. From 
that year until 1897, when he retired, he was 

1 66 


associated with various business enterprises, 
in which he met with such substantial success 
that he is now able to live at ease, enjoying 
the rest he so well deserves. 

i\Ir. Sponsel has been twice married, first 
to Rosa Brobst, and after her death to Anna 
Smith. There were no children by the first 
union, and to the second were born five daugh- 
ters, viz. : Barbara, Mrs. Dietz ; ^latilda, Mrs. 
Aichhorn; Clara, Mrs. Wenz; Bertha, and 
Eida. Mr. Sponsel is a member of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, and, by virtue 
of his war record, of Chapman Post, No. 209, 
G. A. R., and of the German American Vete- 
rans. He is a Protestant in religious faith. 

JOSEPH F. BROWN, transcript clerk in 
the county clerk's office, was born May 7, 1820, 
and comes of a branch of the Brown family 
distinguished as being founded in America by 
men who fought in the war for independence, 
each generation since numbering men of 
prominence and distinction. The family is of 
pure Celtic stock, and originated in Wales. 
The American founders of the family were 
four brothers who came from Cardigan, 
Wales, in 1746, in the ship "Fideli- 
ty," which landed at Welsh Neck, near Phila- 
delphia, not far from Valley Forge. One 
of these brothers settled in Wilmington, N. 
C. ; another in Boston ; and a third in Browns- 
ville, Pa., the birthplace of James G. Blaine. 
They spelled the name Broune, which was the 
old way of spelling it in Wales. 

Thomas Brown, grandfather of Joseph F., 
was one of the original four brothers who 
came to America, and at the time of coming 
was aged about fifteen years. He followed the 
occupation of farming. He married Mary 
Ball, sister of Joseph Ball, who was the 
wealthiest man then living in Pennsylvania. 
She was born in Philadelphia, and was first 
cousin to Mary ^^'ashington, mother of George 
Washington, who sent her a book and always 
recognized the relationship. After marriage, 
they settled in 1755 in Hardy county, Va., 
and lived there until 1786, when Mr. Brown 
removed with his family to Kentucky, and 
lived there until about 1800, when he 
moved to Clermont county, Ohio, where he 
died in 1818, aged ninety years. He was a 
soldier in the Revolutionary war serving 
three years. He was over age when he en- 
listed, and served in the same command with 
his son, George, and with the maternal grand- 

father of our subject. He was at the defeat 
and surrender of Lord Cornwallis in 1781. 
One of his daughters married Major Sodouski 
of County Pulaski's Polish army in the Revo- 

George Brown, father of Joseph F., was 
born in Hardy county, Va. He enlisted at 
the age of seventeen years as a soldier in the 
Continental army, serving three years, and 
was present at the siege of Yorktown and 
surrender of Lord Cornwallis. He removed 
to Kentucky with his father in 17S6, and they 
lived in a stockade fort to protect themselves 
from the Indians. He was in Gen. St. Clair's 
army, and was in the battle of Fort Recovery 
at St. Clair's defeat. In 1790 he was in Gen. 
Harmon's army, and in 1794 in Gen. Wayne's 
asmy, being at Fort Wayne when Gen. Wayne 
received the surrender of the Indians, under 
Little Turtle. He took part in the battle of 
Tippecanoe- — Joe Davis's regiment — in which 
the captain of his company was killed, and he 
was with Col. Dick Johnson in the march to the 
river Thames in Canada. The regiment was 
surprised at the river Raisin by Tecumseh, 
and they did not reach the river Thames, 
where fliat noted Indian was killed. Tecumseh 
was an educated man and a JMason of high 
degree. He saved the life of George Brown 
in battle, who gave the Masonic signal of dis- 
tress. George Brown married Hannah John, 
born in Westmoreland county. Pa., daughter 
of John and Mahala (Evans) John. John 
John and his wife were both of Welsh stock, 
and were both born in Cardigan, Wales. John 
John served throughout the war of the Revo- 
lution and was the largest man (seven feet 
tall and weighed 275 pounds) in General 
\\'ashington's army, and was with him in all 
his battles. In 1808 George Brown settled in 
Clermont county, Ohio, and in April, 1821, 
he removed to Rush county, Ind., settling in 
Richland township. He died there and was 
buried in September, 1825. The United States 
Government has marked his grave as that of 
a Revolutionary soldier. His children were: 
\\illiam J., born in 1S05, long Congressman 
from his District, who died in 1857; Dr. Ry- 
land T., born in 1807, Professor at Butler Uni- 
versity, who died in 1890 ; George W.. born 
in 1810, former State Senator, died in 1857; 
Rebecca, born in February, 1814, who married, 
in 1830, Charles Lowry, and died in 1846, in 
Missouri; and Joseph F., born May 7, 1820. 

Joseph F. Brown was bom in Clermont 



county, Ohio, May 7, 1820, and was but an 
infant when he was brought by his parents 
to Rush county, Ind., in 1821. Brought up 
among the pioneers of the Hoosier State, he 
received his education in the common schools 
of Rush county, the Seminary at Connersville, 
the Indiana State University and Hanover 
College. Among his classmates were Gover- 
nors Porter and Hendricks, William H. Eng- 
lish and Jonathan Gordon. He came to Indi- 
anapolis, Feb. 21, 1837, when a young man 
of seventeen years of age to work as a clerk 
for his brother William J. Brown, then secre- 
tary of State, and he performed his services 
in that capacity in the old Governor's mansion 
on the Circle, now Monument Place. He read 
law under the late Judge Blackford, for thirty- 
five years Chief Justice of the Indiana Su- 
preme Court, and was admitted to practice 
j\Iay 7, 1841 — his twenty-first birthday. He 
practiced his profession at Lafayette in 1841- 
42, and was elected clerk of the Lower House 
of the Legislature. In 1843 he accompanied 
his brother, William J., then a member of Con- 
gress from his district, to Washington, and 
was appointed assistant clerk in the House of 
Representatives, serving several years. He 
afterward was chief clerk in the adjutant- 
general's office, and often served as acting 
chief clerk of the War Department. While in 
Washington he became personally acquainted 
with many old-time statesmen : Henry Clay, 
John C. Calhoun, Daniel Webster, and a host 
of lesser lights. Could his reminiscences be 
gathered and published, they would form an 
exceedingly interesting and valuable contri- 
bution to the history of that period. 

In 1856 Mr. Brown resigned his position 
to become manager of the Washington Gas 
Light Company, which had been chartered by 
Congress in 1848, mainly at his solicitation, 
and that of his friend, William H. English, 
then employed in the Treasury Department, 
they owning the principal capital stock of 
the company. He remained in the manage- 
ment of the concern fifteen years. He was 
a member of the Board of Aldermen of Wash- 
ington twelve years, and not infrequently 
acted in the capacity of president of the board, 
as mayor ex-ofticio of the city. In 1861 he 
was appointed by President Lincoln police 
commissioner of the District of Columbia, and 
was active in organizing the Metropolitan 
Police Force of the city. In 1875 he returned 
to Indianapolis and accepted the position of 

Transcript Clerk in the County Clerk's office, 
his nephew, the late Austin H. Brown, then 
being clerk. He has since continuously re- 
mained in this position. 

Mr. Brown has for sixty years been a fre- 
quent contributor to many of the leadmg 
magazines and newspapers. His first poem 
of any length that attracted general attention 
was one descriptive of the battle of New 
Orleans. It was read before the State Con- 
vention Jan. 8, 1841, and was generally com- 
plimented by papers of both political parties. 
Air. Brown is the only person now living who 
was present on the occasion when the first 
telegraph message was sent over the wires 
from Washington to Baltimore, June 14, 1844, 
by Prof. Morse, with whom he was well 
acquainted. The message was "What won- 
ders God hath wrought." He was also one 
of the passengers on the first public train of 
cars that ever ran over a railroad west of the 
Alleghany Alountains, July 4, 1839, from 
Madison to Vernon. He occupied a seat with 
his old friend, William Jackson. Mr. Brown 
is the oldest living ex-official of the State of 
Indiana. He is also the oldest living former 
merchant of the city, having been a partner 
in the book and periodical business conducted 
by W. J. and J. F. Brown in a store where 
the Yohn block now stands, and is the oldest 
living lawyer in Indiana. He is called the 
"Nestor of the Bar of the State." 

"L'ncle Joe Brown," as he is familiarly 
called, is one of the most interesting char- 
acters to be found in any of the public offices 
of the State. His form is bowed, and his 
wrinkled face beams with kindly smiles under 
his thin snow-white hair. For over 
thirty years he has held his present jjosition, 
undisturbed by the change of political ad- 
ministration. He is greatly respected by the 
citizens of Indianapolis, by his fellow officials 
and by all who know him. 

ELBERT F. NORWOOD, of Indianap- 
olis, represents one of the early pioneer fami- 
lies of Marion county. George Norwood, his 
father, was born in Baltimore, Md., in 1789, 
and William Norwood, his grandfather, was 
born in Ireland. Three brothers came to this 
country. Their mother died in Ireland. Wil- 
liam, the eldest of these, located in Tennessee, 
and John, the second, settled in Georgia, where 
he had a son, Thomas, who became a promi- 
nent character, representing his district in 

1 68 


Congress and later representing the State in 
the United States Senate. The third, Charles 
Norwood, made his home in Baltimore, where 
lie reared a family and had a son Charles, who 
became a famous civil engineer of that city. 
So far as is known all the Norwoods in Amer- 
ica are descended from this stock, whose com- 
ing to this country is noted above. 

George Norwood, the father of Elbert F., 
was reared in Blount and Washington coun- 
ties, Tenn., where he learned the wagon-mak- 
ing trade. In 1812 he married Mary Ann 
Rooker, a native of Tennessee, daughter of 
\\illiam Rooker, who came from England 
when nineteen years old, and who was a pioneer 
with his family in Marion county, Ind. He 
died in 1838, near Mooreville, and his widow 
did not long survive. 

George Norwood came into Indiana from 
Tennessee in 1818, locating on land which 
has since become the site of Milton, Wayne 
county. In Alarch, 1822, he arrived in Indian- 
apolis, the year of the location of the capital 
of the State here. In the laying out of the 
town Mr. Norwood rendered active assist- 
ance to Alexander Ralston, especially in the 
setting of stakes and other labor connected 
with the undertaking. Mr. Norwood estab- 
lished the first wagon shop in the city, and it 
is a fact worthy of note that Lorenzo Dow, the 
famous evangelist of the early days, preached 
in his shop after its erection. Here Mr. Nor- 
wood followed wagonmaking for many years, 
and was in all respects a representa- 
tive citizen and a typical pioneer. In 
his political relations he was a Whig, 
and on the organization of the party 
became a Republican. At one time he 
was a member of the city council, and he also 
served as city treasurer. He was a sincere 
and active member of the Methodist Church, 
and was a trustee of the first society of that 
denomination formed in the city. His death 
occurred March 8, 1880. His wife passed 
away Feb. 28, 1877, being in her eighty-fourth 
year at the time. They were the parents of 
ten children, six daughters and four sons. 
Four sons and two daughters lived to mature 
years, of whom Elbert F. is the only survivor. 
Those who died after reaching mature life 
were George Washington, New^ton Nicholas. 
Elliot Lorenzo, Mrs. Louisa Jane Jones and 
Mrs. Ann Maria Bird (who died June 17. 

Elbert F. Norwood was born in Indianap- 

olis, June 18, 1830, and the greater part of 
nis life has been spent at home. He learned 
the trade of a tinner, and has been very suc- 
cessful in his business dealings. 

j\lr. Norwood was married, Sept. zj, 1854, 
to ;\Iiss Eliza A. Cully, and their only child, 
!Mrs. Ida C. Weaver, is a resident of Indian- 
apolis. Mr. Norwood is one of the oldest 
living native citizens of Indianapolis. His 
first vote was cast for Gen. Scott in 1852, and 
he has been a Republican since the formation 
of the party. He and his family belong to the 
Presbyterian Church. 

DANIEL WAIT HOWE was born in 
Patriot, Switzerland Co., Ind., Oct. 24, 1839, 
the only child of Daniel Haven Howe and 
Lucy (Hicks) Howe. His father came to 
Indiana from near Salamanca, N. Y., about 
1835, and engaged in the lumber business at 
Patriot, where he died in 1842. His widow 
afterward married Samuel P. Oyler, and they 
settled in 1850 in Franklin, Johnson Co., Ind., 
where Colonel Oyler practiced law. Colonel 
Oyler served in the Civil war as major of the 
7th Indiana Volunteers, and as lieutenant- 
colonel of the 79th Ind. V. I. After the war 
he was Circuit judge, and served four years 
in the Indiana State Senate. He was grand 
chancellor of the Knights of Pythias, and 
grand master of the Odd Fellows in that 
State. He died in 1898, after which his 
widow made her home with her son in Indi- 
anapolis, where she died in 1904. She was a 
daughter of Solomon and Lucy (Butts) 
Hicks, and came to Indiana with her father 
and his family in 1826. Mr. Hicks served in 
the American Army in the war of 1812. 

Judge Howe's paternal grandfather, Na- 
than Howe, was a captain in the American 
army in a New York regiment in the war of 
1S12: two of Judge Howe's ancestors, Capt. 
Eliakim Howe and his son. Otis, served in the 
New Hampshire militia in the Revolutionary 
war, and another ancestor, Col. Thomas 
Howe, of Marlborough, Mass., served in King 
Philip's war. The Judge's first American an- 
cestor was John Howe, who was in Sudbury, 
iMass., about 1657. 

Judge Howe was graduated from Frank- 
lin College, in Indiana, in 1857, after which he 
taught school in the winters of 1858 and 1859. 
In the winter of i860 he attended a course of 
lectures on law in Indianapolis. In the spring 
of 1 861 he enlisted in the army, becoming a 

O^^^ir^ /fh-^- ^"f^^-^ 




private in tlie /tli Indiana Volunteers, and he 
served tliree months in West Virginia, par- 
ticipating in the battle of Carrick's Ford. He 
again entered the service as first Ueutenant of 
Company I, 79th Ind. V. I., and was after- 
ward promoted to captain. He participated 
in the battles of Stone River, Chickamauga, 
Alissionary Ridge, the East Tennessee cam- 
paign and the Atlanta campaign. He was 
complimented in the official reports for 
meritorious conduct at the battle of Alission- 
ary Ridge. He was severely wounded at 
Kenesaw jMountain, Ga., June 23, 1864, and 
was honorably discharged Nov. 10, 1864. 

After the close of the war he was gradu- 
ated from the Albany (N. Y.) Law School, 
in 1867, and began the practice of law in 
partnership with his stepfather. Colonel Oyler, 
at Franklin, Ind., where he held the office of 
city attorney and State prosecuting attorney. 
While residing there he married Inez Hamil- 
ton, daughter of Robert A. and Susan (Saun- 
ders) Hamilton, who came to Indiana from 
Kentucky. Mr. Hamilton's ancestors were of 
Scotch-Irish descent, and his first American 
ancestor settled in Pennsylvania. To the mar- 
riage of Daniel Wait and Inez (Hamilton) 
Howe were born three children : Ruth, Lucy 
and Susan. Ruth died at the age of eighteen. 
Lucy is a graduate of Abbott Academy (And- 
over, Mass.), of the Indiana State University 
and Cornell (N. Y.) University; she married 
Archibald J\I. Hall, and resides in Franklin, 
Ind. Susan resides with her parents in Indi- 

In 1873 Judge Howe removed to Indi- 
anapolis, where he practiced law until 1876, 
in which year he was elected a judge of the 
Superior court, retaining that position until 
1890, when he again resumed the practice of 
the law, in which he is still engaged. He is 
now and has been for several years president 
of the Indiana Historical Society ; and he is 
also a member of the New England Historic- 
Genealogical Society. He has also been presi- 
dent of die Indianapolis Bar Association. He 
is the author of the "Puritan Republic" (pub- 
lished in 1899), "Civil War Times" (pub- 
lished in 1902), and of various other books 
and pamphlets, and is preparing a general 
Howe genealogy. In fraternal connection he 
is a Knight Templar and also a thirty-second 
degree Mason (Scottish Rite). Judge Howe 
resides at No. 1007 North New Jersey street, 
and his office is at No. 3 Union Trust build- 

BAGOT & BAGOT. The law firm of 
Bagot & Bagot, which has an established repu- 
tation of over a decade in Anderson, is one 
of the leading firms of its kind in central Indi- 
ana, and is made up of two Indiana men, both 
able attorneys by training and experience. 

The Bagot family was originally of French 
stock, the name being pronounced Bago, and 
one of this family was one Jean Bago, a 
French Jesuit writer, born in 1580. Members 
of the family early emigrated to England, 
probably with William the Conqueror, and 
prominent members of this branch of the 
family were: Lewis Bagot, an English pre- 
late, iDorn in 1740, was successively Bishop of 
Bristol, of Norwich and of St. Asaph ; his 
brother, Richard, born in 1782, became Bishop 
of Oxford in 1829 and of Bath and Wells in 
1S45 ; Sir Charles Bagot, an English diplo- 
mat, born in Blithfield, Stafliordshire, Eng- 
land, in 1781, was minister plenipotentiary at 
Washington in 1816-1819, ambassador to St. 
Petersburg from 1820 to 1824, to Holland 
from 1824 to 1834, and to Austria from 1834 
to 1842 ; in the latter year he became Governor 
General of Canada, where he died May 18, 
1843. The last two named were distant rela- 
tives of Walter Bagot, the grandfather of 
Thomas and Charles K. Bagot, and corres- 
pondence between the families of recent years 
has developed much family history. A tradi- 
tion in this branch of the family is that six 
generations prior to that of our subjects, a 
member of the Bagot family in England mar- 
ried an Irish girl and settled in Ireland, and 
communication with the family was then cut 

Walter Bagot, the grandfather of our sub- 
jects, was born in County Tipperary, Ireland. 
He married Ellen Burk, and to this union 
the following children were born: Mary A., 
who married John Mansfield of Philadelphia; 
Walter, now living in New Zealand : Johanna, 
who married Robert Tobin, of Philadelphia, 
who is now deceased ; Frank, a soldier of the 
Civil war, who served in Company K, 37th 
Ind. V. I., and was killed at the battle of 
Stone River ; Thomas, who settled at an early 
day at Vicksburg, was in the quartermaster 
general's department of the Confederate army, 
afterward became a contractor at Vicksburg, 
and is now deceased: Margaret, who married 
Charles Kopf and settled at Shawneetown, 
111. ; James, who died in Cincinnati, Ohio ; and 
William F. In Ireland the family were Cath- 



olic, but since coming to America have been 
liberal in religion. 

William F. Bagot was born in County 
Tipperary, Ireland, about 1819. He received 
a good education in his youth, and came to 
America when about twenty-one years old. 
He landed in Philadelphia, but remained there 
but a short time, coming west to Ohio, and set- 
tling in Cincinnati. Here he married Cather- 
ine Phelan, daughter of Dennis Phelan. Mr. 
Bagot engaged in contracting in Cincinnati, 
and on the Mississippi river, built the "Bur- 
net House" in Cincinnati, and was one of the 
contractors who built the Hamilton County 
Court House. Later in life he became a 
farmer in Ripley county, Ind., where he lived 
until 1892, when he retired from active life, 
and died in the month of November, 1906. 
His wife died aged about sixty years, leaving 
these children : Charles K. ; William F. ; 
Thomas ; Ella B., who married Christopher 
Connolly ; and j\lary A., who married Charles 

Thqm.'\s Bagot, senior member of the law 
firm of Bagot & Bagot, was born in Cincinnati, 
Ohio, I^Iay 27, 1S51. When about si.x years 
old he came with his parents to Indiana, and 
was reared on the farm in Ripley county. He 
attended the district schools of his locality, 
and was reared to the life of a farmer. When 
he was nineteen years of age he commenced 
teaching in the public schools of Ripley county, 
and taught for several years. In 1874 he was 
surveyor in Ripley county, and served as such 
for several years. In the meantime he had 
studied law and fitted himself for the practice 
of that profession. In 1879 he was elected 
county superintendent of schools of Ripley 
county, and served in that capacity until 1883, 
and for a time engaged in the mercantile busi- 
ness with his brother, meantime practicing law 
at intervals. In 1886 or 1887 he removed to 
New Castle, Ind., where he was special agent 
for the Union Life Insurance Co., and as such 
he continued until 1893, when he formed a 
law partnership with his brother, Charles K. 
Bagot, which has become the present well 
known firm of Bagot & Bagot, Anderson. 

Politically Thomas Bagot is a Democrat, 
and was a presidential elector from the sixth 
Indiana district in 1892. He is well-known 
in Central Indiana, as an able lawyer, and a 
practical man of business. On June 24, 1896, 
Mr. Bagot married Miss Georgia Byer, of 
New Castle, Ind., who died Feb. 19, 1907. 
She was a noble woman, a graduate of the 

State L'niversity at Bloomington, Ind., and a 
daughter of John S. Byer, of New Castle. 

Ch.\rles K. B.-\got, the junior member of 
the firm of Bagot & Bagot, was born in Ripley 
county, Ind., Oct. 19, 1861, and received his 
education in the public schools of his home lo- 
cality. When twenty years of age he became 
a teacher in Ripley county, meanwhile prose- 
cuting law studies in the office of William D. 
Wilson, of Versailles, Ind., with whom he 
later formed a partnership. He continuted 
with Mr. \Mlson for several years, and then 
formed a partnership with Adam Stockinger, 
of the same city. In 1893 he returned to An- 
derson to form a partnership with his brother. 

Charles K. Bagot has been twice married. 
His first wife was Grace B. Risinger, and she 
was the mother of : Mary L., and Walter R. 
]\Irs. Bagot died in 1897, and ]\Ir. Bagot mar- 
ried (second), in 1903, ^lary Terrill, niece of 
Dr. Luther B. Terrill, of Anderson. To 
this union one child has been born: Frances 
T. Mr. Bagot is an active member of the 
Democratic party, and takes a great interest 
in its success in this section, and is well known 
as a campaign speaker. He stands high in 
the ranks of his profession and in the esteem 
of the community. 

regular practising physician and surgeon at 
No. 2219 East Washington street, In- 
dianapolis, with residence at No. 1902 
East Washington street, was born near 
Gosport, Owen county, Ind., Aug. 14, 
1867. His parents, Barnabas and Mary 
A. (Alverson) Lukenbill, were natives 
of Owen county, where the family was estab- 
lished by David Lukenbill, grandfather of Dr. 
Orestes C, who came to this countrv- from 
Germany in his boyhood, locating for a time 
in North Carolina, but being numbered among 
the early pioneers of Owen county. 

Barnabas Lukenbill has spent most of his 
life in farming and milling. He was a vet- 
eran of the JNIexican war, and is still living at 
the age of eighty-one years. Mrs. Mary A. 
Lukenbill died at the age of sixty-two years. 
Her people came from Kentucky into Indiana, 
and were descended from remote Scotch an- 
cestors. Mr. and Mrs. Barnabas Lukenbill 
had a family of six children, two of whom are 
deceased. Wesley Ellsworth, the fourth, hav- 
ing been accidentally killed while out hunting, 
when about thirty years old. David A., the 
sixth, died in infancy. William Thomas, who 



is now fifty-one years old, lives at Gosport, 
where he is engaged in farming; he is mar- 
ried, and has one son. Paris E. lives at New- 
berry, Ind., where he is engaged in business 
as a hotel-keeper ; he is married, and has two 
children. Mrs. Dru Chrisman lives at Athens, 
Ohio. Orestes C. was the fifth child in the 

Dr. Lukenbill was educated in the public 
schools and the University of Indiana. He 
graduated from the Gosport high school, and 
pursued his medical studies in the University 
of Louisville and the Medical College of In- 
diana, from which he was graduated in 1892. 
Immediately after graduating he located at his 
present office and has been in continuous and 
successful practice since that time. The Doc- 
tor is associated with the various medical 
bodies of the times, such as the Marion County 
and the State Medical Societies, and the 
American Medical Association. In the Ma- 
sonic fraternity he is very prominent, having 
risen to the thirty-second degree, Scottish Rite, 
and is a member of the Mystic Shrine. He is 
associated with Center Lodge, of Indianapolis, 
and is also a member of Indianapolis Lodge, 
No. 56, K. P. He is a Republican in political 

On Oct. 23, 1893, Dr. Lukenbill was mar- 
ried to Miss Pearl Cline, who was born in 
Clayton, Hendricks Co., Ind., a daughter of 
David and Florence Cline. Mrs. Lukenbill 
was educated at the Central Normal College, 
Danville, Ind. She is a member of the East 
Washington Street Presbyterian Church. 

of the highly respected and successful farmers 
of Perry township, Marion Co., Ind., and a 
veteran of the Civil war, was born April 28, 
1837, in Marion county, son of Joseph and 
Elizabeth (Monroe) Wallace, natives of 
Bourbon county, Kentucky. 

John Wallace, grandfather of Capt. Wil- 
liam J., was a native of Virginia, and an early 
settler in Kentucky, where he died when still 
in middle life. By occupation he was a mill- 
wright and farmer, and at one time was a 
wealthy man, but met with reverses, and sacri- 
ficed 600 acres of land to pay his creditors. 
By descent he was a Scotchman, and inher- 
ited many of the excellent traits of character 
of that sturdy nation. His descendants are 
numerous, for he had a large family. On 
the maternal side the grandfather of Capt. 
William J- Wallace was Alexander IMonroe, a 

native of Virginia, and a pioneer in Kentucky 
and later in Indiana, residing in the latter 
State at the home of his son-in-law, Joseph 
Wallace, in Marion county, until his death, 
which occurred over sixty years ago, when he 
was eighty-seven years of age. This venera- 
ble man had been a soldier in the war of the 
Revolution, and he was a great patriot. Dur- 
ing his long life he made many friends and 
his funeral was the largest ever held in Perry 
township. He had seven or eight children, 
all of whom grew to be highly respected men 
and women. For many years Alexander Mon- 
roe was a Baptist preacher and converted hun- 
dreds to the church. 

Joseph Wallace, the Captain's father, was 
a farmer and stock raiser all his life. Coming 
to Indiana in 1828, he located on the farm 
where his son William now resides, in Perry 
township, one mile east of Southport, Ind., 
buying 120 acres, which he improved and 
later sold, settling upon and improving an- 
other 120 acres adjoining, and here he died 
in 1874, aged seventy-four years. His wife 
passed away a year previously, when about 
seventy years old. Both were members of the 
Missionary Baptist Church, in which he was 
a deacon for many years. Ten children were 
born to these people, four sons and six daugh- 
ters. Capt. William J. being now the only 

William J. Wallace was reared in Perry 
township, and has resided in the country al- 
most all his life. His early education was 
obtained in the old-fashioned subscription 
schools, and he resided at home until he had 
attained his majority, when he rented a farm 
until 1856, at which time he was called to In- 
dianapofis to serve for six years as deputy 
county recorder. In July. 1861, fired with 
patriotism, he enlisted in Company D, 26th 
Ind. Vol. Inf., and served until October, 1864. 
His name was the first to be enrolled in his 
company, and while he entered as a private 
his bravery soon won him promotion to the 
rank of second lieutenant, then first lieuten- 
ant, and finally, during the last two years of 
his service, he was captain. On Dec. 7, 1862, 
at the battle of Prairie Grove, Ark., he was 
wounded in the right arm. While he was in 
the service Captain Wallace was in the fol- 
lowing engagements: Prairie Grove: Yazoo 
Citv: "almost all through the siege of Vicks- 
burg; down to Port Hudson and Carrollton, 
and from there was sent out from Morganza 
Bend, near the Atchafalaya river, where he 



was captured by General Green's forces and 
marched direct to Tyler, Texas, being held 
for over ten months in the stockade without 
any shade, suffering untold misery and hard- 
ships. In 1864 he and his fellow prisoners 
were exchanged at the mouth of the Red river, 
then were taken to New Orleans. Here they 
were placed in excellent barracks and care- 
fully treated until they had recovered from 
the effects of their cruel captivity. When in 
good condition again they were taken to Car- 
rollton and remained there until honorably 
discharged. So strictly honest was Captain 
Wallace, and so carefully did he guard the 
interests of the government, that when the 
time of settlement came there was only S4.40 
for which he could not account — a very re- 
markable record, considering the disturbed 
state of affairs. 

After the war, Captain Wallace returned 
to Indianapolis and was on the police force 
for one year, when he moved to his father's 
farm, renting it in 1868, and continued to 
operate it until 1870. At this date he was 
elected clerk of ■Marion county, and so served 
until 1874, to the entire satisfaction of all par- 
ties concerned. In 1874 he returned to the 
farm, where he now- resides, now owning 113 
acres of finely cultivated land, upon which he 
has made many improvements. In political 
opinion he is a stanch Republican and takes 
an active part in all campaigns, his personal 
popularity and thorough grasp of existing 
conditions giving him great influence among 
his neighbors. Captain Wallace and his fam- 
ily are all members of the Baptist Church, in 
which they are highly esteemed. 

On Oct. 25, 1855, Captain Wallace was 
married to ]\Iiss j\lary A. Moore, daughter of 
Thomas E. and ]\Iargaret (Tucker) Moore, 
and three children have been born to them : 
(i) Luther T., a farmer in Perry township, 
married j\Iiss Martha J. Meyers, and they 
have had five children, William E., Mary 
Ethel, Aria W., Leona, and Ruth, of whom 
\\'illiam died at the age of fifteen years, and 
Ruth died in infancy. (2) Laura A., the sec- 
ond child of. Captain Wallace, married Rev. 
N. C. Smith, and they live at Princeton, Ind. 
(3) Florence Elizabeth, the third, married 
George A. Ross, and they reside in Perry 
township, where both were born and reared. 
He is now a farmer and teacher. They have 
had six children, Wallace A., Arthur, William 
Jerald, Florence INIarion, Eleanor and George 
Emmerson, Of these, Arthur died in infancy. 

Captain Wallace and all his family are 
numbered among the substantial and reliable 
people of the several communities in which 
tliey reside. The genial head of the fam- 
ily can look with pride upon his children and 
grandchildren, as well as back upon a well- 
spent life, devoted to the good of his country 
and the welfare of his family. 

BENJAMIN F. COOK, for the past sev- 
eral years a factor in the commercial life of 
Indianapolis, has fine quarters for his business 
as a lumberman and investment broker in 
Room 517, Stevenson building. He was born 
in Buffalo, N. Y., Dec. 25, 1843, son of Bur- 
net and Thirza (Hoyt) Cook, the father a 
native of Scotland and the mother of Eng- 
land. Ten children were born to them, of 
whom eight were sons. The only members of 
the family now living are Benjamin F., and 
Lucy A., who is the wife of J. A. Wakefield, 
of Seattle, Washington. 

Burnet Cook was a butcher. He came to 
America with his parents when only eight 
years old, and they located on Long Island, 
where he grew to manhood. For a 'number of 
years he was engaged in business at Ithaca, 
N. Y., and then removed to Penn Yan, where 
he remained until 1852. That year he went 
to Davenport, Iowa, where he pulled the first 
locomotive across the river that ever crossed 
that stream at that point, dragging it across 
on the ice. He lived in Davenport from 1852 
until 1886, being engaged in farming as well 
as butchering, in the latter year removing to 
Sioux City, Iowa, to make his home with his 
son, Benjamin F., where he died in 1891, at 
the age of eighty-nine years. His wife, who 
passed to her rest at the age of sixty-two 
years, died in 187 1. They were both Presby- 
terians, and he had been a trustee of the 
church for many years. In his more active 
years he had served as township trustee, jus- 
tice of the peace and school director. 

Nathan Cook, the father of Burnet, was 
born in Scotland. For many years he carried 
on a tannery at Ithaca, N. Y., where he died 
aged 103. Coming to this country he served 
in the Revolutionary war and the war of 1812. 
His wife was a Miss Lewis, and she bore her 
husband a numerous family. 

Levi Hoyt, the father of Thirza Hoyt, 
whose name appears in the opening paragraph 
of this article, was a native of England, and 
when he came to this country, made his home 
at first in Connecticut, but afterward removed 



to Spencer, N. Y., where he fohowed shoe- 
making. He was a soldier in the war of 18 12. 
When he died at Spencer, N. Y., he was over 
seventy years of age. In his family there 
were four children. 

When Benjamin F. Cook was nine years 
old his parents took him to Davenport, Iowa, 
where he grew to manhood. For the ensuing 
three years he attended the local schools, and 
was early set to learn his father's business, 
that of a butcher. When he became a man 
he took up the live stock trade, and followed 
it until 1888. That year he engaged in a 
wholesale grocery business, at Sioux City, 
Iowa, in which he remained until 1894, in 
which year his wife died. Since then he has 
been a lumberman, operating mostly in Mis- 
sissippi and Louisiana. 

Benjamin F. Cook was married Dec. 27, 
1870, to Miss Mary J., a daughter of J. L. and 
Rachel Ann (Taylor) Andre, of Medina, 
Ohio. To this union were born two sons and 
two daughters: Benjamin Alfred was drowned 
when he was nineteen years old; Nathan Le- 
roy married Edith Gotham, and they live in 
Sioux City, Iowa, where he is engaged in the 
restain-ant business ; Jettie Pearl, and Bes- 
sie L. Mrs. Mary J. Cook died June i, 1894, 
at the age of forty-seven years. She was a 
member of the Methodist Church. Her father 
was a farmer and stock raiser, and has had his 
home at Davenport, Iowa,' since 1862, where 
he still lives on his farm. His wife died in 

.\lr. Cock was married (second), Peb. 27, 
1901, to Mrs. Ollie Knight, widow of William 
C. Knight, and daughter of William and Eliz- 
abeth (Jones) Cunningham, both of whom 
were natives of JNIiami county, and life-long 
residents of Peru. Her father is a farmer, 
and has reared a family of seven children. 

]\Ir. and Mrs. Cook are members of the 
Methodist Church. Mr. Cook belongs to the 
Knights of Pythias, Mounted Division of the 
Uniform Rank, the Princes of Iran, the A. 
( ). L'. W., and the Legion of Honor. In 
politics he is a Republican, but has had no 
aspirations for office-holding honors. In the 
various orders to which he belongs he has 
filled important chairs, and for eleven years 
was treasurer of the Mounted Division, K. P., 
at Sioux City. He has been Chancellor and 
\'ice Chancellor Commander of the Knights 
of Pythias, and Master Workman and Re- 
corder of the A. O. U. W., of which he is the 
oldest member in good standing in Iowa. 

In lyoo he came to Indianapolis, and has es- 
tablished himself and family in very cozy 
and comfortable quarters at the corner of 
17th and Ruckle streets. 

.Mr. Cook is president of the Dixon Lum- 
ber Company, doing business in Mississippi. 
He buys and sells large tracts of timber land 
in the South, and has colonized a number of 
localities in the South, principally from Iowa. 

dianapolis, enjoys the distinction of not only 
being the oldest pastor of the German Re- 
formed Church but also of being one of the 
oldest resident clergymen of that city. He 
was born near Frankfort, in Hesse Darm- 
stadt, Germany, Oct. 12, 1815, son of Sebas- 
tian Barth. 

Sebastian Barth crossed the ocean in 183 1 
to seek a home in the New World, bringing 
with him his wife and five sons, born to a 
former marriage ; their mother died in Ger- 
many. The tirst settlement of the Barth fam- 
ily was made at Chambersburg, Pa., but later 
oil ]\Ir. Barth removed to Bedford, in the same 
State, and in 1837 came to Indianapolis, 
among the early settlers of the city. He passed 
away soon after his arrival, and the widow 
and sons were left to make their way in what 
was practically a new country. The two older 
sons were Adam, who was born in 1810, and 
George, born in 1813. These young men 
were successfully engaged in business in 
Louisville, Ky., when their father died ; 
whereupon they came to Indianapolis and took 
the widow and the other children back with 
them to Louisville. The family were what 
might be termed natural musicians, and for 
a nun^ber of years traveled through the South, 
giving concerts. Sebastian C, now the only 
living son, was the third of the brothers; 
Philip, the fourth, and John, the youngest. 
Two daughters were born to the second mar- 
riage of the father, Catherine and Elizabeth. 
All the members of this family became con- 
verted, and led worthy Christian lives. Adam 
enlisted in the L'nion army during the Civil 
war, and, receiving a sunstroka while in the 
service, died at his home in 1865. George 
raised a company at Louisville, was chosen 
captain, made a fine record at the front, and 
was promoted several times, attaining the rank 
of colonel ; when he died at his home in Louis- 
ville years later he was buried with military 
honors ; he was an ardent Republican. Philip 
who became a minister, passed away at Iowa 



City, Iowa, several years ago. John, also a 
prominent clergyman, died at his home in 
Indianapolis. The sisters are still living in 
Louisville. All the brothers except Sebastian 
C. were members of the ]\Iethodist Church, 
and died in that communion. 

In 1840 Sebastian C. Barth was con- 
verted and united with the church. He gave 
up all worldly pursuits and devoted his life 
to the service of the Lord. His honorable 
and useful career, his unselfish spirit and 
devoted labors in the church attest the sincerity 
of his vows of consecration. He and his 
brother Philip traveled as colporteurs of the 
Methodist Church in 1842 and 1843. The 
latter year he entered the ministry of the 
Methodist Church, at the request of the au- 
thorities of that body, having exhibited marked 
ability while exhorting during his work as a 
colporteur. His first charge was the Ver- 
sailles mission, from Lexington to the mouth 
of the Osage river, twenty miles below Jef- 
ferson City, in Missouri. He preached to the 
Germans under Presiding Elder Jennison, re- 
ceiving a salary of fifty dollars a year. Fif- 
teen congregations were organized by him in 
the different counties above mentioned, and 
the discharge of his duties involved a journey 
of three hundred miles on horseback every 
three weeks. During the first year he used 
up three horses, which were given him by a 
kind Christian farmer. He would ride nights 
to reach his preaching points, often making a 
journey of fifty miles between sunset and 

]Mr. Barth was married in 1844 to the 
worthy and faithful helpmate who is still his 
companion in life, Elizabeth Fieser, a na- 
tive of Hasslock, Rlieinpfalz, Germany. Soon 
after his marriage Mr. Barth was appointed 
by the Conference as pastor at Burlington, 
Iowa, where he remained two years. He 
was successively in charge at Quincy, 111. ; 
St. Louis ; Wheeling, W. \^a. ; Pittsburg ; Cin- 
cinnati ; Lafayette, Ind. ; Ann Arbor, Mich. ; 
Toledo, Ohio; and Fort Wayne, Ind. On 
account of throat trouble he removed to Nash- 
ville, Tenn., where he remained from 1858 to 
the breaking out of the Civil war, in 1861. As 
his support was cut off because of war troubles 
he came back to Indianapolis by the advice of 
his brother John. Here he found a prejudice 
against him because he had been connected 
with the Methodist Church South, and for 
six years — from 1861 to 1867 — h^ was re- 
jected, though he applied each year for an 

assignment as pastor. Accordingly, in 1867, 
by an urgent invitation he entered the Indi- 
ana Classis of the Reformed Church, where 
he has been engaged for forty years as an 
able and consecrated minister. He was in 
the iMethodist ministry for twenty-four years, 
making in all sixty-four years during which 
he has preached the Gospel with singleness 
of mind and sincerity of purpose. 

For three years Mr. Barth was pastor of 
the First German Reformed Church in Indi- 
anapolis. He had charges in New Albany, 
Fort Wayne and Middletown, Ind., and then, 
coming back to Indianapolis, took up mission 
work at Haughville and Springdale. In this 
work he was engaged until 1895, when he re- 
signed, on his eightieth birthday. He and his 
wife, with their two youngest daughters, are 
now living at their pleasant home. No. 715 
North West street, Indianapolis. Rev. and 
r^Irs. Barth have had ten children, nine of 
whom are now living, five sons and four 
daughters. Seven are married and have 
families of their own. Mr. and ^Irs. Barth 
have been married sixty-three years, and their 
wedded life has been a beautiful illustration 
of ideal marital happiness. They celebrated 
their golden wedding in 1894 and their dia- 
mond wedding in 1904 — a privilege vouch- 
safed to few. 

The fiftieth anniversary of the entrance 
of Mr. Barth into the ministry — 1843 to 
1893 — ■^^'^s observed with loving zeal in 1893, 
the many friends of this aged and beloved 
servant of God making it a time of rejoicing 
and congratulation. It was first celebrated in 
the Brightwood congregation, all the Re- 
formed churches in the city taking part, with 
their respective ministers, who addressed the 
large assembly of jubilaum. It was a great 
anniversary feast in honor of his fifty years' 
service in the ministry — a glorious time, to 
the honor of God through Christ the beloved 
Savior. The anniversary was as fittingly 
celebrated by the Hope Congregation at 

Mr. Barth prizes very highly a copy of 
"The Souvenir of the West German Con- 
ference of the Methodist Episcopal Church," 
which was presented him by a committee of 
students and a professor of the Central Wes- 
leyan College, in Warrenton, AIo. Tiie Pro- 
fessor, as their president, wrote him a letter 
March 19, 1906, asking for information about 
the German Versailles mission, of which he 
was the first missionary, organizing congre- 



gations in 1843 and 1844. It was placed 
under the care of the West German Confer- 
ence, but no member of the conference had 
any knowledge of the beginning of the mis- 
sion except Mr. Barth, to whom, as tirst pas- 
tor, the Professor turned when appointed by 
a committee to write a church history, from 
the beginning, of every congregation under 
the care of said conference. Mr. Barth com- 
plied with his request for information con- 
cerning the mission, and was subsequently 
favored with a copy of the completed work. 

ALFRED ELLIS, a farmer of Washing- 
ton township, Marion Co., Ind., was born 
there, on the AUison Pike, Oct. 26, 1830, a 
son of James and Leah (Cruze) Ellis. The 
father was born in Virginia, and his father 
was also born in that State, where he died. 

James Ellis was a farmer, and coming 
to Indiana before his marriage, in 1818, en- 
tered eighty acres on Fall creek, in Wash- 
ington township, which he sold after im- 
proving to buy the adjoining quarter-section 
on the south. This he thoroughly improved, 
and there he reared his family. He died on 
that place in 1845, at the age of fifty-five 
years, his widow surviving until 1889, to the 
age of seventy-five years. Her death was the 
result of an accident, in which she was thrown 
out of a wagon. Mrs. Ellis's religious con- 
victions brought her early into the Presby- 
terian Church, and she lived a good life. Mr. 
Ellis was not identified with any church, but 
was a believer in the Bible., and a religious 
man of solid convictions and genuine worth. 
In his more active years he was called to fill 
several town offices. He and his wife had 
two sons and two daughters, three of the chil- 
dren now living: Paulina, the wife of Mil- 
lard J. jNIillard, of Knoxville, Iowa; Alfred; 
and Henry, of Denver, Colo. Mrs. Ellis also 
reared an orphan boy from infancy until 

Philip Cruze, the maternal grandfather of 
Alfred Ellis, came to Vincennes, Ind., from 
North Carolina, where his daughter Leah 
was born, and later settled about five miles 
north of Indianapolis for a stay of one sum- 
mer, after which he lived to be a very old 
man in Illinois, where he died. 

Alfred Ellis was reared on the farm where 
he now lives until he attained his majority, 
when he went to California, in the spring of 
1852. to prospect for gold, and spent eight 
years in that State. He lived in Nevada for 

fifteen years, being in the service of the Gov- 
ernment most of that time. Mr. Ellis enlisted 
in the 2d California Cavalry as a member of 
Company K, and served eighteen months. His 
command did not participate in any battle, 
and he came out as he went into the army, a 
private. He receives a pension. After the 
war Mr. Ellis was employed in a saw-mill, 
and in January, 1867, he returned home by 
way of Central America. For a time he lived 
with his mother on the home farm, and then, 
marrying, he began farming on his own ac- 
count, in which work he has been engaged 
to the present time. 

Mr. Ellis was married March 4, 1867, to 
Miss Sarah E., daughter of Jonah F. and 
Hilah Ross (Shaw) Lemon, of Ohio, and to 
this union have come five children, four sons 
and one daughter: James L., Dora M., 
Charles F., and two that died in infancy. Mr. 
and Mrs. Ellis belong to the Methodist 
Church. He became a Mason in Indianapolis 
in 1852. 

When Mr. Ellis began life for himself, 
he had thirty-eight acres of the old home- 
stead to farm. On the death of his father-in- 
law his wife came into possession of a hun- 
dred acres in Lawrence township, making 
138 acres, which they still own. He has 
lived in Marion county with the exception of 
the time occupied by his Western experiences, 
and has seen the face of the country trans- 
formed. After the family settled here his 
mother picked brush many days to get the 
ground ready for the plow, and she was as 
industrious and thrifty as the hard demands 
of that time necessitated. They kept sheep, 
and Avhen the wool was clipped Mrs. Ellis 
spun and wove it into cloth for the family 
wear. She raised flax and made linen out of 
which the boys' breeches were fashioned, 
again by her hands, and Mr. Ellis has in his 
possession a skein of flax which she raised on 
the home farm and put up ready for the spin- 
ning-wheel with which to make thread. In 
1 82 1 she gathered enough nettle weed from 
the grounds of the Fair Association to make 
twenty yards of linen, which she spun and 
wove herself. This will give the children of 
the present day an idea of the tasks laid on 
the farmers' wives in pioneer days, in addition 
to their regular household duties. Sixty-five 
or seventy years ago all the sugar and syrup 
were made from the tree sap, an interesting 
but ardubus addition to the tasks of the over- 
worked pioneers. Alfred Ellis can remember 



wlien the meadows were mowed with the 
old-fashioned scythe, and the wheat was cut 
with the reaping hook, and later with the 
cradle. He has pitched hay with a wooden 
fork, has seen the ground broken with an old 
wooden mold-board plow, and has helped 
in the work of hauling and piling the logs 
removed in the making of some of the best 
farms of the present, this country having been 
two-thirds forest during his early years. 

Jonah F. Lemon, father of Mrs. Ellis, was 
born in Newtown, Hamilton Co., Ohio, Aug. 
lo, 1811, and married Hilah Ross Shaw in 
1835. She was born in November, 1817. 
They became the parents of five children, three 
of whom are now living: Sarah E., Mrs. Al- 
fred Ellis ; Alary E., the widow of Hezeklah 
Hutchins, of Indianapolis ; and Daniel A., of 
the same city. 

Air. and Mrs. Jonah F. Lemon came to 
Indiana about 1839, locating on Fall creek, 
about nine miles northeast of Indianapolis, 
where Airs. Lemon died at the age of twenty- 
nine years, July 14, 1847. Air. Lemon was 
married in December, 1847, to Alary F. 
\\'right, and two of the five children born 
to this union are now living: Luella, who 
is the wife of Charles S. Schofield ; and Dora, 
the wife of William V. Rooker, of Indianapo- 
lis. Mr. Lemon died Alarch 7, 1893, at the 
aged of eighty-two years. Mrs. Mary F. 
Lemon died in February, 1884, at the age of 
sixty-four years. Air. Lemon and both his 
wives were members of the Alethodist Church, 
and he was a Royal Arch Alason. 

SAIITH CRAFT, whose home is at No. 
726 Indiana jrvenue, Indianapolis, was born 
in Richmond, Ind., June 27, 1829, a son of 
Thomas and Hannah (O'Hara) Craft. The 
faher was born and reared in Ohio, and the 
mother in New Jersey. They were among 
the very early pioneers at Richmond, Ind., 
and there lived until they died. Of their 
family of nine children. Smith Craft is now 
the only survivor. 

Mr. Craft came into Marion county about 
1855. He learned the blacksmith's trade, 
which has been his life business, though at 
the present time, owing to his advanced years 
and the infirmities of age, he is not engaged 
in active labor. He has ever been an active 
and industrious citizen, and possesses uncom- 
mon mechanical ability and an inventive mind. 
One of his most important inventions is what 

is known as the stacker, which farmers employ 
in stacking hay. 

Air. Craft and Aliss Mary Baylor were 
married June i, 1854. She is a daughter of 
John and Nancy Baylor, and granddaughter 
of Peter Baylor, a native of Pennsylvania. 
The father of Peter Baylor was kidnapped 
when a boy on his way to school, and was 
brought from Germany. He was sold for 
his passage to a party on the Delaware river. 
Peter Baylor removed to Ohio, where he be- 
came a pioneer in Urbana county, and there 
his son John was born, the eldest of five chil- 
dren. The father died when John was but 
a lad of sixteen, and eleven years later, in 
1827, he came to Indianapolis, being among 
the very first to make a home in the city. He 
lived on the National road, on what is now 
known as the Holmes place, and there he 
was married, June i, 1830, to Aliss Nancy 
Sargent, who was born in Piketon, Pike 
Co., Ohio, in 181 1, and came to Indianapolis 
in 1828. Her father, John Sargent, was 
drowned two months before she was born. 
His wife, Delia Ancrum, who was of French 
descent, died in Ohio. John Baylor lived on 
the Holmes farm and operated a mill until 
1832, being an adept at the milling business. 
Then he located at the east end of the old 
White river bridge, where he operated a mill 
until 1834, when he located where Air. and 
Airs. Craft now live. In Alarch, 1835, Air. 
Baylor removed to the Patterson Alills, which 
he carried on until his death, which occurred 
Jan. 8, 1837. Air. Baylor was considered an 
expert miller in his day, and was a man of 
much character and standing among his own 
neighbors. His integrity and honesty were 
never questioned, and his early death was not 
only a loss to his family, but to the entire 
community. His widow becajne the wife of 
Lorenzo Dow Wilson, and died in 1854. She 
is remembered as a most worthy wife and 
mother. Air. and Mrs. Baylor were the par- 
ents of three sons and two daughters, all 
now deceased. Airs. Craft, who was the last 
survivor, dying June 24, 1906. She and a 
twin sister Nancy, were the oldest of the 
family, and were born Jan. 26, 1831. Nancy, 
wlio became Airs. David King, died Aug. 27, 
1883. John Baylor, Jr., the third of the 
family, survived the dangers incident to a 
soldier's life in the war of the Rebellion, but 
died soon after the closing of the war, of dis- 
ease contracted in the service. James Baylor, 



the next son in the family, also donned the 
Union blue, fought gallantly and well in the 
Union army, and died about a year after the 
war closed. Peter Baylor, who bore his 
grandfather's name, was the youngest of the 
family ; he died when only eight years old, 
Feb. 8, 1837, only a month after his father's 
departure to the better life. 

Mrs. Craft was a woman of fine mind 
and most remarkable memory. In the earlier 
days she was associated with some of the 
most intellectual people of the State. Smith 
Craft and his wife had born to them nine 
children, but three of whom are now living: 
Laura B., who. is the wife of Samuel L. 
Douglass; Mrs. Cora Lehman, and Moreland 
E. Craft. The other children died in infancy. 
Mr. Craft is a worthy member of the Metho- 
dist Church, as was also his wife. He has 
three grandchildren, Bessie, Arthur Buford, 
and Robert Bruce Douglass, and also had two 
great-grandchildren, Dolly and Robert Doug- 
lass Shultz, children of Robert R. and Bessie 
Shultz, now of Knoxville, Tennessee. 

WILLIAM C. SMOCK, Esq., a promi- 
nent pioneer of Indianapolis, was born in 
Marion county, Ind., Dec. 30, 1838, son of 
Isaac and Ann T. (Smock) Smock, both of 
whom were natives of Kentucky. 

John Smock, his paternal grandfather, was 
born in Pennsylvania, of Holland-Dutch de- 
scent, and about 1796 moved to Kentucky, 
where he made his home in Mercer county. 
He died there about 1820, when about fifty 
years of age. His occupation was farming, 
and he reared a large family. 

Isaac Smock was also a farmer. He came 
to Indiana in 1829, in company with his 
widowed mother, when only twelve years old, 
and they settled on a farm five miles south of 
Indianapolis, where the youth grew to man- 
hood. All his life he followed farming. His 
death occurred in Southport at the age of 
seventy-seven years, nine months, and his 
widow survived until Sept. 8. 1906, reaching 
her eight} -sixth year. Like her husband, she 
belonged to the Baptist Church. They had five 
sons and six daughters, and six of their chil- 
dren are still living : William C. ; Richard 
M., who is commandant of the State Soldiers' 
Home at Lafayette, Ind. ; Charles E., of Indi- 
anapohs; Frederick L., of Southport; John 
M., also of Southport; and Sarah C., the wife 
of Dr. Charles M. Gravis, of Martinsville, 

John Smock, the maternal grandfather of 
'Squire William C. Smock, was born in Penn- 
sylvania, where he was reared to farming. 
Early in life he removed to Shelby county, 
Ky., and about 1822 to Indiana, making a 
location two miles south of Indianapolis, where 
he died in 1827, when well advanced in years. 
He was the father of a numerous family. He ' 
was a man of superior education for his time, 
noted for his penmanship, and was quite a 
business man; he did collecting for a clock 
company. His father, Jacob Smock, a Revo- 
lutionary soldier, married Catharine Demarest, 
and they emigrated to Shelby county, Ky., 
where they died. 

William C. Smock passed the first sixteen 
years of his life on a farm in Marion county, 
and spent the ensuing two years in the office 
of the county recorder. For two years follow- 
ing lie was a student in Franklin College, 
and then became deputy clerk of the 2\lanon 
county circuit court, a position he held until 
1865, when he was elected clerk. For five 
years he did acceptable service in that capacity. 
For eight years he dealt in real estate, and for 
eight years following he was again in the 
clerk's office as a deputy. After this he was 
again in the real estate business for twelve 
years, and in 1898 was elected justice of the 
peace, a position he filled with credit to himself, 
and satisfaction to those who had business 
dealings with him, retiring therefrom Nov. 
16, 1906. He is now engaged in the practice 
of the law. He is a man of character and 
standing in his community. 

Squire Smock was married Dec. 6, i860, 
to ]\liss Malissa A., daughter of Jacob ami 
Frances V. (Colley) Smock, and they have 
had six children, of whom four were sons : 
Eva, Laura, Harry, Herbert, William, and one 
boy that died in infancy. Eva married Henry 
Schurmann, of Indianapolis ; Laura died in 
infancy ; Harry, a veterinary surgeon, has his 
home in Franklin, Ind., Herbert died when 
eighteen years old, and William at the age of 
four months. 

Squire Smock and his excellent wife are 
members of the First Baptist Church ; he has 
been a chorister in the church for thirty-five 
years, for twenty-four years was a deacon in 
the First Baptist Church, and for seventeen 
years has served as Sunday-school superin- 

When a child Squire Smock was crippled 
in his right hip, but he bears himself well, and 
is possessed of a very happy and inspiring 


disposition. In politics he is a Republican. 
His home is at No. 1907 North Delaware 
street, where he built a modern, up-to-date 
home in 1896. 

Jx\iMES E. GREER, now living at No. 26 
Gartield avenue, Indianapolis, was at one time 
county commissioner, and is numbered among 
the leading citizens of Marion county. 

Mr. Greer was born in Hancock county, 
Ind., Aug. 19, 1844, son of Stephen H. and 
Caroline AI. (_ Smith) Greer. His father was 
born in Kentucky, and his mother in Virginia. 
They had a family of five sons and one daugh- 
ter and five of their children are still living : 
Elizabeth, the wife of John Caskey, of Madi- 
son county, Iowa ; James E. ; Sanford L., who 
•died at the age of three years ; Alvin T., of 
Eortville, Ind. ; Horace A., also of Fortville ; 
and George G., of Warren township, Marion 
county. Stephen H. Greer was all his life 
a farmer, coming with his parents from Ken- 
tucky to Eranklin township, JNlarion county, 
in 1824 and taking up land from the govern- 
ment. In 1869 he removed to Fortville, Han- 
cock county, where he made his home until 
April, 1893, dying the 17th of that month, 
when over seventy-three years old. His wife 
w^as fifty-four years old at the time of her 
death, in 1872. Both were members of the 
Baptist Church, and were numbered among 
ihe best people of their community. 

James P. Greer, the grandfather of James 
E., was born in Maryland and moved into 
Kentucky, coming in 1826 to Marion county, 
Ind., where he entered land from the govern- 
ment. He died Feb. 17, 1848, at the age of 
seventy years. His was a numerous offspring. 
During the war of 1812 he was a recruiting 
officer. He was a physician and for many 
years a justice of the peace. His father was 
Stephen H. Greer, a native of Ireland, of 
Scotch ancestry. After coming to this country 
he settled in Pennsylvania, but soon removed 
to Maryland and then to Ohio, where he died. 
His children were nine in number, six boys 
and three girls. During the Revolutionary 
Avar he served as a soldier. In 1802 James 
i\ Greer was married to Elizabeth Mathers- 
head, whose father was also a Revolutionary 

The maternal grandfather of James E. 
tireer was Ebenezer Smith. Born in \^ir- 
ginia, he came of Gennan descent^ and his 
wife was a Hughes. They removed from 
Virginia to Kentucky, where for a time they 

owned slaves, but presently gave them their 
freedom, and about 1832 settled in Warren 
township, Marion Co., Ind., where they secured 
land from the government. He was a Baptist 
minister, and died in Warren township about 
1853, in late middle life. His family con- 
sisted of four daughters and two sons. Of 
these Ebenezer S. was the last survivor, and 
he had a daughter, ;Mrs. Cora Sylvia, who 
has her home in Indianapolis. 

James E. Greer has spent the greater 
part of his life in Alarion county, in 1873 and 
1874 living in Hancock county. Growing to 
manhood in Franklin township, he attended 
the public schools, and was reared to farming 
life. He has always been a farmer, and has 
combined with the cultivation of the soil, 
auctioneering and engineering at various 
periods of his life. 

In 1861 Mr. Greer donned the Union blue, 
as a member of Company I, 36th Ind. V. I., 
served throughout the war and was dis- 
charged at Vicksburg, Miss., Jan. 11, 1866, 
after making in every way a most honorable 
record as a non-commissioned officer. In the 
battle of Sterling Plantations, near Alorganza 
Bend, he was wounded in the right thigh. He 
participated in the battle of Prairie Grove, 
Ark., the Vicksburg campaign, the actions at 
Port Hudson, and many other fierce and 
bloody engagements, including the siege of 
Mobile. After the war he returned home to 
Franklin township, and engaged in farming. 
For the last six years he has had his home in 
Irvington. He owns a farm of eighty acres 
in Franklin township, and a little home in 
Tuxedo park. 

Mr. Greer was married Oct. 2. 1867, to 
INliss Artie Eaton, a daugliter of Thomas S. 
and Almira (Springer) Eaton, and to this 
union were born six daughters and four sons : 
Cassie B., who died at the age of twenty-four 
years, married John Kitley, and became the 
mother of four children, James Robert, Marj' 
Elizabeth, John Alvin and Nellie Murle (who 
is deceased). Emmet died when only three 
weeks old. Charles D. died at the age of 
eighteen. Thomas H., a stationary fireman, 
married Daisy Harvey, and they live in Tux- 
edo. Carrie Gertrude married Rev. John W. 
Barnett, a Congregational minister, and they 
live in Columbus, Ohio, the parents of one 
daughter. Mavis Claire. Geneva G. married 
Clifford Day, of Indianapolis, and they have 
one daughter, Beatrice Romaine, Josie A. 
married Harrie G. Copeland, and they have 



their home in Tuxedo. Xellie C, Garfield G. misfortune, evoked the respect and admiration 
and Lizzie Howe Logan are at home. of his many friends, who esteemed him as one 

]\Ir. and Mrs. Greer are members of the of the worthy successful and self-made citi- 
Christian (Disciples) Church, in which he zens of Marion county, 
holds the position of elder, being connected 

with Buckland Chapel, Franklin township,; CAPT. JECHONIAS RUTLEDGE, a 

in that capacity. He belongs to George H. commercial traveler, whose home is at No. 
Thomas Post, No. 17, G. A. R., and in politics 1529 Fletcher avenue, Indianapolis, was born 
is a Republican. For six years he was a com- in Louisville, Ky., May 14, 1840. 
missioner of Marion county. Carroll W. and Nancy (Estes) Rutledge, 

his parents, were natives of Tennessee, and 

GEORGE \V. STOUT, who died j\larch George Rutledge, his grandfathe-r, was born 
I, 1903, spent his last years in retirement in in South Carolina. He settled in Virginia 
Indianapolis. Not until he had passed his before the separation of Tennessee, the cutting 
three-score years and ten did he leave the off of that territory making him a resident of 
farm which had been the scene of his sue- Tennessee. His ancestry was Scotch-Irish, 
cessful life. He was born in Morgan county, and Presbyterianism the religious faith of the 
111., March 14, 1828, son of Thomas F. Stout, family. Born and bred a farmer, he followed 
one of the pioneers of Marion county, Ind. agricultural life in Tennessee, and lived to a 
George \V. was about eight years old when great age, being 114 years old at the time of 
he was brought by his parents to Wayne town- his death. He married three times, wedding 
ship, Marion county. Here on a farm he was his third wife when he was 105 years old. 
reared to manhood, acquiring in his youth the He was the father of five sons and three 
sterling virtues of industry and thrift which daughters. 

helped to crown his well-spent life. He re- Carroll W. Rutledge was reared on a farm 
mained throughout his active years a progres- in Tennessee, where he was married, and then 
sive and prominent farmer of Marion county, with his wife moved to Louisville, Ky., walk- 
Beginning life for himself with little else than ing from Cumberland Gap. At Louisville he 
strong hands and a willing heart, he manfully secured work in connection with steamboat- 
strove to obtain a start in life, and though ing, and this was his occupation until his 
obstacles appeared in his pathway, and death, in 1866, at the age of fifty years. His 
troubles at times darkened the skies above him, widow survived until she was seventy-five 
he rose superior to every discouragement, and years of age. She was a Methodist, and he a 
his declining years were marked by that peace Baptist, though he was not identified with 
and contentment which he so richly deserved, any church. They had seven sons and six 
At the age of twenty-one years, on Sept. daughters. Captain Rutledge being probably 
24, 1S49, ^ir. Stout married Miss Sarah Hoi- the only member of that interesting family 
man, a native of Kentucky. She died Sept. now living. 

24, 1869, leaving four children: David, Fur- John Estes, the maternal grandfather of 
man, Joseph C. and Mrs. Anna M. Williams. Captain Rutledge, was a native of Tennessee, 
For his second wife Mr. Stout married, Aug. of French ancestry, his father following La- 
2, 1872, Fannie L. Brown, who died Feb. 4, Fayette to this country, and serving as a 
1883. The two children born to this mar- lieutenant in the war of the Revolution. John 
riage who grew to maturity, Herbert W. and Estes was a soldier in the war of 1812. He 
Flora B., are now deceased. Mr. Stout"s third was a farmer in his native State. He lived 
marriage, on March 17, 1886, was to Amanda to be ninety-nine years of age, dying in Ten- 
E. Grimes, who was born and reared near ncssee, where his life had been spent. He had 
Lafayette, Ind. She survives Mr. Stout, and a family of five sons and four daughters, 
make's her home on West Michigan street, Capt. Jechonias Rutledge was reared in 

Indianapolis. In 1899 Mr. Stout retired from Louisville up to the age of fourteen years, 
his farm in Wayne township, which he owned when he entered the State University at 
until his death, and moved to the present home Bloomington, Ind., from which he was gradu- 
of ]\Irs. Stout, in Indianapolis, and there he ated in 1858. For a time after this he traveled 
continued to reside until his death. The recti- through the South for the benefit of his health, 
tude and strength of purpose in his life, and which had become somewhat impaired. When 
the quiet fortitude he showed against ills and the Civil war broke out he was among the first 



to respond to his country's call for help, and 
in April, 1861, enlisted in Company K, 14th 
Ind. \'ol. Inf. He continued with this com- 
mand until July 18, 1863, when he was dis- 
charged on account of a rupture. A month 
later, however, he was again mustered in, as 
first lieutenant of Company E, 117th Ind. Vol. 
Inf., and in February, 1864, was made cap- 
tain of Company K, 133d Ind. Vol. Inf., in 
which he served until the close of tlie war. 
Captain Rutledge was wounded in his right 
ankle at the battle of Winchester, in IMarch, 
1862. His military history is a creditable one. 
He was in the battles of Winchester, in tlie 
Seven Days Fight on the Peninsula, before 
Richmond, at South Alountain, Antietam, 
Fredericksburg, Gettysburg, and other battles 
and skirmishes in which his command was en- 
gaged. At Antietam the regiment lost fifty- 
five and a half per cent, of its effective force. 

When the war was over Captain Rutledge 
farmed in Morgan county, Ind., and for some 
years sold boots and shoes on the road. For 
twenty-five years he bought hardwood for 
Philadelphia and New York estabhshments. 
He was engaged in farming in Davidson 
county, Tenn., until 1894, when he sold out 
and went to Indianapolis, where he bought the 
good home which has been his residence to 
the present time. 

Captain Rutledge was married Nov. 5, 
1865, to Miss Florence J. Hyneman, a daugh- 
ter of Robert and Nancy (Stout) Hyneman. 
Three children were born to bless this union : 
(i) Ernest R. is a conductor on the Chicago 
& Alton railroad, running out of Chicago. He 
is married and has four children. (2) Hugh 
H., who is in the furniture business at Alar- 
tinsville, Ind., married jNIartha Fesler. Dur- 
ing the Spanish-American war he went out 
as a lieutenant in an Indiana regiment. (3) 
Melvin died at the age of twenty years. 

Mrs. Florence J. Rutledge died Aug. 13, 
1878, at the age of thirty-three years. She 
was a member of the Baptist Church. Cap- 
tain Rutledge was again married, Feb. 22, 
1885, Mrs. Grace Byers, the widow of Leon- 
ard B. Byers, and daughter of James and 
Grace (Turner) Kerr, becoming his wife. To 
this second union has come one son, Edward 
M., now a salesman, employed in Frank 
Schoeler's grocery store. Airs. Rutledge had 
four children by her first marriage. 

Captain Rutledge and his wife belong to 
the Edmund Ray IMethodist Church. He be- 
longs to Pat. Ciybourn Lodge, No. 10, F. & 

A. M., at Nashville, Tenn., where he is also 
connected with Paul E. Slocom Post, No. 85, 
G. A. R. ; he also belongs to Paragon Lodge, 
No. 406, I. O. O. F., in Morgan county, Ind. 
In politics he is a Republican. 

Captain Rutledge has patriotic blood in his 
veins, and takes a justifiable pride in the fact 
that his great-grandfather, Edward Rutledge, 
of South Carolina, was one of the signers of 
the Declaration of Independence. He had a 
son John, who was the first United States 
judge at Philadelphia, and from him descends 
the Rutledge family in Maryland. There are 
also branches of the family in Virginia and 

PERRY AI. DeFORD, a wealthy and 
prosperous farmer located in Section 19, 
Washington township, Clarion Co., Ind., was 
born one mile south of AUisonville, in Alarion 
county, July 21, 1852, and is a son of George 
W. and Ella (Williams) DeFord. His grand- 
father was a native of France, and a pioneer 
settler at Metamora, Franklin Co., Ind., but 
he did not survive long after settling there. 
He had a family of six children. 

George W. DeFord was a native of Indi- 
ana and a tanner by trade. He came into 
Marion county from Franklin county in 1832, 
making his home near AUisonville on a farm 
which he secured from the government, pay- 
ing therefor a dollar and twenty-five cents 
an acre. Recently it was disposed of for 
S92.50 per acre. There he had his home for 
the rest of his life, reared his family, and died 
iNIarch 25, 1891, at the age of eighty-four 
years, four days. His wife died in 18S3, at 
the age of seventy-four. Both were members 
of the ]\Iethodist Church. During the .Mexi- 
can war George W. DeFord served as a drum- 
mer. For twenty years he filled the office of 
justice of the peace; he was one of the sur- 
veyors who laid out the Washington township 
roads, and in the early days he served as one 
of the three town trustees. For a time he had a 
tannery at AUisonville, but his main business 
was farming. He married Ella Williams, like 
himself a native of Indiana, and they became 
the parents of a family of seven sons and six 
daughters, ten of their children reaching ma- 
lure years. Nine are now living, viz. : Sedric 
C. : John A., of Indianapolis ; Mary, the wife 
of Robert R. Johnson, of Lawrence township; 
William H., of AUisonville; Malinda C, the 
widow of Leonidas Brunson, who is now liv- 
ing in Castleton : Margaret, the wife of George 


Siegmound, of Allisonville ; Francis A., of- 
St. Louis ; Perry M. ; and Charles W., of Alli- 

Joseph Williams, the maternal grandfather 
of Perry M. DeFord, was born in Franklin 
county, Ind., where he was reared to farming. 
His family contained many children, and he 
died at an advanced age. 

I^erry M. DeFord was reared in Wash- 
ington township, where he has passed his en- 
tire life with the exception of two years which 
he spent in Lawrence township. The com- 
mon schools afforded him a very good edu- 
cation, and he remained at home until he at- 
tained manhood, when he rented land from 
his father which he farmed for two years. 
After returning from Lawrence township he 
bought his present farm of thirty-one and a 
half acres, now well improved. At the pres- 
ent time Mr. DeFord is farming some eighty 
acres of land. In 1898 he lost his house by 
tire, and another has been erected on the same 
site, of modern design. 

Mr. DeFord was married March 21, 1875, 
to Miss Mary, daughter of Alexander and 
Elizabeth (Parish) Kinsley, and to this union 
were born two sons and three daughters : 
Mamie, who died July 5, i860, at the age of 
two years; Lillie, born in 1881, who died in 
1883; Freddie; Clara, who is in school; and 
a child who died in infancy. ]\irs. DeFord 
died i\Iarch 5, 1898, at the age of forty years, 
nine months. 

Mr. DeFord is a member of Ke^'stone 
Lodge, No. 251, F. & A. M., of Broad Ripple 
Lodge, No. 548, I. O. O. F., and has taken 
the Encampment degree ; his wife was a mem- 
ber of the Rebekahs. In politics Mr. DeFord 
is a Republican. He is a genial and progres- 
sive man, and his name is well worthy of a 
prominent place in any book devoted to the 
active and earnest citizens of ]\Iarion county, 
who are willing to take hold of any work in 
sight for the general good and cany it for- 
ward with all their might. 

WILLIAM H. THOMAS, M. D., late of 
Indianapolis, whose handsome and well-ap- 
pointed residence at No. 618 Lexington ave- 
nue suggested literary, artistic and domestic 
tastes, blended in a high and refined home 
life, was born at Waterloo, Ind.. Nov. 22, 
1833. His parents, Hewit L. and Charlotte 
C. (Helm) Thomas, were born in Xev%- York 
and Kentucky, respectively, and they had 

three children, of whom William II. was the 

Hewit L. Thomas was only about eight 
years old when he came with his parents to 
Fayette county, Ind., where he attained man- 
hood. Some time between 1825 and 1830 he 
went to Cass county, where he engaged in 
farming. In 1855 he moved to Afton, IMinn. 
While in that State he held the office 
of associate judge, and ^vas also appointed 
by Abraham Lincoln as one of three 
on a committee to adjust some Indian 
claims. After the war he came back to Indi- 
ana, settling in Galveston, where he spent the 
remainder of his life, and died at the age of 
ninety-one years. His widow survived two 
years, dying at the age of ninety. They were 
members of the Baptist Church, of which he 
was a deacon. 

Lyman Thomas, the grandfather of Dr. 
William H., was a pioneer in Fayette county, 
Ind., where he died at a good old age. Dr. 
William Helm, the Doctor's maternal grand- 
father, was a native of Virginia, and an old 
settler in Fayette county. He fought in the 
Indian war. When he died he had reached 
advanced age, and he left a numerous oft- 

William H. Thomas was but three years 
old when his parents moved to Cass county, 
where he grew to manhood, and where he at- 
tended old-fashioned subscription schools, 
taught by his father and others. When he 
was twenty-one }-ears old he married and 
moved to Minnesota, where he enlisted in the 
Union army in 1862, in Company C, 7th 
Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, with which 
command he served three years and eight days, 
rising from -the ranks to command the 
company which he had entered as a private. At 
the foot of the Black Hills he was in a battle 
with the Little Crow Indians, a branch of the 
great Sioux Nation. From the northwest his 
command was sent to Memphis, and had a 
hand in the battle of Tupelo. The following 
winter he spent at East Point, Miss., and from 
tliat point his regiment was moved to the in- 
vestment of Mobile, where it fought in the 
heaviest battle at that point, also participating 
in many smaller battles and engagements, and 
was then in the great fight at Nashville. From 
Nashville the regiment went into garrison duty 
at Jackson, Miss., where it remained until the 
close of the war. The mustering out of this 
gallant body occurred at Fort Snelling. Col. 



William ]\larshall was in command of the 7th, 
which formed a part of the right wing of the 
i6th Army Corps, under Gen. A. J. Smith. 

After his armj^ experience Captain Thomas 
went back to Galveston, Ind., and took up 
again the tin and stove trade, which he had 
learned before the war, making this his occu- 
pation for several years, when he sold out. 
Coming to Indianapolis he took up the study 
of medicine, and from the time of his gradu- 
ation from the Indiana Medical College he 
did not lose five days from the active practice 
of his profession. About five years after he 
was graduated the Central College of Physi- 
cians and Surgeons was organized, and he 
was one of its founders. During the first 
four years of its history he was demonstrator 
of anatomy. After that he lectured on various 
subjects, his last course being on the diseases 
of the nervous system. He died Sept. 30, 
1903, in his seventieth year. 

Dr. William H. Thomas was married Oct. 
16, 1854, to Miss Anna jSI. Copeland, and to 
them was born one child, Edwin C, who is 
now a rising young physician in Indianapolis. 
Dr. Edwin C. Thomas married Mary E. 
Dotey, and their three children are Hewit, 
Xaoiiii and Claudia. JNIrs. Anna M. Thomas 
died April 9, 1900, at the age of seventy-one 
years, and Dr. Thomas was again married, in 
':May, 1901, to Mrs. Polly (Tucker) Wysong. 
Dr. Thomas was a Republican in political 
sentiment. He was a member of the Indiana 
^Medical Society and the Marion County 
^Medical Society, and enjoyed high profes- 
sional standing. 

whose home during his last years was at No. 
201 1 North Illinois street, Indianapolis, was 
born in Baltimore, Md., May 8, 1838, son of 
Nicholas Ruckle, a native of Maryland, where 
his father settled on his emigration from his 
native Ireland, there passing the rest of his 

Nicholas Ruckle, the father, was a tailor, 
and came to Indianapolis in the early days, 
and here he conducted a merchant tailoring 
establishment for many years. For some years 
he lived retired at Broo'kfield, where he died 
aged about sixty-five years, his wife surviv- 
ing him several years. Both were JMethodists. 
They had two sons and two daughters: Col. 
Nicholas R. ; John F., who was killed in the 
battle of Shiloh, where he was engaged in the 
•service as a member of the nth Regiment; 

Eliza, the wife of Josiah Gwin, of New Al- 
bany, Ind. ; and Miss Kate C, who lived in 

Col. Nicholas R. Ruckle was a small boy 
when his parents came from iNIaryland to 
Madison county, Ind., in 1847. In July, 1852, 
they came to Indianapolis, where he grew to 
manhood. His education was chiefly acquired 
in a private school taught by the late Rev. 
Charles S. Green, who also became a citizen 
of Indianapolis at a very early day. In J\Iay, 
1853, when less than fifteen years of age. Col. 
Ruckle entered the composing room of the 
Indianapolis Journal, as an apprentice, re- 
maining in the employ of that paper until the 
breaking out of the Civil war in 1861. At 
that time he was a member of the Volunteer 
fire department, and of one of the independent 
militia companies. He entered the service at 
the very first call, and his was the first perma- 
nent military organization to enter Camp Alor- 
ton. He was assigned to the nth Volunteers 
(Zouave) Infantry, under Col. Lew Wallace, 
and took part in the three months' campaign 
in West Virginia. Col. Ruckle entered the 
three years' service, and rose from the ranks 
by successive steps to become sergeant, or- 
derly sergeant, lieutenant and captain, and 
for conspicuous gallantry on the field was 
made colonel of the 148th Ind. V. I. He took 
part in the operations at Forts Henry and 
Donelson, Shiloh and Corinth; the marches, 
expeditions and skirmishes of the Trans-]\Iis- 
sissippi army of Gen. Curtis in Arkansas in 
1862; the battles and siege of Vicksburg; 
Sherman's attack on Gen. Joseph Johnston at 
Jackson ; Gen. Banks' campaign west of the 
Alississippi in 1863 and other operations in 
Louisiana ; Sheridan's campaign in 1864, the 
battles of Winchester, Fisher's Hill and Cedar 
Creek, and the action at Halltown ; and in the 
Department of the Cumberland, as commander 
of the second sub-district of middle Tennes- 
see. This record embraces a continuous and 
honorable service from April, 1861, to Octo- 
ber, 1865. In civil life he served as sheriflf 
of Marion county two terms from 1870 to 
1874: was president of the Metropolitan Po- 
lice Commissioners of Indianapolis in 1887 
and 1888; was adjutant-general of Indiana 
two terms, from January, 1889; and in 1894- 
95 was on the board of Public Safety under 
Mayor Denny. 

In the spring of 1874 Col. Ruckle secured 
the controlling interest in the stock of the In- 
dianapolis Journal Company, which at that 



time had a printing and publishing house in 
connection with the newspaper; and in the 
theater building at the southeast corner of 
Market and Illinois streets, known as the 
Academy of Music, which was destroyed by 
fire. This and other losses that followed the 
hard times of 1873 seriously embarrassed him 
financially, and his property passed out of his 
hands. The newspaper was sold to E. B. 
j\iartindale, from whom it passed to John 
New. The book and job printing house was 
sold to H. L. Hasselman & Co., and of it Col. 
Ruckle became superintendent. Later he 
acted in a similar capacity for the Baker & 
Randolph Printing Company, in which he was 
a small stockholder. For a time he was with 
the Sentinel Printing Company. While sheriff 
he became a part owner of the Southern Park, 
which was sold to the city, and renamed Gar- 
field Park. 

The loss of fortune did not discourage 
Col. Ruckle, nor impair his activity. With a 
stout heart and strong hands he went on the 
way of life admired for his manly and earnest 
spirit. Every honor of Masonry was given 
him without his asking, but as a recognition of 
his love of the fraternity and the ai^ection of 
the craft for him. In 1866 he was made a 
jMaster Mason in Center Lodge, No. 23, of 
Indianapolis, of which he was Worshipful 
Master in 1871, afterward being Master of 
Pentalpha Lodge, No. 564. In 1867 he was 
exalted in Keystone Chapter, which he served 
as High Priest in 1886. In 1867 he was 
Knighted in Raper Commandery, No. i, K. 
T., which he served as Eminent Commander 
in 1872-73-74-75 and in 1880, afterward be- 
ing Captain-General for several years. In the 
Scottish Rite he applied for the degrees in 
1866, and received the thirty-second degree 
in JMarch, 1867, the honorary thirty-third de- 
gree in 1873, and the active grade in 1883, 
and the appointment of Deputy of the Su- 
preme Council for the District of Indiana in 
1884. From 1873 until his death he served as 
Thrice Potent Grand Master of the Adoni- 
ram Grand Lodge of Perfection, with the ex- 
ception of two years, and was also Commander 
in Chief of the Indiana Consistory for fifteen 
years. He served as State Grand Commander 
of the Knights Templars in 1875, and as 
Grand Master of the ]\Iasons in 1891. 

The Light Infantry, which he organized 
in 1877, elected Col. Ruckle as its captain. 
This organization afterward became one of 
the very best known military organizations of 

the United States. Its first service was ren- 
dered during the railroad riot in July, 1877. 
For several years it was frequently called to 
serve in cases of sudden riot. In 1883 Col. 
Ruckle retired from its command to give place 
to Major James R. Ross. It has recently be- 
come Company D, of the 2d Regiment, Indi- 
ana National Guards. At the outbreak of the 
Spanislj-American war it entered the service 
under Capt. F. F. AlcCrea, as Company D, 
148th Ind. V. I., Col. Harry B. Smith, com- 

Col. Ruckle was married, Feb. 24, 1876, 
to 2\Irs. Jennie C. (Moore) Reed, daughter of 
Addison and Susan (Dulhagen) Moore, of 
New York, and of Revolutionary stock. To 
this union was born one child, Corliss Randle 
Ruckle, who died at the age of twelve years. 
j\Irs. Ruckle is a member of St. Paul's Epis- 
copal Church. The Colonel was not identi- 
fied with any church, but attended divine wor- 
ship with his wife. Her people were natives 
of New York, and to her parents were born 
three daughters and one son: Sallie E., de- 
ceased, was the wife of Dr. Corliss, of Indi- 
anapolis ; Mary, widow of Jerome Beals, a 
soldier of the Civil war, resides in St. Louis; 
Jennie C. is the widow of Col. Ruckle; and 
Harvey lives in Indianapolis. j\Ir. Addison 
2\Ioore was a lawyer and he died at Nashville, 
Tenn., at the age of thirty-eight, his widow 
surviving to the age of seventy-three years. 

Col. Ruckle died Alay 4, 1900, and was 
buried in Crown Hill cemetery. 

Erastus Reed was born in Cincinnati, 
Ohio, son of Samuel and Jane (Miles) Reed, 
the former of Pennsylvania and the latter of 
Virginia. Samuel Reed, son of Ebenezer 
Reed, a soldier in the Revolution, was a i\Ia- 
son of high standing and Reed Commandery 
at Dayton, Ohio, was named in his -honor. 
Erastus Reed was an engraver and jeweler. 
To him and his wife were born three daugh- 
ters : ^lary Emma died, aged seventeen; Jen- 
nie married Charles Curtice and died, leaving 
one son, Homer ^l. Curtice; and Nellie M. 
married Ward H. Dean, who died in 1900, 
and had two children, Randle C. and Harriet. 

GEORGE A. TAFFE, former superin- 
tendent of the Indianapolis police, and a 
man whose personal character, integrity and 
masterful ability are widely known and recog- 
nized, was born in Brightwood, Center town- 
ship, Marion Co., Ind.. April 17, 1846, son of 
Hannibal and Phoebe Ann (Gale) Taflfe. The 

1 84 


father was born in Indiana and the mother in 

George Taffe, grandfather of George A., 
was an early settler in JNlarion county and 
owned land in Brightwood, where he made his 
home until his death, which occurred in mid- 
dle life. A large family was born to him, and 
he was prominent in the community. He was 
a soldier in the Revolutionary war. The ma- 
ternal grandfather of George A. Taft'e was 
born in Virginia. During his early life he 
was held three years in Indian captivity, and 
then escaped. He died many years ago. 

Hannibal TatTe was a farmer when a young 
man in Center township, and for a period of 
eighteen jears, terminating in 1876, served on 
the police force of Indianapolis. For a time 
he was a member of the Alerchant Police, and 
for nine years was train caller at the Union 
Passenger Station. He died in 1894, at the 
age of seventy-two years, his wife passing 
away many years before. In politics he was a 
Republican. His brother, John Tal¥e, also a 
Republican, was a member of Congress from 
Nebraska. Of the four children of Hannibal 
and Phoebe Ann (Cale) Tafte Emma is the 
wife of Dr. C. L. Armington, of Anderson, 
Ind. ; George A. is mentioned below ; Florence 
is the wife of Perkins Fisher, of New York ; 
David Fremont was killed in the work of the 
fire department. 

George A. Taffe lived in the neighborhood 
of Brightwood until he was fifteen years of 
age, since which time he has had his home in 
Indianapolis, with the exception of two years 
he spent at Bloomington, 111. His education 
was secured in the city schools, and he fol- 
lowed various occupations as he grew to man- 
hood. When a bo}' he branded horses for the 
government, and later was a street car con- 
ductor. Mr. TaiYe lost his leg Dec. 20, 1865, 
while saving the life of a little boy, a train 
of flat cars having run into his car. For one 
term he was a teacher in Cumberland, and 
for two years bought grain for his uncle. ]\Ir. 
Taffe came back to Indianapolis June 3, 1S71, 
to take the position of turnkey at the old sta- 
tion house, which he held until May, 1875. 
At that time he resigned, becoming deputy 
city marshal under Eli Thompson. In 1878 
he resumed his place as turnkey, again serving 
the city in that capacity until Nov. 15, 1901, 
when he was made superintendent of police 
by the Board of Public Safety. In all he 
licld the ]50sition of turnkey almost thirty 
years, and he is thoroughly familiar with every 

detail of the police administration of Indian- 

Mr. Taffe was married June 22, 1880, to 
Miss Minnie, daughter of Henry and Eva 
(Miller) Hanf. To this union were born two 
children, Eva Florence and David Almont. 
Mr. TaiTe is a member of the Red Men. In 
politics he is a Republican. His neat and 
tasteful home is at No. 419 East Market 

WILLIAM S. HUBBARD (deceased) 
was a resident of Indianapolis from early 
manhood, and his connections with the actual 
material development and religious work of 
his adopted city were so important and long 
sustained that it would be difficult to decide 
in which respect he became best known. His 
business operations were principally in the 
line of real estate, with the diversifications 
necessary for the proper promotion of his 
main interests. His activity in church work, 
especially in- the Presbyterian denomination, 
was shared by his entire family, and was the 
outcome of a sincere and earnest desire to en- 
courage the best efforts of which mankind is 
capable, as well as to aid those of his fellow- 
men less fortunate than himself from a worldly 

Mr. Hubbard was born in Middlefield, 
Conn., May 11, 1816, son of Charles and Lu- 
cretia (Miller) Hubbard, the mother a native 
of Connecticut. The father, who was a sea 
captain on the American vessel "Diamond," 
died of fever Jan. 26, 1818, at the Maritime 
Hospital, at Saint Pierre, Island of Martin- 
ique. Nothing is known of the father of 
Charles Hubbard. Mrs. Hubbard was a 
Congregationalist. Isaac Miller, her father, 
was a farmer, and reared a numerous family 
of children. William S. Hubbard spent the 
first sixteen years of his life on a farm near 
■Middlefield, Conn., meantime attending 
school and the old academy at that place. At 
the age of sixteen, under an arrangement made 
by his mother, he entered a store in jMorris- 
town, N. J., where he was to learn the mer- 
cantile business. His employer was Mr. 
jMills, with whom he served an apprentice- 
ship of four years. 

One day while passing through the streets 
in Xcw York City, just after his apprentice- 
ship was completed, his uncle beckoned him 
and asked if he could be induced to go to 
Indianapolis to look after some property inter- 
ests for him in that distant city. The uncle 

r??^xr//: . r/1. J' 


was Dr. Isaac Coe, a well-known early settler 
of Indianapolis, who had a house already fur- 
nished on Circle street, where the Columbia 
Club building now stands. The Doctor asked 
Mr. Hubbard to go there and make the place 
his home, and look after his property interests 
in the city. After a little reflection Mr. Hub- 
bard agreed to the plan, and taking the four 
o'clock stage out of New York City came di- 
rect to Indianapolis. This was in 1836. Mr. 
Hubbard was only twenty years old, and he 
found in the growing city opportunities which 
afforded an outlet for his energetic and ambi- 
tious naure. His talents and executive ability 
soon became apparent to various men promi- 
nent in the early business life and public af- 
fairs of the city, and he soon became a clerk 
in the Indiana State Bank and the office of 
the board of the Sinking Fund commissioners 
of Indiana, James M. Ray, cashier and one of 
the leading men of the Bank, and also a mem- 
ber of the Fund commission, being a son-in- 
law of Dr. Coe. But though he began his 
career here with the friendship of influential 
and substantial citizens, it was always con- 
ceded that their good-will was only a recogni- 
tion of his merits, and that his rise was due 
entirely to his own efforts. He had qualifica- 
tions for almost any position, was at one time 
an employee of the Madison & Indianapolis 
Railway Company, and for a long time was 
secretary and treasurer of the Indianapolis & 
Bellefontaine Railway Company, an office 
never filled by a more careful, accurate or 
faithful incumbent. In this and other con- 
nections he became well and favorably known 
all over the city. As a real estate dealer he 
came into control of an extensive business, 
and he erected many of the most substantial 
buildings of the city, Hubbard's block, on the 
corner of Meridian and Washington streets, 
being one of his more important constructions. 
This block he afterward sold, buying what is 
now the Indiana Trust Company block, and 
later he purchased some of the wholesale 
houses on South Meridian street. He con- 
tinued to be actively engaged in various im- 
portant business pursuits up to 190 1, when he 
concluded to retire. His reputation throughout 
this long period was that of one of the most 
honorable and public-spirited business men in 
the city. He encouraged plans for the welfare 
of the city even when they conflicted with his 
own interests, contributing to the upbuilding 
of Indianapolis in every possible manner, 
doing his full share toward the promotion of 

public enterprises and leading many move- 
ments looking to the progress of the city, as 
well as the increase of her prestige. In his 
real estate operations he took great pride in 
buying acre property and bringing it under 
improvement, building many substantial resi- 
dences that materially improved the section of 
the city in which they were located. For 
over twenty-five years he had his office at No. 
3 Hubbard block. 

Four years after his arrival in Indian- 
apolis Mr. Hubbard married, and the same 
year he built a home for himself and wife on 
the northwestern quarter of the circle, on part 
of the ground now occupied by the "Hotel 
English." There they lived until 1864, when 
they removed to a residence on North Meri- 
dian street, at the northwest corner of Second 
street, which is now known as Eleventh street. 
It was then beyond the city limits, and the 
home was long known as one of the very finest 
in Indianapolis. He and his wife occupied 
that residence up to the time of her death, 
after which Mr. Hubbard made his home with 
his son William H., at No. 1427 North Meri- 
dian street. There he died, of acute bron- 
chitis and old age, at 5 45 o'clock Friday even- 
ing, Oct. 18, 1907, aged ninety-one years, five 
months, seven days. Mr. Hubbard traveled 
extensiyely, both in Europe and in America, 
and spent eight winters in California. As 
long as his wife survived he never went on 
any of these trips without her. 

Air. Hubbard's marriage, in 1840, was to 
Aliss Alary Mills, daughter of Lewis and Sarah 
Alills, natives of Alorristown, N. J., and to 
this union were born three sons and four 
daughters : ( i ) Sarah M'. is the wife of Ed- 
ward S. Field, of Los Angeles, Cal, and they 
have five children, Helen, Edith, Carrie, Ed- 
ward and Florence. Helen Field married 
Alurray Harris and has her home in Los An- 
geles. Edith Field married Howard L. Rivers 
and resides in Los Angeles, Cal. Florence 
Field married Harold Lincoln Wright, of San 
Francisco, Cal.. where they reside. (2) Anna L. 
married Francis C. ATonfort, of Cincinnati, and 
is the mother of three children. Alary. Joseph 
r,. and .Adelaide. Joseph G. is married to Miss 
Irene Patterson, of Franklin. Ky., and has 
his home in Cincinnati; Adelaide married 
Charles Iredell, and lives in Cincinnati. (3) 
William H. Hubbard, who now carries on the 
real estate business at No. 118 Circle street, 
was born July 24, 1849, O" the site where he 
is now engaged in business, and received his 


education in his native city, graduating from 
the high school. He married Ella M. Kurtz, 
of Blairsville, Pa., and they are prominent 
members of the Tabernacle Presbyterian 
Church, in which i\Ir. Hubbard is serving as 
an elder. (4) Louis M. Hubbard is in the 
plumbing business in Kansas City. (5) Mary 
E. married Rev. Howard A. Johnston, of 
Cincinnati, Ohio, and they live in the city of 
Xew York, where he holds high standing as 
a clergyman. They have one child, ^lary. 
(6) Charles W. Hubbard married Louise H. 
Stone, of Chicago, where he is connected with 
the Northern Trust Company. (7) Elizabeth 
L. married E. M. Thompson, of Paducah, Ky., 
an inventor, and they are living in Indianapo- 
lis. They have three children, Harold, Ly- 
man and Ruth. 

All this family are active members of the 
Presbyterian Church. Airs. Hubbard, who 
passed away in 1888, at the age of sixty-seven 
years, was always an earnest worker in the 
church, and with her husband maintained an 
unwearied interest in religious and benevolent 
work. She had a modest and retiring dis- 
position. Early in life William S. Hubbard 
united with the Congregational Church in 
Connecticut, but after coming to Indianapolis 
he identified himself with the Presbyterian 
Church, and he helped to found the Second 
Church, at one time Henry Ward Beecher's 
Church, of which he and his wife were mem- 
bers from its foundation, and in which he was 
an elder since 1854. He was long known as 
one of the most prominent and capable mem- 
bers of the Presbyterian Church in central 
Indiana. There is probably not a Presbyter- 
ian Church in Indianapolis which he did not 
aid in building and help in supporting. Mr. 
Hubbard was a strong believer, and took 
pleasure in proclaiming his faith. Besides his 
activity in the work of the denomination in 
this country he sent missionaries to China, 
Japan and Persia, whom he supported person- 
ally, and several of these workers are still in. 
the field ; they are medical missionaries prin- 
cipally. J\Ir. Hubbard's life was a useful one, 
of especial value to his home city, and a host 
of friends will attest this fact. Of him and 
his uncle, Dr. Coe, one of the most distin- 
guished citizens of Indianapolis has written 
as follows: 

"Dr. Is.'\ac Coe, one of the earliest physi- 
cians to come here, soon took rank as among 
the first citizens in influence and effective 
work. It is largely to him that Indianapolis 

owes the religious stamp that has always char- 
acterized it. He was a man of clear percep- 
tions, well grounded convictions and an im- 
pulsive force that brooked no obstacles. On 
his monument in Crown Hill is carved : 'The 
father of Sunday Schools in Indianapolis,' an 
honor no one has ever disputed and one which 
should make his memory green and lasting in 
this community. It was through his influence 
that James Blake and James M. Ray, who 
were foremost in many years for all that could 
advance the town in every way, became Christ- 
ians, and through them his influence has been 
carried on in many lives. The moral and re- 
ligious character of Indianapolis was fixed in 
its beginning by the presence of Dr. Coe and 
some others who supported the work of which 
he was leader. 

'■^Ir. William S. Hubbard was a connect- 
ion of Dr. Coe's, who persuaded him to come 
to Indianapolis and provided a business open- 
ing for him. Mr. Hubbard's long and honor- 
able career is fitly sketched elsewhere. He 
has in all this exhibited many characteristics, 
which have made him a marked man. His 
fidelity to principle has been the guiding rule 
of his life and this has made him positive un- 
der all circumstances for what he believed was 
right. His integrity has been shown in small 
things as well as great and his desire to deal 
justly with all men has been manifest. In 
benevolence he has been a large giver accord- 
ing to his means, and one feature of that has 
been his unwillingness to have his good deeds 
known. A former deacon of the Second Pres- 
byterian Church some years ago told the fol- 
lowing story: It is the duty of the board of 
deacons to look after the poor of the church 
and at one time there was a distressing case 
needing more than ordinary relief. It was 
agreed that some of the members should be 
asked for a special contribution and the nar- 
rator asked Air. Hubbard for a certain sum. 
Aluch to his surprise he received a refusal and 
was inclined to think harshly of Mr. Hubbard. 
Later it transpired the latter had learned of 
the case and on his own account had investi- 
gated it and given the family assistance to the 
extent of several times as much as he was 
asked for. Yet he never intimated that to the 
solicitor. Few men would have done that and 
possibly he was wrong in hiding his light, but 
it was 'Mr. Hubbard's way and his sincerity 
and kindness could not be questioned. Mr. 
Hubbard's success has been due to his indus- 
try, exactness, painstaking economy and trust- 



worthiness — that sheaf of Puritan virtues 
which have made the country what it is, and 
has been accompanied by the Psahnist's crown 
of an honorable old age." 

Mr. Hubbard was one of the organizers of 
Crown Hill cemetery, which was incorporated 
in 1863, and which will long stand as a monu- 
ment to his good judgment and public spirit. 
It is worthy of note that the promoters and 
organizers of this beautiful home of the dead 
did their work without compensation. Mr. 
Hubbard was a member of the first fire com- 
pany of the city, which had an apparatus 
drawn and worked by hand ; the headquarters 
building of the department was in the Gover- 
nor's Circle, where the soldiers' and sailors' 
monument now stands. In politics he was a 
Whig in early life, and on the formation of the 
Republican party attached himself to its for- 

JAMES R. SIL\'ER, a highly respected 
citizen of Pendleton, Ind., where he is now 
living retired after a long and successful busi- 
ness career, is one of the pioneers of Madison 
county. He was born in Warren county, Ohio, 
on his grandfather Silver's farm, Feb. 12, 

The Silvers are of Welsh stock, and a 
family tradition has it that three brothers 
came from Wales to New Jersey in Colonial 
times. Joseph Silver, the grandfather of 
James R. Silver, was born in New Jersey, and 
there married his first wife and removed about 
1790 to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he remained 
a short time. He then removed to Warren 
county, Ohio, to the neighborhood two miles 
north of Springboro, where he entered land, 
to which he added until he had 400 acres. This 
land he improved from the woods, and be- 
came a substantial farmer. In his religious 
belief he was a Friend. The children by his 
first wife were John and Sarah. The mother 
of these died on the farm in Ohio, and j\Ir. 
Silver married (second) Mary Ferguson, by 
whom he had : Thomas, David, Martha and 
Mary (twins), James, Hannah, William and 
Samuel. Joseph Silver died on his farm at 
the age of about seventy years. 

William Silver, the father of James R., 
was born June 12, 1803, in Warren county, 
Ohio, received a common-school education, 
and was reared on the farm. When about 
twenty-six or twenty-seven years old he came 
to Indiana and engaged in a mercantile busi- 
ness in Newcastle, where he continued, also 

engaging in farming, until 1838. On April 
1st of that year he removed to Pendleton, 
Vv'here he located in mercantile business, con- 
tinuing in that line until 1857, when he turned 
his business over to his son James. He died 
in June, 1889, when nearly eighty-six years 
old. \\'illiam Silver was an excellent business 
man, and a substantial citizen, respected by 
all \\ho knew him. He was the owner of a 
good farm of 190 acres, north of Pendleton, 
and some valuable town property. He was 
an old-line \\'hig in politics, and was one of 
the early members of the Masonic fraternity 
in Pendleton. 

William Silver married in Warren county, 
Ohio, in 1826, Ann W. Robinson, who was 
born in that county in 1806, daughter of John 
and Mary (Robinson) Robinson. They had 
children as follows: James R., Arminta W., 
Louisa Ann, and three who died young, Mary 
J., John O. and William, the last named dying 
in infancy. 

The Robinson family was originally of 
Scotch stock, but it cannot be detennined with 
accuracy in what 3'ear the immediate ances- 
tors of the Robinsons came to this country. 
Few of the Scotch-Irish entered Pennsylvania 
earlier than 17 14, in which year the tide of 
emigration had passed beyond the limits of 
Chester valley and had reached the region of 
the Susquehanna. The genealogy of the fam- 
ily, from the record by Thomas H. Robinson, 
is as follows : A branch of the family emi- 
grated from Scotland to the North of Ireland 
during the reign of James I. They were Pres- 
byterians, and were severely persecuted during 
the reign of Charles I, and among the earliest 
Scotch-Irish who settled in Pennsylvania — 
prior to 1730 — was Thomas Robinson, with 
his family. He was already an old man, and 
died about 1740. 

(I) Thomas Robinson, whose wife's name 
is not known, had these children : Philip, born 
in 1698, who died in 1770; Andrew, born in 
1700, who married Agnes Boal, and died in 
1797: William: Christiana, born in 1702, who 
married Thomas Muirhead, and died in 1765 ; 
Richard, who died in 1768 ; Samuel : and ' 
Thomas. The place of burial of Thomas Rob- 
inson is unknown. It is believed that he came 
from Derry, Ireland, and it is also thought, , 
from the numerous Robinsons scattered over 
the country, that with Thomas came brothers 
and other relatives. The traits of person and 
character, and the persistence of family names, 
indicate nearness of origin. Thomas Robin- 



son settled in Hanover, Dauphin Co., Pa. The 
region in which he settled can hardly be sur- 
passed by any part of the country for its 
natural advantages and beauty of scenery. It 
possessed peculiar attractions for the hardy 
and adventurous settlers, and it was a favor- 
ite hunting ground of the Indians. Families 
generally united in forming settlements, plac- 
ing their residences sufficiently near each other 
to form social neighborhoods, to meet for pur- 
poses of religious worship, to give each other 
help in farming, and to protect each other 
should danger arise from the savage who 
lurked in the forests of the region. The homes 
of the settlers were distributed here and there, 
scattered over a wide space. They were an 
adventurous people, and risked many perils 
in fixing the location of their homes. 

(II) Philip Robinson, son of Thomas, 
married and had this family (his wdfe's name 
is unknown) : Samuel, born in 1720, married 
Jean Snoddy, and died Nov. 15, 1807; 
Thomas, who married Jean Hay, was born in 
1725, and died in 1780; George, born in 1727, 
married (first) Ann Wiley and (second) 
Mary Martin, and died in 1814; Agnes, born 
in 1730, married Robert Robinson, and died 
Dec. 22, 1792; Sarah, born in 1732, married 
Robert Thompson; j\iary, born in 1734, mar- 
ried Samuel Elder; Joseph was born in 1736; 
and John. Philip Robinson, son of Thomas, 
was born in 1698, in the North of Ireland, and 
came to the Province of Pennsylvania before 
1730. His name appears on the first tax list 
of the township of Hanover, Lancaster (now 
Dauphin) county. His father had first settled 
near Conewago creek, farther east. Mr. Robin- 
son, with his family, and one or more of his 
brothers, settled on ;\Ianada creek, near the 
Gap of the same name in the Kittochtinny 
mountains. During the Indian wars, 1755- 
1763, there was a fort on his farm for defense 
against the savage, and for the protection of 
the settlers of the section in times of invasion. 
Philip Robinson's sons were already grown 
men, for in 1755 Governor Morris addressed 
a letter to Samuel Robinson, and sent with it 
one hundred pounds of powder, to be used 
by the inhabitants of Hanover "in defense of 
themselves and their country." Besides their 
farm the Robinsons had built a mill at the 
mouth of the Gap on the Manada, and fur- 
nished supplies to the Government during the 
Indian and Revolutionary wars. The Robin- 
sons of Hanover were members of the Pres- 

byterian congregation under the ministry of 
its first pastor. Rev. Richard Sankey. 

(III) Samuel Robinson, son of Philip, 
married Jean Snoddy Sept. 23, 1761. She 
died in 1768, and he married (second), in 
1769, Mrs. Letitia Montgomery, who died 
July 18, 1822. Samuel Robinson had children 
as follows: Polly, born Aug. 3, 1762, who 
married Alexander Woods, and died Aug. 15, 
1828; Joseph, born May 6, 1764, who was 
drowned with his mother in 1768, while cross- 
ing the James river; John Snoddy, born Oct. 
12, 1766, who married Mary Robinson; Mat- 
thew; Samuel, born in 1773; and Thomas. 
Samuel Robinson left a large number of 
descendants, who may be found chiefly in 
Ohio, Indiana and California. 

(IV) John Snoddy Robinson married 
jMary Robinson, who was born Sept. 19, 1774, 
and died June 11, 1843. Her line w'as Jona- 
than (4), George (3), Philip (2) and Thomas 
(i), she being of the same stock as her hus- 
band. John Snoddy Robinson was a pioneer 
of Springboro, Ohio, where he cleared up a 
farm of 340 acres from the woods, and there 
died March 23, 1843. Children as follows 
were born to him and his wife : Jonathan, 
born Dec. 25, 1797, was a merchant, and died 
Dec. 14, 1848, at Pendleton, Ind. ; Jean 
Snoddy, born Nov. 9, 1799, married AI. Ward, 
and died in 1890; Samuel, born in 1802, died 
in June, 1812; James, born in 1803, died Aug. 
21, 1822; Ann Wiley, born Jan. 12, 1806, mar- 
ried William Silver, and died May 13, 1850; 
Harvey, born in 1808, died Aug. 13, 1822; 
Thomas Black, born March 28, 1810, died 
]\Iarch 29, 1852. married Sarah Hudson; 
Newton, born May i, 1812, died March 15, 
1876, married Hannah Silver; Maria Louisa, 
born in 1814, died the same year; and Maria 
Louisa (2), born July 12, 1816, married 
James V. Wayman, and died March 15, 1903. 

Jonathan Robinson, father of ]\lary Robin- 
son who married John Snoddy Robinson, w-as 
born in Hanover township, Dauphin Co., Pa., 
but in early life was taken to Perry county, 
where he grew to manhood. He married Jean 
Black, a sister of John Black, husband of Mr. 
Robinson's sister Man,, and the daughter of 
Hon. James Black, a farmer of Sherman Val- 
ley, Pa., who was for some years associate 
judge and a member of Congress. Removing 
to Kentucky in 1785 Mr. Robinson purchased 
land near Georgetown, and erected a house 
which was still standing in 1891, a fine relic 



of the olden times, with its massive chimneys, 
spacious fireplaces and hearths, and there Mr. 
Robinson resided until his death, in 1834. The 
home afterward became the residence of his 
son, James F. Robinson, governor of Ken- 
tucky. The family embraced twelve children, 
five of whom died unnamed. 

During the Revolutionary war Jonathan 
Robinson was captain of the 4th Battalion 
of Cumberland county infantry, and was in 
service about six years, receiving his commis- 
sion from the executive council of Pennsyl- 
vania. He entered the service of the United 
States, during the war of the Revolution, first 
as a captain of volunteers, in November, 1776. 
He marched through Cumberland county, Pa., 
through Carlisle, Lancaster and Philadelphia, 
to Princeton, N. J., and was employed in 
scouting expeditions, and as a guard against 
the invasions of the British army, which then 
lay at New Brunswick. At one time he was 
on an expedition with 100 men, under the 
command of Colonel Bohanan, to intercept 
the provisions of the British army, passing on 
the Raritan river to New Brunswick ; they 
accordingly made the attack, and fired upon 
five small vessels of the enemy without effect ; 
and during the skirmish one of his men was 
wounded and others injured. He was in the 
battle of Brandywine, Del., and in the ensuing 
winter was ordered to the camp of General 
Lacy, at Chemung Bridge, over the Chemung 
creek. In joining General Lacy's camp Cap- 
tain Robinson passed the camp of General 
Washington, which was then at Valley Forge. 
He was also in the battle of Paoli, at which 
his lieutenant, James Arbuckle, and his en- 
sign, Samuel Arbuckle, together with five 
men, were killed. Captain Robinson was in 
this service from May, 1776, until June, 1777, 
at which time he was commissioned captain 
of a company of foot in the 4th Battalion of 
militia of Cumberland county. Pa. Under this 
commission he served five tours of duty, two 
of six months and three of three months each, 
in the summer and fall of the years 1779, 
1780, and 1782. In 1785 Captain Robinson 
went to Kentucky and purchased a farm of 
600 acres in Scott county, upon which he 
erected cabins. In the spring of 1786 he re- 
turned to Pennsylvania and took his family 
back with him to Kentucky. There he con- 
tiiuied to reside, one of the wealthiest and most 
influential citizens of the State, passing away 
at the ripe old age of eighty-six years, greatly 
respected and beloved. He was a member of 

the i'resbyterian Church and a very religious 
man. In one of his letters, written in 1814, 
still preserved, he gives a very interesting 
description of the great religious movements 
of that day, extending in various forms from 
1800 onward for fifteen or twenty years. 

Captain Jonathan Robinson was the son 
of George Robinson, whose birthplace is un- 
known, it was probably in the North of Ire- 
land. His early boyhood and youth were spent 
at the home farm in Hanover township, at 
^ianada Gap, a few miles from Harrisburg. 
in about 1755, some \ears after his marriage 
to Ann Wiley, he settled in Cumberland (now 
Perry) county, west of the mountains and the 
Susquehanna river, at the head of Sherman 
creek. With other pioneers of that region 
he was soon called upon to bear the brunt of 
the Indian wars, and was driven from his 
home in hurried flight across the mountains. 
He was a farmer, and upon his farm was built 
a fort for the protection of the settlers of the 
region, known in Colonial history as "Gover- 
nor Robinson's Fort." The inhabitants of the 
valley frequently fled to it for safety. Mr. 
Robinson was commissioned a justice of the 
peace by the proprietary government under 
George III, and he also served in the army of 
the Revolution, although then a man advanced 
in years. The musket he carried has been pre- 
served, and is in the possession of his great- 
grandson. Rev. N. H. Robinson. In 1797 
George Robinson removed to Kentucky, 
whither eight of his children had preceded 
him. Pie settled a few miles from Lexington, 
and remained there until his death, March 6, 
1814, in the eighty-seventh year of his age. 
In religion he was a Presbyterian, a ruling 
elder in the Centre Church in Pennsylvania, 
and after removing to Kentucky was an eldei 
in the Bethel Presbyterian Church of Scott 
county. Judge Robinson was six feet in 
height, perfect in person, and remarkably ac- 
tive and strong. He was a good English 
scholar, was very fond of reading, especially 
of works on law, ethics and the philosophy 
of the mind, some of his favorites being 
"Blackstone's Commentaries," "Locke on Gov- 
ernment." "Hume's History of England," 
"Stewart's Philosophy," and the Spectator. 

At an early date the Robinsons intermar- 
ried in Lancaster county. Pa., with the Craw- 
fords, Logans, ^NlcCords, Blacks, Martins, 
?iluirheads and Blaincs, and members of many 
of tliese families as well as the Robinsons 
served in the Revolutionary war. Col. Ephraim 



Blaine, the grandfather of James G. Blaine, 
of Alaine, was a Revolutionary officer of dis- 
tinction. Alany from these families were with 
Benedict Arnold on his march to Quebec, and 
the majority were captured there, while a 
large number of them died from hardships 
and wounds. Capt. Thomas Robinson com- 
manded a company under Colonel (after- 
ward General) Wayne at Ticonderoga in 
1776; he was wounded in the battle of Bran- 
dy wine, while serving as a major. The first 
regiment to reach Boston after the battle of 
Bunker Hill from the south of the Hudson 
was the ist Ritle Regiment from Pennsylva- 
nia, 900 strong; ten of these were from Lan- 
caster county, Pa., and ten from Cumberland 
count}-, the muster-roll showing that most of 
them were Scotch-Irish. They marched four 
hundred miles to the relief of Boston. The 
first regiment of the United Colonies, com- 
manded by Gen. George W'asITmgton, is de- 
scribed as composed of remarkably stout and 
hardy men, many of them exceeding six feet 
in height. 

James Robinson Silver, the subject of this 
sketch, was an infant of about one and one- 
half years when brought by his parents to 
Newcastle, Ind., and was about ten years old 
when his father removed to Pendleton. He 
attended the public schools of Newcastle and 
Pendleton, gaining a common education, and 
began to work when fifteen years old. He 
married, May 20, 1S51, when aged twenty- 
four years, in Springboro, Ohio, Amanda E. 
Gregg, who was born in Warren county, Ohio, 
on her father's farm, May 3, 1833, daughter 
of William and Susanna (Millard) Gregg, of 
Scotch-Irish stock. 

James R. Silver engaged in a mercantile 
business in Pendleton, his father, as before 
stated, having turned over the business to him 
in about 1851. Mr. Silver was a successful 
merchant for years, standing high in his com- 
munity. He is a property owner, having 240 
acres of fine farm land, besides his pleasant 
residence, and other valuable property. Of 
the children born to Air. and Mrs. James R. 
Silver the following have lived to maturity: 
William Gregg, born Sept. 17, 1853; Harry 
Lee, born Dec. 15, 1863; Delia Alvora, born 
Jan. 7, 1866; and Arthur Millard, born Jan. 
I, 1 87 1. There were two who died young: 
Dora M., born Feb. 22, 1857, who died Sept. 
5, 1863; and Minnie B., born Jan. 25, 1S63. 
who died Aug. 22, 1863. Of this family Wil- 
liam Gregg married Elizabeth Clark, and they 

reside in Pendleton ; their children are as fol- 
lows: Donna Blanche, born June 17, 1877, 
and Alvora, born Aug. 10, 1879. Harry Lee 
married Lettie Taylor, and they reside in In- 
dianapolis ; their children are Herbert, born 
Xov. 7, 1891, and Ralph, born Jan. i, 1895. 
Delia Alvora married Charles Cokefair, and 
they reside at Eaton, Ohio. Arthur Millard 
is a young man at home. 

Mr. and Mrs. James R. Silver celebrated 
the fiftieth anniversary of their marriage on 
May 20, 1901, and on Alay 20, 1906, cele- 
brated the fifty-fifth anniversary. They are 
ranked among the most w-orthy pioneers of 
Pendleton. Mrs. Silver has been a member of 
the Universalist Church for fifty years. Mr. 
Silver is very liberal on religious questions. 
They have been supporters of the Universal- 
ist Church at Pendleton, really the main sup- 
porters, having assisted to build both the old 
and the new Universalist churches there. ISIr. 
Silver joined the Masonic fraternity of Pen- 
dleton in .1850-51 and has held nearly all the 
offices in the subordinate lodge. He is the 
oldest member of the blue lodge now living in 
Pendleton, having joined prior to 1855. He 
has served several times as master, and has 
been high priest and head of the council. He 
is a member of the Knights Templars at 
Knightstown, Ind., and was one of the char- 
ter members of the Anderson Commandery. 
In politics i\Ir. Silver is a Republican, and he 
voted for John C. Fremont, the first Repub- 
lican Presidential candidate, and also for 
Abraham Lincoln, and has supported every 
Republican candidate for the Presidency since. 
He was first an old-line Whig and voted for 
Gen. Winfield Scott. 

The Gregg family, of which Mrs. James 
R. Silver is a member, is of Scotch stock, and 
emigrated to Ireland and thence to America, 
where they were called Scotch-Irish. Wil- 
liam Gregg, the father of Airs. Silver, always 
said that there were seven Greggs who came 
from Ireland and that they were the founders 
of all the old Gregg families in America that 
he ever heard of. Thej' settled in different 
States and later spread over the entire United 
States. The first of the name of whom we 
have any record is Samuel Gregg, the grand- 
father of Mrs. Silver, who was born in Lou- 
doun county, Va., Alay 4. 1773. He married 
Nancy O'Brien, who was born June 28. 1775. 
He died July 30, 1844, and she died Oct. 10. 
1844. Their children were: Rebecca, born 
June 15, 1797, who died Sept. 23, 1867; Wil- 



liam, born Oct. 28, 1798; Alpheus, born Jan. 
23, 1801 ; Aaron, born Jan. 23, 1803 ; Samuel, 
Jr., born Nov. 15, 1804, who died Oct. 2, 1844; 
Nancy, born Aug. 7, 1806; Robert, born April 
4, 1808; Hiram, born Dec. 24, 1810; Israel, 
born Nov. 19, 1812; Amanda, born Nov. 23, 
1814; Elizabeth, born March 10, 1817; and 
Cynthia, born Oct. 24, 1821. Of the forego- 
ing John and Amanda died unmarried and the 
rest became heads of families. All are now 
(1906) deceased. 

Samuel Gregg, the pioneer, was about 
twenty-three years old when he first came to 
Ohio, in 1796, at which time the State was 
almost an entire wilderness. When he brought 
his wife and two children, they slept in the 
wagon until he had cleared a place on which 
to build a log cabin. Cincinnati was forty 
miles away, and he took his corn there to mill, 
a sack at a time, on the back of a horse, dur- 
ing the days of his first settlement; he was 
obliged to blaze a trail part of the way so he 
could find his way back. There were then in 
Cincinnati but very few people. At one time 
while Samuel Gregg was on one of these trips 
to Cincinnati Airs. Gregg went to the sugar 
camp, a short distance from the cabin. She 
heard a sound in the forest like the wailing 
of a child and hurried to the cabin with her 
children. She could hear some large animal 
following her and crying through the woods, 
and she slept but little that night, alone with 
her children in the cabin. The next morning 
a neighbor who had heard the wailing shot 
and killed a very large panther from a tree 
overlooking the humble home. Samuel Gregg 
was inured to hard labor and toil, and was 
thus able to cope successfully with the hard 
life which was the common lot of the frontier 
settlers.' In his day game was very abundant 
and he was a mighty hunter, killing, at differ- 
ent times, according to tradition, thirty-six 
deer. He tanned their skins for clothing, etc., 
for at that early day the families of the set- 
tlers made all their own clothing, having their 
own looms to weave their cloth. 

William Gregg, the father of Mrs. Silver, 
was the second child and first son of Samuel 
Gregg, who emigrated from western Penn- 
sylvania to Columbia, above Cincinnati, near 
the mouth of the Little Miami river. They 
located in Deersfield, Warren county, where 
William Gregg was born Oct. 28, 1798. Sam- 
uel entered a tract of land in Clear Creek 
township, where he built a log cabin into 
which he moved. The structure was without 
floor, window or chimney, or chinks. A door- 

way was made in one side by cutting out the 
logs. Here William was reared and in tliis 
vicinity passed his life. A dense forest cov- 
ered the country, and his father had to make 
the road from his cabin to the schoolhouse by 
blazing the trees in order that the children 
might not get lost in the woods. The school- 
house was also built of logs, with greased pa- 
per windows and puncheon floor, with seats 
of the same material. On Dec. 12, 1822, Wil- 
liam Gregg married Susanna Millard, daugh- 
ter of Mordecai and Catherine Millard, the 
latter born in Berks county. Pa., April 7, 1803. 
Mr. and Airs. Gregg had a large family of 
children, most of them, however, dying in 
infancy. He was reared and instructed in the 
doctrines and discipline of the Society of 
Friends, but about 1840 he became a Univer- 
salist. He was one of the first to form a so- 
ciety in Springboro for the building of a Uni- 
versalist church. Children were born to Wil- 
liam and Susanna (Millard) Gregg as fol- 
lows : Rebecca, born Feb. 14, 1824, died Aug. 
20, 1828; Ann J., born Aug. 8, 1831, died 
Feb. 20, 1836; Amanda E. was born May 3, 
1833; Jonah was born Sept. 6, 1836; Cather- 
ine, born Jan. 10, 1839, died unmarried in 
i860; William H., born Nov. 14, 1840, died 
Oct. 10, 1864; George W., born Dec. 10, 1843, 
died July 10, 1864; James A. was born Feb. 
25, 1846; Emeline and Adaline, twins, were 
born Alarch 9, 1848, and Emeline died Sept. 
30, 1848. Of these the son William H. 
Gregg served in the war of the Rebellion, and 
was killed near Atlanta, Ga., Oct. 10, 1864, by 
the guerrillas, while carrying dispatches from 
Colonel Smith at Chattahoochie river railroad 
bridge to Colonel Dustin of Atlanta. Another 
son, George W., also served in the Civil war, 
and died in the service at Fayetteville, W. Va., 
July II, 1864. 

William Gregg served as justice of the 
peace six years with such judgment and abil- 
ity that but one case was appealed to the 
higher courts, and in that instance Gregg's 
decision was sustained. He died March i, 
1879, aged eighty years. He was a man of 
high character and much business ability, and 
by his frugality and thrift amassed a fortune 
of about $40,000. 

The Millard family from which Mrs. Sil- 
ver is descended on the maternal side is traced 
back to Mordecai Millard, her great-grand- 
father, who was born in Pennsylvania June 
24, 1736. He married Frances Lincoln, who 
was born June 22, 1741, in the same State, and 
their children were: Samuel, born May 7, 



1760; Joseph, March 31, 1763; Hannah, July 
13, 1765; Jane, June 0, 1768; Ehzabeth, Feb. 
6, 1770; Benjamhi, Feb. 28, 1772; Mordecai, 
March 31, 1774; Thomas, March 25, 1776; 
James, April 11, 1778; Jonathan, Aug. 28, 
1781 ; and Samuel, Feb. 17, 1784. 

Mordecai Millard, Jr., son of Mordecai, 
and the grandfather of Mrs. James R. Silver, 
was born in Pennsylvania iVIarch 31, 1774, 
and died .March 9, 185 1, in Indiana. He mar- 
ried Catherine Evans, a native of Pennsylva- 
nia, and they came to Ohio in August, 1817, 
settling near Springboro, Warren county. 
Here Mr. Millard built a saw and grist mill 
in about 1818, and conducted this business 
about thirty years. Mrs. Millard died in Feb- 
ruary, i84y, aged seventy-seven years. Their 
children were: Mary, born Aug. 23, 1796, 
married John Heirgood; Thomas, born Sept. 
2, 1798, was married twice and lived in Iowa; 
Frances, born Oct. 18, 1800, married Elisha 
Cockefair ; Susanna, bom April 7, 1803, mar- 
ried William Gregg; Elizabeth, born June 20, 
1805, married Aaron Gregg; Catherine, born 
Oct. 2, 1807, died unmarried; Rebecca, born 
Nov. 13, 1809, died unmarried ; Hannah and 
Margaret (twins), born Feb. 23, 1812, both 
died young. 

JACOF. A. E:\1RICH, who has long been 
favorably identified with the growth and de- 
velopment of Indianapolis, was born Feb. 12, 
1838, in Bavaria, Germany, where he was 
reared and educated. His parents were Chris- 
tian and' Angelina C^^'alg) Emrich. The 
father served six years in the Bavarian army. 
A wagonmaker by trade, his sons were bred 
to the same calling. In 1S54 he came to the 
United States, joining a son and daughter 
who had crossed the ocean two years before. 
From New York he proceeded directly to 
I-ndianapolis, where he lived some six months, 
after which he bought land in Wayne town- 
ship, west of the White river, and engaged in 
farming, though he lived mostly a retired life 
until his death, in 1866. He had taken an ac- 
tive interest in public affairs from the time of 
his arrival here in February, 1854. His widow 
passed to her rest in 1887. They were Prot- 
estants in religious faith. Their children were : 
Elizabeth, who is Mrs. JMauer; Magdalena, 
Mrs. Shearer; Mary, Mrs. Kittenring; Chris- 
tian, who with Magdalena came in 1852; 
Frank ; Jacob A. ; Nicholas ; and Catherine, 
Mrs. Durfield. 

Jacob .\. Emrich came to this country 

with his fadier and family in 1854. He wras 
at that time sixteen years of age, and had 
already worked at the wagon-making trade 
with his father in the old country. When the 
father and sons set up in business in Indian- 
apolis it was necessary that one of them should 
be a blacksmith, and Jacob A. learned the 
trade, so that when his father bought land, on 
which he established shops, the brothers were 
able to do all the work required in wagon- 
making, repairing and blacksmithing. They 
made a permanent settlement, and became 
quite prosperous. 

In 1 86 1, at the call of duty, Jacob A. Em- 
rich enlisted, but was rejected on examination, 
whereupon he resumed his trade until 1864, 
when he again enlisted, this time being ac- 
cepted as a member of the 148th Indiana Vol- 
unteer Infantry, in the capacity of a bugler, 
under Col. N. R. Ruckle. The regiment was 
attached to the 20th Army Corps, in the Anny 
of the Tennessee, was detailed for guard duty, 
and became widely scattered, Mr. Emrich be- 
ing at Pulaski most of the time. He was 
mustered out and honorably discharged at 
Indianapolis in September, 1865. During his 
service at the front he was not so much as 
wounded, and had but little excitement. 

On returning home Mr. Emrich resumed 
his trade, which he followed thirty-three 
years in all. In 1861 he was married, after 
which he bought a five-acre .tract of land, 
where he erected a fine home and carried on 
garden farming in connection with his trade. 
The city has swept across his place, taking in 
his property. Now they want to attach it to 
the city park, a measure that will meet with 
all the opposition Mr. Emrich can make. He 
desires his land to be kept together, as it makes 
a beautiful home. 

^Ir. Emrich is a strong Democrat and 
widely known as a hard and unremitting 
worker for his party's success. In 1880 he 
was elected justice of the peace and served 
until 1888, in which year he was elected 
county commissioner, an office he filled with 
dignity and honor, his service ending in 1891. 
In 1898 he was again elected justice of the 
peace, in which capacity he served until 1906, 
having succeeded himself at each election. He 
has also filled some minor township positions. 
As a magistrate his record is very clear, and 
he has made a reputation as a justice who 
considers only the law and the evidence, with- 
out prejudice. 

In 1893 Mr. Emrich built a store, and he 



carries on a considerable grocery business at 
his home. The blacksmith business has passed 
to a son. Air. Emrich rests 'on the records of 
a long and useful business career. Today he 
is rated among the solid men of Marion 

Mr. Emrich married Phoebe J. Adams, 
who was born Oct. 18, 1843, and is a woman 
of intelligence and many charms of charac- 
ter and disposition. She has proved a good 
wife and mother. Her parents, John and 
Almira M. (Mallaney) Adams, natives of 
Kentucky and Ohio, respectively, were early 
settlers of Marion county. In 1859 Mr. Adams 
was superintendent of the 'county infirmary, a 
position which he held three years, after which 
he bought a farm on which he settled and 
passed his remaining days, dying in 1871. 
His widow died in 1898. They were mem- 
bers of the Baptist Church. In early life Mr. 
Adams was a Democrat, but later became a 
Republican. Mr. and Mrs. Adams had the 
following family : Phoebe J., who became Mrs. 
Emrich ; Robert, an undertaker in Indianapo- 
lis ; and Frances, who became Mrs. Kunkle. 

Mr. and Mrs. Jacob A. Emrich have had 
the following children: John, who is a black- 
smith ; Edward G., a farmer ; Laura, Mrs. 
Groff; Estella, Mrs. Turner; Clarence, who 
is assisting his father in the store ; Ellsworth 
Emrich, residing in Seattle; and Ida, who is 
Mrs. Cox. 

JNIr. Emrich is connected with the I. O. O. 
F., the K. P. and the G. A. R., and is one of 
the most active workers in that noble organi- 

JAMES A. BOONE, a descendant of the 
original old Boone family, was born on a 
farm in Jefferson county, Ind., Jan. 30, 1832, 
son of Willis and Sarah (Alexander^ Boone. 
Both of his parents were natives of Kentucky, 
but were married in Indiana. 

Willis Boone was a son of Isaiah Boone, 
and a grandson of Squire Boone, who was a 
brother of Daniel Boone, the noted frontiers- 
man and Indian fighter. George Boone, the 
father of Squire and Daniel Boone, was born 
in Exeter. England, and came to this country 
before the Revolution. He purchased a large 
tract of land in what is now Berks county, 
Pa., to which he gave the name of Exeter, 
and which is now Exeter township. Mr. 
Boone also bought land in [Maryland and Vir- 
ginia. Squire and Daniel Boone were reared 
in Berks county, on what was then the fron- 

tier, and was inured to danger and hardship. 
The few settlers lived a lonely life dwelling 
in log cabins, surrounded by heavy timber, 
which abounded in game and was also infested 
with hostile Indians. Here the young Boones 
became familiar with every phase of wood- 
craft, Daniel especially delighting to roam the 
woods, and gradually becoming a hunter and 
Indian fighter of national reputation. Serving 
in all the border wars of the time, he was also 
a soldier and scout in the war of the Revo- 
lution. Early in life he penetrated the "dark 
and bloody hunting ground,'" as Kentucky had 
been called, and following the foremost wave 
of settlement presently found himself in j\lis- 
souri, where he died. Boone county in that 
State was named in honor of him. One of 
his grandsons, Capt. Samuel Boone, born in 
1782, in Madison county, Ky., died in Calla- 
way county, Mo., at the age of eighty-eight. 
George Boone w'as a member of the Episcopal 
Church in England, but became a Quaker 
after his settlement in America. He had a 
large family of children: James, Samuel, Jon- 
athan, Daniel, George, Squire, Isaiah, Edward, 
Sarah, Elizabeth, Alary, Hannah, William 
(who was killed by the Indians in 1773), and 
Israel (who was killed at the battle of Blue 
Licks, in 1782). 

Squire Boone, great-grandfather of James 
A., was a noted frontiersman, though not so 
famous as his brother. The family set out for 
the West from North Carolina in 1774, and 
took with them cattle and hogs, as well as their 
household goods — all that could be carried on 
pack horses. That same year they settled in 
Powell's Valley, then an unexplored wilder- 
ness, and there they had many bitter experi- 
ences with the Indians. Squire Boone came 
to Kentucky a single man, but he was pres- 
ently married. 

Isaiah Boone came into the Territory of 
Indiana at a very early day, and locating on 
the Ohio river engaged in business at New 
Albany as a general tradesman and general 
country merchant. There he reared his family 
and there he died. 

Willis Boone, the father of James A. 
Boone, was born in Kentucky. When a boy 
he came with his step-father, Joseph Hensley, 
to Clefty Falls, at Edwards Blockhouse, four 
miles from Aladison, Jefiferson Co., Ind. There 
he married Sarah Alexander, whose father. 
Tames Alexander, was born in Scotland, and 
followed the calling of a Baptist minister. 
He came from his native country as an Eng- 



lish soldier in the war of the Revolution, but 
on his arrival in this country joined the Conti- 
nental forces and fought throughout the war 
of Independence for the Colonies. When 
peace returned, he located in Cumberland 
county, Ky., but presently settled in Indiana, 
where he entered land in Jefferson county, and 
became prominent in church work. On his 
land he built a stone church, which is still 
standing and is called "Stony Lonesome," and, 
donating it to the Baptists, was made its pas- 
tor. Throughout life he conducted services 
and ministered to the poor and needy in that 
section with a warm heart and generous hand. 
When he died he was over eighty-five, and he 
is remembered as a devout Christian and a 
genial gentleman. His children were : James, 
Landafaro, Nancy, Sarah (Mrs. Boone), Ag- 
nes and Polly. 

Willis Boone, like others of his family, 
had pronounced mechanical ability; he could 
make or mend anything in wood and iron ; he 
could build stone, brick and frame houses ; he 
was an accomplished musician and is remem- 
bered as a man of far more than average abil- 
ity. After his marriage he settled on a farm 
in Jefferson county, where he reared his family. 
During the war of 1812 he enlisted, and was 
on his way to join the forces of Gen. Jack- 
son at New Orleans, where the great battle 
was fought before his arrival. Returning 
home, the rest of his life was spent in peace- 
ful pursuits, and he died at the homestead in 
1844. Through all these years his was a use- 
ful career in a new country. He was always 
ready to help his neighbors, ready to put mills 
and machinery iii order, and to keep the wheel 
of industry revolving. A man of perhaps 
medium size, he was strong and resolute in 
both mind and body, and for many years was 
exceedingly active, but he never sought offi- 
cial station. In politics he was a Democrat. 
To the last he retained the hearty and un- 
stinted respect of all who knew him, as his in- 
tegrity, industry and honor were in every 
way beyond question. His children were as 
follows: (i) Mary, born Dec. 15, 1815, mar- 
ried March 15, 1836, T. B. OrriU, and died 
lune 18, 1905, at Madison, Ind. (2) Isaiah. 
ix)rn Jan. 28, 18 18, was married May 17, 1840. 
and died in February, 1905, at Shelbyville. 
Ind. (3) Martha, born June 17, 1820, mar- 
ried E. T. Blankinship, and died July 27, 
t86o. (4) Toseph. born Sept. 14, 1822, died 
Sept. 23, 1822. (5) Levin C, born Oct. 5, 
1824, died in January, 1854. (6) Nancy, born 

April 23, 1826, was married May 12, 1842, to 
John Ross, and died May 12, 1872. (7) Per- 
lina, born March 31, 1828, was marrjed in 
September, 1849, ^^ George L. Jones, of Ken- 
tucky, and died Feb. 15, 1906, at Indianapolis. 
(8) William, born Aug. 4, 1830, died April 
30, 1831. (9) James A., born Jan. 30, 1832, 
is mentioned below. (10) Willis, born April 
7, 1834, was married Jan. 28, 1857, and died 
Dec. 4, 1901. During the Civil war he served 
as a private in the 22d Ind. V. I. (11) Eliza- 
beth, born Oct. 25, 1836, was twice married, 
in 1863 to Joseph Calavvay (who died in 1870, 
at North Aladison, Ind.), and in 1875 to F. 
B. Johnson (who died Aug. 30, 1894, at Spen- 
cer, Ind.). Mrs. Johnson died Nov. 4, 1906, 
at Spencer. (12) Thomas, born April 5, 1840, 
also served during the Civil war in the 22d 
Jnd. V. I. He died Feb. 8, 1883. 

James A. Boone, better known as "Doc" 
Boone, left home when he was only twelve 
years of age to take care of himself, and for 
the ensuing four years was employed at a 
country tavern. The next year he worked on 
the farm and in a sawmill, after which he 
spent two years as a brakeman on the railroad 
between Madison and Indianapolis. Mr. 
Boone was then employed as a member of a 
surveying party between Cambridge City and 
Columbus, engaged in laying out a railroad 
between these two points. . After the comple- 
tion of this enterprise, he entered the car 
shops at Madison, Ind., where he was em- 
ployed as a car repairer and inspector until 
1882, in which year he was transferred to In- 
dianapolis. Presently he was attached to the 
coach department of the Pan Handle shops, 
until he was retired on a pension. The first 
work of Mr. Boone was done under John 
Brough, the president of the road, who also 
held the position of master mechanic. F. H. 
Smith was the second master mechanic ; Bon 
W. Smith, the third ; D. O. Shaver, the fourth ; 
William Swanson, the fifth ; the present mas- 
ter mechanic is S. M. Miller. J. O. D. Lilly 
was the second president of the road. On 
his retirement from active service i\Ir. Boone 
was presented a fine chair by the men of the 
shop as a mark of the esteem and confidence 
in which he was held by his associates. For 
fifty-three years he was in active service with 
the Pennsylvania Company, and well remem- 
bers the circumstances attending the arrival 
of the first engine for the road from Phila- 
delphia. It came by steamer and canal to 
Madison, where it arrived on a flat boat and 



was pulled up the hill from the ri\'er and to 
the track by oxen and horses. In 1847 there 
came the "Marion," the "Muscattac" and the 
"Sugar Creek" and when they were being 
hauled to the temporary tracks the rope broke, 
and Mr. Boone who was standing on the flat 
boat at the rear end holding the boat straight, 
to save himself, was obliged to jump into the 
icy water of the river, and swim ashore. Pres- 
ident Brough was there, and to solicit help 
in getting the engine ashore bought four gal- 
lons of cherry bounce and made the occasion 
a frolic, and presently the engine was on its 
own tracks. Mr. Boone remembers that 
the first engine running on the old jMadison 
road was a rented engine, called the "Elk- 
horn." The second engine which the com- 
pany built at North Madison, Ind., was called 
"Indianapolis No. i ;" then followed the 
"Madison No. 2," and the "Gen. Tom Mor- 
ris," which had one pair of drive wheels. 

Mr. Boone was married Oct. 6, 1853, at 
Madison, to Miss Emily A. Roberts, daughter 
of Joseph and America (Moore) Roberts, of 
Kentucky, where she was born and reared, 
near Frankfort, Franklin county. The Rob- 
erts family is of Scotch-Irish descent. Mrs. 
Boone's father, who was a mechanical genius, 
was born in Franklin county, Ky., and after- 
ward came to Jefferson county, Ind., settling 
near Madison. ' A strong Democrat, he served 
as justice of the peace many years, and was a 
devoted member of the Baptist Church. In 
his active days he was a prominent and useful 
citizen. His children were as follows : Emily 
A., who became Mrs. Boone ; Fanny, who be- 
came Mrs. Moss, of Madison ; Fielding, who 
died young; and John, who died when a 
young man. 

Mr. and Mrs. Boone had one child, Adella, 
who is unmarried and at home. Mrs. Boone 
is a Baptist. Mr. Soone is united with the 
I. O. O. F., of which fraternity he has been 
for some years a past officer, in both the Lodge 
and the Encampment. During the war of 
the Rebellion he was a member of the 9th 
Legion Home Guards, and during the J\Ior- 
gan raid in Indiana and Ohio, served as bridge 
inspector, running in front of trains bearing 
soldiers, and having many exciting adven- 

J. K. ENGLISH, senior member of the 
reliable and first-class firm of painters in In- 
dianapolis known as J. K. &'H. K. English, 
has grown up with the city, and having served 

at different times in the early days as council- 
man, city treasurer and county commissioner 
he has assisted materially in building up its 
public institutions and in the foundation of the 
excellent system of city government which is 
still in existence there. Born on a farm near 
Middletown, in Frederick county, Md., Dec. 
28, 1824, he is a son of King (Jr.) and Mary 
(Brown) English. 

King English, Sr., grandfather of J. K., 
was born in Ireland and there received a lib- 
eral education, after which he embarked upon 
life as a schoolmaster. During his early man- 
hood he came to Virginia, and there married 
a Miss Eads. Of this union there were five 
children: Joseph, who settled at Wheeling, 
W. Va. ; King, Jr.; James (deceased) and 
Thomas, who settled and died in Montgomery 
county, Md. ; and Rebecca, Mrs. Day. After 
marriage Mr. English settled in Georgetown, 
D. C., and there followed his profession with 
much success, giving his family a cultivated 
and refined home. He passed his last days 
in Georgetown and died there. A man of 
many accomplishments, of rare intellectual 
power, he always found a welcome in the best 
homes. Reared as a strict Presbyterian, h« 
adhered firmly to the teachings of that church. 

King English, Jr., father of J. K., found 
his life work in opening up Marion county, 
Ind., to settlers. Born in Georgetown, D. C, 
he there passed his early life. The death of 
his father when he was but twelve years old 
made it necessary for him to shoulder life's 
responsibilities early, and for some time he 
worked at anything life off'ered him. Later 
he went to Maryland and there engaged as a 
farm hand, acquiring a practical knowledge 
of agriculture of much value to him later. 
While in that State he married, in Frederick 
county, Alary Brown, who was born in that 
county, daughter of George P. Brown, a Ger- 
man by descent, a mechanic by trade, and a 
Lutheran in religion, who with his wife passed 
his last days in Indiana and died there. Their 
children were : John ; George ; Peter ; and 
Elizabeth, who was married to a Mr. Surley; 
Susan, to a Mr. Ringer; Mary, to Mr. Eng- 
lish (as has been said) ; and Sophia, to a Mr. 
Grossmickle. Mrs. English died in 1861. Of 
the children born to Mr. and Mrs. English, all 
in Maryland, two died in early life ; Mary A. 
married a Mr. Ringer, and died in Indian- 
apolis ; William died at the age of four years ; 
and J. K. is mentioned below. 

A short time after marriage Mr. English 



purchased a small tract of land in Frederick 
county, i\Id., and there engaged in agricul- 
ture for himself. By dint of hard work and 
prudent management, he realized a moderate 
income from his place, and made a good start 
in life. Convinced, however, of the superior 
agricultural resources of the West, in 1830 he 
disposed of his place, and moved to Marion 
county, Ind., settling first upon a rented place, 
while' looking about for a permanent loca- 
tion. Shortly afterward, however, he pur- 
chased for $400 an 80-acre tract, within a mile 
and a half of the little log-cabined village of 
Indianapolis, with its three general stores and 
two churches — Methodist and Presbyterian. 
His farm was heavily timbered, and all un- 
cleared, except ten poorly improved acres, 
upon which stood a rude log hut. Today it 
is crossed by beautiful avenues, lined with 
elegant buildings, and is worth over a million 
dollars. Mr. English at once entered upon 
the vast undertaking of opening the land to 
cultivation. Exchanging work with neighbors 
— assisting in raising cabins and rolling logs 
in return for help in felling trees and grub- 
bing — he gradually cleared up large tracts, 
upon which he raised abundant crops, includ- 
ing wheat and other grain, which he yearly 
marketed in Cincinnati, bringing home salt, 
and other supplies in exchange. With other 
settlers he each year sent his surplus hogs to 
Cincinnati, the nearest market, to be slaugh- 
tered. Among other improvements on the 
farm he erected a substantial house in place 
of the original log cabin, and this building is 
now in the city. After many years Mr. Eng- 
lish in 1850 sold his farm for four thousand 
dollars and moved into the city, where he 
passed his last days in the enjoyment of the 
fruits of his well-directed efforts. He died 
in. this place in 1864. Mr. English was a 
typical pioneer, "energetic, practical, and pos- 
sessed a large hearted fellowship for all. Im- 
bued with great courage, he met life's obsta- 
cles fearlessly, and always came out victor. 
His home was one of the social meeting places 
for early pioneers, and traveling preachers 
especially made their abode at his house. He 
was a man of marked integrity of character; 
with the keenest sense of honor, and both he 
and his wife were consistent members of the 
Lutheran Church. Politically he at first affili- 
ated witli the Whigs, and later with the Re- 

J. K. English, being only about six years 
old when his parents came to Marion county, 

has been an eye witness of the transformation 
of that section from wilderness to a beauti- 
fully cultivated agricultural center, with mag- 
nificent farms and a city of taste and wealth. 
Reared on the farm, he procured his education 
in his neighborhood and in the old university, 
and passed his spare moments in the work of 
clearing land, killing off deer and wild tur- 
keys, and in doing the various tasks that fall to 
the lot of farmer boys. Gradually he assumed 
the heavier work of the farm, and remaining 
there until he was twenty-four years old, he 
gave much of his attention to the general man- 
agement of the place. At the end of this 
period he settled in Indianapolis, and there, 
with G. D. Statts, learned the painter's trade, 
after which, in company with that gentleman, 
he followed the business steadily until i860, 
discontinuing the work then in order to give 
his attention to public affairs. Some time after 
this he purchased a pleasant farm in iNIarion 
county, where he settled and engaged in agri- 
culture very successfully for some time. After 
six years, in 1871, he sold his farm, and, re- 
turning to Indianapolis, purchased an inter- 
est in what is now the Over Foundry, and, 
under the firm name of Burner, English & 
Over, conducted a prosperous business for 
some time. After a while Mr. Burner retired, 
and in 1876 Mr. English also withdrew from 
the business selling his share ' to Mr. Over, 
who has since conducted the establishment. 
The building up of Indianapolis now afforded 
an excellent opening in the painter's business, 
and in 1878 Air. English resumed this work. 
Artistic workmanship, and promptness in fill- 
ing orders have won him a good patronage, 
and after some time he took in his son as part- 
ner, conducting his business under the firm 
name of J. K. & H. K. English. Large con- 
tracts came in and the firm has steadily pros- 
pered, and is now carrying on one of the 
largest enterprises in its line in the city. 

'in the early days Mr. English purchased 
land near Fall Creek, on College avenue, 
where he erected a handsome two-story resi- 
dence, and here he now resides. With the 
building up of the city a large procession of 
houses have passed him on the avenue, so he 
is now in one of the beautiful residence sec- 
tions. He owns a neat little cottage at IMax- 
inkuckee, where he and his family spend the 
summers. The weight of more than eig.ity 
vears does not prevent him from giving intelli- 
gent attention to* his business. 

In t8s2 JNIr. English married Alvira Cole- 



stock, who was born near Harrisburg, Pa., 
Aug. 16, 1 83 1. She and Mr. EngUsh have 
celebrated their golden wedding. Of this 
union there have been five children : H. K., 
who is in partnership with his father ; Frank 
C, also engaged in the same line of work; 
Mary R., who married F. Reegen, a druggist ; 
and Misses Julia T. and Josephine, at home. 

j\lr. English was for years exceedingly 
active in public affairs; and as a member of 
the city council in the early days assisted in 
dissolving the old 'volunteer fire department, 
and establishing it along the lines upon which 
it is now conducted; and in this matter his 
word especially carried weight, as he had 
previously served both as a member and presi- 
dent of the fire department, and had also 
ofliciated ,as president of the fire board. In 
1863 he was elected city treasurer, a posi- 
tion which he filled for four years, evincing 
marked business sagacity, and devising the 
system, now in existence, for indexing taxable 
property, and instigating tax sales. Later he 
served t'or four years on the board of county 
commissioners, which attended to the erection 
of the -city's fine courthouse — in the corner- 
stone of which his name with others is in- 
scribed — to the building up of comfortable 
quarters at the poor farm and to the construc- 
tion of bridges, and in paving the way for 
many other improvements in the city and 
county. He filled each public office with dig- 
nity and ability, and has ever been faithful to 
the Republican party, with which he affiliates. 
Socially he is well-known and much respected, 
and fraternally he belongs to the R. A. and 
the I. O. O. F., he and Gen. :\IcGinnis now 
being the only two surviving charter mem- 
bers of the last-named lodge, which has been 
in existence fifty years. Reared as Luther- 
ans, both he and his wife are worthy members 
of that church. 

Henry Colestock, father of Mrs. English, 
was born in Pennsylvania, of good German 
stock. In early life he learned the carpenter's 
trade, which he followed with much success 
throughout his active career. He married Re- 
becca' Gill, of Baltimore, Alaryland, who had 
two brothers, Charles and Edward. Six 
children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Cole- 
stock: Louisa, who married Mr. Ridpath in 
Indianapolis and settled in Wisconsin: Ben- 
jamin, who died in Hancock county, leaving 
a large family : James, who died young : Julia, 
who married M". Pandre ; John, who died in 
Indianapolis; and Mrs. English, mentioned 

above. . After marriage Mr. Colestock settled 
in Pennsylvania, where he continued for the 
most part throughout his active life. An ex- 
cellent mechanic, he prospered in the steady 
pursuit of his trade. He was a man of marked 
integrity of character and much ability, com- 
manding the respect of all who knew him. 

O. H. JACKSON. Few master mechan- 
ics have had a wider or more varied experi- 
ence in their line than this one, now in charge 
of the works at the Indianapolis Union rail- 
road shops. During his forty or more years' 
service he has at different times been con- 
nected with many of the greatest lines in the 
country, including the Buflralo & Lake Erie, 
now the Lake Shore; the Atlantic & Great 
Western; the Big Four; the Santa Fe, Pres- 
cott and Phoenix; and many others, his ter- 
ritory extending from the East to the far 
West. Mr. Jackson was born in Shelby, Rich- 
land Co., Ohio, Sept. 16, 1845, and is of 
Scotch-Irish descent. 

His grandfather Jackson was born in the 
northern part of Ireland, and there received 
good rearing. At an early date he came to 
America, and settled in Pennsylvania, where 
he made a good home for himself and family, 
and where he died. By his marriage there 
were seven children, all of whom he reared in 
Pennsylvania : George, , captain of a large 
schooner on Lake Erie, died of consumption 
at Sandusky, Ohio, leaving a wife and two 
sons; James M. ; Sallv, married a Mr. Pen- 
nington; Hannah married a Mr. Hitchcock: 
one daughter lived near Philadelphia ; and 
Tane and Amanda settled in Ohio. 

James M. Jackson, father of O. H., for 
manv years a prominent railroad conductor, 
was in the service of the Mad River & Lake 
Erie Railroad Company for nearly thirty 
years. He was reared to manhood in the 
Pennsylvania home, and upon reaching man- 
hood married Amelia B. Hughes, who was 
born in Pennsylvania, daughter of Owen 
Hughes. Owen 'Hughes, when a young man, 
came from Wales, and settled in Pennsylva- 
nia, and there became a prominent and enter- 
prising farmer: he died in Sandusky, Ohio, 
at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Jackson. 
Bv his marriage there were seven children: 
Abram. Isaac, ^Sophia, Rachel Ann, Amelia 
B. and Mary, all of whom except -Amelia B. 
and Mary remained in Pennsylvania. Mary 
came West with her sister, l\Irs. Jackson, and 
married a Mr. Reese, and is now living at 


Columbus, Ohio. Air. Hughes belonged to 
the Methodist Church, and in that faith reared 
his children. Mrs. Jackson died in 1866. 
Eight children were born to her and Mr. 
Jackson : Frances, who married Dr. H. 
Grothe; O. H., mentioned below; Alary, who